Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up yourBorderlands 2 advances the distinct blending of FPS and role-playing genres to create an evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to 3 other players for 4-player online goodness or go old-school with 2-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the 4 new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Delivers on every promise of the original, being an instant classic that proudly stands alongside the PC's finest shooters. [Oct 2012, p.62]
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    Funnier and brilliant, Borderlands 2 is twice as good as the first episode was, something which isn't always the case for sequels. But Gearbox Software manages to improve their IP in many ways, offering one of these titles you could not possibly forget to buy in 2012, and proposing new features that will allow players to blow off some steam for hours.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    94
    If you like piles of guns, lots to do and shoot, and a robust leveling system with a natural coop multi-player aspect and aren't put off by the cel shading, it's a no-brainer.
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    90
    The one thing worth pointing out between the various platforms is how cool Borderlands 2 can look if you have an awesome PC. The PC version allows plenty of tweaks to draw distance, frame rate and more.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    It seems crass to judge a game by quantity, but this is quantity of quality. So if the amount of money you spend on games is a practical concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good value. Even if it's not a concern, it's worth saying that this one is freakishly good.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    66
    Borderlands 2 is awfully simplistic as a first-person shooter, and it's not deep enough for an action/RPG game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 503
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    I got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC orI got borderlands 1 and 2 for £17 and I have to say I'm really impressed the game can last you about over 100 hours more if you buy the DLC or play on harder difficulty the story is really interesting and it's coming from the developer who got left with the utter fail Aliens: colonial marines it is an excellent recovery Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    If i had imagined game like Diablo but in genre of FPS it would have been Borderlands 2! Great loot system, great weapons/items variability.If i had imagined game like Diablo but in genre of FPS it would have been Borderlands 2! Great loot system, great weapons/items variability. intelligence of AI is best for me so far i've never play any shooter with such crafty enemies. Actually this is rare case when i spend all the weekend playing the game. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Damn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easierDamn near perfect, even for a console port. It is early on launch day yet it feels crisp and clean. Controlling your character is far easier this time around as the control are much better developed for the PC. The humor is dark, although the story is a little more serious this time around. About an hour in to the game you really want to kill Handsome Jack, and if you still think he is a cool dude by then you're pretty **** up. If you liked Borderlands you will find that this is a true sequel that lives up to the hype.

    They did a great job of melding the story of Borderlands with Borderlands 2. I know, I know they are sequels but GearBox didn't really set the first game up for having a sequel. I guess since the story in the original was kinda of lacking it makes sense that it was easy to mold the two together.

    Overall Borderlands 2 is a great improvement on the original connecting with friends is far easier now that Steam has been fully integrated, even though it is still a little buggy when connecting initially. Maybe the best improvement they have made is the size of the game. The world feels large and looks large, not the mention it is beautiful. I can run this game on almost the highest setting on my laptop. (Note: I do have a ASUS RoG laptop designed for games but it is kind of dated) If you have a computer that can handle CoD you will be fine.
    Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    In borderlands 2 you are a vault hunter who nearly dies but you are saved by a Siren named angel who wants you to help her to destroy theIn borderlands 2 you are a vault hunter who nearly dies but you are saved by a Siren named angel who wants you to help her to destroy the vault key and free her. It`s a co-op game and heavily loot driven. I suggest you play with at least one player.
    The game is awesome because you can acquire a lot of different weapons. I thinks you should hack the game because it’s easier to get better weapons and fight better enemies.
    If you are going to play solo you definitely should hack because the game gets so difficult sometimes playing alone.
    Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    I am glad that I bought this game. It is 100 times better than the first one. Guns look more different and beautiful. Voice overs r funny. AndI am glad that I bought this game. It is 100 times better than the first one. Guns look more different and beautiful. Voice overs r funny. And the world itself is amazing. Good job and kudos to Gearbox! If u liked the first one you will love Borderlands 2! A lot of ways to play it what else you need for th game to keep u busy. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2014
    7
    Amazing shooter with outstanding graphics and nice gameplay

    PROS -outstanding graphics -bizarre guns -Fun gameplay -Easily caught onto
    Amazing shooter with outstanding graphics and nice gameplay

    PROS
    -outstanding graphics
    -bizarre guns
    -Fun gameplay
    -Easily caught onto
    -Nice Story

    CONS
    -Tends to be boring at times
    -Frustrating if your not the right level for a mission
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2015
    0
    I bought this game thinking it was good because of the ratings on here, but it was terrible. I played for 5 minutes and started throwing up. II bought this game thinking it was good because of the ratings on here, but it was terrible. I played for 5 minutes and started throwing up. I hate how you jump around so high and how crappy the gun system is. Enemies are frustrating to kill and story and graphics are ugly and cartoon-like. Expand

See all 503 User Reviews