Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Captain Scarlett and her Pirate's Booty, up to four players cooperatively enter the hostile sand dunes and wastelands of Pirate Bay in search of ancient treasures. The add-on content campaign features new characters, including the eccentric and eager Shade; locations such as the town of Oasis; enemies including the Sand Pirates and Anchormen; and special weapons and loot that make it a must-play experience. No trip to Pandora is complete without a stop in Pirate Bay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    90
    I would have to say I'm very impressed with the first piece of DLC Borderlands 2 has to offer. It constantly keeps you moving from one area to the next, and nothing ever gets monotonous.
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    Yet again, Gearbox delivers great DLC for a great game.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty gets Borderlands 2's four planned DLC expansions off to a very good start, and it's well worth the asking price. I just hope there's another Handsome Jack on Pandora somewhere, twisting his mustache while plotting his grand DLC entrance.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    If you haven't gotten the Season Pass yet because you're waiting to see how the first DLC turns out, then I'd say run over and get it now, because if history repeats itself on this one, I think we're in for some great new adventures from Gearbox.
  5. 80
    We'd have liked a little more diversity in the environments, but as for content and quality, this is right on the mark.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    80
    Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty is a very well made DLC, but it's not for everyone. Fans of the first game, people who love the constant grind and looking for better loot, will have the most fun. If you want to complete this DLC once (and only for the story) you'll be disappointed. The plot is really cliché and without anything special, and fighting the same opponents between episodes can be a bore. What is more, the notice board has some really dull side quests. All in all - even though guys from Triptych Games missed the goal here and there - this DLC is a must buy for every Borderlands fan.
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    75
    No, Captain's Booty is not an exceptional follow-up to Borderlands 2, but it is a good piece of content that gives plenty of reasons for anyone to jump back into Pandora.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Awsome DLC for an awsome game! The quirky humor makes you go "what the...??" while at the same time laughing-but thats Borderlands in general, they just made it better, longer, and more in depth for Borderlands 2 and this DLC in particular. Anyway, Captain Scarlet is a very satisfying, off the wall side adventure and exactly what a good DLC should be. Personally, I think the new vehicle they introduce makes getting Captain Scarlet worth the investment all by itself lol! Omg, driving that thing is a complete hoot! And the new charectors they introduce-especially that creepy guy you meet first, he is so lovable and repulsive at the same time lol! I mean, he's so gross but you stare at him anyway lol! Where do they come up with this stuff??? Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Very nice addon to the awesome game! More than enough missions for DLC and gameplay same as in original game make it worth. Hope all future DLC's will be like this one! Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Scarlett delivers memorable locations and zany questing in the BL2 style. After finishing it, I can't imagine BL2 without it, which is just about the highest praise any DLC can receive. Not only are the environments extremely impressive, the Sandskiff vehicles are a total blast to pilot since they allow keyboard strafing for proper maneuverability. **** The couple new NPCs are great personalities, even if they are basically there just to direct you to your next quest. And a few of the music tracks are truly epic, if underutilized. The DLC does get a bit fetch questy from time to time, but overall Scarlett is a very worthy DLC that fits perfectly into the BL2 universe. It will be enjoyable to come back to Oasis to visit between main quest playthroughs with many a character to come! Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    A well done expansion with good presentation, storytelling and original content (enemies, weapons, good quests, etc.). As expected, that great Borderlands humor still remains and never gets dry. It's a fun DLC that will keep you entertained from start to finish. Though I said this DLC is well done, I didn't exactly find it completely groundbreaking. To me, it felt like there were some aspects of this DLC that could have offered a little more. Regardless, this expansion is worth the money and no fan of Borderlands should miss out on it. Collapse
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    Enjoyable DLC, the invincibles nice addition kinda frustrating till you find out their patterns(more difficult than the base game or 2nd DLC's invincibles). The rewards in the end were kinda dissapointing but good overall and the some interesting characters. Worth buying but a lot of space for improvement! Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    Borderlands was nigh flawless and the DLC made the game perfect, almost. Borderlands 2 doesn't have that. Captain Scarlett and her pirate's booty is decent. This DLC falls in line with Borderlands 2. It's uninspired, lacking content, repetitive and got no variation in enemies. Did I mention that the humour flopped? Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start by saying that I have spent way more hours playing in the Borderlands than I care to admit. I absolutely love the gritty Heavy Metal-esque (magazine) style world that Gearbox created, which is why this release was so disappointing to me. The first handful of quests seem as if they were outsourced, unvetted, or turned over to interns for development. I know it's is odd to criticize anything in the Borderlands universe for a lack of subtlety, but this add-on tries so hard to be over the top, it often falls flat.

    ***POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW***

    Oasis looks cool as you enter, but within a few minutes, you meet the first character, "Shade", a rubber-stamp copy of Johnny Depp in Fear & Loathing. I know that the core of Borderlands Universe is rife with pop cultural easter-eggs, but up until now every character felt like it emerged naturally from the Borderlands universe, Shade, with his giant sunglasses, large rimmed hat, and long cigarette-rocket-thingy, feels like straight up plagiarism. My first half hour in Oasis was also a bit of a disappointment. One of the early job board quests involves a disaffected girl who wants you to kill her grandmas pet and destroy her ship. The voicing of the character is so flat, it just feels like the voice actress gave up. It again breaks the illusion of a world that the rest of the franchise worked so hard to set up. I found the choice of model-reuse from the main game to be odd. The crystal merchant in Oasis is just the Crazy Earl model, re-skinned with a purple crayon. I would have preferred (assuming the dev team was short on resources), that they just reused Crazy Earl, (or gave him a fake mustache ala Dr Ned, the totally not made up brother of Dr. Zed) and not tried to pawn him off as 'new' content. I had no problem with the "blue" crystalisks you encounter later, They were also recycled models from the main game, but they were believable contextually as enemy variants, and were at least competently re-skinned.

    Regarding level design, unlike the main game, I have in several places encountered areas where the collision meshes did not line up with the visible geometry resulting in my character running in to invisible walls or walking on invisible outcroppings. As the DLC was released less than a month after the core game, I assume this sort of issue can be patched, but in contrast to the perfect alignment of the core game, the breaks in suspension-of-belief were jarring. One of the cool things about Borderlands is the ability to climb on things, and explore. Also generally levels are clearly laid out, and if there is a question about where to go, the level designers usually have big neon arrow that points you in the right direction. In several places of the DLC, I found big neon arrows that seemed arbitrarily thrown in as level 'decoration' without any apparent reason. This minor lack of cohesion to the main games level-design philosophy was disappointing.

    On a positive note, the cavern level beneath Oasis is gorgeous, the land speeders are fun, and Captain Scarlett and her ship are all up to the traditional BL standards. There is a lot of fun to be had in this pack once you get past the initial swallow.

    I am being somewhat overly critical by giving this DLC a 3, but only because I see Gearbox going in a direction that veers away from it's track record of pure awesome. It got 90% of everything right, but like a perfect veal milanese sprinkled with feces, the choice of garnish makes a huge difference in one's enjoyment of the experience. Experience: Ultimately, the experience of the game is what one is left with, and playing the first part of the DLC after finishing the main BL2 story was a big let down. It feels like the target audience shifted from everyone's inner sex addled 15 year old, to a potty-joke loving 7 year old. It's still sort of fun, but I felt a little insulted. It was like watching a magician perform a perfect set, and then watching his kid come on stage with a card trick and flub the encore, I pray that Gearbox, with this DLC is just using classic misdirection, to set us up for a flawless finale by lowering our expectations early so that we are again bedazzled by the excellence we have come to expect from this series.
    Expand