Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 506
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice
    Big. Brilliant, Funny. Visually Beautiful. Borderlands 2 is near perfect.

    The level design is inspired. The story is great, and the voice work is great. You have to listen to the various things the bandits say when you are fighting them. They often die with a funny one-liner.

    It's a run and gun with LOTS of guns, much like the first Borderlands, only MORE polished and with deeper levels of writing. I can't see where the dreary "I'm so serious" 4 and 5 review scores are coming from. We are talking about VIDEO games. This one has a fine balance between instant fun and long term 'purpose'.

    There are a few minor mechanics that could be improved. The player character could certainly benefit from a jet pack or another way to get around faster! Bigger levels and easier access to the structures through a climbing mechanic would be nice. Otherwise great work Gearbox.

    I like it so much I just went and bought ALL the DLC at full price, to be sure the developers get a taste of my money! They deserve it for making one of the most entertaining and lighthearted gun romps out there tight now.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Gearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to theGearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to the challenge to this game. With all games it has its bugs, but with updates they can be fixed. It just takes some time. I love playing this game with friends with finding all the humor, bugs, and Easter eggs. So i would love to rate this game a full 10/10! Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    With out a doubt, Borderlands 2 is one of my favourite games, with nearly 40 hours of game time I think I may have some credentials. I'llWith out a doubt, Borderlands 2 is one of my favourite games, with nearly 40 hours of game time I think I may have some credentials. I'll start of by rebutting the arguments of people giving this game a poor score.
    This game may get repetitive but that's the beauty of it, the second this game becomes slightly boring you can change your skill tree, change your character or simply change your gun type.
    People say is a spray type of game, well whats not fun about that?
    The graphics are nothing that's going to blow your mind but they do the trick and have never seemed dull or boring.
    The humour of the game still makes me laugh even in my third play through.
    However I never played the first instalment of Borderlands and they game may just be a slight improvement but hey, for me the game when i first launched it felt entirely new!
    Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    its an amazing game!
    the graphics are very nice, even more when you enable the physics,too.
    the sound effects and voices are well made, also
    its an amazing game!
    the graphics are very nice, even more when you enable the physics,too.
    the sound effects and voices are well made, also the music is exactly fitting to the events.
    i liked it even more than borderlands 1 and it has to be said that borderlands 2 is as long as borderlands 1 including dlcs, ( took 35 hours to do all quests and sidemissions on bl2 now) and many locations and characters will remind you on borderlands1.
    you will find some interesting people and situations and have a lot of fun in singleplayer or coop.

    negative in my opinion is that you sometimes get stuck in the map or objects, then all you can do is restarting the game.
    also i find the story a bit unimaginative. many quests and happenings are just the same as on borderlands1. it could have been even better with NEW ideas and not just alternating the old stuff.
    anyway, still worth the money and a lot of fun, you should buy it.
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    A bit of mmo, bit of fps, and a bit of everything cool... Like Dishonored tried to do so... It would cut for the youngsters who just startedA bit of mmo, bit of fps, and a bit of everything cool... Like Dishonored tried to do so... It would cut for the youngsters who just started to play kind of games but it would definitely not enough balanced for the oldsters like me who started to play games like early 90's... So... It is fun, but just mediocre, if you are not "really" new to this genre you may even really like this... Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2015
    0
    I bought this game thinking it was good because of the ratings on here, but it was terrible. I played for 5 minutes and started throwing up. II bought this game thinking it was good because of the ratings on here, but it was terrible. I played for 5 minutes and started throwing up. I hate how you jump around so high and how crappy the gun system is. Enemies are frustrating to kill and story and graphics are ugly and cartoon-like. Expand

See all 506 User Reviews