User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1922 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Bigger and better than the original game in every possible imaginable way. Not only that but this game has some of the best dialogue and greatest characters ever to appear in a game. Pretty much a must have experience. Now.. I'm off to save up for a pony made of diamonds.
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Well done Gearbox. Except for a bit of stutter in the menus the PC port is great. It's basically Borderlands all over again, but nothing wrong with that: excesses of run and gun with an insane amount (of mostly crappy) loot to sort through. Dozens of time wasting 'challenges' and 'unlockables'. Numerous tough set pieces that kill you and make you try again. Bundled with an accessible, enjoyable multiplayer. In short this game is a near-perfect (mindless) shooter. The humour is amusing, the gunplay is fun (and tough at times). Character skill trees do the job. And if you can snap up the season pass on sale, this game is BIG, giving gamers plenty of time to waste if they so desire. Nothing at all to complain about here. However since I find the game personally a little empty, long-winded and (dare I say it) boring, it scores 9/10 from the orctowngrot. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 puts you in an immense, loot-filled and humerous adventure that sets its hooks in you pretty damn good! Grab a friend or two and start scavenging for loot, showing off your awesome weapons and laughing your asses off with the funny one-liners. Never before could any game keep the humor and gameplay so top-notch without making it feel dumb. Hat off, 2K.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    This game is captivating and has fantastic humor, a great story and its just the right cure for the MMO dull drums. It doesn't take itself too seriously but is definitely a challenge. The Co-op is fantastic however not having individualized loot is the one thing I can say was poorly designed. The graphic are great with their unapologetic cartoon campiness. Even the casual remarks from the respawn machine make me laugh. Having my character say things that I am thinking when I get that perfect head shot is priceless. I am really looking forward to the DLC expansions that will be coming in the near future. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Game of the year! This game is totally awesome. Pretty much same as 1st part but everything what could be improved is better here. Great leveling system which make game fun no matter how much pass throughs you do. For now 1st DLC is out and it's really good with gameplay hours like other full games have. ONLY BAD AND UNNECESSARY thing in game are 2 "invincible" bosses. They MUST be passed in coop and if you don't have 3 other players you can't pass that and win al achivements. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    GUNS, GUNS, GUUUNS, as Marcus puts it! Excellent game that is an upgrade sequel to the Borderlands in every way. STORY Just about the same as it is in Borderlands. You get to Pandora, do some main quests, do some shooting/fethching/timelimit quests and first and foremost GET MORE GUNS BABY. Borderlands 2 features a set of mostly very interesting characters of which every has its individual way of aproaching you as the vaulthunter. The thing I love about this game is that while some sidequests are simple and boring errands, still many of those sidequests are actualy both fun and interesing and enrich the main story. Here and there you get a great gun or a fun sidestory or a silly villain or... everything of that at once! I`d say that Handsome Jack managed to lead me through the story just like Vaas did in Far Cry 3 - in a different way ofcourse but still - complicated character, sometimes funny sometimes bloodthirsty. Kept me going the whole time with no sign of boredom whatsoever.

    AI
    Very good. Lots of different types of enemies attack you in lots of different ways. You have to use some strategy depending on who you face. There are melee runners, snipers, riflemen, tanks, kamikazes, midgets, retards, yuppies and more.Some of them even use the loot dropped by their dead fellowmen against you.

    GAMEPLAY
    Outstanding. Gunplay in this game is yet to be rivaled. You get just about any type of a wapon you can think of. Add to that a set of different effects each wapon causes and you have thousands of variants. The player can customize his inventory 100% to his likes and can play the game in any way he wishes. So every encounter is different.

    GRAPHICS
    Slighly better than Borderlands. In my opinion it shows its age already but the map variety and artstyle compensates for it 100%. You don`t really pay attention to the graphics here as the maps are very fun and complicated. Character models are ok aswell.

    DLCs
    This game has dlc of exceptional quality. Each of them add something to the story. Besides buffing your character you get to meet some new people and their own stories. They are both challenging and rewarding. Lots of gameplay value for the price.

    Overall a great title that is sure to satisfy every fps gamer. It is interesting, beatiful fast, has heaps of gameplay with a lot of tongue in cheek humor and references. A wonderful exception to todays cashgrab trends, provides at least 100 hours of sheer entertainment.
    Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic and is a great successor to what was originally a great game. The classes, while bearing a striking resemblance to the vault hunters of the first game, are better defined and feel fresh compared to the classes of the original. The gameplay is just as good as you would expect, the storyline is good (although, just like in the 1st borderlands, you can tell that they stretched it out at points, and the endings are mostly identical), and the characters are great. The game really shines in multiplayer though- I'm glad that they have cross-platform play between the Mac and PC, but it's currently out-of-synch because of a patch update for the PC that has yet to come out for Mac. Other than that, the game is fantastic. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I've never played the first one, but did play Rage, so that's the only kind of outlander FPS I can compare with. Haven't finished but have already sunk a good 15 hours in and can confirm that it's a lot of fun even playing the single campaign - really love the looting and dazzling array of weaponry. Enemies are kind of fun too. Music's low-key, really nice but not enough variation of tracks for me - oh and the dialogue is exceptionally mad, in a good way. The only thing to whine about is not liking how I have to steer vehicles with my mouse, rather than right left arrows. Also, not overly keen on respawning enemies all the time. It kind of reminds me of Far Cry 2 in that respect - but it's still lots of fun to kill them all again, mostly. Sweet game, highly recommend. Expand
  9. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    No idea what game people whining about "console port" are playing. The PC version here is a huge improvement over Borderlands 1. Multiplayer is fully integrated into Steam and worked great for me, instead of tacked on Gamespy stuff. The menus are better designed for the PC. Graphics options exist now. This is easily the best looking version of the game. Oh yeah, and it's fun! Some people will whine about anything it seems, but the rest of us will be busy shooting things for fun and profit. Expand
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    I pre-ordered the game on Steam. It became available right at midnight with no issues.. Played for about 3 1/2 hours. The graphics are much better on PC than the console versions, theres even some Nvidia specific stuff you can turn on. If you liked Borderlands, you'll love Borderlands 2.
  11. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I have been playing this game for 50+ hours and I love it. It seems like it doesn't have an end, when you add in the multitude of side missions. In my view, there are three big improvements over Borderlands 1: (1) wider variety of enemies. B1 got kind of boring with the abundance of Skags. (2) cooler vehicles with stronger weapons, especially the catapult (3) somewhat more coherent main mission. Also, the graphics are a vast improvement, except that I had some initial difficulty identifying enemies due to the shadowing. The game itself runs smoothly even though my graphics are below the minimum required. The only improvement I would have liked to have seen is stronger weapons. It may just be me, but it seemed like it always took a minimum of three hits to kill even the most inocuous enemy. Expand
  12. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Critics say this is even better than the first game. I say they are both perfect 10s. If you enjoyed the first Borderlands and want more action on Pandora, this is a must-buy.
  13. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game dramatically improves upon BL1. This game has perfected the run, gun and loot genre of fps. Now this may be a little repetitive at times so I can not give it a perfect 10. This game does not take a lot of skill to play but as far as enjoyment I would give this game an 11 if I could. The music and sound effects are awesome if you have a good sound card and cans. The writing is hilarious and general mood of the world is outstanding. If your tired of BF3 and COD and are looking just for pure fun and smiles grab this game for sure. Expand
  14. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    borderlands 2 is great.the gameplay is great theres a lot of missions and side quest.very funny i suprised for good becuase i dont like that kind of games i will give it 9/10
  15. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner.

    It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper
    levels of writing. I can't see where the dreary "I'm so serious" 4 and 5 review scores are coming from. We are talking about VIDEO games. This one has a fine balance between instant fun and long term 'purpose'.

    There are a few minor mechanics that could be improved. The player character could certainly benefit from a jet pack or another way to get around faster! Bigger levels and easier access to the structures through a climbing mechanic would be nice. Otherwise great work Gearbox.

    I like it so much I just went and bought ALL the DLC at full price, to be sure the developers get a taste of my money! They deserve it for making one of the most entertaining and lighthearted gun romps out there tight now.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  16. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Absolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each have their unique style of play. I really have few gripes about this game, one being that legendaries all of a set mob to farm. However, you are going to have a good time nonetheless 10/10. Expand
  17. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 1 was pitch perfect; this one goes even further! Excellent graphics, excellently designed guns and terrain. Great gameplay mixed with lots of explosions is a must these days and this game does just that. It combines everything that a FPS player wants and turns it into a masterpiece. Great game, deffinetely better than it's predecessor.
  18. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    I love this game. I absolutely love it. It manages to be very new and refreshing, while remaining very familiar. The guns are awesome, they seem to have them balanced well enough to keep each player's preference satisfied. The story is very, very, very good. The old/new character cameos are a revelation. The game is very rewarding, though at some times it can be difficult for certain types of players (i like to TANK with a Rogue, but that's just me). The graphics are very similar to the first Borderlands graphics, but the animations are a lot better B2. Also the AI is a little better, enemies get out of the way of your bullets fast, hide for a long time while simultaneously throwing very well aimed grenades, also i just loved how ,sometimes, low health enemies hide behind full-health Badass Enemies when you're trying to get a second wind, effectively screwing with you. Just a side note, the first couple of levels will seem very difficult to attain and the game may get frustrating sometimes, but you will adapt quickly and the fun will resume. Bravo for Gearbox, i hope they keep this up and give us many more surprises in the future. Expand
  19. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    It feels like what Diablo 3 should have been. Granted, it's not as much of a "lock yourself in your room for a year" kind of game, but the guns are varied, the enemies are challenging, and the game doesn't hold your hand down a linear path. Pandora feels like a massive, uncharted place to explore, and you are constantly challenged and rewarded for doing so. The writing is stellar, the characters are memorable, the visuals fit right in with the overall theme of the game. It's a great ride that I'll definitely return to more than once. Well worth it, even 2 years now after release. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    Gameplay very similar to the first with some slight evolution in terms of expansion of weapon variety, character classes and grenade mods. The aesthetics of the game are really nice and it runs well but the best thing about this game which absolutely trumps the first is the story. I really liked it and quirky voice acting which was superbly written ties it all together.
  21. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    Although the annoyingly long reload times are still there and skills are really boring, the game's still a good one. At the end of the day it's about the guns and killing alot of mobs, which is fine by me.
  22. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    What is with PC gamers nowadays? I've been primarily a PC gamer since before Wolfenstein 3D, and after all this time, I am completely unable to understand how people can be so ridiculously critical of PC games. This game is being vilified as a console port? Seriously?? The graphics are vastly improved over the original, there are options to change TONS of graphics options (including the oft-asked-for field of view), the controls are rock-solid and customizable, and there are only a few bugs. I'm honestly starting to believe that PC gamers are going to whine until there are no more consoles, period. Dark Souls was the roughest port I've ever seen, but the game was still awesome, and I want to see more console games on PC. Rant aside, this game is awesome. While it is not radically different than the first, the mechanics are all improved, and the game has been expanded greatly. If you liked Borderlands 1, you will love 2. If you didn't like 1, you probably won't like 2 either. The characters are all diverse, and the abilities are a lot more useful and powerful (Phaselock in particular is insanely handy). I went through Borderlands 1 without using the special abilities really at all, but that's not the case with 2. Guns are widely more varied now, and are interesting to collect. The only criticism I can say about guns is that in the early part of the game, I ran out of ammo INSANELY quickly. In multiplayer, you share money, eridium (used to buy upgrades), and even ammo (the other player gets half of what you pick up). Sharing loot can still be a sore spot in multiplayer matches, but if you're playing with friends, it shouldn't be a huge problem. The way character upgrades work is a lot better than Borderlands 1 as well. In 1, you only leveled up weapons that you used, which led to people sticking to one type of gun from the very beginning. In 2, however, you work on "challenges" that give you points you can use towards certain unlocks. It's a much more elegant system. ***************************************************************************************** Bottom line, Borderlands 2 is a very well-done game that surpasses the original in every way. If you were bored by Borderlands 1, pass 2 up, but if you loved 1, you will love 2. Expand
  23. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Best rpg/shooter ever. 2k took the best parts of BL1 and just hit it home. The guns are more balanced in this installment. Good because there's always a better replacement and bad because there aren't more bank and twink slots. (The shelf life of BL1 guns were far greater.) The game is beautiful both in function and in form in every way. The only gripe I have is the 2D map is sometimes hard to follow. The missions are varied and interesting and multiplayer is a blast. This one's a keeper. Expand
  24. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Slick. Polished. Addictive in a good way. Basically diablo 2 with guns and physx particles flying everywhere. And no stupid RMAH that destroys any addiction to the loot system. I'm 30 hrs in to the game, playing it drop in / out co-op with steam friends and it is very very awesome. FOV is right. .ini settings work. This is a decent PC version. The storyline is actually interesting and there's lots of nice visual moments in the game along with a brilliant cast and accompanying dialogue that can be funny in all sorts of ways (whether it's because it's soo not funny that it is, or because they sometimes nail taking the piss out of another game/movie/reference.). Definitely recommend it, especially if you have other steam friends to play it with. Expand
  25. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Very, very nice game. And one of the things that makes this game so good is that 2K Games succeded in what is nearly impossiple: Making a game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. The story is better, the talent system is better, the jokes are funnier and most importantly: The loot is way more awesome! The only reason i only gave this game 9/10 is because the single player is a lot worse than the multiplayer. Especially the last stand system is completly **** when there is no one to revive you. So i think i would give the multiplayer a 10/10 and then the single player about 7/10. Expand
  26. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Easily one of my favorite games of 2013. Great exploration, good story, tons of action, rewarding co-op, very challenging gameplay. Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode is too hard to solo, you'll need to play it with others. Also the final DLC, Raid on Digistruct Peak is not a new story campaign but instead a small set of near impossible challenges that will have you grinding to "OP 8" which is another way of saying level 80 without the extra 8 skill points. In other words the final DLC seems rushed and unnecessary.

    Took 40 hours to beat the main story line but I played 500 hours total because it's just that much fun to challenge yourself with True/Ultimate Vault hunter modes and collect loot.

    The psycho and mechromancer add-ons are fun, but don't buy them unless you really like the game.
    Overall amazing game. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  27. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Awsome, a game that i will be playing for years the amount of content in this game is staggering, luv the pacing and the loot collecting is addictive as hell get this game.
  28. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I spend so many hours with this game that I even stop counting. If You liked the first part You must play this one too! Because it is so much better. Plot maybe isn't epic but is a good add on to a great shooter rpg.
  29. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Look no further - Game of the Year 2012. Upon the huge success of Borderlands in 2009, GearBox has shown the world how a new IP should be like. This company respects the players, constantly pushes out new contents and has a very good public image. Back to the game itself - there is absolutely nothing I could complain about the *launch* version of this game. NOTE: some games take a few weeks or months just to get their games working on players' machines. Unlike the broken co-op element back in Borderlands (I remember resetting my router ten millions times while annoying my roommates), BL2 has got this right from the start - no bugs, no major user complaints and has a solid gaming experience (for players to consume in). Oh yeah, forgot to mention that the humor in this game is unprecedentedly good. It's like I'm watching Seinfeld while simultaneously participating in the fun. As a comparison, instead of nerfing characters and pissing off avid players (I'm talking about you Blizzard and D3), GearBox's goal is to *entertain* all of us. All the guns in BL2 have been reworked to the point that I wouldn't get bored at "farming", if any at all. All the quests are unique and side missions aren't as boring as before. With the upcoming promise of new classes and quests, there is more to come, so just shut up and take my money. Expand
  30. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    Really nice game, large choice of weapons, beautiful graphics, interesting characters, large world to explore, interesting quests, interesting vehicle mini game, add a nice touch of humor and you have a near perfect game, only gave it 9 because i never give 10,I'm a firm believer that there is always room for improvement.
  31. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    I have not played Borderlands 1, so this a discovery for me. Also, I haven't tried it solo and played with friends only, which I think is a better idea.

    The story is good and very funny, and if you like the cartoon style, the world is pretty well done as well. It runs perfectly in coop mode, the AI is legit, and the "special attacks" of your character are necessary to clear out some
    hard bosses. You get several weapons to use, and lots of crap to collect on the floor all the time.

    Conclusion : Hours of fun with friends, and loot everywhere !
    Expand
  32. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Steam had a sale today so I went ahead and picked this game up for half-price. I was not a fan of the original, but thought I would take a chance as I have grown a bit bored of Diablo 3 and didn't really like Torchlight 2.

    So far I am totally impressed. I plan to add more to my review later and possibly adjust the score. As of now, the things that stick out in this game are...

    1.
    Better visuals than the first game, albeit slightly. With details cranked to maximum Borderlands 2 (a DX9 game) is surprisingly one of the prettiest on the market, thanks in large part to an impressive art-style.

    2. Story. Unlike in the first game, players have a very real objective and a very real enemy from the moment the game starts. This is an improvement over the first game, as it's always important to get the player involved early in the story.

    3. Gunplay is extremely satisfying. Aiming down the sights, shooting from the hip - however you go about it, the gameplay in Borderlands 2 is very intense and very satisfying. The enemies are tenacious, and are intelligent enough to dodge gunfire and predict your movements.

    4. Rewarding. The game rewards the players with a non-stop barrage of usable weapons and loot. This is a refreshing change of pace for someone coming over from Diablo 3.

    5. Well optimized. This game is not very demanding and can be played on max settings without being too greedy with system resources. Just about any mid-range machine can play this game to it's fullest potential, and it runs like a dream.

    As I said before, I will add more as I play more. But I can already tell that Borderlands 2 is something very special.
    Expand
  33. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    The same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chest keys and wikis with all the codes if you're in to gear hoarding. Expand
  34. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't believe that Borderlands 2 can be as good as it's brother but it is. Overall it DOUBLED Borderlands. The awesome places, funny scenarios, really awesome looking guns, a good storyline made this game the best Co-op game ever made.
  35. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    This game really surprised me.Never played first borderlands since graphic was unappealing to me. Most likely would never picked up second one if it wasn't gifted to me. I must say that i had real blast while playing it. Not even sure when my steam counter jumped to over 50 hours in less then 2 weeks ;). I really love it, Pandora is amazing place to explore. everywhere you go there's something completely new to discover. Scenery really changes between zones, they put lots of work into them. I only wish zones would level with me, some quests were simply too easy as i came back to them after a while. other then that, perfect game Expand
  36. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I don't like to give out 10/10, but this game truly had it all. Graphics, while cartoony, were great and stayed with the theme throughout. Gameplay was phenomenal. Tonnes of loot, comedy, story, missions, huge map, fun vehicles, great guns. Multiplayer was well done and is lots of fun when I choose to play it. I have no complaints about this game. Did not purchase DLC as I felt I had done so much already in the original game. Also never played the original, so I had no comparison to the previous one. Expand
  37. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    The Borderlands series has a brilliant formula of wacky humor, countless guns, and RPG mechanics. Borderlands 2 has crushed its prequel with modified gameplay, gorgeous graphics, hectic music and an interesting story. While the sequel improved in every department, its story took me by surprise. The strong, unique, and diverse personalities you’ll meet through the well-paced story improves the entire experience. Most importantly, this gives life and excitement to the planet of Pandora, which was just a boring hunk of rock in the original game. The “Bazzilion” guns that Gearbox claimed Borderlands 2 will have was no joke, and it’s more than just a few minor tweaks in damage and accuracy. The guns will sometimes have a huge bayonet, a wacky reload animation, a crazy looking scope, and may not even have any recoil. When the critics can only complain about an imperfect user-interface, we can conclude that the gameplay is as addicting as we all hoped it would be. Its well-deserved popularity certainly earns a nomination for Game of the Year 2012. For fans of the original Borderlands, this is a no-brainer, but for those who are skeptical about the unique gaming experience that Borderlands 2 has to offer, it’s time to come to your senses and get in on the fun that you’ve been missing out on. Expand
  38. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    I have to change my review, originally gave B2 a 4, now a 9, let me explain. I played Borderlands for about 3 hours solo, hated it, and didn't give this game a chance. After playing for about 10 hours (public co-op) I can definitively say that I am having a blast playing Borderlands 2. This game is fantastic! The graphics are great! The animations are great! The story is funny and deep if you want to follow it, or you can just blast everything in sight.

