Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this DLC, players encounter uncharted territory deep in the swamps of Pandora where a very large Hyperion ship has crashed down. The wreckage is believed to have stockpiles of cash and booty. But watch yourself because mutant creatures, and armies of savages also had their interest piquedIn this DLC, players encounter uncharted territory deep in the swamps of Pandora where a very large Hyperion ship has crashed down. The wreckage is believed to have stockpiles of cash and booty. But watch yourself because mutant creatures, and armies of savages also had their interest piqued by the ship. As ferocious and dangerous as they may seem, the mysterious Professor Nakayama claims to be their diabolical leader, and he’s calling all the shots. This add-on includes new guns, new loot, new bosses, a new location, a new vehicle and new skins & heads. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    90
    This DLC doesn't bring the much-anticipated level cap increase (Gearbox says that's on the way soon), but otherwise, this is the adventure that Borderlands 2 veterans have been waiting for. Go on the Big Game Hunt for the continued story, but stay in Aegrus for the challenge.
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    87
    Just like the perfect AC/DC song, Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt might occasionally drag, but whenever it counts, it gives you exactly what you paid for.
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    80
    It may not be ground breaking, and it may not be as long as the other DLCs that have been released, but that doesn't stop Big Game Hunt from being a rather jolly good time.
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    70
    Hammerlock is a decent DLC pack, but with Gearbox farming out some of this work, I'm hoping that means they've got something bigger and even more interesting in the works for post-releaseBL2 support.
  5. PC Gamer
    Mar 31, 2013
    70
    It's a solid few hours worth a look. [Apr 2013, p.111]
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    69
    In terms of story, dialogue, and encounter design, this add-on pales in comparison to the rest of Borderlands 2.
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    60
    Big Game Hunt is certainly worth a play if you've got the Season Pass, but if you're buying it by itself then its numerous weaknesses make it harder to recommend. It's not bad, but it's not Campaign of Carnage.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    Almost completed it. Basically if you dig the past DLC's this one is worth playing. Is it better? Nope. It's fairly short, the characters andAlmost completed it. Basically if you dig the past DLC's this one is worth playing. Is it better? Nope. It's fairly short, the characters and humor aren't as good as past entries. Still it's fun while it lasts. That being said, some things you should know. As others have stated previously, this DLC is difficult. I'd say be at level 35 at least before heading in. I can see some people rage quitting after being killed by a witch doctor for the umpteenth time. On the positive side to that I found I used the rocket launcher and shotgun a TON more than any other previous entry which was kinda "new" for me. Also used "slag" weaponry/grenades ALOT more. Another irksome thing was having completed a side quest having to go through waves of re-spawned enemies in an already cleared area just to complete it! It didn't bother me alot but others may find it unacceptable.

    Aergus itself is a tad barren with not a ton of different areas//buildings to check out, but again not that big a deal for me.

    Loot drops are pretty consistent with other entries.

    NOTE!
    I played this in TVH mode starting at level 38, so the "normal" mode may differ a bit but probably not much.

    All in all a decent DLC worth a go, but I feel is better suited to more hardcore players. Casual fans may pass and shouldn't feel like they missed much.

    Did I mention to have a rocket launcher and grenades fully stocked at all times?
    Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2015
    7
    Not bad, not bad. My favorite DLC is Tiny Tina's Fantasy Adventure (or whateva its called). But this one is nice as well. It does get a littleNot bad, not bad. My favorite DLC is Tiny Tina's Fantasy Adventure (or whateva its called). But this one is nice as well. It does get a little bit boring and the main quest doesnt feel grandiose enough - something that u would expect from Sir Hammerlock. Nonetheless - a must for any BL Fan :) Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    All things considered, it isn't bad. However, it falls more within the purview of disappointment. There are indeed some sidequests to keepAll things considered, it isn't bad. However, it falls more within the purview of disappointment. There are indeed some sidequests to keep you busy (not a terrible lot of them though), but the main story itself is rather short (rather jarring compared to the other two DLCs, which are still kind of short when taking sidequests out of consideration). I certainly didn't expect another General Knoxx, but as of yet, this is the weakest of the three DLCs in Borderlands 2. I'm hoping that the fourth DLC would be substantially better, and possibly even cover the Hyperion space station obstructing the moon. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    Short
    Well, I bought the Borderlands 2 Season Pass and tried the Big Game Hunt DLC. I entered this DLC at level 36. I finished the DLC at
    Short
    Well, I bought the Borderlands 2 Season Pass and tried the Big Game Hunt DLC. I entered this DLC at level 36. I finished the DLC at level 39, which is good leveling. However, this DLC is very short. I did all story missions and two side missions. The DLC took me about 2 hours to complete. I'm happy I didn't spend 10 bucks on this DLC, because I would be asking for a refund. I like the story, I think the villain is funny also. I wish the story was 13 chapters instead of 3. And yes, there are only 3 chapters in this DLC. I believe in the Pirate's Booty DLC, there were 13. And in the Mr. Torque DLC, I believe it was around the same. Good, story, but WAY too short. 3 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2016
    4
    The weakest add-on to Borderlands 2 and probably in the series overall. I love Sir Hammerlock as a character, but his DLC's gameplay is fullThe weakest add-on to Borderlands 2 and probably in the series overall. I love Sir Hammerlock as a character, but his DLC's gameplay is full of grindy collection sidequests and annoying level design. There are some interesting new enemies, as well as the returning Drifters from the Secret Armory add-on of the first game. I personally enjoy the idea of having airboats- but they constantly get stuck on level architecture worse then the base game's cars do and are just a pain overall to use. I cannot recommend Big Game Hunt on it's own merits, though it being included in the GOTY edition isn't the end of the world. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2016
    4
    Story is non-existent, raid bosses especially Voracidous the Invincible are OP as hell....basically unbeatable. We just finished Tiny Tina'sStory is non-existent, raid bosses especially Voracidous the Invincible are OP as hell....basically unbeatable. We just finished Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep as the first DLC then played this so it was a huge disappointment. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    B2 was awesome game when it came out and was pure 10 here on MC. First 2 DLC's was somehow good (1st better than 2nd). Then problems started.B2 was awesome game when it came out and was pure 10 here on MC. First 2 DLC's was somehow good (1st better than 2nd). Then problems started. They ruined whole game first with months of waiting for level cap. There was no point to play for people who had characters on level 50. And after that "Sir Hammerlock DLC". That is probably dullest and pointless DLC in gaming history. Further, it seems to me that they are targeting new content specially for coop play which produce pretty stupid gameplay for us which do not play in parties! Expand

See all 14 User Reviews