User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1230 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care orTHE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  2. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  3. DaveS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a discerning gamer! DK. Expand
  4. DougC
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash bug and a fairly limited variety of enemies. Expand
  5. GraydonA
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    A good RPG/FPS hybrid that is fun to play and has an awesome art style. Playing co-op with friends online is fun, and collecting loot is a blast. It doesn't deserve a perfect score either as there are a few small bugs that keep it from a 10.
  6. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers!
  7. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you haveThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  8. SlamU
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    I have clocked over 300 hours on this game so far. It is by far the best game i have played in a long long time. There truly is a bazillion guns and that is a bazillion different ways to frag things.
  9. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  10. DarthVadar!
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end with no sight of anybody(pretty creepy). This game also has the quest system of STALKER and Fallout 3, where you can take any mission any time, anywhere. What makes this game great for casual players is that you can pretty much just jump in because missions are straightforward with no complexity, which is of course good and bad. The good is that you won't get confused with what to do, and the bad is that the storyline is not very in depth. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the somewhat frail srotyline. Other than that, i'd say the graphics are very unique, something you don't see often(or at all), gameplay is pretty addicting because the enemies pretty much get stronger as you level up meaning there will not be a moment where your enemies are no match for you.I''d say this game is glitchless as far as I see, but that might not be true for someone else. I have to say my FRS is really good on this game(around 40-50), and it does not crash on my computer. I run this game from steam with a nvidia GTX275 and a 2.4 duo CPU(it's overcloaked, the real CPU is 3.08 duo) and 6GB of memory. I said this so in case anybody is wondering what systems will support Borderlands well(these 3 parts are probably enough info I don't think I need to tell you my motherboard or power supply etc.) Expand
  11. RadleyS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game that introduces completely new game play aspects even in late game. The first grenade mod I got (Explosive MIRV), I threw it at the ground to see what exactly it did. A cluster grenade?! Why don't other games have cluster grenades!! It's great that a game finally understands you can make a cooler weapon by not just making it more powerful, but making it shoot differently. My level 45 Siren has a super fast SMG that can unload the full 80 rounds in just under 3 seconds, and in the next slot a fairly accurate explosive SMG with 4.5x zoom! However, the entire game was not all full of joy. It upset me that character skills were all passive but the action skill - which makes sense for a console game (sigh...). I picked the Siren because she looked like a caster. Elemental weapons are kind of like spells... But I would appreciate a skill where my bullets could do a chain-lightning effects. Playing as the siren, most abilities don't exactly make sense. Damaging enemies while stealthed, not so useful... Dazing enemies isn't effective in a "hack and slash" type of game. The melee wasn't satisfying. It was sad that there were no melee weapons but the bladed pistols, which had an absurdly slow attack speed. I was also upset that there was only one vehicle - but the small amount of customization was still nice to have. I hope that the next in the series will be more PC-based. I would love to have a Skag or Sythid as a pet, or add a plow to my vehicle to reduce damage taken from explosive enemies... I hope there are more random weapons with special effects like T.K.'s Wave. - a shotgun which shoots blue bullets in a wave-like effect (Fun, but not practical - which is fine!). I still plan to do a few more playthroughs with this game to get the full experience, but I have very high hopes for Borderlands 2. I just need to keep my fingers crossed for the next few years. Expand
  12. PhilupD
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated whiite (common), green (uncommon), blue (rare), purple (epic), and gold (legendary). Online playability makes it so fun to play as the class you selected. Level your toons with a group of three others, and have fun kicking @$$ with others online. Share loot and make friends as you blast, slash, spray, and pummel you way through BorderLands. If you haven't picked this game up for the fear of the game sucking cause of the graphics. Than your a noob and your missing out on the best FPS-RPG in the history of gaming!!! If you don't believe me. Then go to a friends or family members house that has the game and play it up. Don't be the only kid on the block that doesn't have this game. Expand
  13. Fuz
    Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are alsoFantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are also absolutely excellent and a great added value to the original game.
    Note that it really should be played with friends, it gets even A LOT more fun.
    Expand
  14. Kelu
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good direction), incredibly fun 4 players co-op, satisfying level-ups and... style. Borderlands is not perfect, but I think of it as a gaming milestone and instant classic that I'll cherish in the years to come. Expand
  15. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun, great art design and wacky atmosphere, and multiplayer with friends is a blast. The most fun with one game I've had in years - I can't wait for the sequel. Definitely get the Knoxx DLC.
  16. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol).Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol). There are tons of quests, and the map is pretty much wide open so you can run around doing what you want, when you want. The charector progression, and multiple skill trees are fun, and you get better at using a particular weapon type the more you use the weapon type. I loved thinning out the mobs by popping head shots with a elemental sniper rifle from afar, and then going in, and cleaning up with an machine gun or automatic hand gun. Getting close to mobs using Liliths Pheonix skill is a riot too, especially in zombie land. Im a little more methodical than other players though. Some people Ive played with like to just wade in with a shot gun, or rocket launcher. There's also vehicle battles, and a thunderdome style arena where you have a ton of mobs thrown at you at once, under many different conditions, such as low gravity, faster speeds, or using specific weapon types for more, or less damage. Borderlands is simply one of those games just about anyone will love-trust me! The few people who gave it bad reviews...well, theres always gonna be a couple of people in every crowd who have to say the sky is red if you say its blue lol! Anyway, good luck! Happy gaming.... Expand
  17. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesomeI am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesome and when you think you have the best guns you're gonna find, there is a drop which is even better (though at higher character levels, you're probably going to have your gun preferences like me). It's more of a FPS and less of a RPG, pretty much an ARPG. Diablo was my favorite game ever (many sleepless evenings) and I can't say this game measures up to that time and excitement level, but it's really addictive and took me a while to finally stop playing it (months). Right now it's on sale at Steam and this is when I got it before. Well worth the original price let alone the sale price. Automatic buy. Expand
  18. dxemonj
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    My gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurtMy gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurt a lot of peoples' opinion of the game. i hope this franchise lasts a long time and that they fix the only real fault i see which is multiplayer online connectivity. Expand
  19. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. ThisThis is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. This game is in no way shape or form like Fallout your moron. i have every game in the Fallout series and how you compare them is insane. Expand
  20. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Everything about Borderlands was brilliant, artstyle, gameplay, humor, characters, story and the amount of weapons. Can't really think of any real cons. The base campaign plus DLCs is about 60h long, but achievements and walkthrough 2 (hardmode) will keep you busy even longer. Definetly the best RPG-FPS to date.
  21. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.
  22. kevinl
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    this game is so awsome the graphic the system and the FPSRPG thing is so AWSOME
  23. BobbyB
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Love it. Slower paced than I expected but that adds to the fun as it creates a certain tension. Guns, guns, and mo guns are a blast!
  24. mrt
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    amazing game very fun, its very fun to blow everything you see to the sky
  25. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever,
    and if your one of those people who didnt like fallout 3 and think you wont like this still worth trying i hated fallout 3, but loved this there very little alike idk y ppl say there the same
  26. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    borderlands is one of the best games out there, buy it you wont be disappointed, RPG and FPS work very well together, super addictive and excellent graphics, a good buy for any gamer.
  27. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Bonkers futuristic setting? Check. Cool bounty hunters storyline? Check. Wild West ethics? Check. Hilarious dialogue and other tidbits? Check. Endless replayability? Check. Massive scale gunfights? Check. Utterly epic random loot generator? Check. Skill trees that actually change gameplay? Check. Best coop mode ever? Check. I cannot sing enough praise for this game but then I don't have toBonkers futuristic setting? Check. Cool bounty hunters storyline? Check. Wild West ethics? Check. Hilarious dialogue and other tidbits? Check. Endless replayability? Check. Massive scale gunfights? Check. Utterly epic random loot generator? Check. Skill trees that actually change gameplay? Check. Best coop mode ever? Check. I cannot sing enough praise for this game but then I don't have to this thing is a legend. Definitely try it out if you have even the slightest bit of interest in it. Expand
  28. MinOh
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    It was awesome!!!
  29. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    With borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring atWith borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring at times, Driving is almost flawless, and after you beat the game you can get the DLC which will add quite a bit of time to your gameplay. Expand
  30. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring.I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring. With sharp, accurate controls they are easy to ignore and make the good stuff like loot, large world and equally fun single player and co-op stand out. Unconditional recommendation once you edit the input confit file. Expand
  31. May 24, 2012
    9
    Very good game, worth buying. I gave it only 9 because of minor technical problems ( had to reinstall graphics driver ) and repetitious music ( game deserves much more wild west like ambient ).
    Concept is definitely the best i have seen for a long time in games.
  32. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    A 4-person co-op FPS with RPG elements, in postapocaliptic-sf, Mad Max-like setting, with interesting, cell-shaded, sketchy graphics and nicely designed characters. It's main flaws are as follows: becomes too easy about halfway past the game, boring-ass when played alone, Knoxx is the only good DLC.
  33. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is truly an amazing game. I have been looking for a game that is similar to world of warcraft but without all that kiddy crap. Borderlands gives me just that . You go on quests, level up, fight bosses, use crazy guns, play with friends, and more. Best first person shooter i've ever played.
  34. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the most enjoyable games I have played in my video gaming life. I play two separate primary characters (one in single player and the other in multiplayer) and I enjoy each of them immensely. No matter how many people you play with, you are sure to have a fantastic time playing. Not only is the gameplay fun, but the humor is fantastic. This is one of the few games that IAbsolutely one of the most enjoyable games I have played in my video gaming life. I play two separate primary characters (one in single player and the other in multiplayer) and I enjoy each of them immensely. No matter how many people you play with, you are sure to have a fantastic time playing. Not only is the gameplay fun, but the humor is fantastic. This is one of the few games that I really have absolutely not issues with. The Game of the Year addition that includes all the DLC is an excellent deal at $40. Expand
  35. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game that is fun, witty, and extremely fun be it single player or multiplayer. There are some issues with the mutiplayer but I don't think that should take away a lot from the game as many other titles are SP only. As with the second line of this game coming out in a year's time this makes this game a must try to get into the storyline and play style.
  36. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very surprisingly great FPS,RPG game. When they say they have a 'bazillion' guns, they really do have heaps of guns. It's great fun with friends in co-op gameplay, with heaps of enemies and loot to encounter. Buy Borderlands GOTY for a good bargain on steam and enjoy!
  37. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions.You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions. You are given the availability to accept as many missions into your "quest log" as possible and then "activate" any of those quests in any order you want to prioritize to complete them. So do you see? It is an RPG as much as it is a FPS. It is MUCH better at being a FPS but the RPG is really fun as well and it is no drag. 9/10. Expand
  38. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!)There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!) to choose from and best of all, co-op. It is best played with a friend or three since the game gets tougher but the drops from enemies get better.

    I would recommend playing this start to finish before jumping into its sequel.
    Expand
  39. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of boring with skills like: more damage, faster reload, etc etc, but you have a main action skill for each class which doesn't suck and adds a lot to the game, the main action skill is really fun to play around with and you can upgrade it with not only other skills but also making it elemental. It also has some elements from dungeon, hack and slash games such Diablo and Torchlight such as picking a class that has different abilities and killing a lot of enemies that might drop a new gun, shield, grenade mod and money, loot loot loot! Grab it all and sell the remaining to a store for extra cash. Pretty cool main quests although the storyline itself isn't that great and not so interesting but really, with a game like this, storyline is almost optional. You also get side missions for extra loot and EXP and some are really interesting. The amount of guns in this game is really large! Each gun has different damage, accuracy and fire rate, so you will go through many guns finding the one that suits you the most. Another thing I want to talk about is boss fights, how often do you see nowadays FPS with a boss fight that has a health meter? Not much, but Borderlands has it and it does a well job with it. The level design is also a pretty bright thing in the game, it's incredibly well done and don't even get me started on Pandora itself, IT'S MASSIVE! The level design is so well done it actually allows for secrets, which again, is one of the more old school elements in the game and a fun to find while happily exploring the game. The game also has CO-OP, find some three more friends and have an absolute blast with this game, lots of laughs and fun is always nice. Overall the game is a near masterpiece with some very minor down sides to it, get the game and start firing away!
    Expand
  40. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Love this game. Guns, loot, comedy, what more could you ask for? It obviously borrows from several other genres, but it gets it right and makes for a great time.
  41. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fun game but do not expect something good like Rage. If you want good shooter play Rage instead because shooting is kind of silly here. If you want PRG ... Well, play something else because here just like inn Rage just slight elements of RPG. But instead of that nice time killing fun game!
  42. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, butI'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, but when you can buy copies for yourself and three friends for $15 on steam (when it goes on sale), you can easily find out what a difference the amazing co-op mode makes. PS: there are SO MANY GUNS! Expand
  43. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see screenshots of this game you know its Borderlands and not another game.

    The second game is coming out. If you are thinking of getting it BUY THIS GAME FIRST AND PLAY IT. The 2nd will be better and would spoil anyone who would go from the second game to the first.
    Expand
  44. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    It's really great game at all ! But some issues like lag in multiplayer or that it's just port from consoles makes the game only 9/10 in my opinion.
  45. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weakI can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weak and not well distributed throughout the game and that there are very few customizable items outside of guns (just shields and character items). The talent system is great for creating diversified gameplay, but at the higher levels, you have pretty much every talent that you want maxed out- I wish there were a few more 'choices' you made that would have a significant impact on your character. I consider this game to be a must-buy if you have a friend you could throw down with, and a strong-buy if you're just playing by yourself. Expand
  46. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Never really got into the first one but this game is great. I would recommend bringing a friend or two along for the ride though. I think it is a lot more fun with friends and maybe a little easier too.
  47. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    If they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replayIf they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replay certain areas and missions over and over because they have the best drops. There are multiple kinds of character that have linear tree builds that give your character a customized feel, but at higher levels your build doesn't matter as much because it's more about the loot. There are hours upon hours of excellent gameplay, the downloadable content is fantastic and as soon as you beat the game with one charachter, you look forward to playing through with the same character again or trying out a different character. I picked this one up real cheap on a Steam holiday sale and it was a steal. One of the best games of the past 5 years. I reserve 10 out of 10 reviews for games that are not only great the first time you play them, but are great a few months later or a few years later and which are as fun the second time through as the first. Borderlands is a 10 all the way. Expand
  48. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    I played a lot of FPS games and still I was addicted to Borderlands. I thought I was playing an MMO with all the loots, missions and RPG elements. It is worth playing.
  49. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I haveThis game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I have in both in Xbox 360 and PC. Expand
  50. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially withBorderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially with friends. Side quest and main quest are repepitive and doesn't hold that much story, but that doesn't hold the fact that this is a loot drop game, Everybody will always be looking for the best weapons and upgrades. .ALL the time. Bosses in the game are very very well introduced, some are generic and some are awesome doesn't help the fact that fighting them is amazing and well rewarding with the loot system. The animation in the game is amazingly addictive for me. The cartoon style artwork with the enemies just blends in so perfect because of the arcade like combat. It blends in and a perfect mix to change your mood of this game. The combat is very very fun and getting critical is just a warm feeling in your tummy. The lines of your character is different for each of them and can be very funny, specifically when the berserker goes Berserk and starts to scream out randomly, It will always make me laugh. Borderlands is the ultimate RPG Shooter and will forever be in my arsenal. Just watch out, most of the players i've been with in co-op are hackers and have unlimited shields. Expand
  51. May 12, 2013
    10
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The game is fun though there is a lot of violence, so when that comes bosses say just something fun about the boss. I could not help the game! I bought the "Game of the Year Edition" and has played more than 50 hours and still have not done it! FAR from.

    The bad: The only thing I can say that is bad is multi player. There is no on and tedious, but it's probably because it is old and Borderlands 2 is out!

    If you are into something far and game that you will never forget? Buy Borderlands It is something for almost a worth skyespils love!

    Hint: Start by buying the '1 'even after the 2nd movie because there's a story!

