Borderlands 2 PC

Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy On
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    100
    Builds on the foundations of the first game to produce an experience that is both hugely enjoyable and technically impressive. [Nov 2012, p.59]
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    100
    The world's bigger and badder, the visuals are more impressive, the best characters return alongside plenty of great new ones, and the endless search for new loot proves to be even more addictive than before. Borderlands 2 on PC is just plain awesome and will definitely be one of my candidates for Game of the Year.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    Borderlands 2 is an hybrid video game that successfully combines the dynamics of first-person shooters with the depth of role-playing game. With an Unreal Engine 3 in better shape than ever, the new game from Gearbox Software is visually astonishing.
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    95
    Borderlands 2 is a complete, exceptional game. A perfect example for other developers on how to make sequels. Not only does it have a well made, very long campaign that can be completed solo or in co-op mode, but there are lots of smaller and bigger changes and tweaks that make the gameplay so much more enjoyable. All the things that were imperfect before are better now. I have a feeling that there won't be a better game this fall.
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    94
    The moment at which my endearingly annoying robot companion Claptrap fashioned himself a Mohawk out of some animal fur I collected he earned a spot on my all-time favorite robot list.
  8. Sep 27, 2012
    94
    There's really only one conclusion to be made with Borderlands 2. Despite its flaws it really is some of the best co-op gaming you're likely to see in recent years.
  9. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  10. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    92
    It’s addicting, full of creative gags and amazing battles (especially in co-op mode) and it keeps dangling that loot-carrot in front of your face. Add that crazy humor on top and you have a synonymous for the world ‘entertainment’. [November 2012]
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    92
    Overall, Borderlands 2 takes what wasn't broken and builds on it, but it does so in a way that feels very much like the original game. At the same time, the gameplay is different enough to not feel like a retread, as practically every area of the gameplay has been tweaked to some extent.
  12. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for something with a ponderous story full of morality and contemplation – one best savored alone – then you'll need to look elsewhere. Borderlands 2 delivers tons of lighthearted, occasionally juvenile fun with immense replayability, and is best approached with a few buddies in tow. It doesn't revolutionize the concept pioneered by its forebear, but it refines it to a razor-sharp edge and offers some of the most fun you can have in a cooperative action RPG this side of Diablo II. And if nothing else, it's got lots of Claptrap.
  13. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 29, 2012
    90
    Maybe there are some objective in-game mistakes but everything is forgiven after you find the very first piece of equipment and upgrade first ability – you don't want to stop (and you don't need to) to get from one to the other. [Oct 2012]
  14. Oct 5, 2012
    90
    Borderlands 2 successfully maintains every aspect that made the first game such a surprise hit and improves upon them in all the ways that matter.
  15. Oct 3, 2012
    90
    Borderlands 2 is full of hilarious writing, is a blast to play with friends, and promises hundreds of hours of content. But a lack of gameplay innovation will disappoint fans looking for more than just "more Borderlands".
  16. Sep 26, 2012
    90
    Gearbox has consistently built on the strengths of the first game and managed to capture the sort of gravitational pull that always sucks you in for another go. Sometimes it pays to not change a winning formula all too much.
  17. Sep 23, 2012
    90
    Crazy and funny and in many ways a better game than the original. Borderlands 2 hasn't changed its gaming formula, it has just improved the original mechanics and added some new ones to our absolute satisfaction. At first you won't probably tell a difference, but at the end of the day your experience will be much better.
  18. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    Borderlands 2 surpasses its predecessor in almost every aspect. This is a brilliantly written, over the top, amazingly fun game, that everyone should play and love. It's not perfect, but no firework is, and this one is definitely nuclear.
  19. 90
    Everything we hoped for and expected from Gearbox's anticipated sequel. Takes just about every aspect of the first game and polishes them to a shine, making it hard to ever look back. One of the games that has made us laugh the most in recent times.
  20. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  21. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    Playing Borderlands 2 is like throwing a cherry bomb in a can of paint. In a good way!
  22. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    It feels funny to say this about a 13-year-old developer with a portfolio of work that includes Half-Life and Counter-Strike expansions, stellar squad-based WWII shooter franchise Brothers in Arms, and the original Borderlands, but with Borderlands 2, Gearbox has arrived as a real blockbuster studio. Right from the toe-tapping "Short Change Hero" opening cinematic, Borderlands 2 stands out as Gearbox's magnum opus, and one of the most memorable and fun gaming rides I've ever been on.
  23. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Borderlands 2 is still a hillbilly moonshiner sort of game, then, but it's the hillbilly at his canny, tinkering, big-dreaming best. It's the hillbilly at the peak of his powers. It's the hillbilly made majestic.
  24. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  25. Sep 25, 2012
    89
    Bordelands 2 is one of the best cooperative game on the market, but played in single-player is a little boring. If you have some friends to share the fun, buy it immediately.
  26. Sep 19, 2012
    88
    There may be some pointless loot drops more times than not, there may be some difficulty issues with single player story missions, and there may be some graphical glitches and texture pop-ins, but none of that takes away from the fact that Borderlands 2 is a solid first-person shooter and a great RPG.
  27. Sep 26, 2012
    86
    If you love to laugh and shoot at the same time, Borderlands 2 is for you. The remarkable humor oozes through the whole 40 hour long game and is the glue that keeps the otherwise not-so innovative game together. Gearbox managed a pimped version of the original game but dared not to try something new.
  28. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  29. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    85
    Distinctive humour, fantastic graphics, tons of weapons and an unconventional world – there's simply no other game like Borderlands 2. What ails me is that a lot of minor flaws could have been fixed with a small amount of work. [12/2012, p.56]
  30. Sep 21, 2012
    85
    Borderlands 2 doesn't reach far beyond its predecessor's scope, but it does do almost everything better. Additions, refinements, and fixes all combine to create an appreciably improved experience, one that fully delivers on the promise of the first game.
  31. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    PC players will be happy to know that the game comes with some great customization options and looks stunning with settings maxed out. I was able to run the game at a very smooth framerate, despite having everything turned up high. The UI and controls are much kinder to keyboard/mouse players than thy were the first time around.
  32. Sep 18, 2012
    83
    Pandora is more colorful and more vivid than ever before. The enemies act smarter and they attack in mixed groups so the team of up to four heroes has to work together - elemental damage and positioning are keys to survival. Unfortunately the storytelling takes a while before it gets interesting (although the humour is top-notch) and sometimes you get stuck in a mission treadmill.
  33. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    More comprehensive, more varied, better polished, Borderlands 2 still boasts the same strengths than three years ago, only enhanced. It's still a rather brutal FPS mixed with loot-whoring RPG, with a unique design and a super-violent, super-crazy world.
  34. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    Borderlands 2 is a very safe and familiar sequel, which of course is both a good and a bad thing. The shooting and looting is still fantastic but the frequent load times and poor story also remains as obvious low points. The result is a really good, but not great, second game in the series.
  35. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Despite being an all-around improvement over the original Borderlands, Borderlands 2's biggest flaw is that it plays it safe.
  36. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    The problem with Borderlands 2 is that it's just more Borderlands. Normally I don't criticize something because it didn't go out of its safe zone, but having played close to 100 hours of the first game and with very few changes outside some AI behaviours and environments, it makes the sequel feel less special than it should be.
  37. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    In general, playing with other people is pretty much painless, even on PC, which now uses Steamworks across the board instead of that GameSpy nonsense. The PC version of the game is much friendlier overall, and the in-game menus for inventory are easily manipulated with a mouse. Playing the game with a mouse and keyboard feels just fine, but you can still play the PC version with a controller just as easily.
  38. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2475 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 530
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    4
    I tried to love this game, I really did. Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 when it first released, I had no choice but to purchase the sequel.I tried to love this game, I really did. Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 when it first released, I had no choice but to purchase the sequel. I put about 12 -15 hours into the game so far...and I cannot help but feel bored. I feel like I've already done all of this before..three years ago. Yes the graphics are better and color schemes have vastly improved..but I cannot give this game any higher than a 2/5 at this point. I know many players right now are enjoying the hell out of this game. I truly envy all of them. Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    I made this second account to write a more neutral, factual review, since unlike many others here, I actually have played Borderlands 2. TheI made this second account to write a more neutral, factual review, since unlike many others here, I actually have played Borderlands 2. The first review is more critical of the game on principle, so I wanted to review it as a game with all the additional factors stripped away. I used actual facts from the PC version, like the cluttered inventory system, the lack of dedicated controls for features like designating weapons as trash/favorites, the existence of day 1 dlc like the monster arenas and the gearbox weapons and keys, the poor humor that relies on tasteless internet culture like arrow to the knee and other references, and the several small improvements to the game such as the addition of new shot and grenade types, the better graphics and color palette, and the minor pc additions in the settings. What do I get for being honest and factual? Review deleted. Buzz off Gearbox, you cannot censor me. Full Review »