Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1333 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you haveThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care orTHE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  3. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  4. DaveS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a discerning gamer! DK. Expand
  5. Praxisq
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a distance. This game is a good game, the mechanic works great, its solid, its the grind though not so hard of a grind to lvl up. looking at the base or core of the game i see there are many directions they could have taken. why they decided on this exact end model of the game suggest t me they seek to set them selves apart with origionality..yes these mechanics have always been in games..but when was the last time you have seen them. esapecially executed properly. i dig it..good game for multiple players 4 player co-op is fun. i would not however recomend this for a single player experience. i gave it a rating of 8.. but i want to give it out of a 100 score so..its an 88/100 and a nice game containing throwback drop system for the old school grinder gamers. Expand
  6. LiasM
    Apr 12, 2010
    8
    Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more work, but it still is a fun ride. Expand
  7. DougC
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash bug and a fairly limited variety of enemies. Expand
  8. Fidel
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, roughly 25 hours worth, and that was litteraly every quest you could do. Kind of a shame, but other than that there is nothing wrong with the game. Great Job! Expand
  9. GraydonA
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    A good RPG/FPS hybrid that is fun to play and has an awesome art style. Playing co-op with friends online is fun, and collecting loot is a blast. It doesn't deserve a perfect score either as there are a few small bugs that keep it from a 10.
  10. SteveA
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I think that it's overshadowed by the good concept and a utopian-like setting and interesting missions. Some would criticise the missions to be a bit too repetitive but each one has its own challenges and therefore proves to be different to the others. It's definitely worth buying for the PC, though if you're in Australia you might have to get some friends together for multiplayer action since the closest multiplayer peers are in China, which provides for very laggy gameplay Expand
  11. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers!
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this thanBorderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this than I'd care to admit, although Steam rubs my nose in it every time! Expand
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there andBorderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there and characters have about as much importance as any of the NPCs in Diablo II. However, I was fine with this as the main draw of this game is simply getting out there and blasting enemies with a wide array of sweet weapons. I'm not fond of the quest grind system and would have liked a different approach, but that's more because of the nightmares of WoW it brought back to me. Either way, it's definitely worth a purchase, and I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Great game system, nice ability tree but unfortunately weak characterization so you just end up playing because th mechanics are good rather than as part of the experience.
  15. May 20, 2012
    8
    Diablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random itemDiablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random item generation is highly addictive. If this included alll the DLCs, the game is worth a 9/10. Expand
  16. SlamU
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    I have clocked over 300 hours on this game so far. It is by far the best game i have played in a long long time. There truly is a bazillion guns and that is a bazillion different ways to frag things.
  17. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  18. DarthVadar!
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end with no sight of anybody(pretty creepy). This game also has the quest system of STALKER and Fallout 3, where you can take any mission any time, anywhere. What makes this game great for casual players is that you can pretty much just jump in because missions are straightforward with no complexity, which is of course good and bad. The good is that you won't get confused with what to do, and the bad is that the storyline is not very in depth. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the somewhat frail srotyline. Other than that, i'd say the graphics are very unique, something you don't see often(or at all), gameplay is pretty addicting because the enemies pretty much get stronger as you level up meaning there will not be a moment where your enemies are no match for you.I''d say this game is glitchless as far as I see, but that might not be true for someone else. I have to say my FRS is really good on this game(around 40-50), and it does not crash on my computer. I run this game from steam with a nvidia GTX275 and a 2.4 duo CPU(it's overcloaked, the real CPU is 3.08 duo) and 6GB of memory. I said this so in case anybody is wondering what systems will support Borderlands well(these 3 parts are probably enough info I don't think I need to tell you my motherboard or power supply etc.) Expand
  19. RadleyS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game that introduces completely new game play aspects even in late game. The first grenade mod I got (Explosive MIRV), I threw it at the ground to see what exactly it did. A cluster grenade?! Why don't other games have cluster grenades!! It's great that a game finally understands you can make a cooler weapon by not just making it more powerful, but making it shoot differently. My level 45 Siren has a super fast SMG that can unload the full 80 rounds in just under 3 seconds, and in the next slot a fairly accurate explosive SMG with 4.5x zoom! However, the entire game was not all full of joy. It upset me that character skills were all passive but the action skill - which makes sense for a console game (sigh...). I picked the Siren because she looked like a caster. Elemental weapons are kind of like spells... But I would appreciate a skill where my bullets could do a chain-lightning effects. Playing as the siren, most abilities don't exactly make sense. Damaging enemies while stealthed, not so useful... Dazing enemies isn't effective in a "hack and slash" type of game. The melee wasn't satisfying. It was sad that there were no melee weapons but the bladed pistols, which had an absurdly slow attack speed. I was also upset that there was only one vehicle - but the small amount of customization was still nice to have. I hope that the next in the series will be more PC-based. I would love to have a Skag or Sythid as a pet, or add a plow to my vehicle to reduce damage taken from explosive enemies... I hope there are more random weapons with special effects like T.K.'s Wave. - a shotgun which shoots blue bullets in a wave-like effect (Fun, but not practical - which is fine!). I still plan to do a few more playthroughs with this game to get the full experience, but I have very high hopes for Borderlands 2. I just need to keep my fingers crossed for the next few years. Expand
  20. PhilupD
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated whiite (common), green (uncommon), blue (rare), purple (epic), and gold (legendary). Online playability makes it so fun to play as the class you selected. Level your toons with a group of three others, and have fun kicking @$$ with others online. Share loot and make friends as you blast, slash, spray, and pummel you way through BorderLands. If you haven't picked this game up for the fear of the game sucking cause of the graphics. Than your a noob and your missing out on the best FPS-RPG in the history of gaming!!! If you don't believe me. Then go to a friends or family members house that has the game and play it up. Don't be the only kid on the block that doesn't have this game. Expand
  21. Fuz
    Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are alsoFantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are also absolutely excellent and a great added value to the original game.
    Note that it really should be played with friends, it gets even A LOT more fun.
    Expand
  22. Kelu
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good direction), incredibly fun 4 players co-op, satisfying level-ups and... style. Borderlands is not perfect, but I think of it as a gaming milestone and instant classic that I'll cherish in the years to come. Expand
  23. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun, great art design and wacky atmosphere, and multiplayer with friends is a blast. The most fun with one game I've had in years - I can't wait for the sequel. Definitely get the Knoxx DLC.
  24. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol).Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol). There are tons of quests, and the map is pretty much wide open so you can run around doing what you want, when you want. The charector progression, and multiple skill trees are fun, and you get better at using a particular weapon type the more you use the weapon type. I loved thinning out the mobs by popping head shots with a elemental sniper rifle from afar, and then going in, and cleaning up with an machine gun or automatic hand gun. Getting close to mobs using Liliths Pheonix skill is a riot too, especially in zombie land. Im a little more methodical than other players though. Some people Ive played with like to just wade in with a shot gun, or rocket launcher. There's also vehicle battles, and a thunderdome style arena where you have a ton of mobs thrown at you at once, under many different conditions, such as low gravity, faster speeds, or using specific weapon types for more, or less damage. Borderlands is simply one of those games just about anyone will love-trust me! The few people who gave it bad reviews...well, theres always gonna be a couple of people in every crowd who have to say the sky is red if you say its blue lol! Anyway, good luck! Happy gaming.... Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesomeI am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesome and when you think you have the best guns you're gonna find, there is a drop which is even better (though at higher character levels, you're probably going to have your gun preferences like me). It's more of a FPS and less of a RPG, pretty much an ARPG. Diablo was my favorite game ever (many sleepless evenings) and I can't say this game measures up to that time and excitement level, but it's really addictive and took me a while to finally stop playing it (months). Right now it's on sale at Steam and this is when I got it before. Well worth the original price let alone the sale price. Automatic buy. Expand
  26. dxemonj
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    My gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurtMy gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurt a lot of peoples' opinion of the game. i hope this franchise lasts a long time and that they fix the only real fault i see which is multiplayer online connectivity. Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Everything about Borderlands was brilliant, artstyle, gameplay, humor, characters, story and the amount of weapons. Can't really think of any real cons. The base campaign plus DLCs is about 60h long, but achievements and walkthrough 2 (hardmode) will keep you busy even longer. Definetly the best RPG-FPS to date.
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Great game hands down. If you love RPGs and want more shooting action, then this will fit you perfectly. Though the game can obviously improve on things, this game is pioneering its way for a new genre in the gaming industry that makes it look really promising. All the elements and new ideas are brand new and something to appreciate and enjoy. There is nothing cooler then blasting enemiesGreat game hands down. If you love RPGs and want more shooting action, then this will fit you perfectly. Though the game can obviously improve on things, this game is pioneering its way for a new genre in the gaming industry that makes it look really promising. All the elements and new ideas are brand new and something to appreciate and enjoy. There is nothing cooler then blasting enemies with your friends for awesome loot and let me tell you.. the weapons and gear are NEVER seem to be the same. Every single item is always slightly different. Though the few bugs and short comings are apparent you cannot deny this game's innovation. 8. Expand
  29. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.
  30. kevinl
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    this game is so awsome the graphic the system and the FPSRPG thing is so AWSOME
  31. BobbyB
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Love it. Slower paced than I expected but that adds to the fun as it creates a certain tension. Guns, guns, and mo guns are a blast!
  32. mrt
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    amazing game very fun, its very fun to blow everything you see to the sky
  33. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever,
    and if your one of those people who didnt like fallout 3 and think you wont like this still worth trying i hated fallout 3, but loved this there very little alike idk y ppl say there the same
  34. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    borderlands is one of the best games out there, buy it you wont be disappointed, RPG and FPS work very well together, super addictive and excellent graphics, a good buy for any gamer.
  35. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the most enjoyable games I have played in my video gaming life. I play two separate primary characters (one in single player and the other in multiplayer) and I enjoy each of them immensely. No matter how many people you play with, you are sure to have a fantastic time playing. Not only is the gameplay fun, but the humor is fantastic. This is one of the few games that IAbsolutely one of the most enjoyable games I have played in my video gaming life. I play two separate primary characters (one in single player and the other in multiplayer) and I enjoy each of them immensely. No matter how many people you play with, you are sure to have a fantastic time playing. Not only is the gameplay fun, but the humor is fantastic. This is one of the few games that I really have absolutely not issues with. The Game of the Year addition that includes all the DLC is an excellent deal at $40. Expand
  36. MinOh
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    It was awesome!!!
  37. StevenH
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    Completely absurd/awful story, barely functional multiplayer interface, poor enemy balance, but underneath it is a fairly addictive game and interesting concept. Leveling up is very satisfying.
  38. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Nobody expected Borderlands to be a totally addicting and clever FPS/Diablo hybrid. But low and behold, it's a great shooter mixed with an addictive loot system, humorous characters and quests, and a big world to explore. Note this is primarily an FPS with quests/loot as a secondary system. But that's fine. Also, the interface is very poor and it does suffer from being a console port.Nobody expected Borderlands to be a totally addicting and clever FPS/Diablo hybrid. But low and behold, it's a great shooter mixed with an addictive loot system, humorous characters and quests, and a big world to explore. Note this is primarily an FPS with quests/loot as a secondary system. But that's fine. Also, the interface is very poor and it does suffer from being a console port. Nevertheless, this is a game I come back to now and then. So it's a very solid 8 "Great" score. Here's hoping Borderlands 2 is even better! Expand
  39. May 20, 2011
    8
    A perfectly mix of FPS and RPG elements make this game an addictive and enjoyable game that will keep you occupied for a very long time. And the GUNS! Sweet mother of God, what a **** of **** guns! If you can't find one that suits you then you should be dead. So if you are tired of mainstream FPS Shooters and had enough of those fantasy RPGs or if you just want to try something new, getA perfectly mix of FPS and RPG elements make this game an addictive and enjoyable game that will keep you occupied for a very long time. And the GUNS! Sweet mother of God, what a **** of **** guns! If you can't find one that suits you then you should be dead. So if you are tired of mainstream FPS Shooters and had enough of those fantasy RPGs or if you just want to try something new, get Borderlands or better yet get Borderlands GOTY Edition. You won't be sorry. Unfortunately the Skags will. Expand
  40. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    With borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring atWith borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring at times, Driving is almost flawless, and after you beat the game you can get the DLC which will add quite a bit of time to your gameplay. Expand
  41. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. ThisThis is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. This game is in no way shape or form like Fallout your moron. i have every game in the Fallout series and how you compare them is insane. Expand
  42. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring.I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring. With sharp, accurate controls they are easy to ignore and make the good stuff like loot, large world and equally fun single player and co-op stand out. Unconditional recommendation once you edit the input confit file. Expand
  43. May 24, 2012
    9
    Very good game, worth buying. I gave it only 9 because of minor technical problems ( had to reinstall graphics driver ) and repetitious music ( game deserves much more wild west like ambient ).
    Concept is definitely the best i have seen for a long time in games.
  44. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    This game is everything I love about first person shooters and rpgs, and this is what they call a RPS, roleplaying shooter, the game has awesome stylized graphics, the story is somewhat there, but you are more immersed in intense difficult arcade style battles. The rpg element works like a standard open world map, as you play, you kill stuff, gain experience and weapons, and level upThis game is everything I love about first person shooters and rpgs, and this is what they call a RPS, roleplaying shooter, the game has awesome stylized graphics, the story is somewhat there, but you are more immersed in intense difficult arcade style battles. The rpg element works like a standard open world map, as you play, you kill stuff, gain experience and weapons, and level up throughout the game, as you progress, other areas open up and as you explore certain areas, just like an rpg, there are enemies that are difficult to defeat because of their higher level and you have to come back only when you are leveled up enough to battle them. Overall fun game, the Co-op is what makes this game shine, otherwise it is utterly boring and hard as hell by yourself. The DLCs add on extra value to the game and the world that you explore. Expand
  45. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Borderlands has a rather unique feel to it. It's an RPG adventure FPS, taking the player to an entirely new and unknown planet of Pandora. The planet for the most part is a desert wasteland, and so the common areas tend to be junkyards, rural towns, plains, canyons of various sort, but later on, towards the end, you do get a bit of a mountainous snowy areas too. Borderlands is fun in manyBorderlands has a rather unique feel to it. It's an RPG adventure FPS, taking the player to an entirely new and unknown planet of Pandora. The planet for the most part is a desert wasteland, and so the common areas tend to be junkyards, rural towns, plains, canyons of various sort, but later on, towards the end, you do get a bit of a mountainous snowy areas too. Borderlands is fun in many different ways. First of all, it has very unique graphics and this somewhat of a cartoonish style really really fits the general feel and humour of the game. Secondly, the game has RPG elements, so you get to unlock new skills as you progress through the game and face harder enemies. Thirdly the game has a massive variety of guns. The guns could come with all sorts of different stats, and you do often find good ones. You can play Borderlands with any of the four characters, each having a unique special skill and a slightly different gun proficiency to the others. Borderlands doesn't have much of a story, but it still is there, and it greatly picks up at very late stages of the game. The game is full of humour and generally gives off a laid back vibe. It can be played single-player or co-op. It's really up to you. The game might seem a bit repetitive due to its "do this quest, then do that quest" approach, but the sidequests do vary greatly between each other, each time offering a new challenge, so it's all great fun. I'll briefly mention the DLCs too. I've only tried out 3 of them so far, and all in all I felt they weren't as good as the original game. Dr Ned's Zombie Island was pretty good, but shooting zombies in dark woods does get repetitive after a while, and so gladly this expansion wasn't too long. The Underdome was terrible. It's just an arena, so I didn't like that one at all. General Knoxx's armory was sort of OK. It's nice to drive huge distances and all and having a huge map, but it's very frustrating when you respawn back at your original outpost after you exit the game. They should've placed more outposts in that one. I have not tried the Robot Revolution yet. To summarize, Borderlands is a fun FPS, so I'd highly advise it, especially for those who like FPS games with RPG elements. Just don't be put off early on. It might seem a tad boring in early stages, but it does pick up very quickly. Expand
  46. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is truly an amazing game. I have been looking for a game that is similar to world of warcraft but without all that kiddy crap. Borderlands gives me just that . You go on quests, level up, fight bosses, use crazy guns, play with friends, and more. Best first person shooter i've ever played.
  47. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    I personally find it easier to write about flaws than praise the good, so I will focus on those and count on you reading the score to understand that this is a very good game. The main flaws are that past level ~38, you are on your second playthrough because you've run out of main storyline content. this is, strangely, not fixed by the DLC because of a bad design choice. They realized thatI personally find it easier to write about flaws than praise the good, so I will focus on those and count on you reading the score to understand that this is a very good game. The main flaws are that past level ~38, you are on your second playthrough because you've run out of main storyline content. this is, strangely, not fixed by the DLC because of a bad design choice. They realized that the player could kill anything they could hit and so each of the DLCs I have seen has some enemy cropping up with stupidly fast movement, as though "you can't hit this" is the only defense the game designers could think of. This same defense was used by the endgame enemies in the original game campaign, and that was about the point I just started phasewalking past everything because I was sick of dealing with it. There is, near as I can tell, no strategic counter to something moving stupid fast other than waiting for it to stop for a moment allowing you to fire, or to phasewalk up and assassinate it at point blank range. Beyond the endgame failure, this was a very entertaining game, I enjoyed the humor, the cell shaded artwork was superb, and both characters I played as (siren and hunter) had unique ups and downs making class choice actually matter. Roommate played through as soldier, only one I haven't seen in action is Brick, but I can swear I feel the other 3 are balanced and entertaining. Perhaps a slight negative towards Roland because stupid fast fliers can avoid his action skill, but most the stupid fast stuff is ground bound. There are balance issues and cheap tricks that work insanely well, but that happens in most games where you install such flexibility. I'd say it's definitely worth playing, but I doubt it will be an all-time classic. Expand
  48. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    At first this game looked "gay" to me, but I got it anyway :D As I finished the first mission I started to realize that this game was AWESOME! From the cartoon-ish art style to the simple gamplay mechanics, Borderlands is one of the best games I've ever played! Gearbox studios has truly out-done themselves this time, and now, I can proudly say, I am a fan! Borderlands is legendary and mustAt first this game looked "gay" to me, but I got it anyway :D As I finished the first mission I started to realize that this game was AWESOME! From the cartoon-ish art style to the simple gamplay mechanics, Borderlands is one of the best games I've ever played! Gearbox studios has truly out-done themselves this time, and now, I can proudly say, I am a fan! Borderlands is legendary and must bought by everyone!! Expand
  49. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    A respectable attempt at the marriage of RPGs and FPSes. It has enjoyable gameplay in both singleplayer and co-op modes, albeit it being flawed. I hope we see more games like it, because this combination produced spectacular results.
  50. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    A damn fun game all the way through, but the ending is so disappointing. It would probably be a lot more fun with friends, but since you all have to play at the same time and if anyone starts playing without the others, they'll quickly become overpowered in comparison to the rest of the team due to how quickly you advance in this game. I'm glad I bought it, though, and I recommend you guysA damn fun game all the way through, but the ending is so disappointing. It would probably be a lot more fun with friends, but since you all have to play at the same time and if anyone starts playing without the others, they'll quickly become overpowered in comparison to the rest of the team due to how quickly you advance in this game. I'm glad I bought it, though, and I recommend you guys try it too, I played the game solo and still enjoyed it the entire time, get it, but don't expect it to be exactly like all the claims they make about this game, they're over exaggerated. Expand
  51. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    Although fairly lengthy and fun, Borderlands quickly starts to feel worn out and repetitive. Its a good mix of FPS and RPG elements with exploration but ultimately falls into the common trap of simple 'get mission, read mission, do mission' (which usually involves you whacking some thugs anyway). Nevertheless, it seems to have a good replay value attached to it, and a good fun to play withAlthough fairly lengthy and fun, Borderlands quickly starts to feel worn out and repetitive. Its a good mix of FPS and RPG elements with exploration but ultimately falls into the common trap of simple 'get mission, read mission, do mission' (which usually involves you whacking some thugs anyway). Nevertheless, it seems to have a good replay value attached to it, and a good fun to play with others. Beware of getting bored FAST. Expand
  52. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game that is fun, witty, and extremely fun be it single player or multiplayer. There are some issues with the mutiplayer but I don't think that should take away a lot from the game as many other titles are SP only. As with the second line of this game coming out in a year's time this makes this game a must try to get into the storyline and play style.
