User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 82
  2. Negative: 3 out of 82
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    Borderlands dlc's are for the most part - impressive - like mini expansions. This one does some right, some wrong. It's the most repetitive and mindless of the bunch. The environment is stunning - and small in size and scope. Only really taking up a few areas. Interestingly - this dlc makes the mindless killing kind of more fun than vanilla. By giving you some extra-generic objectives likeBorderlands dlc's are for the most part - impressive - like mini expansions. This one does some right, some wrong. It's the most repetitive and mindless of the bunch. The environment is stunning - and small in size and scope. Only really taking up a few areas. Interestingly - this dlc makes the mindless killing kind of more fun than vanilla. By giving you some extra-generic objectives like 'collect brains' x number. The major flaw is the lack of any improved loot over vanilla. And since that's one of the few things you 'actually think about' in borderlands - that's a pretty big issue. It's also stylistically on par - quality wise, with the main game. Which is good. Expand
  2. RobS.
    Dec 12, 2009
    2
    I'm pretty disappointed with the new DLC, I finished it with Corey last night even though we only played for an hour as he was quite a ways into it. The zombies were less than exciting, the scenery was well done but the whole of it is just murky and dark and pretty boring. The damage that the zombies inflicted was minimal at best with a level 50 character. Head shots caused critical I'm pretty disappointed with the new DLC, I finished it with Corey last night even though we only played for an hour as he was quite a ways into it. The zombies were less than exciting, the scenery was well done but the whole of it is just murky and dark and pretty boring. The damage that the zombies inflicted was minimal at best with a level 50 character. Head shots caused critical damage and death to the point of very possible one shotting the zombies with an effective weapon. The bosses that ended each sequence were light hearted at best, at the end of the DLC it just ends. The gun boxes are far and few between and obviously placed and didn't include anything special. I think I was knocked down twice the entire time we played and never really felt "in trouble" while battling any of the zombies. It was more of a run through and shoot type setting where you didn't even feel like the zombies were dangerous, nor could they remotely damage you, to the point of no return. I'm absolutely pissed that I had to pay money for this poorly put together add-on. This should have been a free release. Expand
  3. jasonf
    Dec 13, 2009
    3
    This DLC is far too short and unchallenging. The sales pitch advertises "dozens of new missions" but there are only about eight that are discrete missions. The boss fights are woefully easy and enemies too slow to matter. No new weapons or features make this whole DLC a thorough waste of money for $10. Should've been free.
  4. JasonB
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    For only $10 this is one of the best DLC I have ever purchased. I was hesitant at first as well hey it's $10 and usually DLC is not that interesting or worth the money. This time around however I was amazed at how well Gearbox executed this, and tied it into the storyline of borderlands (what a neat intro!). Game play it self is exactly like the main game, however this quest is For only $10 this is one of the best DLC I have ever purchased. I was hesitant at first as well hey it's $10 and usually DLC is not that interesting or worth the money. This time around however I was amazed at how well Gearbox executed this, and tied it into the storyline of borderlands (what a neat intro!). Game play it self is exactly like the main game, however this quest is definately designed for team play as zombies sneak up on you! I think the only other key concept to remember here is that this is DLC for higher level characters, if you are level 35 or below, forget about it! Great addition to the game for only $10. Good job Gearbox and if the next DLC is as good as this one we will be hooked on Borderlands for quite some time! Expand
  5. DanielV.
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    A great addition to Borderlands. Dark, eerie, and an overwhelming good time to be had. It sets a great mood, and I loved every minute of it. Get it on Steam while its $6!
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Totally fantastic DLC, very fun and memorable quests, characters, and set pieces. The Borderlands humor made me laugh many times, and the amount of content was solid. Sure, I got all the DLC included in the GOTY edition, so mayhaps it's not worth $10 alone. But purely going on quality, not price, this DLC is totally awesome and more interesting than regular Borderlands. Score of 9 since itTotally fantastic DLC, very fun and memorable quests, characters, and set pieces. The Borderlands humor made me laugh many times, and the amount of content was solid. Sure, I got all the DLC included in the GOTY edition, so mayhaps it's not worth $10 alone. But purely going on quality, not price, this DLC is totally awesome and more interesting than regular Borderlands. Score of 9 since it improves on the original game's score of 8. Expand
  7. HoseDosCabrones
    Dec 21, 2009
    8
    As it goes it's pretty good - no new weapons or anything, but new areas, new quests and so on aren't bad for what in the UK is the cost of a large kebab. Notwithstanding the whining of those who tihink everything should be free, if you liked Borderlands and wanted more single player action then buy this, you won't even miss the £6.50.
  8. ZachB
    Dec 18, 2009
    7
    It was a good DLC. The gameplay is a little different than the regular game. It felt more like if I was playing L4D, but better than L4D. The bosses are fairly easy, but that's only because I have good guns and items. There is 1 Claptrap near the end that gives a SDU (i think its what there called) bringing your max items to 45 instead or 42. Aside from that, there is nothing much to It was a good DLC. The gameplay is a little different than the regular game. It felt more like if I was playing L4D, but better than L4D. The bosses are fairly easy, but that's only because I have good guns and items. There is 1 Claptrap near the end that gives a SDU (i think its what there called) bringing your max items to 45 instead or 42. Aside from that, there is nothing much to gain item-wise. I did find an orange shotgun but it wasn't that good. The end fight seems a little weak, not really what I expected. But still, for 10$, this is a very big game. The graphics and the feeling they placed feels amasing. I was playing at 3am and I was scared sometimes to be attacked in my back. I look forward to the next DLC. Expand
  9. TylerS
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    I was very impressed with the gameplay and cooperative this DLC included. It gave a wide variety of missions and such for the players to do.
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    7
    Again Borderlands offers unique dark coming style graphics with some great tongue-in-cheek humour in this add-on all about zombies. For some unknown reason I always find it satisfying to turn the undead into the permanently dead. It was a nice touch when shooting a leg out from a zombie it would fall to the ground but continue to crawl toward you. Dr. Ned was lacking in a number of waysAgain Borderlands offers unique dark coming style graphics with some great tongue-in-cheek humour in this add-on all about zombies. For some unknown reason I always find it satisfying to turn the undead into the permanently dead. It was a nice touch when shooting a leg out from a zombie it would fall to the ground but continue to crawl toward you. Dr. Ned was lacking in a number of ways though: no addition to the skill trees, no new weapons at all, and the foes although numerous were incredibly easy to kill for the most part. After a while it became a little monotonous having to re-kill plagues of zombies in a zone that you already cleared because after a mission hand-in you were required to traverse that zone again to get to another zone on the other side. That along with the fact that there are no instant travel points or vehicles made getting around a little tiresome after a while. For an inexpensive add-on Dr. Ned does offer some great moments and is definitely worth picking up if you enjoyed Borderlands. Expand
  11. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    Out of the 4 DLC's for Borderlands, this is by far is the most original, fun and atmospheric. Even though this expansion is very dark, gloomy and horror-oriented, the cartoonish humor and style of Borderlands is still there.
  12. Aug 26, 2011
    7
    No, it's not very challenging - But you're probably not playing Borderlands for the challenge. It's got easily exploitable AI - You play Borderlands for the story, the atmosphere, the humor, and to shoot incredibly cool weapons and large quantities of enemies. Zombie Island of Dr. Ned mixes up the scene, has some great pop culture references, and provides another reason to fire upNo, it's not very challenging - But you're probably not playing Borderlands for the challenge. It's got easily exploitable AI - You play Borderlands for the story, the atmosphere, the humor, and to shoot incredibly cool weapons and large quantities of enemies. Zombie Island of Dr. Ned mixes up the scene, has some great pop culture references, and provides another reason to fire up Borderlands. (Note - Once they scaled this to be level appropriate, I feel it became much better, one of the huge keys.) So ZIoDN is a nice bite size chunk of Borderlands, with enough different to keep it interesting. Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    Very enjoyable for the first few hours then really starts to get repetitive once you realize that you will be facing the exact same enemies for the entire DLC. The story and environment are very well done and the new quests are interesting as well. It's a good DLC, especially if you're a fan of zombie games.
  14. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    The first ever Borderlands add-on delivered decidely different gameplay to the base game, though burying a player in hordes of zombies is nothing new to the genre. New quests, weapons and enemies are mired by the complete lack of fast-travel points anywhere on the Zombie Island, forcing you to hike the long way between quests.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. At $10 or whatever that translates to in Microsoft fun money, you're looking at at least another eight hours of gameplay (maybe more if you don't work on the brain-hunting missions while doing all the other ones). At that price, Zombie Island just may be the perfect place for your next vacation, and for your next level up too.
  2. 100
    In releasing this DLC, Gearbox and 2K have done what seems to be so difficult for other studios: drop a well designed, value laden expansion pack in a timely manner.
  3. 80
    Considering the strength of the gameplay formula and the fact that it's still fairly soon after the main game's release, what's presented here -- more things to kill and more reasons to laugh while doing so -- is welcome.