Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Downloadable Content] Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot is an add-on pack for Borderlands that includes a new cooperative arena game mode and a stash to store your gear. Are you god's gift to gun fights? Think you're the best? Wanna prove it? Then help us celebrate the grand opening of Marcus[Downloadable Content] Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot is an add-on pack for Borderlands that includes a new cooperative arena game mode and a stash to store your gear. Are you god's gift to gun fights? Think you're the best? Wanna prove it? Then help us celebrate the grand opening of Marcus Bank (a subsidiary of Marcus Corp) by killing hundreds and hundreds of people in Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot, the only competitive arena around where your next of kin can be assured that you're coming back famous . . . or not at all. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. The idea of mixing elements of role playing games and first person shooters with Diablo style item hunting might seem absurd at first, but Borderlands proves that such unique combination can actually work. The two DLC packs, The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned and Mad Maxxi’s Underdome Riot, expand the Borderlands experience further, but in their own different ways. The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is a story-driven adventure that, as the name suggests, involves a lot of zombie shooting, whereas Mad Moxxi’s Underdome Riot concentrates on multiplayer and arena battles. Both are good in their own right, but Ned’s Zombie Island offers more fun moments and bang for your buck. [Feb 2010]
  2. 60
    Unless you have a core group of three other friends and all of you have maxed out level 50 characters, I wouldn't recommend Borderlands: Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot to you. It isn't balanced properly and, since there is no normal XP awards or loot drops, you won't find your character improving as your struggle through the endless waves.
  3. Mad Moxxi isn't worth the money. It's little more than an additional mode, and it really isn't as fun as the ones found in other games.
  4. Moxxi is pretty, polished, and as characterful as Borderlands ever was, and it adds a bank to store loot you might want to keep, but it's really not something you should spend your pocket-money on.
  5. Being able to store weapons in the new Bank is also nice and with the ability to purchase extra storage slots you'll run out of good weapons before you run out of places to stick them. Still though, the sheer time sink involved to best every bit of the Underdome isn't balanced out by the rewards for doing so.
  6. At best, this DLC is thoughtless, unoriginal and for those who simply must have two extra skill points. At worst, it's a waste of time and money, and poor form by Gearbox. [Apr 2010, p.88]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 10 out of 13
  1. StephenV.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Very well made add-on/DLC for the PC it holds you interest and great to play with friends. However it lacks single player capability's. Very well made add-on/DLC for the PC it holds you interest and great to play with friends. However it lacks single player capability's. Its almost impossible to play solo. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    5
    There's not much appeal here, and is my least favorite expansion of the 4. The character of Moxxi and the potential of this expansion withThere's not much appeal here, and is my least favorite expansion of the 4. The character of Moxxi and the potential of this expansion with multiplayer are the only good points. Other than that, you're given a survival-wave arena style game that can be fun for an hour or two, but dries out immensely after that. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    Deathmatch and arena games I used to really enjoy now its its just boring and repetitive to play anygame like this anymore worst of all theDeathmatch and arena games I used to really enjoy now its its just boring and repetitive to play anygame like this anymore worst of all the four DLC and not even funny like the others. Expand
  4. RubenM.
    Jan 29, 2010
    3
    Gearbox tried to create an exciting arena, but in my opinion they got a bad result, it is almost impossible to do it on your own, even Gearbox tried to create an exciting arena, but in my opinion they got a bad result, it is almost impossible to do it on your own, even playing with one friend is hard, furthermore you neither get loot nor experience. I just completed 2 of the 3 arenas at the beginning and i got quite dissapointed, it is always the same, the same guys, the same kind of waves, its boring, dull, and whatever you can imagine, except fun, not even a bit. I hope they do a better job with the third one. Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    2
    For me, this game is a much worse idea than it is a DLC. I played it with friends, and it was fun, but it got boring rather quickly. TheFor me, this game is a much worse idea than it is a DLC. I played it with friends, and it was fun, but it got boring rather quickly. The gameplay itself isn't awful, (although I've heard that the balancing is so poor that it requires 3-4). It's repetitive, but the core gameplay is still itself fun, even if it quickly loses its flavor.

