Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1387 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring.I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring. With sharp, accurate controls they are easy to ignore and make the good stuff like loot, large world and equally fun single player and co-op stand out. Unconditional recommendation once you edit the input confit file. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Average FPS which brings nothing new to the genre's table at all (apart from strange graphics). The useless ability count is quite high and I've already forgotten the reasons why I was going around shooting stuff. Some of the weapons are fun to use and sniping is enjoyable but it usually is. There is nothing in this game that makes it stand out from the crowd and I would only get it ifAverage FPS which brings nothing new to the genre's table at all (apart from strange graphics). The useless ability count is quite high and I've already forgotten the reasons why I was going around shooting stuff. Some of the weapons are fun to use and sniping is enjoyable but it usually is. There is nothing in this game that makes it stand out from the crowd and I would only get it if it's cheap or you have played all the others with higher scores. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    I was looking forward to Borderlands after reading previews and seeing the impressive artistic design and while I wasn't disappointed by the design & artwork the game play just didn't really strike a chord with me. It was far too repetitive and the overarching story was very loosely put together and a bit dull. I'm finding this more and more often with the plethora of open worldI was looking forward to Borderlands after reading previews and seeing the impressive artistic design and while I wasn't disappointed by the design & artwork the game play just didn't really strike a chord with me. It was far too repetitive and the overarching story was very loosely put together and a bit dull. I'm finding this more and more often with the plethora of open world explorable games being released, in my opinion the designers seem to be putting a bit too much focus on vast explorable worlds and not enough focus on an engaging story. I may be old fashioned but I'd much rather just have the illusion of a vast explorable world and be drawn into the story and challenging gameplay, rather than be somewhat blasé about the game and just aimlessly explore and complete numerous repetitive pointless missions. So if the idea of running around collecting 100's hundreds of mildly different weapons and aimlessly blasting the crap out of endless enemies in a large and beautifully designed world appeals to you then you will no doubt enjoy this game, but it wasn't for me. Expand
  4. May 24, 2012
    9
    Very good game, worth buying. I gave it only 9 because of minor technical problems ( had to reinstall graphics driver ) and repetitious music ( game deserves much more wild west like ambient ).
    Concept is definitely the best i have seen for a long time in games.
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    This game is everything I love about first person shooters and rpgs, and this is what they call a RPS, roleplaying shooter, the game has awesome stylized graphics, the story is somewhat there, but you are more immersed in intense difficult arcade style battles. The rpg element works like a standard open world map, as you play, you kill stuff, gain experience and weapons, and level upThis game is everything I love about first person shooters and rpgs, and this is what they call a RPS, roleplaying shooter, the game has awesome stylized graphics, the story is somewhat there, but you are more immersed in intense difficult arcade style battles. The rpg element works like a standard open world map, as you play, you kill stuff, gain experience and weapons, and level up throughout the game, as you progress, other areas open up and as you explore certain areas, just like an rpg, there are enemies that are difficult to defeat because of their higher level and you have to come back only when you are leveled up enough to battle them. Overall fun game, the Co-op is what makes this game shine, otherwise it is utterly boring and hard as hell by yourself. The DLCs add on extra value to the game and the world that you explore. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2011
    0
    This was a fun game when I bought it the first time, (well family did so). Then I got my own copy on steam years later and using the same PC and now I have all the DLC unlike before and it just doesn't work. Big fail in my books at least. They claim to have "solutions" on their website and short of flashing my BIOS (Which I don't have issues with) and re-installing windows which I justThis was a fun game when I bought it the first time, (well family did so). Then I got my own copy on steam years later and using the same PC and now I have all the DLC unlike before and it just doesn't work. Big fail in my books at least. They claim to have "solutions" on their website and short of flashing my BIOS (Which I don't have issues with) and re-installing windows which I just came from a re-install only two months ago and I haven't added much of anything YET on my PC. I followed everything, but the XP re-install, but if you read the forums for hours on end you'll notice that people try the fixes that don't work for most! This is the ONLY game out of many that I play that, but this is the ONLY has this issues. Well, other games have problems too but they have solutions and not silly rituals. They don't have a solution for this clear problem with random crashing. All the crashing has made me an anti-fan. Don't get me wrong, it's a fun game but a terrible company. Well I guess they're good at making money; selling and marketing this software that just doesn't work! So great at making money terrible at programing software! ...however you want to look at it.

    Gear box I don't care if you made every game in the world, I'll never buy again!
    Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2011
    7
    A 4-person co-op FPS with RPG elements, in postapocaliptic-sf, Mad Max-like setting, with interesting, cell-shaded, sketchy graphics and nicely designed characters. It's main flaws are as follows: becomes too easy about halfway past the game, boring-ass when played alone, Knoxx is the only good DLC.
  8. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Borderlands has a rather unique feel to it. It's an RPG adventure FPS, taking the player to an entirely new and unknown planet of Pandora. The planet for the most part is a desert wasteland, and so the common areas tend to be junkyards, rural towns, plains, canyons of various sort, but later on, towards the end, you do get a bit of a mountainous snowy areas too. Borderlands is fun in manyBorderlands has a rather unique feel to it. It's an RPG adventure FPS, taking the player to an entirely new and unknown planet of Pandora. The planet for the most part is a desert wasteland, and so the common areas tend to be junkyards, rural towns, plains, canyons of various sort, but later on, towards the end, you do get a bit of a mountainous snowy areas too. Borderlands is fun in many different ways. First of all, it has very unique graphics and this somewhat of a cartoonish style really really fits the general feel and humour of the game. Secondly, the game has RPG elements, so you get to unlock new skills as you progress through the game and face harder enemies. Thirdly the game has a massive variety of guns. The guns could come with all sorts of different stats, and you do often find good ones. You can play Borderlands with any of the four characters, each having a unique special skill and a slightly different gun proficiency to the others. Borderlands doesn't have much of a story, but it still is there, and it greatly picks up at very late stages of the game. The game is full of humour and generally gives off a laid back vibe. It can be played single-player or co-op. It's really up to you. The game might seem a bit repetitive due to its "do this quest, then do that quest" approach, but the sidequests do vary greatly between each other, each time offering a new challenge, so it's all great fun. I'll briefly mention the DLCs too. I've only tried out 3 of them so far, and all in all I felt they weren't as good as the original game. Dr Ned's Zombie Island was pretty good, but shooting zombies in dark woods does get repetitive after a while, and so gladly this expansion wasn't too long. The Underdome was terrible. It's just an arena, so I didn't like that one at all. General Knoxx's armory was sort of OK. It's nice to drive huge distances and all and having a huge map, but it's very frustrating when you respawn back at your original outpost after you exit the game. They should've placed more outposts in that one. I have not tried the Robot Revolution yet. To summarize, Borderlands is a fun FPS, so I'd highly advise it, especially for those who like FPS games with RPG elements. Just don't be put off early on. It might seem a tad boring in early stages, but it does pick up very quickly. Expand
  9. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is truly an amazing game. I have been looking for a game that is similar to world of warcraft but without all that kiddy crap. Borderlands gives me just that . You go on quests, level up, fight bosses, use crazy guns, play with friends, and more. Best first person shooter i've ever played.
  10. May 26, 2011
    7
    RPG plus Shooter equals Borderlands. They are not kidding when they say this in the trailers.