    The loot is fantastic and diverse and upgraded weapons do make a big difference (unlike skyrim)
    I think the leveling system in B2 is much better than a Bethesda game.

    All in all, I'm going to say that Borderlands 2 is a better game than Fallout 3 and on par with Skyrim.

    Borderlands 2 > F3 > Borderlands

    Gearbox did a really good job with this game. The PC options are the most expansive I have seen on a PC game in a LONG time, everything is there for the PC gamers to tweak. And, what really makes this game incredible is that the Co-op is NOT JUST TACKED ON AT THE END.

    Co-op is ingrained in the very core of this game, if you aren't playing co-op you are doing it wrong. Very few games actually take the time to develop the game around the Co-op experience and instead just offer a really lousy multiplayer option just hit to check box on the back of the box. Borderlands 2 has some of the best Co-op I've ever played, maybe the best.

    It is just a great, fun game to play. If you did not like Borderlands I strongly urge you to play this game Co-op. I think you'll be surprised, I was.

    Great Game!
    Expand
  39. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I was never a fan of Borderlands, but then a week ago, a friend gave me a Steam key for BL2 and I played the game, enjoyed the freaking hell out of the game, became a fan and have been addicted to this game for the past week. Borderlands 2 is the one and ONLY game released in 2012 that actually pleased me enough to play it a 2nd time. Borderlands 2 is my Number 1 game of 2012.
  40. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    There are 2 kinds of games: the games that comes from developers who never played a game and think that realism is the key to a great game, and on the other hand, the games that comes from developers who shoot for awesome and not realism, Borderlands 2 is one of those. If I could describe this game in 3 words, I think I would say something like "no falling damage". Borderlands 2 is a creative game that came from developers who knows what good gameplay is, really cool and addicting game, 9.5/10. Expand
  41. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    I got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC or play on harder difficulty the story is really interesting and it's coming from the developer who got left with the utter fail Aliens: colonial marines it is an excellent recovery
  42. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    This is the first game since Skyrim that i've wanted to continuously play without a rest. Usually I get bored and switch between games... rarely finishing 10% of them. Borderlands 2 is very polished. The voice acting and humor is outstanding!
  43. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 2 is a perfect sequel to the much loved Borderlands. As we re-enter Pandora, you
  44. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is the pinnacle of what it is. If you found the core gameplay of Borderlands 1 to be dull and repetitive, I see why you think that, and Borderlands 2 probably won't be categorically better for you. But if you liked Borderlands, then this is that with everything made better. Especially noteworthy is the writing, which is both greatly expanded and significantly better, with a much larger and more exciting cast of characters. And yes, there is a proper ending this time. Expand
  45. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    This is a great iteration on the same formula that made Borderlands fun. Every single system is improved, including the anemic opening fights in the first game; this time you jump into a plot fight without having to wade through a mile of filler first. Claptrap is often actually amusing - Gearbox clearly realized how annoying he became in the first and made him the butt of some honestly funny jokes here. Gun handling is tight and I'd say the PC version is truly a "PC version", not a "PC port" - much unlike the first game, they put in the time to do it right. The difficulty is turned up a few notches, though - my Siren character regularly gets curb stomped which didn't happen much in the first game. The game is clearly balanced for multiplayer, but it's still a lot of fun single player - just don't expect to dominate everything on your first try like in BL 1. In short, this is a truly excellent followup. If you liked Borderlands you absolutely need to get this; if you didn't, skip the first and try this out. Especially for PC, it is literally better in every way. Expand
  46. May 15, 2014
    10
    Here is where I would put a reference to the game to make it awesome, so you will buy it.
    The game is amazing the graphics are incredibly epic, and then the script writing for the entire game is freaking hilarious.

    Don't believe me?
    YouTube Handsome Jack from Borderlands 2
  47. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This game is great, and so much better if you play with friends. Three of us have started from right at the beginning together and it has been just an awesome trip. If you have somehow found yourself bored with this game, you need to get some friends and play together.

    You can tell they took some time with the PC version as it works like a dream. Loads fast, plays smooth and feels
    right. I recommend anyone get this. Complaints: Server Side Loot in Co-Op: I recommend not playing with randoms. With everyone seeing the same loot it simply becomes a race to who can get the best loot. Playing with friends helps minimize this, but it can still be an issue making sure everyone is getting good stuff. Hopefully in a future Borderlands they will move to client side loot. Money System: By rank 18 I had purchased all the Eridium upgrades off the black Market. Now I have a ton of Eridium and nothing to spend it on. The only real use for money is to farm in the slot machines. I hope in some DLC they add some creative uses for money (maybe build your own gun shops or gun modification kiosks or something...) Expand
  48. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    This game is near flawless. With exciting AND addictive game-play that stays fresh even past the 2nd play-through I am never board with this game. Especially considering how easy it really is to play with friends. I do wish it was more possible for people of different level ranges to play together but we cant have it all.
    In stark contrast to the first Borderlands, the story is
    actually compelling and the superb voice acting makes it hard not to be drawn in. The humor plays a big part as well and never feels out of place in the abstract Borderlands universe.
    The graphics look great on both high AND mid range systems, offering highly stylized graphics that still have a touch of realism.
    In closing I must commend Gearbox Software for their love-letter to the PC community. Literally every gripe I had with the shoddy console-port that was BL1 is gone. This game truly deserved Game of the Year.
    Expand
  49. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this game its a FPS dungeon crawler!!! Collect guns lvl up toons play with friends!! Dont liten to the idiots saying no replay value cause thats a joke. An the season pass an all the DLC has been a blast as well! I like the improvements they made upon the game compared to BL1 as well. The graphics are smoother an the mechanics do not feel clunky at all. A must buy game IMO 10/10 Great job gearworks @ look forward to ALiens marines! Expand
  50. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Perfect FPS RPG game combined. The story is somewhat disturbing but it's a plot twist so everything is cool. More guns, explosive shields, easter eggs... what more could you ask for?
  51. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    Really enjoyable game. Not sure why people are complaining, "it's more of Borderlands." Well yeah, it is. That's what we wanted and asked for. Only this one is very polished and frankly hella fun. I can't put it down (was up until 3:40am last night playing).

    Just an extremely engaging comic-book style run and gun game. How can you be disappointed about a million guns, a million
    enemies, funny writing and more quests than you can shake a stick at?

    Well deserving of a "9" score.
    Expand
  52. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Take Borderlands 1, give it a much bigger budget, a whole new cast of characters, a bigger and better storyline, and even more loot and irreverent jokes, and you have Borderlands 2. This game takes everything I loved about Borderlands 1 and expands on it.
  53. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Just beaten the game 1st time. It's the same borderlands, but better!
    Borderlands 2 lost a little bit of art style somewhere, but gained a little bit of physics, more humor and great amount of badassesness.
  54. May 1, 2013
    10
    I did not play the original. I glanced at the game and didn't think this was my cup of tea either. Boy, was I wrong. This game is a pure blast, especially to play with friends. The devs have put out a bunch of after market DLC to keep content fresh. If you like laughing, and you like can appreciate how hard it is to actually include humor in something that is already fun, then you too will like this game.

    I strongly recommend this game
    Expand
  55. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best loot driven game I have played. Incredibly funny dialogue, fun to play classes, beautiful graphics and tons of weapons. It's so easy to play with your friends and the PC version is superb.
  56. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, the brilliantly wide variety of guns, gadgets and missions keeps you coming back for more and more, and the boss fights get more and more epic. A truly special game I was happy to complete.....

    Only for it to get even better in multiplayer!

    A really great game.
  57. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    It is a nice game but I don't know... i have the same felling when a played the first borderlands... is repetitive. After all, is a very nice design and a very nice gameplay... I like the humor in this game and also the multiplayer.
  58. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  59. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    A bit of unpolished physics, strange animations, and such keep this from being a perfect ten. But everything else?

    Guns: Awesome. Gameplay: Exciting. Writing: Hysterical. Replayability: Basically infinite with the character-spanning Badass Token system.

    This game is everything I'd hoped for.
  60. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    It improves the original in almost all aspects, but the most notable and important (IMO) it's history and characters. Now we have a good plot with superb dialogue (most of the time) and excelent characters. I love to hate Handsome Jack, one of the best vilains of this generation of games.
    The game major flaw, for me, is the lack of customization. Just listen to me, Gearbox: if in
    Borderlands 3 you allow we to create our own Vault Hunters, I'll gladly give it a 10/10! Expand
  61. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Beautiful, cartoony game with a cool story, great characters, humor, a crapload of loot, bunch of character upgrades, challenging enemies, lots of replayability and has the best use of Nvidia's PhysX I have ever seen. Although the PC version is king of all versions, it has its fair share of fps drops, due to it favoring high-end Intel CPUs over anything by AMD. No big deal if you're fine with 30-40 fps. I play on a 360 controller to mask the input lag and it feels fine. I would give 10/10, but even on the lowest settings, 60 fps at all times isn't possible on my not-bad-but-not-ultra system, where other games like Just Cause 2 and Metro: Last Light run amazingly at much higher settings. Kinda stupid, but whatever. BL2, in itself, is great. Play with friends and enjoy! Single player is loads of fun too. Expand
  62. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    this game is pure awesomeness and is more badass than the previous game . the weapons is almost near to infinity with each weapon having its own property . and world of pandora is huge . the co op is fun
  63. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    First play through: amazing. 10/10. The story is meh, but the fun factor is there. Co-op with some buddies is awesome, much the same as BL1. Farming can get old pretty fast. Some of the characters are done excellently; Handsome Jack comes to mind. Second play through: Not so amazing. 7.5/10. Gets boring rather quickly... you know what's coming, there are no new skills as by that point you can re-spec to any skill you want. DLC, in order of how I would rate them... 1) Pirates 2) Torgue 3) Hammerlock. Pirates was fun, new enemies, new vehicle (and the best one in the game, I think) Torgue was hilarious, and Hammerlock? Hammerlock was crap. If you bought the seasons pass, sorry. You could have spent the same amount of cash on the other 3 (1 not released yet) and saved yourself some trouble. It wasn't a 3/10, but a solid 5.5. The game itself is great... For a while. After that it's grind-fest. Still, I find myself going to my Steam library and constantly playing it. Now that it's 50% off, get it while it lasts! Expand
  64. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    As someone who played the first one for nearly 100 hours. I can proudly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the second one racking up over a 100 so far and still playing.

    This game improves the weaknesses of the first game and reinforces its strengths. Its graphics and physics are improved, but they still maintain the cartoon-y/ comic book-y style. There is a lot more variation in the amount
    of guns you can come across and a lot of interesting styles of guns. The story is more in depth, although not amazing, but most people don't play Borderlands for the story, they play it for the amazingly addictive game play, which they improved even more. What I really like in Borderlands 2 is there is a bigger variety of characters you can play as, some who are slow paced ranges units, and then the faced paced, up close, Have loads of fun while you get your ass kicked, but at the same time kick ass" style characters.

    Overall: If you enjoy blind violence, astronomically huge environments, psychotic characters, and dark humor, this is the game for you.
    Expand
  65. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 1 was a really well done game it had a ton of fresh new concepts that actually worked out really well. From the guns, the gun combat the character progression the wide open areas and the replay-ability. Not to mention the co-op play although I have always been more of a solo artist sense I have no reliable friends to play with that wouldn't ninja everything purple and up. However it had many flaws much of the original content as far as landscape went was very monotone and felt uninteresting especially after multiple play through I found myself hating some areas very quickly but craving others. In Borderlands 2 this all changes every area is new and interesting and feels like they all have more of a story to tell and more of a history behind them like how they got to that point which in a way makes me thankful some of the original BL1 was someone bleak and basic because that simply was the history of Pandora. On top of that the story line is actually very interesting and has consistent humor all the way through. The guns have also been improved in the aspect that there are now significantly more unique possibilities Another big on is the side quests which in borderlands 1 were simply a means to level and get some more loot but now they are actually quite interesting and all tell stories of their own that help to build up the characters in the game.
    In short I am extremely impressed and have not enjoyed a game this much in a very long time.
    Expand
  66. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    You will need a decent laptop/desktop to fully enjoy this game. The Co-op is still the highlight of the game, but the comments and smart@$$ remarks from the in-game characters is funnier this time around. I gave it a 9, due to it still being the same feel as the old Borderlands, which isnt bad, but they could of done this as a DLC and we will still have the same amount of fun as before. Single player is still very enjoyable and with alot of hidden achievements and exploration, you should be busy for days. Expand
  67. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Basically, if you enjoyed the first game, you will love this one. Gearbox listened to the feedback us nerds provided and answered by getting rid of the weak co-op and adding a tremendous amount of the things we enjoyed. Great dialog, creative environments, smooth gameplay, luscious looting. I am tempted to give it a 10.
  68. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    A fun game for certain. Enemies are varied enough, game has enough action, a decent story to drag you through the zones, and many, many different kinds of guns to keep you hunting. Loses points for having a **** console inventory interface, it's not as bad as some games but it should be better. The weapons are horribly inaccurate which I suppose fits with the way the game is setup but can be very frustrating at times. Lastly, looting ammo all the time gets really tedious. This is the games biggest flaw. Still a great game. Expand
  69. May 23, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 is with no doubt one of the most unique titles I've seen.
    It is very easy to get sucked into the world the game takes place in, as if you're there yourself.
    The whole way the game runs is unusual but very special and interesting.
    Unlike many modern games you only have to stick to a basic, far from reach objective, but no one tells you how, or when.
    It gives you freedom
    there are so many ways to get to the objective they set you, so many tactics each with it pros and cons and so many places and mini-quests to go through.
    Graphics are very nice and not too demanding (runs max on my mid-level PC), characters are clever and funny, AI gets increasingly good as the time passes and they actually pose a threat.
    Borderlands 2 is also stuffed with humor that will make anyone laugh.
    It runs smoothly and bug free.
    For those with creative thinking and a bit of patience, Borderlands 2 is one of the best games around.
    Expand
  70. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    I don't know how people can hate this game... it so much fun... maybe you should try playing with a friend or 2....

    Anyway... my first impression of the game was that it is very similar to the first one... but with much more improvements... more guns, better abilities... new characters, MINIMAP FFS!, better inventory, better quests... stronger and smarter enemies, better graphics
    without making the game much heavier then it was....
    Sounds are great as always and in conclusion the game is worth buying, worth playing and hell with all the haters... fix your pc's...
    Expand
  71. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This game is a FANTTTAASSSTIC! game! I lovfe it! AND console port??? DAMN! It is perfect FOR PC. No problems at all none. I love this game.

    Only problem for ME! Is that sometimes its annoying when the enemies know how to dodge/are fast ;)! ARGH! This game can be hard if the enemies DODGE FAST or they have alot alot of HP!

    But yeah you just have to complete side guests ( WHICH GIVE
    YOU nice bonus skins etc!!!! :) love it!) and then you have enough LVL and guns and all to take on da bosses. 9.5/10. I got no major complains Expand
  72. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    i played this game 4-5 months. i love everything in this game. weapons, enemies, caracters, story. and more important the references are awesome. YOU CAN SLAP THE JEFFREY MAN anyway if you call you GAMER you MUST play this game.
  73. May 25, 2013
    9
    Such a wonderful open world, full of fun and violence. Borderlands 2 is a big step up from Borderlands 1, and will keep you entertained for at least 25 hours. The only thing I dislike are the invisible walls, they can get slightly annoying.
  74. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    As a fan of the original Borderlands, i expected a lot of this game. And as the trailers rolled out, my anticipation only grew. I was enormously pleased to see that the game surpassed any and all expectations that i had come to nurse so tenderly during the pre-release period. The UI wasn't a huge improvement over the original game but everything else was a vast improvement. The game play maintained its fast paced, over the top FPS action and the controls felt nothing short of perfect. The character classes were varied and skill trees even more so. The plot was enjoyable, funny and filled with plenty of twists and events that made me quite literally exclaim my disbelief. Claptrap is now absolutely hilarious instead of infuriating and irritating. The enemies are varied and requires varied strategies to take them down. A lot of effort was put into making the game a lasting success such as changing the enemy models for your second play through. It really makes you feel like you're continuing on instead of just starting over again as so many games make you feel. Oh and how could i forget the guns. So so many guns. Borderlands advertised millions of gun combinations but it doesn't stand remotely close to the guns in the sequel. The look of awe on my friends faces as I whip out an automatic laser sniper rifle with reflective silver plating was priceless. Speaking of friends, i'd recommend playing with them. Although the game is fun on your own, you don't get nearly the same experience as you do if you play with others. Overall, if you're looking for a fun game for you and a friend, pick this up. I'm serious. You're in for hours of laughter, high paced shooty action and gawking over the sheen and polish that the developers put into this wonderful game. Expand
  75. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    I have never played this game so why am I scoring it? I am scoring this for all of the amazing voice actors in the game from FUNimation! As of today 10 million copies of Borderlands 2 have been shipped worldwide!
  76. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    As someone who did not play the original Borderlands, I really didn't know what to expect from the sequel. In fact, the only reason I even started playing Borderlands 2 on PC was that I got it for free when I bought a new Nvidia video card. I don't know how the original compares, but my friends and I are having an absolute blast shooting our way through the planet of Pandora!

    From what
    I've heard, the original game was a rather pathetic PC port, but the sequel brings the joy with a huge amount of graphical options and tweaks, including PhysX support for liquids. This also is one of the first PC games I've seen that let you completely customize Xbox controls. Seriously, I don't know why ALL games, console or PC, include this option. There are a lot of little features like this that have surprised and delighted me throughout the game.

    Sure, the game looks gorgeous, despite it's "simplified" cel-shading, but the real appeal of Borderlands 2 is the characters, writing, and most of all, the GUNS. The characters are often absolutely hilarious, and some of the dialogue and missions have just been outright wrong- in a good way! But the massive variety of guns are really what cause B2 to shine. In most RPGs, back tracking to past mission areas sucks, but in Borderlands 2 when you back track you're generally far enough along that you're doing so with a completely different set of weapons. This changes your experience dramatically. In fact, one thing that really impressed me about B2's gunplay is the fact that so many different fights require different gun tactics. You're going to have a tough time with different encounters if you always lean on one gun. I always found myself using my entire arsenal in different situations. It's this variety that really sets B2 apart from many other shooters, and especially from RPGs that tend to get very repetitive.

    I could go on about the fun character design, unique enemies, challenging "badasses" and bosses, fantastic vehicle combat, or any number of other features, but this review would grow too long. If there was one thing I could say that was remotely negative, it would be an improved matchmaking system. At the moment it takes quite some time to load the list of games to join, and oftentimes when trying to join a game, the connection will time out. This could be related to network setups on the people I have been trying to join, but I know that my own network isn't the issue (ethernet with fiber 50down/75up). Not sure if anyone will actually read this review, but I have to say that if you didn't try out the original game, like me, don't miss out on this one. It's fun as hell! If there's one tip I have for you, it's to play the game with a friend, or two, or three. Playing with randoms is fun for alternate characters, but for the main class you plan on playing through the story with, I suggest doing so with someone you know. It makes the game that much more fun.
    Expand
  77. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Game that actually was worth waiting everything in one package single or multiplayer. Played game through single player and it seems to have loads of content . Multiplayer adds to game more challenge. I Liked Borderlands and seems like Borderlands 2 has same style of graphics and humor as Borderlands. Doing example challenges is actually rewarding so these come as you progress in story. Talent system gives you loads of ways to play same character. Good and entertaining game and filled all my expectations that i had gathered for this product. Expand
  78. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    The best game i ever missed.
    I saw it on steam, was bored after a week full of customer meetings and gave it a try.
    As RPG and Shooter fan, also as old Shadowrun lover i was totally sucked in by the great atmospehere in the game. The flow, they style, the music and the game pacing and mechanics. All works together in a great symbiosis. Would have been my top choice as game of the year
    for 2012 if i wouldnt have missed it.
    Now after so many game-letdowns i finally found a great game where i didnt expected it.
    BUY BUY BUY. have fun. germany out.
    Expand
  79. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Game is incredible. Levls 1-16 it feels a bit easy but around 17 and up it feels like the training wheels come off and it gets challenging. Love this game!
  80. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best co-op game I have ever played. There are so many guns and the world is so beautiful. The shooting is fast and fun and the game has the most diverse enemy list I have ever seen. The PC version is easily the best version as well.
  81. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Alright, let's get the fact that this game is a console port out of the way. It's a console port. There I said it, now let's get over it. Moving on to the important parts, such as gameplay, narrative, and graphics, the things people actually give a flying f*** about. If you've played the first, then you'll know what the gameplay is like. It's the same basic idea, random weapon generator creates hundreds of weapons, you shoot enemies, enemies die,you get loot and experience. And you know what? That's a recipe for some good gameplay in my book. I also think Gearbox made the right move in creating four all new Vault Hunters, while making the originals important to the story. That leads me to the next part, which is the story. Basically, you're a Vault Hunter, Handsome Jack is evil and cruel, you must kill him before he finds the new Vault and uses it to rule all of Pandora. Pretty straightforward, but it works. And Jack is just one of those antagonists you hate from the very beginning. He's rude, sarcastic, cruel, and, well...evil, I guess would be the right word. It's a straightforward plot, but it's a bloody good one. My only complaint are the PC's vehicle controls, which are a bit...what's a good word...clunky. But that's a small complaint as I got used to them fairly quickly. Now, for the graphics...honestly, I couldn't care less that the graphics aren't as good on the PC version as they are on the consoles. Why? Because I don't need fancy graphics to keep me entertained. The core of a game is how it plays, not how it looks. Give me a game with good gameplay and bad graphics over a game with bad gameplay and good graphics any day. To sum up, it's a very well done game, and a worthy sequel to the original. I recommend it, regardless of which platform you get it for. Expand
  82. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Borderlands 1 i had to get the second one! From my prospective this game is almost perfect. the graphics are good, the story is good, the game play is good and the list goes on and on.
    For those of you who liked the first one, i really recommend this game.
  83. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great FPS with a funny storyline that had me dodging bullets and giggling the entire time. Great and constant DLC support will keep you shooting for a long time.
  84. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It's quite simple. any game that can give you 100+ hours of game play value WITHOUT any multi-player component is nothing short but a great accomplishment. Great graphics, great characters and addictive gameplay. Too bad that the missions tend to repeat themselves and the quest are quite simple.
    The co-op is also great and offers a great experience with friends if you want to take on the
    biggest bosses. Expand
  85. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Great game, good graphics, exciting gameplay, brilliant loot, only problem so far is very very minor glitching , but all in all I am pleased I got it
  86. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Beautiful graphics and animation, excellent cinematography, voice acting, dark sense of humor and overall theme.

    Lots of quests / missions that are made even more seamless than the first. You might still feel it's a bit grindy, but if you don't like staples of RPGs (leveling, looting, questing) you shouldn't play RPGs.

    The game certainly delivers as a FPS, perfect weapon / aim
    control, combat feels very fluid. Expand
  87. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    There's a lot more bad guys to kill this time around. It's hard, and it's frustrating, but it really keeps the pace up, and keeps things from becoming dull. The weapons are awesome, gambling is fun, Moxxi's **** are huge, and the bosses are badass. Also, it's funny as hell.

    If you're looking for a game as holy as Jesus himself, then you're gonna have to wait, but if you're looking for a
    **** fun game, then you'll like Borderlands 2. If you don't like a challenge, though, you won't like this game. Expand
  88. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    BEST GAME EVER! lol! Ok, Borderlands 2 "could be" considered a DLC for Borderlands 1 BUT they perfected all the game mechanics and menus, the story is much longer and far more in depth and WAY more entertaining(and I say this having loved the story in BL 1)! It was well worth pre-ordering. I love the Mechromancer as well. She and her robot are BAD in a great way! The stock charectors are kinda familiar though and to be honest Id much rather play my Lilith from BL 1 than Maya from BL 2 but then again, Lilith was so OP I guess they had to tone the siren down(and being OP is probably why I miss Lilith so much lol). So I think my only complaint is that the stock charectors arent different enough from those in BL 1 and they seem toned down. Other than that BL 2 is just awsome. Oh, I started playing Captain Scarlet DLC today...I LOVE THE NEW VEHICLE! OMG what a hoot! Driving that thing around is worth getting that DLC ALONE lol! Expand
  89. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Game is awesome, and much better than I initially expected.. This is a superb port, and has proper PC options. Gameplay/levels themselves are varied and highly fun. Playing in coop with friends or even strangers is incredibly fun. Overall, this is a great game and a GOTY contender.
  90. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Takes what was so good about Borderlands, and makes it even better. Then adds just about every tweek and improvement you can think of.

    After having to deal with Diablo 3 for months of disapointment, frustration, and trying to finish without using the real money auction house, this game gives me faith again in game developers again.
  91. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting to this day for a long time, played Borderlands 2 almost 6 hours today and I can say that this game is AMAZING. The first game was insanely fun and Gearbox took everything that we didn't like it and improved. You will no longer receive damage from falling, no matter how high you will jump, your challenges now will give you a little -yet essential- bonus ; you don't need to repair Claptraps anymore to expand your backpack and you won't need to spend 600000 dollars in a single weapon upgrade (Crazy Earl will do that for Eridium - a new kind of currency in Pandora), this game doesnt label your character ; what do I mean ? That you can play as Zero and use assault rifles, you can snipe with Axton, you can do everything you want, because you've 3 different Skill trees to each character, making 3 different ways of gameplay with each one. Borderlands 2 it's all about fetching quests and looking for new and more powerful guns, and it delivers pretty well. The sidequests are the real GEM of this game, you will laugh your ass off with that sweet humor that you can only find in Borderlands. Our beloved characters are back, you can drink with Moxxi (from Mad Moxxi DLC), Catch a Ride with the funny (probably one of the funniest characters in the game) redneck Scooter and his sister Ellie, high five and dance dubstep with Claptrap, or help Roland/Mordecai/Lilith and Brick to defeat the biggest prick of Pandora - Handsome Jack. All in all Borderlands HAS EVERYTHING that I care about - Funny and good story (and sidequests), LOTS of guns, Solid Cell-shading graphics, an awesome 4 people strategic co-op, a HUGE word with tons of new enemies and Claptrap - I'm still checking this little guy dancing. Borderlands 2 is a MUST for both Hardcore/Casual gamers. Expand
  92. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic!

