Borderlands 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2610 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tediore - Borderlands 2 Weapons Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 527
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    Well...I need to say that this thing is f**ing amazing, I've never got so addicted to a game before, the game is awesome, and has thatWell...I need to say that this thing is f**ing amazing, I've never got so addicted to a game before, the game is awesome, and has that improvement on the history that I know that everybody wanted, and the DLC's came to get me crazy....I....I can't even say how much I love this game, just waiting for the pre-sequel Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Amazing game! wonderful gameplay, amazing story, hilarious humor! What more can you ask for a game? It's funny, good, amazing, wonderful!Amazing game! wonderful gameplay, amazing story, hilarious humor! What more can you ask for a game? It's funny, good, amazing, wonderful! (Especially in Co-Op!)

    If i could i would rate this game:

    87 Gazzilion / 10!
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    This game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likelyThis game is really fun. Seriously, its not terrible unbalanced like the first game, where you will level up too fast and enemy's will likely present no threat at all.

    You can unlock better weapons by loot, or by using rare keys, which will give you great and unique weapons or shields. You can also unlock achievements which instead of giving you XP like in the first game, will give you the chance to give your character a really tiny boost in health, shield, ammo, damage etc. (Forever)

    It offers more variety of enemy's, and the game fells more "alive". The characters are interesting and the humor is good (Not like a "HAHAHAHAHAHA" type of humor but it will make you laugh sometimes.)

    The storyline is better (Well, now there is ACTUALLY a story line)

    Oh, I forgot, the ending doesn't suck like in the first one.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2015
    8
    Borderlands 2 is an action-packed open-world FPS RPG that any gamer of the same genre/s will love. I haven't played BL1 but I'm already a hugeBorderlands 2 is an action-packed open-world FPS RPG that any gamer of the same genre/s will love. I haven't played BL1 but I'm already a huge fan of the series. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    A bit of mmo, bit of fps, and a bit of everything cool... Like Dishonored tried to do so... It would cut for the youngsters who just startedA bit of mmo, bit of fps, and a bit of everything cool... Like Dishonored tried to do so... It would cut for the youngsters who just started to play kind of games but it would definitely not enough balanced for the oldsters like me who started to play games like early 90's... So... It is fun, but just mediocre, if you are not "really" new to this genre you may even really like this... Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2016
    0
    god damn is the writing in this game cringey, if not ridiculous with how much meme pandering they put into it. Another problem what this gamegod damn is the writing in this game cringey, if not ridiculous with how much meme pandering they put into it. Another problem what this game has is terrible characters that either sound annoying or just straight up act like poo. Then theres the fact that most of the enemies in the game are bullet sponges. But oh wait you could just get a rare gun and take em down easily, but no the game is filled to the brim with garbage loot Expand

See all 527 User Reviews