User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    The entertaining magic of Borderlands starts to dry out here. It's still enjoyable, but it doesn't have the quality that the Dr. Ned and General Knoxx DLC's have. It's interesting to see the Claptraps finally taking a stand and turning the tables, but other than that, this DLC is much like an opened soda that sat outside too long; the taste is still there, but the perfect cold temperatureThe entertaining magic of Borderlands starts to dry out here. It's still enjoyable, but it doesn't have the quality that the Dr. Ned and General Knoxx DLC's have. It's interesting to see the Claptraps finally taking a stand and turning the tables, but other than that, this DLC is much like an opened soda that sat outside too long; the taste is still there, but the perfect cold temperature and extra fizz isn't. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2010
    4
    The semi-comical yet solid setting of Borderlands that we all love is back in the latest DLC. So what's the problem you ask? Well, there are quite a few problems, certainly not in the same weight of Moxxis Underdone Riot, but this DLC falls short where it could have done great. In Knoxx DLC there is not only a massive main quest-line with all the comedy we love, but there is a seriousnessThe semi-comical yet solid setting of Borderlands that we all love is back in the latest DLC. So what's the problem you ask? Well, there are quite a few problems, certainly not in the same weight of Moxxis Underdone Riot, but this DLC falls short where it could have done great. In Knoxx DLC there is not only a massive main quest-line with all the comedy we love, but there is a seriousness to it. The enemies in this new DLC are not only weak (even if they are hilarious) but they are not even remotely challenging. As a true FPS fan I never found Borderlands to be "difficult" since it's a console port I wasn't hoping for challenging game-play. But the level cap increase in Knoxx gave us work to do, we couldn't just roll in and smash everything with the guns and gear we had from previous installments, it was like starting over again. Knoxx was more of an Expansion than DLC. Claptrap's New Robot Revolution should have either come BEFORE Knoxx, or not at all and simply be made into a web-series similar to what they did with the Claptrap Web-Series. I've been a huge fan of Borderlands since release, even if it is very easy. Walking into the new DLC sporting my Soldier with great gear from being level 61 and having played the Knoxx DLC for hours on end, I simply rolled through the entire DLC like it was nothing. Now I know I praise the Knoxx DLC, with good reason too - It's the best DLC the game has! But even the Zombie Island of Dr Ned was superior to the latest DLC from Gearbox. The Dr Ned DLC had all the same comedy, with some new and old places to explore, but it didn't take 1 hour to complete the main quest-line. When the Dr Ned DLC was released the level cap was still 50 so the enemies were balanced for a level 50 character on play-through 2. This worked extremely well, however in the fourth DLC we see the "scaling" effect that gearbox claimed to have in place ( supposedly to let you play this DLC whatever level you were ) fail miserably. I should not be a level 61 soldier with amazing guns and gear, fighting level 57-59's. If you like the borderlands humour then by all means go ahead and purchase this 4th DLC, but if you actually want to get your moneys worth then I advise simply avoiding it. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Claptrap ends the Borderlands saga on a high note, offering even more quirky, crazy questing in creative environments. Not as lengthy as Knoxx, Claptrap is more creatively diverse, unafraid to deliver wacky fun. The collectible achievements require hours of fighting the final boss, which is either annoying or fun depending on your perspective (fun for me). The ending quest is like a tripClaptrap ends the Borderlands saga on a high note, offering even more quirky, crazy questing in creative environments. Not as lengthy as Knoxx, Claptrap is more creatively diverse, unafraid to deliver wacky fun. The collectible achievements require hours of fighting the final boss, which is either annoying or fun depending on your perspective (fun for me). The ending quest is like a trip down memory lane, bringing the entire Borderlands experience back to the start (literally) in a very clever and strangely poignant way. The lack of fast travel (like all the DLCs) knocks the score to an 8. Still, Claptrap is good times and a great final step toward Borderlands 2. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Best DLC of all the 4, but i might be a little biased here cos i love claptraps :D I only didnt really like how they resurrected the old enemies over and over, and grinding the stuff that drops from claptraps was a lil tedious too. Overall, it was my favorite but loved them all
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    I'm surprised at the lowish score that this DLC has received. (I do believe in my 8 rating, though, I"m not "balancing out for lower ratings").

    I consider this the best of the 4 DLC for Borderlands 1. Fun, interesting quests, a good story, satisfying battles, good rewards, etc. This DLC feels like an extension of the core game, whereas each of the other 3 feel somehow different. The
    I'm surprised at the lowish score that this DLC has received. (I do believe in my 8 rating, though, I"m not "balancing out for lower ratings").

    I consider this the best of the 4 DLC for Borderlands 1. Fun, interesting quests, a good story, satisfying battles, good rewards, etc. This DLC feels like an extension of the core game, whereas each of the other 3 feel somehow different. The primary reason I gave the core game a 10 and this only an 8 is because of a very confusing map and because, like the rest of the DLC, it doesn't incorporate the teleport system to easily move from one area to another.

    Definitely worth the purchase if you enjoy the core game.
    Expand
  6. May 28, 2011
    6
    Better than Dr. Ned and Moxxi but not even approaching the quality of General Knoxx. Revolution has plenty of playtime but it's most filler, and it endlessly recycles old enemies and old bosses.

    To its credit, it's occasionally funny, and the final boss fight is probably the hardest thing you'll do in Borderlands unless you try to take on Knoxx's optional Crawmerax encounter.
  7. May 10, 2012
    7
    Not as well written as Knoxx, but still a decent and solid DLC to wrap up Borderlands 1. The gameplay is a bit repetitive, and the quests seem to lack cohesion and point (especially the side quests) but still enjoyable.
  8. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    My favorite of the DLCs. Good length, decent amount of quests and collectibles. The story is good and best of all there were no bugs/glitches that i could find.
  9. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    The Claptrap Revolution DLC is the last but not exactly the best out of the Borderlands DLC line. It cannot compare to the awesomeness of General Knoxx, but it does fare far better than Zombie Island ever could. Anyhow, perhaps the two most satisfying things you can get out of this dlc is 1. Another level cap (8 for some strange reason), and 2. the opportunity to kill claptraps. While bothThe Claptrap Revolution DLC is the last but not exactly the best out of the Borderlands DLC line. It cannot compare to the awesomeness of General Knoxx, but it does fare far better than Zombie Island ever could. Anyhow, perhaps the two most satisfying things you can get out of this dlc is 1. Another level cap (8 for some strange reason), and 2. the opportunity to kill claptraps. While both of these are quite piqued to my tastes, there are the small nuisances of Borderlands 1 that we don't see in BL2, like the limited fast travel networks and how this DLC is a on-foot DLC only, rather than trying to mix things up. Tartarus Station is a very nice albeit buggy town to venture forth, and in some light I could say that Gearbox had found what they needed to spruce up BL1 with BL2 with this DLC alongside General Knoxx, but overall I could say that every DLC was more or less a test to see how they could improve the RPG realm of Bordlerlands to include more RPG elements in the future. Anyhow, the negatives. Actually, I just practically gone through all of them, but to add to one more detail is yet another unremarkably high difficulty level even for those who have exceeded the recommended level, as the "claptrapped" enemies prove to be far more dangerous than once noted, and the actual claptraps themselves aren't so tough either (except for kamikazes, if you don't have both eyes open). The whole premise on trying to claptrap everybody so that the Vault Hunter would be more bothered seems counter intuitive since most creeps they meet attack anyway, with only the "citizens" of Tartarus being that exception. The environments are interesting but somewhat taxing on big sprawling areas to which you can't drive and are forced to walk over, so that's all I have to say for it. It isn't the best DLC that Bordlerlands has to offer, but if you like to have your dying wishes of killing a bunch of annoying robots and just another 8 more skill points, this will be the DLC for you. once again, still better than The Underdome or Zombie Island. Expand
  10. Jun 22, 2016
    6
    While not a bad add-on per se, Robot Revolution didn't really bring anything new to Borderlands, most enemies just being Claptrapified versions of existing ones. If you're the kind of person that really, really doesn't like Claptrap or any of his kind of humor, you should probably avoid this DLC. Otherwise, hey, it's more Borderlands!
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. PC Gamer UK
    Dec 31, 2010
    50
    An average slice of Borderlands. [Christmas 2010, p.103]
  2. Claptrap's New Robot Revolution is a bit of a letdown. There are no memorable moments here, and is nowhere near as good as Mad Moxxi's or General Knoxx add-ons.
  3. Claptrap's New Robot Revolution is still Borderlands and I still enjoyed it immensely. Yes, the environments, missions and bosses were too repetitive from what we have seen already, and the loot was not satisfying, but Borderlands never needs much help to be entertaining.