Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1331 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnP
    Apr 16, 2010
    7
    Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything that npcs says, would be better if all of them talks to you like the Guardian Angel. -Better Quests, would be nice too. -And dedicated servers maybe? Expand
  2. BinaryClock
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel very dizzy and disorientated. I looked in the settings where I may change the FOV setting, but there was none. The settings looked very limited and this is when the red flags started to go up for me. The game itself feels like every other shooter. Graphics are sub-par for a PC release for end of 2009, but still rather good and the art style is neat. The sound effects are pretty good, and I love how they introduce the characters. There has been quite a bit of thought into the characters and their personalities which makes the world a very interesting one to explore. The questing system is odd with it's big betters for your quest description and you need to use page up and page down to scroll through the quest description if it doesn't all fit on the screen, which is most quests. This is obviously due to a sloppy, non-thought-out port from a console version. Overall it is these type of things that are an insult to the PC gaming world. We don't need or want a 96pt font and pageup/pagedown quest interface. It may be a small thing, but adding mouse scroll function goes along way. The sound selection is original and done quite well, however I found it annoying because it would come on at odd times during a fight so I ended up turning it down to 30% of its normal volume. Overall, it seems like it has potential in the console, but when PC users has more in depth feeling games with better graphics and interfaces, it's going to be a hard sell. 7/10 because it's a great game, but for PC it didn't really impress me with the lack of settings/options, and overall feel of the interface and game. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    5
    Disappointment. I've played this game with great expectations, due to friends feedback and online reviews. In the beginning is funny to play, but then it become boring and repetitive. The plot is banal and bad narrated and seems generally only a mere trick to push you to play it. I've abandoned it after 15 hours, because I've read that it takes 25-30 hours.
  4. May 17, 2013
    5
    One of the game I really wanted to like but eventually gave up on halfway through. While it has some originality and appeal, the game-play is highly repetitive to the point of being a boring grind. Them 'RPG element' is half-baked at best and while it does boast a lot of guns, you soon realise that all are just minor variations of a theme and are randomly generated. Also the auto respawnOne of the game I really wanted to like but eventually gave up on halfway through. While it has some originality and appeal, the game-play is highly repetitive to the point of being a boring grind. Them 'RPG element' is half-baked at best and while it does boast a lot of guns, you soon realise that all are just minor variations of a theme and are randomly generated. Also the auto respawn of enemies in cleared areas soon becomes very tedious. Perhaps this would be of more interest in multiplayer. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    When I first started playing this, it seemed like Fallout 3 but more cartoony to me. But pretty much everything other than the environment was different. I found the main quest quite fun, but once I got to the side quests, it started to get boring because one after another, it was either kill this guy, or kill this guy and bring back this item to me. And it kept getting boringer angWhen I first started playing this, it seemed like Fallout 3 but more cartoony to me. But pretty much everything other than the environment was different. I found the main quest quite fun, but once I got to the side quests, it started to get boring because one after another, it was either kill this guy, or kill this guy and bring back this item to me. And it kept getting boringer ang boringer until I couldn't take it more and just totally stopped. I found the game enjoyable, but it just got old after the main quest. Overall, if you like just playing the game's main quest or just enjoy repetitive side quests, then you would probably enjoy this game. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    While the music and cel-shading graphics are top notch, the gameplay itself is nothing new (it's a sci-fi version of Diablo from first person) and the ending is pathetic. Not to mention the game was hideously buggy on release.
  7. May 18, 2013
    6
    If I had to say anything about this game, I would say meh. That's exactly what this game makes me feel around every corner. For the first few hours, you will be fighting nothing but bandits and skags (dogs) and the only difference is one dog would run at you while the other would jump at you, then breathe fire at you. The enemies take too much damage, even for an RPG, It would make moreIf I had to say anything about this game, I would say meh. That's exactly what this game makes me feel around every corner. For the first few hours, you will be fighting nothing but bandits and skags (dogs) and the only difference is one dog would run at you while the other would jump at you, then breathe fire at you. The enemies take too much damage, even for an RPG, It would make more sense for a pistol to kill in one clip if its equally leveled with the bandit than it taking like 7 clips. The elemental guns are okay idea, not properly implemented. Some normal bandits will carry them, and when you are fighting a group of them then suddenly one pulls you a fire gun, then you start taking super high damage...it can get a little cheap when you die. Which brings me to my next problem: When you die in borderlands you will go into this mode where you are on your knees and have to kill another enemy to get your "second wind" When down, you cannot aim down the sites. That sounds great on paper, but now when I'm taking too many hits I just almost kill an enemy so when I go down I can get right back up with half health. The 100,000+ guns are just re textures of the same 20-35 guns, with the occasional effect added on to it. Expand
  8. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    A boring, shallow experience that is only made tolerable if you play it with friends, online. If my group is not online, I don't even bother running it. The kind of pedestrian thing like Diablo, World of Warcraft and such.
  9. LeahR
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping than sniper rifles...huh?; the special abilities of two classes are extremely useful, while the other two are mostly useless; repetitive quests and enemies; etc.), but the slick art direction, tight FPS gameplay, ridiculous diversity of loot, and the murderous mayhem of playing co-op push this title up to a respectable score. More, please, Gearbox! Expand
  10. Jonathan
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun -co-op is challenging and well based the bad -getting into games for co-op is hard -the requirements to run the game let alone server make the online version very choppy unless you got the best of the best to host the game -poor item add in(if you have a new gun you don't know how it really compares to your last gun or bomb mod or class mod due to no stats change in the game) - multipule problems with the game in many spots such as connecting, some quest pointers, menus are hard to use) the Ugly This game is alot of fun if the cards fall right for you but horrible if they don't. first person isn't as fun as co-op so beware. Expand
  11. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Borderlands is a tricky game to nail. When I was first playing it - I was loving it. The inventive look, feel, combination of diablo and halo, the style, the humor. Even while playing the game for extended lengths I felt so incredibly comfortable mindlessly ticking off quests and collecting loot. It's a very simple and primal game. Looking back on borderlands leaves less of an impressionBorderlands is a tricky game to nail. When I was first playing it - I was loving it. The inventive look, feel, combination of diablo and halo, the style, the humor. Even while playing the game for extended lengths I felt so incredibly comfortable mindlessly ticking off quests and collecting loot. It's a very simple and primal game. Looking back on borderlands leaves less of an impression than actually playing it however. The game has a kind of emptiness to it. A void that leaves no impression. For me emotions leave the strongest memories (I don't know if it's just me?) and the generic nature of borderlands story and quests makes the game feel a lot like high powered junk food. You enjoy it while you are munching on the fat and sugar - you feel kind of depressed and regretful after. My time in borderlands was fun - however fun itself is not exactly 'meaningful' in the same way discovering a talking dog in skyrim was, or experiencing a betrayal in the witcher 2, or choosing between destroying a colony or saving it in mass effect. If borderlands had more meaningful quests and a story - it might have left a mark. A fondness. However I can't give a game a 9/10 or a 8/10 if it simply fills my time, nomatter how mindlessly entertaining that filling was. I need something more. I hope borderlands 2 finds more of a compromise. Expand
  12. GregB
    Jan 4, 2010
    6
    A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when you shoot them, not responding to events around them, and only having 1-2 lines before repeating what they said. I played through about level 30 before becoming absolutely bored of the grind-ish feel to the game so I tried some multiplayer. While I expected greatness, it ended up feeling the exact same, except, with another human present. Maybe if you had four very good friends playing and you all made jokes and fooled around it would be fun, but that isn't really relevant to the game. You can do that with any game. While it looked promising, it failed to deliver the FPS/RPG I had been waiting for due to oversimplification of the RPG elements and a general grindfest feel to the FPS. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    "Borderlands" is a game that is more of a FPS than RPG. The graphics aren't the best, but it's solid to entertain your eye. The missions are too repetitive and monotonous, which deducts the value of RPG. The variety of weapons and its uses, however, was the star of this game. There are MILLIONS of weapons that range from a pistol to a sniper. They all have diverse weapon stats, which is"Borderlands" is a game that is more of a FPS than RPG. The graphics aren't the best, but it's solid to entertain your eye. The missions are too repetitive and monotonous, which deducts the value of RPG. The variety of weapons and its uses, however, was the star of this game. There are MILLIONS of weapons that range from a pistol to a sniper. They all have diverse weapon stats, which is very fascinating and awesome. Overall not the best product of a RPG+FPS game that can be made, but enjoyable. Expand
  14. GordonF
    Jan 11, 2010
    6
    this is a release that console gamers can lay full claim to and i'll be glad to give it to them. the idea is fantastic - rpg leveling with great sounding & looking guns, lots of ammo and enemies to unload on, but it really becomes a grind after the first 2 hours or so. I don't even bother to read or appreciate the npcs thereafter anymore because there isn't any character this is a release that console gamers can lay full claim to and i'll be glad to give it to them. the idea is fantastic - rpg leveling with great sounding & looking guns, lots of ammo and enemies to unload on, but it really becomes a grind after the first 2 hours or so. I don't even bother to read or appreciate the npcs thereafter anymore because there isn't any character development in it. the kind of graphics used only works for Team Fortress 2, after a while it actually looks quite childish to me and i'm somewhat annoyed that the graphical scaling doesn't allow for higher settings to utilize my hardware. All that is fine, but biggest sign that it's a console game isn't the somewhat substandard graphics, it's the shitty implementation of controls and multiplayer! I actually had to press the "Page Up/Down" button to scroll through text in the game, and the damned multiplayer doesn't work by default, i actually had to go google for solutions. Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have this really bad habit of writing reviews really late in the game. I suppose I gotta do Borderlands since its sequel is coming up soon. Now, Borderlands. This is a fantastic game until about level 25. There are many things this game did right to start off with. You immediately pick up its visual style. The cell-shaded look they go for here is awesome, it looks like you're playing a graphic novel of sorts. Secondly, they thrust you into this foreign world without much plot to go on except some hints about a treasure buried somewhere there. It's all very intriguing, and I loved it. It goes downhill from there unfortunately. The starting zone is great, but once you move on to some of the later areas, for some reason they just didn't click for me. Some of the later level areas especially got really drab and monotonous, and getting around was a chore, since you get the World of Warcraft wading-through-mountains-of-trash-mobs syndrome. Here's where I'm gonna get really spoilerish, not that it matters since this is a 3-year-old game anyways. The final boss completely disappoints. They set up the entire game getting you to anticipate this Vault they keep talking about with its treasures and such. You beat the final boss and you don't get anything. You never open the vault, you don't don anything with it. You don't even get a cool weapon for beating the final boss. It just ends. All you can do is go back and start the game over to try and hit level cap on a second playthrough. And they didn't even incorporate that into the story well. They hinted a couple time throughout the story about a bit of time travel and an enormous wink when your bus driver at the beginning says "I'm sure we'll be doing this all over again really soon." But instead of incorporating that restart into the story, it's just kinda there. So I guess if you like a cool graphical style and some cool FPS/RPG hybrid stuff, then this game is pretty good. The DLC added some interesting adventure as well, but for me, I really liked all that stuff, but in the end it just wasn't enough to get this above a "good" rating. It is definitely still worth trying if you haven't played it. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    Some people didn't like this game. I can respect that. It is, at the core, a traditional and simplified Action-RPG game. The change to first-person bring some new twists, but a bit more issues than benefits.
    Firstly, long-walks in the desert are quite boring, but required. The game, due to the immense amount of guns and details, opted to reuse areas repeatedly, putting more missions in
    Some people didn't like this game. I can respect that. It is, at the core, a traditional and simplified Action-RPG game. The change to first-person bring some new twists, but a bit more issues than benefits.
    Firstly, long-walks in the desert are quite boring, but required. The game, due to the immense amount of guns and details, opted to reuse areas repeatedly, putting more missions in areas you previously completed. This wouldn't be so bad if travel between areas wasn't so long and boring. Dealing with the long clicky-walks in Diablo 2 isn't so bad when you're young and have time to waste, but this gets a bit old.
    Speaking of tiresome, the entire scripted tutorial intro system gets old IMMEDIATELY. These videos and sequences cannot be skipped, and thus you are punished by wasting several minutes doing basics and standing around waiting for the game to begin. Sequences can be good to add story, but ASK the player if they want to sit and watch them again on the next playthrough.
    Now, onto this 'RPG'. Most of the role-playing is playing a specific class. This game was clearly intended for co-op, and as such the single-player is a bit weak. However, they decided to throw in a load of story dialog and pop-up dialogs for missions, and as such the first playthrough can feel very overwhelming. Trust me, you aren't playing this for the story. Just let it pass. The leveling system is mostly in building gun expertise, but allows some stat improvements. However, classes have 1 ability. Not 'pick one from X number', ONE SINGLE ability. You can adjust the effects by getting items and skill points, but it's always the same skill. Leveling is slightly controlled by reducing XP gains from killing weaker enemies and killing them in easy ways (vehicles). Grinding becomes less effective, and thus pushes you to go forwards in the game, but enemies continue to spawn in every location forever. Even if you stay near their spawn points, given a few minutes, they will come back. It's ridiculous killing a spawn camp 3 times in a single mission, especially when they aren't worth much points but they still attack and annoy you. And then they don't reward ammo as much when they are easier, again punishing you for not rushing through areas and completing missions faster than enemies can respawn.
    What you DO get in this game is guns, gore, and addictive loot like most ARPGs. There are many areas to be improved, but the game is good fun with friends. Duels work better than other ARPGs, but Tank seems to be the best. Due to the lack of gun variety and skill options, most classes play similar, and you really don't have much reason to play the game multiple times. If you want RPG, go with Fallout. If you want loot, TQ, Grim Dawn, and even Hellgate London are good options. If you want a game to share with friends and combine all this, honestly look now to Borderlands 2 and be patient. I hope it fixes the issues of the first game.
    Expand
  17. JamesL
    Jan 12, 2010
    6
    This game is ok, except for some major balance issues. I have found random things in boxes and crates that stack on your shields that you can repeatedly drop and pick up to gain hp and shields. I didn't know this but now i just noticed my hp is around 1000000. These things add money and are random finds. I loved everything about this except for that. Overall, this is an ok game.
  18. Aug 25, 2010
    7
    Pretty good game. Mildly enjoyable solo, quite fun with 3 friends. Weapon management is cumbersome, trying to decide what to keep/sell, with not a lot of inventory space I feel like most of my game time was spent looking through lists of weapon's stats.
  19. May 2, 2011
    6
    Shooting bandits with fire, shock, acid, blasts is fun. I'll give that to Gearbox. Shooting the same bandits over and over and over no matter where u are or what level u are gets old. And the 'story' is an obvious last minute bolt-on for a mediocre repetitive shooter. The npcs have absolutely no character -- they dont even every move! They coudnt even manage to get the 'guide' intoShooting bandits with fire, shock, acid, blasts is fun. I'll give that to Gearbox. Shooting the same bandits over and over and over no matter where u are or what level u are gets old. And the 'story' is an obvious last minute bolt-on for a mediocre repetitive shooter. The npcs have absolutely no character -- they dont even every move! They coudnt even manage to get the 'guide' into the game - -she's just an overlay! The only reason i rated this above 5 is that i bought it for $20. Thats about all it was worth. Expand
  20. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    I think it's a fairly enjoyable game when playing with friends. It's quite reminiscent of an arcade shooter, but it's executed well and has some interesting RPG elements to it. Some of the quests are fun and interesting, some are boring, repetitive quests that you would expect. I don't really like the loot system, the online lobby system is absolutely terrible, there are a lot of bugs, andI think it's a fairly enjoyable game when playing with friends. It's quite reminiscent of an arcade shooter, but it's executed well and has some interesting RPG elements to it. Some of the quests are fun and interesting, some are boring, repetitive quests that you would expect. I don't really like the loot system, the online lobby system is absolutely terrible, there are a lot of bugs, and it gets awfully repetitive at times. But at the end of the day it's a fun game to play when you have time to get your friends together. Expand
  21. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    Compatibility issues. Compatibility issues? Really? Borderlands was an interesting, albeit slow paced experience, from what I've played. Then, shortly after updating cpu drivers(as one should regularly), TADAAAA! "Borderlands has stopped Working" Now, this is not an issue of files installed incorrectly due to a pirated copy, so all you white knights and internet police officers calm down.Compatibility issues. Compatibility issues? Really? Borderlands was an interesting, albeit slow paced experience, from what I've played. Then, shortly after updating cpu drivers(as one should regularly), TADAAAA! "Borderlands has stopped Working" Now, this is not an issue of files installed incorrectly due to a pirated copy, so all you white knights and internet police officers calm down. It's that the game surprisingly enough can only run at all using dx9, or setting affinity to one singular core with updated drivers. This is a very prominent problem among Steam users as well, who have not seen any response at all from Gearbox on the issue. Besides the obvious problems of the game not working though, the gameplay was painstaking. GO HERE. COLLECT THAT. SHOOT FOUR F*CKING PEOPLE. Mission Completed! And the setting. Grey grey grey grey gray brown grey light brown grey yellow gray grey rust gray grey grey. The graphics? For a game made quite some time ago it lags, even with sub-par graphics that it has on low or high alike. Sure, the cartoony feel to it is appealing for some, but aesthetically, it does not work. And customization of characters is limited. And 3 hours of gameplay gets you nowhere. NO. no no no no no. Go buy S.T.A.L.K.E.R., or Fallout 3. Just stay far, far, farrrrr away from this poorly made rpg regurgitation. Expand
  22. MiscHief
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    It really does have great potential, and it's fun killing stuff with friends for a while, but it's main shortcoming is how it is aimed for the console market, sloppy ported to PC for some extra cash. It is far too easy (to make it playable for someone playing on console with a gamepad I guess) I ran straight through the entire game and was like "...what ...this is it?" The story It really does have great potential, and it's fun killing stuff with friends for a while, but it's main shortcoming is how it is aimed for the console market, sloppy ported to PC for some extra cash. It is far too easy (to make it playable for someone playing on console with a gamepad I guess) I ran straight through the entire game and was like "...what ...this is it?" The story sucks - it completely fails to draw you in, repetitive missions. Also that its full of cheaters that run around with haxed huge inventories swiping all the loot if you host and allow people to join your game, again due to it being a poor console port, what was this "optimizing for PC" about again? I am sick of good games being ruined because every developer wants to milk money out of the console market and see PC as a secondary platform just for extra cash, and although I really enjoyed this game for a little while, I don't think It was worth the money I forked out for it, and I will think twice before buying from Gearbox again. But as I said it's not something new, a lot of developers are following this trend now, and the true good pc titles seem to be more and more rare. Expand
  23. Sep 25, 2012
    6
    I was lured by the beautiful graphics and the fantastic settings, only to realize halfay trough that this game is just an empty grindfest. It plays nice, the mechanics are fantastic, very well done game, but it was meant for co-operative play. Don't even try to play for the story, and I do not recommend solo mode either.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    5
    Borderland is not as ground-breaking as many people claim it to be. It's a combination of RPG and good 'ol fashion first person shooter(FPS). The only really new thing is the art style that borderlands utilizes, it's very unique and gives a nice look and feel to the game.

    This game wasn't originally made for the PC-market, but it was ported. However it's a fairly decent port, some of the
    Borderland is not as ground-breaking as many people claim it to be. It's a combination of RPG and good 'ol fashion first person shooter(FPS). The only really new thing is the art style that borderlands utilizes, it's very unique and gives a nice look and feel to the game.

    This game wasn't originally made for the PC-market, but it was ported. However it's a fairly decent port, some of the controls are objectionable, there are a couple of instances where you have to use your arrow keys to navigate through menus, something PC-gamers aren't very fond off. But in general it's no problems at all.

    The biggest problem with the fact that the game is ported, have to do with the game's difficulty.
    A direct effect of putting a console FPS game on a PC is that the game becomes ridiculously easy.
    The fact that the AI is incredibly dumb isn't making this less of a problem. The bots will continuously try to shoot you through objects, such as houses and metal walls. Some bosses I was able to take down by simply standing still, the final boss for instance.

    The class system is not very unique, not new in any way, shape or form. It saddens me that such potential got lost here. It doesn't really feel as if the classes make any particular difference whatsoever. Now one might argue that the ability to specialise(see spec), can counter weight this but in truth it doesn't. The classes is just a mare smoke and mirrors, there's nothing really special about the classes, maybe except for the soldier.

    The creeps look virtually identical throughout the entire game. You never get to see anything new.
    The same goes for weapons, there are pretty much 7 different kinds of weapons to chose from in the entirety of the game. The only thing being different is the stats, and sometimes the scope. That is artificial diversity as far as I'm concerned.
    The missions are also very similar, there are a few kinds of mission types(kill X of Y, collect X many Y etc.), but nothing above that. This makes for an extremely repetitive game, with almost no re-playability.

    On the other hand, there's a lot of good things with the game too. The story line is meagre but still bearable. The huge amount of randomly generated weapons makes looting a whole lot of fun.
    And to top it off, the networking worked superbly, no fuss at all.

    My conclusion is that this game is worthwhile playing if you got 2-3 friendly to play with and if you like repetitive games, with virtually no story attached to it.
    Expand
  25. Oct 26, 2011
    6
    I got this game because most reviews say it somehow combines FPS gameplay and RPG elements. However, the RPG elements in this game are nothing but improving your character's stats and mindless looting. It's essentially just a diablo game without even good story telling. the NPCs you interact with are mostly wooden and dull without any story behind or interesting personality. The game isI got this game because most reviews say it somehow combines FPS gameplay and RPG elements. However, the RPG elements in this game are nothing but improving your character's stats and mindless looting. It's essentially just a diablo game without even good story telling. the NPCs you interact with are mostly wooden and dull without any story behind or interesting personality. The game is also suffered from way too many fetch and simple killing quests which are pointless and tedious, and gives no immersion in the game world. The aspects of the game that I find fairly good are solid shooting mechanics and four distinct classes which gives you some fun time and replay values. The game provides tons of looting but I find it rewards the player so quick that you really can not feel any accomplishment. Comparing to Mass effect 2 and Deus Ex which perfectly integrate RPG story-telling and gameplay into a shooter based game, Borderlands just feels too un-inspired and bland. I seriously can not recommend this game to anyone, since it's just pure a waste of time. Expand
  26. DesmondL
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Good game, but not that very enjoying to play. The game is lack of storyline and the graphics is not that great. The co-op multilayer is kinda "cheating" to me, you can just use weak level to join higher level player, you only just wait the experience level from the higher level. I love the combination of FPS and RPG, but I think it not that enjoy to play.
  27. LauritsN
    Oct 31, 2009
    5
    As much as i see potential in this game, i just don't think it does a good enough job with the RPG element. Most of your skill ups are used in passive abilities, and therefore i find it to be too much of a FPS game with one special ability per class, that a real RPG.
  28. jackh
    Nov 1, 2009
    6
    This game looks very nice, has lots of guns and is pretty fun of course. But, there are a lot more problems with this game than you'd guess. First of all there are 2 types of games, one which ends once you complete the game, and one which doesn't end. This game ends once you complete the game, its quests are very repetitive and are all "Grind" quests. Even though you can replay This game looks very nice, has lots of guns and is pretty fun of course. But, there are a lot more problems with this game than you'd guess. First of all there are 2 types of games, one which ends once you complete the game, and one which doesn't end. This game ends once you complete the game, its quests are very repetitive and are all "Grind" quests. Even though you can replay the game in a harder mode, i just don't see any fun in it at all as you would only be Re-Grinding the boring quests you have already done before. However if this game had a big multiplayer setup like on Counter-Strike or Left 4 Dead it would definitely get a straight 10/10 because it would pretty much eliminate all of the problems which are current. So only buy this game if you have 3 more friends you would want to play with, it is not worth the money to play it for a few days on your own, complete it and then never look at it again. Expand
  29. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Average FPS which brings nothing new to the genre's table at all (apart from strange graphics). The useless ability count is quite high and I've already forgotten the reasons why I was going around shooting stuff. Some of the weapons are fun to use and sniping is enjoyable but it usually is. There is nothing in this game that makes it stand out from the crowd and I would only get it ifAverage FPS which brings nothing new to the genre's table at all (apart from strange graphics). The useless ability count is quite high and I've already forgotten the reasons why I was going around shooting stuff. Some of the weapons are fun to use and sniping is enjoyable but it usually is. There is nothing in this game that makes it stand out from the crowd and I would only get it if it's cheap or you have played all the others with higher scores. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    I was looking forward to Borderlands after reading previews and seeing the impressive artistic design and while I wasn't disappointed by the design & artwork the game play just didn't really strike a chord with me. It was far too repetitive and the overarching story was very loosely put together and a bit dull. I'm finding this more and more often with the plethora of open worldI was looking forward to Borderlands after reading previews and seeing the impressive artistic design and while I wasn't disappointed by the design & artwork the game play just didn't really strike a chord with me. It was far too repetitive and the overarching story was very loosely put together and a bit dull. I'm finding this more and more often with the plethora of open world explorable games being released, in my opinion the designers seem to be putting a bit too much focus on vast explorable worlds and not enough focus on an engaging story. I may be old fashioned but I'd much rather just have the illusion of a vast explorable world and be drawn into the story and challenging gameplay, rather than be somewhat blasé about the game and just aimlessly explore and complete numerous repetitive pointless missions. So if the idea of running around collecting 100's hundreds of mildly different weapons and aimlessly blasting the crap out of endless enemies in a large and beautifully designed world appeals to you then you will no doubt enjoy this game, but it wasn't for me. Expand
  31. Dec 25, 2011
    7
    A 4-person co-op FPS with RPG elements, in postapocaliptic-sf, Mad Max-like setting, with interesting, cell-shaded, sketchy graphics and nicely designed characters. It's main flaws are as follows: becomes too easy about halfway past the game, boring-ass when played alone, Knoxx is the only good DLC.
  32. May 26, 2011
    7
    RPG plus Shooter equals Borderlands. They are not kidding when they say this in the trailers.

    With virtually thousands of different stats on guns, there is hardly one of the same gun (despite the fact that they are the same gun). But here's the catch, you hardly get enough space to fit everything on the beginning levels of the game, which can leave you organizing your stuff like a neat
    RPG plus Shooter equals Borderlands. They are not kidding when they say this in the trailers.

    With virtually thousands of different stats on guns, there is hardly one of the same gun (despite the fact that they are the same gun). But here's the catch, you hardly get enough space to fit everything on the beginning levels of the game, which can leave you organizing your stuff like a neat freak. You spend half of the time buying/selling your stuff pretty much.

    But the aspect of RPG playing and shooting mechanics leaves this game a chance to be played.
    Expand
  33. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    Review By CDO............. PRO'S, Borderlands is without a doubt utterly revolutionary on their graphical uniqueness. But what catches your eyes is the way the comic style mirrors an almost indistinguishable reality, that slowly stops looking so comic style and merges into a state that you forget your playing comic artwork. The amount of customization is purely jaw dropping, from an almostReview By CDO............. PRO'S, Borderlands is without a doubt utterly revolutionary on their graphical uniqueness. But what catches your eyes is the way the comic style mirrors an almost indistinguishable reality, that slowly stops looking so comic style and merges into a state that you forget your playing comic artwork. The amount of customization is purely jaw dropping, from an almost limitless amount of different weaponry. You just keep finding that one gun that clearly rivals the one in your possession. Shields, mods, revolvers, sniper rifles, machine guns and pistols, rocket launchers, grenades, must I go on. The scale of items is so enormous and likable to the extent you become so addicted at finding the next weapon, that you don't really care about a bandit shooting you in the back of the head. As you gaze at a luminous and vibrant green revolver.. To explore it all and do the DLC's you are looking at about 44 hours of game-play, so short is not in the equation and I love it because of that. You can play several different characters, all with their unique abilities and because of the unique characters it gives the game a lot of replay-ability. CONS- Borderlands has a lot going for it, and a lot pulling it back. First off, most notable is the major glitches and I mean major. Bounty boards are scattered throughout Borderlands for you to make money and gain experience, but their are some bounty boards that appear on your map that just aren't their, actually no where. It's just like someone decide to put a town on a map and you get to the spot only to discover a boulder. This is borderlands... During mission like scavenging for parts for a machine gun, it will tell you that a piece is in a certain spot, the only problem is this. Lets say you pick up a different piece to the machine gun, instead of the one highlighted, at this point the one highlighted will disappear or it will appear on your map as if it is their, but it wont be. Now pretty much you have to scavenge the area in hopes in finding the piece wherever it now has been randomized. This can be difficult, when you just keep wanting to go where the arrow is pointing and knowing its not their. Missions that involved with a man named scooter is the most major problem in the game, if for some reason you do not help him right away like I did, you will return not able to talk to him. Yet the robot through the rest of game will harass you that scooter needs you for a little something something and will not drop it until 20 hours later when you beat the game. Yet no matter how many times you stop at scooters place, the robot will not stop telling you that he needs your help! Some glitches and hiccups in the game that I thought would have been patched, considering the game has been out for three years. Didn't this company look at their own map in their own game and go this isn't right. Or how about allowing the player to make a beacon on their map would be map making 401 for me. Borderlands gets repetitive, but really minor with all the gun fights. CONCLUSION- Borderlands by 2k is a remarkable start to a franchise that I look further into investing my precious hours. But the glitches are a shame to how long the game has been out, this should have been a problem addressed and fixed as soon as possible. But to leave it go after 3 years just because your developing the sequel is irresponsible. Nonetheless i had a lot of fun, awesome boss fights and killer weapons create a trifector of no nonsense yes I want more attitude. Borderlands for $5 dollars is a steal and I would have paid $40 for it, bottom line, it gets a 7.5 out of 11 for CD0...... Expand
  34. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    Borderlands tries to be a great game, and it comes pretty close. The game creates a whole world for people to explore, its what I consider to be semi-open world. There are lots of places to explorer, but those places revolve around some kind of quest. As hard as Borderlands tries, there are still some bugs and issues, such as the mic being always on in multiplayer. Why couldn't theBorderlands tries to be a great game, and it comes pretty close. The game creates a whole world for people to explore, its what I consider to be semi-open world. There are lots of places to explorer, but those places revolve around some kind of quest. As hard as Borderlands tries, there are still some bugs and issues, such as the mic being always on in multiplayer. Why couldn't the developers make the mic push to talk like other games? The weapons seem underpowered at times. Why does it take several headshots to kill an enemy? Single player gets boring after awhile. If you want to get the most out of Borderlands, play some multiplayer with friends. The cars are a really nice feature - 1 person drives and another person gets to use the machine gun or rocket launcher. A wider range of enemies would have been nice, it just seems like I am killing the same types of enemies over and over. The graphics are a nice change. What I would have liked to see is a wider range of enemies, more NPCs, maybe dynamic weather of some kind. If you catch Borderlands on sale, I think its worth playing. Expand
  35. May 24, 2012
    7
    After the initial coop fun wears down you realize that the entire game is an insanely repetitive mmo styled shooter. However the first play-through is tolerable because of the interesting setting and ability to play with friends.
  36. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    Enjoyable game with a decent story and great look environment. Co-op is great and the overall game is good however weapons and quests get a bit repetitive as the game goes on.
  37. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Borderlands is a very funny coop first person shooter. It has a level system, looks like a comic, has an atmospheric environment and has tons of different weapons. But the story is uninteresting, you get a quest, do it, submit it and that's it. The enemies attack brainless and the environment is monotonous on time. Take a (or more) friend and have fun!
  38. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    This Review is for gamers who are looking for a fast game with some experience. First, to explain why I have given this game such a low score is based on what I could quickly complete. I am a gamer that buys used games and returns them in a week instead of buying games to keep. I heard that Borderlands was a great title and decided to look into it. This game's intro is very similar to thatThis Review is for gamers who are looking for a fast game with some experience. First, to explain why I have given this game such a low score is based on what I could quickly complete. I am a gamer that buys used games and returns them in a week instead of buying games to keep. I heard that Borderlands was a great title and decided to look into it. This game's intro is very similar to that of Fallout New Vegas. You are in the middle of the desert and need to do several grind missions in order to get to the juice of the campaign. After playing for about 2 hours and doing grind mission after grind mission, I attempted to purchase a weapon, and all of my money disappeared from my inventory but the weapon never showed up. Now, I know that was most likely just a game glitch, but for someone who hated Fallout New Vegas that is persevering a hard intro in order to get to what I have heard as such a good game, that piece was too much to handle. That is why my review is used as a warning. I don't want to rate this game so low with only 2 hours of actual gameplay, but I want people cautious about this game to see my review and be warned that the intro is very long. Expand
  39. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    Well, there not much to say about Borderlands: 50% FPS, 50% RPG: 100% fun! The storyline isn't very original, nothing special, BUT (!): the whole world was created with unbelievable lot of attention to detail and is filled with little easter eggs that makes you laugh every time. The personalities of the NPC 's are also unbelievable creative and versatile. The level design gets unilateralWell, there not much to say about Borderlands: 50% FPS, 50% RPG: 100% fun! The storyline isn't very original, nothing special, BUT (!): the whole world was created with unbelievable lot of attention to detail and is filled with little easter eggs that makes you laugh every time. The personalities of the NPC 's are also unbelievable creative and versatile. The level design gets unilateral after a while, which is due to the vegetation of Pandora, but you can avoid that by simply buying one of the DLC 's (like "The zombie island of doctor NED") which aren't very expensive and make the game a lot more varied. Expand
  40. pipelinecache
    Oct 30, 2009
    7
    Borderland is a fun but simple first person shooter. It's quite clear that Gearbox had the consoles in mind and didn't spend too much time on the PC version. The coop mode is fun to play with friends but any public hosted game will turn into a ninja loot chaos party as there's no such thing as round robin looting. You can of course play it offline in a single player mode Borderland is a fun but simple first person shooter. It's quite clear that Gearbox had the consoles in mind and didn't spend too much time on the PC version. The coop mode is fun to play with friends but any public hosted game will turn into a ninja loot chaos party as there's no such thing as round robin looting. You can of course play it offline in a single player mode but if that keeps you glued to your keyboard for long compared to the other FPS out there. Expand
  41. KenF
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    This game has all the trappings that made Blizzard's Diablo series a hit, and keeps all it's flaws. You'll enjoy your first playthrough on any of the games four classes, then likely lose interest in performing most side quests for your second, allowing you to realize there is really not much to this promising game.
  42. CaseyD.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    A 7.5 rating would be more appropriate. The concept of the game is great. The game itself tends to get a little repetitive, however. After about 3-4 hours of game play, everything seems like it has been done before. I would recommend this game, but not with a 50 dollar price tag. If we see a second Borderlands, lets hope for more content and not just more weapons.
  43. PeterO
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    It's okay, the millions of guns are fun, but you'll find a good one and use it for a long time. The plot wasn't great and the side quests are even more pointless. The online for the PC version is fucked because of the lack of dedicated servers, but i still go back to it now and then because the frantic combat and millions of guns do appeal to me in the least complex sense.
  44. CourtneyH
    Nov 2, 2009
    5
    This game was fun while it lasted but I as extremely disappointed how easy everything was. The end game was lack luster'ed and disappointing. Cool guns.... Not worth the money I spent on it.
  45. BTDRocketScience
    Nov 4, 2009
    7
    Nice game, art style is a plus; single player mode is ok, challenging when you are high level, co-op is very enjoyable, but it is repititive which makes it boring when you get your character to lvl 50. What I'm hoping for is they add new content - like new environments so that players wouldn't see the same setting time after time (barren land), and maybe players can get all Nice game, art style is a plus; single player mode is ok, challenging when you are high level, co-op is very enjoyable, but it is repititive which makes it boring when you get your character to lvl 50. What I'm hoping for is they add new content - like new environments so that players wouldn't see the same setting time after time (barren land), and maybe players can get all skills for all classes, more interactive npcs and player environment. Expand
  46. RichardS
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite distanced. Roland will taunt people after he's killed them which is stupid it is own right. The multiplayer portion would possibly work quite well if everything works properly to connect. Unfortunately the gun drop system makes it all too easy for everyone to become greedy and start walking over everyone elses shoes. Making it more of a grab-all game rather than a lovely multiplayer coop. The core gameplay is good and it's obvious that the developer Gearbox has learned and taken from many games over the years as it shows in the gameplay mechanics, and music. At times the music takes on a tone that is almost completely the same as some scores found in planescape torment. 7/10 Expand
  47. Jexter
    Oct 27, 2009
    7
    Style on this game does deserve 9 or even 10. It looks and plays well. I do like the art direction they went. The gameplay itself is not something I personally prefer. I was never fan of Diablo series. Borderlands is an action RPG that follows similar type of gameplay. So if that is your cup of tea, I would recommend trying this title out.
  48. AlexS
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    I got this game on steam, with 3 friends in a 4-pack, while the Canadian dollar was at a high, costing me only 35 bucks, half of what a brand new game usually is. I can count right now 11 people who I could play it with. It's a blast to play, the graphics are great, the environments are awesome, it has a great feel. But this is coming from someone who got it for a steal and has a I got this game on steam, with 3 friends in a 4-pack, while the Canadian dollar was at a high, costing me only 35 bucks, half of what a brand new game usually is. I can count right now 11 people who I could play it with. It's a blast to play, the graphics are great, the environments are awesome, it has a great feel. But this is coming from someone who got it for a steal and has a bunch of friends to play with. For someone who doesn't have a group of friends to play Borderlands with, or is about to buy it for more than 45 bucks Canadian (I guess around 40 USD), I say to you, pass. A list of my experiences thus far: -The AI is kinda lacking, it just doesn't do anything special or noteworthy like try to flank you, or run for cover. -The leveling is way too quick, I got to level 30 in three days of 2-3 hours a day. -The guns suffer a lot from what Diablo 2 weapons suffered from, and that is that when you find an amazing weapon, you will stick with it until you find another amazing weapon. Yeah, more than 17 million unique guns, 95% of which you'll leave on the ground or use to fatten your wallet. -Playing with anyone but your friends is usually out, because of how greedy people get over guns, and how eager they are to let you bleed out and die. -The ending is less than thrilling and pretty much makes no sense. -The first time the environments are definitely awesome the first time, but I could see myself getting bored of them after that. It's a good game, but I get the feeling that I only enjoy it because I am always with 3 good friends, and I didn't put much money into it, so I can feel alright about not playing it too much. In conclusion, what I am trying to say is buyer beware; if you have friends that you know will play with you, and you guys are getting this cheap, go for it, you'll like it, it really is new and refreshing. Otherwise, pass it for now. Wait for some DLC, or until it is cheaper, then consider it. Expand
  49. StevenI
    Oct 31, 2009
    7
    A game with a lot of potential, but potential is the key word. The PC version is a horrible port of a console game with limited support for everything has changed within the last 10 years of online gaming. To heavily market a game based on its online experience, only to provide an utterly shambolic system to provide it, is embarassing. They couldnt even be bothered to make the intial A game with a lot of potential, but potential is the key word. The PC version is a horrible port of a console game with limited support for everything has changed within the last 10 years of online gaming. To heavily market a game based on its online experience, only to provide an utterly shambolic system to provide it, is embarassing. They couldnt even be bothered to make the intial loading screens (necessary only for the console version) skippable. Expand
  50. JoeK
    Nov 17, 2009
    5
    I am very disappointed with the PC support of this game. It is obviously a rushed port of the console version, and lacks push to talk. There remain numerous bugs even after a 3 week late patch, which was expected at launch. The game itself is wonderful, skill and equipment progression are very well done. Combat is superb. If the PC support were there, I would have no reservations about I am very disappointed with the PC support of this game. It is obviously a rushed port of the console version, and lacks push to talk. There remain numerous bugs even after a 3 week late patch, which was expected at launch. The game itself is wonderful, skill and equipment progression are very well done. Combat is superb. If the PC support were there, I would have no reservations about this game, however, due to the lack of customer support from Gearbox, I will not be buying any DLC or future PC games from them. Expand
  51. AGuy
    Nov 24, 2009
    6
    It's a good game that I would give a higher score to, except the fact that it was released half-broken. Fun multi-player experience if you can get it working, which is hard because of the Dev's team amazingly boneheaded Idea to use gamespy. If you can get things working, and it doesnt break, you'll enjoy it a lot, otherwise...
  52. JoshQ
    Dec 13, 2009
    6
    Let's start by saying this game completely shies away from any sort of depth what so ever in order to appeal to the console gamers. It doesn't have the RPG elements of a great crossgenre game like System Shock 2, nor does it have 1/10 the storyline. Also, the game focuses more on the "grind" of RPGs like mass loot hunting and quest grinding than the good stuff like progression Let's start by saying this game completely shies away from any sort of depth what so ever in order to appeal to the console gamers. It doesn't have the RPG elements of a great crossgenre game like System Shock 2, nor does it have 1/10 the storyline. Also, the game focuses more on the "grind" of RPGs like mass loot hunting and quest grinding than the good stuff like progression and immersion. The devs brag about having so many guns, but in reality all guns of the same type feel very similar and it would be much better had there been just a few distinct guns of each type with a good, lengthy upgrade system. There's only one actual skill per class and the rest of the stuff is just stat modifiers. As for the shooting part of the game. It's what console gamers would die for, generic and run-n-gun styled. If you like that knock yourself out. Surprisingly the ballistics aren't terrible. Bullets do travel and there is some recoil/spread, but like the Modern Warfare series it's a generic arcade style shooter masked with some minor mechanic changes. To conclude the game is okay if you play with a friend and possibly not completely terrible solo, but its 100% catered to the casual moron. They took the dumbed down number crunching and grinding of an rpg and slapped it on a generic shooter with cell shaded graphics. The storyline is equally catered to people that hate thinking (console gamers... enough said.) The world has load screens, no big deal, but the actual mapping is just so boring and uninspired that it completely negates the makeshift openness of it. Expand
  53. themysteriousman
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    The multiplayer is awsome, coop is very cool and if it would only be a multiplayer/coop game, i would rate it an 9 for sure, even if its in cartoon, its in the game, its what made the game so i don't understand why people are complaining about that fact. But why not 9 ? i give the singleplayer a 5.... one word: boring its very very very repetitive, sometimes there is action and its The multiplayer is awsome, coop is very cool and if it would only be a multiplayer/coop game, i would rate it an 9 for sure, even if its in cartoon, its in the game, its what made the game so i don't understand why people are complaining about that fact. But why not 9 ? i give the singleplayer a 5.... one word: boring its very very very repetitive, sometimes there is action and its making the game fun.... Overall an deserved 7, if you like coop games, buy it Expand
  54. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    I recently purchased this game from the Steam Store, and the subsequently have purchased the DLC's. I really have enjoyed this game, as there are not many 4 player coop rpg games available. I like how you can seamlessly intertwine your single player game with a multiplayer game, but have a few gripes with how only the host can pick up new missions and if you are only 1 mission behind youI recently purchased this game from the Steam Store, and the subsequently have purchased the DLC's. I really have enjoyed this game, as there are not many 4 player coop rpg games available. I like how you can seamlessly intertwine your single player game with a multiplayer game, but have a few gripes with how only the host can pick up new missions and if you are only 1 mission behind you cannot pick up that mission in the hosts game and have to go back into your game to pick it up. It means that you can often go way out of sync unless you play with your friends all the time. There are some other things like how some of the mission counters ( 10/20 Shock Crystals ) only show up in the HOSTS screen and if you have completed a mission before it will show 20/20 for you and you have to keep asking the host how many are left etc. But.. as there are not many games like this available on the market, and I really like the artwork in the game I have really enjoyed it. Some of the mobs can also be a little bit repeatative and by the end I was quite fed up of fighting Bandits, Skags and Spider mobs.. over and over. Really like the game thou and cant wait to get stuck into the DLC. Expand
  55. Sep 19, 2010
    7
    The graphics are excellent and scales well to high-end pc specs. The controls are initiutive to most other PC first person shooters with some extra buttons for spells. Single player playthrough can be lonely but the world is huge with lots of exploration and achevements to unlock to keep oneself occupied. Mulitplayer cooperative is where the game shines, with the enemies getting tougherThe graphics are excellent and scales well to high-end pc specs. The controls are initiutive to most other PC first person shooters with some extra buttons for spells. Single player playthrough can be lonely but the world is huge with lots of exploration and achevements to unlock to keep oneself occupied. Mulitplayer cooperative is where the game shines, with the enemies getting tougher and a real sense of teamwork needed to kill some of the bosses and elite squads. The enemy reactions/animations to hits and their own attack animations are varied and nice, the tactical AI is lacking. Stealth is non-existent as all enemies will immediately know your location as soon as you fire a shot (even before it hits near them) so another poor AI feature. Most will simply dash in a linear fashion or choose very poor covering and are obvious to the hazardous barrels placed around them. The variety of items is epic and each new enemy kill is full of surprises, most are throw away or sold for money but some unique ones are fun to keep and mess around just from their looks and firing animations. Customizing equipment (as in suits) on each player is lacking and basically only shields can be changed, the best are usually the ones that heal over time, since trying to access healing items in the menu during a battle is costly time. The game is relatively easy since it tells you which missions and enemies are at your current level and which to avoid since your attacks will be useless and theirs will instant kill you. The player has more freedom in choosing this difficulty and many of the sidequests can be ignored or set asside for later. Driving the vehicles is a ton of fun and a very cheap way to kill some tough enemies early on though the you'll always have fun doing it. The story was great at first but ends in a not so grand way as maybe some would have wanted but still there are many funny and exciting moments to be had. Expand
  56. Ed1
    Dec 12, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is simply fun with tons of guns. The story is ok and the "hand-drawn" style graphics are refreshing amongst all games that try to be as realistic as possible. But it couldn't quite hold my attention, it got repetitive after a while. And also, but maybe that's just me, I got dizzy playing this game which I haven't experienced with an FPS since the days of Doom II.
  57. Jan 9, 2011
    7
    At first I didn't think I'd like this game, but when it went on sale I decided to give it a try. After all, some of my online friends were hounding me to get it and try it out, because they enjoyed it. I must say I did enjoy it more then I thought I would. Once you get past the cartoonish graphics, the game is actually quite fun to play. The game developers did a good job of giving youAt first I didn't think I'd like this game, but when it went on sale I decided to give it a try. After all, some of my online friends were hounding me to get it and try it out, because they enjoyed it. I must say I did enjoy it more then I thought I would. Once you get past the cartoonish graphics, the game is actually quite fun to play. The game developers did a good job of giving you the ability to get from point A to point B quickly. As the game progresses, you go from using vehicles to get around in, to using the transportation system to travel almost instantly from one area to the next. One thing I did find good about the game is the match-making and balancing. In many games of this type we end up with bored older players coming in and just killing new players, who end up quitting because of it. But the developers made it so that you can't harm another player unless the other player agrees to a duel. Consequently, you can start fresh with a new character and play with new players at almost any time. Also, they made it so that newer players can't cheat by having older players give them weapons. They did this by making it so that you have to reach a certain level in order to wield more powerful weapons. Another nice touch is that you can play the game all over again a second time around with your character on a more difficult setting. What with all the fun this game can be to play you would wonder why I give it only a 7 rating. I gave it a seven for this simple reason: Gamespy. For whatever silly reason they decided to put Borderlands on Gamespy, which totally and utterly sucks. Just how bad does it suck? Well really really bad. Lag is horrible in multiplayer unless you get a someone hosting the game close to you (I mean like from Ohio to Illinois close). I can play games hosted overseas through steam and experience little to no lag, and have a ping of around 200-300 max. In this game there is no way to see what you ping is, but it must be bad. All games are hosted locally, so you are at the mercy of the outgoing connection speed of the host computer, and if there internet goes down for a few moments you are done playing. Most of the games I tried joining, I couldn't join, and the ones I did join I ended up lagging out in. Once in awhile I would find a game that didn't lag, but when the person who started the game quit, everyone gets kicked back to the main menu and you have start your search for a good game all over again. For the most part, forget about using a mic. It seems that Gamespy cuts your audio off when you don't have a good enough connection (which is almost never), so everyone hears every other word. Me and my friends opened our steam chat and used it to talk over our mics and turned our in-game mics off. Steam worked perfectly transmitting our voices while Gamespy/Borderlands couldn't (go figure). All in all, the game is good, fun to play (even in single player mode), but with the connection issues and the decision to use crappy Gamespy, and otherwise great game has been ruined. I doubt it will last, and the community will die off. The game is already being sold at bargain prices. Hopefully if they make Borderlands 2 they'll use a better online service and hopefully setup some dedicated servers for it. Expand
  58. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    Borderlands has its pros and cons... First the graphics, Many people dislike this game because of its graphics. Well 2K made it this way on purpose and it goes with the game fine. The game is a FPS/RPG game, it did a good job in combining the two. The Shooting/Aiming controls are easy to use and give you a great gore reward when you kill people. There are like a million weapons (yet manyBorderlands has its pros and cons... First the graphics, Many people dislike this game because of its graphics. Well 2K made it this way on purpose and it goes with the game fine. The game is a FPS/RPG game, it did a good job in combining the two. The Shooting/Aiming controls are easy to use and give you a great gore reward when you kill people. There are like a million weapons (yet many of fairly similar). The Game has its cons though. First the Campaign, I felt it was boring I did like that the story line repeats after you Complete it the first time either. I feel the game would be more fun if it had an exploration aspect to it, like a bunch of random caves and buildings you could search and loot for unique weapons. The dialog is kind of cheesy. It seemed a lot of the time I was Repeating stuff i had done in the past. Ultamitally it was a good game, but could of been improved in my opinion. Expand
  59. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    Yes, dear Borderlands! This game is just funny and it's great positive. everythings is so.. modern and unpredictable. Shooting is satisfying, open world is charming and plot is weak - everything's on the right position.
  60. May 5, 2015
    7
    Time played: 115 Hours
    Achievements: 80 / 80
    Complete Review @ http://blurbarians.blogspot.pt/2015/05/borderlands.html#more — Some good humor in some spots in the game, especially in the Knoxx DLC. Wacky characters and some funny references. — It feels pretty satisfying to melt enemies and bosses with insane amounts of bullets. Ammo is abundant in the world, especially when you
    Time played: 115 Hours
    Achievements: 80 / 80

    Complete Review @ http://blurbarians.blogspot.pt/2015/05/borderlands.html#more

    — Some good humor in some spots in the game, especially in the Knoxx DLC. Wacky characters and some funny references.

    — It feels pretty satisfying to melt enemies and bosses with insane amounts of bullets. Ammo is abundant in the world, especially when you can cheat the RNG making it so you always get bullets for the weapon types you want. After a while, bullets become unnecessary if you use an Ammo Regeneration mod, making it less annoying since you don’t have to keep looting it.

    — Looting is this game’s major annoyance. Press a button to loot an item, and then repeat the process for each other item scattered on the ground. Certain enemies, like bosses, drop a ton of stuff, making it so you’ll spend most of your time in Pandora looking at the ground and looting. You can hold the loot button to execute an area loot, but the range is extremely short and you inventory is very small, meaning you’ll stop being able to loot items after half a dozen of these, at best.

    — The loot/weapon system is a mess. Weapons have a huge array of variable stats, including shooting speed, magazine ammo capacity, inventory ammo capacity, damage per bullet, bullet accuracy, bullet lag (I’ll come back to this one later) and elemental damage. The first time you play through the game, you obviously won’t have any idea of which elements are effective against each type of enemy. Making things worse, you can only equip four weapons at once (late game, 2 weapons early game), meaning you will also spend a lot of time swapping guns every time you enter a different area. No, you don’t get to use your favorite gun all of the time. It just doesn’t work. Also, seeing as your inventory is very small even after fully upgraded (by saving Claptraps) most of it will be filled with guns of various types and elements that you will need, making it so you have close to zero inventory space for loot and have to keep running back to vending machines to sell your crap. Loot rarity is also mostly non-functional, since, thanks to randomly assigned bonuses, it is possible for the crappiest low level weapon be stupidly good until 20 levels later, due to RNG.

    — Bullet lag. That’s right. Some genius at Gearbox thought it was a good idea to make each type of gun have a different bullet lag. If you shoot a medium distance object with a rifle, it will take way longer that it’s supposed to for the bullet to reach it. Even with a sniper, it’s near impossible to hit a non-stationary enemy at long distance. And forget about hitting moving targets with SMGs, unless you’re literally on their faces. What were they thinking, honestly.

    — Quick Travel is a blessing, but it’s not present in the Knoxx DLC, which by coincidence, has Kilometers of highways and makes you travel for a long time every time a mission asks you to go somewhere (very often). Also the missions tend to be repetitive and sometimes you have to kill every boss in an enemy base every time you get a mission to do anything in said base. Also, having to go through the base game twice and then going through all the DLCs to reach the level cap. Also, weird level sync where monsters are always 2-3 levels above you making them excessively hard to kill……

    — Heavy Texture popping, especially after loadings, collision detection problems, where a small rock or piece of metal on the floor will bring you to a grinding halt, which means certain death against most bosses.

    — Most achievements involve hours of mindless grinding and some are virtually impossible unless you use exploits or design flaws. And even then the Coliseum achievements take several hours of uninterrupted play.

    — Multiplayer scaling is weird, making every enemy have several times more health, meaning that unless you and the other players are always focusing fire, each individual enemy becomes near-impossible to kill, unless you have infinite ammo or an ammo regen mod.

    So there you have it. There’s no doubt the game has a lot of problems. I haven’t found time to start on Borderlands 2 yet, but I trust many of these issues are no longer present in the sequel. That being said it was a fairly poor first attempt taking into account that we’re talking about Gearbox. Buy at your own risk.
    Expand
  61. Mar 18, 2012
    7
    Nice concept with a really fun co-op part that can lead to some intense fights due to the difficulty of the game scaling with the number of players. Great for 2/3rds of the way with a tiresome final act.
  62. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    Pros: great guns, great graphics, multiplayer, arenas, dlc's, lots of action

    Cons: the storyline and missions are not engaging, the best guns are too hard to get (random system) without hacking.
  63. Apr 8, 2015
    5
    Great art work,
    Overall its Bland ,
    Reused , Boring feel of weapons , Over used enemy's, Boring skill trees, Borderlands is a FPS shooter with some RPG elements like,A skill tree for a few classes you can Choose from which all are pretty boring there ult is the only thing I liked and wish they had more like that instead of the terrible boring passives. You can also pick up junk
    Great art work,
    Overall its Bland ,
    Reused ,
    Boring feel of weapons ,
    Over used enemy's,
    Boring skill trees,

    Borderlands is a FPS shooter with some RPG elements like,A skill tree for a few classes you can Choose from which all are pretty boring there ult is the only thing I liked and wish they had more like that instead of the terrible boring passives. You can also pick up junk all the time that you just sell cause that's what most things drop. Its got some cool Comic Book art style that I haven't seen much of. Quite a bit of different weapons but none really have any thing cool about them there just your standard Sniper, Sub, Pistol, Rocket launcher with some stupid effects on them like fire to burn things with skin and others to take down shields trying to add depth to something just doesn't seem fun or meaning full the game play just ends up being mediocre and reused over and over. They should of spent more time on sound effects and feel of the weapons to drag you in more some of the gore is cool if your in to that which i wish there was way more. Overall feel is just boring after a few hours for me I ended up rushing threw the quests running past everything I could I was so sick of it and just wanted it to end.

    Beat in 16 hours
    Expand
  64. Oct 17, 2012
    7
    This game is like a dungeon crawler with guns and landscapes. Very RPG minded, but the action is very satisfying. Definitely more fun to play co-op, as the action can get a bit repetitive without somebody else in the mix to play strategies with. I would rate it higher, but the story line was so uninspired and convoluted, it actually took away from the game. They would have been betterThis game is like a dungeon crawler with guns and landscapes. Very RPG minded, but the action is very satisfying. Definitely more fun to play co-op, as the action can get a bit repetitive without somebody else in the mix to play strategies with. I would rate it higher, but the story line was so uninspired and convoluted, it actually took away from the game. They would have been better served not constantly barraging you with uninspired and cliche voice overs and keeping it simple. I just didn't feel the plot, regardless a fun game! Expand
  65. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Without a doubt, one of the best "Shopping Simulator" games ever made. Do you enjoy killing a bunch of things, picking up lots of "loot", then going to a shop to sell and buy approximately 4,678 times in the course of a 50+ hour gaming experience? Then this is the game for you. If, like myself, you would prefer to only kill one type of enemy about, oh, 800 times over, rather than 8,000Without a doubt, one of the best "Shopping Simulator" games ever made. Do you enjoy killing a bunch of things, picking up lots of "loot", then going to a shop to sell and buy approximately 4,678 times in the course of a 50+ hour gaming experience? Then this is the game for you. If, like myself, you would prefer to only kill one type of enemy about, oh, 800 times over, rather than 8,000 times over, the preposterously lengthy and repetitive game-play might wear a little thin after a while. Personally, I enjoyed about the first 30 hours, and only kept going all the way to the end out of principle (having reached the point of no return). And the best part of all? If killing the final boss isn't enough for you, the designers have kindly offered the opportunity for you to KEEP PLAYING, even though the plot is finished and the credits have rolled. But hey, you still have MILLIONS more enemies to kill and BILLIONS more things to pick up and sell. So why stop. EVER..???

    Think I'll give myself a slight rest before Borderlands 2. Don't get me wrong...this game has tonnes of personality, fantastic graphics, a great world, amusing characters, and enough good ideas for a good many games. But you really, really, REALLY can have too much of a good thing. And whatever you do, don't even HUMOUR the notion of tackling it single player. If ever a game needed friends with headsets, this'd be it. WAY too much brainless "fun" for one person to endure alone.
    Expand
  66. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Although Borderlands was pretty much designed with multiplayer in mind I was glad to see they offered a single player mode! I personally don’t like multi-player games too much but I still wanted to give this a go! Borderlands although a good enough game to maintain your interest; presented nothing but the same mission style gameplay over and over again! For me the repetitiveness of theAlthough Borderlands was pretty much designed with multiplayer in mind I was glad to see they offered a single player mode! I personally don’t like multi-player games too much but I still wanted to give this a go! Borderlands although a good enough game to maintain your interest; presented nothing but the same mission style gameplay over and over again! For me the repetitiveness of the game makes it quite a dull experience and it really provides absolutely nothing new to FPS games other than a ridiculous number of weapon choices… I really don’t feel this game warranted a sequel in any way, but if you’re looking for a simple FPS which you can play with friends or casually over a fairly long period of time, this may be the game for you! Expand
  67. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    A great game and series from Gearbox Software. This first title in the series is a nice change of pace from the generic shooter. Great gameplay and great characters combine to form a quite enjoyable game! The lack of story, however, truly hinders the score I am giving this game. If they had spent more time thinking through the main quest, I would give this a 9/10 with no doubt. Even thoughA great game and series from Gearbox Software. This first title in the series is a nice change of pace from the generic shooter. Great gameplay and great characters combine to form a quite enjoyable game! The lack of story, however, truly hinders the score I am giving this game. If they had spent more time thinking through the main quest, I would give this a 9/10 with no doubt. Even though the main quest is mediocre at best, side quests and DLC truly save this game and make it a must-play! Expand
  68. Jan 3, 2015
    7
    This game was the starting blocks of a great game. It had a cool art style, wacky characters to meet, tons of guns to loot and a big land scape to explore. Only problem was that the land scapes were mostly baron wastelands, and although most guns looked cool, some just looked unpractical. The story wasn't that great as i didn't real i had to pay attention to it and seemed a bit boring.This game was the starting blocks of a great game. It had a cool art style, wacky characters to meet, tons of guns to loot and a big land scape to explore. Only problem was that the land scapes were mostly baron wastelands, and although most guns looked cool, some just looked unpractical. The story wasn't that great as i didn't real i had to pay attention to it and seemed a bit boring. However, the game is still a hell of a lot of fun and is a great basis for the franchise to start on. Expand
  69. Jun 15, 2014
    5
    Borderlands. Gearbox software's comedy filled (somewhat) Role Playing Shooter, a genre that doesn't really make a lot sense but it does sum up the games gun-filled destinations and atmosphere.

    - I have mixed opinions I did enjoy this games new approach to shooters and RPGs but after a while I found the game bland and the lack of clear storyline didn't help things. Look at like this,
    Borderlands. Gearbox software's comedy filled (somewhat) Role Playing Shooter, a genre that doesn't really make a lot sense but it does sum up the games gun-filled destinations and atmosphere.

    - I have mixed opinions
    I did enjoy this games new approach to shooters and RPGs but after a while I found the game bland and the lack of clear storyline didn't help things. Look at like this, it takes great intuitive graphics designing in the form of a hand-drawn Pandora but seems to combine it with a boring Dead Island like game mechanic, Borderlands contains far to many fetch or kill quests and the greater aspects quickly become forgotten as a result of this.

    - RPG system/aspects are non existent
    Most RPGs try to take on a new style, such as Fallout's S.P.E.C.I.A.L. system but Borderlands doesn't seem to have any kind of RPG backbone which makes me question the 'Role Playing Shooter' genre as simply a way to cover up a lack of ideas or the creativeness to come up with a niche within the genre. This is cheaply covered up by placing an unnecessary amount of weapons within the game world which comes across as lazy to me rather than a new take on RPG games.

    - Empty Game World
    Gearbox clearly have not given Borderlands much thought when it comes to a nice game world filled with hidden side quests and intrigue like most other RPGs do and this makes the single player the most boring and dullest experience since (yes, I'll say it again) Dead Island. The only way to properly enjoy this game is when you team up with a body and farm the game to level up. I also felt that the quests in the game were pretty hard to follow as, for some reason, you find yourself being forced to do tonnes of seemingly unnecessary quests in order to progress in your hopes of finding the vault.

    Overall Score:
    5.2/10- Another dissapointing RPG with little or no reason to keep playing or replaying. I feel slightly annoyed by this game also because it seemed to boast so much but after experiencing what Gearbox had to offer I thought that it was rather insulting to better RPGs out there. Want my advice? Play Fallout instead,
    Expand
  70. Oct 23, 2014
    6
    Not crazy about this game. Gameplay tends to get repetitive. Go there, shoot that. Storyline is intriguing and the guns pack a nice punch per occasion. That's about it. Classic example of an over hyped game.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.