  53. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very surprisingly great FPS,RPG game. When they say they have a 'bazillion' guns, they really do have heaps of guns. It's great fun with friends in co-op gameplay, with heaps of enemies and loot to encounter. Buy Borderlands GOTY for a good bargain on steam and enjoy!
  54. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    Excellent game at the core, but a very poor job porting it to PC by Gearbox. It's great fun by yourself or with friends - enemies scale based upon the number of players present which is very nice to see. I did notice a lot of FPS lag in numerous areas of the game though, the UI was also very blatantly brought from a console. Could have been a fantastic game if more time was put into makingExcellent game at the core, but a very poor job porting it to PC by Gearbox. It's great fun by yourself or with friends - enemies scale based upon the number of players present which is very nice to see. I did notice a lot of FPS lag in numerous areas of the game though, the UI was also very blatantly brought from a console. Could have been a fantastic game if more time was put into making it run well on PCs. Expand
  55. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions.You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions. You are given the availability to accept as many missions into your "quest log" as possible and then "activate" any of those quests in any order you want to prioritize to complete them. So do you see? It is an RPG as much as it is a FPS. It is MUCH better at being a FPS but the RPG is really fun as well and it is no drag. 9/10. Expand
  56. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!)There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!) to choose from and best of all, co-op. It is best played with a friend or three since the game gets tougher but the drops from enemies get better.

    I would recommend playing this start to finish before jumping into its sequel.
    Expand
  57. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I found Borderlands to be a very fun FPS, and I especially enjoyed the various RPG elements. I am a big fan of the leveling system, the skill trees, and the sheer variety of items and guns. The art style of the game is another huge plus, giving Borderlands a unique and distinctive feel. Combat itself works well, even if it gets a bit tedious and repetitive over time. In fact, I wouldI found Borderlands to be a very fun FPS, and I especially enjoyed the various RPG elements. I am a big fan of the leveling system, the skill trees, and the sheer variety of items and guns. The art style of the game is another huge plus, giving Borderlands a unique and distinctive feel. Combat itself works well, even if it gets a bit tedious and repetitive over time. In fact, I would say the overall "grindy" nature of the game was its biggest negative for me. I simply didn't sink the hours into this that I have into comparable games, and only ever bothered playing one of the characters through the story (the soldier). Still, Borderlands is fun, and well worth playing for fans of the genre. Expand
  58. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of boring with skills like: more damage, faster reload, etc etc, but you have a main action skill for each class which doesn't suck and adds a lot to the game, the main action skill is really fun to play around with and you can upgrade it with not only other skills but also making it elemental. It also has some elements from dungeon, hack and slash games such Diablo and Torchlight such as picking a class that has different abilities and killing a lot of enemies that might drop a new gun, shield, grenade mod and money, loot loot loot! Grab it all and sell the remaining to a store for extra cash. Pretty cool main quests although the storyline itself isn't that great and not so interesting but really, with a game like this, storyline is almost optional. You also get side missions for extra loot and EXP and some are really interesting. The amount of guns in this game is really large! Each gun has different damage, accuracy and fire rate, so you will go through many guns finding the one that suits you the most. Another thing I want to talk about is boss fights, how often do you see nowadays FPS with a boss fight that has a health meter? Not much, but Borderlands has it and it does a well job with it. The level design is also a pretty bright thing in the game, it's incredibly well done and don't even get me started on Pandora itself, IT'S MASSIVE! The level design is so well done it actually allows for secrets, which again, is one of the more old school elements in the game and a fun to find while happily exploring the game. The game also has CO-OP, find some three more friends and have an absolute blast with this game, lots of laughs and fun is always nice. Overall the game is a near masterpiece with some very minor down sides to it, get the game and start firing away!
    Expand
  59. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Love this game. Guns, loot, comedy, what more could you ask for? It obviously borrows from several other genres, but it gets it right and makes for a great time.
  60. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fun game but do not expect something good like Rage. If you want good shooter play Rage instead because shooting is kind of silly here. If you want PRG ... Well, play something else because here just like inn Rage just slight elements of RPG. But instead of that nice time killing fun game!
  61. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Ist zwar ein gutes spiel wird aber irgendwann langweilig ._.''
  62. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    It's a fun game. Grapics are okay, but the *design* is actually really good: original, never got old for me. I enjoy the balance between complexity and simplicity of the skill system: you only have on real skill, but how you spec it out, and how you use it, is still quite interesting. It has a lot in common with Diablo, the addictive nature of the loots gathering, but it's maybe moreIt's a fun game. Grapics are okay, but the *design* is actually really good: original, never got old for me. I enjoy the balance between complexity and simplicity of the skill system: you only have on real skill, but how you spec it out, and how you use it, is still quite interesting. It has a lot in common with Diablo, the addictive nature of the loots gathering, but it's maybe more engaging, because of it's FPS nature. I would call it almost perfect, for what it is: a relatively mindless (because it doesn't require deep strategies), but not at all easy, very addictive game. It's between an 8 and a 9 for me. I'll go with 8, because it gets a bit too repetitive after a while: enemies look to similar, and they're not acting very smart. If Borderlands 2 has more varied enemies and a more complex AI, it can be a 9, and become *the* perfect addictive game, even beating Diablo. Expand
  63. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, butI'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, but when you can buy copies for yourself and three friends for $15 on steam (when it goes on sale), you can easily find out what a difference the amazing co-op mode makes. PS: there are SO MANY GUNS! Expand
  64. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see screenshots of this game you know its Borderlands and not another game.

    The second game is coming out. If you are thinking of getting it BUY THIS GAME FIRST AND PLAY IT. The 2nd will be better and would spoil anyone who would go from the second game to the first.
    Expand
  65. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    It's really great game at all ! But some issues like lag in multiplayer or that it's just port from consoles makes the game only 9/10 in my opinion.
  66. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    A great game, but i found it very difficult to beat the game unless i had one other person helping me. aside from that this game was almost flawless with plenty of things to do in the open world.
  67. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weakI can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weak and not well distributed throughout the game and that there are very few customizable items outside of guns (just shields and character items). The talent system is great for creating diversified gameplay, but at the higher levels, you have pretty much every talent that you want maxed out- I wish there were a few more 'choices' you made that would have a significant impact on your character. I consider this game to be a must-buy if you have a friend you could throw down with, and a strong-buy if you're just playing by yourself. Expand
  68. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    A post-apoc "dungeon crawler" with countless randomized (and unique) guns. Fantastic when co-op with friends (or even with random people online since there is a lobby system) but boring as hell solo. With a lengthy main campaign, a multitude of sidequests, and a variety of character kit customization options, the core game will keep you occupied for a while. 4 DLCs (of varying quality) addA post-apoc "dungeon crawler" with countless randomized (and unique) guns. Fantastic when co-op with friends (or even with random people online since there is a lobby system) but boring as hell solo. With a lengthy main campaign, a multitude of sidequests, and a variety of character kit customization options, the core game will keep you occupied for a while. 4 DLCs (of varying quality) add significant gameplay changes and offer loads of new toys to collect. Definitely a lot of bang-for-your-buck considering how cheap it is now! Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Never really got into the first one but this game is great. I would recommend bringing a friend or two along for the ride though. I think it is a lot more fun with friends and maybe a little easier too.
  70. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    If they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replayIf they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replay certain areas and missions over and over because they have the best drops. There are multiple kinds of character that have linear tree builds that give your character a customized feel, but at higher levels your build doesn't matter as much because it's more about the loot. There are hours upon hours of excellent gameplay, the downloadable content is fantastic and as soon as you beat the game with one charachter, you look forward to playing through with the same character again or trying out a different character. I picked this one up real cheap on a Steam holiday sale and it was a steal. One of the best games of the past 5 years. I reserve 10 out of 10 reviews for games that are not only great the first time you play them, but are great a few months later or a few years later and which are as fun the second time through as the first. Borderlands is a 10 all the way. Expand
  71. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    I played a lot of FPS games and still I was addicted to Borderlands. I thought I was playing an MMO with all the loots, missions and RPG elements. It is worth playing.
  72. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Borderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, I agree with everything Syrik said. Only, I think it deserves a higher rating than he gave it. There was a time when I was obsessed with this game. But then I beat the campaign and 2/3 DLC (this is excluding Moxxi because that's more of an arena thing toBorderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, I agree with everything Syrik said. Only, I think it deserves a higher rating than he gave it. There was a time when I was obsessed with this game. But then I beat the campaign and 2/3 DLC (this is excluding Moxxi because that's more of an arena thing to play with friends) I found it hard to get back into. It starts of pretty boring, then it gets great and fun, but the end is horrid. But that's all I have to add, Syrik said the rest.
    "This game is a very fun shooter, but with flaws. I'll go over the good first. The combat is entertaining and a touch different than other shooters. You get to tweak your character with different abilities to make unique builds which change how your character plays. The game randomly generates weapons so everything that drops is unique and a possible great find, it keeps you looking for loot. These things make it fun to play and the graphics are done in an art style like animation cells which I really like, it looks superb. The bad things bring it down however. The game scales terribly. As you do quests and gain exp. you will level too fast and quickly become too powerful, tearing through groups of enemies far too easily. A second play through with tougher enemies is possible, but not fun. You will start much higher level than foes and there is no challenge. The game is lacking several graphics controls on the options menu, which is stupid because the devs put the coding for the controls in the files, they just didn't make buttons. You will have to edit the .ini file yourself to turn on things like v-sync and get a widescreen point of view. Very lazy on the devs part there. Instructions for doing this are easy to find and it's not hard to do, but I shouldn't have to. So, overall Borderlands is a fun game that ends up being far too easy to play and has some basic setup options missing, but obtainable with manual editing on the users part." -syrik, Sep 8 2011 (rated 4/10)
    Expand
  73. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    FUN as it is. Shoot, ride, blast, kill, enjoy.
    Hack'n'slash system works better than in first Mass Effect, and, personally, better than in classic hack'n'slash ARPG-s, because of the fact that this is freaking shooter.
    Plot is a bit dim and spread in the game in some very strange proportions, providing long and boring corridor to the final boss. The thing is - this game is not about a
    FUN as it is. Shoot, ride, blast, kill, enjoy.
    Hack'n'slash system works better than in first Mass Effect, and, personally, better than in classic hack'n'slash ARPG-s, because of the fact that this is freaking shooter.
    Plot is a bit dim and spread in the game in some very strange proportions, providing long and boring corridor to the final boss. The thing is - this game is not about a plot, in cooperative you won't even hear half of the the monologues behind the voice of your mates.
    Graphic style - just excellent. Game-design - solid, but with strange moments like passive rakk hive boss or same NPC appearing in different locations simultaneously.
    Expand
  74. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    I generally suck at first person shooters but this game gave the opportunity to see where are the bullets coming from, and that's why i really liked it. Also love the loot hunting games with random stats just like Diablo.
  75. May 10, 2013
    8
    The funniest shooting game I ever played. I loved the art, the humors, and guns. For some reason I can overlook the lame-story telling in this game, which is quite uncommon (I normally rate game based on how good is the story overall). I had the GOTY version and played the game with a buddy and we kept laughing at all small funny things here and there.
  76. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I haveThis game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I have in both in Xbox 360 and PC. Collapse
  77. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially withBorderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially with friends. Side quest and main quest are repepitive and doesn't hold that much story, but that doesn't hold the fact that this is a loot drop game, Everybody will always be looking for the best weapons and upgrades. .ALL the time. Bosses in the game are very very well introduced, some are generic and some are awesome doesn't help the fact that fighting them is amazing and well rewarding with the loot system. The animation in the game is amazingly addictive for me. The cartoon style artwork with the enemies just blends in so perfect because of the arcade like combat. It blends in and a perfect mix to change your mood of this game. The combat is very very fun and getting critical is just a warm feeling in your tummy. The lines of your character is different for each of them and can be very funny, specifically when the berserker goes Berserk and starts to scream out randomly, It will always make me laugh. Borderlands is the ultimate RPG Shooter and will forever be in my arsenal. Just watch out, most of the players i've been with in co-op are hackers and have unlimited shields. Expand
  78. May 12, 2013
    10
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The game is fun though there is a lot of violence, so when that comes bosses say just something fun about the boss. I could not help the game! I bought the "Game of the Year Edition" and has played more than 50 hours and still have not done it! FAR from.

    The bad: The only thing I can say that is bad is multi player. There is no on and tedious, but it's probably because it is old and Borderlands 2 is out!

    If you are into something far and game that you will never forget? Buy Borderlands It is something for almost a worth skyespils love!

    Hint: Start by buying the '1 'even after the 2nd movie because there's a story!

    Just bought Borderlands 2 and can not wait to play through it until I falderi asleep in front of my keyboard.

    chri529r out
    Expand
  79. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wieldThis is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wield define your character. This is the game that got me hooked on the fps style gaming. If you like rpg games and have even an interest in fps games you will definitely love this game. Expand
  80. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Top game with many hours of game play in it. Replayabilty... loads. Best to be played a group rather than solo. It is repetitive but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Looting for weapons is very fun. If you're expecting a decent story line I'm not sure that there is one there, I was to busy shooting spider ants and gaining XP to care.
  81. DallasR
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    10 Might seem like too high a rating for any game. However this is the first game in a while that really makes me want to keep playing it, even though some of the levels seem a bit repetitive. It's just good ole fashion gaming fun done really cool!!
  82. JayJay
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be improved is the Map system, sometimes its hard to navigate and you are constantly opening the map. There is no onscreen map which is a shame, and the Map is missing labels, so its easy to get lost or confused. Plus the Mission listing doesn't tell you where the mission is, or where the mission-giver is located. Gun names and categories and color coding can get confusing, it can be tedious when you are selling guns.. it takes a long time to determine which guns to keep and which gun to sell. You should be able to auto-pickup items on the ground (except for guns), rather than spend ages manually filtering the things you pickup. The Console->PC port is actually ok! Its hard to fault except for one or two little mouse glitches in the menu. Being open ended (but not sandboxed unfortunately - there are plenty of load points but load times are short at about 10-15 seconds), you can choose your own adventure and toughen up before entering a boss area, and wander off searching for better guns and shields. Sometimes it takes forever to kill some enemies, even if you have powerful guns. I found myself shooting some enemies with 100 powerful SMG fire-element bullets in the head and they still had 50% energy (this is in Playthrough2 through). And some bosses literally take half an hour and 1000+ bullets to kill. Overall its an enjoyable polished game that can be challenging at times and has 30 hours+ gameplay. I think most people will like this game since there is almost always action, unlike FallOut3 where you could walk for 10 minutes and literally do nothing but walk. Expand
  83. JonnyG
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    I rarely finish games, but I had to play this one through to the end. The gameplay is smooth - never once had any issues. The enviornments lack some diversity, and the ending was anticlimactic, but overall it was an excellent game.