    This game is a Beast only those who have the might to take it on shall fall in ranks, this game is on another level is creativity and they pack a mean punch when it comes to game play. if only there were more great games of this magnitude released in the year we would be o so soaked in marvelous games. now lets take this time to thank the makers of BL2 and salute them with pride! TY!
  93. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It's great. There are lots of flaws, but the amount of pure fun you get out of it outweighs it all.
    Sure the weapons are a lot less varied than in BL1, sure the inventory sucks, yeah you can't upgrade your ammo capacity as much as you'd like, and of course that there are a few plot holes, but it doesn't matter, it has great characters, lots of varied missions, many ways to build your
    characters, quite a bit of replay value and it's very very entertaining overall. Expand
  94. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I like this game a lot, you can shoot many different guns and there is also multiplayer co-op. I have the season pass too which adds lots of more enemies and more guns. This game is more fun than Aliens:Colonial Marines. I like.
  95. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 deliveries more fun, in a already amazing game title. This game has lots of replay ability, and lots of great dlc,s to keep you LOOT hunting for a very long time.. Oh and slot machines you can win money, items and guns. Ps, and more Moxxi
  96. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Simply the best lootwhoring/buttonmashing co-op title since Diablo 2, though also enjoyable in SP. Hilarious dialogues, characters and cinematics. Endless combinations of loot and loads of challenges. Worthwhile DLC content. Smooth graphics which still looks good - giving you a pleasant and fluid game experience even if you have an older PC. My favorite game 2012 without any doubt.
  97. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Great game, especially for a console port. I was hesitant to play it on PC initially, but I am happy I did. From the moment you start, until well into a third play through it is non stop action. The weapon variety and constant lure of new and interesting weapons keeps you playing long hours into the night.

    My main issue is eventually you are given the ability to fight one or more
    'raid bosses' that require 4 people to play. In a game where you can play all the way through solo, or with just one friend this is disappointing to suddenly have to play with strangers to progress. This is especially hard to do in a game where weapon drops can be picked up by whoever is closest and it is up to them to share or not. This is the only item keeping me from scoring this as a 10. Expand
  98. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    The original Borderlands was one of my favourite games of 2009. Its unique graphic style, tongue-and-cheek story, insanely fun loot-shooting and four-player co-op made it a long-lasting and unforgettable experience. However, Borderlands was not without its flaws, and after a wait of three years, Gearbox has finally given us something the long-awaited successor, Borderlands 2.

    Borderlands 2 is everything a sequel should be. It maintains the core formula that made the first game so great, improves upon it in almost every way and fixes the flaws that troubled its predecessor. The "Role-playing shooter" label that Borderlands has been given accurately describes what the game is about. It has all the makings of a fun first person shooter; lots of guns, a variety of enemies to face and robust shooting mechanics. But it's also got the elements that make role-playing games so addictive. On top of being a perfectly competent shooter, Borderlands 2 incorporates RPG elements such as skill trees, inventories, and most importantly, looting. It's insanely rewarding to clear out an area, open a weapons chest and find that perfect gun you were looking for, then upgrade your skills to match your new playing style.

    Of the characters in Borderlands 1, only the Siren returns, this time in the form of Maya. The other three are completely new; Axton, a Commando, who has the characteristics of the soldier from the first game; Salvador the Gunzerker, a completely new character who can dual wield any two weapons as his special ability; and Zer0, an assassin with a badass sword who can turn invisible take out the enemy silently. These four make up for an interesting cast, and varied in the way in which they play. If you're planning on playing Borderlands 2 co-op with four players, it'd make for great diversity if each picked a different character. The contrast in playing styles, weapons used and skills invested in means that you're in for a really enjoyable experience if you work together with your friends. However, note that while Borderlands 2 supports up to four player co-op Online, it only supports two players playing split-screen locally.

    The graphic style is identical to that of the original game, and you won't notice any major improvements in the texture quality. But it's the little things that make Borderlands 2 feel like a better game than what the first was. The game runs much more smoothly, there's less texture pop-ins (though still some), each gun has its own unique reload animation, chests open more extravagantly, and most importantly, the environments really come alive. In the original game, you spent the majority of the game in a barren desert or wasteland, only switching to a tundra-type environment towards the end of the game. In Borderlands 2, you're given a much wider variety of environments to explore, all of which are more vibrant and prettier to look at than the ones in the first game.

    You'll likely find the game-play similar too, but in a fresh, upgraded way that reminds you of the first game without feeling like the same thing. You can wield up to four guns (out of 87 bazillion), and many more in your inventory, though by the end of the game you'll likely have switched your favourite weapon many a time for a better one you've found. The lack of a weapon proficiency system means that you can't take one low-level gun and go through the whole game with it using it and upgrading its stats, which I find disappointing, but it's a subtle flaw that's easy to overlook when the game is this much fun. All the guns feel unique, look unique and sound unique. Some have their own special effects, my favourite of which is an assault rifle with exploding rounds. The gunplay feels very fast-paced and eventful, and each character can use their special skill at any time if it has cooled down. These are designed to offer you an edge over the competition, although if truth be told, so long as you keep switching weapons for better ones and generally get better, the game shouldn't prove much of a challenge.

    All the improvements that Gearbox had made to Borderlands with its Downloadable Content have seemingly been implemented in Borderlands 2 from the start. The story is actually enjoyable, there are tons of guns, more customization and new vehicles. In every way, this feels like a better game than Borderlands. From the mini-map to the much more accessible and pretty user interface, to the characters, to the story, to the gunplay and environments, Borderlands 2 is an improvement over what was already a fantastic game, and that is why you should buy it.
    Expand
  99. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    I have to say it's a cool jump from Borderlands 1. I personally enjoy Borderlands 2 more than the previous one, that's their goal and they did it.

    BEST GAME EVER ( with Tiny Tina Voice )
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 92
    It’s addicting, full of creative gags and amazing battles (especially in co-op mode) and it keeps dangling that loot-carrot in front of your face. Add that crazy humor on top and you have a synonymous for the world ‘entertainment’. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for something with a ponderous story full of morality and contemplation – one best savored alone – then you'll need to look elsewhere. Borderlands 2 delivers tons of lighthearted, occasionally juvenile fun with immense replayability, and is best approached with a few buddies in tow. It doesn't revolutionize the concept pioneered by its forebear, but it refines it to a razor-sharp edge and offers some of the most fun you can have in a cooperative action RPG this side of Diablo II. And if nothing else, it's got lots of Claptrap.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    94
    The moment at which my endearingly annoying robot companion Claptrap fashioned himself a Mohawk out of some animal fur I collected he earned a spot on my all-time favorite robot list.