    With virtually thousands of different stats on guns, there is hardly one of the same gun (despite the fact that they are the same gun). But here's the catch, you hardly get enough space to fit everything on the beginning levels of the game, which can leave you organizing your stuff like a neat
    RPG plus Shooter equals Borderlands. They are not kidding when they say this in the trailers.

    With virtually thousands of different stats on guns, there is hardly one of the same gun (despite the fact that they are the same gun). But here's the catch, you hardly get enough space to fit everything on the beginning levels of the game, which can leave you organizing your stuff like a neat freak. You spend half of the time buying/selling your stuff pretty much.

    But the aspect of RPG playing and shooting mechanics leaves this game a chance to be played.
    Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    I personally find it easier to write about flaws than praise the good, so I will focus on those and count on you reading the score to understand that this is a very good game. The main flaws are that past level ~38, you are on your second playthrough because you've run out of main storyline content. this is, strangely, not fixed by the DLC because of a bad design choice. They realized thatI personally find it easier to write about flaws than praise the good, so I will focus on those and count on you reading the score to understand that this is a very good game. The main flaws are that past level ~38, you are on your second playthrough because you've run out of main storyline content. this is, strangely, not fixed by the DLC because of a bad design choice. They realized that the player could kill anything they could hit and so each of the DLCs I have seen has some enemy cropping up with stupidly fast movement, as though "you can't hit this" is the only defense the game designers could think of. This same defense was used by the endgame enemies in the original game campaign, and that was about the point I just started phasewalking past everything because I was sick of dealing with it. There is, near as I can tell, no strategic counter to something moving stupid fast other than waiting for it to stop for a moment allowing you to fire, or to phasewalk up and assassinate it at point blank range. Beyond the endgame failure, this was a very entertaining game, I enjoyed the humor, the cell shaded artwork was superb, and both characters I played as (siren and hunter) had unique ups and downs making class choice actually matter. Roommate played through as soldier, only one I haven't seen in action is Brick, but I can swear I feel the other 3 are balanced and entertaining. Perhaps a slight negative towards Roland because stupid fast fliers can avoid his action skill, but most the stupid fast stuff is ground bound. There are balance issues and cheap tricks that work insanely well, but that happens in most games where you install such flexibility. I'd say it's definitely worth playing, but I doubt it will be an all-time classic. Expand
  12. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    At first this game looked "gay" to me, but I got it anyway :D As I finished the first mission I started to realize that this game was AWESOME! From the cartoon-ish art style to the simple gamplay mechanics, Borderlands is one of the best games I've ever played! Gearbox studios has truly out-done themselves this time, and now, I can proudly say, I am a fan! Borderlands is legendary and mustAt first this game looked "gay" to me, but I got it anyway :D As I finished the first mission I started to realize that this game was AWESOME! From the cartoon-ish art style to the simple gamplay mechanics, Borderlands is one of the best games I've ever played! Gearbox studios has truly out-done themselves this time, and now, I can proudly say, I am a fan! Borderlands is legendary and must bought by everyone!! Expand
  13. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    A respectable attempt at the marriage of RPGs and FPSes. It has enjoyable gameplay in both singleplayer and co-op modes, albeit it being flawed. I hope we see more games like it, because this combination produced spectacular results.
  14. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    A damn fun game all the way through, but the ending is so disappointing. It would probably be a lot more fun with friends, but since you all have to play at the same time and if anyone starts playing without the others, they'll quickly become overpowered in comparison to the rest of the team due to how quickly you advance in this game. I'm glad I bought it, though, and I recommend you guysA damn fun game all the way through, but the ending is so disappointing. It would probably be a lot more fun with friends, but since you all have to play at the same time and if anyone starts playing without the others, they'll quickly become overpowered in comparison to the rest of the team due to how quickly you advance in this game. I'm glad I bought it, though, and I recommend you guys try it too, I played the game solo and still enjoyed it the entire time, get it, but don't expect it to be exactly like all the claims they make about this game, they're over exaggerated. Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    Although fairly lengthy and fun, Borderlands quickly starts to feel worn out and repetitive. Its a good mix of FPS and RPG elements with exploration but ultimately falls into the common trap of simple 'get mission, read mission, do mission' (which usually involves you whacking some thugs anyway). Nevertheless, it seems to have a good replay value attached to it, and a good fun to play withAlthough fairly lengthy and fun, Borderlands quickly starts to feel worn out and repetitive. Its a good mix of FPS and RPG elements with exploration but ultimately falls into the common trap of simple 'get mission, read mission, do mission' (which usually involves you whacking some thugs anyway). Nevertheless, it seems to have a good replay value attached to it, and a good fun to play with others. Beware of getting bored FAST. Expand
  16. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game that is fun, witty, and extremely fun be it single player or multiplayer. There are some issues with the mutiplayer but I don't think that should take away a lot from the game as many other titles are SP only. As with the second line of this game coming out in a year's time this makes this game a must try to get into the storyline and play style.
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very surprisingly great FPS,RPG game. When they say they have a 'bazillion' guns, they really do have heaps of guns. It's great fun with friends in co-op gameplay, with heaps of enemies and loot to encounter. Buy Borderlands GOTY for a good bargain on steam and enjoy!
  18. Sep 1, 2011
    4
    Borderlands is an FPS in the vein of Serious Sam. Forget the claims that it's an RPG - it's even lighter than Diablo in the RPG department (Gauntlet may be a much better comparison).