    Just bought Borderlands 2 and can not wait to play through it until I falderi asleep in front of my keyboard.

    chri529r out
    Expand
  52. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wieldThis is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wield define your character. This is the game that got me hooked on the fps style gaming. If you like rpg games and have even an interest in fps games you will definitely love this game. Expand
  53. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Top game with many hours of game play in it. Replayabilty... loads. Best to be played a group rather than solo. It is repetitive but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Looting for weapons is very fun. If you're expecting a decent story line I'm not sure that there is one there, I was to busy shooting spider ants and gaining XP to care.
  54. DallasR
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    10 Might seem like too high a rating for any game. However this is the first game in a while that really makes me want to keep playing it, even though some of the levels seem a bit repetitive. It's just good ole fashion gaming fun done really cool!!
  55. JayJay
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be improved is the Map system, sometimes its hard to navigate and you are constantly opening the map. There is no onscreen map which is a shame, and the Map is missing labels, so its easy to get lost or confused. Plus the Mission listing doesn't tell you where the mission is, or where the mission-giver is located. Gun names and categories and color coding can get confusing, it can be tedious when you are selling guns.. it takes a long time to determine which guns to keep and which gun to sell. You should be able to auto-pickup items on the ground (except for guns), rather than spend ages manually filtering the things you pickup. The Console->PC port is actually ok! Its hard to fault except for one or two little mouse glitches in the menu. Being open ended (but not sandboxed unfortunately - there are plenty of load points but load times are short at about 10-15 seconds), you can choose your own adventure and toughen up before entering a boss area, and wander off searching for better guns and shields. Sometimes it takes forever to kill some enemies, even if you have powerful guns. I found myself shooting some enemies with 100 powerful SMG fire-element bullets in the head and they still had 50% energy (this is in Playthrough2 through). And some bosses literally take half an hour and 1000+ bullets to kill. Overall its an enjoyable polished game that can be challenging at times and has 30 hours+ gameplay. I think most people will like this game since there is almost always action, unlike FallOut3 where you could walk for 10 minutes and literally do nothing but walk. Collapse
  56. tak
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    just awsome any one with probs just needs to fix there computer . only minor prob is co-op online but easly fixed
  57. Brad
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have experienced it being a bit weird attempting to get head shots, but other than that its fine. The RPG element in Borderlands is quite effective, with many of the guns perks or traits making almost each gun you find unique in its own way, and that you can give "Mods" to your grenades, making them instantly teleport to their target (Longbow Mod), and even offering "Class Mods", so you gain a title under your experience bar (AN example would be for Mordecai: Gunslinger) that improves your style of play with that character. The nice thing about the quests in Borderlands is that its not the type of grind you would actually think of it to be. Often times, you get to explore areas of the map you typically don't visit, and fine some nice loot to make your character even stronger. Overall, the negatives in this game are greatly overshadowed by the immense amount of fun you will be having playing this, and the game will be worth every single penny you invested in. Expand
  58. Ted
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which annoys me, but I can't fault the actual game. There are a few exploits I found to farm guns and experience and to make bosses easier, But all that goes out the window when you reach the credits... 2nd playthrough, They didn't just increase the mobs damage, they actually replaced earlier mobs with later ones to get a better continuous feel. I hope they patch the bugs and make co-op better (do away with gamespy?) Expand
  59. Shanghaied
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay however, is phenomenal. Borderlands as a new IP is off to a great start. The loot system is better than I expected and addicting. The actual shooter gameplay is very, very robust and well executed. Happy with my purchase, just hoping for some multiplayer polish from a future patch. Expand
  60. WyattR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    I think this is the NEW big type of game setting the curve for rpg and then online play also carracter and vehichle custminsation i can't stop play it and can't wait for more downloadable content thanks to all the people that worked on this game
  61. OveM
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Great game! Tons of guns and a simple but cool RPG system. The only ting i can say negative about the game is that it is way to easy. Other than that its quite amazing and good. Its on the Unreal 3 engine and it looks very good!
  62. RobertM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Great game. A blast to play both in single and multiplayer.
  63. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the jokes are funny and the gameplay is enthralling. Once you start, you just want to keep doing one more quest. I'd recommend it, especially if you got a buddy to pair up with. Definitely worth at least a 9. Maybe up to 9.5. Expand
  64. DavidR
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS of the year. Expand
  65. jimbojett
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Buggy but when it works, it's a blast in co-op. Graphics are amazing if you change the FOV to 100-105 in the .ini file. Good solid diablo2 gameplay.
  66. BastiK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    i've bought this game and played for at least 15 hours and think its great!! online and singleplayer!
  67. AaronS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best action RPGs in the past 5 years. it doesn't have as much RPG elements as for instance Fallout 3. but this is an action game with very strong RPG elements. the best part of it would have to be the loot lust. this wins game of the year from me!
  68. KarlN
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    This game is very well done. While normally I don't prefer the "cartoon" like graphics I made an exception and I was quite impressed. To say the least if this was an MMO I would play it.
  69. TimL
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    A game well worth playing. Single player rocks, and multiplayer is fun as long as you play with friends not plebs
  70. nathanm
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    this game is awesome very nice graphics very different then other games and its unique. but the only flaw is the multi player. other than that this game is fun and addictive.
  71. JosephS
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is everything I wanted out of Fallout. A first person shooter with RPG elements and an unintrusive story. The only thing it's lacking is the early levels could use an option to turn off tutorials.
  72. SeanBest
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Game is amazing. Really interesting. Story is weird gameplay is intense. Commercials looked lame, but I was really surprised.
  73. RichF
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is amazingly fun with buddies. Play it. GotY, for sure.
  74. RobertL
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    As a Co-op experience, its hard to beat. The loot system is great. Game play is fast paced and the difficulty is just right. People who don't like the graphic style should just find another game. Realistic graphics are great but I like this cell shading almost more, I get a great frame rate that never dips and everything still looks freaking awesome.
  75. TimP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Wow, Prob the best game of the year if you like css cod4 and fallout3 they just made a baby and its bloody fps coop heaven! Its just downright fun to play!
  76. BrixQ
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Near perfect, deserves a 90/100 but has room for basic touch ups such as AI and smarter item menus. The action and game play are top notch and I'd recommend this to any shooter or RPG fan.
  77. FedericoG
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Well speed rush guns and splatter i loving it !! Rpg elements give another chance I've tried coop , very funny.
  78. MadL
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Bloody brilliant game, loads of content (guns, upgrades, quests, enemies), single player lasts long, which is good as the game is fun. The game also has 4 player online also, which is very fun once again and i love the overall design of the game and the humor. A game i would wholeheartedly suggest to a friend.
  79. HaqeemA
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is incredible, really distract my attention from Modern Warfare 2 and Left 4 Dead 2. Featured with cool and smooth graphic and "outline" styling (artwork ftw!) just like Prince of Persia, up to 4 player in multiplayer mode (more epic than those zombies shooting title) this product is worth every penny! I can't write more about this game cause this too awesome!
  80. FezzT
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part of the game for this to work. Still this game is amazing Expand
  81. GM
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I love this game. Yeah, its a little repetitive, like a hack'n'slash kinda like diablo versions. But the graphics are crazy (in a good way), the mind numbing variation of weapons you can use however you game (power over accuracy, visa-versa, etc). Different game, pretty awesome. You oughtta try it, especially if you can find it on sale. I love it!
  82. Xiru
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    10 without a second thought. The minor flaws of the PC version are completely overshadowed by the highly addictive gameplay, engrossing atmosphere and incredible variety. This game, without a doubt, offers an astounding experience to anyone even a little familiar with either shooters or RPGs - while fans of the two genres are in for a very, very special, unforgettable treat.
