Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Downloadable Content) The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is an add-on pack for Borderlands with new enemy types, new missions, and new ... surprises. The Jakobs Corporation would like to invite you to experience the splendor of a corporate owned small town known as Jakobs Cove. Any rumors you may have heard about the "undead" walking our streets are completely preposterous and we officially deny them all. If those rumors turn out to be true simply purchase a firearm from the conveniently located Jakobs Brand Vending Machines and aim for the head. Also, would you mind saving our employees? (Non-union only please). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 100
    In releasing this DLC, Gearbox and 2K have done what seems to be so difficult for other studios: drop a well designed, value laden expansion pack in a timely manner.
  2. At $10 or whatever that translates to in Microsoft fun money, you're looking at at least another eight hours of gameplay (maybe more if you don't work on the brain-hunting missions while doing all the other ones). At that price, Zombie Island just may be the perfect place for your next vacation, and for your next level up too.
  3. The idea of mixing elements of role playing games and first person shooters with Diablo style item hunting might seem absurd at first, but Borderlands proves that such unique combination can actually work. The two DLC packs, The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned and Mad Maxxi’s Underdome Riot, expand the Borderlands experience further, but in their own different ways. The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is a story-driven adventure that, as the name suggests, involves a lot of zombie shooting, whereas Mad Moxxi’s Underdome Riot concentrates on multiplayer and arena battles. Both are good in their own right, but Ned’s Zombie Island offers more fun moments and bang for your buck. [Feb 2010]
  4. A deadly good time. [Apr 2010, p.88]
  5. 80
    Considering the strength of the gameplay formula and the fact that it's still fairly soon after the main game's release, what's presented here -- more things to kill and more reasons to laugh while doing so -- is welcome.
  6. A perfectly pitched horror-themed add-on for Borderlands, but lacking the essential undead magic. [Mar 2010, p.102]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. DanielV.
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    A great addition to Borderlands. Dark, eerie, and an overwhelming good time to be had. It sets a great mood, and I loved every minute of it. Get it on Steam while its $6! Expand
  2. JasonB
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    For only $10 this is one of the best DLC I have ever purchased. I was hesitant at first as well hey it's $10 and usually DLC is not that interesting or worth the money. This time around however I was amazed at how well Gearbox executed this, and tied it into the storyline of borderlands (what a neat intro!). Game play it self is exactly like the main game, however this quest is definately designed for team play as zombies sneak up on you! I think the only other key concept to remember here is that this is DLC for higher level characters, if you are level 35 or below, forget about it! Great addition to the game for only $10. Good job Gearbox and if the next DLC is as good as this one we will be hooked on Borderlands for quite some time! Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Totally fantastic DLC, very fun and memorable quests, characters, and set pieces. The Borderlands humor made me laugh many times, and the amount of content was solid. Sure, I got all the DLC included in the GOTY edition, so mayhaps it's not worth $10 alone. But purely going on quality, not price, this DLC is totally awesome and more interesting than regular Borderlands. Score of 9 since it improves on the original game's score of 8. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2011
    7
    Again Borderlands offers unique dark coming style graphics with some great tongue-in-cheek humour in this add-on all about zombies. For some unknown reason I always find it satisfying to turn the undead into the permanently dead. It was a nice touch when shooting a leg out from a zombie it would fall to the ground but continue to crawl toward you. Dr. Ned was lacking in a number of ways though: no addition to the skill trees, no new weapons at all, and the foes although numerous were incredibly easy to kill for the most part. After a while it became a little monotonous having to re-kill plagues of zombies in a zone that you already cleared because after a mission hand-in you were required to traverse that zone again to get to another zone on the other side. That along with the fact that there are no instant travel points or vehicles made getting around a little tiresome after a while. For an inexpensive add-on Dr. Ned does offer some great moments and is definitely worth picking up if you enjoyed Borderlands. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    Very enjoyable for the first few hours then really starts to get repetitive once you realize that you will be facing the exact same enemies for the entire DLC. The story and environment are very well done and the new quests are interesting as well. It's a good DLC, especially if you're a fan of zombie games. Collapse
  6. Aug 26, 2011
    7
    No, it's not very challenging - But you're probably not playing Borderlands for the challenge. It's got easily exploitable AI - You play Borderlands for the story, the atmosphere, the humor, and to shoot incredibly cool weapons and large quantities of enemies. Zombie Island of Dr. Ned mixes up the scene, has some great pop culture references, and provides another reason to fire up Borderlands. (Note - Once they scaled this to be level appropriate, I feel it became much better, one of the huge keys.) So ZIoDN is a nice bite size chunk of Borderlands, with enough different to keep it interesting. Expand
  7. RobS.
    Dec 12, 2009
    2
    I'm pretty disappointed with the new DLC, I finished it with Corey last night even though we only played for an hour as he was quite a ways into it. The zombies were less than exciting, the scenery was well done but the whole of it is just murky and dark and pretty boring. The damage that the zombies inflicted was minimal at best with a level 50 character. Head shots caused critical damage and death to the point of very possible one shotting the zombies with an effective weapon. The bosses that ended each sequence were light hearted at best, at the end of the DLC it just ends. The gun boxes are far and few between and obviously placed and didn't include anything special. I think I was knocked down twice the entire time we played and never really felt "in trouble" while battling any of the zombies. It was more of a run through and shoot type setting where you didn't even feel like the zombies were dangerous, nor could they remotely damage you, to the point of no return. I'm absolutely pissed that I had to pay money for this poorly put together add-on. This should have been a free release. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews