User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 59
  2. Negative: 15 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    I have played Borderlands 2 about 500 hours. I have played PT1, PT2 and reached level 50. Was PT1 fun? Yes. Was PT2 fun? Not at all. This is the reason, why I stopped playing PT2 immediately after reaching level 50 and instead played all characters in PT1. Now there is this new DLC. I traveled in "normal" mode to Aegrus with a Mechromancer level 33 (Anarchy build), a level 30 Impaler shield and level 30 purple weapons. My first fight with the witch doctor at the catch-a-boat location was so frustrating (although I had about 100 anarchy stacks), that I rage-quited the game. Why? You can't headshot a witch doctor. He is partially immune against melee attacks. He heals the mob, even far away from him. He has a nearly one-shot kill ability. He has all sort of elemental attacks. He is a bullet sponge. I don't know, why Gearbox thinks, every DLC has to be harder and more frustrating. It seems, that this DLC is for hardcore players only. But there are normal players out there. I like Borderlands 2, therefore 4 points. The DLC is not worth a point at all. Sit down Gearbox and think about it. I think, it's time to quit playing Borderlands 2. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    B2 was awesome game when it came out and was pure 10 here on MC. First 2 DLC's was somehow good (1st better than 2nd). Then problems started. They ruined whole game first with months of waiting for level cap. There was no point to play for people who had characters on level 50. And after that "Sir Hammerlock DLC". That is probably dullest and pointless DLC in gaming history. Further, it seems to me that they are targeting new content specially for coop play which produce pretty stupid gameplay for us which do not play in parties! Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    Almost completely unplayable. First off I am playing as Zero. In the main game and the first DLC (captain scarlet) i walked through the final bosses like nothing, then i get to the cabin at the beginning of this DLC and get absolutely stomped into the ground by witch doctor. It would seem that this is an enemy meant for no other purpose than to be annoying as all hell. Burn it down to 75% health.... heals its self to full. Burn it down to 50% health.... It heals its self most of the way to full then turns into an invincible tornado that is almost a 1 shot kill, heals its self and then summons a bunch of enemies. Then on top of this it has as much health as some of the mini bosses (if not more), is pretty much immune to melee, is totally immune to head shots, and is able to heal not only its self but every other enemy on the damn map every 10 seconds (it summons most of these and upgrades them to badasses too). Not even 30 minutes in and I have rage quit and have no intention of returning to this DLC. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    Short
    Well, I bought the Borderlands 2 Season Pass and tried the Big Game Hunt DLC. I entered this DLC at level 36. I finished the DLC at level 39, which is good leveling. However, this DLC is very short. I did all story missions and two side missions. The DLC took me about 2 hours to complete. I'm happy I didn't spend 10 bucks on this DLC, because I would be asking for a refund. I like
    the story, I think the villain is funny also. I wish the story was 13 chapters instead of 3. And yes, there are only 3 chapters in this DLC. I believe in the Pirate's Booty DLC, there were 13. And in the Mr. Torque DLC, I believe it was around the same. Good, story, but WAY too short. 3 out of 10. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    1
    What a total bore this thing was! The other expansion packs have been quite interesting but it seems that this and the new +11 level ultra pack2 just plain suck. If you're buying this on Steam with the season pass I guess it's worth it, but I recommend playing this pack with low expectations. The pirate expansion, the arena battles, and other packs are far better made. thumbs down!
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    70
    It's a solid few hours worth a look. [Apr 2013, p.111]
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    87
    Just like the perfect AC/DC song, Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt might occasionally drag, but whenever it counts, it gives you exactly what you paid for.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    75
    The final DLC for Borderlands 2 has two faces. One is that of many new things: interesting maps, different from everything we got to know and a variety of completely new, well designed opponents. That's the "good face". The "bad face" is presented by the means of the shortest and most dull single player campaign yet. When compared to other two add-ons, Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt is the weakest one. But this doesn't change the fact, that fans should consider buying it, because it's most definitely worth the price.