Borderlands 2 PC

Borderlands 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2454 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 529
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Expansive storytelling and a fair amount of sandbox running around are delights that make this FPS really truly great. Finding replayability aExpansive storytelling and a fair amount of sandbox running around are delights that make this FPS really truly great. Finding replayability a little boring? Explore. Explore. Explore. My hope is that borderlands has established a foothold in GURPS-esque (for those who don't know look up GURPS) gameplay and may push this to be a larger MMORPG in the coming iterations. Kudos for continued success! Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Gearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to theGearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to the challenge to this game. With all games it has its bugs, but with updates they can be fixed. It just takes some time. I love playing this game with friends with finding all the humor, bugs, and Easter eggs. So i would love to rate this game a full 10/10! Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    all my god this is great and you may be thinking this may be boring and plain well no there is hole new story then just opening a vault but iall my god this is great and you may be thinking this may be boring and plain well no there is hole new story then just opening a vault but i shall not spoil it for you and like first one there are four vault hunters that are zero maya aston and salvador that are smilier then the ones in the first ones and there are two dlc characters you can get and there are bazzilons bazzions 20000000000 more bizzilon guns to find and collect and like the first one the gun manufactures are malliwain torque dahl tediore and valdalf and also there are different elements that are corrosion fire electricity slag that does more damage if you don't now what that means and explosions and more variety of enemies that you will have to use different strategies to defeat like a older your going to use corrosion to do more damage to loaders and more i won't spoil to use and jack is one of the most funny villains i have ever seenveichal controls are amazing now and there where some funny npcs in the first game but this one has much more like the always extremely hot mad moxxi and always funny scooter his big big breasted sister ellie and the crazy tiny tina and the skill tress but there are 2 problems with it one there is annoying when we can't make a full customised vault hunter well sure there are lots of skins but still and i now not every game needs this but borderlands 2 needs it and second one there can be lag a lot well except for pc Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    After playing the game for a day - I'm impressed! The game very much sticks to the formula of the original - while polishing many aspects. IsAfter playing the game for a day - I'm impressed! The game very much sticks to the formula of the original - while polishing many aspects. Is this a bad thing? For anyone that didn't like the original or is new to the franchise and doesn't like this TYPE of game, don't write horrible reviews. For those others, I think they will find the mechanics, graphics, creatures and new aspects of the game to be tons of fun. Be prepared for lots of killing, plenty of new guns, great new creatures - and agonizing decisions about which skills you are going to pump up! Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Don't play this game alone! Bring at least one friend, otherwise it becomes boring real fast. This was made for Co-op play.
    Otherwise this
    Don't play this game alone! Bring at least one friend, otherwise it becomes boring real fast. This was made for Co-op play.
    Otherwise this game is much better in every aspect compared to the first:
    Multiplayer is now handled trough Steam and not gamespy. Locations are bigger, look nicer. If you have nVidia, you can turn on some cool PhysX particle effects. There are much more kinds of guns, everyone can find their favorite.
    Finally, the game has a much more detailed and more interesting storyline than the first. Yes, there are some stupid 9gag level jokes, but they can be ignored. Other than these stupid references, the writing is relatively smart, and entertaining.
    And last but not least there is the fantastic soundtrack, which is much less irritating than in the first game. I didn't want to turn it off after several hours, and that's a plus.
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    0
    No idea why this game has raving reviews, I must be out of a touch or clearly most gamers like boring rubbish. I've been forcing myself toNo idea why this game has raving reviews, I must be out of a touch or clearly most gamers like boring rubbish. I've been forcing myself to play this game and I've finally gave up after just less than 20 hours in. Wasn't worth my $7.50

    - Boring a Tedious Questing Adventure, Yes the old and outdated WoW Style.
    - World is completely static, predictable and boring, with a few roaming enemies.
    - Main story and characters have been boring.
    - Abilites and Talent points mediocre & boring, (Based on Zer0 only)
    - Single player is very boring.
    - No need for a loot system, it's not an MMO. With that said not much reason for replayability.
    -Cringy attempts to recycle areas with revisits and constant enemy respawning.
    + Awesome Art Style.

    Conclusion: Like a boring game with the old game mechanics of MMO's in a first person view with great stylized art? This game is for you.
    Expand

See all 529 User Reviews