User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1099 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever,
    and if your one of those people who didnt like fallout 3 and think you wont like this still worth trying i hated fallout 3, but loved this there very little alike idk y ppl say there the same
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun, great art design and wacky atmosphere, and multiplayer with friends is a blast. The most fun with one game I've had in years - I can't wait for the sequel. Definitely get the Knoxx DLC.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol). There are tons of quests, and the map is pretty much wide open so you can run around doing what you want, when you want. The charector progression, and multiple skill trees are fun, and you get better at using a particular weapon type the more you use the weapon type. I loved thinning out the mobs by popping head shots with a elemental sniper rifle from afar, and then going in, and cleaning up with an machine gun or automatic hand gun. Getting close to mobs using Liliths Pheonix skill is a riot too, especially in zombie land. Im a little more methodical than other players though. Some people Ive played with like to just wade in with a shot gun, or rocket launcher. There's also vehicle battles, and a thunderdome style arena where you have a ton of mobs thrown at you at once, under many different conditions, such as low gravity, faster speeds, or using specific weapon types for more, or less damage. Borderlands is simply one of those games just about anyone will love-trust me! The few people who gave it bad reviews...well, theres always gonna be a couple of people in every crowd who have to say the sky is red if you say its blue lol! Anyway, good luck! Happy gaming.... Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesome and when you think you have the best guns you're gonna find, there is a drop which is even better (though at higher character levels, you're probably going to have your gun preferences like me). It's more of a FPS and less of a RPG, pretty much an ARPG. Diablo was my favorite game ever (many sleepless evenings) and I can't say this game measures up to that time and excitement level, but it's really addictive and took me a while to finally stop playing it (months). Right now it's on sale at Steam and this is when I got it before. Well worth the original price let alone the sale price. Automatic buy. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  8. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    borderlands is one of the best games out there, buy it you wont be disappointed, RPG and FPS work very well together, super addictive and excellent graphics, a good buy for any gamer.
  9. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. This game is in no way shape or form like Fallout your moron. i have every game in the Fallout series and how you compare them is insane. Expand
  10. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Everything about Borderlands was brilliant, artstyle, gameplay, humor, characters, story and the amount of weapons. Can't really think of any real cons. The base campaign plus DLCs is about 60h long, but achievements and walkthrough 2 (hardmode) will keep you busy even longer. Definetly the best RPG-FPS to date.
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Bonkers futuristic setting? Check. Cool bounty hunters storyline? Check. Wild West ethics? Check. Hilarious dialogue and other tidbits? Check. Endless replayability? Check. Massive scale gunfights? Check. Utterly epic random loot generator? Check. Skill trees that actually change gameplay? Check. Best coop mode ever? Check. I cannot sing enough praise for this game but then I don't have to this thing is a legend. Definitely try it out if you have even the slightest bit of interest in it. Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.
  13. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Borderlands' versatility and the ability to go your own personal way is suite to fit any type of gamer willing to take on a challenge or play it easy and kick ass on your skill level. Because of its muti-player feature being sub par to other co-op games, Borderlands is usually trashed around because of its lack for easy access to the not so vast community of players. Sure i can agree. But not to the point that i don't want to try to get a game started with some people. I have the choice between two options. Let me jump into my singleplayer game allowing anyone to join in at a random time. Or joining someone's current game. This is helpful when i'm feeling in the mood to go my own path or earn xp and help a fellow gamer throughout his campaign at the same time. No choice is the wrong choice. I'm Just left with options. I also have the option to get separated from one's game and fight leveled beasts throughout. Borderlands adds a great feature to its mutiplayer experience. Dual mode. You can go up to a player in the party, melee them, giving them the option to melee you back, initiating a duel between the two players. This is available on the spot at anytime you want to duel. There are also duel arenas located around the map for a better experience in a 1 on 1 fight. The gameplay experience itself is one of a kind.Its a shooter RPG that offers so much more than the competing Mass Effect or GTA 4. Around every corner, a new weapon is lurking in that weapons crate behind that building, or in that monster that you have to defeat. After you beat the game, you have an option to go through it again with the same level and equipment you had before, except the monsters are all on a different, more challenging level. Not to mention each cause has an effect. If you do one thing a certain way. It can unlock different things than if you did it a different way on your first play through. The AI are adaptable and can give you a challenge when you need one, or they lower their guard enough for you to kick ass. The characters throughout the story can give you laughs every minute you talk to them, or be serious enough for you to pay attention at certain times. Overall, borderlands is a visual masterpiece in its own way. The animation is unique to the game giving the unreal engine a great game to base its engine on. With a Nvidia Geforce 8800 GT card, it looked like the visuals were popping out and hammering into my soul with every model detail. Not to mention the soundtrack can have you from suspenseful moments of uncertainty, to a tribal instinct to kill everything in sight. The AI's voice tracks can get annoying after a while. You will start to hear the same thing being said over and over, as well as a few glitches and bugs to give a little frustration. Altogether, this game did not fail to impress, it deserves all great remarks it is given. Only a few things could be fixed to give it perfect playability. Excellent job. Playability: 9.5. Graphics: 9. Sound: 8.5. Replay value: 9.5 If anyone has any questions, please email me at MRarmy12@aol.com. Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    The Good: Fantastic gameplay, infinite amount of guns, smart AI and in general a solid game. The RPG elements are solid, if nothing spectacular, but nothing to complain about either. A good variety of missions that supplement the plot. The co-op makes the game about ten times better than it is on single player. it's challenging enough to be fun, but its not so hard that you die every 5 minutes.

    The Bad: driving can be tough since there's not much interaction with the environment. you either drive over something or it stops you with no damage to the object or vehicle. The default buttons are somewhat funky (crouch is C instead of Ctrl for some reason) but those are easily changeable. There's no mini-map, only a compass, so constantly pausing to check the map can get annoying.

    The Graphics: (Disclaimer: some of this may depend on how fast your computer is) Some people will love the art, others will hate it (i for one, love it). Graphics are slick, depth of field looks cool if you turn it on. Don't play this on anything less than a Core 2 Duo or else it will look like crap. Occasionally you or enemies can get stuck inside something but it's easy to get out and it happens rarely. when you respawn you wait a little bit to let your computer render the level: like 5 seconds (it's kinda cool. you can actually see the render happen). All in all, a great game with minor issues that keep it from earning a 10
    Expand
  15. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Very Nice and Crazy Game. I like playing in Coop. Every Time you play it you´ll find something new. Its one of the BEST COOP Games ever. I´ve every DLC and still waiting for more !
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is Good Game guys.. I played it on Xbox 360 game.. I love it all of them...
    But These not having cheats on Xbox 360 :(

    Please make more game on this game..
  17. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Well I liked it.... Picked it up while it was on sale because it looked like a good game. Mixing RPG elements with FPS make a very good game. Sometimes the weapon types and all the are confusing, but overall great game that shouldnt be missed by any FPS fan and many RPG fans should give this game a chance too.
  18. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    With borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring at times, Driving is almost flawless, and after you beat the game you can get the DLC which will add quite a bit of time to your gameplay. Expand
  19. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is probably not what most people expect: The RPG part is very weak and it is not really a Sandbox game. Nevertheless, if you like a relaxed FPS with some fun character building, you'll enjoy this game. Even the single player is a lot of fun for quite a few hours. Sadly I cannot try the multiplayer (moving to south america kinda spoiled my online fun), but judging from the games concept it'll probably rock. The whole concept is a bit like dungeon siege with guns. :P (Dungeon Siege ONE, mind you :) Expand
  20. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring. With sharp, accurate controls they are easy to ignore and make the good stuff like loot, large world and equally fun single player and co-op stand out. Unconditional recommendation once you edit the input confit file. Expand
  21. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    I feel like this game was really underrated. Although it starts out painfully slow, the game picks up quickly once you beat the first boss. The story isn't the best I've experienced in a game, but it's pretty sufficient for an FPS RPG. The re playability of this game is great, after playing it 4 times I wanted to play it all over again. Also the DLC for this game is superb. It adds so much more to the game, increasing the level cap, adding new maps, enemies, and weapons. I wish more people played this game. Expand
  22. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    I got quite surprised when I started to play this game: it's nothing new in the fps area, but it still delivers what many shooters don't: a lot of content. First of all, you got 4 classes to choose with 3 talent trees to choose, which actually can vary the gamestyle (but not a lot, and I will explain in a minute) Each class have an inventory which you can carry quite a lot of weapons (So far, I can carry over 30 of them), but also grenade's mods, which will change the property of your grenades, and also class mods in which you'll obtain various benefits and bonuses for specific talents and skills. Honestly all of this is very well though because mods are very handy and the talents can make things go better if you have a proper grenade mod (like dispersion, or sticky), but still I gotta admit one thing: the talents aren't a big deal. They differ the gamestyle yes, but still they aren't a BIG difference: each class can equip any weapon for example and even if a soldier has more bonuses while using shotguns and rifles, you'll be free to use any other weapon as you want, because the bonuses aren't a HUGE bonuses: they feel more like "useful perks". On the other side, you can only use the "perk'd" weapons and forget the rest: you're good with those basically, and the only benefit of using many weapon is that the more you use an SMG, stronger the damage you'll do...but it's not, again, a big difference, and there's too much freedom in my opinion. The rest of the talents are handy, but I still haven't seen any proper difference, except for the main skill, which are the main and biggest difference among the 4, and I apologize for the abuse of the words "difference", because that's what I felt while playing.. The game is structured like a RPG due to the levels (50, 69 with the dlc), loot system (with color-based grades), quests, dungeons and a plot, with respective end bosses and so on, All of this is actually fun to do because it's not linear and you can also re-do the dungeons for more weapons, and the quests are kinda quick and easy to do. The plot however is one of the biggest trolls I've ever seen (but I dare to say in a good way). The areas are many and actually huge and in fact you'll use vehicles very often to travel in order to reach the next points,although the driving sections are a bit clunky and hard to drive at times. The online co-op is nice but it lags a lot on my computer for some reasons and I never managed to make it work properly (it is the only game i own that lags this much online, so it's not me!). I should mention also that the DLC are actually more like "expansions": they add new areas, new weapons, new vehicles and one of them adds also more levels, and the prices for them were very good (I hardly buy DLCs, but these were a very nice addition). I honestly hated the first points I mentioned, because it doesn't make you replay another class due of their lack of "differences", but except for that I really have no complains: it's probably one of the longest and actually content-filled shooters I've owned, and even if the flaws I've mentioned are a bit annoying the game still remains huge for a shooter (i've finished it in about 20-30 hours, plus 10 hours more for levelling and doing the dlc's). Definitely a good shooter with a very high longevity, worth a good try if you ask me. Expand
  23. May 24, 2012
    9
    Very good game, worth buying. I gave it only 9 because of minor technical problems ( had to reinstall graphics driver ) and repetitious music ( game deserves much more wild west like ambient ).
    Concept is definitely the best i have seen for a long time in games.
  24. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, had loads of fun with, and there is quality DLC to have fun with also! The system is a great mix of FPS and RPG elements and although many people may not be able to grasp how this game works, hopefully it can open new doors to other crossover games to do the same.
  25. May 14, 2011
    9
    I was surprised how much I enjoyed this game. While not my usual style of game, it's so well put together I couldn't help but get totally sucked in by it. While I might have liked more of the mission text to have been voice acted, that is a minor quibble. It's not an elegant shooter (relying far more on picking the right weapon than highly strategic play), but it kept me coming back for more, and the character progress was very well balanced. I always felt a sense of forward momentum, and rarely felt like I was simply grinding for cash or xp. I think replay value is limited, but the first play-through was well worth the price of entry. Expand
  26. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Played it through with a couple of friends. With one friend it was fun up till level 14, after that it's the same crap over and over. You notice the story element and interaction of your muse completely disappears after level 13 or so and it's just shoot, find weapons, rinse repeat. Many of the quests are broke when you try to play together so it's hard to sync up where you should play together unless you do literally every quest together.

    End boss is a joke, it shows how they put all their ideas and development into the first 14 levels and after that got under a production timeline and had to squeeze it out.

