Borderlands 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2587 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tediore - Borderlands 2 Weapons Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 525
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Amazing game! wonderful gameplay, amazing story, hilarious humor! What more can you ask for a game? It's funny, good, amazing, wonderful!Amazing game! wonderful gameplay, amazing story, hilarious humor! What more can you ask for a game? It's funny, good, amazing, wonderful! (Especially in Co-Op!)

    If i could i would rate this game:

    87 Gazzilion / 10!
    Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Absolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount ofAbsolutely crazy, funny , whack and most of all fun. This game is all about loot, bossing and having a good time, with the endless amount of easter eggs, references and pop culture. It's a game both fun solo and with friends, though recommended playing with friends as it does enhance the experience (except when it comes to splitting loot). The classes are all fun and unique and each have their unique style of play. I really have few gripes about this game, one being that legendaries all of a set mob to farm. However, you are going to have a good time nonetheless 10/10. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    This game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likelyThis game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likely present no threat at all.

    You can unlock better weapons by loot, or by using rare keys, which will give you great and unique weapons or shields. You can also unlock achievements which instead of giving you XP like in the first game, will give you the chance to give your character a really tiny boost in health, shield, ammo, damage etc. (Forever)

    It offers more variety of enemy's, and the game fells more "alive". The characters are interesting and the humor is good (Not like a "HAHAHAHAHAHA" type of humor but it will make you laugh sometimes.)

    The storyline is better (Well, now there is ACTUALLY a story line)

    Oh, I forgot, the ending doesn't suck like in the first one.
    Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    It's great. There are lots of flaws, but the amount of pure fun you get out of it outweighs it all.
    Sure the weapons are a lot less varied
    It's great. There are lots of flaws, but the amount of pure fun you get out of it outweighs it all.
    Sure the weapons are a lot less varied than in BL1, sure the inventory sucks, yeah you can't upgrade your ammo capacity as much as you'd like, and of course that there are a few plot holes, but it doesn't matter, it has great characters, lots of varied missions, many ways to build your characters, quite a bit of replay value and it's very very entertaining overall.
    Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    I loved the original Borderlands for so many good reasons: it was a innovative for a fps, with actually good mechanics of an RPG withoutI loved the original Borderlands for so many good reasons: it was a innovative for a fps, with actually good mechanics of an RPG without losing the fps touch at all. Add also a lot of exploration, a lot of black humour, gore, blood and whatever gets in your mind, no wonder Borderlands was a great game (not a master piece: it had some flaws and it was repetitive at a certain point). When this game was announced I was very curious and I couldn't wait to get it. In the end, I had to wait for a discount instead...but there are good things in the game anyway: the mechanics are almost the same, if not THE same as the previous, but with some good tweaks in controls, weapons (some have unique ways to shoot just like the previous game), classes and so forth. The new things are not a lot really: we got some more customzation, we have a bank and the possibility to store items for your alts, we got some better controls now and much more fluid (than the previous). Also the inventory is much better designed (ALWAYS than the previous game) and some better shooting (it's much more handy and less stiff). But there's not really much else to add really, because it's almost the same game.

    Except it's plagued with DLC.

    BUT WAIT, before anything else I want to say that I don't dislike the dlcs: I had all of them in the original Borderlands and it was fine. But here it's different, because the game was plagued from DLC literally from day 1 with an embaressing release of dlc in a very short time (first came out 21 september, the season pass, then 9 october, then 16 october, then 20 november and so on, until now). But again, as I said, Im not saying I'm against them...but I feel ripped off to the bones like this, because while they aren't relevant for the game, they tried to take away as much as they could from day one, and give it us back as DLC (and each dlc is 10 bucks by the way, so it's not cheap either). Sure, also the original game had dlc but they came out with good distance between them and I could play the game before trying the extra content. In here, it was so fast, I could barely keep up even when there was a discount and I at least wanted the 2 extra classes, which was 20 for both and 25 for the game when discounted. In other words, I felt ripped off from their greed and from a "humble yet innovative" game as Borderlands now we get a "hungry for money" game that whenever they can, they'll serve us another dlc for another 10 bucks. The dlc, in other words, may discourage you for the big amount of them, and I feel sad to see this game becoming a greedy franchise. Still a very good game and fresh to its core, but just too greedy to feel satisfied.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2016
    0
    god damn is the writing in this game cringey, if not ridiculous with how much meme pandering they put into it. Another problem what this gamegod damn is the writing in this game cringey, if not ridiculous with how much meme pandering they put into it. Another problem what this game has is terrible characters that either sound annoying or just straight up act like poo. Then theres the fact that most of the enemies in the game are bullet sponges. But oh wait you could just get a rare gun and take em down easily, but no the game is filled to the brim with garbage loot Expand

See all 525 User Reviews