    There are a number of odd design decisions that are not helpful. For example, vehicles are mouse and keyboard controlled. I'm more used to keyboard (or wheel) controlled, which means I'm often running into
    Borderlands is an FPS in the vein of Serious Sam. Forget the claims that it's an RPG - it's even lighter than Diablo in the RPG department (Gauntlet may be a much better comparison).

    There are a number of odd design decisions that are not helpful.

    For example, vehicles are mouse and keyboard controlled. I'm more used to keyboard (or wheel) controlled, which means I'm often running into rocks and the like.

    Saves are checkpoint based, meaning that you're ****** if you're part-way through an area and need to quit to go to work or whatever.

    No reason to explore - seriously, why open-world if there's no benefit to exploring?

    Lack of fast travel options - I think maybe 25% of my time has been spent on missions, the rest is traveling between locations and fighting through the enemy spawn zones that you travel through every 10 yards or so.

    Slot based inventory - come on, a pistol just doesn't take up the same space as a rifle. Weight or area based inventory systems are much superior. It also means I can carry the ammo I want - not what is forced on me.
    Expand
  19. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    Excellent game at the core, but a very poor job porting it to PC by Gearbox. It's great fun by yourself or with friends - enemies scale based upon the number of players present which is very nice to see. I did notice a lot of FPS lag in numerous areas of the game though, the UI was also very blatantly brought from a console. Could have been a fantastic game if more time was put into makingExcellent game at the core, but a very poor job porting it to PC by Gearbox. It's great fun by yourself or with friends - enemies scale based upon the number of players present which is very nice to see. I did notice a lot of FPS lag in numerous areas of the game though, the UI was also very blatantly brought from a console. Could have been a fantastic game if more time was put into making it run well on PCs. Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    Review By CDO............. PRO'S, Borderlands is without a doubt utterly revolutionary on their graphical uniqueness. But what catches your eyes is the way the comic style mirrors an almost indistinguishable reality, that slowly stops looking so comic style and merges into a state that you forget your playing comic artwork. The amount of customization is purely jaw dropping, from an almostReview By CDO............. PRO'S, Borderlands is without a doubt utterly revolutionary on their graphical uniqueness. But what catches your eyes is the way the comic style mirrors an almost indistinguishable reality, that slowly stops looking so comic style and merges into a state that you forget your playing comic artwork. The amount of customization is purely jaw dropping, from an almost limitless amount of different weaponry. You just keep finding that one gun that clearly rivals the one in your possession. Shields, mods, revolvers, sniper rifles, machine guns and pistols, rocket launchers, grenades, must I go on. The scale of items is so enormous and likable to the extent you become so addicted at finding the next weapon, that you don't really care about a bandit shooting you in the back of the head. As you gaze at a luminous and vibrant green revolver.. To explore it all and do the DLC's you are looking at about 44 hours of game-play, so short is not in the equation and I love it because of that. You can play several different characters, all with their unique abilities and because of the unique characters it gives the game a lot of replay-ability. CONS- Borderlands has a lot going for it, and a lot pulling it back. First off, most notable is the major glitches and I mean major. Bounty boards are scattered throughout Borderlands for you to make money and gain experience, but their are some bounty boards that appear on your map that just aren't their, actually no where. It's just like someone decide to put a town on a map and you get to the spot only to discover a boulder. This is borderlands... During mission like scavenging for parts for a machine gun, it will tell you that a piece is in a certain spot, the only problem is this. Lets say you pick up a different piece to the machine gun, instead of the one highlighted, at this point the one highlighted will disappear or it will appear on your map as if it is their, but it wont be. Now pretty much you have to scavenge the area in hopes in finding the piece wherever it now has been randomized. This can be difficult, when you just keep wanting to go where the arrow is pointing and knowing its not their. Missions that involved with a man named scooter is the most major problem in the game, if for some reason you do not help him right away like I did, you will return not able to talk to him. Yet the robot through the rest of game will harass you that scooter needs you for a little something something and will not drop it until 20 hours later when you beat the game. Yet no matter how many times you stop at scooters place, the robot will not stop telling you that he needs your help! Some glitches and hiccups in the game that I thought would have been patched, considering the game has been out for three years. Didn't this company look at their own map in their own game and go this isn't right. Or how about allowing the player to make a beacon on their map would be map making 401 for me. Borderlands gets repetitive, but really minor with all the gun fights. CONCLUSION- Borderlands by 2k is a remarkable start to a franchise that I look further into investing my precious hours. But the glitches are a shame to how long the game has been out, this should have been a problem addressed and fixed as soon as possible. But to leave it go after 3 years just because your developing the sequel is irresponsible. Nonetheless i had a lot of fun, awesome boss fights and killer weapons create a trifector of no nonsense yes I want more attitude. Borderlands for $5 dollars is a steal and I would have paid $40 for it, bottom line, it gets a 7.5 out of 11 for CD0...... Expand
  21. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions.You have to understand what type of a game it is first before playing it. It is as much of a RPG as it is a FPS. You are going to have to kill a lot of random animals and other pests that attack you constantly (which respawn constantly as well) in an open world. The gunplay is so much fun. Amazing variety and a great feel for shooting each gun. You are not given straight forward missions. You are given the availability to accept as many missions into your "quest log" as possible and then "activate" any of those quests in any order you want to prioritize to complete them. So do you see? It is an RPG as much as it is a FPS. It is MUCH better at being a FPS but the RPG is really fun as well and it is no drag. 9/10. Expand
  22. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    Borderlands tries to be a great game, and it comes pretty close. The game creates a whole world for people to explore, its what I consider to be semi-open world. There are lots of places to explorer, but those places revolve around some kind of quest. As hard as Borderlands tries, there are still some bugs and issues, such as the mic being always on in multiplayer. Why couldn't theBorderlands tries to be a great game, and it comes pretty close. The game creates a whole world for people to explore, its what I consider to be semi-open world. There are lots of places to explorer, but those places revolve around some kind of quest. As hard as Borderlands tries, there are still some bugs and issues, such as the mic being always on in multiplayer. Why couldn't the developers make the mic push to talk like other games? The weapons seem underpowered at times. Why does it take several headshots to kill an enemy? Single player gets boring after awhile. If you want to get the most out of Borderlands, play some multiplayer with friends. The cars are a really nice feature - 1 person drives and another person gets to use the machine gun or rocket launcher. A wider range of enemies would have been nice, it just seems like I am killing the same types of enemies over and over. The graphics are a nice change. What I would have liked to see is a wider range of enemies, more NPCs, maybe dynamic weather of some kind. If you catch Borderlands on sale, I think its worth playing. Expand
  23. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!)There is quite a bit of content in this game, especially if you have purchased the four DLCs which I would consider more like expansion packs. Gameplay is pretty standard for an FPS with RPG-like upgrading of your character, story is all right but keeps you on track regardless. What made it stand out for me was the game's blunt humor, the millions of guns (love procedural generated loot!) to choose from and best of all, co-op. It is best played with a friend or three since the game gets tougher but the drops from enemies get better.

