Borderlands 2 PC

Borderlands 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2324 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 516
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    I got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC orI got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC or play on harder difficulty the story is really interesting and it's coming from the developer who got left with the utter fail Aliens: colonial marines it is an excellent recovery Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Gearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to theGearbox has made another spectacular game that is great to play with friends or alone. With the almost never ending DLC that always add to the challenge to this game. With all games it has its bugs, but with updates they can be fixed. It just takes some time. I love playing this game with friends with finding all the humor, bugs, and Easter eggs. So i would love to rate this game a full 10/10! Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    I got hooked from the very beginning, and just enjoyed it as a great fresh change from my other games. Good sense of humor, and cool bossI got hooked from the very beginning, and just enjoyed it as a great fresh change from my other games. Good sense of humor, and cool boss fights made it even better.

    The gameplay is a little linear, but in a smart way, so it does not bother that much.

    Respawning enemies made it a little worse, and annoying, but I guess it is just me, and no game would be perfect for everyone.

    Boss fights might be slightly stressful, and I personally was tired of it, but still after all it rewards with a good feeling of achievement. Besides after getting through the first map, more gun selection awaits, so next boss fights would be less stressful.

    Perfectly balanced difficulty makes it a really exciting experience. The bad side of that would be no time to relax. Respawning enemies, boss fights, traps, and constant need to improve, and progress does not leave any room to take a breath, and enjoy the "safe room" time.

    But still I have this feeling that I want to go back to it, so why not to leave 9/10? Also there is a multiplayer, for a plus.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    After playing the game for a day - I'm impressed! The game very much sticks to the formula of the original - while polishing many aspects. IsAfter playing the game for a day - I'm impressed! The game very much sticks to the formula of the original - while polishing many aspects. Is this a bad thing? For anyone that didn't like the original or is new to the franchise and doesn't like this TYPE of game, don't write horrible reviews. For those others, I think they will find the mechanics, graphics, creatures and new aspects of the game to be tons of fun. Be prepared for lots of killing, plenty of new guns, great new creatures - and agonizing decisions about which skills you are going to pump up! Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2015
    7
    Like other games Far Cry 3 & Dead Space this has unlockable skill levels as you plays on. Look like Halo & Final Fantasy games - visuals lookLike other games Far Cry 3 & Dead Space this has unlockable skill levels as you plays on. Look like Halo & Final Fantasy games - visuals look cartoon like, though 3D. Fortress & camps layout like Far Cry 3.

    Navigations & mission systems are of the game STALKER's. Some part of this is like Serious Sam. And ... Deus Ex was a once high score game, could someone point to me which part of this game has resemblance to it? May be it's weapon systems that has a lot of selections?

    Look childish & console based, that's how Halo sells so well. But mixing it with cruelty & some little horror theme? Confusing!

    Takes a good mind to learn how to use the inventory system, swap guns. Finding waypoints that went way out of the mapped map view with no pointed arrow ... huh?! Went into a new region that player don't has enough XP points and Level to venture on, impossible to kill anything in the new region, but able to break mineral rocks to collect level 30 XP weapons that can be sold for over $1,000 while back in the "normal" region you only get to pick up $1 to $3 from cabinets?

    Too much works put into this one, end up with not such a big mess. Playable, but knew better why other game makers wont' venture down this kind of path since it's not cost effective & less in revenue return.
    Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Each of my attempts to play through this game have been met with failure. I have beaten the first game and this one is essentially identical in every conceivable way but with a few new shortcuts. Here are the problems I had with the game.

    STORY: First of all, excuse me while I attempt to understate my opinion here so that I can make a review that will actually be published on this site, but the writing is annoying to say the least. If you'll remember, the only thing in the "vault" at the end of BL 1 was a giant Lovecraftian monster called "the Destroyer." The whole premise of this sequel is that a president of an arms manufacturer supercorporation wants to find some McGuffin to open the vault again and control some ad-hoc creature that suddenly dwells in there which was not mentioned before and which is capable of destroying all life on Pandora, so that he can essentially set markets and rid the planet of economic uncertainties like raiders. While this motivation is sound (though cliched), it doesn't make sense for one simple reason. During the course of the game the characters repeatedly state that the antagonist's easily killed henchman was capable of easily killing all the protagonists from the first game, and I dunno about you, but I easily killed the vault creature from the first game by myself. So basically, the mere henchman of the main bad guy can easily kill the guys that can easily kill whatever is in the vault, so what kind of harebrained plan is it to use something in the vault to take over the world? Are you kidding me? If this weren't bad enough, just about every other second of the story missions is occupied by people shouting into your radio, System Shock 2-style, but in this game they only repeat internet memes like Redditors or 9gaggers or spew the most cringeworthy empty 12-year-old threats you can imagine. The antagonist Handsome Jack won't shut up, constantly buzzing you to tell you about the pretzels he's eating, or how he got married, or how he's about to go check his mail, or that there's nothing on TV. Not only is his comedic timing awful but the very things he's saying are the sorts of things you hear out of your 14-year-old nephew or niece whom you woefully know is gonna get bullied in high school, and they still think they're funny just because the adults have given them courtesy laughs for their cuteness, but now they are just annoying. In fact, this comprises about 90% of the dialogue of the game; when characters aren't talking about how midgets aren't people and other such intellectual insults, they're spouting tired old internet memes like arrow in the knee, all your base etc. There is no character development whatsoever, and most of the "story" unfolds without your participation through office workers screaming into your speakers while you perform repetitive actions. I could stomach the stupidity of the writing if it were not for the rest of the problems:

    BALANCE AND DESIGN: Inexplicably, the game is easiest when played alone. When I say inexplicably, I mean that the enemies scale unreasonably with additional players so by the time you have a 4-person game going, the enemies are essentially invincible and will kill you in 3-4 hits, and with the entropy of having 3 additional people, most of whom are probably 5 years old and have never played a video game in their life, it effectively disincentivizes multiplay. Further, every weapon you will pick up will have something wrong with it, like it fires projectiles at the speed of a tennis ball serving machine, or 95% accuracy means 95% accuracy at point-blank range only, or the damage type is wrong, or the clip size is 8 so you spend 2/3 of your time reloading. You will only get a serviceable weapon if you grind for hundreds of hours, and it doesn't matter if you are a xX420NoScOpEsXx master either, because critical hits still do garbage damage with your nerf guns. Every fight consists of shooting generic bandits or invincible aliens or robots from 100 or more meters or dying and every quest is a fetch quest or a go-here-and-kill quest. Utterly repetitive and not even that satisfying.

    GEARBOX: These guys are wieners. When the company embezzled money from Aliens: Colonial Marines and instead spent it on Borderlands 2 (why), everyone downrated the former game, probably because it was filth. In an "apology" to the public, Randy Pitchford had his mother defend him on Twitter and then called everyone stupid dumbheads whether their criticism was constructive or not. Gearbox themselves makes only mod-quality games so my only explanation for their popularity is asymmetric information.

    If you understand that your purchases form expectations about demand in the video game market, and you don't want to encourage self-important and unfunny manchildren to continue making intellectually insulting and undignified games, do not buy Borderlands 2.
    Expand

See all 516 User Reviews