Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 498
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Oh my... what a nice rpg! I've played BL1 and I found it so cool. BL2 tho... The classes are all useful, graphics are beautiful, no less andOh my... what a nice rpg! I've played BL1 and I found it so cool. BL2 tho... The classes are all useful, graphics are beautiful, no less and the storyline exceptional. You should however play this game with at least one friend and have a pretty good computer to have the best graphics possible. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Giving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence ofGiving this title anything less than a 10 would be unthinkable. It is so incredibly rich in its design that you can feel the intelligence of the developers bleeding through everywhere. This game marks a new era in first person shooters. I've put over 200 hours into the game so far and it always manages to feel new every time I sit down to play it. I have to make myself stop playing usually.

    The greatly improved on the game dynamics and interface over the original Borderlands. It's perfectly polished for the PC this time. The graphics are great and the DLCs are actually good enough to merit buying them. The storyline in conjunction with the models and voice acting is insanely compelling. You all rock, keep it up!
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    A truley amazing game!

    Very fun, lots of things to do, and the graphics are great! Borderlands gives you a feeling that you are on a
    A truley amazing game!

    Very fun, lots of things to do, and the graphics are great!

    Borderlands gives you a feeling that you are on a sweet planet with a great storyline (makes me laugh a lot). Nice FPS system with leveling, and many options for gear and builds!

    Great game and I highly recommend to anyone!

    I didn't give it a 10 though, only because the DLC is expensive and there is too much of it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    Yes there were release day issues, but those happen for every game, and affect a relatively small portion of the community. This game is FUN,Yes there were release day issues, but those happen for every game, and affect a relatively small portion of the community. This game is FUN, and imo a big improvement over the 1st game. I went back to compare, and there are a lot of good things going for the sequel. 1st: Graphics are beautiful, the textures are improved, and water effects are fantastic. 2nd: GUNS!!!! This game has so many guns, with amazing diversity; a gun that explodes like a grenade on reload? Awesome! Machine guns that shoot rockets? Great! 3rd: The dialogue is hilarious, look for Jack talking about a recent purchase early on in the game, it's one of the funniest moments in any video game, ever. 4th: Coop. Playing with your buddies is incredibly fun, and a much better experience this time around, since the Gamespy system has been nixed.

    However, while there are some good things, there are also some bugs. The money pickup system has been improved to automatically send green your way, but its hit or miss. There is also the issue of it freezing on some systems with 5 series Nvidia cards, which is ironic as Geforce is one of the games sponsors. The gameplay is largely similar to the 1st game, with tedious, sometimes long grinds to get to bosses. Also, as a man who loves the sniping, I find the SR ammunition to be on the low side, a qualm I also had with the first game.

    Overall, i find that Borderlands 2 is an improvement over the original, even though it has some issues that will most likely be patched soon (it WAS only released yesterday).
    Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2015
    7
    Great game. Big variety of weapons, different classes. But for some reason despite all that greativity ,it gets repetitive fast. And you startGreat game. Big variety of weapons, different classes. But for some reason despite all that greativity ,it gets repetitive fast. And you start noticing its not that perfect. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2014
    0
    Die Grafik dieses Spiels ist ein Witz.
    Eine echte Frechheit angesichts dessen,das selbst 5 Jahre alte Grafikkarten hier vor sich hin
    Die Grafik dieses Spiels ist ein Witz.
    Eine echte Frechheit angesichts dessen,das selbst 5 Jahre alte Grafikkarten hier vor sich hin schnarchen.
    Man hat es geschafft eine gute Architektur (Spiel wie auch PC Hardware) auf billigst Daddelkisten Niveau zu drücken.
    Bäh !
    Für diese Optik investiere ich nicht hunderte von Euro in einen PC !!
    Dafür gebe ich nur eine 0 !
    Sowas will ich nie wieder sehen müssen.
    Expand

See all 498 User Reviews