    I would recommend playing this start to finish before jumping into its sequel.
    Expand
  24. May 24, 2012
    7
    After the initial coop fun wears down you realize that the entire game is an insanely repetitive mmo styled shooter. However the first play-through is tolerable because of the interesting setting and ability to play with friends.
  25. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I found Borderlands to be a very fun FPS, and I especially enjoyed the various RPG elements. I am a big fan of the leveling system, the skill trees, and the sheer variety of items and guns. The art style of the game is another huge plus, giving Borderlands a unique and distinctive feel. Combat itself works well, even if it gets a bit tedious and repetitive over time. In fact, I wouldI found Borderlands to be a very fun FPS, and I especially enjoyed the various RPG elements. I am a big fan of the leveling system, the skill trees, and the sheer variety of items and guns. The art style of the game is another huge plus, giving Borderlands a unique and distinctive feel. Combat itself works well, even if it gets a bit tedious and repetitive over time. In fact, I would say the overall "grindy" nature of the game was its biggest negative for me. I simply didn't sink the hours into this that I have into comparable games, and only ever bothered playing one of the characters through the story (the soldier). Still, Borderlands is fun, and well worth playing for fans of the genre. Expand
  26. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of
    This is one of my all-time favorite games after 2005, and that's really saying something.
    This game is really great, it sort of has this old school feel to it with FPS like Doom but still maintaining some new gen mechanics. Fighting many monsters with big epic guns and explosions with additions of RPG elements to it with many skills that for the most part are nice but are mostly kind of boring with skills like: more damage, faster reload, etc etc, but you have a main action skill for each class which doesn't suck and adds a lot to the game, the main action skill is really fun to play around with and you can upgrade it with not only other skills but also making it elemental. It also has some elements from dungeon, hack and slash games such Diablo and Torchlight such as picking a class that has different abilities and killing a lot of enemies that might drop a new gun, shield, grenade mod and money, loot loot loot! Grab it all and sell the remaining to a store for extra cash. Pretty cool main quests although the storyline itself isn't that great and not so interesting but really, with a game like this, storyline is almost optional. You also get side missions for extra loot and EXP and some are really interesting. The amount of guns in this game is really large! Each gun has different damage, accuracy and fire rate, so you will go through many guns finding the one that suits you the most. Another thing I want to talk about is boss fights, how often do you see nowadays FPS with a boss fight that has a health meter? Not much, but Borderlands has it and it does a well job with it. The level design is also a pretty bright thing in the game, it's incredibly well done and don't even get me started on Pandora itself, IT'S MASSIVE! The level design is so well done it actually allows for secrets, which again, is one of the more old school elements in the game and a fun to find while happily exploring the game. The game also has CO-OP, find some three more friends and have an absolute blast with this game, lots of laughs and fun is always nice. Overall the game is a near masterpiece with some very minor down sides to it, get the game and start firing away!
    Expand
  27. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Love this game. Guns, loot, comedy, what more could you ask for? It obviously borrows from several other genres, but it gets it right and makes for a great time.
  28. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fun game but do not expect something good like Rage. If you want good shooter play Rage instead because shooting is kind of silly here. If you want PRG ... Well, play something else because here just like inn Rage just slight elements of RPG. But instead of that nice time killing fun game!
  29. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Ist zwar ein gutes spiel wird aber irgendwann langweilig ._.''
  30. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    It's a fun game. Grapics are okay, but the *design* is actually really good: original, never got old for me. I enjoy the balance between complexity and simplicity of the skill system: you only have on real skill, but how you spec it out, and how you use it, is still quite interesting. It has a lot in common with Diablo, the addictive nature of the loots gathering, but it's maybe moreIt's a fun game. Grapics are okay, but the *design* is actually really good: original, never got old for me. I enjoy the balance between complexity and simplicity of the skill system: you only have on real skill, but how you spec it out, and how you use it, is still quite interesting. It has a lot in common with Diablo, the addictive nature of the loots gathering, but it's maybe more engaging, because of it's FPS nature. I would call it almost perfect, for what it is: a relatively mindless (because it doesn't require deep strategies), but not at all easy, very addictive game. It's between an 8 and a 9 for me. I'll go with 8, because it gets a bit too repetitive after a while: enemies look to similar, and they're not acting very smart. If Borderlands 2 has more varied enemies and a more complex AI, it can be a 9, and become *the* perfect addictive game, even beating Diablo. Expand
  31. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, butI'm not really a fan of FPS games in general, but this is one of my favorite games of all time. Skill-based critical hits are a new thing for me, but I have to say I like them. It was really the off-beat humor combined with just enough RPG elements for a fan of the genera like me that kept me coming back for two full playthroughs (1 to 50). You might think that it's out of date, but when you can buy copies for yourself and three friends for $15 on steam (when it goes on sale), you can easily find out what a difference the amazing co-op mode makes. PS: there are SO MANY GUNS! Expand
  32. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see
    Yes the game has some shortcomings. However it is highly enjoyable. If you love loot grabbing, guns blazing, with slick humor then buy this game.

    I see too many bad reviews here because of the graphics or the randomization system. Yes, even I wish the system was better. However the graphics were intentionally done this way - it makes the game look unique and very cool. When you see screenshots of this game you know its Borderlands and not another game.

    The second game is coming out. If you are thinking of getting it BUY THIS GAME FIRST AND PLAY IT. The 2nd will be better and would spoil anyone who would go from the second game to the first.
    Expand
  33. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    It's really great game at all ! But some issues like lag in multiplayer or that it's just port from consoles makes the game only 9/10 in my opinion.
  34. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    A great game, but i found it very difficult to beat the game unless i had one other person helping me. aside from that this game was almost flawless with plenty of things to do in the open world.
  35. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weakI can't say enough about this game- it's fun to play by yourself, but it's fantastic to play with friends. The game can be pretty easy during certain parts of the game, but certain bosses will be challenging. My brother and I are currently playing through endgame DLC content and we're having a blast while being constantly challenged. The only downsides to the game is that the plot is weak and not well distributed throughout the game and that there are very few customizable items outside of guns (just shields and character items). The talent system is great for creating diversified gameplay, but at the higher levels, you have pretty much every talent that you want maxed out- I wish there were a few more 'choices' you made that would have a significant impact on your character. I consider this game to be a must-buy if you have a friend you could throw down with, and a strong-buy if you're just playing by yourself. Expand
  36. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    A post-apoc "dungeon crawler" with countless randomized (and unique) guns. Fantastic when co-op with friends (or even with random people online since there is a lobby system) but boring as hell solo. With a lengthy main campaign, a multitude of sidequests, and a variety of character kit customization options, the core game will keep you occupied for a while. 4 DLCs (of varying quality) addA post-apoc "dungeon crawler" with countless randomized (and unique) guns. Fantastic when co-op with friends (or even with random people online since there is a lobby system) but boring as hell solo. With a lengthy main campaign, a multitude of sidequests, and a variety of character kit customization options, the core game will keep you occupied for a while. 4 DLCs (of varying quality) add significant gameplay changes and offer loads of new toys to collect. Definitely a lot of bang-for-your-buck considering how cheap it is now! Expand
  37. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Never really got into the first one but this game is great. I would recommend bringing a friend or two along for the ride though. I think it is a lot more fun with friends and maybe a little easier too.
  38. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    Enjoyable game with a decent story and great look environment. Co-op is great and the overall game is good however weapons and quests get a bit repetitive as the game goes on.
  39. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    If they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replayIf they made Diablo II into a irreverent post apocalyptic first person shooter with tons of sidemissions, they would call it Borderlands. Think about it, everything people liked about Diablo II, save for the storyline, is present in Borderlands. You play in large part for the awesome loot that falls. The more people who play the harder the enemies and the better the drops. You will replay certain areas and missions over and over because they have the best drops. There are multiple kinds of character that have linear tree builds that give your character a customized feel, but at higher levels your build doesn't matter as much because it's more about the loot. There are hours upon hours of excellent gameplay, the downloadable content is fantastic and as soon as you beat the game with one charachter, you look forward to playing through with the same character again or trying out a different character. I picked this one up real cheap on a Steam holiday sale and it was a steal. One of the best games of the past 5 years. I reserve 10 out of 10 reviews for games that are not only great the first time you play them, but are great a few months later or a few years later and which are as fun the second time through as the first. Borderlands is a 10 all the way. Expand
  40. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    I played a lot of FPS games and still I was addicted to Borderlands. I thought I was playing an MMO with all the loots, missions and RPG elements. It is worth playing.
  41. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Borderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, I agree with everything Syrik said. Only, I think it deserves a higher rating than he gave it. There was a time when I was obsessed with this game. But then I beat the campaign and 2/3 DLC (this is excluding Moxxi because that's more of an arena thing toBorderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, I agree with everything Syrik said. Only, I think it deserves a higher rating than he gave it. There was a time when I was obsessed with this game. But then I beat the campaign and 2/3 DLC (this is excluding Moxxi because that's more of an arena thing to play with friends) I found it hard to get back into. It starts of pretty boring, then it gets great and fun, but the end is horrid. But that's all I have to add, Syrik said the rest.
    "This game is a very fun shooter, but with flaws. I'll go over the good first. The combat is entertaining and a touch different than other shooters. You get to tweak your character with different abilities to make unique builds which change how your character plays. The game randomly generates weapons so everything that drops is unique and a possible great find, it keeps you looking for loot. These things make it fun to play and the graphics are done in an art style like animation cells which I really like, it looks superb. The bad things bring it down however. The game scales terribly. As you do quests and gain exp. you will level too fast and quickly become too powerful, tearing through groups of enemies far too easily. A second play through with tougher enemies is possible, but not fun. You will start much higher level than foes and there is no challenge. The game is lacking several graphics controls on the options menu, which is stupid because the devs put the coding for the controls in the files, they just didn't make buttons. You will have to edit the .ini file yourself to turn on things like v-sync and get a widescreen point of view. Very lazy on the devs part there. Instructions for doing this are easy to find and it's not hard to do, but I shouldn't have to. So, overall Borderlands is a fun game that ends up being far too easy to play and has some basic setup options missing, but obtainable with manual editing on the users part." -syrik, Sep 8 2011 (rated 4/10)
    Expand
  42. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    FUN as it is. Shoot, ride, blast, kill, enjoy.
    Hack'n'slash system works better than in first Mass Effect, and, personally, better than in classic hack'n'slash ARPG-s, because of the fact that this is freaking shooter.
    Plot is a bit dim and spread in the game in some very strange proportions, providing long and boring corridor to the final boss. The thing is - this game is not about a
    FUN as it is. Shoot, ride, blast, kill, enjoy.
    Hack'n'slash system works better than in first Mass Effect, and, personally, better than in classic hack'n'slash ARPG-s, because of the fact that this is freaking shooter.
    Plot is a bit dim and spread in the game in some very strange proportions, providing long and boring corridor to the final boss. The thing is - this game is not about a plot, in cooperative you won't even hear half of the the monologues behind the voice of your mates.
    Graphic style - just excellent. Game-design - solid, but with strange moments like passive rakk hive boss or same NPC appearing in different locations simultaneously.
    Expand
  43. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Borderlands is a very funny coop first person shooter. It has a level system, looks like a comic, has an atmospheric environment and has tons of different weapons. But the story is uninteresting, you get a quest, do it, submit it and that's it. The enemies attack brainless and the environment is monotonous on time. Take a (or more) friend and have fun!
  44. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    I generally suck at first person shooters but this game gave the opportunity to see where are the bullets coming from, and that's why i really liked it. Also love the loot hunting games with random stats just like Diablo.
  45. May 10, 2013
    8
    The funniest shooting game I ever played. I loved the art, the humors, and guns. For some reason I can overlook the lame-story telling in this game, which is quite uncommon (I normally rate game based on how good is the story overall). I had the GOTY version and played the game with a buddy and we kept laughing at all small funny things here and there.
  46. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I haveThis game is one of the most entertaining FPS games I have played. The comedy, action, thrill are really great. But the problem is that you can become too powerful the game becomes boring but regardless it was my fault because I concentrated on getting the best guns. Still I wish they placed some mechanics to balance the game a little bit. Either way I love this game so much I have in both in Xbox 360 and PC. Expand
  47. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially withBorderlands is one of the best games I have ever played, It is simply Legendary. Those who gave bad reviews probably never gave the game a chance and only played maybe a few hours of the game and gave up looking for more excitement. Borderlands is boring at first, But once you level up your character and start playing your character the way you want, It becomes so much fun, especially with friends. Side quest and main quest are repepitive and doesn't hold that much story, but that doesn't hold the fact that this is a loot drop game, Everybody will always be looking for the best weapons and upgrades. .ALL the time. Bosses in the game are very very well introduced, some are generic and some are awesome doesn't help the fact that fighting them is amazing and well rewarding with the loot system. The animation in the game is amazingly addictive for me. The cartoon style artwork with the enemies just blends in so perfect because of the arcade like combat. It blends in and a perfect mix to change your mood of this game. The combat is very very fun and getting critical is just a warm feeling in your tummy. The lines of your character is different for each of them and can be very funny, specifically when the berserker goes Berserk and starts to scream out randomly, It will always make me laugh. Borderlands is the ultimate RPG Shooter and will forever be in my arsenal. Just watch out, most of the players i've been with in co-op are hackers and have unlimited shields. Expand
  48. May 12, 2013
    10
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The
    Borderlands.
    The good things: Borderlands! The most badass action game I've ever played! There is a huge open world with a lot of different areas and a lot of different missions! You come in level and can even make your character better! Buy weapons to him for the money you either find or get to cope missions. You can run in different cars which can also shoot and blow a lot of air. The game is fun though there is a lot of violence, so when that comes bosses say just something fun about the boss. I could not help the game! I bought the "Game of the Year Edition" and has played more than 50 hours and still have not done it! FAR from.

    The bad: The only thing I can say that is bad is multi player. There is no on and tedious, but it's probably because it is old and Borderlands 2 is out!

    If you are into something far and game that you will never forget? Buy Borderlands It is something for almost a worth skyespils love!

    Hint: Start by buying the '1 'even after the 2nd movie because there's a story!

    Just bought Borderlands 2 and can not wait to play through it until I falderi asleep in front of my keyboard.

    chri529r out
    Expand
  49. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wieldThis is by far the best fps I've ever played, the random item and weapon system makes the game very addictive. I played this game the games I used to play were like Diablo 2 and somehow they found a way to mix those rpg elements into a very action packed fps. Your character develops and levels up through the game and the attributes you choose to build and the weapons you choose to wield define your character. This is the game that got me hooked on the fps style gaming. If you like rpg games and have even an interest in fps games you will definitely love this game. Expand
  50. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    This Review is for gamers who are looking for a fast game with some experience. First, to explain why I have given this game such a low score is based on what I could quickly complete. I am a gamer that buys used games and returns them in a week instead of buying games to keep. I heard that Borderlands was a great title and decided to look into it. This game's intro is very similar to thatThis Review is for gamers who are looking for a fast game with some experience. First, to explain why I have given this game such a low score is based on what I could quickly complete. I am a gamer that buys used games and returns them in a week instead of buying games to keep. I heard that Borderlands was a great title and decided to look into it. This game's intro is very similar to that of Fallout New Vegas. You are in the middle of the desert and need to do several grind missions in order to get to the juice of the campaign. After playing for about 2 hours and doing grind mission after grind mission, I attempted to purchase a weapon, and all of my money disappeared from my inventory but the weapon never showed up. Now, I know that was most likely just a game glitch, but for someone who hated Fallout New Vegas that is persevering a hard intro in order to get to what I have heard as such a good game, that piece was too much to handle. That is why my review is used as a warning. I don't want to rate this game so low with only 2 hours of actual gameplay, but I want people cautious about this game to see my review and be warned that the intro is very long. Expand
  51. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Top game with many hours of game play in it. Replayabilty... loads. Best to be played a group rather than solo. It is repetitive but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Looting for weapons is very fun. If you're expecting a decent story line I'm not sure that there is one there, I was to busy shooting spider ants and gaining XP to care.
  52. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    Well, there not much to say about Borderlands: 50% FPS, 50% RPG: 100% fun! The storyline isn't very original, nothing special, BUT (!): the whole world was created with unbelievable lot of attention to detail and is filled with little easter eggs that makes you laugh every time. The personalities of the NPC 's are also unbelievable creative and versatile. The level design gets unilateralWell, there not much to say about Borderlands: 50% FPS, 50% RPG: 100% fun! The storyline isn't very original, nothing special, BUT (!): the whole world was created with unbelievable lot of attention to detail and is filled with little easter eggs that makes you laugh every time. The personalities of the NPC 's are also unbelievable creative and versatile. The level design gets unilateral after a while, which is due to the vegetation of Pandora, but you can avoid that by simply buying one of the DLC 's (like "The zombie island of doctor NED") which aren't very expensive and make the game a lot more varied. Expand
  53. Oct 5, 2015
    2
    I'm a single player gamer, it started okay first but as the game got tougher I just had enough of it I reached level 24 , I did quest that match my level but the power are WAAAY unparalleled, weapons - no matter what weapon - do tiny damage and your ammo runs out before you eliminate the the endless horde of well shielded moving targets and perfect aimers with unlimited ammo. As a gamerI'm a single player gamer, it started okay first but as the game got tougher I just had enough of it I reached level 24 , I did quest that match my level but the power are WAAAY unparalleled, weapons - no matter what weapon - do tiny damage and your ammo runs out before you eliminate the the endless horde of well shielded moving targets and perfect aimers with unlimited ammo. As a gamer who started in 90's , the invasion of multi-player style on games is ruining my gaming experience more and more every time Expand
  54. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    People seem to love or hate Borderlands. I don't understand the hate, unless people misunderstood what they were paying for- Gearbox games seem to get a lot of that. It's true, much of the game's plot was cut out in development because they couldn't make it fit with the gameplay. And yeah, it gets old after a while. But Borderlands makes grinding and loot farming fun in a way it reallyPeople seem to love or hate Borderlands. I don't understand the hate, unless people misunderstood what they were paying for- Gearbox games seem to get a lot of that. It's true, much of the game's plot was cut out in development because they couldn't make it fit with the gameplay. And yeah, it gets old after a while. But Borderlands makes grinding and loot farming fun in a way it really shouldn't be- and that made me love the game. Its got a lot of style, and it's great fun to play in co-op, especially split-screen on a console. I love the characters and setting, even if a lot more could be done with it- something the sequel might address. But I had a lot of fun playing Borderlands. And in the end, I think it was really just about the guns. Lots and lots of guns. There ain't no rest for the wicked, but who's got the time? There's more bandits to shoot and loot to grab. Expand
  55. DallasR
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    10 Might seem like too high a rating for any game. However this is the first game in a while that really makes me want to keep playing it, even though some of the levels seem a bit repetitive. It's just good ole fashion gaming fun done really cool!!
  56. JayJay
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be Brilliant game! Very enjoyable, lots of memorable moments, loads of guns to choose from (maybe too many variations lol), varied missions (unlike Far Cry 2 *yawn*), great graphics (maybe a little to much cell shading), good voice acting and music, very hard bosses unless you know how to take them down with ease, or know the position to stay in where it confuses the AI. What could be improved is the Map system, sometimes its hard to navigate and you are constantly opening the map. There is no onscreen map which is a shame, and the Map is missing labels, so its easy to get lost or confused. Plus the Mission listing doesn't tell you where the mission is, or where the mission-giver is located. Gun names and categories and color coding can get confusing, it can be tedious when you are selling guns.. it takes a long time to determine which guns to keep and which gun to sell. You should be able to auto-pickup items on the ground (except for guns), rather than spend ages manually filtering the things you pickup. The Console->PC port is actually ok! Its hard to fault except for one or two little mouse glitches in the menu. Being open ended (but not sandboxed unfortunately - there are plenty of load points but load times are short at about 10-15 seconds), you can choose your own adventure and toughen up before entering a boss area, and wander off searching for better guns and shields. Sometimes it takes forever to kill some enemies, even if you have powerful guns. I found myself shooting some enemies with 100 powerful SMG fire-element bullets in the head and they still had 50% energy (this is in Playthrough2 through). And some bosses literally take half an hour and 1000+ bullets to kill. Overall its an enjoyable polished game that can be challenging at times and has 30 hours+ gameplay. I think most people will like this game since there is almost always action, unlike FallOut3 where you could walk for 10 minutes and literally do nothing but walk. Expand
  57. JonnyG
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    I rarely finish games, but I had to play this one through to the end. The gameplay is smooth - never once had any issues. The enviornments lack some diversity, and the ending was anticlimactic, but overall it was an excellent game.
  58. tak
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    just awsome any one with probs just needs to fix there computer . only minor prob is co-op online but easly fixed
  59. Brad
