Borderlands 2 PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2212 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Bigger and better than the original game in every possible imaginable way. Not only that but this game has some of the best dialogue and greatest characters ever to appear in a game. Pretty much a must have experience. Now.. I'm off to save up for a pony made of diamonds.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    I'm kinda late to the party but I have to say I liked this game alot. It had alot of flair and over the top violence and humor that made the first one a good game but they did alot to make it a bit more accessible for the single-player. The story is alright. It would really help if you've played the first one to know what's going on as they don't give you a great chance at figuring thingsI'm kinda late to the party but I have to say I liked this game alot. It had alot of flair and over the top violence and humor that made the first one a good game but they did alot to make it a bit more accessible for the single-player. The story is alright. It would really help if you've played the first one to know what's going on as they don't give you a great chance at figuring things out but it's not necessary to play the game. This game is easily one of the funniest games I've ever played. Some of the jokes are just so superb that I found myself having to pause for a minute cause of laughter. The gameplay is fun and there's a ton of stuff to do, especially if you buy the DLC for the game. The biggest issue I had is still the fact that the game sometimes asks to much of the player. I feel like some of the quests you do can take almost an hour and the reward is most often lackluster. I personally only picked up guns from a few places throughout the game as I found myself not even doing most of the side missions cause the rewards were fairly bad. Plus the story gets really serious toward the end, which kills the vibe the game had going for it the rest of the time. This story was meant for humor, as were the characters. But the end of the game is just one buzz kill after another. It's definitely what you expect to happen but they went about it in the worst way possible. The game is best played with 4 people but can be played with one. While I wouldn't have voted it for any GotY awards last year, it's still a great game to play, no matter the big problems it faces. With the prospect of more DLC incoming, you could potentially play this game for quite a long time going forward. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This game is amazing, one of my favourite out there. It has sharp writing, with one of the most loveable (and hateable villians out there, gorgeous art design, vast, expansive and varies enviroments along with the 6 classes to play as and harder modes to play through, this game has THOUSANDS of hours to be lost to it! It also has a brilliant loot system and some wonderfully creative guns.This game is amazing, one of my favourite out there. It has sharp writing, with one of the most loveable (and hateable villians out there, gorgeous art design, vast, expansive and varies enviroments along with the 6 classes to play as and harder modes to play through, this game has THOUSANDS of hours to be lost to it! It also has a brilliant loot system and some wonderfully creative guns. This game improved upon it's predeccesor extremely and had a story were you actually cared what was happening! A must play and in my opinion a classic! Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Borderlands 2 is an improvement over the original Borderlands in nearly every way. Increased gun and enemy types, better environments, and a more coherent story make shooting and looting a lot more fun. The customization is more in-depth this time around, with looted cosmetic items that can change character and vehicle appearance. Pretty cool, except that as an FPS you generally won'tBorderlands 2 is an improvement over the original Borderlands in nearly every way. Increased gun and enemy types, better environments, and a more coherent story make shooting and looting a lot more fun. The customization is more in-depth this time around, with looted cosmetic items that can change character and vehicle appearance. Pretty cool, except that as an FPS you generally won't be seeing yourself all that much. I'm also a little uncomfortable with the pre-order bonus being an entire class, which will likely be sold as separate DLC later. I feel like it punishes those who prefer to wait for reviews before purchasing (and yes, I did preorder). Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    I first played this game in 2012 on my Xbox 360 and found it to be just okay and a bit of a let down but after one of my friends on the pc had bought it, I thought I would give it another go. I'M GLAD I DID. Borderlands 2 is a very funny game with A LOT of guns to use. Also is has one of the best villains in any game ever. The game is also very addictive to play, it makes you not want toI first played this game in 2012 on my Xbox 360 and found it to be just okay and a bit of a let down but after one of my friends on the pc had bought it, I thought I would give it another go. I'M GLAD I DID. Borderlands 2 is a very funny game with A LOT of guns to use. Also is has one of the best villains in any game ever. The game is also very addictive to play, it makes you not want to stop playing.

    Verdict: Awesome game with a very addictive loot system and great characters.
    9/10
    Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    This game is captivating and has fantastic humor, a great story and its just the right cure for the MMO dull drums. It doesn't take itself too seriously but is definitely a challenge. The Co-op is fantastic however not having individualized loot is the one thing I can say was poorly designed. The graphic are great with their unapologetic cartoon campiness. Even the casual remarks fromThis game is captivating and has fantastic humor, a great story and its just the right cure for the MMO dull drums. It doesn't take itself too seriously but is definitely a challenge. The Co-op is fantastic however not having individualized loot is the one thing I can say was poorly designed. The graphic are great with their unapologetic cartoon campiness. Even the casual remarks from the respawn machine make me laugh. Having my character say things that I am thinking when I get that perfect head shot is priceless. I am really looking forward to the DLC expansions that will be coming in the near future. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Well done Gearbox. Except for a bit of stutter in the menus the PC port is great. It's basically Borderlands all over again, but nothing wrong with that: excesses of run and gun with an insane amount (of mostly crappy) loot to sort through. Dozens of time wasting 'challenges' and 'unlockables'. Numerous tough set pieces that kill you and make you try again. Bundled with an accessible,Well done Gearbox. Except for a bit of stutter in the menus the PC port is great. It's basically Borderlands all over again, but nothing wrong with that: excesses of run and gun with an insane amount (of mostly crappy) loot to sort through. Dozens of time wasting 'challenges' and 'unlockables'. Numerous tough set pieces that kill you and make you try again. Bundled with an accessible, enjoyable multiplayer. In short this game is a near-perfect (mindless) shooter. The humour is amusing, the gunplay is fun (and tough at times). Character skill trees do the job. And if you can snap up the season pass on sale, this game is BIG, giving gamers plenty of time to waste if they so desire. Nothing at all to complain about here. However since I find the game personally a little empty, long-winded and (dare I say it) boring, it scores 9/10 from the orctowngrot. Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Borderlands 2 puts you in an immense, loot-filled and humerous adventure that sets its hooks in you pretty damn good! Grab a friend or two and start scavenging for loot, showing off your awesome weapons and laughing your asses off with the funny one-liners. Never before could any game keep the humor and gameplay so top-notch without making it feel dumb. Hat off, 2K.
  9. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Game of the year! This game is totally awesome. Pretty much same as 1st part but everything what could be improved is better here. Great leveling system which make game fun no matter how much pass throughs you do. For now 1st DLC is out and it's really good with gameplay hours like other full games have. ONLY BAD AND UNNECESSARY thing in game are 2 "invincible" bosses. They MUST be passedGame of the year! This game is totally awesome. Pretty much same as 1st part but everything what could be improved is better here. Great leveling system which make game fun no matter how much pass throughs you do. For now 1st DLC is out and it's really good with gameplay hours like other full games have. ONLY BAD AND UNNECESSARY thing in game are 2 "invincible" bosses. They MUST be passed in coop and if you don't have 3 other players you can't pass that and win al achivements. Expand
  10. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNS GUNSMGUNS GUNSMGUNS **** GUNS TITGUNSMGUNS GUNS GUNS GIANT GUNS SMALL GUNS GUNS FOR EVERYONES
    GUNS TITGUNSMGUNS BOOBGUNS ASSGUNS
    Not in all caps now, MetaCritic
  11. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    GUNS, GUNS, GUUUNS, as Marcus puts it!
    Excellent game that is an upgrade sequel to the Borderlands in every way.
    STORY Just about the same as it is in Borderlands. You get to Pandora, do some main quests, do some shooting/fethching/timelimit quests and first and foremost GET MORE GUNS BABY. Borderlands 2 features a set of mostly very interesting characters of which every has its
    GUNS, GUNS, GUUUNS, as Marcus puts it!
    Excellent game that is an upgrade sequel to the Borderlands in every way.

    STORY
    Just about the same as it is in Borderlands. You get to Pandora, do some main quests, do some shooting/fethching/timelimit quests and first and foremost GET MORE GUNS BABY.
    Borderlands 2 features a set of mostly very interesting characters of which every has its individual way of aproaching you as the vaulthunter. The thing I love about this game is that while some sidequests are simple and boring errands, still many of those sidequests are actualy both fun and interesing and enrich the main story. Here and there you get a great gun or a fun sidestory or a silly villain or... everything of that at once! I`d say that Handsome Jack managed to lead me through the story just like Vaas did in Far Cry 3 - in a different way ofcourse but still - complicated character, sometimes funny sometimes bloodthirsty. Kept me going the whole time with no sign of boredom whatsoever.

    AI
    Very good. Lots of different types of enemies attack you in lots of different ways. You have to use some strategy depending on who you face. There are melee runners, snipers, riflemen, tanks, kamikazes, midgets, retards, yuppies and more.Some of them even use the loot dropped by their dead fellowmen against you.

    GAMEPLAY
    Outstanding. Gunplay in this game is yet to be rivaled. You get just about any type of a wapon you can think of. Add to that a set of different effects each wapon causes and you have thousands of variants. The player can customize his inventory 100% to his likes and can play the game in any way he wishes. So every encounter is different.

    GRAPHICS
    Slighly better than Borderlands. In my opinion it shows its age already but the map variety and artstyle compensates for it 100%. You don`t really pay attention to the graphics here as the maps are very fun and complicated. Character models are ok aswell.

    DLCs
    This game has dlc of exceptional quality. Each of them add something to the story. Besides buffing your character you get to meet some new people and their own stories. They are both challenging and rewarding. Lots of gameplay value for the price.

    Overall a great title that is sure to satisfy every fps gamer. It is interesting, beatiful fast, has heaps of gameplay with a lot of tongue in cheek humor and references. A wonderful exception to todays cashgrab trends, provides at least 100 hours of sheer entertainment.
    Expand
  12. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic and is a great successor to what was originally a great game. The classes, while bearing a striking resemblance to the vault hunters of the first game, are better defined and feel fresh compared to the classes of the original. The gameplay is just as good as you would expect, the storyline is good (although, just like in the 1st borderlands, you can tell that theyThis game is fantastic and is a great successor to what was originally a great game. The classes, while bearing a striking resemblance to the vault hunters of the first game, are better defined and feel fresh compared to the classes of the original. The gameplay is just as good as you would expect, the storyline is good (although, just like in the 1st borderlands, you can tell that they stretched it out at points, and the endings are mostly identical), and the characters are great. The game really shines in multiplayer though- I'm glad that they have cross-platform play between the Mac and PC, but it's currently out-of-synch because of a patch update for the PC that has yet to come out for Mac. Other than that, the game is fantastic. Expand
  13. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    Borderlands 2 is a fantastic game with a rich story and universe with a great sense of humor, the loot and gun play in B2 is a very nice touch to an already narratively sound game.
  14. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I've never played the first one, but did play Rage, so that's the only kind of outlander FPS I can compare with. Haven't finished but have already sunk a good 15 hours in and can confirm that it's a lot of fun even playing the single campaign - really love the looting and dazzling array of weaponry. Enemies are kind of fun too. Music's low-key, really nice but not enough variation ofI've never played the first one, but did play Rage, so that's the only kind of outlander FPS I can compare with. Haven't finished but have already sunk a good 15 hours in and can confirm that it's a lot of fun even playing the single campaign - really love the looting and dazzling array of weaponry. Enemies are kind of fun too. Music's low-key, really nice but not enough variation of tracks for me - oh and the dialogue is exceptionally mad, in a good way. The only thing to whine about is not liking how I have to steer vehicles with my mouse, rather than right left arrows. Also, not overly keen on respawning enemies all the time. It kind of reminds me of Far Cry 2 in that respect - but it's still lots of fun to kill them all again, mostly. Sweet game, highly recommend. Expand
  15. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    No idea what game people whining about "console port" are playing. The PC version here is a huge improvement over Borderlands 1. Multiplayer is fully integrated into Steam and worked great for me, instead of tacked on Gamespy stuff. The menus are better designed for the PC. Graphics options exist now. This is easily the best looking version of the game. Oh yeah, and it's fun! Some peopleNo idea what game people whining about "console port" are playing. The PC version here is a huge improvement over Borderlands 1. Multiplayer is fully integrated into Steam and worked great for me, instead of tacked on Gamespy stuff. The menus are better designed for the PC. Graphics options exist now. This is easily the best looking version of the game. Oh yeah, and it's fun! Some people will whine about anything it seems, but the rest of us will be busy shooting things for fun and profit. Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2014
    8
    This is a really great combo of RPG and first person shooting. I love the humor and the gameplay. There is a ton of content for the price and I have sunk more hours into this game than I would like to admit. My only complaint is that single player can be a bit rough at times even with the "fight for your life" mechanic. It is definitely designed for a group and the matchmaking systemThis is a really great combo of RPG and first person shooting. I love the humor and the gameplay. There is a ton of content for the price and I have sunk more hours into this game than I would like to admit. My only complaint is that single player can be a bit rough at times even with the "fight for your life" mechanic. It is definitely designed for a group and the matchmaking system helps you get one fast. Definitely worth a buy. Expand
  17. Jun 5, 2015
    9
    as a child my father lets not play this game for him and violent, I wanted then played. Amazing Gameplay and then the game, Character, Control, Grafico what and hate in the game and the Idiot Claptrap
  18. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game dramatically improves upon BL1. This game has perfected the run, gun and loot genre of fps. Now this may be a little repetitive at times so I can not give it a perfect 10. This game does not take a lot of skill to play but as far as enjoyment I would give this game an 11 if I could. The music and sound effects are awesome if you have a good sound card and cans. The writing isThis game dramatically improves upon BL1. This game has perfected the run, gun and loot genre of fps. Now this may be a little repetitive at times so I can not give it a perfect 10. This game does not take a lot of skill to play but as far as enjoyment I would give this game an 11 if I could. The music and sound effects are awesome if you have a good sound card and cans. The writing is hilarious and general mood of the world is outstanding. If your tired of BF3 and COD and are looking just for pure fun and smiles grab this game for sure. Expand
  19. Mar 18, 2015
    9
    When most people compile a mental list of the best open-world first person shooters these days, a few games come to mind, and 'Borderlands 2' is usually one of them. You just can't help but love this game from the moment you set sights on it's beautiful cell-shaded art style, and hear it's over the top potty-mouthed humor. It's got vehicles, it's got massive guns and explosives with theWhen most people compile a mental list of the best open-world first person shooters these days, a few games come to mind, and 'Borderlands 2' is usually one of them. You just can't help but love this game from the moment you set sights on it's beautiful cell-shaded art style, and hear it's over the top potty-mouthed humor. It's got vehicles, it's got massive guns and explosives with the ability to upgrade them at will, there's tons of mini-bosses, tons of boss bosses, enemies and villains alike, it's got an atmosphere that feels completely immersive despite it's cartoonish overtone; it's got everything you would come to expect from a polished AAA title, and it does it all extremely well.

    Aside from the basics mentioned above, I think this game's biggest selling points these days is the fact that it's often on sale for as little as five measly dollars, still has a strong multiplayer community, has an extremely long single player campaign, and is as polished as titles get. I could go on and on about the characters, the storyline, the XP system, or the lay of the land, but what's the point? It's all good. You know this already. That's why you're here, and if it's on sale for five bucks then you should pick it up and play it like you stole it, because in many ways you did. This game is the epitome of why we buy our games on Steam; three tacos would cost you more!
    Expand
  20. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    I pre-ordered the game on Steam. It became available right at midnight with no issues.. Played for about 3 1/2 hours. The graphics are much better on PC than the console versions, theres even some Nvidia specific stuff you can turn on. If you liked Borderlands, you'll love Borderlands 2.
  21. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    borderlands 2 is great.the gameplay is great theres a lot of missions and side quest.very funny i suprised for good becuase i dont like that kind of games i will give it 9/10
  22. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    Better then it's predecessor in every way. A cool looking run gun and looter that's fun increases exponentially with the amount of players with a pc version that truly shines with all the options we want and superior performance as total biscuit and many other game sites have said this is how you do a pc port. It's sad that these days that's a huge mark in this games favor but there you have it.
  23. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    The best game ever made for me. Borderlands 1 was quite all right and it is hard to believe they where able to improve it that much. (Still BL1 is my favorite, but I think BL2 is objectively better). I usually don't replay games, but after this I immediately replayed it in true vault hunter mode. But even this was not enough, and I went back to replay BL1 again with the DLCs. The fun neverThe best game ever made for me. Borderlands 1 was quite all right and it is hard to believe they where able to improve it that much. (Still BL1 is my favorite, but I think BL2 is objectively better). I usually don't replay games, but after this I immediately replayed it in true vault hunter mode. But even this was not enough, and I went back to replay BL1 again with the DLCs. The fun never seems to stop with this game for some reason. Expand
  24. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I have been playing this game for 50+ hours and I love it. It seems like it doesn't have an end, when you add in the multitude of side missions. In my view, there are three big improvements over Borderlands 1: (1) wider variety of enemies. B1 got kind of boring with the abundance of Skags. (2) cooler vehicles with stronger weapons, especially the catapult (3) somewhat more coherentI have been playing this game for 50+ hours and I love it. It seems like it doesn't have an end, when you add in the multitude of side missions. In my view, there are three big improvements over Borderlands 1: (1) wider variety of enemies. B1 got kind of boring with the abundance of Skags. (2) cooler vehicles with stronger weapons, especially the catapult (3) somewhat more coherent main mission. Also, the graphics are a vast improvement, except that I had some initial difficulty identifying enemies due to the shadowing. The game itself runs smoothly even though my graphics are below the minimum required. The only improvement I would have liked to have seen is stronger weapons. It may just be me, but it seemed like it always took a minimum of three hits to kill even the most inocuous enemy. Expand
  25. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Critics say this is even better than the first game. I say they are both perfect 10s. If you enjoyed the first Borderlands and want more action on Pandora, this is a must-buy.
  26. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Although BL2 tries to sell itself as a carnage filled gun-fest, its true triumph is its artistically enthralling world jam-packed with wildly creative content. Torchlight II has more rewarding loot and Bulletstorm has better gunplay, but if you want a wacky trip across diverse and detailed environments full of quirky characters, distinct enemies, and a smorgasbord of loot, only BL2 willAlthough BL2 tries to sell itself as a carnage filled gun-fest, its true triumph is its artistically enthralling world jam-packed with wildly creative content. Torchlight II has more rewarding loot and Bulletstorm has better gunplay, but if you want a wacky trip across diverse and detailed environments full of quirky characters, distinct enemies, and a smorgasbord of loot, only BL2 will satisfy. **** Despite a long list of issues (terrible UI, small backpack, unintuitive driving controls, clunky item pick-up, over-leveling issues), why do I still love BL2? Because it is wonderfully imaginative from start to finish, every location is a work of art, and the quests are consistently high quality. BL2 is a tremendous artistic achievement every FPS/RPG fan should play. The content itself is a 9.0 but the issues warrant an 8.0. Expand
  27. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner. It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner.

    It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper levels of writing. I can't see where the dreary "I'm so serious" 4 and 5 review scores are coming from. We are talking about VIDEO games. This one has a fine balance between instant fun and long term 'purpose'.

    There are a few minor mechanics that could be improved. The player character could certainly benefit from a jet pack or another way to get around faster! Bigger levels and easier access to the structures through a climbing mechanic would be nice. Otherwise great work Gearbox.

    I like it so much I just went and bought ALL the DLC at full price, to be sure the developers get a taste of my money! They deserve it for making one of the most entertaining and lighthearted gun romps out there tight now.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  28. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    I love this game. I absolutely love it. It manages to be very new and refreshing, while remaining very familiar. The guns are awesome, they seem to have them balanced well enough to keep each player's preference satisfied. The story is very, very, very good. The old/new character cameos are a revelation. The game is very rewarding, though at some times it can be difficult for certainI love this game. I absolutely love it. It manages to be very new and refreshing, while remaining very familiar. The guns are awesome, they seem to have them balanced well enough to keep each player's preference satisfied. The story is very, very, very good. The old/new character cameos are a revelation. The game is very rewarding, though at some times it can be difficult for certain types of players (i like to TANK with a Rogue, but that's just me). The graphics are very similar to the first Borderlands graphics, but the animations are a lot better B2. Also the AI is a little better, enemies get out of the way of your bullets fast, hide for a long time while simultaneously throwing very well aimed grenades, also i just loved how ,sometimes, low health enemies hide behind full-health Badass Enemies when you're trying to get a second wind, effectively screwing with you. Just a side note, the first couple of levels will seem very difficult to attain and the game may get frustrating sometimes, but you will adapt quickly and the fun will resume. Bravo for Gearbox, i hope they keep this up and give us many more surprises in the future. Expand
  29. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Very long-awaited, one of the best coop games finally released. Great atmosphere, interesting missions, as always, nice game play, and of course a great coop. The game, however, failed. Showed an old, outdated engine already, difficult single-player, much too long gameplay, and mostly no damage that showed most of the same thing earlier in the first part. All the time, however, a reallyVery long-awaited, one of the best coop games finally released. Great atmosphere, interesting missions, as always, nice game play, and of course a great coop. The game, however, failed. Showed an old, outdated engine already, difficult single-player, much too long gameplay, and mostly no damage that showed most of the same thing earlier in the first part. All the time, however, a really good interesting game that can really draw. My Rating - 8/10 Expand
  30. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Having not played the original, Borderlands 2 offers a gameplay structure that is entirely new to me. This game is a great showcase of how to integrate FPS and RPG elements together. Most of the FPS elements you could want are here: lots of enemies, weapons, locations, voice overs and a strong overall presentation. The RPG elements are also great: you gain experience and levels, findHaving not played the original, Borderlands 2 offers a gameplay structure that is entirely new to me. This game is a great showcase of how to integrate FPS and RPG elements together. Most of the FPS elements you could want are here: lots of enemies, weapons, locations, voice overs and a strong overall presentation. The RPG elements are also great: you gain experience and levels, find items and you can complete quests in large open worlds in the order that you like. Enemies also respawn so you can gain experience by farming in the same area. You can also find money and loot to spend at gun and ammo machines, a mechanic that very much reminds me of Bioshock. Aside from the successful integration of two genres, the game's presentation is excellent. The colour style is great and the whole cartoonly look really creates a vibrant world full of attitude. The voice acting is strong with a rich dialogue and a great sense of humour. The game's characters also have great personality, although I found Claptrap to be rather annoying and a weaker version of Wheatly from Portal 2. What makes the gameplay experience even better is that you can play the campaign cooperatively with friends and work together to complete quests. Expand
  31. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    I haven't finished the game completely yet, though enough to get a good grasp of how Borderlands 2 works. First thing is that Borderlands 2 is very similar to the first Borderlands gameplay wise, so if you disliked the first one, you'd probably better skip this one until it goes on sale or something. Aside from that, I can see some significant improvements in the story and graphics. TheI haven't finished the game completely yet, though enough to get a good grasp of how Borderlands 2 works. First thing is that Borderlands 2 is very similar to the first Borderlands gameplay wise, so if you disliked the first one, you'd probably better skip this one until it goes on sale or something. Aside from that, I can see some significant improvements in the story and graphics. The story in the first Borderlands was pretty much non-existent. Borderlands 2 changes this as a solid story is put in place in addition to some character development. In terms of visuals, Borderlands 2 maintains the original's art style while making improvements on textures, graphics options and such. The inclusion of PhysX is also really nice if your PC can handle it. Though even with all these niceties, there are some flaws. The beginning was very slow and I believe the side quests could've been more engaging. Borderlands 2 is a good game but I don't think it deserves as much praise as the critics are giving it. Expand
  32. sft
    Sep 16, 2013
    8
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly 2

    Almost everything I loved about the original Borderlands is here in BL2. I say almost because the only thing that’s missing is some of the charm and humour of the original. But BL2 is still a great game, and it improves on the original in one area the variety of enemies. Again the visuals and sound design are impressive. There are plenty of maps to explore
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly 2

    Almost everything I loved about the original Borderlands is here in BL2. I say almost because the only thing that’s missing is some of the charm and humour of the original. But BL2 is still a great game, and it improves on the original in one area the variety of enemies. Again the visuals and sound design are impressive. There are plenty of maps to explore as you complete the numerous missions. The combat is well-balanced and challenging without being frustrating. And there are, as advertised, “bazillions” of weapons (too many, in my opinion it’s gets a bit tedious deciding what to keep and what to sell or dump). And it’s a great multiplayer game too, especially with friends. I guess it’s hard to match what was an excellent game first time around, but Gearbox have just about managed it despite not being quite as memorable as the first.
    Expand
  33. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Absolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each haveAbsolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each have their unique style of play. I really have few gripes about this game, one being that legendaries all of a set mob to farm. However, you are going to have a good time nonetheless 10/10. Expand
  34. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 1 was pitch perfect; this one goes even further! Excellent graphics, excellently designed guns and terrain. Great gameplay mixed with lots of explosions is a must these days and this game does just that. It combines everything that a FPS player wants and turns it into a masterpiece. Great game, deffinetely better than it's predecessor.
  35. Oct 6, 2014
    9
    Borderlands 2. This game is a very unique case for me. I haven't even finished the game's story yet, and I'm already doing a review for it. Normally, I like to finish a game's story before I review it, but just this once,I decided not to because I felt like I had played enough of the game to review it. So, is this game a unique enough experience without a story, or does a game reallyBorderlands 2. This game is a very unique case for me. I haven't even finished the game's story yet, and I'm already doing a review for it. Normally, I like to finish a game's story before I review it, but just this once,I decided not to because I felt like I had played enough of the game to review it. So, is this game a unique enough experience without a story, or does a game really need a story to be amazing? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is utterly unique. It is a first-person shooter with RPG elements from the Diablo series. I was not a huge fan of Diablo (there, I said it, come at me Blizzard fanboys) when I played it, so I was not so sure what to expect when I decided to try this game. After trying it, I can safely say that my concerns were put to rest. I had a much more fun experience with this game then Diablo II ever gave me. It does have many elements of Diablo. There is tons of loot to pick up, multiple characters to play as, each with a different play-style, and your character can level up and unlock new abilities. However, this game has many more elements of a first-person shooter that make it a much more unique experience. Let me just start by saying unlike Diablo, you don't have to click everything on screen just to make your character do things. This was one of my biggest problems with Diablo. Because you could not use the mouse and keyboard, you had to click everywhere just to do things, which just made the game more confusing, and way too fast. However, Borderlands 2 plays just like your average first-person shooter. It's not overhead view like Diablo. I'm happy Gearbox Software went with this direction, because it gave me a more familiar gameplay mechanic than just clicking. This game is definitely more of a shooter than any other RPG I've played, as shown in the game's fast, furious, and fun combat. There are also several quests for you to do throughout the game, which is why I haven't completed the story yet. These quests are all very fun and unique. They all have you accomplishing objectives for certain characters. I think that my only problem with the gameplay would be that when you die, you just respawn at a checkpoint. While this is okay, one thing that annoys me is that any enemy you hit before you die will regenerate all of his health when you get back to the room you were killed. While this can be annoying, it is not annoying enough to make you stop playing the game. Overall, this game's gameplay is insanely fun, and anyone who plays this game will most likely have a fun time with it. As for the graphics, they are every bit as unique as the gameplay. The graphics of this game are cell-shaded, sort of like a comic book. The game looks far more unique than any other game I have played. However, the question is, do these graphics work? The answer is yes. This game has many cartoony elements in it, such as the humorous writing throughout the game's story and missions, and these graphics fit in with it perfectly. My only problem with these graphics is that there is a lot of texture pop-in. While this is not a huge issue, almost every other developer who has used the Unreal Engine has either found a way to get rid of this pop-in, or made it not get in the way. It gets in the way here, which can be annoying, but still doesn't distract from the whole experience. Overall, this game has great graphics regardless. As for the story, while I haven't played through the whole game yet, I can tell you what I have played. The story is that you are a Vault-Hunter, and you must stop a man named Handsome Jack from destroying the world of Pandora. Problem Number 1 is that they picked the most cliched story in the book, I know, but even so, they still manage to make it unique here. They made it unique through the aforementioned humorous writing in the game's story. This game has a really good sense of humor, and the writers like to show it anywhere they can. Expect lots of good jokes throughout this game. It also has a lot of memorable characters. Overall, this game's story is really cliched, but still great. Overall, this is a game that must be played. It successfully combines the first-person shooter and RPG genres. I can safely say that I like this game one heck of a lot more than the Diablo franchise (once again, come at me Blizzard fanboys). I recommend this game to anyone who loves a good shooter or RPG, or even a good video game in general.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  36. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Easily one of my favorite games of 2013. Great exploration, good story, tons of action, rewarding co-op, very challenging gameplay. Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode is too hard to solo, you'll need to play it with others. Also the final DLC, Raid on Digistruct Peak is not a new story campaign but instead a small set of near impossible challenges that will have you grinding to "OP 8" which isEasily one of my favorite games of 2013. Great exploration, good story, tons of action, rewarding co-op, very challenging gameplay. Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode is too hard to solo, you'll need to play it with others. Also the final DLC, Raid on Digistruct Peak is not a new story campaign but instead a small set of near impossible challenges that will have you grinding to "OP 8" which is another way of saying level 80 without the extra 8 skill points. In other words the final DLC seems rushed and unnecessary.