    What is truly irritating about this DLC is that it is so painfully lazy. Everything is recylced. The entire DLC is a small, uninteresting lobby, attached to three arena portals. Each session is initially 5 rounds consisting of 5 waves per round. Each wave has a defining theme; a defining theme that never changes in order or consistency from the first wave to whichever one finally drives the player away for good. The enemies are the same from the main game, XP is discounted so as to preclude the developers from making any actual new content, and no new items or weaponry debut either.

    The DLC's narrative is a joke, and a bad one. Unlike the geniunely funny (if often uncompelling) story and atmosphere presented in the main game and the preceding DLC, The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned, Moxxi's Underdome restricts it story to one or two cutscenes, leaving the gameplay to complete pointlessness. Moxxi's role is announcer, shouting the same lines to you and your team over and over during the fight. Despite being well-acted and sometimes funny, the lines quickly grow old as you hear them over and over.

    One little "feature" is that they plop randomized status effects on the team each wave. This was probably the most interesting part of the whole DLC to me. That being said, nothing new was really added. Stats were toyed with, weapons and enemies got buffed or nerfed, and sometimes maybe even the gravity would change. It's the gameplay equivalent of flickering the lights. The game was TOUTED as having new "modes" like low gravity. But even when they actually get something approaching new content, I just couldn't get over the fact that they simply screwed with numbers. Any shmuck who wanted to could go into the game files and lower the gravity if he or she so pleased. For free. It's not new.

    Each round ends with a "Boss Wave," wherin you fight a boss enemy surrounded by a handful of flunkies. My anticipation was crushed as quickly as it rose, as I soon realized that ALL of the bosses are directly copy and pasted from the main game into this "new" content. While the sidestepping of any form of continuity isn't bothersome, Borderlands doesn't take itself that seriously, the fact that EVERY chance at new content was caulked in by rehashed material just got to a point where I stopped feeling resigned and started feeling cheated.

    The final straw was when my friends and I beat each three arenas. All 15 rounds, all 75 waves of the same crap. We excitedly hurried to our long-awaited new content. SURELY, something new and exciting must follow! But all we saw were three more arena portals of the same areas with the same enemies that we had already beaten! The only difference is that they changed it from five to TWENTY rounds. And we we're long since sick of five.

    So basically this game is a disappointing casserole of old material, with a banking system and possible gravity tweak being the only truly new gameplay additions. And after you play the same thing over and over, they award you with the SAME IDENTICAL thing you just played, only FOUR TIMES LONGER. This goes beyond lazy and beyond disappointing. It feels like a scam. Although they have proven to be able to make great DLC, they actually made a DLC with almost no new content, repeated identical rehashings, and had the nerve to charge ten bucks for it. Again, if you're supremely bored and have 3 friends, Moxxi may be worth a whirl if you see it on sale. The gameplay itself isn't the issue if you can get past the mind-numbing repetition and lack of originality. The problem is how dissapointing and insulting the content or lacktherof actually is. To pass this DLC off as "new" content is false, and to push it on loyal consumers is dishonest. Buy the game, buy the other two DLCs, but for the love of God, do not waste your money on Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot. You've already played it.

    2/10
    Expand
  6. mpr
    May 31, 2011
    2
    Fun for 5 minutes, then it's just boring and annoying. They didn't even bother to add new monsters or even try to properly balance the gameFun for 5 minutes, then it's just boring and annoying. They didn't even bother to add new monsters or even try to properly balance the game for single players... Neither worth my time nor money. Expand
  7. D.S.
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    Everything an expansion should NOT be. A total, abysmal failure in all of its aspects; aspects which should not be metioned due to their Everything an expansion should NOT be. A total, abysmal failure in all of its aspects; aspects which should not be metioned due to their non-existence. In short, a monotonous, rewardless and absolutely infuriating arena shooter with no reason to pick up even for free. Gearbox, when they made this abomination, should have at least taken into account that the multiplayer component on the PC is broken, as this expansion REQUIRES 4 players to play, unless you're masochistic, of course. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews