Blur PC

Blur Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blur is a new style of powered-up racing. The game drops players into heart-pumping racing action with 20 cars on a track all targeting the finish line and battling each other as they trade paint and collect intense power-ups, including the ability to blast other cars out of the way withBlur is a new style of powered-up racing. The game drops players into heart-pumping racing action with 20 cars on a track all targeting the finish line and battling each other as they trade paint and collect intense power-ups, including the ability to blast other cars out of the way with huge bursts of energy, boost their speed, and more. Gamers can use offensive and defensive attacks as they battle for the lead and careen through real-world track locations ranging from L.A. and San Francisco to the streets of Hackney, UK and the treacherous roads of Barcelona, Spain. Beyond the action-packed racing filled with fast curves, sneaky alternate routes, hair-raising jumps and fully realized damage models that provide for spectacular crashes, Blur’s narrative is presented through Bizarre’s new community-based interface, reaching far beyond the game itself. This unique story-driving social network evolves dynamically as players compete in different races, make new friends, rivals and fans, and connect with other racers both in-game and in real life. Looking beyond Blur's single player story, gamers can engage in competitive and team-based multiplayer races with up to 20 players online, or on a single console via 4-player split-screen. Bizarre has also introduced Blur’s original social gaming experience - Custom Groups, where anyone can create unique multiplayer modes based on their favorite ways to play the game. These new modes are immediately shared through Blur’s social network, expanding the game in ways that are only limited by the gaming community’s creativity. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Blur's mix of strategy-based power-ups, load-out menus, and largely varied challenges really make this game a must for all automotive fans. In a genre this oversaturated, it is good to know that there is still some innovation left.
  2. PC Zone UK
    90
    Somehow, the game, as a whole, comes together beautifully. [Sept 2010, p.80]
  3. Comic racers were yesterday, Blur is today. The graphics aren't really detailed, but the effects are outstanding. Blur is pure adrenaline, but it can get frustrating a bit as well.
  4. Online multiplayer is what keeps Blur afloat. Without it, this somewhat blocky and unshowy game would have been forgotten even faster than a one-trick pony called Split/Second. So far it is the best online racing experience you will have this year.
  5. Blur is a great effort from Bizarre Creations, one that will introduce a slew of kart-racing fans to the scene. While its visuals don't overwhelm like Split/Second's, it holds its own with cool weapons-based gameplay, making it a fun experience.
  6. Aptly named, Blur tries to unclear the line between kart and sim, but in the process may leave many racing enthusiasts of both sorts uncomfortable.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Fun arcade style racing with a bit of Mario Kart style combat thrown in. Lots of cars and is a good way to kill 30 minutes here and there. TheFun arcade style racing with a bit of Mario Kart style combat thrown in. Lots of cars and is a good way to kill 30 minutes here and there. The best arcade style racer in recent memory. If you are expecting a very strict driving sim then this game is not for you. Collapse
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Love the hell out of this game! I've clocked in over 100 hours on this arcade racer, I don't even care if people say it is "unrealistic" orLove the hell out of this game! I've clocked in over 100 hours on this arcade racer, I don't even care if people say it is "unrealistic" or "cartoony", because I love its intensity and pace. It's just a shame that not as many play it as they used to, you can hardly fill a match anymore, but the single-player on the hardest difficulty still delivers the same competition and intensity that online did! Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love racing games and haven't really found anything good for the PC after NFS undergrounds and burnout paradise, so I was really excited when I came across this game. This is a really fun game to play the entire way through. Everyone keeps relating it to Mario Kart, which the power ups are very much like, however it isn't just 'go play as a standard character with a standard car on a different track.' It is more like Mario Kart meets Burnout. Where you pick the car you want to use each round (good, fun selection as well), and you can get upgrades for the attacks as well. Pros: A very artistic game that has beautiful gameplay graphics
    Fun to finish to the end, had to play it until I beat the last boss races. Different game play modes, not all just straight races, sort of a burnout approach almost.

    Cons: Boss races are boring as heck, hit the enemy with one good shot, get out of range and watch them eat your dust. Not a lot of replay value, I beat it and haven't played it since, but it was definitely worth getting to play through.

    Note* This game is supposed to have a great multiplayer experience which I have not yet tried out.
    Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    This is definitely worth a try for anyone looking for a good arcade racing game. I loved Burnout: Revenge on the PS2 and this game reminds meThis is definitely worth a try for anyone looking for a good arcade racing game. I loved Burnout: Revenge on the PS2 and this game reminds me of Burnout in some aspects. Lots of cars and lots of different tracks. I personally really like the power up system and fighting your way through the tracks. 4 player split screen on PC is just lovely - although it took a loot of time to figure out how to get the controllers working. I had to use x360ce to emulate my x360 controllers to get the game to read them from port 3 and 4 instead of 1 and 2 - otherwise it messes up the controls for anyone playing on the keyboard (for anyone looking to do this, you have to mod the .ini file x360ce creates. Just move the letter/numbers for the controls from port 1 & 2 to port 3 & 4. x360ce resets this if you start up the program, so be sure to enter the .ini file afterwards. And keyboard player 1 have to be the one choosing levels and so on).

    Game looks great and I like the car handling. It's fast paced arcade racing - not a car simulation. Bottom line - it's a lot of fun and a good buy. There's way to few games on PC where you can play split screen or co-op - and this is one of the good ones.
    Why I don't give it a full pot is because of my initial frustration with controller setup for 4 player split screen, but as mentioned above it can be solved.
    Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    What is Blur? I think it's something between Mario Kart and FlatOut. You race in many places around the globe like in Tokyo or L.A. There areWhat is Blur? I think it's something between Mario Kart and FlatOut. You race in many places around the globe like in Tokyo or L.A. There are quite many cars that are grouped in 4 categories - A, B, C, D. The A class is the fastest and D class is the slowest class. The graphics are good but you have to have a good computer to play it on high settings.There are many powerups in this game and it make the game much more interesting. Another cool thing is the 3 2 1 count in the start. The thing that I don't like is that you can't change controls. There are two settings. There is one setting where you have to accelerate with Q. That is so stupid. You can't play with gamepad or with steering wheel. But if you don't count the bad things it is quite enjoyable arcade racer and you should try it.

    Graphics: 9
    Gameplay: 8
    Sounds: 7
    Story: 6
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    Great Car models, good visual effects, and lots of fun. Yes, is the combination of Need for Speed brand Licenses, the fun of Mario Kart/ CrashGreat Car models, good visual effects, and lots of fun. Yes, is the combination of Need for Speed brand Licenses, the fun of Mario Kart/ Crash Team Racing and the great gameplay of Burnout. As in almost all games, the career mode unlocks more cars and teach you how to play. I purchased the game on a Steam's "Daily deal", and I didn't even know that the game if an Activision's title. Don't expect the great graphic quality of a NFS game, but expect a lot of fun (a thing that many NFS games hasn't). I haven't played with a gamepad, but the games feels good playing with a keyboard. I don't know if it supports a steering wheel, but could be hard because of the arcade style the game has. You can see the animated driver inside de car (great feature) but you can't select the one you want, it'll depend of the car you choose.

    Split screen on the PC is a great feature, too few games count with this. Online and LAN game support, Friends list and Leaderboards to see your friend's records. You can find some games on the internet, maybe because of the Steam Deal. The game doesn't permit custom keybindings, so you only have two choices (already defined).

    It worths the 5 USD i paid (steam deal).
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2011
    1
    More of a Arcade game. Played a few races and just want to quit. Not even close to as good as NFS Shift or Test drive Unlimited. It's alsoMore of a Arcade game. Played a few races and just want to quit. Not even close to as good as NFS Shift or Test drive Unlimited. It's also feels kind of like cartoonish. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews