User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2064 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    A worthy successor to a fresh,original idea,evolving it to the next level.
    The game has loveable characters,insane humor,and addictive gameplay mix of and FPS and an RPG.

    Go my minion,play this!
  2. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This game is amazing, one of my favourite out there. It has sharp writing, with one of the most loveable (and hateable villians out there, gorgeous art design, vast, expansive and varies enviroments along with the 6 classes to play as and harder modes to play through, this game has THOUSANDS of hours to be lost to it! It also has a brilliant loot system and some wonderfully creative guns.This game is amazing, one of my favourite out there. It has sharp writing, with one of the most loveable (and hateable villians out there, gorgeous art design, vast, expansive and varies enviroments along with the 6 classes to play as and harder modes to play through, this game has THOUSANDS of hours to be lost to it! It also has a brilliant loot system and some wonderfully creative guns. This game improved upon it's predeccesor extremely and had a story were you actually cared what was happening! A must play and in my opinion a classic! Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    This is a pretty amazing first-person shooter from the team that brought us Bioshock. In fact, you'll recognize some similar elements, such as voice recordings that you occasionally have to pick up. This game is tuned for multiplayer co-op; you may find some parts are very tough to get through playing singly. As a co-op game, it's an amazing experience.

    Borderlands 1 & 2 also seem like
    This is a pretty amazing first-person shooter from the team that brought us Bioshock. In fact, you'll recognize some similar elements, such as voice recordings that you occasionally have to pick up. This game is tuned for multiplayer co-op; you may find some parts are very tough to get through playing singly. As a co-op game, it's an amazing experience.

    Borderlands 1 & 2 also seem like they take a lot of elements from MMORPG games like World of Warcraft. There are quest givers. There are bosses. There are loot drops of randomly enhanced items. You choose the class you want to play, and each class has a unique ability. You level up your characters, and you assign talent points. All very much like MMORPG's. And the loot drops are insane at times -- to the point that item management gets to be a heavy chore.

    If you have a friend that you like to play FPS games with, buying this is a no-brainer. It's a helluva lot of fun. But make sure you buy the Game of the Year edition, because it's the most feature-complete version out there.
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    I first played this game in 2012 on my Xbox 360 and found it to be just okay and a bit of a let down but after one of my friends on the pc had bought it, I thought I would give it another go. I'M GLAD I DID. Borderlands 2 is a very funny game with A LOT of guns to use. Also is has one of the best villains in any game ever. The game is also very addictive to play, it makes you not want toI first played this game in 2012 on my Xbox 360 and found it to be just okay and a bit of a let down but after one of my friends on the pc had bought it, I thought I would give it another go. I'M GLAD I DID. Borderlands 2 is a very funny game with A LOT of guns to use. Also is has one of the best villains in any game ever. The game is also very addictive to play, it makes you not want to stop playing.

    Verdict: Awesome game with a very addictive loot system and great characters.
    9/10
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    Really nice game. It has a really long story and if its not enough for you there's a ton of DLC this is really one of the best game i played in the fps category.
  6. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    The best game ever made for me. Borderlands 1 was quite all right and it is hard to believe they where able to improve it that much. (Still BL1 is my favorite, but I think BL2 is objectively better). I usually don't replay games, but after this I immediately replayed it in true vault hunter mode. But even this was not enough, and I went back to replay BL1 again with the DLCs. The fun neverThe best game ever made for me. Borderlands 1 was quite all right and it is hard to believe they where able to improve it that much. (Still BL1 is my favorite, but I think BL2 is objectively better). I usually don't replay games, but after this I immediately replayed it in true vault hunter mode. But even this was not enough, and I went back to replay BL1 again with the DLCs. The fun never seems to stop with this game for some reason. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2014
    9
    Borderlands 2. This game is a very unique case for me. I haven't even finished the game's story yet, and I'm already doing a review for it. Normally, I like to finish a game's story before I review it, but just this once,I decided not to because I felt like I had played enough of the game to review it. So, is this game a unique enough experience without a story, or does a game reallyBorderlands 2. This game is a very unique case for me. I haven't even finished the game's story yet, and I'm already doing a review for it. Normally, I like to finish a game's story before I review it, but just this once,I decided not to because I felt like I had played enough of the game to review it. So, is this game a unique enough experience without a story, or does a game really need a story to be amazing? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is utterly unique. It is a first-person shooter with RPG elements from the Diablo series. I was not a huge fan of Diablo (there, I said it, come at me Blizzard fanboys) when I played it, so I was not so sure what to expect when I decided to try this game. After trying it, I can safely say that my concerns were put to rest. I had a much more fun experience with this game then Diablo II ever gave me. It does have many elements of Diablo. There is tons of loot to pick up, multiple characters to play as, each with a different play-style, and your character can level up and unlock new abilities. However, this game has many more elements of a first-person shooter that make it a much more unique experience. Let me just start by saying unlike Diablo, you don't have to click everything on screen just to make your character do things. This was one of my biggest problems with Diablo. Because you could not use the mouse and keyboard, you had to click everywhere just to do things, which just made the game more confusing, and way too fast. However, Borderlands 2 plays just like your average first-person shooter. It's not overhead view like Diablo. I'm happy Gearbox Software went with this direction, because it gave me a more familiar gameplay mechanic than just clicking. This game is definitely more of a shooter than any other RPG I've played, as shown in the game's fast, furious, and fun combat. There are also several quests for you to do throughout the game, which is why I haven't completed the story yet. These quests are all very fun and unique. They all have you accomplishing objectives for certain characters. I think that my only problem with the gameplay would be that when you die, you just respawn at a checkpoint. While this is okay, one thing that annoys me is that any enemy you hit before you die will regenerate all of his health when you get back to the room you were killed. While this can be annoying, it is not annoying enough to make you stop playing the game. Overall, this game's gameplay is insanely fun, and anyone who plays this game will most likely have a fun time with it. As for the graphics, they are every bit as unique as the gameplay. The graphics of this game are cell-shaded, sort of like a comic book. The game looks far more unique than any other game I have played. However, the question is, do these graphics work? The answer is yes. This game has many cartoony elements in it, such as the humorous writing throughout the game's story and missions, and these graphics fit in with it perfectly. My only problem with these graphics is that there is a lot of texture pop-in. While this is not a huge issue, almost every other developer who has used the Unreal Engine has either found a way to get rid of this pop-in, or made it not get in the way. It gets in the way here, which can be annoying, but still doesn't distract from the whole experience. Overall, this game has great graphics regardless. As for the story, while I haven't played through the whole game yet, I can tell you what I have played. The story is that you are a Vault-Hunter, and you must stop a man named Handsome Jack from destroying the world of Pandora. Problem Number 1 is that they picked the most cliched story in the book, I know, but even so, they still manage to make it unique here. They made it unique through the aforementioned humorous writing in the game's story. This game has a really good sense of humor, and the writers like to show it anywhere they can. Expect lots of good jokes throughout this game. It also has a lot of memorable characters. Overall, this game's story is really cliched, but still great. Overall, this is a game that must be played. It successfully combines the first-person shooter and RPG genres. I can safely say that I like this game one heck of a lot more than the Diablo franchise (once again, come at me Blizzard fanboys). I recommend this game to anyone who loves a good shooter or RPG, or even a good video game in general.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  8. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    At 9.4/10 this is the highest rating I gave a game yet.

    Starting with what lost that half-point and prevented my first ever 10/10. The vending machines - Marcus Munitions: there was the same lines of chat repeated over and over. Having Marcus dialogue talking of when you're next for murder was not funny. Murder is not funny. Handsome Jack said some really disgusting stuff. It was
    At 9.4/10 this is the highest rating I gave a game yet.

    Starting with what lost that half-point and prevented my first ever 10/10.

    The vending machines - Marcus Munitions: there was the same lines of chat repeated over and over. Having Marcus dialogue talking of when you're next for murder was not funny. Murder is not funny.

    Handsome Jack said some really disgusting stuff. It was meant to set us up to know who we were dealing with, and reminders during the game were necessary. It was too much for me though.

    Other than this the game rocked. Rocked! Fun by the trainload and lots and lots of badasses to shoot. Everyone mentions the graphics and they are brilliant. Using the cartoon style gave the artist(s) more artistic licence to produce stuff that might have looked out of place in another engine. Also the artistry was of the highest quality so sets looked excellent.

    It is another inventory full again, run to a shop game. Choosing which weapon to use was quite easy though so nothing really slows it down. From the start this game is beautifully intense and a few minutes into the game the action starts. It flows from then on at a fast pace as character upgrades and new weapons keep it flying. Shooting causes all kinds of things to happen. Numbers of damage fly off the enemy but not in any annoying way. Explosions cause rubble to dissipate everywhere. Good modern graphics cards that run good PhysX make this great. It showcases your PC perfectly.

    I loved Borderlands 2 GOTY, and I wasn't sure I would even like it. It was my first Bordelands game, but I have since purchased Borderlands GOTY.
    Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNSMGUNS GUNSMGUNS **** GUNS TITGUNSMGUNS GUNS GUNS GIANT GUNS SMALL GUNS GUNS FOR EVERYONES
    GUNS TITGUNSMGUNS BOOBGUNS ASSGUNS
    Not in all caps now, MetaCritic
  10. Oct 1, 2014
    9
    Works better than the console versions, some minor hiccups aside, although the keyboard controls need tweaking to be comfortable right off the bat. I had the ps3 version and couldn't finish it due to graphical glitches where the textures would never finish loading and the frame rate would drop down the the single digits. Having a smooth gameplay experience helps to appreciate all theWorks better than the console versions, some minor hiccups aside, although the keyboard controls need tweaking to be comfortable right off the bat. I had the ps3 version and couldn't finish it due to graphical glitches where the textures would never finish loading and the frame rate would drop down the the single digits. Having a smooth gameplay experience helps to appreciate all the special things that go into borderlands like the weapon and character designs and the humor. I'm glad to see this series is still being developed, and continuing to evolve unlike the other yearly shooter games where the gameplay never changes. Definitely worth a shot. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    +Gun porn
    +Lots of character diversity
    +Amazing art style
    +Actual story
    +Hilarious dialogue
    +Varied environments
    -Phenomenal coding (sarcasm, game is riddled with glitches)
    -Pretty much the same as Borderlands
  12. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    The first Borderlands was a great game all in it's own, but this game puts the first Borderlands to shame. There's more humor, more to the story, more bad guys, and a larger more beautiful world. I see a lot of people saying the humor isn't funny, well the only thing I have to say about that is they are taking the game way too seriously, it's Borderlands, let your hair down and have aThe first Borderlands was a great game all in it's own, but this game puts the first Borderlands to shame. There's more humor, more to the story, more bad guys, and a larger more beautiful world. I see a lot of people saying the humor isn't funny, well the only thing I have to say about that is they are taking the game way too seriously, it's Borderlands, let your hair down and have a little fun, enjoy the ride, because it's a great one. Expand
  13. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    If you love fps. You would love this game. Really enjoyable on your first playthrough as the humour is really outstanding and the endless loot is what drove me to continue playing the game even after beating it multiple times. In order to not enjoy this game, you would have to have no sense of humour, not a true gamer or just really stupid to understand the mechanics. The only cons for meIf you love fps. You would love this game. Really enjoyable on your first playthrough as the humour is really outstanding and the endless loot is what drove me to continue playing the game even after beating it multiple times. In order to not enjoy this game, you would have to have no sense of humour, not a true gamer or just really stupid to understand the mechanics. The only cons for me is that enemies sometimes can be much more powerful than you if you don't have the right equipment. Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this game. So many hours of gameplay and so much to do with fun characters. It was quite easy to learn the basics of the game even though I had not played BL1. Favorite character: Gunzerker.
  15. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    Absolutely amazing game, with a massive story line. I paid $10 for the game of the year edition on a steam sale, and I haven't even finished all the dlc I got included with it and I have played for a full 36 hours on just one character. The game is really fun, with each character felling very unique. The game also is very funny, though some of the humor is a little crude. The best part isAbsolutely amazing game, with a massive story line. I paid $10 for the game of the year edition on a steam sale, and I haven't even finished all the dlc I got included with it and I have played for a full 36 hours on just one character. The game is really fun, with each character felling very unique. The game also is very funny, though some of the humor is a little crude. The best part is that most of the side quests, and there are hundreds of them, are all different, with very little repetition. And then there are the guns. There are just so many guns its ridiculous. Some guns are similar to each other, but it really doesn't matter because of how many different characteristics they can have. Most guns feel completely unique as you play through it, and you never get the same gun twice while looting things. The only time you get the same guns is through mission rewards. I'd say overall this game is fantastically put together and is well worth its price. Expand
  16. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    Borderlands 2 keeps its uniqueness and originality. Story line is always great as well as the characters.
    Nice graphics and controls. You do not get tired of the game.
    Totally recommended.
  17. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    I have never played this game so why am I scoring it? I am scoring this for all of the amazing voice actors in the game from FUNimation! As of today 10 million copies of Borderlands 2 have been shipped worldwide!
  18. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Beautiful, cartoony game with a cool story, great characters, humor, a crapload of loot, bunch of character upgrades, challenging enemies, lots of replayability and has the best use of Nvidia's PhysX I have ever seen. Although the PC version is king of all versions, it has its fair share of fps drops, due to it favoring high-end Intel CPUs over anything by AMD. No big deal if you're fineBeautiful, cartoony game with a cool story, great characters, humor, a crapload of loot, bunch of character upgrades, challenging enemies, lots of replayability and has the best use of Nvidia's PhysX I have ever seen. Although the PC version is king of all versions, it has its fair share of fps drops, due to it favoring high-end Intel CPUs over anything by AMD. No big deal if you're fine with 30-40 fps. I play on a 360 controller to mask the input lag and it feels fine. I would give 10/10, but even on the lowest settings, 60 fps at all times isn't possible on my not-bad-but-not-ultra system, where other games like Just Cause 2 and Metro: Last Light run amazingly at much higher settings. Kinda stupid, but whatever. BL2, in itself, is great. Play with friends and enjoy! Single player is loads of fun too. Expand
  19. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Great game, so much loot the story and characters are great especially clap trap XD, loved it don't know why people say its boring its great to play with friends
  20. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    It feels like what Diablo 3 should have been. Granted, it's not as much of a "lock yourself in your room for a year" kind of game, but the guns are varied, the enemies are challenging, and the game doesn't hold your hand down a linear path. Pandora feels like a massive, uncharted place to explore, and you are constantly challenged and rewarded for doing so. The writing is stellar, theIt feels like what Diablo 3 should have been. Granted, it's not as much of a "lock yourself in your room for a year" kind of game, but the guns are varied, the enemies are challenging, and the game doesn't hold your hand down a linear path. Pandora feels like a massive, uncharted place to explore, and you are constantly challenged and rewarded for doing so. The writing is stellar, the characters are memorable, the visuals fit right in with the overall theme of the game. It's a great ride that I'll definitely return to more than once. Well worth it, even 2 years now after release. Expand
  21. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Simply the best lootwhoring/buttonmashing co-op title since Diablo 2, though also enjoyable in SP. Hilarious dialogues, characters and cinematics. Endless combinations of loot and loads of challenges. Worthwhile DLC content. Smooth graphics which still looks good - giving you a pleasant and fluid game experience even if you have an older PC. My favorite game 2012 without any doubt.
  22. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Easily one of my favorite games of 2013. Great exploration, good story, tons of action, rewarding co-op, very challenging gameplay. Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode is too hard to solo, you'll need to play it with others. Also the final DLC, Raid on Digistruct Peak is not a new story campaign but instead a small set of near impossible challenges that will have you grinding to "OP 8" which isEasily one of my favorite games of 2013. Great exploration, good story, tons of action, rewarding co-op, very challenging gameplay. Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode is too hard to solo, you'll need to play it with others. Also the final DLC, Raid on Digistruct Peak is not a new story campaign but instead a small set of near impossible challenges that will have you grinding to "OP 8" which is another way of saying level 80 without the extra 8 skill points. In other words the final DLC seems rushed and unnecessary.

    Took 40 hours to beat the main story line but I played 500 hours total because it's just that much fun to challenge yourself with True/Ultimate Vault hunter modes and collect loot.

    The psycho and mechromancer add-ons are fun, but don't buy them unless you really like the game.
    Overall amazing game. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  23. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    I have not played Borderlands 1, so this a discovery for me. Also, I haven't tried it solo and played with friends only, which I think is a better idea.

    The story is good and very funny, and if you like the cartoon style, the world is pretty well done as well. It runs perfectly in coop mode, the AI is legit, and the "special attacks" of your character are necessary to clear out some
    I have not played Borderlands 1, so this a discovery for me. Also, I haven't tried it solo and played with friends only, which I think is a better idea.

    The story is good and very funny, and if you like the cartoon style, the world is pretty well done as well. It runs perfectly in coop mode, the AI is legit, and the "special attacks" of your character are necessary to clear out some hard bosses. You get several weapons to use, and lots of crap to collect on the floor all the time.

    Conclusion : Hours of fun with friends, and loot everywhere !
    Expand
  24. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    this game is pure awesomeness and is more badass than the previous game . the weapons is almost near to infinity with each weapon having its own property . and world of pandora is huge . the co op is fun
  25. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Critics say this is even better than the first game. I say they are both perfect 10s. If you enjoyed the first Borderlands and want more action on Pandora, this is a must-buy.
  26. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    GUNS, GUNS, GUUUNS, as Marcus puts it!
    Excellent game that is an upgrade sequel to the Borderlands in every way.
    STORY Just about the same as it is in Borderlands. You get to Pandora, do some main quests, do some shooting/fethching/timelimit quests and first and foremost GET MORE GUNS BABY. Borderlands 2 features a set of mostly very interesting characters of which every has its
    GUNS, GUNS, GUUUNS, as Marcus puts it!
    Excellent game that is an upgrade sequel to the Borderlands in every way.

    STORY
    Just about the same as it is in Borderlands. You get to Pandora, do some main quests, do some shooting/fethching/timelimit quests and first and foremost GET MORE GUNS BABY.
    Borderlands 2 features a set of mostly very interesting characters of which every has its individual way of aproaching you as the vaulthunter. The thing I love about this game is that while some sidequests are simple and boring errands, still many of those sidequests are actualy both fun and interesing and enrich the main story. Here and there you get a great gun or a fun sidestory or a silly villain or... everything of that at once! I`d say that Handsome Jack managed to lead me through the story just like Vaas did in Far Cry 3 - in a different way ofcourse but still - complicated character, sometimes funny sometimes bloodthirsty. Kept me going the whole time with no sign of boredom whatsoever.

    AI
    Very good. Lots of different types of enemies attack you in lots of different ways. You have to use some strategy depending on who you face. There are melee runners, snipers, riflemen, tanks, kamikazes, midgets, retards, yuppies and more.Some of them even use the loot dropped by their dead fellowmen against you.

    GAMEPLAY
    Outstanding. Gunplay in this game is yet to be rivaled. You get just about any type of a wapon you can think of. Add to that a set of different effects each wapon causes and you have thousands of variants. The player can customize his inventory 100% to his likes and can play the game in any way he wishes. So every encounter is different.

    GRAPHICS
    Slighly better than Borderlands. In my opinion it shows its age already but the map variety and artstyle compensates for it 100%. You don`t really pay attention to the graphics here as the maps are very fun and complicated. Character models are ok aswell.

    DLCs
    This game has dlc of exceptional quality. Each of them add something to the story. Besides buffing your character you get to meet some new people and their own stories. They are both challenging and rewarding. Lots of gameplay value for the price.

    Overall a great title that is sure to satisfy every fps gamer. It is interesting, beatiful fast, has heaps of gameplay with a lot of tongue in cheek humor and references. A wonderful exception to todays cashgrab trends, provides at least 100 hours of sheer entertainment.
    Expand
  27. May 26, 2014
    9
    The game is pretty good , really enjoyable , the only annoying thing is that there is a lot of DLC's like skins you have to buy , but most of the main dlc's are in the season pass which is saving some money
  28. May 15, 2014
    10
    Here is where I would put a reference to the game to make it awesome, so you will buy it.
    The game is amazing the graphics are incredibly epic, and then the script writing for the entire game is freaking hilarious.

    Don't believe me?
    YouTube Handsome Jack from Borderlands 2
  29. May 15, 2014
    10
    Well...I need to say that this thing is f**ing amazing, I've never got so addicted to a game before, the game is awesome, and has that improvement on the history that I know that everybody wanted, and the DLC's came to get me crazy....I....I can't even say how much I love this game, just waiting for the pre-sequel
  30. May 1, 2014
    9
    Got to find that legendary weapon! Excellent game and lots of fun in single player and co-op. Some great DLC as well. If you liked the first, there is no reason not to get this one.
  31. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    An effort so "Epic"
    Many fans and players from the original Borderlands might have not expected this game to be that much epic.The original Borderlands was lack lusted,first it had limited customization then a lame story,both of these things have been improved from the ground to beyond the sky.Borderlands 2 won't ever let you complain about it.Gearbox has performed an excellent effort on
    An effort so "Epic"
    Many fans and players from the original Borderlands might have not expected this game to be that much epic.The original Borderlands was lack lusted,first it had limited customization then a lame story,both of these things have been improved from the ground to beyond the sky.Borderlands 2 won't ever let you complain about it.Gearbox has performed an excellent effort on this game and this game is worth more than it's price.I recommend you a solid buy.Here are some Pros and Cons -

    +Improved Gameplay Mechanics
    +Character Customization
    +Impressive Voice Acting
    +Crazy Storyline
    +Great Humor
    +Addictive Coop
    +Enemy Variety
    +Lots of Loot
    +Game Length
    +Best Villain
    +High Replay Value
    +Awesome Landscapes

    -Dialogue Interruption
    -Lacks Backstory
    -Loot Storage
    -Slow Texture Load
    -Vehicle Missions

    Overall Score- 9.8
    Expand
  32. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Amazing game! wonderful gameplay, amazing story, hilarious humor! What more can you ask for a game? It's funny, good, amazing, wonderful! (Especially in Co-Op!)

    If i could i would rate this game:

    87 Gazzilion / 10!
  33. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Absolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each haveAbsolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each have their unique style of play. I really have few gripes about this game, one being that legendaries all of a set mob to farm. However, you are going to have a good time nonetheless 10/10. Expand
  34. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Buy this game if you have friends who will play it with you online.
    This is one of the best online gaming experiences out there.

    For single player it gets old pretty quickly although you'll have plenty of hours to enjoy it as well.
  35. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Hilariously dark characters, flawless gameplay, interesting story lines, great DLC, what's not to LOVE about this game. I enjoyed it so much I bought the Xbox 360 version AND the PC version. I have played through it at least a dozen times thus far and see no end in sight. It is fantastic. 10 out of 10. Best game ever made with the exception of Super Mario Bros. It is so good I canHilariously dark characters, flawless gameplay, interesting story lines, great DLC, what's not to LOVE about this game. I enjoyed it so much I bought the Xbox 360 version AND the PC version. I have played through it at least a dozen times thus far and see no end in sight. It is fantastic. 10 out of 10. Best game ever made with the exception of Super Mario Bros. It is so good I can actually forgive Gearbox for the abomination that is Aliens: Colonial Marines. Expand
  36. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    This game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likely present no threat at all.

    You can unlock better weapons by loot, or by using rare keys, which will give you great and unique weapons or shields. You can also unlock achievements which instead of giving you XP like in the first game, will give you
    This game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likely present no threat at all.

    You can unlock better weapons by loot, or by using rare keys, which will give you great and unique weapons or shields. You can also unlock achievements which instead of giving you XP like in the first game, will give you the chance to give your character a really tiny boost in health, shield, ammo, damage etc. (Forever)

    It offers more variety of enemy's, and the game fells more "alive". The characters are interesting and the humor is good (Not like a "HAHAHAHAHAHA" type of humor but it will make you laugh sometimes.)

    The storyline is better (Well, now there is ACTUALLY a story line)

    Oh, I forgot, the ending doesn't suck like in the first one.
    Expand
  37. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Simply awesome. This game is the best game I've played in ages, when you reach max level, you have so many things to do, it never ends. NPCs are hilarious, easter eggs are awesome. It's perfect.
  38. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    all my god this is great and you may be thinking this may be boring and plain well no there is hole new story then just opening a vault but i shall not spoil it for you and like first one there are four vault hunters that are zero maya aston and salvador that are smilier then the ones in the first ones and there are two dlc characters you can get and there are bazzilons bazzionsall my god this is great and you may be thinking this may be boring and plain well no there is hole new story then just opening a vault but i shall not spoil it for you and like first one there are four vault hunters that are zero maya aston and salvador that are smilier then the ones in the first ones and there are two dlc characters you can get and there are bazzilons bazzions 20000000000 more bizzilon guns to find and collect and like the first one the gun manufactures are malliwain torque dahl tediore and valdalf and also there are different elements that are corrosion fire electricity slag that does more damage if you don't now what that means and explosions and more variety of enemies that you will have to use different strategies to defeat like a older your going to use corrosion to do more damage to loaders and more i won't spoil to use and jack is one of the most funny villains i have ever seenveichal controls are amazing now and there where some funny npcs in the first game but this one has much more like the always extremely hot mad moxxi and always funny scooter his big big breasted sister ellie and the crazy tiny tina and the skill tress but there are 2 problems with it one there is annoying when we can't make a full customised vault hunter well sure there are lots of skins but still and i now not every game needs this but borderlands 2 needs it and second one there can be lag a lot well except for pc Expand
  39. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    I just love this game. Yes, it gets repetitive. Yes, its sometimes hard.
    But, I CANT STOP LOVING THIS GAME.
    It looks awesome, its fun, buy game of the year if you like Loot'N'Shoot's
  40. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    With out a doubt, Borderlands 2 is one of my favourite games, with nearly 40 hours of game time I think I may have some credentials. I'll start of by rebutting the arguments of people giving this game a poor score.
    This game may get repetitive but that's the beauty of it, the second this game becomes slightly boring you can change your skill tree, change your character or simply change
    With out a doubt, Borderlands 2 is one of my favourite games, with nearly 40 hours of game time I think I may have some credentials. I'll start of by rebutting the arguments of people giving this game a poor score.
    This game may get repetitive but that's the beauty of it, the second this game becomes slightly boring you can change your skill tree, change your character or simply change your gun type.
    People say is a spray type of game, well whats not fun about that?
    The graphics are nothing that's going to blow your mind but they do the trick and have never seemed dull or boring.
    The humour of the game still makes me laugh even in my third play through.
    However I never played the first instalment of Borderlands and they game may just be a slight improvement but hey, for me the game when i first launched it felt entirely new!
    Expand
  41. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    I got hooked from the very beginning, and just enjoyed it as a great fresh change from my other games. Good sense of humor, and cool boss fights made it even better.

    The gameplay is a little linear, but in a smart way, so it does not bother that much. Respawning enemies made it a little worse, and annoying, but I guess it is just me, and no game would be perfect for everyone. Boss
    I got hooked from the very beginning, and just enjoyed it as a great fresh change from my other games. Good sense of humor, and cool boss fights made it even better.

    The gameplay is a little linear, but in a smart way, so it does not bother that much.

    Respawning enemies made it a little worse, and annoying, but I guess it is just me, and no game would be perfect for everyone.

    Boss fights might be slightly stressful, and I personally was tired of it, but still after all it rewards with a good feeling of achievement. Besides after getting through the first map, more gun selection awaits, so next boss fights would be less stressful.

    Perfectly balanced difficulty makes it a really exciting experience. The bad side of that would be no time to relax. Respawning enemies, boss fights, traps, and constant need to improve, and progress does not leave any room to take a breath, and enjoy the "safe room" time.

    But still I have this feeling that I want to go back to it, so why not to leave 9/10? Also there is a multiplayer, for a plus.
    Expand
  42. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    In borderlands 2 you are a vault hunter who nearly dies but you are saved by a Siren named angel who wants you to help her to destroy the vault key and free her. It`s a co-op game and heavily loot driven. I suggest you play with at least one player.
    The game is awesome because you can acquire a lot of different weapons. I thinks you should hack the game because it’s easier to get better
    In borderlands 2 you are a vault hunter who nearly dies but you are saved by a Siren named angel who wants you to help her to destroy the vault key and free her. It`s a co-op game and heavily loot driven. I suggest you play with at least one player.
    The game is awesome because you can acquire a lot of different weapons. I thinks you should hack the game because it’s easier to get better weapons and fight better enemies.
    If you are going to play solo you definitely should hack because the game gets so difficult sometimes playing alone.
    Expand
  43. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    The replay factor is crazy: I"ve got characters of all classes and still haven't got tired of the game even playing single player most of the time. The variety of missions and DLC makes the game live much longer. Story is cool, great voice acting, beautiful graphics, precise controls and and a serious pack of fun.
  44. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    Borderlands 2 is an all around fun game. The loot is infinite! Not really but you get the point. there is so much loot. over all the game has an amazing story line with 4 play through's. The mobs have amazing and very fun commentary. And it adds a hole new feel to the game with coop mode. you can trade loot and money with other people, not to mention the risks of dueling Items. over allBorderlands 2 is an all around fun game. The loot is infinite! Not really but you get the point. there is so much loot. over all the game has an amazing story line with 4 play through's. The mobs have amazing and very fun commentary. And it adds a hole new feel to the game with coop mode. you can trade loot and money with other people, not to mention the risks of dueling Items. over all this is a spectacular game and i cant wait for Borderlands 3. Expand
  45. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    A truley amazing game!

    Very fun, lots of things to do, and the graphics are great! Borderlands gives you a feeling that you are on a sweet planet with a great storyline (makes me laugh a lot). Nice FPS system with leveling, and many options for gear and builds! Great game and I highly recommend to anyone! I didn't give it a 10 though, only because the DLC is expensive and there
    A truley amazing game!

    Very fun, lots of things to do, and the graphics are great!

    Borderlands gives you a feeling that you are on a sweet planet with a great storyline (makes me laugh a lot). Nice FPS system with leveling, and many options for gear and builds!

    Great game and I highly recommend to anyone!

    I didn't give it a 10 though, only because the DLC is expensive and there is too much of it.
    Expand
  46. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Expansive storytelling and a fair amount of sandbox running around are delights that make this FPS really truly great. Finding replayability a little boring? Explore. Explore. Explore. My hope is that borderlands has established a foothold in GURPS-esque (for those who don't know look up GURPS) gameplay and may push this to be a larger MMORPG in the coming iterations. Kudos for continued success!
  47. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Great Game. In-jokes with cultural references a plenty as well as humorous writing draw you into the story and keep you wanting to play more. Comic book graphics are done well and gameplay makes sense. You can enjoy this game for its dialogue, its loot hunting/collecting (similar to Diablo 2) or its well-done dlc (even holidays get their own stories and in-game analogies). Co-op matchingGreat Game. In-jokes with cultural references a plenty as well as humorous writing draw you into the story and keep you wanting to play more. Comic book graphics are done well and gameplay makes sense. You can enjoy this game for its dialogue, its loot hunting/collecting (similar to Diablo 2) or its well-done dlc (even holidays get their own stories and in-game analogies). Co-op matching seems to be difficult to use and clunky (if you don't have friends to play with), but the single player game is so immersive you don't really care. Once you complete the story and discover the third party save-editor, the game goes downhill quickly, but I played for over 100 hours before I reached that point, and I still enjoy hearing the stories again. Expand
  48. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Bought this game while i was deployed as a way to play with friends and family. It is amazing! From the graphics, hilarious voices, awesome weapons, the script. It's all amazing. The difficulty scales with how many you have in your party. I love the dev team who continue to put on content for this amazing game!!
  49. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    i played this game 4-5 months. i love everything in this game. weapons, enemies, caracters, story. and more important the references are awesome. YOU CAN SLAP THE JEFFREY MAN anyway if you call you GAMER you MUST play this game.
  50. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    Really nice game, large choice of weapons, beautiful graphics, interesting characters, large world to explore, interesting quests, interesting vehicle mini game, add a nice touch of humor and you have a near perfect game, only gave it 9 because i never give 10,I'm a firm believer that there is always room for improvement.
  51. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    I got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC or play on harder difficulty the story is really interesting and it's coming from the developer who got left with the utter fail Aliens: colonial marines it is an excellent recovery
  52. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Such a fantastic game, because of: really fun and satisfying gun play, constant excitement for finding new and better loot and silly humour, which compliments the cell-shaded graphics style perfectly. This style of graphics looks surprisingly nice and texture quality is pretty good. However, another huge advantage that this game has over many in it's genre, is a fantastic PC port part, asSuch a fantastic game, because of: really fun and satisfying gun play, constant excitement for finding new and better loot and silly humour, which compliments the cell-shaded graphics style perfectly. This style of graphics looks surprisingly nice and texture quality is pretty good. However, another huge advantage that this game has over many in it's genre, is a fantastic PC port part, as the fps and general performance are constantly good, and for me at least, there are little to no game crashes or bugs. You do experience the occasional bug, but it is nothing immersion-breaking, or worrying. however, the UI is functional at best and was clearly designed with a console in mind, so it is sometimes a bit awkward to switch or compare weapons.

    On to the few negatives this game has, one of which is not the game's fault. The jump-in co-op is a fantastic feature of this game, but I highly recommend only doing this with friends, as random matchmaking tends to put you with someone who is not necessarily inclined to share loot with you. While money and ammo is shared throughout your group, those really great guns that you can find only belong to the person that picks them up, so this can be a problem, albeit not the game's fault. Another bad thing about this game is only based from what I have heard. I have many friends who have played both the original Borderlands and it's sequel, and every single one has suggested that it is effectively the same game, with better variety of guns, better graphics, and more improved features. However, I can't comment on this, as I have never played the original myself.
    Overall, a thoroughly satisfying and fun experience, where you can lose a couple of hours without even knowing it. Thorough recommendationf or me, especially at the cheap price of £6.79 I got it in this year's Steam summer sale.
    Expand
  53. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    One of the most enjoyable games I have ever had the opportunity to play. Unrivalled story,content, characters and gameplay wrapped up in edgy, cel shaded graphics that makes it infinitely cool.
  54. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It's quite simple. any game that can give you 100+ hours of game play value WITHOUT any multi-player component is nothing short but a great accomplishment. Great graphics, great characters and addictive gameplay. Too bad that the missions tend to repeat themselves and the quest are quite simple.
    The co-op is also great and offers a great experience with friends if you want to take on the
    It's quite simple. any game that can give you 100+ hours of game play value WITHOUT any multi-player component is nothing short but a great accomplishment. Great graphics, great characters and addictive gameplay. Too bad that the missions tend to repeat themselves and the quest are quite simple.
    The co-op is also great and offers a great experience with friends if you want to take on the biggest bosses.
    Expand
  55. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Best. Game. Ever.

    The game simply work, sassy jokes and characters, good humor, amazing stories and sub stories. This game will never make you regret the purchase done!
  56. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    One of the best shooters of the decade! The game itself looks dazzling, and gameplay is engaging and can keep you entertained for tens or hundreds of hours. With hundreds of guns and side-quests, it's hard to turn the game off until you complete every mission, get the best guns to find, and slay the deadliest foes.

    Great characters keep you entertained with one of the most important
    One of the best shooters of the decade! The game itself looks dazzling, and gameplay is engaging and can keep you entertained for tens or hundreds of hours. With hundreds of guns and side-quests, it's hard to turn the game off until you complete every mission, get the best guns to find, and slay the deadliest foes.

    Great characters keep you entertained with one of the most important factors of the game humour. Cheesy yet hilarious jokes and references will keep you grinning through the game. Despite this, the emotion is amazing, with heartbreaking losses and betrayal. Co-op is also an important factor, as completing missions with friends is always an entertaining experience. Replayability is near infinite with open world action and upgrades plus new game modes to challenge you.

    The map is big with some locations that would cause you to want to plunge into. DLC with upgrades, missions and maps will continue to keep you glued to the game. Achievements are plentiful to keep achievement hunters happy. Overall, this game is massive. With infinite replayability and hours of fun, and dubstep, Borderlands 2 is an experience you must jump into.
    Expand
  57. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Bigger and better than the original game in every possible imaginable way. Not only that but this game has some of the best dialogue and greatest characters ever to appear in a game. Pretty much a must have experience. Now.. I'm off to save up for a pony made of diamonds.
  58. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I consider that this game has a lot to offer. yes some say it's the first borderlands ,version 2.0 but playing the 1st borderlands, i don't feel that way. it's hell of a lot fun even if you play alone, but in co-op everything gets better the story gets much deeper and it has more replay-ability value consider adding this to your game collection
  59. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I love this game! I am a huge fan of B1 and in B2 i get exactly what i was expecting. It is a must have for all B1 fans. Awesome graphics and perfect gunplay!
  60. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner. It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner.

    It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper levels of writing. I can't see where the dreary "I'm so serious" 4 and 5 review scores are coming from. We are talking about VIDEO games. This one has a fine balance between instant fun and long term 'purpose'.

    There are a few minor mechanics that could be improved. The player character could certainly benefit from a jet pack or another way to get around faster! Bigger levels and easier access to the structures through a climbing mechanic would be nice. Otherwise great work Gearbox.

    I like it so much I just went and bought ALL the DLC at full price, to be sure the developers get a taste of my money! They deserve it for making one of the most entertaining and lighthearted gun romps out there tight now.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  61. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The game is one of my favorite shooter.A very godd prosecution for Borderlands 1. Not to easy and not to hard and the Multiplayer is one of the bests.
  62. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    The same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chestThe same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chest keys and wikis with all the codes if you're in to gear hoarding. Expand
  63. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    I like this game because it's beautiful (graphics and all) to the point and has lots of shooting to do. The story is also likeable. It has a non-linear setting and it's a no-nonsense game. No disappointments.
  64. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    played B1 and it was nice, but the trailes and previews of B2 really didnt look to good for me, so i decided 1st not to buy it. But a freind of mine did and keep telling me how great it is so i decided to give it a shot and boy i am glad i did. i played that game over 400+ hours for now, and its the most brilliant and fun game which was ever released imho, i cant wait till they releaseplayed B1 and it was nice, but the trailes and previews of B2 really didnt look to good for me, so i decided 1st not to buy it. But a freind of mine did and keep telling me how great it is so i decided to give it a shot and boy i am glad i did. i played that game over 400+ hours for now, and its the most brilliant and fun game which was ever released imho, i cant wait till they release Borderland 3 tbh, i am curious how it continues. Expand
  65. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed the first game, it was unique, but it lacked any real direction, and got very redundant. Borderlands 2 vastly improves upon the first game by having a very immersive and well acted storyline that really brings the characters to life and immerses the players in the games world. The action is more fast based and explosive than the first game, and the loot options seem moreI enjoyed the first game, it was unique, but it lacked any real direction, and got very redundant. Borderlands 2 vastly improves upon the first game by having a very immersive and well acted storyline that really brings the characters to life and immerses the players in the games world. The action is more fast based and explosive than the first game, and the loot options seem more practical and refined.

    Overall, this game is amazing. Probably the best game of its genre in years. They must have done something right, because I cant wait for new DLC to be release so I can play the game more. Bring on part 3!!!
    Expand
  66. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, the brilliantly wide variety of guns, gadgets and missions keeps you coming back for more and more, and the boss fights get more and more epic. A truly special game I was happy to complete.....

    Only for it to get even better in multiplayer!

    A really great game.
  67. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    This game delivers.
    It's got good music, funny dialogues, quests and claptrap. It even got me into buying a helmet to customize the looks of my Assasin.
    I got a solid 70 hours of gameplay and there's still plenty to discover and complete if I want to.
  68. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    The best game i ever missed.
    I saw it on steam, was bored after a week full of customer meetings and gave it a try.
    As RPG and Shooter fan, also as old Shadowrun lover i was totally sucked in by the great atmospehere in the game. The flow, they style, the music and the game pacing and mechanics. All works together in a great symbiosis. Would have been my top choice as game of the year
    The best game i ever missed.
    I saw it on steam, was bored after a week full of customer meetings and gave it a try.
    As RPG and Shooter fan, also as old Shadowrun lover i was totally sucked in by the great atmospehere in the game. The flow, they style, the music and the game pacing and mechanics. All works together in a great symbiosis. Would have been my top choice as game of the year for 2012 if i wouldnt have missed it.
    Now after so many game-letdowns i finally found a great game where i didnt expected it.
    BUY BUY BUY. have fun. germany out.
    Expand
  69. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Absolutely amazing! I've invested 190 hours as of now, and not one of them was dull. Borderlands 2 is better in every aspect than the first, excluding two things. The only things keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the removal of weapon proficiencies and the gun manufacturers S&S munitions, and Atlas. Other than that, this game is nothing short of a masterpiece. With it's chaotic,Absolutely amazing! I've invested 190 hours as of now, and not one of them was dull. Borderlands 2 is better in every aspect than the first, excluding two things. The only things keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the removal of weapon proficiencies and the gun manufacturers S&S munitions, and Atlas. Other than that, this game is nothing short of a masterpiece. With it's chaotic, fast-paced firefights, it's awesome co-op multiplayer, and great leveling system, I can't put a price on this game that I wouldn't be willing to pay. Expand
  70. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This game is just plain fun. Playing the first Borderlands and being extremely let down by the storyline, I was really hesitant to pick up this and play it, but glad I did.

    I am very satisfied how the developers tried to keep some combat elements familiar to Borderlands 1, but expanded and improved on them as well. Some sequels (Mass Effect series comes to mind) are notorious for
    This game is just plain fun. Playing the first Borderlands and being extremely let down by the storyline, I was really hesitant to pick up this and play it, but glad I did.

    I am very satisfied how the developers tried to keep some combat elements familiar to Borderlands 1, but expanded and improved on them as well. Some sequels (Mass Effect series comes to mind) are notorious for completely redoing the combat system and physically changing the feel of the game, but not so with BL2.

    The storyline was extremely satisfying and tied up many loose ends from the first game, and was somehow both dark and humorous at the same time. The side quests were not mindless milk runs, and I genuinely enjoyed completing them for the interaction with the NPC's in the game.

    The enemies gave enough variety and difficulty to keep combat interesting the entire game, and the add-on packs even more so.

    I think one of the best features is that this game is fun both as a single player campaign or as multiplayer. The dynamics are very different for both playstyles, but both are equally fun.

    One negative I will point out with this game is how the graphics engine is coded and all of the glitches and bugs it produces. Similar to Crysis, it does require significant horsepower to run, and it is not because the graphics are "just so phenomenal". Its because the rendering software was not optimized properly. During some parts of the game, I found myself in the heat of combat only to receive the lag spike of death and losing all progress since my last save.

    Overall, extremely happy with this game.
    Expand
  71. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    If i had imagined game like Diablo but in genre of FPS it would have been Borderlands 2! Great loot system, great weapons/items variability. intelligence of AI is best for me so far i've never play any shooter with such crafty enemies. Actually this is rare case when i spend all the weekend playing the game.
  72. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Well done Gearbox. Except for a bit of stutter in the menus the PC port is great. It's basically Borderlands all over again, but nothing wrong with that: excesses of run and gun with an insane amount (of mostly crappy) loot to sort through. Dozens of time wasting 'challenges' and 'unlockables'. Numerous tough set pieces that kill you and make you try again. Bundled with an accessible,Well done Gearbox. Except for a bit of stutter in the menus the PC port is great. It's basically Borderlands all over again, but nothing wrong with that: excesses of run and gun with an insane amount (of mostly crappy) loot to sort through. Dozens of time wasting 'challenges' and 'unlockables'. Numerous tough set pieces that kill you and make you try again. Bundled with an accessible, enjoyable multiplayer. In short this game is a near-perfect (mindless) shooter. The humour is amusing, the gunplay is fun (and tough at times). Character skill trees do the job. And if you can snap up the season pass on sale, this game is BIG, giving gamers plenty of time to waste if they so desire. Nothing at all to complain about here. However since I find the game personally a little empty, long-winded and (dare I say it) boring, it scores 9/10 from the orctowngrot. Expand
  73. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    I can't even start to describe the amounts of laughs, fun and action this game packs.
    A true gem that combines RPG and FPS so well, by using inginious characters spiced qith superb sarcasm and beautiful graphics.
    I can't stopped playing it, and it already have 4 DLCs, and a level cap increase!!
  74. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 does not change the gameplay in any significant way, but it does fix every single flaw that was present in the original, where Borderlands 1's greatest weaknesses became Borderland 2's greatest strength. This sequels has more colorful environments, an engaging story, an entertaining cast of characters and much greater enemy variety which draw you into the experience just asBorderlands 2 does not change the gameplay in any significant way, but it does fix every single flaw that was present in the original, where Borderlands 1's greatest weaknesses became Borderland 2's greatest strength. This sequels has more colorful environments, an engaging story, an entertaining cast of characters and much greater enemy variety which draw you into the experience just as much as the core gameplay mechanics do making this feel like a whole package. Expand
  75. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Gearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to the challenge to this game. With all games it has its bugs, but with updates they can be fixed. It just takes some time. I love playing this game with friends with finding all the humor, bugs, and Easter eggs. So i would love to rate this game a full 10/10!
  76. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    really love it!!! best game ever. got over the 900 hour playtime. and im still enjoying the game. the mix of action and humor makes this game perfect!! im looking forward to the next dlc's.
  77. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great FPS with a funny storyline that had me dodging bullets and giggling the entire time. Great and constant DLC support will keep you shooting for a long time.
  78. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    As someone who played the first one for nearly 100 hours. I can proudly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the second one racking up over a 100 so far and still playing.

    This game improves the weaknesses of the first game and reinforces its strengths. Its graphics and physics are improved, but they still maintain the cartoon-y/ comic book-y style. There is a lot more variation in the amount
    As someone who played the first one for nearly 100 hours. I can proudly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the second one racking up over a 100 so far and still playing.

    This game improves the weaknesses of the first game and reinforces its strengths. Its graphics and physics are improved, but they still maintain the cartoon-y/ comic book-y style. There is a lot more variation in the amount of guns you can come across and a lot of interesting styles of guns. The story is more in depth, although not amazing, but most people don't play Borderlands for the story, they play it for the amazingly addictive game play, which they improved even more. What I really like in Borderlands 2 is there is a bigger variety of characters you can play as, some who are slow paced ranges units, and then the faced paced, up close, Have loads of fun while you get your ass kicked, but at the same time kick ass" style characters.

    Overall: If you enjoy blind violence, astronomically huge environments, psychotic characters, and dark humor, this is the game for you.
    Expand
  79. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Giving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence of the developers bleeding through everywhere. This game marks a new era in first person shooters. I've put over 200 hours into the game so far and it always manages to feel new every time I sit down to play it. I have to make myself stop playingGiving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence of the developers bleeding through everywhere. This game marks a new era in first person shooters. I've put over 200 hours into the game so far and it always manages to feel new every time I sit down to play it. I have to make myself stop playing usually.

    The greatly improved on the game dynamics and interface over the original Borderlands. It's perfectly polished for the PC this time. The graphics are great and the DLCs are actually good enough to merit buying them. The storyline in conjunction with the models and voice acting is insanely compelling. You all rock, keep it up!
    Expand
  80. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    just buy this game! if you are thinking of buying this game just do it right now you will have hours of fun playing this game and the pc port is great i have had no problems
  81. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is a great example of a fun game (to play with friends.)
    The basic storyline is just taken from Borderlands (the first game) Where the characters are trying to get to the vault. The same thing happens in this game, except it is with different characters and some 'Different' Objectives.
    The game tries to make you play with your friends. I have noticed (while playing by
    Borderlands 2 is a great example of a fun game (to play with friends.)
    The basic storyline is just taken from Borderlands (the first game) Where the characters are trying to get to the vault. The same thing happens in this game, except it is with different characters and some 'Different' Objectives.
    The game tries to make you play with your friends. I have noticed (while playing by myself) that it becomes extremely hard to complete bosses on your own, but when you have a friend play with you, you can kill him first try For example, Wilhelm (a boss) took me two days, or 20 tries, to beat by myself, but then with a friend, it is one try. When it says has joined the struggle! The creatures of pandora strengthen!' I think what it means is has joined the (non) struggle! The creatures of pandora Weaken!' I have yet to beat the game, but somehow this game makes me coming back for more. My friend is kind of obsessed with this game, he is really good at it aswell. We were playing it together one night, and we agreed that we would complete the game and do True vault hunter mode, and then I bought ultimate vault hunter mode for both of us. The thing is, you will get bored of the game sometimes, and leave it for a month or two, and then when you have nothing to do, you go to it and say "Please forgive me, oh great Borderlands 2, I need your great therapy for my looting lust". In fact, I haven't been able to not play the game for at least a month, because the great multiplayer keeps bringing me back. The gameplay has no 'special' features to it, but in it's core it is just an RPG/FPS/MMO game, where it's fun to mess around online. Overall, I would only buy this game if other people on your friends list have the game and actually want to play it with you. The repetitiveness is easily forgiven through the great feeling of killing a massive robot and getting your first legendary weapon from it. My rating of this game would be a 87%, in other words, it's a great game, for a great price. As long as you don't mind a little bit of repetitive missions and storyline, the developers took their time to render and program over 100,000+ guns, which you will enjoy. Buy it only if you want it.
    Expand
  82. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Only drawback is I wish my friends played more really haha. The game also looks amazing on PC. I played this albeit not all the through, on 360 and PS3 before almost exclusively switching to PC games.
  83. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 i had to get the second one! From my prospective this game is almost perfect. the graphics are good, the story is good, the game play is good and the list goes on and on.
    For those of you who liked the first one, i really recommend this game.
  84. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    A much better game than the first, I have really only one complaint and that is to have the weapon vendors carry good weapons I spend a lot of time scavenging for and the vendors carry the crappiest of gear and for me it is disappointing.
  85. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic and is a great successor to what was originally a great game. The classes, while bearing a striking resemblance to the vault hunters of the first game, are better defined and feel fresh compared to the classes of the original. The gameplay is just as good as you would expect, the storyline is good (although, just like in the 1st borderlands, you can tell that theyThis game is fantastic and is a great successor to what was originally a great game. The classes, while bearing a striking resemblance to the vault hunters of the first game, are better defined and feel fresh compared to the classes of the original. The gameplay is just as good as you would expect, the storyline is good (although, just like in the 1st borderlands, you can tell that they stretched it out at points, and the endings are mostly identical), and the characters are great. The game really shines in multiplayer though- I'm glad that they have cross-platform play between the Mac and PC, but it's currently out-of-synch because of a patch update for the PC that has yet to come out for Mac. Other than that, the game is fantastic. Expand
  86. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    the game is nice all in all not many bugs generally this game rocked i can highly recommend this game for everybody who wants a good laugh. and a challenge buy this game and you will get good laugh though the game is a bit boring at the start the funner missions starts later in the game
  87. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Oh my... what a nice rpg! I've played BL1 and I found it so cool. BL2 tho... The classes are all useful, graphics are beautiful, no less and the storyline exceptional. You should however play this game with at least one friend and have a pretty good computer to have the best graphics possible.
  88. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is hours of fun. Some minor details have been improved from the first installment to make playing smoother and more enjoyable. I've almost finished my second play through and enjoyed it equally both times. The story is entertaining and the side missions never fail to amuse me. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is into this style of games.
  89. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    While I don't think this was as good as BL1, I still think this is a very solid game overall. The overall vault hunters, excluding the Mechromancer and the Psycho, aren't as strong as the ones before them in BL1. This in turn made the game slightly more difficult, which was somewhat of a good and bad thing for me. What made BL1 great is present in this game, but its largely much of theWhile I don't think this was as good as BL1, I still think this is a very solid game overall. The overall vault hunters, excluding the Mechromancer and the Psycho, aren't as strong as the ones before them in BL1. This in turn made the game slightly more difficult, which was somewhat of a good and bad thing for me. What made BL1 great is present in this game, but its largely much of the same as it was before, except it took more time for this game to build steam. The game felt very meh up until somewhere past half way through. Past that point, the game got REALLY good, and I couldn't put it down until the ending. Again, very solid game, but don't let the hype get to you, or you WILL be disappointed. Expand
  90. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 deliveries more fun, in a already amazing game title. This game has lots of replay ability, and lots of great dlc,s to keep you LOOT hunting for a very long time.. Oh and slot machines you can win money, items and guns. Ps, and more Moxxi
  91. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I wasn't the biggest fan of B1 I finished it the first time through and stalled somewhere 2/3 into it the 2nd time through; I wasn't sure if I'd get B2 but went for it after many friends were constantly talking praise about it.. Found out there were pretty much spot on. It's not the best at 'anything' but it's really good at 'everything'. B2 NPC's have more personality than you canI wasn't the biggest fan of B1 I finished it the first time through and stalled somewhere 2/3 into it the 2nd time through; I wasn't sure if I'd get B2 but went for it after many friends were constantly talking praise about it.. Found out there were pretty much spot on. It's not the best at 'anything' but it's really good at 'everything'. B2 NPC's have more personality than you can shake a skag at.. I mean really.. Who doesn't find Tiny Tina adorable as she has you find her main squeeeeeze's badonkadonks, so she can help you burn all the babies on the train??? (Not literally although you never see who 'was' in the train)