  83. ChrisT
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I've been a gamer all my life, growing up i'd play on the Amiga then on a Pentium 1 200mhz and upgrading ever since. I've played a insane amount of games, recently however I have been growing tired of the games coming out as they don't seem to offer anything new. I was hesitant of getting this game but I am really glad I did, I haven't really got this hooked on a I've been a gamer all my life, growing up i'd play on the Amiga then on a Pentium 1 200mhz and upgrading ever since. I've played a insane amount of games, recently however I have been growing tired of the games coming out as they don't seem to offer anything new. I was hesitant of getting this game but I am really glad I did, I haven't really got this hooked on a game for awhile, its insanely addicting. The way I would describe it is like Diablo hack and slash style but instead its first person run and gun. Loot is almost exactly like diablo, randomly generated guns and items that drop from your kills. The also also somewhat like WoWs items as they are rated in quality (white to purple) Also the quests are kinda like wow as well as you get them from NPCs and have to kill, obtain, other stuff... however its soo much more funner as you have tons of guns to test out on your enemies. Also getting critical hits takes accuracy (headshots and other places depending on the enemy) and is not a percentage like WoW. I have been playing single player the whole time and I usually only play multiplayer games which is weird for me, shows how good of a game it is imo. I think this game would be twice is bad ass if you team up with a friend, asd I plan on doing that soon. Also the AI is pretty cool, as they zig zag, sidestep, strafe, so they are challenging to hit. Heads can get blown off as well as limbs and they can even gib given the right weapon. The NPCs are funny as hell too. Expand
  84. RivanF
    Apr 26, 2010
    9
    I keep going back to it. Need I say more? I'll say what I didn't like since the list is smaller: Enemies were pretty easy. Their difficulty is based more on how many hitpoints they have rather than being actually "skilled". IE, moving around for cover, trying to out maneuver you, etc... Would like to see a PvP system better instilled. Some weaponry is crazy powerful and make PvP I keep going back to it. Need I say more? I'll say what I didn't like since the list is smaller: Enemies were pretty easy. Their difficulty is based more on how many hitpoints they have rather than being actually "skilled". IE, moving around for cover, trying to out maneuver you, etc... Would like to see a PvP system better instilled. Some weaponry is crazy powerful and make PvP pretty pointless, unless there's some way to better level the playing field. Perhaps in a further patch (if this were figured out, I could imagine a Borderlands MMOFPS that would be extraordinarily fun). Also, obviously, the weapon hex editing would need to be stopped... Parts were rather repetitive, but yet I still go back. Expand
  85. SpencerC
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    worth it. Its a full rpg that HAPPENS to use guns, not a fps with some rpg in it. multiplayer is accesible and multiplayer (among other things) make this game timless. You WILL be playing this game 5 years from now, even if you abandon it for 3
  86. PaulL
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. I love the Diablo-like looting and leveling mixed with the action of a fps. This is the most fun I've had with a game all year.
  87. YannickL
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best game! It's like Diablo But one skill and it's first person shooter! It's awsome
  88. TannerG
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Very fun game, too bad the mutiplayer you have to open ports to get to work or else i would give it a ten
  89. ThiagoM
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    If you're fan of Diablo and fan of a Post Nuclear World (Liek Fallout) then you will love Borderlands... The game has a linear storyline, but it gives you an universe of Skills combination that you aquire along your levels of experience. It has very different classes which gives you a reason to start another game just to play as other character. The multiplayer its very simple and If you're fan of Diablo and fan of a Post Nuclear World (Liek Fallout) then you will love Borderlands... The game has a linear storyline, but it gives you an universe of Skills combination that you aquire along your levels of experience. It has very different classes which gives you a reason to start another game just to play as other character. The multiplayer its very simple and cool (The only prob is realeasing the right firewall ports). So, if you ready to collect hundreads of different weapons, build characters in different levels and smash Hundredes of monsters with Rocket Launchers, Sniper Rifles, Machineguns and Grenades, Borderland is your game!. Expand
  90. ChrisS
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    I've played this game at a friends house on the 360, and I must say we had a blast playing this game. The true fun comes from the coop game play. Playing by yourself can be ok if you wanna level your character up and take it to the multi, but with no Friendly AI in single, its not the main fun point of this game. There are many guns and pickups the game play was smooth, but smoother I've played this game at a friends house on the 360, and I must say we had a blast playing this game. The true fun comes from the coop game play. Playing by yourself can be ok if you wanna level your character up and take it to the multi, but with no Friendly AI in single, its not the main fun point of this game. There are many guns and pickups the game play was smooth, but smoother on pc. The enemies and animation were great! Overall, If you get this game and enjoy the rpg elements fused with fps, then you will not be disappointed. Expand
  91. VincentC
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Excellent game, fun, easy to get into, but the customization has depth, and it is fast paced when your playing with 3 friends! I personally love the graphics, I was upset when i first saw the change, because I had been following this game forever, but once I booted the game and saw the images up close and personal I can tell you it is beautiful. Good call visually!
  92. AdamS
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most fun and addictive games I have played in ages. It has the action RPG elements of Diablo and the FPS elements of Halo. The Firefly-esque Sci-Fi/Western feel works to blend these genres well. This is the most addictive game I've played since WoW and I can't believe I'm taking the time to type this rather than playing it right now!
  93. JackJ
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    So much fun!
  94. DontouchMeThere
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING, Well worth the money, lots of interesting dialogue, and TONS of weapons. This is everything I'd ever wanted in an RPG/FPS hybrid, the combat is smooth, the enemies are challenging, and the humor... is humorous!
  95. MooMan
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    If you like RPGs, this game is for you. If you like FPS, this game is for you. Although this game was made for x-box, they did a fairly decent job making it usable for PC although it "reeks" of x-box. This game deserves a 8 but i like it so much i'll give it a 9. Most of the "ba zillion guns" are crap white.
  96. Philip
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Superb FPS gameplay, addictive loot and level-up mechanics, and kick-ass art style! Solo or co-op, this game is awesome! Post-apocalyptic Diablo with guns, more please!
  97. JasonC
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I've nearly completed the game and it has been a blast. I enjoyed the game's creative level designs. Also, the sheer number and variety of guns is amazing. Borderlands is the most fun when shared with friends. There are only a couple minor negatives points to the game. First, on a PC, the game is hard to network. You need to open up ports on your firewall and finding that I've nearly completed the game and it has been a blast. I enjoyed the game's creative level designs. Also, the sheer number and variety of guns is amazing. Borderlands is the most fun when shared with friends. There are only a couple minor negatives points to the game. First, on a PC, the game is hard to network. You need to open up ports on your firewall and finding that information was a pain. Second, the game is clearly a port from the consoles because the item select screens don't always let you use your mouse to click things. Hopefully, with a patch or two, they can fix these issues. With that said, this is one of the best games that I have played this year. I think the co-op action is more fun than Left4Dead. The unique mix of RPG elements into a solid co-op FPS makes for a truly compelling game. I highly recommend it. Expand
  98. KevinR
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    This game is ridiculously addicting and satisfying at the same time. Playing a coop online rpg/fps is too fun. The online system is terrible...and that's the reason I wouldn't give this game a 10. Replayability is great and the weapons and firing mechanics are tactile and exhilarating. Its fun to play a shooter that has bosses like in a normal RPG/MMO. So you have to use a good This game is ridiculously addicting and satisfying at the same time. Playing a coop online rpg/fps is too fun. The online system is terrible...and that's the reason I wouldn't give this game a 10. Replayability is great and the weapons and firing mechanics are tactile and exhilarating. Its fun to play a shooter that has bosses like in a normal RPG/MMO. So you have to use a good amount of skill on top of your traits and xp. All in all and beautifully crafted game with a very unique art scheme. Expand
  99. H@rlequin
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Its not often i rate a game at 10 but borderlands blend of fps and rpg was done very well. Although it is clearly a port from the console and doesn't work well when trying to triple screen because of the locked FOV it is a well rounded game. I think it would have really excelled if there was more of a diversity in the monsters. Its to damn hard to find any eridian weapons to, i have Its not often i rate a game at 10 but borderlands blend of fps and rpg was done very well. Although it is clearly a port from the console and doesn't work well when trying to triple screen because of the locked FOV it is a well rounded game. I think it would have really excelled if there was more of a diversity in the monsters. Its to damn hard to find any eridian weapons to, i have a level 36, 32 and 18 characters and i have only found 3. Expand
  100. ScottS.
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    this game is an addictive role playing shooter i can not get enough of. I hope 2k games makes another like this awesome game
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.