User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 65
  2. Negative: 4 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    Just found this after a few years of staying anywhere.
    After all one of my favourite "old" games, loved the combat styles, the good and capturing story.
    Well 11years after release maybe not the best graphic but who cares

    8/10
  2. Jan 24, 2014
    6
    Yes, to answer your question, it is actually fun. Its a stupid kind of fun, but it doesn't border unplayable by any means. Levels are fairly repetitive, the story line is less than engaging, the voice work is average for all the characters, combat is just a blur of nonsensical movements of keys W, A, S, D, and click wildly on the mouse buttons, the visuals were terrible for 2003, theYes, to answer your question, it is actually fun. Its a stupid kind of fun, but it doesn't border unplayable by any means. Levels are fairly repetitive, the story line is less than engaging, the voice work is average for all the characters, combat is just a blur of nonsensical movements of keys W, A, S, D, and click wildly on the mouse buttons, the visuals were terrible for 2003, the music is mostly the same mediocre techno tunes throughout each level, the monster design is fairly generic, and yet after all that- the game is fun. Don't ask me how, but its just impossible to not enjoy this kind of a train wreck. Its like a fun train wreck, with clowns on board, disco music, and balloons floating everywhere, and in the middle of all this the train is just careening off a cliff. Its enjoyable because of how bad it is, unlike the films based off this game, which are just bad for the sake of being bad. This must have been one of those "at least we got it too" games when it came out. Obviously its designed for a console experience, not a keyboard and mouse. Of course the controls are so all over the place in hardly matters, as is the level design. Its in fact so inconsistent, repetitive, linear and broken that it barely engages me on any level. The pacing is terrible, absolutely nothing is remotely terrifying and outside of some of the boss fights its an immensely easy game. However, its meant to be one of those games that targets the violence and sex portions of our brains. If this isn't obvious in the way Rayne leaps across the room leg hugging her victims as she moans whilst sucking their blood right out of them, then you need some basic sex education classes to understand where this is going. In fact, as I recall the marketing for this game featured a topless Rayne in "Playboy" magazine- unless I'm thinking of the second one in the series, but either way it gives you the full picture behind the intent of who they wanted to attract to purchasing this mess. Overall its a guilty pleasure, the main menu looks like a paused frame from a softcore pornography film, obviously about vampire ladies, and the main character spouts some of the worst most inconsistent lines ever uttered in a videogame ever, but its fun. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    Great game! Brutal ways to kill enemies with blades are the essence of game, so try not focus on weapons at the beginning so you can enjoy slashing trough enemies, like you should be able to do in any "Jedi Knight" games (someone should make ultimate brutal game around lightsabre, or katana ^^). Rayne has nice boobs which are so nicely bounce you will forget about Lara. I enjoy it so muchGreat game! Brutal ways to kill enemies with blades are the essence of game, so try not focus on weapons at the beginning so you can enjoy slashing trough enemies, like you should be able to do in any "Jedi Knight" games (someone should make ultimate brutal game around lightsabre, or katana ^^). Rayne has nice boobs which are so nicely bounce you will forget about Lara. I enjoy it so much in past that this is one of games that I would like to see again in next part ;) Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Ahh my first action adventure game.I have no words to describe how great this game can be.I beat it 20 times and I would do it again.One time only with weapons.The other time only with swords.Some other time with both.on easy.on normal.on hard.killing everything.fast forwording.It was great.
    The gameplay: is fun,addictive,bloody,explosive
    The graphics: quite good for a 2003 and the
    Ahh my first action adventure game.I have no words to describe how great this game can be.I beat it 20 times and I would do it again.One time only with weapons.The other time only with swords.Some other time with both.on easy.on normal.on hard.killing everything.fast forwording.It was great.
    The gameplay: is fun,addictive,bloody,explosive
    The graphics: quite good for a 2003 and the resolution adjustment was great.
    The controls:easy to learn
    The music: cool and hypnotic
    The story: good.
    The score:10
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This game was somewhat a challenge but otherwise a really fun game! The controls are not that bad and there is a lot of fun Easter eggs the cheat codes are great. The story line was kinda mixed but still overall really fun!
  6. DerekW.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. I love this game, it's dripping with dark sexy style and is simply amazing. Its the first game I played that actually dismembers enemies along the path of the actual weapon cutting them, not going with traditional lackluster scripted decapitations or the like that are always the same killing move/moves. The heroine, Rayne, has to This is one of the best games I've ever played. I love this game, it's dripping with dark sexy style and is simply amazing. Its the first game I played that actually dismembers enemies along the path of the actual weapon cutting them, not going with traditional lackluster scripted decapitations or the like that are always the same killing move/moves. The heroine, Rayne, has to be the sexiest character I've ever let eyes on or played, and the action of the game is intoxicating. Nazis, intuitive excellent controls, blood and gore more than and BETTER than any other game to date, and an intelligent integrated story, 10 out of 10 easy. Expand
  7. JordanC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever! So much gore and realistic happenings that normal humans would get from this beast!
  8. ChaseM.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    This game was awesome, as soon as you pass the 'tutorial' part of the game it becomes and awesome gory rip and smash battle with Nazi's and demon-vampire creatures with guns, slomotion, and slicing and dicing. This game was more than worth the price tag and kicked some serious ass. The story line might have a hole or 2 and if your not moving around while in blood rage mode This game was awesome, as soon as you pass the 'tutorial' part of the game it becomes and awesome gory rip and smash battle with Nazi's and demon-vampire creatures with guns, slomotion, and slicing and dicing. This game was more than worth the price tag and kicked some serious ass. The story line might have a hole or 2 and if your not moving around while in blood rage mode you may stop attacking. But this game still kicks the hell out of most other games of this genre I have played. Expand
  9. LW
    Nov 13, 2006
    7
    Good fun but way too short. Took me 6-7 hours on normal the first time through.
  10. KaiN
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Es muy, pero que muy divertido. El apartado grafico no destaca, igual que el de sonido, pero resultan mas que ideales para que el juego funciones en maquinas medias. Sinceramente, pocos juegos me lo han hecho pasar tan bien como este título de majesco, lástima que la secuela(bloodrayne2) no de la talla...
  11. JustinD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    8
    Not the most elegant game in the world, and the difficulty borders on the absurd in some parts, but I had a lot of fun with it, and that's all that really matters.
  12. AS
    Jul 12, 2006
    3
    Great combat moves, decant graphics, arcade characteristic commands and action. Story is lame and action is flat and linear. Could have been a great game if devs separated console version from PC. Nevertheless, I can see teenagers enthusiasm about. Bottom line: this should not ever come to PC release.
  13. BenW.
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    Awesome game, wish there was more info on the PC cheats...can't actually get to the secret level....
  14. NealG.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Excellent...a pleasant surprise for a console export. Graphically beautiful and surprisingly easy to master control, 90% of this game is a total blast. Some levels suffer from poor camera perspective, but not many ( one of the things I hate about 3rd person perspective ) and usually it can be adjusted fairly simply. And watching Rayne in Blood Rage is awesome. A fun play...nice work on Excellent...a pleasant surprise for a console export. Graphically beautiful and surprisingly easy to master control, 90% of this game is a total blast. Some levels suffer from poor camera perspective, but not many ( one of the things I hate about 3rd person perspective ) and usually it can be adjusted fairly simply. And watching Rayne in Blood Rage is awesome. A fun play...nice work on porting it to the PC. I have played it on XBOX also, and it is not nearly as good there. Expand
  15. DanB.
    Nov 1, 2003
    7
    At first I hated this game due to the controls & 3rd person view, but after an hour of getting used to the controls, I found the game enjoyable to play. IMHO, Bloodrayne is simple hack & slash game worth playing, but I wouldn't pay more than $25-$30 to buy it. And yes, she's sexy to boot!!
  16. CSxParasite
    Oct 13, 2003
    8
    This game is fun the first time through, but then you just don't want to play it again for some reason, maybe its the repetitive cutting of nazis or the slow motion chops, any of those could be it but if you like to cut stuff up then this is your game, if your looking for some in-depth story game stray away from this one cuz it will only cause you headaches. Other than that this game This game is fun the first time through, but then you just don't want to play it again for some reason, maybe its the repetitive cutting of nazis or the slow motion chops, any of those could be it but if you like to cut stuff up then this is your game, if your looking for some in-depth story game stray away from this one cuz it will only cause you headaches. Other than that this game is pretty fun for the first couple of times and has its good moments. Expand
  17. KapitanL.
    Oct 3, 2003
    8
    This game is definitely fun for a couple of days. The controls are exquisite, computer gaming world has no idea what they were talking about, or their test machine was no good. The graphics are absolutely beautiful, blur effects are done perfectly. It utilizes 4 completely different vision modes, (5 if you count bloodrage), which all are very useful, and sometimes required to beat a This game is definitely fun for a couple of days. The controls are exquisite, computer gaming world has no idea what they were talking about, or their test machine was no good. The graphics are absolutely beautiful, blur effects are done perfectly. It utilizes 4 completely different vision modes, (5 if you count bloodrage), which all are very useful, and sometimes required to beat a level, the vision modes are not just eye candy. The only down side is the voice acting was mediocre, and the storyline was virtually non-existant. I beat the game on hard in 3-4 hours, so you can imagine there isn't much replay value in this one. However this game if chock FULL of eye candy. So if you're just looking to cut Nazis and Zombies to ribbons this is your game, but if you're looking for something full of story like Legend of Zelda, then this isn't your game. Expand
  18. VinnyC.
    Sep 12, 2003
    0
    It sucks, save your cash.
  19. birdd0g33
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    This game ROCKS!!!All these pc mag critics dont know chit from shinola.
  20. KingJeste
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    This rocks!! I love it... and she looks sexy too.. :)
  21. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    This game was somewhat a challenge but otherwise a really fun game! The controls are not that bad and there is a lot of fun Easter eggs the cheat codes are great. The story line was kinda mixed but still overall really fun!
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. With the bump mapping, dynamic shadows and water reflections swtiched on, it's a step beyond console well worth investigating. [Nov 2003, p.94]
  2. A decent action-adventure that should provide players with some fun moments, albeit without any background or meaning to it. I had fun with it, but not as much fun as I could've had if the story and voice acting were even half-decent.
  3. 73
    It has its problems -- some technical shortcomings here and there, some camera oversights and the occasional level layout difficulty, but I have to admit that I enjoyed playing through the 3D action title.