    Beyond that the weapon porn you came to expect in B1 shines and then some in B2. I've only delved into one DLC so far and reportedly it's the best (by others, I can only judge what I've played). Tiny Tina as a Dungeon Master in Sanctuary is almost as good as her wanting to 'shank a b***h'.. :)

    I'd give it a 10 if they replaced Gaige with TT, or at least added her with a DLC..
    Expand
  92. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    tons of fun! tons of guns. just. destroy. shoot. everything. collect all the guns. repeat and having fun. adding some words so it's reach 150 characters.
  93. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't believe that Borderlands 2 can be as good as it's brother but it is. Overall it DOUBLED Borderlands. The awesome places, funny scenarios, really awesome looking guns, a good storyline made this game the best Co-op game ever made.
  94. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    This game is near flawless. With exciting AND addictive game-play that stays fresh even past the 2nd play-through I am never board with this game. Especially considering how easy it really is to play with friends. I do wish it was more possible for people of different level ranges to play together but we cant have it all.
    In stark contrast to the first Borderlands, the story is
    This game is near flawless. With exciting AND addictive game-play that stays fresh even past the 2nd play-through I am never board with this game. Especially considering how easy it really is to play with friends. I do wish it was more possible for people of different level ranges to play together but we cant have it all.
    In stark contrast to the first Borderlands, the story is actually compelling and the superb voice acting makes it hard not to be drawn in. The humor plays a big part as well and never feels out of place in the abstract Borderlands universe.
    The graphics look great on both high AND mid range systems, offering highly stylized graphics that still have a touch of realism.
    In closing I must commend Gearbox Software for their love-letter to the PC community. Literally every gripe I had with the shoddy console-port that was BL1 is gone. This game truly deserved Game of the Year.
    Expand
  95. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I really love this game! Especially the co-op, but single-player is also fun! The art of the game looks awesome and you have millions of weapons to choose from! Also a second and third playthrough in this game is still fun!! You definitely have to buy this game, its SUPER BADASS!!!
  96. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    I'm generally not a "shooter" game fan, I haven't played games of that genre since DOOM and Quake back in the 90's, but this game is incredible.

    The characters in BL2 are hilarious, the main villain is such an outrageous, self-centered jerk that you'll be dying to slay him by midway through the game. I wont even get into some of the phrases the various bad guys yell at you, but whoever
    I'm generally not a "shooter" game fan, I haven't played games of that genre since DOOM and Quake back in the 90's, but this game is incredible.

    The characters in BL2 are hilarious, the main villain is such an outrageous, self-centered jerk that you'll be dying to slay him by midway through the game. I wont even get into some of the phrases the various bad guys yell at you, but whoever did the writing here has a great sense of humor.

    The guns look great, and they have such varied combinations of stat bonuses and drawbacks that you'll really have to do some experimenting with them to see which ones work best for you, (it may not be immediately apparent in most cases). This is the case with grenade mods, shields, and other equipment too; you'll really have to look at the stats and experiment a bit in different scenarios, there isn't always an obvious "best" choice. The equipment "drop rates" seem about right to me; while leveling up I would find something amazing about every 7 levels, which would really give my character a significant boost in power for the next few levels.

    In addition to the weapons and armor, the skill trees in BL2 give it a real rpg feel. Each class has 3 specialization trees, as you level you'll get skill points to assign and build your character's spec. There are also dozens upon dozens of outfit skins and character faces, (some are very rare), so you can alter your character's appearance in many different ways. There's vehicle combat in BL2, and you can even change the way your vehicle looks and it's weapons.

    The combat and controls are great, on the PC this doesn't feel like a console port to me at all. The battles in this game are huge, and hard. You're going to have to learn how to make use of cover, retreat, and effectively use your arsenal of various guns and grenades. The enemies come with various strengths and weaknesses, so figuring out which tactic works best against which provides a lot of depth and strategy for a shooter game.

    I love the Borderlands look and art work, and the game runs great on my computer. The only reason I'm not giving this game a 10 is because some parts of it, especially on the second play through, seem like they were designed with multiplayer in mind. Not that it's impossible to do solo, just potentially extremely frustrating at times. As someone who prefers to solo in games that have single and multiplayer options, I have to deduct a point there.
    Expand
  97. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. I must admit there were a ton of things to work on and a little bit of let downs but over all this game is definitely one of my top ten. There is so much to do, So much loot to take and trade, bad ass enemies and more. The comedy is silly and refreshing and this game will keep you busy for hours and hours.
  98. May 25, 2013
    9
    Such a wonderful open world, full of fun and violence. Borderlands 2 is a big step up from Borderlands 1, and will keep you entertained for at least 25 hours. The only thing I dislike are the invisible walls, they can get slightly annoying.
  99. May 24, 2013
    10
    A very great and as well badass game!This creation is yet one of the best of 2012,delivering mindblowing game-play for you and your friends that you are going to play with.This game is to be BOUGHT if you want to spend some time with you and your friend in the awesome co-op campaign!
  100. May 23, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is with no doubt one of the most unique titles I've seen.
    It is very easy to get sucked into the world the game takes place in, as if you're there yourself.
    The whole way the game runs is unusual but very special and interesting. Unlike many modern games you only have to stick to a basic, far from reach objective, but no one tells you how, or when. It gives you freedom
    Borderlands 2 is with no doubt one of the most unique titles I've seen.
    It is very easy to get sucked into the world the game takes place in, as if you're there yourself.
    The whole way the game runs is unusual but very special and interesting.
    Unlike many modern games you only have to stick to a basic, far from reach objective, but no one tells you how, or when.
    It gives you freedom there are so many ways to get to the objective they set you, so many tactics each with it pros and cons and so many places and mini-quests to go through.
    Graphics are very nice and not too demanding (runs max on my mid-level PC), characters are clever and funny, AI gets increasingly good as the time passes and they actually pose a threat.
    Borderlands 2 is also stuffed with humor that will make anyone laugh.
    It runs smoothly and bug free.
    For those with creative thinking and a bit of patience, Borderlands 2 is one of the best games around.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 92
    It’s addicting, full of creative gags and amazing battles (especially in co-op mode) and it keeps dangling that loot-carrot in front of your face. Add that crazy humor on top and you have a synonymous for the world ‘entertainment’. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for something with a ponderous story full of morality and contemplation – one best savored alone – then you'll need to look elsewhere. Borderlands 2 delivers tons of lighthearted, occasionally juvenile fun with immense replayability, and is best approached with a few buddies in tow. It doesn't revolutionize the concept pioneered by its forebear, but it refines it to a razor-sharp edge and offers some of the most fun you can have in a cooperative action RPG this side of Diablo II. And if nothing else, it's got lots of Claptrap.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    94
    The moment at which my endearingly annoying robot companion Claptrap fashioned himself a Mohawk out of some animal fur I collected he earned a spot on my all-time favorite robot list.