    Lots of profanity so not good for little ones and clearly a console port game if you are getting it for the PC be prepared for clunky menus and interactions.
    Expand
  27. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    There is not enough to say for this game. It is amazing in everyway imaginable. In case if you guys are late for the party, this game showcases more than 100,000 guns. Yeah. You read right. Also, the graphics are cool because it kinda is cartoonish, but not as cartoonish as Team Fortress 2. Its like cartoon violence, yet there is blood. As you level up in the game, you get better and better guns. Like, I went to the place where you start the game (Arid Badlands) and my character was extremely overpowered against the other enemies because I was a higher level up. It provides some pretty funny and gruesome deaths. Also, the playability is really good. You'll catch on as the game goes. However, the lack of tutorials made the game wierd at first, because when you reach level five or something, you get ability points that you can assign to different areas (e.g. stealth). But, I didn't know how to put them on my character.Then my friend told me how.But, it is a great game. Don't miss out on it. Expand
  28. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    This really is a fantastic game, I was lucky enough to pick this up in a Steam sale for around £6 including all the DLC which for such a large game offering so many hours of play is a bargain.

    Graphically the game is beautiful with a unique stylised look to the art, music is quite low key but fits the mood and cranks up when necessary for particular areas and challenges.

    The
    AI isn't super smart and can have a few off moments but overall is challenging, enemy characters will advance and use cover quite effectively in the many firefights I've encountered.

    The hardest and most difficult thing is trying to keep all my fav weapons and items in such a small inventory (though this can be expanded by completing side missions). The randomisation of guns is great, for a while I'll be sniper only picking off targets from afar then will come across a devastating new type of shotgun or SMG and will proceed to rush headfirst into danger in a hail of bullets!

    I wanted to love Fallout 3 as was a massive fan of Oblivion but it just didn't work for me on many levels, Borderlands isn't as deep as Oblivion but is a hell of a lot of fun.
    Expand
  29. May 10, 2011
    9
    The ability to develop a character (RPG style) and continually find better equipment (Diablo style) integrated seamlessly into an FPS made for some of the most fun 200+ hours of gaming I've ever had. They did so much right here in the original game, that I can almost forgive them for the expansion packs which were absolutely horrid (with the sole exception of Knoxx which was great). The scripting was hilarious and the premise of the game incredibly enjoyable, though fishing porn mags out of dumpsters and other lame-o missions may have needed some polishing. I was constantly questing to get new and better equipment and kept finding myself coming back to the game for more, long after I'd beaten it more times than I'd care to admit. Now for the bad news: I have two major issues with the game. First, the class balancing needed some major tweaking, and the enemy AI was never more than a minor challenge. I understand that it was meant to be more "arcade style," but the game offered almost no resistance as I blazed my way through the artistically stylish campaign. I loved the integration of coop (when the server worked properly) and enjoyed the game immensely, but it was just a tiny step away from a classic. Can't wait for Borderlands 2! Expand
  30. May 12, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is an amazingly-unique game. There have been many FPS games that use RPG elements (Mass Effect), but this one has been noticed mainly for it's cartoony art style, millions of randomized weapons, and great Co-op. The classes in the game are what you may expect from an RPG: An ex-soldier with a sentry gun/shield; a "Siren" who can warp between dimensions; a "Brick" character (a.k.a. a "Tank"-type) with a knack for punching things; and a sniper with a pet bat/hawk thing. The story is rather clichéd but the characters are rather varied. But, then there's ClapTrap: One of the most annoying characters EVER. You might think he's funny at first, but his lines and actions get repetitive and annoying. However, the voice acting for all the other characters are pretty good and the sound is great, from fast-paced firefight BGM to the opening theme "Ain't No Rest For the Wicked" by Cage the Elephant. The leveling system is nice but some of the "abilities" you get aren't very noticeable. Also, while some quests are enjoyable (like driving a car over a canyon), most of them get boring and repetitive. But, get together with a few friends and this will be one of the best Co-op shooters you'll ever play. Expand
  31. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    A 4-person co-op FPS with RPG elements, in postapocaliptic-sf, Mad Max-like setting, with interesting, cell-shaded, sketchy graphics and nicely designed characters. It's main flaws are as follows: becomes too easy about halfway past the game, boring-ass when played alone, Knoxx is the only good DLC.
  32. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Borderlands has a rather unique feel to it. It's an RPG adventure FPS, taking the player to an entirely new and unknown planet of Pandora. The planet for the most part is a desert wasteland, and so the common areas tend to be junkyards, rural towns, plains, canyons of various sort, but later on, towards the end, you do get a bit of a mountainous snowy areas too. Borderlands is fun in many different ways. First of all, it has very unique graphics and this somewhat of a cartoonish style really really fits the general feel and humour of the game. Secondly, the game has RPG elements, so you get to unlock new skills as you progress through the game and face harder enemies. Thirdly the game has a massive variety of guns. The guns could come with all sorts of different stats, and you do often find good ones. You can play Borderlands with any of the four characters, each having a unique special skill and a slightly different gun proficiency to the others. Borderlands doesn't have much of a story, but it still is there, and it greatly picks up at very late stages of the game. The game is full of humour and generally gives off a laid back vibe. It can be played single-player or co-op. It's really up to you. The game might seem a bit repetitive due to its "do this quest, then do that quest" approach, but the sidequests do vary greatly between each other, each time offering a new challenge, so it's all great fun. I'll briefly mention the DLCs too. I've only tried out 3 of them so far, and all in all I felt they weren't as good as the original game. Dr Ned's Zombie Island was pretty good, but shooting zombies in dark woods does get repetitive after a while, and so gladly this expansion wasn't too long. The Underdome was terrible. It's just an arena, so I didn't like that one at all. General Knoxx's armory was sort of OK. It's nice to drive huge distances and all and having a huge map, but it's very frustrating when you respawn back at your original outpost after you exit the game. They should've placed more outposts in that one. I have not tried the Robot Revolution yet. To summarize, Borderlands is a fun FPS, so I'd highly advise it, especially for those who like FPS games with RPG elements. Just don't be put off early on. It might seem a tad boring in early stages, but it does pick up very quickly. Expand
  33. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is truly an amazing game. I have been looking for a game that is similar to world of warcraft but without all that kiddy crap. Borderlands gives me just that . You go on quests, level up, fight bosses, use crazy guns, play with friends, and more. Best first person shooter i've ever played.
  34. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    I've had more fun playing this game than I have any other FPS style game ever. The humor is campy which I love and the cell shader art is excellent. It also has some of the best music I've heard in a game and it fits the style perfectly. The DLC's are great too! The Zombie Island DLC dialog is genius and made me burst out laughing several times. Borderlands 2 is out soon and I hope it can live up to its little brother's fun factor. Whoever said this game is like FPS Diablo with guns hit the nail on the head. Good times! Expand
  35. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This is a great game with an Art style that may at first seem strange but it really adds detail to the whole thing. The enemies consist mostly of Bandits, Psychos and Skags which are great to look at let alone fight, They have some funny one liners and some great and cinematic deaths when set a flame or shocked. The boss fights do come quite rare but are fantastic, They are colourful and full of life and do require a bit of a set-up too get to them and while some of the quests seem a little repetitive, They soon pick up and you'll find yourself in car boosting over fantastic jumps and squishing enemies under your tyres. But Multilayer is where it really hits off. The classes combine together great (Berserker is just running in and taking off heads in close combat while solider is a more strategy styled game play) Although I was quite bored and lonely when I played single player as there isn't really anyone to talk too and your stuck in a barren wasteland. So not recommended for lone wolves or people unable to play online. Summary: A great FPS with a Great mixture of RPG magic, Grab a team-mate. Grab one of the Billions of guns, and face the madness! Expand
  36. May 10, 2012
    9
    Yes, it's flawed - The AI is terrible, the fetch quests can be dull, etc. But the charm, backdrop, story, and undeniable fun of looting and shooting make this a great entry into the shooter genre. The depth of the characters you'll encounter alone make this game fun enough to play.
  37. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the most enjoyable games I have played in my video gaming life. I play two separate primary characters (one in single player and the other in multiplayer) and I enjoy each of them immensely. No matter how many people you play with, you are sure to have a fantastic time playing. Not only is the gameplay fun, but the humor is fantastic. This is one of the few games that I really have absolutely not issues with. The Game of the Year addition that includes all the DLC is an excellent deal at $40. Expand
  38. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game that is fun, witty, and extremely fun be it single player or multiplayer. There are some issues with the mutiplayer but I don't think that should take away a lot from the game as many other titles are SP only. As with the second line of this game coming out in a year's time this makes this game a must try to get into the storyline and play style.
  39. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very surprisingly great FPS,RPG game. When they say they have a 'bazillion' guns, they really do have heaps of guns. It's great fun with friends in co-op gameplay, with heaps of enemies and loot to encounter. Buy Borderlands GOTY for a good bargain on steam and enjoy!
  40. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    What a nice surprise! I waited for this one to go on sale, but I shouldn't have. This one is definitely a diamond in the rough. If you like FPS combined with elements of RPG (character development). Here's why I liked Borderlands so much:
    - great graphics that appears to look like a hand-drawn comic book - it's not your typical FPS which tries to mimic reality. You're on a totally
    different planet anyway.
    - well balanced character development system
    - amazing DLC add-on packages
    I did not give it 10 because you need to register account with GameSpy to start playing multiplayer.
    Beware! This game is highly addictive!
    Expand
  41. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game, and what a mistake that would have been! The trailers and screen shots don't do it justice. Never mind for now about the look of the game or any of the details. Bottom line: this game is FUN! You can play it for hours or just pop in for 10 minutes. How you play it, how long you play it, where you go... it's all under your control. And it's not just fun, it's also funny. You can try not to laugh, but they'll eventually throw something at you that will crack you up. It's been said many times, but one of the great things about this game is the almost infinite selection of gear. You often have to pick between two very similar items that trade off one advantage for another, but often enough to keep you interested, you come across that item that outshines everything in its class and you go, "Oh, yeah, baby! You're all mine!" The world is so rich in loot that you're guaranteed to run out of inventory space and shed a tear as you leave behind a shiny new Vladoff that you could have sold for a small fortune. I usually hate cartoonish games. Except for masterpieces like Machinarium, I find that they detract from the atmosphere of the game. But Borderlands got the semi-cartoonish look so right that it feels like living inside a comic book. If you get this game -- and great Scott! why wouldn't you? -- do get the DLCs also. "The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned" DLC turns this into an awesome and bizarre zombie shooter that easily doubles the value of the game all by itself. I'm probably not the first to say this, but graphics aside, Borderlands is what I had hoped that Rage would be like. Expand
  42. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions. You are given the availability to accept as many missions into your "quest log" as possible and then "activate" any of those quests in any order you want to prioritize to complete them. So do you see? It is an RPG as much as it is a FPS. It is MUCH better at being a FPS but the RPG is really fun as well and it is no drag. 9/10. Expand
  43. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    You play this game in 1st person, but its truelly an RPG and feels that way. Play as one of the four classes available, Really recommended to play co-op with your friends.
    Visually this game looks really artistic with all the hand painted textures, the enemies all fit right in and overal it kinda feels like a comic book (in a GOOD way).
    Cause of the random weapon generation system
    litterally thousands type of guns can drop.
    The quest require you to do all kinds of stuff for lazy ass questgivers like any RPG.
    Fun enemies, fun quests, great graphics, awesome world.
    Must have if you enjoy co-op RPG's
    I would go with a 10 if it wasnt for some pesky console remnants
    Expand
  44. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    love this game. enormous world, endless play-ability, tons of enemies, an infinite amount of guns, (no joke, the game uses a script to randomly generate guns with different specs) plenty of hilarity and bad humor to go around, and quite the frontier game for going with the cartoon-y graphics. i have a copy of this game on my PS3 and the PC, and it is beyond amazing, i have yet to finish every DLC and every side mission with a single character, although i have played parts of it with different characters here and there. the class customization and variety are plentiful, and if you buy this game, you are bound to NOT be bored by it's repetition, because it contains none. Expand
  45. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!) to choose from and best of all, co-op. It is best played with a friend or three since the game gets tougher but the drops from enemies get better.

    I would recommend playing this start to finish before jumping into its sequel.
    Expand
  46. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    One of the most fun games I have ever played. Can't wait for Borderlands2. The Multiplayer aspect is incredible. About 15 of my friends bought this game on a Steam Sale...played it for months. Lots of different ways to play the game...tech trees, classes etc.

    This game is all about intese battles....bullets, blood, and lots of it.

    The only time that I didn't like the game was when
    someone would join your game with a character much higher level than yours and would go around killing all the enemies on you...or if you were playing with someone who would run ahead of you (easy to do with Beserker/Siren) and steal all the loot. The quality of this game is unsheathed by the quality of people that you play with.

    A must buy. A "wish I had bought the game the day it came out" game.
    Expand
  47. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Damn epic Mix of RPG, FPS and a true open World where you can do anything. (Open World is like that of Elder Scrolls and Fallout). Only annoying aspect is when your try and play with your friends online, once in a blue moon the game disconnects you and when you restart a online game it is in at the nearest station that you used not the zone where you ended. But over all a VERY SOLID GAME. P.S. has a damn good story as well. Expand
  48. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Amazing cartoon game style, one of my best purchase, co-op system to up to 4 players a lot of weapons and enemy to kill, some extreme vehicles which you will love to drive around the giant maps of the game while playing with a friend, lots of achievements and a nice stories, plus DLC's which add a lot of new content, looking forward to Borderlands 2.
  49. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of
    boring with skills like: more damage, faster reload, etc etc, but you have a main action skill for each class which doesn't suck and adds a lot to the game, the main action skill is really fun to play around with and you can upgrade it with not only other skills but also making it elemental. It also has some elements from dungeon, hack and slash games such Diablo and Torchlight such as picking a class that has different abilities and killing a lot of enemies that might drop a new gun, shield, grenade mod and money, loot loot loot! Grab it all and sell the remaining to a store for extra cash. Pretty cool main quests although the storyline itself isn't that great and not so interesting but really, with a game like this, storyline is almost optional. You also get side missions for extra loot and EXP and some are really interesting. The amount of guns in this game is really large! Each gun has different damage, accuracy and fire rate, so you will go through many guns finding the one that suits you the most. Another thing I want to talk about is boss fights, how often do you see nowadays FPS with a boss fight that has a health meter? Not much, but Borderlands has it and it does a well job with it. The level design is also a pretty bright thing in the game, it's incredibly well done and don't even get me started on Pandora itself, IT'S MASSIVE! The level design is so well done it actually allows for secrets, which again, is one of the more old school elements in the game and a fun to find while happily exploring the game. The game also has CO-OP, find some three more friends and have an absolute blast with this game, lots of laughs and fun is always nice. Overall the game is a near masterpiece with some very minor down sides to it, get the game and start firing away! Expand
  50. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    This first person shoot-n-loot ARPG brims with a charm and humor that are complimented by an engaging combative exploration experience and hindered only by an unfortunately flawed PC port and multiplayer connectivity issues.
  51. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Love this game. Guns, loot, comedy, what more could you ask for? It obviously borrows from several other genres, but it gets it right and makes for a great time.
  52. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    I don't know what so special about this game. I just feel this game is fun. I have all four characters got to maximum lvl. I enjoyed playing it. Worth playing!
  53. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fun game but do not expect something good like Rage. If you want good shooter play Rage instead because shooting is kind of silly here. If you want PRG ... Well, play something else because here just like inn Rage just slight elements of RPG. But instead of that nice time killing fun game!
  54. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, but when you can buy copies for yourself and three friends for $15 on steam (when it goes on sale), you can easily find out what a difference the amazing co-op mode makes. PS: there are SO MANY GUNS! Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see
    screenshots of this game you know its Borderlands and not another game.

    The second game is coming out. If you are thinking of getting it BUY THIS GAME FIRST AND PLAY IT. The 2nd will be better and would spoil anyone who would go from the second game to the first.
    Expand
  56. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    It's really great game at all ! But some issues like lag in multiplayer or that it's just port from consoles makes the game only 9/10 in my opinion.
  57. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weak and not well distributed throughout the game and that there are very few customizable items outside of guns (just shields and character items). The talent system is great for creating diversified gameplay, but at the higher levels, you have pretty much every talent that you want maxed out- I wish there were a few more 'choices' you made that would have a significant impact on your character. I consider this game to be a must-buy if you have a friend you could throw down with, and a strong-buy if you're just playing by yourself. Expand
  58. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Never really got into the first one but this game is great. I would recommend bringing a friend or two along for the ride though. I think it is a lot more fun with friends and maybe a little easier too.
  59. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    If they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replay certain areas and missions over and over because they have the best drops. There are multiple kinds of character that have linear tree builds that give your character a customized feel, but at higher levels your build doesn't matter as much because it's more about the loot. There are hours upon hours of excellent gameplay, the downloadable content is fantastic and as soon as you beat the game with one charachter, you look forward to playing through with the same character again or trying out a different character. I picked this one up real cheap on a Steam holiday sale and it was a steal. One of the best games of the past 5 years. I reserve 10 out of 10 reviews for games that are not only great the first time you play them, but are great a few months later or a few years later and which are as fun the second time through as the first. Borderlands is a 10 all the way. Expand
  60. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    I played a lot of FPS games and still I was addicted to Borderlands. I thought I was playing an MMO with all the loots, missions and RPG elements. It is worth playing.
  61. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I have in both in Xbox 360 and PC. Expand
  62. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite games to play with a group of friends. There’s enough unique loot to keep you going from start to finish and the comic book/cartoon visual style with it's hand drawn textures looks amazing. The plot isn't great, but it doesn't take away from the experience since all I ever wanted to do was run around and shoot things anyway. Plus, even the DLC is worthwhile (aside from General Knoxx’s Armory and, to a lesser extent, Moxxi’s Arena). Definitely worth looking into if you don’t already have it! Expand
  63. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially with friends. Side quest and main quest are repepitive and doesn't hold that much story, but that doesn't hold the fact that this is a loot drop game, Everybody will always be looking for the best weapons and upgrades. .ALL the time. Bosses in the game are very very well introduced, some are generic and some are awesome doesn't help the fact that fighting them is amazing and well rewarding with the loot system. The animation in the game is amazingly addictive for me. The cartoon style artwork with the enemies just blends in so perfect because of the arcade like combat. It blends in and a perfect mix to change your mood of this game. The combat is very very fun and getting critical is just a warm feeling in your tummy. The lines of your character is different for each of them and can be very funny, specifically when the berserker goes Berserk and starts to scream out randomly, It will always make me laugh. Borderlands is the ultimate RPG Shooter and will forever be in my arsenal. Just watch out, most of the players i've been with in co-op are hackers and have unlimited shields. Expand
  64. May 12, 2013
    10
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The
    game is fun though there is a lot of violence, so when that comes bosses say just something fun about the boss. I could not help the game! I bought the "Game of the Year Edition" and has played more than 50 hours and still have not done it! FAR from.

    The bad: The only thing I can say that is bad is multi player. There is no on and tedious, but it's probably because it is old and Borderlands 2 is out!

    If you are into something far and game that you will never forget? Buy Borderlands It is something for almost a worth skyespils love!

    Hint: Start by buying the '1 'even after the 2nd movie because there's a story!

    Just bought Borderlands 2 and can not wait to play through it until I falderi asleep in front of my keyboard.

    chri529r out
    Expand
  65. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wield define your character. This is the game that got me hooked on the fps style gaming. If you like rpg games and have even an interest in fps games you will definitely love this game. Expand
  66. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    I thought that this game will be mediocre based on reviews that I have read.I was wrong.This game is perfect.Too much fun.The only negative that I could find is that the scenario could be better but in this game you just don't care.Keep shooting and looting brothers!
  67. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Top game with many hours of game play in it. Replayabilty... loads. Best to be played a group rather than solo. It is repetitive but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Looting for weapons is very fun. If you're expecting a decent story line I'm not sure that there is one there, I was to busy shooting spider ants and gaining XP to care.
  68. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    An incredible game. Satisfying kills, a plethora of guns, enjoyable levelling, an interesting open world with non-grindy quests.

    This is a game you could spend hours and hours playing and still want to play more. Even in 2014 it doesn't feel dated.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.