  84. tak
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    just awsome any one with probs just needs to fix there computer . only minor prob is co-op online but easly fixed
  85. Brad
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have experienced it being a bit weird attempting to get head shots, but other than that its fine. The RPG element in Borderlands is quite effective, with many of the guns perks or traits making almost each gun you find unique in its own way, and that you can give "Mods" to your grenades, making them instantly teleport to their target (Longbow Mod), and even offering "Class Mods", so you gain a title under your experience bar (AN example would be for Mordecai: Gunslinger) that improves your style of play with that character. The nice thing about the quests in Borderlands is that its not the type of grind you would actually think of it to be. Often times, you get to explore areas of the map you typically don't visit, and fine some nice loot to make your character even stronger. Overall, the negatives in this game are greatly overshadowed by the immense amount of fun you will be having playing this, and the game will be worth every single penny you invested in. Expand
  86. Ted
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which annoys me, but I can't fault the actual game. There are a few exploits I found to farm guns and experience and to make bosses easier, But all that goes out the window when you reach the credits... 2nd playthrough, They didn't just increase the mobs damage, they actually replaced earlier mobs with later ones to get a better continuous feel. I hope they patch the bugs and make co-op better (do away with gamespy?) Expand
  87. AndrewA
    Oct 30, 2009
    8
    The coop fps/rpg of the game is very fun with friends. The random gun drops system is very deep. Art direction is unique and the game looks great. But you can tell that the console releases were the main focus. From things like not even exposing options to turn off the auto-detect voice chat in the settings, to mouse smoothing being on by default and also not exposed in settings, to the The coop fps/rpg of the game is very fun with friends. The random gun drops system is very deep. Art direction is unique and the game looks great. But you can tell that the console releases were the main focus. From things like not even exposing options to turn off the auto-detect voice chat in the settings, to mouse smoothing being on by default and also not exposed in settings, to the very limited number of abilities/actions per class (for a PC game), more could have been done to make this game shine on PC as much as possible. Gamespy is a sub-par choice for helping me get in games with my friends or pugs online, even just going with Steamworks for this would have been preferable. Characters being stored locally means a very hackable game for those concerned with everyone online playing fair. If you just play with friends this may not be a concern. Hopefully a patch for the PC version is released soon that fixes some of these issues and some bugs that can be fairly bad. Expand
  88. Shanghaied
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay however, is phenomenal. Borderlands as a new IP is off to a great start. The loot system is better than I expected and addicting. The actual shooter gameplay is very, very robust and well executed. Happy with my purchase, just hoping for some multiplayer polish from a future patch. Expand
  89. WyattR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    I think this is the NEW big type of game setting the curve for rpg and then online play also carracter and vehichle custminsation i can't stop play it and can't wait for more downloadable content thanks to all the people that worked on this game
  90. EdgarM
    Jan 13, 2010
    8
    Very Nice Game, the new Innovation of RPG-Shooter :) But it had a disappointing end for me.
  91. OveM
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Great game! Tons of guns and a simple but cool RPG system. The only ting i can say negative about the game is that it is way to easy. Other than that its quite amazing and good. Its on the Unreal 3 engine and it looks very good!
  92. RobertM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Great game. A blast to play both in single and multiplayer.
  93. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the jokes are funny and the gameplay is enthralling. Once you start, you just want to keep doing one more quest. I'd recommend it, especially if you got a buddy to pair up with. Definitely worth at least a 9. Maybe up to 9.5. Expand
  94. DavidR
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS of the year. Expand
  95. SamuelH
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    This is truly a great game. If you're a FPS fanboy like me, you'll get a kick out the hundreds of guns there are in it. The roleplaying aspect is just shy of perfect. There is some annoying fetch quests, but that's my only complaint. The leveling up is awesome, giving you a skill point to use towards increasing your aim, or damage of one of your favorite guns. There is also This is truly a great game. If you're a FPS fanboy like me, you'll get a kick out the hundreds of guns there are in it. The roleplaying aspect is just shy of perfect. There is some annoying fetch quests, but that's my only complaint. The leveling up is awesome, giving you a skill point to use towards increasing your aim, or damage of one of your favorite guns. There is also a nice variety of enemies waiting to be turned into piles of meat. Some of the guns are practically the same, but with a ton to chose from, who cares? The story is engaging, if you can keep track of it... Overall an awesome game, lets hope for some multiplayer patches in the future. It can be buggy at times. My best advice, BUY THIS GAME! You won't regret it. Expand
  96. jimbojett
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Buggy but when it works, it's a blast in co-op. Graphics are amazing if you change the FOV to 100-105 in the .ini file. Good solid diablo2 gameplay.
  97. BastiK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    i've bought this game and played for at least 15 hours and think its great!! online and singleplayer!
  98. JeffB
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    Great game. Just shy of getting a 9 due to silly things the devs could've sorted. For example, the none skippable movies, not being able to turn off ingame voice and connection issues that need ports opening to sort. Bad news for a multiplayer game. The good things far our weigh the bad though. Has that "One more mission" thing that keeps you on. The graphics are superb. Wasn't Great game. Just shy of getting a 9 due to silly things the devs could've sorted. For example, the none skippable movies, not being able to turn off ingame voice and connection issues that need ports opening to sort. Bad news for a multiplayer game. The good things far our weigh the bad though. Has that "One more mission" thing that keeps you on. The graphics are superb. Wasn't sure about the cell shading but it looks great. Thing about getting it? Do it, you'll love it. Expand
  99. AaronS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best action RPGs in the past 5 years. it doesn't have as much RPG elements as for instance Fallout 3. but this is an action game with very strong RPG elements. the best part of it would have to be the loot lust. this wins game of the year from me!
  100. anon
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    an interesting concept. very fun in co-op. kept me playing for a while until i found out you could edit your saves. then it was just a hack fest not really that much fun anymore sort of deal. up until that though it was fun
  101. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    This game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I haveThis game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I have in both in Xbox 360 and PC. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.