Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Delve into Mr. Torgue’s Campaign of Carnage and see if you have what it takes to become champion of this brand new storyline in Borderlands 2. Fight for the Big Loot against some of the baddest baddies in Pandora, including hordes of Biker Bandits. Also, take special quests from Tiny Tina, Moxxi and others for extra rewards. And don’t forget to bring your friends -- those higher levels get very tough. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    92
    If for some reason you absolutely cannot stand its sense of humor, you may want to think twice, because it's as prevalent and over-the-top as ever here. Otherwise, Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage represents Borderlands 2 at its distilled, unapologetic best.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    An expansion that manifests Gearbox as the masters of DLC. Mr Tourge is a character you love to hate and the campaign is of near perfect length and filled with all the main games strengths and more.
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    85
    The trip to Badass Crater of Badassitude is an excellent endeavor for all fans of the original game, for the lovers of unique atmosphere, crazy characters, dark humor and carnage in the best possible way. The second Borderlands 2 DLC is a better one than Captain Scarlett. Both expansions are a good investment for fans of the series, but in a direct confrontation, the crazy and uncompromising Mr. Torgue wins. I want more! Let's hope the upcoming two add-ons are equally good.
  4. 80
    Mr. Torgue's many secrets and winning personality ensure that all Borderlands 2 fans should revisit Pandora with this DLC pack.
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Like Borderlands 2 itself (and the Captain Scarlett DLC), once you defeat the final boss, you unlock an all new set of missions and many more hours' worth of stuff to do. It's the type of surprise that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy -- like Gearbox appreciates my continued patronage of Pandora.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    75
    Fun and over the top as always, Mr Torgue's Campaign of Carnage will definitely entertain you. Unfortunately, it won't last long.
  7. Mar 3, 2013
    73
    If you haven't completed [the main game] yet, though, there's no real reason to pay for this. [March 2013, p.111]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I consider Mr. Torgue's "A cappella" guitar solo wail, performed in honor of my beating the final boss and accompanying a literal explosion of loot raining down on me to be one of the greatest moments in videogaming history. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Buy this DLC...NOW! Seriously, getting to hear Mr. Torgue (voiced by Hercule/Mr Satan from DBZ) shouting and swearing and air guitaring with his mouth alone was worth the cost of a season pass! If you liked BL2 at all you need to get this...if you are a badass that is! Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    I liked this DLC a lot(definitely better than the 1st one). The characters were a lot of fun and Torgue especially my god! Story fairly straight forward, the rewards nothing special at least from and what I 've seen from some other people, but the raid boss has amazing rewards! A definite buy not so much for the story but for the laughs(there are lots) and the loot! Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    This DLC is not another Moxxi's Underdome Riot. TCoC is what Moxxi could have been if it had an actual storyline. There are a lot of huge areas added with different enemies, and it continues the weird, over the top action that Borderlands is famous for. TCoC adds Torgue currency that you can buy powerful (explosive) weaponry with, and is also quite challenging. That being said, there are some issues. In terms of bugs, enemies sometimes come out of their huts and just stand there, one of the bosses got stuck in the floor, and there are some exploitable areas where enemies ignore you if you stand in them. Catch-a-Ride systems are a little *too* spread out. Despite this, it's still a solid DLC. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    Not one of the strongest DLCs, but it's entertaining when I played it with friends. If you don't enjoy the style of humor that is Mr. Torgue's absurd overacting, you'll probably hate it. My favorite part was the game revewer bashing they did in one quest, which was just hillarious. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    7
    It's very similar to the original Borderlands, think of it as a big expansion. Still fun but doesn't introduce too many new features. The multiplayer makes the game more fun. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers. An overall amusing DLC, the final boss casts a pall over the rest of it. Essentially a do-over of the original Borderlands' (much maligned) 2nd DLC, it's a series of arena fights with story quests between them and some side-quests thrown in for good measure. This is one of the funniest DLC's I've ever played, and Mister Torgue is probably the best new character in the franchise since General Knoxx. The DLC switches off arena fights and story missions. Anyone who complains about the arena fights being too simple probably shouldn't have purchased a DLC that centers around arena fights. The big problem that this DLC has is that it features the absolute worst final boss in the Borderlands franchise. Be prepared to die multiple times against a boss who only defeats you because it has massive damage reduction and reflection, and a mountain of hit points. You must also fight it in an open ring with no cover, so don't plan to fight tactically. I don't mean to dwell on this issue, but it really is the first thing I think about when this DLC comes to mind. All in all, it's worth playing up to the last quest, then just walking back to the main game. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews