Borderlands 2 PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2212 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    In many ways Borderlands 2 improves upon BL1 and, if you are a fan of the first game in the series, I would easily recommend this one. The gameplay seems a bit smoother, the art seems a bit more polished, and rocket launchers can actually do damage! That being said, there are a few things I would like to inform any potential buyers: 1. The loot system, while apparently expanded, seemed aIn many ways Borderlands 2 improves upon BL1 and, if you are a fan of the first game in the series, I would easily recommend this one. The gameplay seems a bit smoother, the art seems a bit more polished, and rocket launchers can actually do damage! That being said, there are a few things I would like to inform any potential buyers: 1. The loot system, while apparently expanded, seemed a tad bit limited. Oh sure, you find guns that have better stats and they might even have a new skin, but because all the gun manufacturers have their own "quirks" that apply to EVERY gun they make (i.e. all hyperion guns start out inaccurate but gain accuracy the longer you fire), all the guns seem rather similar. You no longer get the "HX480" prefix in your gun titles, which, while it might appeal to many gamers, also makes it harder to see if you have a gun made up of the perfect parts. Also, if you have been following the press releases about the game, the advertised "thrown together" aspects of Bandit guns are out. Originally there were supposed to be beer bottles in place of scopes and a screw that you look down when in ADS mode. It seems that now all bandit guns have is a "dirty" or graffiti'd paint job. 2. The environments have definitely been expanded upon, with caverns and mines filled with acid to a modern city open for you to loot and shoot your way through. The problem that might turn off some gamers is that the devs added more obstacles for you to run past so that there is a greater sense of progression. This is, in my opinion, a double edged sword because this leads to a cluster of terrain that is almost impossible to navigate without using the map. 3. Badass points: You gain badass points whenever you do challenges like "shoot x amount of enemies with sniper rifles". You can then spend these points on upping gun damage, reload speed, etc. This replaces the weapon proficiency system of BL1, so that some gamers wouldn't feel committed to using the type of gun they had used up to that point. On the other hand, you don't feel like you are improving with a certain weapon type, which cuts down on a bit of the RPG aspects IMO. 4. Gore: In order to release world-wide uncut, Gearbox disabled decapitations. In BL1, a headshot with a decent sniper rifle and *boom*. Head gone. In BL2, even though the blood from the headshot still spews out like in the prequel, the enemy models still retain their heads. This is a rather minor complaint, but judging from the Gearbox forums, there are a good number of people ticked off by this.

    All in all, I think that this is a pretty good game. The only setbacks I thought it had were conscious decisions made by Gearbox and, while I might not be the specific market they are trying to appeal to, there is still enough shoot and loot for me to enjoy BL2 immensely. I'd also keep in mind that Gearbox was trying to release Aliens colonel marines and Duke Nukem Forever at the same time, which might explain the lack of innovation in terms of Bandit weapons. My hope is they balance the innovations (the manufacturer "quirks") in BL3.
    Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    Art style and presentation is fantastic. Works very well on PC and, voice acting helps drive the story forward. The decoration of the areas, for want of a better word, is lush and interesting. Character animation when shooting is fun and the ragdoll physics makes the world feel nice and alive.

    However I'm 30 hours in and I can feel the repetitive gameplay become more evident as the
    Art style and presentation is fantastic. Works very well on PC and, voice acting helps drive the story forward. The decoration of the areas, for want of a better word, is lush and interesting. Character animation when shooting is fun and the ragdoll physics makes the world feel nice and alive.

    However I'm 30 hours in and I can feel the repetitive gameplay become more evident as the novelty wears off. I didn't play Borderlands 1 and I can imagine if I had I'd be quite bored.

    My main complaint is with the limited scale of the areas. The game world feels cramped, this is no Capital Wasteland. I make the comparison as the scale, complexity and exploration aspects of Fallout 3 is something that I started to crave. Especially as when completing an area, taking up to an hour to advance the story, the next side mission you take often has you going literally around in circles through the same area you've just cleared, fighting instantly respawned enemies, and even respawned bosses. I've come to the conclusion that running through the story missions and actively avoiding side missions is the only way I can keep interest in the game after the 25 hour mark.

    The bipedal enemies are fun in the most part, but the creature enemies I found annoying. They almost always run at you and swarm you, which is doubly annoying when they respawn behind you. And finally the big USP is the limitless amount of guns. This is slightly disingenuous as there are 4 gun classes underneath which all guns are roughly similar. They have randomised stats, and effects which once you've seen them, aren't too interesting. The loot powers up with your level, so you'll never stumble across a great gun early on. Which also makes playing early side missions and going back to early areas after you've levelled up pointless as all the loot is underpowered, and which is another tick against doing side missions.

    This game is pretty but shallow. Which is upsetting as I was hoping for something a bit more subversive, gritty, and epic in scale. If you can live with the repetitiveness and want to get lost in the art style I recommend it. For me I'm counting the days until Firaxis release Xcom.
    Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    6
    I loved borderlands 1, LOVED it, played it 3 times, was great fun every single time, both by yourself and with others. Now I wanted to love Borderlands 2, I truly did, but something about the game was rubbing me the wrong way all the way through. After finishing the second playthrough and clocked over 100 hours, I can say this at least:

    A lot of people, hell almost everyone keeps
    I loved borderlands 1, LOVED it, played it 3 times, was great fun every single time, both by yourself and with others. Now I wanted to love Borderlands 2, I truly did, but something about the game was rubbing me the wrong way all the way through. After finishing the second playthrough and clocked over 100 hours, I can say this at least:

    A lot of people, hell almost everyone keeps claiming that Borderlands 2 is a big improvement upon the original and that everything is better then the first, truth is it really isnt true.

    Some of the most important aspects are done poorly, the guns is a big important part of the game and in the original it wasnt hard to find a gun you found to be perfect. a uber shotgun with high accuracy, 30 round drum, fast fire rate, fast reload speed, pretty much the perfect gun. Well let me stop you right here, you will never, EVER find such a gun in Borderlands 2. Every single gun in this game has something negative to it, in fact I'd go as far as saying they only excel at one aspect at best. Either you have a big clip, or you do high damage, or you have high accuracy, but you'll never have them all. This annoyed me greatly. In 100+ hours I never found a good combat rifle, never found that shotgun that felt just right, etc

    Another thing that is done poorly, especially in a game like this that promotes Co-Op so badly, is weapon sharing, it is none existant. in the original game, each character was subtly suggested to use certain weapon types, and this is further encouraged by getting weapon levels after using a type of weapon for a while, which increased the parameters for that type of weapon, for example roland has talents for assault rifles and shotguns, and by using those weapons a lot you get experience in those weapons so you are less likely to pick up other types of weapons and stick with those you specilise in. In BL2 that system is thrown out of the window, everyone is good with all weapon types, which is good, but it also ment I spent 60% of the game with a sniper...as did all of the people I played with, and whenever a weapon chest was opened EVERYONE wanted EVERYTHING, you never heard "hey there is a good smg for you here" or "you take that assault rifle, i speciilize in shotguns" they didnt think that through.

    third, and this is just a opinion but I found the humor just not the same this time around, part of what made borderlands 1 so good was the writing. The random events that happend and the dialogue the NPCs said it just fit really well in the world of pandora, even little things like the vendor machine dialogue this time around the NPCs, most of which are newly introduced characters just arent funny, the cutscenes feel forced, the jokes are pretty lame, I didnt chuckle once at these jokes.

    Honestly I feel they focused too much on the wrong things. I can honestly tell you, that the few things that were wrong with the original game are fixed in the sequel. The poorly intigrated multiplayer, the constant wasteland enviroment and the relatively easy difficulty of the original, and in that sense, yes they improved the game, but they also butchered the well executed aspects of the original.

    Long story short, they focused too much on the story, the enemy variety and uniquely looking enviroment, and weapon looks, but the cost was too high, writing is bad in this game, guns never feel good, and because everyone uses the same guns, co-op is almost pointless since everyone wants to use the same guns, and its impossible to decide who gets what this time around.

    I played it for 100 hours so oblivously it wasnt a terrible game, but neither was it exciting.
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    A bit of unpolished physics, strange animations, and such keep this from being a perfect ten. But everything else?

    Guns: Awesome. Gameplay: Exciting. Writing: Hysterical. Replayability: Basically infinite with the character-spanning Badass Token system.

    This game is everything I'd hoped for.
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is aDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 2 is like the original on steroids. Everything is just plain better - voice acting, story, UI, graphics...it's all just better. With the same awesome FPS experience the first one brought to the table. And GUNS. SO MANY GUNS. The game has way better options for PC gamers (FOV option is built right in), and the menu's are not all consolified like the first version, a niceBorderlands 2 is like the original on steroids. Everything is just plain better - voice acting, story, UI, graphics...it's all just better. With the same awesome FPS experience the first one brought to the table. And GUNS. SO MANY GUNS. The game has way better options for PC gamers (FOV option is built right in), and the menu's are not all consolified like the first version, a nice gesture from the slap-in-the-face PC gamers get normally with console ports.

    The world also feels bigger, but filled with more characters, rather then just endless desert like the original. While its no Skyrim in terms of world openness, it's at least headed in the right direction.

    One small disappointment is the check point system remains the same. You have to find a check point in order to save your progress. Check points are so 90's. Adults have lives, and they don't always have 15 minutes to find the next pole. In the scheme of things...it's a minor complaint.

    Bottom line - more baddies for you to shoot, blow-up and electrocute. Better voice acting, more story, better story, and all the FPS action of the original - it's pretty much FPS of the year.
    Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    This game is exactly what the video game industry needed. I'm only a level 15 and yet i've been playing for hours - new game + just sweetens the deal. It's honestly going to be game of the year without a doubt.
  8. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    Overall thought it was extremely mediocre. If you really liked the first then you will probably like this one, because not much has changed. It's the same formula, just more of it. Everything they did before has been improved, however, but much of the core gameplay remains unchanged and very boring/static. Writing is the same "2 edgy 4 u" **** that panders to the lowest demographic, filledOverall thought it was extremely mediocre. If you really liked the first then you will probably like this one, because not much has changed. It's the same formula, just more of it. Everything they did before has been improved, however, but much of the core gameplay remains unchanged and very boring/static. Writing is the same "2 edgy 4 u" **** that panders to the lowest demographic, filled with pop-culture references and lame jokes. If all you want to do it fetch stuff and shoot things, then this is your game. If you want a game with substance, look somewhere else. Expand
  9. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    I made this second account to write a more neutral, factual review, since unlike many others here, I actually have played Borderlands 2. The first review is more critical of the game on principle, so I wanted to review it as a game with all the additional factors stripped away. I used actual facts from the PC version, like the cluttered inventory system, the lack of dedicated controls forI made this second account to write a more neutral, factual review, since unlike many others here, I actually have played Borderlands 2. The first review is more critical of the game on principle, so I wanted to review it as a game with all the additional factors stripped away. I used actual facts from the PC version, like the cluttered inventory system, the lack of dedicated controls for features like designating weapons as trash/favorites, the existence of day 1 dlc like the monster arenas and the gearbox weapons and keys, the poor humor that relies on tasteless internet culture like arrow to the knee and other references, and the several small improvements to the game such as the addition of new shot and grenade types, the better graphics and color palette, and the minor pc additions in the settings. What do I get for being honest and factual? Review deleted. Buzz off Gearbox, you cannot censor me. Expand
  10. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    This game comes off as a more finished version of Borderlands. About 10 hours in, the visuals are nicer, the combat is fun (same), and there seems to be more NPC talking. The killer for me was the decision to replace the Borderlands protagonists with... mutant-twin-copypasta, lame across the board versions of the Borderlands protagonists. It's my fault for not pre-ordering the game, butThis game comes off as a more finished version of Borderlands. About 10 hours in, the visuals are nicer, the combat is fun (same), and there seems to be more NPC talking. The killer for me was the decision to replace the Borderlands protagonists with... mutant-twin-copypasta, lame across the board versions of the Borderlands protagonists. It's my fault for not pre-ordering the game, but I'm now facing the prospect of waiting until mid-October and shelling out another $10 to play as a character that doesn't seem to be eerily familiar (reasonable or not, I almost instantly feel hostile toward developers who do this). During the DLC of Borderlands I started to feel like I was getting tired of exploring Pandora, and though I was excited going in my enthusiasm for Borderlands 2 is quickly waning. Too much focus was put on trying to make the story "better," and the game as a whole suffered. I played Borderlands when I wanted to mindlessly drive around, kill things, and collect guns. I would have honestly been happier with the same playable characters and new adventures. Expand
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    If you loved Borderlands, you will love Borderlands 2. They did it. I don't know how, but they made Borderlands better. Best of all, they made the PC version playable! Playing over steam with friends is as easy as playing native steam games like Left 4 Dead 2 with friends. The graphics look great, the game runs perfectly at max settings with high end hardware, and the gameplay is funIf you loved Borderlands, you will love Borderlands 2. They did it. I don't know how, but they made Borderlands better. Best of all, they made the PC version playable! Playing over steam with friends is as easy as playing native steam games like Left 4 Dead 2 with friends. The graphics look great, the game runs perfectly at max settings with high end hardware, and the gameplay is fun and more challenging than the original. The only flaw I can really find in this game is that the menus are unnecessarily clunky. Namely, the inability to use WASD to navigate menus (Skyrim, anyone?). But really, this is a wonderful game so far, and a much better piece of software than the terrible PC version of the first game was. :D Expand
  12. Sep 20, 2012
    4
    I tried to love this game, I really did. Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 when it first released, I had no choice but to purchase the sequel. I put about 12 -15 hours into the game so far...and I cannot help but feel bored. I feel like I've already done all of this before..three years ago. Yes the graphics are better and color schemes have vastly improved..but I cannot give this game anyI tried to love this game, I really did. Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 when it first released, I had no choice but to purchase the sequel. I put about 12 -15 hours into the game so far...and I cannot help but feel bored. I feel like I've already done all of this before..three years ago. Yes the graphics are better and color schemes have vastly improved..but I cannot give this game any higher than a 2/5 at this point. I know many players right now are enjoying the hell out of this game. I truly envy all of them. Expand
  13. Sep 19, 2012
    4
    The game has quite a few redeeming qualities, good graphics, it's fun with co-op... but it's just borderlands 1 redux. I felt like I got ripped off.
  14. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Being a Borderlands 1 veteran with over 200 hours (stopped counting), I expected a little bit more. The humour has become more awkward rather than cynical as in the previous game. I didn't get the point of the character called Tiny Tina at all. "Deadliest 13 year-old." Seriously Gearbox, did you completely sell-out to appeal to kids? The lowest form of humour in the game is panderingBeing a Borderlands 1 veteran with over 200 hours (stopped counting), I expected a little bit more. The humour has become more awkward rather than cynical as in the previous game. I didn't get the point of the character called Tiny Tina at all. "Deadliest 13 year-old." Seriously Gearbox, did you completely sell-out to appeal to kids? The lowest form of humour in the game is pandering internet memes like "got an arrow to the knee". That train has already departed, it's not funny any more if it ever was. I gave this game a 10 before finishing it, today I've finished it and came back to adjust my rating to a rock solid 7 only to see my previous spoiler free and completely positive comment to be deleted. Way to deal with customers. I don't care if this was done on the action of 2K or Gearbox, I'm done. If you enjoy item hoarding games with a mediocre coop go buy it. If you want a quality single-player rather get Fallout if you want multiplayer get Left 4 Dead 2. I don't care about random stats items anymore. Expand
  15. Sep 19, 2012
    3
    If I had to sum up Borderlands 2 in one word, it would probably be "mediocre". "Repetitive" might be another good word to use though. If all you're looking for is a bit of new content from Borderlands 1 then I guess this game could be for you. They are almost exactly the same, and after an hour or two just as boring. Originally I wasn't even going to buy the game but it was gifted to me byIf I had to sum up Borderlands 2 in one word, it would probably be "mediocre". "Repetitive" might be another good word to use though. If all you're looking for is a bit of new content from Borderlands 1 then I guess this game could be for you. They are almost exactly the same, and after an hour or two just as boring. Originally I wasn't even going to buy the game but it was gifted to me by a friend. After playing for a couple of hours I gave him the money he spent back on my copy that way I didn't feel like I had to play this boring game anymore. That's right, I spent $60 to NOT play the game. Also, apparently there is day 1 DLC? I'm very disappointed and was hoping from something new from gearbox on this release. Just a big disappointment. Their "new" menu/inventory system is a lot more annoying than the last as well. Looks nicer but I'd much rather have the old one back. The game ran well, and the fact they added more options in this one that you had to tweak manually before via the config files (ie: FOV), was a nice change. The commentary from the NPC's/characters in this game however are definitely hilarious and made the boring gameplay a bit more enjoyable. Expand
  16. Sep 19, 2012
    4
    I played the first game about halfway through until the constant respawning of enemies really killed the fun for me. I was hoping they'd at least make it optional to not have everything respawn behind your back (like, only respawn on new games) but no, the second installment is exactly the same in that regard. Maybe some people like this, I find it highly frustrating! The game is prettyI played the first game about halfway through until the constant respawning of enemies really killed the fun for me. I was hoping they'd at least make it optional to not have everything respawn behind your back (like, only respawn on new games) but no, the second installment is exactly the same in that regard. Maybe some people like this, I find it highly frustrating! The game is pretty but apart from a clearly upgraded Borderlands 1 in some ways, it's quite literally the same game and plays just like it. I give the game a 4 because it's a good game in many ways, but for me the constant enemy respawn is such a game breaking feature that I cannot get in to it. Pity. Expand
  17. Sep 20, 2012
    0
    A really bland lifeless shooter with horrible bullet sponge enemies, unfunny humor, poor artstyle and graphics as well as "Billions" of weapons which are just a few weapons with different stats on each one which makes everything a poorly made FPS version of Diablo just like the first and 2K paying off reviewers doesnt help the game either.

    What happened to the old Gearbox?
  18. Sep 19, 2012
    0
    Borderlands 2 is a game where you shoot guns at stuff till it dies. This is enjoyable and a fun way to blow off steam. It has a co-op mode so you can play with your buddies or with people on the internet. Borderlands 2 is mostly made to be played with your friends and have a great time. Its a great concept except the online features work about 50-50 for players. Some get to play theBorderlands 2 is a game where you shoot guns at stuff till it dies. This is enjoyable and a fun way to blow off steam. It has a co-op mode so you can play with your buddies or with people on the internet. Borderlands 2 is mostly made to be played with your friends and have a great time. Its a great concept except the online features work about 50-50 for players. Some get to play the game online and others don't. The only real way to find out if the online is going to work for you is to gamble $60. Gearbox made a game that looks fun to play but it doesn't work. Expand
  19. May 3, 2014
    8
    This game runs great on PC, beautiful graphic upgrade options too. Netplay is 10-fold better than the original game, no longer requiring 3rd party credentials! Get it when it's on sale, steam does it several times a year. I've gotten close to 100 hours on my first playthrough, but I really enjoy doing all the DLC and stuff the first time around.
  20. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    So funny! The fist play through is pure pleasure. But by the second, third and DLC, I was saturated. Coop was sometimes awesome, but insanely powerful loot turned coop into a walk. Because of the crazy loot, many parts have real badasses to fight that are impossible to solo, but a piece of piss in a group. It was nearly fantastic, but then came over leveling, where you can get matched upSo funny! The fist play through is pure pleasure. But by the second, third and DLC, I was saturated. Coop was sometimes awesome, but insanely powerful loot turned coop into a walk. Because of the crazy loot, many parts have real badasses to fight that are impossible to solo, but a piece of piss in a group. It was nearly fantastic, but then came over leveling, where you can get matched up with people 8+ lvls stronger than you, but you cant tell because lvls stop being numeric at 72. I don;t see the point in wandering around a make believe world where your buddies make the enemy evaporate, while you collect stuff. If only the difficulty balancing was done right. Expand
  21. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    As someone who played the first one for nearly 100 hours. I can proudly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the second one racking up over a 100 so far and still playing.

    This game improves the weaknesses of the first game and reinforces its strengths. Its graphics and physics are improved, but they still maintain the cartoon-y/ comic book-y style. There is a lot more variation in the amount
    As someone who played the first one for nearly 100 hours. I can proudly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the second one racking up over a 100 so far and still playing.

    This game improves the weaknesses of the first game and reinforces its strengths. Its graphics and physics are improved, but they still maintain the cartoon-y/ comic book-y style. There is a lot more variation in the amount of guns you can come across and a lot of interesting styles of guns. The story is more in depth, although not amazing, but most people don't play Borderlands for the story, they play it for the amazingly addictive game play, which they improved even more. What I really like in Borderlands 2 is there is a bigger variety of characters you can play as, some who are slow paced ranges units, and then the faced paced, up close, Have loads of fun while you get your ass kicked, but at the same time kick ass" style characters.

    Overall: If you enjoy blind violence, astronomically huge environments, psychotic characters, and dark humor, this is the game for you.
    Expand
  22. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    I never played the original Borderlands, so take this review at that. I've found this to be the most unbelievably frustrating game I've ever played. It's also one of the best shooters I've ever played. It keeps me quite entertained, and even though I sometimes want to throw my computer through a window when I die, I still keep playing. It's addictive with an interesting story, and killingI never played the original Borderlands, so take this review at that. I've found this to be the most unbelievably frustrating game I've ever played. It's also one of the best shooters I've ever played. It keeps me quite entertained, and even though I sometimes want to throw my computer through a window when I die, I still keep playing. It's addictive with an interesting story, and killing stuff never seems to get old, at least for me.

    There are, however, a few major flaws that really make me scratch my head. First, clipping in this game needs some serious work. Whoever did QA on this, is a complete and utter moron. Sometimes you walk up to a big step, and the character walks right up it. Sometimes you walk up to a tiny little crack in the ground, and the character REFUSES to walk over it without a jump. Sometimes you walk up to a tiny little ledge and while pressing forward against it, you jump and the character hops a little bit as if he's just hit his head on the ceiling. Stop pressing forward and just jump, and the character jumps up as it should. It's clipping failure left and right in every map of this entire game. I can't count the number of times I died, just because of this severe flaw. When I contacted 2k about it, they pushed it to the back burner, then never responded to it. Ticket submitted on 10/26/2012.

    Second, the inventory in this game is so strange, it's annoying. 99% of the time, you look at a weapon that is nowhere near as good as the one you're holding. It's extremely rare to be able to find, or even purchase, a weapon that is really that much better than the one you already have. Even once you've finished the game and are doing some of the near impossible missions, it still seems as if the "loot" is worthless. OK, not worthless, but you can surely take it to a machine and sell it for cash. This goes for weapons, grenades, character mods, shields, etc. The absolute plethora of guns gets unbelievably annoying after awhile.

    Third is the health system. It drives me CRAZY that you can't hold a replenisher for health, in your inventory. You can only pick up health if you happen to need it at that moment. Health is never there when you need it, and is always there when you don't. The timing is ridiculous. You either need to be prepared for your battle, or be prepared to die because of it.
    Expand
  23. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    played B1 and it was nice, but the trailes and previews of B2 really didnt look to good for me, so i decided 1st not to buy it. But a freind of mine did and keep telling me how great it is so i decided to give it a shot and boy i am glad i did. i played that game over 400+ hours for now, and its the most brilliant and fun game which was ever released imho, i cant wait till they releaseplayed B1 and it was nice, but the trailes and previews of B2 really didnt look to good for me, so i decided 1st not to buy it. But a freind of mine did and keep telling me how great it is so i decided to give it a shot and boy i am glad i did. i played that game over 400+ hours for now, and its the most brilliant and fun game which was ever released imho, i cant wait till they release Borderland 3 tbh, i am curious how it continues. Expand
  24. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I spend so many hours with this game that I even stop counting. If You liked the first part You must play this one too! Because it is so much better. Plot maybe isn't epic but is a good add on to a great shooter rpg.
  25. May 19, 2013
    10
    Borderlands 2 is an incredible, breathtaking game. The storyline is engaging and hilarious, and the game features some of the best voice acting i've ever heard in a game. The combat is addictive, especially when you're playing co-op, and there is nothing more rewarding then defeating the baddies and going to retrieve your new gun. The best shoot and loot of all time.
  26. sft
    Sep 16, 2013
    8
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly 2

    Almost everything I loved about the original Borderlands is here in BL2. I say almost because the only thing that’s missing is some of the charm and humour of the original. But BL2 is still a great game, and it improves on the original in one area the variety of enemies. Again the visuals and sound design are impressive. There are plenty of maps to explore
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly 2

    Almost everything I loved about the original Borderlands is here in BL2. I say almost because the only thing that’s missing is some of the charm and humour of the original. But BL2 is still a great game, and it improves on the original in one area the variety of enemies. Again the visuals and sound design are impressive. There are plenty of maps to explore as you complete the numerous missions. The combat is well-balanced and challenging without being frustrating. And there are, as advertised, “bazillions” of weapons (too many, in my opinion it’s gets a bit tedious deciding what to keep and what to sell or dump). And it’s a great multiplayer game too, especially with friends. I guess it’s hard to match what was an excellent game first time around, but Gearbox have just about managed it despite not being quite as memorable as the first.
    Expand
  27. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I really love this game! Especially the co-op, but single-player is also fun! The art of the game looks awesome and you have millions of weapons to choose from! Also a second and third playthrough in this game is still fun!! You definitely have to buy this game, its SUPER BADASS!!!
  28. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't believe that Borderlands 2 can be as good as it's brother but it is. Overall it DOUBLED Borderlands. The awesome places, funny scenarios, really awesome looking guns, a good storyline made this game the best Co-op game ever made.
  29. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    just buy this game! if you are thinking of buying this game just do it right now you will have hours of fun playing this game and the pc port is great i have had no problems
  30. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    I can't even start to describe the amounts of laughs, fun and action this game packs.
    A true gem that combines RPG and FPS so well, by using inginious characters spiced qith superb sarcasm and beautiful graphics.
    I can't stopped playing it, and it already have 4 DLCs, and a level cap increase!!
  31. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    This game delivers.
    It's got good music, funny dialogues, quests and claptrap. It even got me into buying a helmet to customize the looks of my Assasin.
    I got a solid 70 hours of gameplay and there's still plenty to discover and complete if I want to.
  32. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    I'm 40 hours into the game but I got bored and ditched it (almost finished it). It's a very good game when compared to the rest of the FPS junk out there. I've finished the original Borderlands twice and this one not even once - both games have a substantially long long play time but the first one, even with the paper thin story was very captivating and had a nice feel of mystery to it.I'm 40 hours into the game but I got bored and ditched it (almost finished it). It's a very good game when compared to the rest of the FPS junk out there. I've finished the original Borderlands twice and this one not even once - both games have a substantially long long play time but the first one, even with the paper thin story was very captivating and had a nice feel of mystery to it. Most great things from the original game are here too, bigger and better. What's the problem then? Well, the few things that are NOT bigger and better, in fact they are abysmall. Humor is almost completely lost, main antagonist is seldom funny and he tries too damn hard, complete with real-life references aimed at mom's basement reddit dwelling teenagers - it definitely kills the mystery. Jokes feel like something that came out of **** constantly poking fun at its own bad writing. The only part of the game that was really immersive and a proper "Borderlands feel" to it was the Caustic Caverns and I think Borderlands fans will agree here, it is the hardest and most fantastic part of the game, it has stunning level design, spectacular monsters and captivating story behind it - the whole place was truly creepy complete with Borderlands' trademark black humor. After that level though, everything else was "meh". What made me quit the game though was the new item system where you get a purple (epic) gun with super short range but a super uber snipe scope - original Borderlands had its "funny weapons", yes, but in amounts of good taste. In this one though, MOST of the stuff is randomly geneated junk and you have an OCEAN of purple/orange items to compare in hopes of finding an ideal gun - this becomes a tedious and boring task. In first BL, ANY orange gun was probably better than what you currently had, in this one though you will have plenty of orange/yellow guns that are completely useless. As you progress in the game this will happen more often. You will end up using a purple weapon 10 levels behind you because all you can find is total junk even aften killing a major boss 5 times. With the "gun skill" attribute removed I was happy thinking now I can use any gun but I just can't FIND any gun that's even remotely usable. With that said I rage quitted the game after I finally found an orange Vladoff minigun but it had some ridiculously extreme attributes that conflicted with each other e.g. over the top precision that you don't need in the first place and too high fire rate but as compensation for those "awesome stats" it had massive recoil effectively making it unusable. Expand
  33. Jan 6, 2015
    8
    I got this game for $5 during a steam sale, and just figured if it was trash, I wouldn't have wasted that much money. But I got way more than I bargained. Borderlands 2 is a roller coaster ride of destruction and mayhem, and it is so fun to play. So fun in fact, that I paid full price for all the DLC, because I wanted more. Sure, the overuse of edgy memes gets annoying, but the gameplay isI got this game for $5 during a steam sale, and just figured if it was trash, I wouldn't have wasted that much money. But I got way more than I bargained. Borderlands 2 is a roller coaster ride of destruction and mayhem, and it is so fun to play. So fun in fact, that I paid full price for all the DLC, because I wanted more. Sure, the overuse of edgy memes gets annoying, but the gameplay is a blast. Expand
  34. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    The Borderlands series has a brilliant formula of wacky humor, countless guns, and RPG mechanics. Borderlands 2 has crushed its prequel with modified gameplay, gorgeous graphics, hectic music and an interesting story. While the sequel improved in every department, its story took me by surprise. The strong, unique, and diverse personalities you’ll meet through the well-paced story improvesThe Borderlands series has a brilliant formula of wacky humor, countless guns, and RPG mechanics. Borderlands 2 has crushed its prequel with modified gameplay, gorgeous graphics, hectic music and an interesting story. While the sequel improved in every department, its story took me by surprise. The strong, unique, and diverse personalities you’ll meet through the well-paced story improves the entire experience. Most importantly, this gives life and excitement to the planet of Pandora, which was just a boring hunk of rock in the original game. The “Bazzilion” guns that Gearbox claimed Borderlands 2 will have was no joke, and it’s more than just a few minor tweaks in damage and accuracy. The guns will sometimes have a huge bayonet, a wacky reload animation, a crazy looking scope, and may not even have any recoil. When the critics can only complain about an imperfect user-interface, we can conclude that the gameplay is as addicting as we all hoped it would be. Its well-deserved popularity certainly earns a nomination for Game of the Year 2012. For fans of the original Borderlands, this is a no-brainer, but for those who are skeptical about the unique gaming experience that Borderlands 2 has to offer, it’s time to come to your senses and get in on the fun that you’ve been missing out on. Expand
  35. May 25, 2014
    5
    BL2 is still the same tedious game with countless boring fetch quests. I stopped playing it after jamming 30 hours or so on it. This game basically has no difference with BL1, I just feel my time is totally wasted.
  36. Mar 9, 2014
    5
    I finally decided to give this a chance because I was really curious about the humor. Figured I'd be in for a lot of action and fun. Well... if killing the same random enemies on dumb fetch quests over and over, getting relatively worthless loot and thus hearing one joke per hour is your kind of fun, maybe this game is for you.
    The respawn mechanics are simply ridiculous. Enemies spawning
    I finally decided to give this a chance because I was really curious about the humor. Figured I'd be in for a lot of action and fun. Well... if killing the same random enemies on dumb fetch quests over and over, getting relatively worthless loot and thus hearing one joke per hour is your kind of fun, maybe this game is for you.
    The respawn mechanics are simply ridiculous. Enemies spawning during boss battles - alright. I'm not a fan of it when it happens so much but still. But then having to fight ALL enemies yet again after finishing a boss and backtracking (because why put a fast travel point maybe after a boss battle when you can stretch the game out by having the player go through the same **** multiple times) is unacceptable.
    And the loot system reeks of Torchlight. Within just a couple of hours of playing, you'll probably simply stop picking up white gear because it's useless anyway. There is so much useless loot that it's more of a chore checking it out rather than being excited about what one might get.
    Also, the controls don't really feel all that great. And It seems to me that the cel-shaded graphics make it more difficult to aim when you aim down the sights.
    It feels like a bit like a bad combination of COD and Torchlight to me. I don't understand why on earth people enjoy it that much.
    Expand
  37. May 18, 2013
    6
    I found myself becoming bored with Borderlands 2 far to quickly. I've avoided it for ages (finally picked it up on a Steam sale) because I didn't like the artistic direction, funnily enough once I started playing it I then thought the graphics were awesome.

    The issue I had is that every fight is the same or at least similar enough that I lost the urge to see what's over the next hill.
    I found myself becoming bored with Borderlands 2 far to quickly. I've avoided it for ages (finally picked it up on a Steam sale) because I didn't like the artistic direction, funnily enough once I started playing it I then thought the graphics were awesome.

    The issue I had is that every fight is the same or at least similar enough that I lost the urge to see what's over the next hill. I'm not exactly sure where it went wrong because on the surface it should be very similar to Fallout 3; and I've probably spent more time in that wasteland than is healthy.

    The quests don't quite keep me entertained, exploring turns up obvious but samey stages, the enemies look different but fight very similarly. They fall on the wrong side of the line between challenge though smart AI and challenge though soaking up bullets.

    Lastly the sound and music lacks impact. Not a broken game by any means but not one I found entertaining.
    Expand
  38. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Hilarious writing, great characters, beautiful levels, and sooo many guns! My biggest complaints about Borderlands 1 were the interface issues on PC, and nearly all of those are solved in BL2. The only minor issue I have with BL2 is the inventory management. Bulky, and clunky navigation, but that is only a very minor side note on an otherwise fantastic game! The coop play really makesHilarious writing, great characters, beautiful levels, and sooo many guns! My biggest complaints about Borderlands 1 were the interface issues on PC, and nearly all of those are solved in BL2. The only minor issue I have with BL2 is the inventory management. Bulky, and clunky navigation, but that is only a very minor side note on an otherwise fantastic game! The coop play really makes this game shine! Single player is fun, but playing with friends is what this game was meant for. Expand
  39. May 20, 2013
    5
    Boring, mindless shooter. Has the same qualities as BL1 but brings nothing new. I bought it on Steam sale for $13 and think it a waste of money. Got 4 hours out of before getting totally bored.
  40. May 1, 2013
    10
    I did not play the original. I glanced at the game and didn't think this was my cup of tea either. Boy, was I wrong. This game is a pure blast, especially to play with friends. The devs have put out a bunch of after market DLC to keep content fresh. If you like laughing, and you like can appreciate how hard it is to actually include humor in something that is already fun, then you too willI did not play the original. I glanced at the game and didn't think this was my cup of tea either. Boy, was I wrong. This game is a pure blast, especially to play with friends. The devs have put out a bunch of after market DLC to keep content fresh. If you like laughing, and you like can appreciate how hard it is to actually include humor in something that is already fun, then you too will like this game.

    I strongly recommend this game
    Expand
  41. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Best rpg/shooter ever. 2k took the best parts of BL1 and just hit it home. The guns are more balanced in this installment. Good because there's always a better replacement and bad because there aren't more bank and twink slots. (The shelf life of BL1 guns were far greater.) The game is beautiful both in function and in form in every way. The only gripe I have is the 2D map isBest rpg/shooter ever. 2k took the best parts of BL1 and just hit it home. The guns are more balanced in this installment. Good because there's always a better replacement and bad because there aren't more bank and twink slots. (The shelf life of BL1 guns were far greater.) The game is beautiful both in function and in form in every way. The only gripe I have is the 2D map is sometimes hard to follow. The missions are varied and interesting and multiplayer is a blast. This one's a keeper. Expand
  42. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    That game just awesome, chiseled the loot compared bl1, more bazillion guns, 96.5% more wub wub, various missions, creative characters, the old characters from bl1 be present on this game, need more?
  43. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    A worthy successor to a fresh,original idea,evolving it to the next level.
    The game has loveable characters,insane humor,and addictive gameplay mix of and FPS and an RPG.

    Go my minion,play this!
  44. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game dramatically improves upon BL1. This game has perfected the run, gun and loot genre of fps. Now this may be a little repetitive at times so I can not give it a perfect 10. This game does not take a lot of skill to play but as far as enjoyment I would give this game an 11 if I could. The music and sound effects are awesome if you have a good sound card and cans. The writing isThis game dramatically improves upon BL1. This game has perfected the run, gun and loot genre of fps. Now this may be a little repetitive at times so I can not give it a perfect 10. This game does not take a lot of skill to play but as far as enjoyment I would give this game an 11 if I could. The music and sound effects are awesome if you have a good sound card and cans. The writing is hilarious and general mood of the world is outstanding. If your tired of BF3 and COD and are looking just for pure fun and smiles grab this game for sure. Expand
  45. May 25, 2013
    9
    Such a wonderful open world, full of fun and violence. Borderlands 2 is a big step up from Borderlands 1, and will keep you entertained for at least 25 hours. The only thing I dislike are the invisible walls, they can get slightly annoying.
  46. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, the brilliantly wide variety of guns, gadgets and missions keeps you coming back for more and more, and the boss fights get more and more epic. A truly special game I was happy to complete.....

    Only for it to get even better in multiplayer!

    A really great game.
  47. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    An infinitely delectable game. It's beautifully thought-out: phenomenal artwork, more guns than you could dream of and a challenge you can just about handle around every corner. Excellent in every respect - Borderlands 1 was fantastic but this is beyond doubt one of the most enjoyable and immersive games ever made.
  48. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Each one hour I play , more I wanna play , it's so involving , i like it and don't give up this is the best game i ever played , bought all dlc's and waiting for others coming
  49. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Best. Game. Ever.

    The game simply work, sassy jokes and characters, good humor, amazing stories and sub stories. This game will never make you regret the purchase done!
  50. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Gearbox really did a fantastic job on Borderlands 2. Everything, from the enviroments, the gun variety, and the humor are really fantastic and I can't praise the developers more than I can already. Aside from a few minor complaints, there is nothing holding it back from a major award. The opening mission really pulled me in, as Claptrap's hilarious first dialouge sets up the start for theGearbox really did a fantastic job on Borderlands 2. Everything, from the enviroments, the gun variety, and the humor are really fantastic and I can't praise the developers more than I can already. Aside from a few minor complaints, there is nothing holding it back from a major award. The opening mission really pulled me in, as Claptrap's hilarious first dialouge sets up the start for the game. Claptrap's dialouge in it of itself is very hilarous and at times moves the plot forward. Seaking of plot, this is an area where Borderlands 2 excells. Handsome Jack is hands down one of the best villians I have ever faced. The returning cast of characters from the first game are all given something to do and a role to play. Moving on, the variety is insane, with more weapons than I can attempt to count, and the customization for your characters is equally as impressive. The side quests in this game are massive in number and you will never find yourself running low on them. And the side quests play a role too, because you cannot JUST DO THE MAIN QUESTS. That is highly inadvisable, as the teeming hordes of enemies that Handsome Jack throughs at you towards the end will show no mercy when they cut you down. The drop in, drop out co-op is very impressive, and in my opinion, the only way to play. My friend and I(HUGE thanks to him) played through the game together from level 1 up to our current level of 29 and we have only scratched the surface of the multitude of quests this game has to offer. My only complaints are that the npc's in Sanctuary and the other non-enemy controlled towns are very bland and seem to use the same character model. The memes in this game are everywhere to be found and NEVER go away. Memes only tell us that your too lazy to write an actual joke so you have to take someone else's content. But nonetheless, this game is amazing and I cannot wait for the upcoming DLC's this game has to offer. Expand
  51. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I like this game a lot, you can shoot many different guns and there is also multiplayer co-op. I have the season pass too which adds lots of more enemies and more guns. This game is more fun than Aliens:Colonial Marines. I like.
  52. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    The same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chestThe same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chest keys and wikis with all the codes if you're in to gear hoarding. Expand
  53. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Absolutely amazing! I've invested 190 hours as of now, and not one of them was dull. Borderlands 2 is better in every aspect than the first, excluding two things. The only things keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the removal of weapon proficiencies and the gun manufacturers S&S munitions, and Atlas. Other than that, this game is nothing short of a masterpiece. With it's chaotic,Absolutely amazing! I've invested 190 hours as of now, and not one of them was dull. Borderlands 2 is better in every aspect than the first, excluding two things. The only things keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the removal of weapon proficiencies and the gun manufacturers S&S munitions, and Atlas. Other than that, this game is nothing short of a masterpiece. With it's chaotic, fast-paced firefights, it's awesome co-op multiplayer, and great leveling system, I can't put a price on this game that I wouldn't be willing to pay. Expand
  54. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 deliveries more fun, in a already amazing game title. This game has lots of replay ability, and lots of great dlc,s to keep you LOOT hunting for a very long time.. Oh and slot machines you can win money, items and guns. Ps, and more Moxxi
  55. May 24, 2013
    10
    A very great and as well badass game!This creation is yet one of the best of 2012,delivering mindblowing game-play for you and your friends that you are going to play with.This game is to be BOUGHT if you want to spend some time with you and your friend in the awesome co-op campaign!
  56. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is hours of fun. Some minor details have been improved from the first installment to make playing smoother and more enjoyable. I've almost finished my second play through and enjoyed it equally both times. The story is entertaining and the side missions never fail to amuse me. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is into this style of games.
  57. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    the game is nice all in all not many bugs generally this game rocked i can highly recommend this game for everybody who wants a good laugh. and a challenge buy this game and you will get good laugh though the game is a bit boring at the start the funner missions starts later in the game
  58. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    A much better game than the first, I have really only one complaint and that is to have the weapon vendors carry good weapons I spend a lot of time scavenging for and the vendors carry the crappiest of gear and for me it is disappointing.
  59. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    Well, this is basically "Wasted Potential: The Game". I disliked the first Borderlands game, and didn't want to play the second one. I also heard it being called "Boredomlands" and "Memelands", so... yeah...
    When I got it for free with GTX660 however, I decided to give it a try. Initially, it all felt ok. But then... Let's sum it up: repetitive fetch/kill quests, frequently respawning
    Well, this is basically "Wasted Potential: The Game". I disliked the first Borderlands game, and didn't want to play the second one. I also heard it being called "Boredomlands" and "Memelands", so... yeah...
    When I got it for free with GTX660 however, I decided to give it a try. Initially, it all felt ok. But then... Let's sum it up: repetitive fetch/kill quests, frequently respawning enemies (which considerably messes with completing secondary (and sometimes even primary) quests), idiotic checkpoint placement, horrible map designs (in terms of ease of moving), a lot of content is put into overpriced DLC etc.

    On the upside, it has nice visual designs, variate loot. and big maps.

    In the final accord, game has too many poor design choices to be good
    Expand
  60. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is a great example of a fun game (to play with friends.)
    The basic storyline is just taken from Borderlands (the first game) Where the characters are trying to get to the vault. The same thing happens in this game, except it is with different characters and some 'Different' Objectives.
    The game tries to make you play with your friends. I have noticed (while playing by
    Borderlands 2 is a great example of a fun game (to play with friends.)
    The basic storyline is just taken from Borderlands (the first game) Where the characters are trying to get to the vault. The same thing happens in this game, except it is with different characters and some 'Different' Objectives.
    The game tries to make you play with your friends. I have noticed (while playing by myself) that it becomes extremely hard to complete bosses on your own, but when you have a friend play with you, you can kill him first try For example, Wilhelm (a boss) took me two days, or 20 tries, to beat by myself, but then with a friend, it is one try. When it says has joined the struggle! The creatures of pandora strengthen!' I think what it means is has joined the (non) struggle! The creatures of pandora Weaken!' I have yet to beat the game, but somehow this game makes me coming back for more. My friend is kind of obsessed with this game, he is really good at it aswell. We were playing it together one night, and we agreed that we would complete the game and do True vault hunter mode, and then I bought ultimate vault hunter mode for both of us. The thing is, you will get bored of the game sometimes, and leave it for a month or two, and then when you have nothing to do, you go to it and say "Please forgive me, oh great Borderlands 2, I need your great therapy for my looting lust". In fact, I haven't been able to not play the game for at least a month, because the great multiplayer keeps bringing me back. The gameplay has no 'special' features to it, but in it's core it is just an RPG/FPS/MMO game, where it's fun to mess around online. Overall, I would only buy this game if other people on your friends list have the game and actually want to play it with you. The repetitiveness is easily forgiven through the great feeling of killing a massive robot and getting your first legendary weapon from it. My rating of this game would be a 87%, in other words, it's a great game, for a great price. As long as you don't mind a little bit of repetitive missions and storyline, the developers took their time to render and program over 100,000+ guns, which you will enjoy. Buy it only if you want it.
    Expand
  61. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great FPS with a funny storyline that had me dodging bullets and giggling the entire time. Great and constant DLC support will keep you shooting for a long time.
  62. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    really love it!!! best game ever. got over the 900 hour playtime. and im still enjoying the game. the mix of action and humor makes this game perfect!! im looking forward to the next dlc's.
  63. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 does not change the gameplay in any significant way, but it does fix every single flaw that was present in the original, where Borderlands 1's greatest weaknesses became Borderland 2's greatest strength. This sequels has more colorful environments, an engaging story, an entertaining cast of characters and much greater enemy variety which draw you into the experience just asBorderlands 2 does not change the gameplay in any significant way, but it does fix every single flaw that was present in the original, where Borderlands 1's greatest weaknesses became Borderland 2's greatest strength. This sequels has more colorful environments, an engaging story, an entertaining cast of characters and much greater enemy variety which draw you into the experience just as much as the core gameplay mechanics do making this feel like a whole package. Expand
  64. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    If i had imagined game like Diablo but in genre of FPS it would have been Borderlands 2! Great loot system, great weapons/items variability. intelligence of AI is best for me so far i've never play any shooter with such crafty enemies. Actually this is rare case when i spend all the weekend playing the game.
  65. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    I tried really hard with this game.

    It looks wonderful and its very flashy, but its just not very interesting. I played a good 10+ hours and didn't really enjoy any of it. The best word I could find to describe this game is "bland". You will do the same thing over, and over, and over... in the same locations over and over and over (they look just the same). Also, the voice acting CAN
    I tried really hard with this game.

    It looks wonderful and its very flashy, but its just not very interesting.

    I played a good 10+ hours and didn't really enjoy any of it. The best word I could find to describe this game is "bland". You will do the same thing over, and over, and over... in the same locations over and over and over (they look just the same). Also, the voice acting CAN become incredibly irritating and juvenile.

    It's a shame. Because the look of the game was really interesting. I could only recommend this to people that play nothing but bland console games and don't know any better, or teenage kids who might find the subject matter amusing.
    Expand
  66. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This game is just plain fun. Playing the first Borderlands and being extremely let down by the storyline, I was really hesitant to pick up this and play it, but glad I did.

    I am very satisfied how the developers tried to keep some combat elements familiar to Borderlands 1, but expanded and improved on them as well. Some sequels (Mass Effect series comes to mind) are notorious for
    This game is just plain fun. Playing the first Borderlands and being extremely let down by the storyline, I was really hesitant to pick up this and play it, but glad I did.

    I am very satisfied how the developers tried to keep some combat elements familiar to Borderlands 1, but expanded and improved on them as well. Some sequels (Mass Effect series comes to mind) are notorious for completely redoing the combat system and physically changing the feel of the game, but not so with BL2.

    The storyline was extremely satisfying and tied up many loose ends from the first game, and was somehow both dark and humorous at the same time. The side quests were not mindless milk runs, and I genuinely enjoyed completing them for the interaction with the NPC's in the game.

    The enemies gave enough variety and difficulty to keep combat interesting the entire game, and the add-on packs even more so.

    I think one of the best features is that this game is fun both as a single player campaign or as multiplayer. The dynamics are very different for both playstyles, but both are equally fun.

    One negative I will point out with this game is how the graphics engine is coded and all of the glitches and bugs it produces. Similar to Crysis, it does require significant horsepower to run, and it is not because the graphics are "just so phenomenal". Its because the rendering software was not optimized properly. During some parts of the game, I found myself in the heat of combat only to receive the lag spike of death and losing all progress since my last save.

    Overall, extremely happy with this game.
    Expand
  67. Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Borderlands 2 is a good game that fails to reach its full potential due to design choices that limit the enjoyment of single-player gamers. The game is great, even for single-players, until the plot has ended, and the extras begin. Then, the game becomes unplayable unless you join a multiplayer group, because the post-game enemies can't be defeated alone, and require group mates. ThisBorderlands 2 is a good game that fails to reach its full potential due to design choices that limit the enjoyment of single-player gamers. The game is great, even for single-players, until the plot has ended, and the extras begin. Then, the game becomes unplayable unless you join a multiplayer group, because the post-game enemies can't be defeated alone, and require group mates. This means that many players will be left out in the cold, and the money they spent on all the DLC will be wasted. An ok game, but should have been complete for both single and multi-players. Otherwise, it should just advertise itself as multiplayer, and not try to fool single player gamers into buying it. Expand
  68. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the first game, it was unique, but it lacked any real direction, and got very redundant. Borderlands 2 vastly improves upon the first game by having a very immersive and well acted storyline that really brings the characters to life and immerses the players in the games world. The action is more fast based and explosive than the first game, and the loot options seem moreI enjoyed the first game, it was unique, but it lacked any real direction, and got very redundant. Borderlands 2 vastly improves upon the first game by having a very immersive and well acted storyline that really brings the characters to life and immerses the players in the games world. The action is more fast based and explosive than the first game, and the loot options seem more practical and refined.

    Overall, this game is amazing. Probably the best game of its genre in years. They must have done something right, because I cant wait for new DLC to be release so I can play the game more. Bring on part 3!!!
    Expand
  69. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The game is one of my favorite shooter.A very godd prosecution for Borderlands 1. Not to easy and not to hard and the Multiplayer is one of the bests.
  70. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I consider that this game has a lot to offer. yes some say it's the first borderlands ,version 2.0 but playing the 1st borderlands, i don't feel that way. it's hell of a lot fun even if you play alone, but in co-op everything gets better the story gets much deeper and it has more replay-ability value consider adding this to your game collection
  71. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    One of the best shooters of the decade! The game itself looks dazzling, and gameplay is engaging and can keep you entertained for tens or hundreds of hours. With hundreds of guns and side-quests, it's hard to turn the game off until you complete every mission, get the best guns to find, and slay the deadliest foes.

    Great characters keep you entertained with one of the most important
    One of the best shooters of the decade! The game itself looks dazzling, and gameplay is engaging and can keep you entertained for tens or hundreds of hours. With hundreds of guns and side-quests, it's hard to turn the game off until you complete every mission, get the best guns to find, and slay the deadliest foes.

    Great characters keep you entertained with one of the most important factors of the game humour. Cheesy yet hilarious jokes and references will keep you grinning through the game. Despite this, the emotion is amazing, with heartbreaking losses and betrayal. Co-op is also an important factor, as completing missions with friends is always an entertaining experience. Replayability is near infinite with open world action and upgrades plus new game modes to challenge you.

    The map is big with some locations that would cause you to want to plunge into. DLC with upgrades, missions and maps will continue to keep you glued to the game. Achievements are plentiful to keep achievement hunters happy. Overall, this game is massive. With infinite replayability and hours of fun, and dubstep, Borderlands 2 is an experience you must jump into.
    Expand
  72. AWG
    Aug 13, 2013
    7
    Never played the first one but I was intrigued by the critical acclaim Borderlands 2 received so I tried it up.
    My opinion is that it's a good game, but it's not a masterpiece. Graphics are awesome and some missions are really well designed but the overall story is not that intriguing and the neverending blabbering by Clap Trap is annoying as hell.
  73. Sep 27, 2014
    3
    The horrible down state system destroys the whole experience. The AI is also bad, the highest difficulty consists only of getting one-shotted and trying to get out of down state. Weapons are way too unprecise, it's obvious that the game was made for consoles. Why bother aiming for the head if the bullet spread makes you miss half the shots even at close range?
  74. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very fun, a very entertaining story. It has perfect mix of comedic and serious game-play. The weapon system is simple, which works out well since there are so many weapons that you can obtain. The only reason that i give this a 9, is that the game is less fun in single player than in multiplayer. My recommendation, call your friends, and get playing. Expand
  75. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    First play through: amazing. 10/10. The story is meh, but the fun factor is there. Co-op with some buddies is awesome, much the same as BL1. Farming can get old pretty fast. Some of the characters are done excellently; Handsome Jack comes to mind. Second play through: Not so amazing. 7.5/10. Gets boring rather quickly... you know what's coming, there are no new skills as by that point youFirst play through: amazing. 10/10. The story is meh, but the fun factor is there. Co-op with some buddies is awesome, much the same as BL1. Farming can get old pretty fast. Some of the characters are done excellently; Handsome Jack comes to mind. Second play through: Not so amazing. 7.5/10. Gets boring rather quickly... you know what's coming, there are no new skills as by that point you can re-spec to any skill you want. DLC, in order of how I would rate them... 1) Pirates 2) Torgue 3) Hammerlock. Pirates was fun, new enemies, new vehicle (and the best one in the game, I think) Torgue was hilarious, and Hammerlock? Hammerlock was crap. If you bought the seasons pass, sorry. You could have spent the same amount of cash on the other 3 (1 not released yet) and saved yourself some trouble. It wasn't a 3/10, but a solid 5.5. The game itself is great... For a while. After that it's grind-fest. Still, I find myself going to my Steam library and constantly playing it. Now that it's 50% off, get it while it lasts! Expand
  76. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    Its a slight improvement to the original game. There's nothing particularly mind blowing about either title. Its cheap fun, with graphics and artwork that remind me of comic books.
  77. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This game is a FANTTTAASSSTIC! game! I lovfe it! AND console port??? DAMN! It is perfect FOR PC. No problems at all none. I love this game.

    Only problem for ME! Is that sometimes its annoying when the enemies know how to dodge/are fast ;)! ARGH! This game can be hard if the enemies DODGE FAST or they have alot alot of HP! But yeah you just have to complete side guests ( WHICH GIVE
    This game is a FANTTTAASSSTIC! game! I lovfe it! AND console port??? DAMN! It is perfect FOR PC. No problems at all none. I love this game.

    Only problem for ME! Is that sometimes its annoying when the enemies know how to dodge/are fast ;)! ARGH! This game can be hard if the enemies DODGE FAST or they have alot alot of HP!

    But yeah you just have to complete side guests ( WHICH GIVE YOU nice bonus skins etc!!!! :) love it!) and then you have enough LVL and guns and all to take on da bosses. 9.5/10. I got no major complains
    Expand
  78. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Don't play this game alone! Bring at least one friend, otherwise it becomes boring real fast. This was made for Co-op play.
    Otherwise this game is much better in every aspect compared to the first:
    Multiplayer is now handled trough Steam and not gamespy. Locations are bigger, look nicer. If you have nVidia, you can turn on some cool PhysX particle effects. There are much more kinds of
    Don't play this game alone! Bring at least one friend, otherwise it becomes boring real fast. This was made for Co-op play.
    Otherwise this game is much better in every aspect compared to the first:
    Multiplayer is now handled trough Steam and not gamespy. Locations are bigger, look nicer. If you have nVidia, you can turn on some cool PhysX particle effects. There are much more kinds of guns, everyone can find their favorite.
    Finally, the game has a much more detailed and more interesting storyline than the first. Yes, there are some stupid 9gag level jokes, but they can be ignored. Other than these stupid references, the writing is relatively smart, and entertaining.
    And last but not least there is the fantastic soundtrack, which is much less irritating than in the first game. I didn't want to turn it off after several hours, and that's a plus.
    Expand
  79. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    Very much fun, superb graphics(the phsyx effects will make you all giddy) although overly gory at times, bordering cheesy but all and all a pretty good game. I just wish when you logged out you stayed in the same spot logging back in instead of starting at the nearest check point.
  80. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    Borderlands 1 was about collecting marginally better loot, doing coop campaigns and repeating tasks in an exercise to see how much tedium people could take. Borderlands 2 follows this formula but adds to it. The guns, skills, co-op, have all been improved. However, they added an actual story, improved the humor (making it similar to the General Knoxx's DLC), had more memorable characterBorderlands 1 was about collecting marginally better loot, doing coop campaigns and repeating tasks in an exercise to see how much tedium people could take. Borderlands 2 follows this formula but adds to it. The guns, skills, co-op, have all been improved. However, they added an actual story, improved the humor (making it similar to the General Knoxx's DLC), had more memorable character additions, improved performance, improved color palettes and schemes across the board, average map sizes are bigger, and added more character customization.

    You'll still out level most of the optional quests though, you'll out level most of the rewards for them as well. And aside from the ability to choose to hand in some quests to one of multiple possible recipients for different rewards, or the ability to choose different rewards from the same quest giver the mission system hasn't been overhauled much.

    This game improves upon BL1 in almost every way. Don't get this if you didn't like BL1, don't get this if you think that doing some of the same stuff you did in BL1 with fancier weapons, skills and graphics will be boring for you. Otherwise it's a solid game whose flaws can easily be overlooked.
    Expand
  81. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    It's a great game, way improved from the original 'cause I found the first one a tad boring for reasons I'm not getting into.

    The characters are lovable and unique in personality (Zero's my favorite, I'm sure most people would agree), and the statistics are easy to handle for most players. The story is a lot more serious, and I got a pretty good feeling a Borderlands 3 is gonna come up
    It's a great game, way improved from the original 'cause I found the first one a tad boring for reasons I'm not getting into.

    The characters are lovable and unique in personality (Zero's my favorite, I'm sure most people would agree), and the statistics are easy to handle for most players. The story is a lot more serious, and I got a pretty good feeling a Borderlands 3 is gonna come up with an even more serious story. The weapons have more variety and each of the companies that make the weapons now have more noticeable differences, e.g. Bandit guns have names like "pro shooty boom gnu" and Tediore guns explode a lot (i can't remember if it was Tediore; I haven't played in a while). Which is quite funny. Overall, I think people could give this game a try, it fits well for just about any FPS/RPG player.
    Expand
  82. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. I must admit there were a ton of things to work on and a little bit of let downs but over all this game is definitely one of my top ten. There is so much to do, So much loot to take and trade, bad ass enemies and more. The comedy is silly and refreshing and this game will keep you busy for hours and hours.
  83. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    This game really surprised me.Never played first borderlands since graphic was unappealing to me. Most likely would never picked up second one if it wasn't gifted to me. I must say that i had real blast while playing it. Not even sure when my steam counter jumped to over 50 hours in less then 2 weeks ;). I really love it, Pandora is amazing place to explore. everywhere you go there'sThis game really surprised me.Never played first borderlands since graphic was unappealing to me. Most likely would never picked up second one if it wasn't gifted to me. I must say that i had real blast while playing it. Not even sure when my steam counter jumped to over 50 hours in less then 2 weeks ;). I really love it, Pandora is amazing place to explore. everywhere you go there's something completely new to discover. Scenery really changes between zones, they put lots of work into them. I only wish zones would level with me, some quests were simply too easy as i came back to them after a while. other then that, perfect game Expand
  84. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Very, very nice game. And one of the things that makes this game so good is that 2K Games succeded in what is nearly impossiple: Making a game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. The story is better, the talent system is better, the jokes are funnier and most importantly: The loot is way more awesome! The only reason i only gave this game 9/10 is because the single player isVery, very nice game. And one of the things that makes this game so good is that 2K Games succeded in what is nearly impossiple: Making a game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. The story is better, the talent system is better, the jokes are funnier and most importantly: The loot is way more awesome! The only reason i only gave this game 9/10 is because the single player is a lot worse than the multiplayer. Especially the last stand system is completly **** when there is no one to revive you. So i think i would give the multiplayer a 10/10 and then the single player about 7/10. Expand
  85. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    So far, i have played about 13 hours, this is a great game. The enemies are great, the weapons are great, each area feels like it has been designed and not just thrown together. It is really well balanced. Sometimes you feel like you are kicking ass other times you are praying for a 'fight back' kill to get back on your feet. I only played a little bit of borderlands 1 and couldn't reallySo far, i have played about 13 hours, this is a great game. The enemies are great, the weapons are great, each area feels like it has been designed and not just thrown together. It is really well balanced. Sometimes you feel like you are kicking ass other times you are praying for a 'fight back' kill to get back on your feet. I only played a little bit of borderlands 1 and couldn't really get in to it. I didn't give it enough of a chance but it felt a lot more generic than this. If you have played a lot of borderlands 1 maybe this would not be as much fun... maybe. Anyway I am loving it. The action is solid, the level up system is rewarding and the guns are great. I don't care how many there are but the ones you use feel great. Expand
  86. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    Borderlands 2 is better then Borderlands. But it feels disappointing. There are funny characters and the people you play as have some meaning. The graphics with the cartoon is amazing and cool. The issues with this game is that is DAMN BORING. Many quests are rinse and repeat and the guns do low damage to a lot of enemies i put 10 hours and i couldn't crack a smile with this game. LaterBorderlands 2 is better then Borderlands. But it feels disappointing. There are funny characters and the people you play as have some meaning. The graphics with the cartoon is amazing and cool. The issues with this game is that is DAMN BORING. Many quests are rinse and repeat and the guns do low damage to a lot of enemies i put 10 hours and i couldn't crack a smile with this game. Later when you get closer to handsome jack the story get's better but i think i could have been more. Many of the guns are also the same. Being a PC and Xbox player, the PC has connection issues. Also when you play with your friends, whoever hosts say if your level 5 and your friend is level 12 all the guns will require level 12. The port is good. and easy to learn. I hoped Borderlands 2 would be godlike but it fell short. I Expand
  87. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Never played a game so funny and so awsome like this.A masterpiece in all aspects.The gameplay is unique,the humor are fantastic,the story is comic but more madure,with more emotion this time.The graphics are better and the game runs like a charm in a pc with minimum requiriments.The guns? How mich?Just don't know.. maybe..infinite? Amazing,diversified and beautiful guns.All of then. LoveNever played a game so funny and so awsome like this.A masterpiece in all aspects.The gameplay is unique,the humor are fantastic,the story is comic but more madure,with more emotion this time.The graphics are better and the game runs like a charm in a pc with minimum requiriments.The guns? How mich?Just don't know.. maybe..infinite? Amazing,diversified and beautiful guns.All of then. Love the game.It's 100%worth and 100% awsome. A must-have and a must-buy. Expand
  88. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting to this day for a long time, played Borderlands 2 almost 6 hours today and I can say that this game is AMAZING. The first game was insanely fun and Gearbox took everything that we didn't like it and improved. You will no longer receive damage from falling, no matter how high you will jump, your challenges now will give you a little -yet essential- bonus ; you don't needI've been waiting to this day for a long time, played Borderlands 2 almost 6 hours today and I can say that this game is AMAZING. The first game was insanely fun and Gearbox took everything that we didn't like it and improved. You will no longer receive damage from falling, no matter how high you will jump, your challenges now will give you a little -yet essential- bonus ; you don't need to repair Claptraps anymore to expand your backpack and you won't need to spend 600000 dollars in a single weapon upgrade (Crazy Earl will do that for Eridium - a new kind of currency in Pandora), this game doesnt label your character ; what do I mean ? That you can play as Zero and use assault rifles, you can snipe with Axton, you can do everything you want, because you've 3 different Skill trees to each character, making 3 different ways of gameplay with each one. Borderlands 2 it's all about fetching quests and looking for new and more powerful guns, and it delivers pretty well. The sidequests are the real GEM of this game, you will laugh your ass off with that sweet humor that you can only find in Borderlands. Our beloved characters are back, you can drink with Moxxi (from Mad Moxxi DLC), Catch a Ride with the funny (probably one of the funniest characters in the game) redneck Scooter and his sister Ellie, high five and dance dubstep with Claptrap, or help Roland/Mordecai/Lilith and Brick to defeat the biggest prick of Pandora - Handsome Jack. All in all Borderlands HAS EVERYTHING that I care about - Funny and good story (and sidequests), LOTS of guns, Solid Cell-shading graphics, an awesome 4 people strategic co-op, a HUGE word with tons of new enemies and Claptrap - I'm still checking this little guy dancing. Borderlands 2 is a MUST for both Hardcore/Casual gamers. Expand
  89. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    The game is like a polished version of 1. If you loved 1 you will probably love this one. It takes the concepts from the 1st game and expands them. I am playing with 3 friends and I feel like many hours of our collective lives will be buried in this title. During the 1st Hour I laughed, got knocked down, got numerous satisfying headshots and squealed like a kid at Christmas.
  90. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    Ok, I admit i reviewed the game without having tried it a little. So I gave it a 9. I was wrong. The game itself is not bad, but - the gore has been toned down, no dismemberments or very rare
    - the maps are smaller that in Borderlands 1
    - the humor is very often silly, childish, not fun - many maps are extremely linear if compared to the ones of the first episode - in my opinion the
    Ok, I admit i reviewed the game without having tried it a little. So I gave it a 9. I was wrong. The game itself is not bad, but - the gore has been toned down, no dismemberments or very rare
    - the maps are smaller that in Borderlands 1
    - the humor is very often silly, childish, not fun
    - many maps are extremely linear if compared to the ones of the first episode
    - in my opinion the voice acting of many enemies is obscene, with midgets crying like little babies when they die, goliaths shouting as demented "looney tunes" cartoon characters, et cetera.
    - difficulty is quite variable, from incredibly easy to very tough depending on same level quests, - inventory is too much reduced,
    - quality loot is extremely rare, and unlike in Borderlands 1 enemies rarely drop the guns they are using during the battles. the last 2 feature are not a huge problem, but if we consider the overall tone of the game, the result is very much a delusion.
    I'm very sorry to write this, but it is what I really think after playing Borderlands 2. There are anyway some good features, as
    - the variety of the classes - the variety of situation the player has to face during the campaign quests and the side quests. - The environment is quite beautiful and the cars available are really fun to use. - Claptrap is as always a funny egocentric robot, the only part of the game that made me smile a little bit. This is it. More objectively, the game is not worth its price, even if the DLCs have been quickly dispatched from gearbox right after a few weeks.
    Expand
  91. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Game is awesome, and much better than I initially expected.. This is a superb port, and has proper PC options. Gameplay/levels themselves are varied and highly fun. Playing in coop with friends or even strangers is incredibly fun. Overall, this is a great game and a GOTY contender.
  92. Sep 22, 2012
    7
    at the time of writing this i am vry annoyed at the game. so far every boss fight i have done has bugged out, and i therefore have to do it again, the texture loading is messed up, and they suddenly decided that a smart thing to do would be to make every gun in the game look as ugly as they could possibly make them.

    borderlands 2 should have been an addon to the first. seeming as the
    at the time of writing this i am vry annoyed at the game. so far every boss fight i have done has bugged out, and i therefore have to do it again, the texture loading is messed up, and they suddenly decided that a smart thing to do would be to make every gun in the game look as ugly as they could possibly make them.

    borderlands 2 should have been an addon to the first. seeming as the first games DLC was spectacular, and they decided to change hardly anything for the second game.

    then again, could that be a good thing, countless games second installments rarely live up to its predecessors, yet this feels so naturally borderlands that its like playing the same game. i would therefore say that it porbarbl is an improvement.

    its not helped by deciding to start you in the ugly barrand snowwy peaks which are just awful to look at.

    as for the love letter from claptrap, yes it has nice options, but i was still expecting more, i dont just want an option of "low medium and high" i want to choose the precice distance. anything that is in that .ini file, i want as an option!

    the PhysX is rarther nice though, just adding that little sparkle, but none of the Physx effect fit in with the rest of the game. the style is all wrong, so it just looks unatural.

    and of course my biggest gripe. since the underdome addon i think it was brutaly clear that this game is heavily focused on multiplayer co-op. by all means, we need more co-op gaes out there, but dont punish me for being a single player. its not quite EA's level of ONLINE IS NUMBER ONE, ONLINE MUST DOMINATE" but as a single player i would like to be able to have some automatic function that if i do get downed, i can pay to revive myself on the spot, not have to go through a new you station and therefore reset all the enemies in that level, to simply die the same way as before. it feels as though 2K just didnt listen to a single person, and simply went their own way creating what is even worse than what activision do with their call of duty franchise.

    and my final gripe is the classes. by al means, add new classes, but dont mess up our previous classes. i had to run with the boring soldier, as there was no hunter with the formidable and amazing bloodwing.

    all i can say is i fear that i will once again bugg out after spending 40 grueling minutes trying to fight a boss that was designed to be killed with 4 players (cough crawmarex the invincible cough), and simply get responses of "well maybey you should just play some c-op with friends"
    Expand
  93. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    Better then it's predecessor in every way. A cool looking run gun and looter that's fun increases exponentially with the amount of players with a pc version that truly shines with all the options we want and superior performance as total biscuit and many other game sites have said this is how you do a pc port. It's sad that these days that's a huge mark in this games favor but there you have it.
  94. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Being a big fan of Borderlands 1 I pre-ordered the sequel through Steam. Gearbox did very well to say at least. The main game is huge, graphics are awesome, the new classes are okay, some of the NPC are really well done (Tiny Tina comes to mind). Hopefully Gearbox will expand their story lines in the planned DLC.

    The biggest improvement for me is the variety of mobs compared to the
    Being a big fan of Borderlands 1 I pre-ordered the sequel through Steam. Gearbox did very well to say at least. The main game is huge, graphics are awesome, the new classes are okay, some of the NPC are really well done (Tiny Tina comes to mind). Hopefully Gearbox will expand their story lines in the planned DLC.

    The biggest improvement for me is the variety of mobs compared to the first game. PC port is okay, the in game inventory interface are still a bit strange though.

    Even for the AAA title price tag this game is a must for every FPS fan.
    Expand
  95. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    They say there are bazillions of guns. I have finished the game and can confirm there are lots of guns but have only got about 3 that are any good and one of those was offered to me from a friend. It is a shame that playing on single player increases the chance of finding rubbish items, there is no need for this because the odds are against you anyway. A tip to the developers; please don'tThey say there are bazillions of guns. I have finished the game and can confirm there are lots of guns but have only got about 3 that are any good and one of those was offered to me from a friend. It is a shame that playing on single player increases the chance of finding rubbish items, there is no need for this because the odds are against you anyway. A tip to the developers; please don't make the single player experience so unattractive.

    I have scored this game in to halves: 5 points for the multi player and no points for the pointless single player mode.
    Expand
  96. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    An awesome game. Just so wonderfully time wasting. And the abilities are incredible. The graphics are uniquely beautiful and the humour is wicked, with a very Archer kind of vibe.
  97. Sep 6, 2013
    7
    Pretty standard FPS fare that demands to be played co-op, the solo experience tends to be a little monotonous; go here, kill this, repeat. Has some neat customization and funny dialogue but often feels as though it's fishing for memes.
  98. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Game of the Year for me..its got everything that i would love..good graphics, gameplay , even the story got better this time and the soundtrack is simply amazing...everything is just badass.....
  99. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    I am glad that I bought this game. It is 100 times better than the first one. Guns look more different and beautiful. Voice overs r funny. And the world itself is amazing. Good job and kudos to Gearbox! If u liked the first one you will love Borderlands 2! A lot of ways to play it what else you need for th game to keep u busy.
  100. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    I'm kinda late to the party but I have to say I liked this game alot. It had alot of flair and over the top violence and humor that made the first one a good game but they did alot to make it a bit more accessible for the single-player. The story is alright. It would really help if you've played the first one to know what's going on as they don't give you a great chance at figuring thingsI'm kinda late to the party but I have to say I liked this game alot. It had alot of flair and over the top violence and humor that made the first one a good game but they did alot to make it a bit more accessible for the single-player. The story is alright. It would really help if you've played the first one to know what's going on as they don't give you a great chance at figuring things out but it's not necessary to play the game. This game is easily one of the funniest games I've ever played. Some of the jokes are just so superb that I found myself having to pause for a minute cause of laughter. The gameplay is fun and there's a ton of stuff to do, especially if you buy the DLC for the game. The biggest issue I had is still the fact that the game sometimes asks to much of the player. I feel like some of the quests you do can take almost an hour and the reward is most often lackluster. I personally only picked up guns from a few places throughout the game as I found myself not even doing most of the side missions cause the rewards were fairly bad. Plus the story gets really serious toward the end, which kills the vibe the game had going for it the rest of the time. This story was meant for humor, as were the characters. But the end of the game is just one buzz kill after another. It's definitely what you expect to happen but they went about it in the worst way possible. The game is best played with 4 people but can be played with one. While I wouldn't have voted it for any GotY awards last year, it's still a great game to play, no matter the big problems it faces. With the prospect of more DLC incoming, you could potentially play this game for quite a long time going forward. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 92
    It’s addicting, full of creative gags and amazing battles (especially in co-op mode) and it keeps dangling that loot-carrot in front of your face. Add that crazy humor on top and you have a synonymous for the world ‘entertainment’. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for something with a ponderous story full of morality and contemplation – one best savored alone – then you'll need to look elsewhere. Borderlands 2 delivers tons of lighthearted, occasionally juvenile fun with immense replayability, and is best approached with a few buddies in tow. It doesn't revolutionize the concept pioneered by its forebear, but it refines it to a razor-sharp edge and offers some of the most fun you can have in a cooperative action RPG this side of Diablo II. And if nothing else, it's got lots of Claptrap.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    94
    The moment at which my endearingly annoying robot companion Claptrap fashioned himself a Mohawk out of some animal fur I collected he earned a spot on my all-time favorite robot list.