    Took 40 hours to beat the main story line but I played 500 hours total because it's just that much fun to challenge yourself with True/Ultimate Vault hunter modes and collect loot.

    The psycho and mechromancer add-ons are fun, but don't buy them unless you really like the game.
    Overall amazing game. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  37. May 3, 2014
    8
    This game runs great on PC, beautiful graphic upgrade options too. Netplay is 10-fold better than the original game, no longer requiring 3rd party credentials! Get it when it's on sale, steam does it several times a year. I've gotten close to 100 hours on my first playthrough, but I really enjoy doing all the DLC and stuff the first time around.
  38. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    It feels like what Diablo 3 should have been. Granted, it's not as much of a "lock yourself in your room for a year" kind of game, but the guns are varied, the enemies are challenging, and the game doesn't hold your hand down a linear path. Pandora feels like a massive, uncharted place to explore, and you are constantly challenged and rewarded for doing so. The writing is stellar, theIt feels like what Diablo 3 should have been. Granted, it's not as much of a "lock yourself in your room for a year" kind of game, but the guns are varied, the enemies are challenging, and the game doesn't hold your hand down a linear path. Pandora feels like a massive, uncharted place to explore, and you are constantly challenged and rewarded for doing so. The writing is stellar, the characters are memorable, the visuals fit right in with the overall theme of the game. It's a great ride that I'll definitely return to more than once. Well worth it, even 2 years now after release. Expand
  39. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    At 9.4/10 this is the highest rating I gave a game yet.

    Starting with what lost that half-point and prevented my first ever 10/10. The vending machines - Marcus Munitions: there was the same lines of chat repeated over and over. Having Marcus dialogue talking of when you're next for murder was not funny. Murder is not funny. Handsome Jack said some really disgusting stuff. It was
    At 9.4/10 this is the highest rating I gave a game yet.

    Starting with what lost that half-point and prevented my first ever 10/10.

    The vending machines - Marcus Munitions: there was the same lines of chat repeated over and over. Having Marcus dialogue talking of when you're next for murder was not funny. Murder is not funny.

    Handsome Jack said some really disgusting stuff. It was meant to set us up to know who we were dealing with, and reminders during the game were necessary. It was too much for me though.

    Other than this the game rocked. Rocked! Fun by the trainload and lots and lots of badasses to shoot. Everyone mentions the graphics and they are brilliant. Using the cartoon style gave the artist(s) more artistic licence to produce stuff that might have looked out of place in another engine. Also the artistry was of the highest quality so sets looked excellent.

    It is another inventory full again, run to a shop game. Choosing which weapon to use was quite easy though so nothing really slows it down. From the start this game is beautifully intense and a few minutes into the game the action starts. It flows from then on at a fast pace as character upgrades and new weapons keep it flying. Shooting causes all kinds of things to happen. Numbers of damage fly off the enemy but not in any annoying way. Explosions cause rubble to dissipate everywhere. Good modern graphics cards that run good PhysX make this great. It showcases your PC perfectly.

    I loved Borderlands 2 GOTY, and I wasn't sure I would even like it. It was my first Bordelands game, but I have since purchased Borderlands GOTY.
    Expand
  40. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    Borderlands 2 is the best kind of sequel one that takes what the original does well and improves what it does poorly, in this case the story. The antagonist of Borderlands 2 Handsome Jack has got to be one of the most memorable game characters out there not just beacuse of his cruel acts but for the humor surrounding him.

    Theres lots of fun to be had in Borderlands 2 while i mainly
    Borderlands 2 is the best kind of sequel one that takes what the original does well and improves what it does poorly, in this case the story. The antagonist of Borderlands 2 Handsome Jack has got to be one of the most memorable game characters out there not just beacuse of his cruel acts but for the humor surrounding him.

    Theres lots of fun to be had in Borderlands 2 while i mainly played through it in single player and really enjoyed it i had an even better time playing it in co-op with friends. What does take away from the experience for me is that the NPCs in the game while funny and unique dont actually move around nor do they join you on missions, theres also very few of them which is a shame. I also disliked that at times the game felt more than a little grindy which took away from an otherwise great experience.
    Expand
  41. Sep 25, 2014
    8
    A great coop game. The looting system is fun the weapons are fun and its a lot of fun to play with friends. I highly recommend it at full price and a must buy when on sale.
  42. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    Gameplay very similar to the first with some slight evolution in terms of expansion of weapon variety, character classes and grenade mods. The aesthetics of the game are really nice and it runs well but the best thing about this game which absolutely trumps the first is the story. I really liked it and quirky voice acting which was superbly written ties it all together.
  43. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    Although the annoyingly long reload times are still there and skills are really boring, the game's still a good one. At the end of the day it's about the guns and killing alot of mobs, which is fine by me.
  44. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    What is with PC gamers nowadays? I've been primarily a PC gamer since before Wolfenstein 3D, and after all this time, I am completely unable to understand how people can be so ridiculously critical of PC games. This game is being vilified as a console port? Seriously?? The graphics are vastly improved over the original, there are options to change TONS of graphics options (including theWhat is with PC gamers nowadays? I've been primarily a PC gamer since before Wolfenstein 3D, and after all this time, I am completely unable to understand how people can be so ridiculously critical of PC games. This game is being vilified as a console port? Seriously?? The graphics are vastly improved over the original, there are options to change TONS of graphics options (including the oft-asked-for field of view), the controls are rock-solid and customizable, and there are only a few bugs. I'm honestly starting to believe that PC gamers are going to whine until there are no more consoles, period. Dark Souls was the roughest port I've ever seen, but the game was still awesome, and I want to see more console games on PC. Rant aside, this game is awesome. While it is not radically different than the first, the mechanics are all improved, and the game has been expanded greatly. If you liked Borderlands 1, you will love 2. If you didn't like 1, you probably won't like 2 either. The characters are all diverse, and the abilities are a lot more useful and powerful (Phaselock in particular is insanely handy). I went through Borderlands 1 without using the special abilities really at all, but that's not the case with 2. Guns are widely more varied now, and are interesting to collect. The only criticism I can say about guns is that in the early part of the game, I ran out of ammo INSANELY quickly. In multiplayer, you share money, eridium (used to buy upgrades), and even ammo (the other player gets half of what you pick up). Sharing loot can still be a sore spot in multiplayer matches, but if you're playing with friends, it shouldn't be a huge problem. The way character upgrades work is a lot better than Borderlands 1 as well. In 1, you only leveled up weapons that you used, which led to people sticking to one type of gun from the very beginning. In 2, however, you work on "challenges" that give you points you can use towards certain unlocks. It's a much more elegant system. ***************************************************************************************** Bottom line, Borderlands 2 is a very well-done game that surpasses the original in every way. If you were bored by Borderlands 1, pass 2 up, but if you loved 1, you will love 2. Expand
  45. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Slick. Polished. Addictive in a good way. Basically diablo 2 with guns and physx particles flying everywhere. And no stupid RMAH that destroys any addiction to the loot system. I'm 30 hrs in to the game, playing it drop in / out co-op with steam friends and it is very very awesome. FOV is right. .ini settings work. This is a decent PC version. The storyline is actually interesting andSlick. Polished. Addictive in a good way. Basically diablo 2 with guns and physx particles flying everywhere. And no stupid RMAH that destroys any addiction to the loot system. I'm 30 hrs in to the game, playing it drop in / out co-op with steam friends and it is very very awesome. FOV is right. .ini settings work. This is a decent PC version. The storyline is actually interesting and there's lots of nice visual moments in the game along with a brilliant cast and accompanying dialogue that can be funny in all sorts of ways (whether it's because it's soo not funny that it is, or because they sometimes nail taking the piss out of another game/movie/reference.). Definitely recommend it, especially if you have other steam friends to play it with. Expand
  46. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Awsome, a game that i will be playing for years the amount of content in this game is staggering, luv the pacing and the loot collecting is addictive as hell get this game.
  47. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I spend so many hours with this game that I even stop counting. If You liked the first part You must play this one too! Because it is so much better. Plot maybe isn't epic but is a good add on to a great shooter rpg.
  48. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Best rpg/shooter ever. 2k took the best parts of BL1 and just hit it home. The guns are more balanced in this installment. Good because there's always a better replacement and bad because there aren't more bank and twink slots. (The shelf life of BL1 guns were far greater.) The game is beautiful both in function and in form in every way. The only gripe I have is the 2D map isBest rpg/shooter ever. 2k took the best parts of BL1 and just hit it home. The guns are more balanced in this installment. Good because there's always a better replacement and bad because there aren't more bank and twink slots. (The shelf life of BL1 guns were far greater.) The game is beautiful both in function and in form in every way. The only gripe I have is the 2D map is sometimes hard to follow. The missions are varied and interesting and multiplayer is a blast. This one's a keeper. Expand
  49. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    its an amazing game!
    the graphics are very nice, even more when you enable the physics,too.
    the sound effects and voices are well made, also the music is exactly fitting to the events. i liked it even more than borderlands 1 and it has to be said that borderlands 2 is as long as borderlands 1 including dlcs, ( took 35 hours to do all quests and sidemissions on bl2 now) and many
    its an amazing game!
    the graphics are very nice, even more when you enable the physics,too.
    the sound effects and voices are well made, also the music is exactly fitting to the events.
    i liked it even more than borderlands 1 and it has to be said that borderlands 2 is as long as borderlands 1 including dlcs, ( took 35 hours to do all quests and sidemissions on bl2 now) and many locations and characters will remind you on borderlands1.
    you will find some interesting people and situations and have a lot of fun in singleplayer or coop.

    negative in my opinion is that you sometimes get stuck in the map or objects, then all you can do is restarting the game.
    also i find the story a bit unimaginative. many quests and happenings are just the same as on borderlands1. it could have been even better with NEW ideas and not just alternating the old stuff.
    anyway, still worth the money and a lot of fun, you should buy it.
    Expand
  50. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Very, very nice game. And one of the things that makes this game so good is that 2K Games succeded in what is nearly impossiple: Making a game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. The story is better, the talent system is better, the jokes are funnier and most importantly: The loot is way more awesome! The only reason i only gave this game 9/10 is because the single player isVery, very nice game. And one of the things that makes this game so good is that 2K Games succeded in what is nearly impossiple: Making a game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. The story is better, the talent system is better, the jokes are funnier and most importantly: The loot is way more awesome! The only reason i only gave this game 9/10 is because the single player is a lot worse than the multiplayer. Especially the last stand system is completly **** when there is no one to revive you. So i think i would give the multiplayer a 10/10 and then the single player about 7/10. Expand
  51. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    I have not played Borderlands 1, so this a discovery for me. Also, I haven't tried it solo and played with friends only, which I think is a better idea.

    The story is good and very funny, and if you like the cartoon style, the world is pretty well done as well. It runs perfectly in coop mode, the AI is legit, and the "special attacks" of your character are necessary to clear out some
    I have not played Borderlands 1, so this a discovery for me. Also, I haven't tried it solo and played with friends only, which I think is a better idea.

    The story is good and very funny, and if you like the cartoon style, the world is pretty well done as well. It runs perfectly in coop mode, the AI is legit, and the "special attacks" of your character are necessary to clear out some hard bosses. You get several weapons to use, and lots of crap to collect on the floor all the time.

    Conclusion : Hours of fun with friends, and loot everywhere !
    Expand
  52. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    After over 50 hours of gameplay, I'd just beaten the game a few minutes ago, and didn't want to write this review until I'd done so. Fans of the first game will feel at home with the sequel - same XP system, same enemies (along with a bunch of new ones), same NPCs (and some new ones), and the same seemingly infinite number of randomly generated guns. In comparison to the first, GearboxAfter over 50 hours of gameplay, I'd just beaten the game a few minutes ago, and didn't want to write this review until I'd done so. Fans of the first game will feel at home with the sequel - same XP system, same enemies (along with a bunch of new ones), same NPCs (and some new ones), and the same seemingly infinite number of randomly generated guns. In comparison to the first, Gearbox not only gave BL2 a graphics upgrade, but also an in-depth story to keep the player engaged - a quality missing from the first game. And yes, you will learn to hate Handsome Jack. In conclusion, if you enjoyed the first Borderlands, you will likely enjoy this sequel just as much, if not more. Expand
  53. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Look no further - Game of the Year 2012. Upon the huge success of Borderlands in 2009, GearBox has shown the world how a new IP should be like. This company respects the players, constantly pushes out new contents and has a very good public image. Back to the game itself - there is absolutely nothing I could complain about the *launch* version of this game. NOTE: some games take a fewLook no further - Game of the Year 2012. Upon the huge success of Borderlands in 2009, GearBox has shown the world how a new IP should be like. This company respects the players, constantly pushes out new contents and has a very good public image. Back to the game itself - there is absolutely nothing I could complain about the *launch* version of this game. NOTE: some games take a few weeks or months just to get their games working on players' machines. Unlike the broken co-op element back in Borderlands (I remember resetting my router ten millions times while annoying my roommates), BL2 has got this right from the start - no bugs, no major user complaints and has a solid gaming experience (for players to consume in). Oh yeah, forgot to mention that the humor in this game is unprecedentedly good. It's like I'm watching Seinfeld while simultaneously participating in the fun. As a comparison, instead of nerfing characters and pissing off avid players (I'm talking about you Blizzard and D3), GearBox's goal is to *entertain* all of us. All the guns in BL2 have been reworked to the point that I wouldn't get bored at "farming", if any at all. All the quests are unique and side missions aren't as boring as before. With the upcoming promise of new classes and quests, there is more to come, so just shut up and take my money. Expand
  54. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    Really nice game, large choice of weapons, beautiful graphics, interesting characters, large world to explore, interesting quests, interesting vehicle mini game, add a nice touch of humor and you have a near perfect game, only gave it 9 because i never give 10,I'm a firm believer that there is always room for improvement.
  55. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    If you don't enjoy this game you likely have no soul. Or you're Handsome Jack himself.

    I hope Gearbox keeps making games, because they're awfully good at making things fun (Aliens not withstanding)... Okay, I hope they keep making Borderlands games. The creativity, art style, humor (sometimes bad/sometimes good) are just great.
  56. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    I am glad that I bought this game. It is 100 times better than the first one. Guns look more different and beautiful. Voice overs r funny. And the world itself is amazing. Good job and kudos to Gearbox! If u liked the first one you will love Borderlands 2! A lot of ways to play it what else you need for th game to keep u busy.
  57. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    I had a lot of fun with this game, playing 40 hours of multiplayer story with 2-3 friends. It's an interesting, nice looking world that's fun to explore. The story is funny and reasonably entertaining. It looked great hooked up to my projector.

    I also played the whole game using an xbox controller, and the shooting mechanics felt very good and precise. They give you the precision of
    I had a lot of fun with this game, playing 40 hours of multiplayer story with 2-3 friends. It's an interesting, nice looking world that's fun to explore. The story is funny and reasonably entertaining. It looked great hooked up to my projector.

    I also played the whole game using an xbox controller, and the shooting mechanics felt very good and precise. They give you the precision of Call of Duty, and they give you fun cartoony Halo type weapons if you prefer those.
    Expand
  58. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    I played the first Borderlands and loved it. The humour was fresh and funny. Now in Borderlands 2 it seems its lost it's edge, the dev's have catered more for teens and gone for a more 'immature' theme. Even after turning player callouts off, I still get the annoyingly loud *grunt* every time I melee. This alone has me put the dialog volume really low, which sort of ruins the cut scenesI played the first Borderlands and loved it. The humour was fresh and funny. Now in Borderlands 2 it seems its lost it's edge, the dev's have catered more for teens and gone for a more 'immature' theme. Even after turning player callouts off, I still get the annoyingly loud *grunt* every time I melee. This alone has me put the dialog volume really low, which sort of ruins the cut scenes but damn that mech chick just won't shutup! Overall I enjoyed the game but MOST of the voice acting really puts me off. The game itself is excellent and worth picking up, but if your like me unfortunately get ready for some mind-numbing stupid 14 year old screaming how good her bot is all the time. Expand
  59. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Beautiful, cartoony game with a cool story, great characters, humor, a crapload of loot, bunch of character upgrades, challenging enemies, lots of replayability and has the best use of Nvidia's PhysX I have ever seen. Although the PC version is king of all versions, it has its fair share of fps drops, due to it favoring high-end Intel CPUs over anything by AMD. No big deal if you're fineBeautiful, cartoony game with a cool story, great characters, humor, a crapload of loot, bunch of character upgrades, challenging enemies, lots of replayability and has the best use of Nvidia's PhysX I have ever seen. Although the PC version is king of all versions, it has its fair share of fps drops, due to it favoring high-end Intel CPUs over anything by AMD. No big deal if you're fine with 30-40 fps. I play on a 360 controller to mask the input lag and it feels fine. I would give 10/10, but even on the lowest settings, 60 fps at all times isn't possible on my not-bad-but-not-ultra system, where other games like Just Cause 2 and Metro: Last Light run amazingly at much higher settings. Kinda stupid, but whatever. BL2, in itself, is great. Play with friends and enjoy! Single player is loads of fun too. Expand
  60. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    The same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chestThe same great style of Borderlands, good voice acting, good characters, etc. I actually played this one all the way through unlike the original. Unfortunately that's not enough to unlock all the skill trees and apparently they expect multiple replays. Mulitplayer jumping in and out of games is pretty seamless and well done. There are exploits to let you hold on to your premium chest keys and wikis with all the codes if you're in to gear hoarding. Expand
  61. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I don't like to give out 10/10, but this game truly had it all. Graphics, while cartoony, were great and stayed with the theme throughout. Gameplay was phenomenal. Tonnes of loot, comedy, story, missions, huge map, fun vehicles, great guns. Multiplayer was well done and is lots of fun when I choose to play it. I have no complaints about this game. Did not purchase DLC as I felt I hadI don't like to give out 10/10, but this game truly had it all. Graphics, while cartoony, were great and stayed with the theme throughout. Gameplay was phenomenal. Tonnes of loot, comedy, story, missions, huge map, fun vehicles, great guns. Multiplayer was well done and is lots of fun when I choose to play it. I have no complaints about this game. Did not purchase DLC as I felt I had done so much already in the original game. Also never played the original, so I had no comparison to the previous one. Expand
  62. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Great careless fun with gunz, 'splozions and loads of painful screams. It's nothing revolutionary, but it is smoothly done, with great music, sounds, much improved graphics, an actually decent storyline and even occasional humour . Coop is fun and worked for me perfectly. The price tag tho, with all the DLCs, is really scary - if you want to get it all right away, you will chuck out 90Great careless fun with gunz, 'splozions and loads of painful screams. It's nothing revolutionary, but it is smoothly done, with great music, sounds, much improved graphics, an actually decent storyline and even occasional humour . Coop is fun and worked for me perfectly. The price tag tho, with all the DLCs, is really scary - if you want to get it all right away, you will chuck out 90 euro. I do honestly think it is NOT justified. If you really don't feel like you must have it, if you are thinking whether to get this, if you are undecided... leave it be. It is just too much. Expand
  63. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Steam had a sale today so I went ahead and picked this game up for half-price. I was not a fan of the original, but thought I would take a chance as I have grown a bit bored of Diablo 3 and didn't really like Torchlight 2.

    So far I am totally impressed. I plan to add more to my review later and possibly adjust the score. As of now, the things that stick out in this game are... 1.
    Steam had a sale today so I went ahead and picked this game up for half-price. I was not a fan of the original, but thought I would take a chance as I have grown a bit bored of Diablo 3 and didn't really like Torchlight 2.

    So far I am totally impressed. I plan to add more to my review later and possibly adjust the score. As of now, the things that stick out in this game are...

    1. Better visuals than the first game, albeit slightly. With details cranked to maximum Borderlands 2 (a DX9 game) is surprisingly one of the prettiest on the market, thanks in large part to an impressive art-style.

    2. Story. Unlike in the first game, players have a very real objective and a very real enemy from the moment the game starts. This is an improvement over the first game, as it's always important to get the player involved early in the story.

    3. Gunplay is extremely satisfying. Aiming down the sights, shooting from the hip - however you go about it, the gameplay in Borderlands 2 is very intense and very satisfying. The enemies are tenacious, and are intelligent enough to dodge gunfire and predict your movements.

    4. Rewarding. The game rewards the players with a non-stop barrage of usable weapons and loot. This is a refreshing change of pace for someone coming over from Diablo 3.

    5. Well optimized. This game is not very demanding and can be played on max settings without being too greedy with system resources. Just about any mid-range machine can play this game to it's fullest potential, and it runs like a dream.

    As I said before, I will add more as I play more. But I can already tell that Borderlands 2 is something very special.
    Expand
  64. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't believe that Borderlands 2 can be as good as it's brother but it is. Overall it DOUBLED Borderlands. The awesome places, funny scenarios, really awesome looking guns, a good storyline made this game the best Co-op game ever made.
  65. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    Really enjoyable game. Not sure why people are complaining, "it's more of Borderlands." Well yeah, it is. That's what we wanted and asked for. Only this one is very polished and frankly hella fun. I can't put it down (was up until 3:40am last night playing).

    Just an extremely engaging comic-book style run and gun game. How can you be disappointed about a million guns, a million
    Really enjoyable game. Not sure why people are complaining, "it's more of Borderlands." Well yeah, it is. That's what we wanted and asked for. Only this one is very polished and frankly hella fun. I can't put it down (was up until 3:40am last night playing).

    Just an extremely engaging comic-book style run and gun game. How can you be disappointed about a million guns, a million enemies, funny writing and more quests than you can shake a stick at?

    Well deserving of a "9" score.
    Expand
  66. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    This is the first game since Skyrim that i've wanted to continuously play without a rest. Usually I get bored and switch between games... rarely finishing 10% of them. Borderlands 2 is very polished. The voice acting and humor is outstanding!
  67. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    A worthy successor to a fresh,original idea,evolving it to the next level.
    The game has loveable characters,insane humor,and addictive gameplay mix of and FPS and an RPG.

    Go my minion,play this!
  68. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    This game really surprised me.Never played first borderlands since graphic was unappealing to me. Most likely would never picked up second one if it wasn't gifted to me. I must say that i had real blast while playing it. Not even sure when my steam counter jumped to over 50 hours in less then 2 weeks ;). I really love it, Pandora is amazing place to explore. everywhere you go there'sThis game really surprised me.Never played first borderlands since graphic was unappealing to me. Most likely would never picked up second one if it wasn't gifted to me. I must say that i had real blast while playing it. Not even sure when my steam counter jumped to over 50 hours in less then 2 weeks ;). I really love it, Pandora is amazing place to explore. everywhere you go there's something completely new to discover. Scenery really changes between zones, they put lots of work into them. I only wish zones would level with me, some quests were simply too easy as i came back to them after a while. other then that, perfect game Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Borderlands 2 is kind of like brushing your teeth.
    There is saliva everywhere! So much saliva! How could there BE this much saliva!? Are we camels??
    But man... that minty after taste is DAMN refreshing.
    (Warning: Whitening is not guaranteed)
  70. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    I got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC or play on harder difficulty the story is really interesting and it's coming from the developer who got left with the utter fail Aliens: colonial marines it is an excellent recovery
  71. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    The Borderlands series has a brilliant formula of wacky humor, countless guns, and RPG mechanics. Borderlands 2 has crushed its prequel with modified gameplay, gorgeous graphics, hectic music and an interesting story. While the sequel improved in every department, its story took me by surprise. The strong, unique, and diverse personalities you’ll meet through the well-paced story improvesThe Borderlands series has a brilliant formula of wacky humor, countless guns, and RPG mechanics. Borderlands 2 has crushed its prequel with modified gameplay, gorgeous graphics, hectic music and an interesting story. While the sequel improved in every department, its story took me by surprise. The strong, unique, and diverse personalities you’ll meet through the well-paced story improves the entire experience. Most importantly, this gives life and excitement to the planet of Pandora, which was just a boring hunk of rock in the original game. The “Bazzilion” guns that Gearbox claimed Borderlands 2 will have was no joke, and it’s more than just a few minor tweaks in damage and accuracy. The guns will sometimes have a huge bayonet, a wacky reload animation, a crazy looking scope, and may not even have any recoil. When the critics can only complain about an imperfect user-interface, we can conclude that the gameplay is as addicting as we all hoped it would be. Its well-deserved popularity certainly earns a nomination for Game of the Year 2012. For fans of the original Borderlands, this is a no-brainer, but for those who are skeptical about the unique gaming experience that Borderlands 2 has to offer, it’s time to come to your senses and get in on the fun that you’ve been missing out on. Expand
  72. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    I have to change my review, originally gave B2 a 4, now a 9, let me explain.

    I played Borderlands for about 3 hours solo, hated it, and didn't give this game a chance. After playing for about 10 hours (public co-op) I can definitively say that I am having a blast playing Borderlands 2. This game is fantastic! The graphics are great! The animations are great! The story is funny and
    I have to change my review, originally gave B2 a 4, now a 9, let me explain.

    I played Borderlands for about 3 hours solo, hated it, and didn't give this game a chance. After playing for about 10 hours (public co-op) I can definitively say that I am having a blast playing Borderlands 2. This game is fantastic!

    The graphics are great!
    The animations are great!
    The story is funny and deep if you want to follow it, or you can just blast everything in sight.

    The loot is fantastic and diverse and upgraded weapons do make a big difference (unlike skyrim)
    I think the leveling system in B2 is much better than a Bethesda game.

    All in all, I'm going to say that Borderlands 2 is a better game than Fallout 3 and on par with Skyrim.

    Borderlands 2 > F3 > Borderlands

    Gearbox did a really good job with this game. The PC options are the most expansive I have seen on a PC game in a LONG time, everything is there for the PC gamers to tweak. And, what really makes this game incredible is that the Co-op is NOT JUST TACKED ON AT THE END.

    Co-op is ingrained in the very core of this game, if you aren't playing co-op you are doing it wrong. Very few games actually take the time to develop the game around the Co-op experience and instead just offer a really lousy multiplayer option just hit to check box on the back of the box. Borderlands 2 has some of the best Co-op I've ever played, maybe the best.

    It is just a great, fun game to play. If you did not like Borderlands I strongly urge you to play this game Co-op. I think you'll be surprised, I was.

    Great Game!
    Expand
  73. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I was never a fan of Borderlands, but then a week ago, a friend gave me a Steam key for BL2 and I played the game, enjoyed the freaking hell out of the game, became a fan and have been addicted to this game for the past week. Borderlands 2 is the one and ONLY game released in 2012 that actually pleased me enough to play it a 2nd time. Borderlands 2 is my Number 1 game of 2012.
  74. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Just beaten the game 1st time. It's the same borderlands, but better!
    Borderlands 2 lost a little bit of art style somewhere, but gained a little bit of physics, more humor and great amount of badassesness.
  75. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    There are 2 kinds of games: the games that comes from developers who never played a game and think that realism is the key to a great game, and on the other hand, the games that comes from developers who shoot for awesome and not realism, Borderlands 2 is one of those. If I could describe this game in 3 words, I think I would say something like "no falling damage". Borderlands 2 is aThere are 2 kinds of games: the games that comes from developers who never played a game and think that realism is the key to a great game, and on the other hand, the games that comes from developers who shoot for awesome and not realism, Borderlands 2 is one of those. If I could describe this game in 3 words, I think I would say something like "no falling damage". Borderlands 2 is a creative game that came from developers who knows what good gameplay is, really cool and addicting game, 9.5/10. Expand
  76. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    This is a pretty amazing first-person shooter from the team that brought us Bioshock. In fact, you'll recognize some similar elements, such as voice recordings that you occasionally have to pick up. This game is tuned for multiplayer co-op; you may find some parts are very tough to get through playing singly. As a co-op game, it's an amazing experience.

    Borderlands 1 & 2 also seem like
    This is a pretty amazing first-person shooter from the team that brought us Bioshock. In fact, you'll recognize some similar elements, such as voice recordings that you occasionally have to pick up. This game is tuned for multiplayer co-op; you may find some parts are very tough to get through playing singly. As a co-op game, it's an amazing experience.

    Borderlands 1 & 2 also seem like they take a lot of elements from MMORPG games like World of Warcraft. There are quest givers. There are bosses. There are loot drops of randomly enhanced items. You choose the class you want to play, and each class has a unique ability. You level up your characters, and you assign talent points. All very much like MMORPG's. And the loot drops are insane at times -- to the point that item management gets to be a heavy chore.

    If you have a friend that you like to play FPS games with, buying this is a no-brainer. It's a helluva lot of fun. But make sure you buy the Game of the Year edition, because it's the most feature-complete version out there.
    Expand
  77. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This game is great, and so much better if you play with friends. Three of us have started from right at the beginning together and it has been just an awesome trip. If you have somehow found yourself bored with this game, you need to get some friends and play together.

    You can tell they took some time with the PC version as it works like a dream. Loads fast, plays smooth and feels
    This game is great, and so much better if you play with friends. Three of us have started from right at the beginning together and it has been just an awesome trip. If you have somehow found yourself bored with this game, you need to get some friends and play together.

    You can tell they took some time with the PC version as it works like a dream. Loads fast, plays smooth and feels right. I recommend anyone get this. Complaints: Server Side Loot in Co-Op: I recommend not playing with randoms. With everyone seeing the same loot it simply becomes a race to who can get the best loot. Playing with friends helps minimize this, but it can still be an issue making sure everyone is getting good stuff. Hopefully in a future Borderlands they will move to client side loot. Money System: By rank 18 I had purchased all the Eridium upgrades off the black Market. Now I have a ton of Eridium and nothing to spend it on. The only real use for money is to farm in the slot machines. I hope in some DLC they add some creative uses for money (maybe build your own gun shops or gun modification kiosks or something...)
    Expand
  78. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 2 is a perfect sequel to the much loved Borderlands. As we re-enter Pandora, you
  79. May 15, 2014
    10
    Here is where I would put a reference to the game to make it awesome, so you will buy it.
    The game is amazing the graphics are incredibly epic, and then the script writing for the entire game is freaking hilarious.

    Don't believe me?
    YouTube Handsome Jack from Borderlands 2
  80. Mar 19, 2015
    9
    You get a gun. You shoot the gun. You kill stuff with the gun. The enemy's drop guns. You pick up those guns. You shoot those guns. You like those guns. So you keep those guns. AND YOU GET MORE GUNS!!!!!! GGGGUUUUNNNNNNNSSSSSSS!!!!!!! GGGGUUUUUUUUNNNNNSSSSSSS....
  81. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is the pinnacle of what it is. If you found the core gameplay of Borderlands 1 to be dull and repetitive, I see why you think that, and Borderlands 2 probably won't be categorically better for you. But if you liked Borderlands, then this is that with everything made better. Especially noteworthy is the writing, which is both greatly expanded and significantly better, with aBorderlands is the pinnacle of what it is. If you found the core gameplay of Borderlands 1 to be dull and repetitive, I see why you think that, and Borderlands 2 probably won't be categorically better for you. But if you liked Borderlands, then this is that with everything made better. Especially noteworthy is the writing, which is both greatly expanded and significantly better, with a much larger and more exciting cast of characters. And yes, there is a proper ending this time. Expand
  82. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    This is a great iteration on the same formula that made Borderlands fun. Every single system is improved, including the anemic opening fights in the first game; this time you jump into a plot fight without having to wade through a mile of filler first. Claptrap is often actually amusing - Gearbox clearly realized how annoying he became in the first and made him the butt of some honestlyThis is a great iteration on the same formula that made Borderlands fun. Every single system is improved, including the anemic opening fights in the first game; this time you jump into a plot fight without having to wade through a mile of filler first. Claptrap is often actually amusing - Gearbox clearly realized how annoying he became in the first and made him the butt of some honestly funny jokes here. Gun handling is tight and I'd say the PC version is truly a "PC version", not a "PC port" - much unlike the first game, they put in the time to do it right. The difficulty is turned up a few notches, though - my Siren character regularly gets curb stomped which didn't happen much in the first game. The game is clearly balanced for multiplayer, but it's still a lot of fun single player - just don't expect to dominate everything on your first try like in BL 1. In short, this is a truly excellent followup. If you liked Borderlands you absolutely need to get this; if you didn't, skip the first and try this out. Especially for PC, it is literally better in every way. Expand
  83. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    So maybe you've played Borderlands. Maybe you loved it and played some/all of the DLC. And then maybe you got all excited about BL2 and the utopian thoughts of killing things in the familiar dystopia, but all-new and exciting in different ways. And then you saw/heard that BL2 is just more of the same.

    It's true - this isn't a revolution in gaming, nor a clean slate... but it is a
    So maybe you've played Borderlands. Maybe you loved it and played some/all of the DLC. And then maybe you got all excited about BL2 and the utopian thoughts of killing things in the familiar dystopia, but all-new and exciting in different ways. And then you saw/heard that BL2 is just more of the same.

    It's true - this isn't a revolution in gaming, nor a clean slate... but it is a fine continuation of the things that worked well in the original, and there are plenty of new twists, so that this doesn't feel like just another episode (like FIFA13 or MW2). It's also true that not all the jokes are funny, and all those 'new' guns are just tweaks.

    But all that aside, I'm having more fun with this one than the first one, to be honest. The gameplay doesn't get old quickly, and the main villain is great fun. I finished the main storyline and immediately found myself having another run... you just don't mind trying to find new ways of going about the same challenges. So if you can deal with not having a completely new experience, then you're in for a treat. Think of it as revisiting one of your favorite movies, but in an extended, director's cut - it looks familiar, but you love seeing the movie again, and there's plenty of new stuff to make it feel fresh.
    Expand
  84. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    This game is near flawless. With exciting AND addictive game-play that stays fresh even past the 2nd play-through I am never board with this game. Especially considering how easy it really is to play with friends. I do wish it was more possible for people of different level ranges to play together but we cant have it all.
    In stark contrast to the first Borderlands, the story is
    This game is near flawless. With exciting AND addictive game-play that stays fresh even past the 2nd play-through I am never board with this game. Especially considering how easy it really is to play with friends. I do wish it was more possible for people of different level ranges to play together but we cant have it all.
    In stark contrast to the first Borderlands, the story is actually compelling and the superb voice acting makes it hard not to be drawn in. The humor plays a big part as well and never feels out of place in the abstract Borderlands universe.
    The graphics look great on both high AND mid range systems, offering highly stylized graphics that still have a touch of realism.
    In closing I must commend Gearbox Software for their love-letter to the PC community. Literally every gripe I had with the shoddy console-port that was BL1 is gone. This game truly deserved Game of the Year.
    Expand
  85. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this game its a FPS dungeon crawler!!! Collect guns lvl up toons play with friends!! Dont liten to the idiots saying no replay value cause thats a joke. An the season pass an all the DLC has been a blast as well! I like the improvements they made upon the game compared to BL1 as well. The graphics are smoother an the mechanics do not feel clunky at all. A must buy game IMOAbsolutely love this game its a FPS dungeon crawler!!! Collect guns lvl up toons play with friends!! Dont liten to the idiots saying no replay value cause thats a joke. An the season pass an all the DLC has been a blast as well! I like the improvements they made upon the game compared to BL1 as well. The graphics are smoother an the mechanics do not feel clunky at all. A must buy game IMO 10/10 Great job gearworks @ look forward to ALiens marines! Expand
  86. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Perfect FPS RPG game combined. The story is somewhat disturbing but it's a plot twist so everything is cool. More guns, explosive shields, easter eggs... what more could you ask for?
  87. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Borderlands 1 was a really well done game it had a ton of fresh new concepts that actually worked out really well. From the guns, the gun combat the character progression the wide open areas and the replay-ability. Not to mention the co-op play although I have always been more of a solo artist sense I have no reliable friends to play with that wouldn't ninja everything purple and up.Borderlands 1 was a really well done game it had a ton of fresh new concepts that actually worked out really well. From the guns, the gun combat the character progression the wide open areas and the replay-ability. Not to mention the co-op play although I have always been more of a solo artist sense I have no reliable friends to play with that wouldn't ninja everything purple and up. However it had many flaws much of the original content as far as landscape went was very monotone and felt uninteresting especially after multiple play through I found myself hating some areas very quickly but craving others. In Borderlands 2 this all changes every area is new and interesting and feels like they all have more of a story to tell and more of a history behind them like how they got to that point which in a way makes me thankful some of the original BL1 was someone bleak and basic because that simply was the history of Pandora. On top of that the story line is actually very interesting and has consistent humor all the way through. The guns have also been improved in the aspect that there are now significantly more unique possibilities Another big on is the side quests which in borderlands 1 were simply a means to level and get some more loot but now they are actually quite interesting and all tell stories of their own that help to build up the characters in the game.
    In short I am extremely impressed and have not enjoyed a game this much in a very long time.
    Expand
  88. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    game is awesome, dlcs are even better, story is perfect emotions and underground things like "Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep" when i played it i feel loved by developers of the game, you know that rare fealing when game speaks to you in a certain way, gameplay controls humor everything is 95/100 or 100/100
  89. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Take Borderlands 1, give it a much bigger budget, a whole new cast of characters, a bigger and better storyline, and even more loot and irreverent jokes, and you have Borderlands 2. This game takes everything I loved about Borderlands 1 and expands on it.
  90. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Borderlands 2 for the PC is a colorful game that is a lot of fun to play, especially with friends. The voice acting is funny and well done. The graphics are colorful and have a unique sense of style. The gameplay is challenging and the variety of weapons always gives you something to look forward to. The multiplayer has some neat features, like allowing you to join friends any time in theBorderlands 2 for the PC is a colorful game that is a lot of fun to play, especially with friends. The voice acting is funny and well done. The graphics are colorful and have a unique sense of style. The gameplay is challenging and the variety of weapons always gives you something to look forward to. The multiplayer has some neat features, like allowing you to join friends any time in the story line. However, joining friends in multiplayer can create some odd issues with the questing system (especially when switching to single player) Also, the fact that the baddies re-spawn so quickly is a bit annoying and definitely keeps this from being a truly top tier for me (the quick re-spawn takes out the feeling of accomplishment. A solid 8.5. Expand
  91. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this game. So many hours of gameplay and so much to do with fun characters. It was quite easy to learn the basics of the game even though I had not played BL1. Favorite character: Gunzerker.
  92. May 1, 2013
    10
    I did not play the original. I glanced at the game and didn't think this was my cup of tea either. Boy, was I wrong. This game is a pure blast, especially to play with friends. The devs have put out a bunch of after market DLC to keep content fresh. If you like laughing, and you like can appreciate how hard it is to actually include humor in something that is already fun, then you too willI did not play the original. I glanced at the game and didn't think this was my cup of tea either. Boy, was I wrong. This game is a pure blast, especially to play with friends. The devs have put out a bunch of after market DLC to keep content fresh. If you like laughing, and you like can appreciate how hard it is to actually include humor in something that is already fun, then you too will like this game.

    I strongly recommend this game
    Expand
  93. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, the brilliantly wide variety of guns, gadgets and missions keeps you coming back for more and more, and the boss fights get more and more epic. A truly special game I was happy to complete.....

    Only for it to get even better in multiplayer!

    A really great game.
  94. May 14, 2013
    8
    Borderlands 2 is a great game with a fantastic art style and good graphics, huge world to explore, a long storyline, unbelievably many guns and much more! If you enjoyed Borderlands 2, you'll love this game. The only cons I found about it is the gameplay that becomes a bit repetitive after a while. The game itself is a console port but Gearbox actually put some time in it to make it a goodBorderlands 2 is a great game with a fantastic art style and good graphics, huge world to explore, a long storyline, unbelievably many guns and much more! If you enjoyed Borderlands 2, you'll love this game. The only cons I found about it is the gameplay that becomes a bit repetitive after a while. The game itself is a console port but Gearbox actually put some time in it to make it a good PC game. Worth buying! Expand
  95. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Simply the best lootwhoring/buttonmashing co-op title since Diablo 2, though also enjoyable in SP. Hilarious dialogues, characters and cinematics. Endless combinations of loot and loads of challenges. Worthwhile DLC content. Smooth graphics which still looks good - giving you a pleasant and fluid game experience even if you have an older PC. My favorite game 2012 without any doubt.
  96. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    Borderlands 2 continues to do what the first game did extremely well. Combat is well executed, guns (for the most part) are satisfying, skill trees give nice variety, acting/writing is excellent and the light story is reasonable for what is essentially a means to kill enemies for loot. There are some negatives such as mob balancing and poor design choices in mob behaviour, as well as someBorderlands 2 continues to do what the first game did extremely well. Combat is well executed, guns (for the most part) are satisfying, skill trees give nice variety, acting/writing is excellent and the light story is reasonable for what is essentially a means to kill enemies for loot. There are some negatives such as mob balancing and poor design choices in mob behaviour, as well as some quests feeling like pointless fillers. The game does nothing new either, however, the first game brought with it a working formula, so it makes sense that it hasn't changed - but you do find yourself wishing that it had changed, adding a layer of depth beyond fetch quests and collecting loot. Having said that, the concept is still as enjoyable now as in the first game and I've had a blast playing through it in co-op (and now replaying it with a different class build at the higher level difficulty). If you enjoyed the first, you'll enjoy this one just as much - if you haven't played the first then now is the time to jump in and see what you missed. Expand
  97. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Game that actually was worth waiting everything in one package single or multiplayer. Played game through single player and it seems to have loads of content . Multiplayer adds to game more challenge. I Liked Borderlands and seems like Borderlands 2 has same style of graphics and humor as Borderlands. Doing example challenges is actually rewarding so these come as you progress in story.Game that actually was worth waiting everything in one package single or multiplayer. Played game through single player and it seems to have loads of content . Multiplayer adds to game more challenge. I Liked Borderlands and seems like Borderlands 2 has same style of graphics and humor as Borderlands. Doing example challenges is actually rewarding so these come as you progress in story. Talent system gives you loads of ways to play same character. Good and entertaining game and filled all my expectations that i had gathered for this product. Expand
  98. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    A bit of unpolished physics, strange animations, and such keep this from being a perfect ten. But everything else?

    Guns: Awesome. Gameplay: Exciting. Writing: Hysterical. Replayability: Basically infinite with the character-spanning Badass Token system.

    This game is everything I'd hoped for.
  99. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best loot driven game I have played. Incredibly funny dialogue, fun to play classes, beautiful graphics and tons of weapons. It's so easy to play with your friends and the PC version is superb.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 92
    It’s addicting, full of creative gags and amazing battles (especially in co-op mode) and it keeps dangling that loot-carrot in front of your face. Add that crazy humor on top and you have a synonymous for the world ‘entertainment’. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for something with a ponderous story full of morality and contemplation – one best savored alone – then you'll need to look elsewhere. Borderlands 2 delivers tons of lighthearted, occasionally juvenile fun with immense replayability, and is best approached with a few buddies in tow. It doesn't revolutionize the concept pioneered by its forebear, but it refines it to a razor-sharp edge and offers some of the most fun you can have in a cooperative action RPG this side of Diablo II. And if nothing else, it's got lots of Claptrap.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    94
    The moment at which my endearingly annoying robot companion Claptrap fashioned himself a Mohawk out of some animal fur I collected he earned a spot on my all-time favorite robot list.