Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2033 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 484
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I really love this game! Especially the co-op, but single-player is also fun! The art of the game looks awesome and you have millions ofI really love this game! Especially the co-op, but single-player is also fun! The art of the game looks awesome and you have millions of weapons to choose from! Also a second and third playthrough in this game is still fun!! You definitely have to buy this game, its SUPER BADASS!!! Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Only drawback is I wish my friends played more really haha. The game also looks amazing on PC. I played this albeit not all the through, onOnly drawback is I wish my friends played more really haha. The game also looks amazing on PC. I played this albeit not all the through, on 360 and PS3 before almost exclusively switching to PC games. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Such a fantastic game, because of: really fun and satisfying gun play, constant excitement for finding new and better loot and silly humour,Such a fantastic game, because of: really fun and satisfying gun play, constant excitement for finding new and better loot and silly humour, which compliments the cell-shaded graphics style perfectly. This style of graphics looks surprisingly nice and texture quality is pretty good. However, another huge advantage that this game has over many in it's genre, is a fantastic PC port part, as the fps and general performance are constantly good, and for me at least, there are little to no game crashes or bugs. You do experience the occasional bug, but it is nothing immersion-breaking, or worrying. however, the UI is functional at best and was clearly designed with a console in mind, so it is sometimes a bit awkward to switch or compare weapons.

    On to the few negatives this game has, one of which is not the game's fault. The jump-in co-op is a fantastic feature of this game, but I highly recommend only doing this with friends, as random matchmaking tends to put you with someone who is not necessarily inclined to share loot with you. While money and ammo is shared throughout your group, those really great guns that you can find only belong to the person that picks them up, so this can be a problem, albeit not the game's fault. Another bad thing about this game is only based from what I have heard. I have many friends who have played both the original Borderlands and it's sequel, and every single one has suggested that it is effectively the same game, with better variety of guns, better graphics, and more improved features. However, I can't comment on this, as I have never played the original myself.
    Overall, a thoroughly satisfying and fun experience, where you can lose a couple of hours without even knowing it. Thorough recommendationf or me, especially at the cheap price of £6.79 I got it in this year's Steam summer sale.
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2014
    8
    This game runs great on PC, beautiful graphic upgrade options too. Netplay is 10-fold better than the original game, no longer requiring 3rdThis game runs great on PC, beautiful graphic upgrade options too. Netplay is 10-fold better than the original game, no longer requiring 3rd party credentials! Get it when it's on sale, steam does it several times a year. I've gotten close to 100 hours on my first playthrough, but I really enjoy doing all the DLC and stuff the first time around. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    it's ok, at around level 20 so far. played mainly with 3 other people i know.
    the start was way slow, but got a bit better.
    it just seems
    it's ok, at around level 20 so far. played mainly with 3 other people i know.
    the start was way slow, but got a bit better.
    it just seems really similar to the original with more humor.

    solid, but somewhat regret buying it.
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    0
    No idea why this game has raving reviews, I must be out of a touch or clearly most gamers like boring rubbish. I've been forcing myself toNo idea why this game has raving reviews, I must be out of a touch or clearly most gamers like boring rubbish. I've been forcing myself to play this game and I've finally gave up after just less than 20 hours in. Wasn't worth my $7.50

    - Boring a Tedious Questing Adventure, Yes the old and outdated WoW Style.
    - World is completely static, predictable and boring, with a few roaming enemies.
    - Main story and characters have been boring.
    - Abilites and Talent points mediocre & boring, (Based on Zer0 only)
    - Single player is very boring.
    - No need for a loot system, it's not an MMO. With that said not much reason for replayability.
    -Cringy attempts to recycle areas with revisits and constant enemy respawning.
    + Awesome Art Style.

    Conclusion: Like a boring game with the old game mechanics of MMO's in a first person view with great stylized art? This game is for you.
    Expand

See all 484 User Reviews