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have I honestly love the game. Despite people saying the Solo playing is boring, it is just as rewarding as Multiplayer. The artwork is very unique, and grabs your attention at certain scenes. Also, they sure as heck were not lying about a million bazilion guns...ok, maybe a little bit, but there are more guns then you could ever hope for. The FPS is set pretty well, although I have experienced it being a bit weird attempting to get head shots, but other than that its fine. The RPG element in Borderlands is quite effective, with many of the guns perks or traits making almost each gun you find unique in its own way, and that you can give "Mods" to your grenades, making them instantly teleport to their target (Longbow Mod), and even offering "Class Mods", so you gain a title under your experience bar (AN example would be for Mordecai: Gunslinger) that improves your style of play with that character. The nice thing about the quests in Borderlands is that its not the type of grind you would actually think of it to be. Often times, you get to explore areas of the map you typically don't visit, and fine some nice loot to make your character even stronger. Overall, the negatives in this game are greatly overshadowed by the immense amount of fun you will be having playing this, and the game will be worth every single penny you invested in. Expand
  60. Ted
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which Absolutely superb game. My major gripes are that they delayed the release on PC a week? I actually went into the shop and they told me they had neglected PCs... AGAIN (seems a reocurring theme for devs these days) So I Pirated it! Yes I downloaded it for a week, and it even worked for co-op. However It is SO good I still bought it when they released it. It is clearly a console port which annoys me, but I can't fault the actual game. There are a few exploits I found to farm guns and experience and to make bosses easier, But all that goes out the window when you reach the credits... 2nd playthrough, They didn't just increase the mobs damage, they actually replaced earlier mobs with later ones to get a better continuous feel. I hope they patch the bugs and make co-op better (do away with gamespy?) Expand
  61. pipelinecache
    Oct 30, 2009
    7
    Borderland is a fun but simple first person shooter. It's quite clear that Gearbox had the consoles in mind and didn't spend too much time on the PC version. The coop mode is fun to play with friends but any public hosted game will turn into a ninja loot chaos party as there's no such thing as round robin looting. You can of course play it offline in a single player mode Borderland is a fun but simple first person shooter. It's quite clear that Gearbox had the consoles in mind and didn't spend too much time on the PC version. The coop mode is fun to play with friends but any public hosted game will turn into a ninja loot chaos party as there's no such thing as round robin looting. You can of course play it offline in a single player mode but if that keeps you glued to your keyboard for long compared to the other FPS out there. Expand
  62. AndrewA
    Oct 30, 2009
    8
    The coop fps/rpg of the game is very fun with friends. The random gun drops system is very deep. Art direction is unique and the game looks great. But you can tell that the console releases were the main focus. From things like not even exposing options to turn off the auto-detect voice chat in the settings, to mouse smoothing being on by default and also not exposed in settings, to the The coop fps/rpg of the game is very fun with friends. The random gun drops system is very deep. Art direction is unique and the game looks great. But you can tell that the console releases were the main focus. From things like not even exposing options to turn off the auto-detect voice chat in the settings, to mouse smoothing being on by default and also not exposed in settings, to the very limited number of abilities/actions per class (for a PC game), more could have been done to make this game shine on PC as much as possible. Gamespy is a sub-par choice for helping me get in games with my friends or pugs online, even just going with Steamworks for this would have been preferable. Characters being stored locally means a very hackable game for those concerned with everyone online playing fair. If you just play with friends this may not be a concern. Hopefully a patch for the PC version is released soon that fixes some of these issues and some bugs that can be fairly bad. Expand
  63. Shanghaied
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay For a first attempt at this type of genre Gearbox did a very, very good job. Cries about the PC version being a port, problems with the UI, menus, and video customization are all well taken, as they cut corners here and it's obvious. Using gamespy for multiplayer support was absolutely misguided; there was simply no excuse for this and it really hurts this title. The gameplay however, is phenomenal. Borderlands as a new IP is off to a great start. The loot system is better than I expected and addicting. The actual shooter gameplay is very, very robust and well executed. Happy with my purchase, just hoping for some multiplayer polish from a future patch. Expand
  64. WyattR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    I think this is the NEW big type of game setting the curve for rpg and then online play also carracter and vehichle custminsation i can't stop play it and can't wait for more downloadable content thanks to all the people that worked on this game
  65. EdgarM
    Jan 13, 2010
    8
    Very Nice Game, the new Innovation of RPG-Shooter :) But it had a disappointing end for me.
  66. KenF
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    This game has all the trappings that made Blizzard's Diablo series a hit, and keeps all it's flaws. You'll enjoy your first playthrough on any of the games four classes, then likely lose interest in performing most side quests for your second, allowing you to realize there is really not much to this promising game.
  67. OveM
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Great game! Tons of guns and a simple but cool RPG system. The only ting i can say negative about the game is that it is way to easy. Other than that its quite amazing and good. Its on the Unreal 3 engine and it looks very good!
  68. CaseyD.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    A 7.5 rating would be more appropriate. The concept of the game is great. The game itself tends to get a little repetitive, however. After about 3-4 hours of game play, everything seems like it has been done before. I would recommend this game, but not with a 50 dollar price tag. If we see a second Borderlands, lets hope for more content and not just more weapons.
  69. RobertM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Great game. A blast to play both in single and multiplayer.
  70. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the Amazingly fun game. Couple of bugs from the port onto PC. You can tell that it was made for consoles. Add to that a somewhat buggy multi player (Gamespy?) and the score drops from 10. But the bugs never really affected my play, so I forgive them. Borderlands is still a massively addicting take on the genre. Loot system is well-done, the weapons are creative, the artwork is capturing, the jokes are funny and the gameplay is enthralling. Once you start, you just want to keep doing one more quest. I'd recommend it, especially if you got a buddy to pair up with. Definitely worth at least a 9. Maybe up to 9.5. Expand
  71. DavidR
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS I am giving this a 10 because I found it to be the best PC FPS released this year. Being a PC gamer who loves first person shooters, I am glad to see gearbox supporting their PC community. The gameplay is fun, the loot is excelent and co-op is a blast. The story is a bit shallow and gamespy is as big of a pain as ever, but Borderlands sure beats the crap out of Modern Warfare 2 for my FPS of the year. Expand
  72. SamuelH
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    This is truly a great game. If you're a FPS fanboy like me, you'll get a kick out the hundreds of guns there are in it. The roleplaying aspect is just shy of perfect. There is some annoying fetch quests, but that's my only complaint. The leveling up is awesome, giving you a skill point to use towards increasing your aim, or damage of one of your favorite guns. There is also This is truly a great game. If you're a FPS fanboy like me, you'll get a kick out the hundreds of guns there are in it. The roleplaying aspect is just shy of perfect. There is some annoying fetch quests, but that's my only complaint. The leveling up is awesome, giving you a skill point to use towards increasing your aim, or damage of one of your favorite guns. There is also a nice variety of enemies waiting to be turned into piles of meat. Some of the guns are practically the same, but with a ton to chose from, who cares? The story is engaging, if you can keep track of it... Overall an awesome game, lets hope for some multiplayer patches in the future. It can be buggy at times. My best advice, BUY THIS GAME! You won't regret it. Expand
  73. PeterO
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    It's okay, the millions of guns are fun, but you'll find a good one and use it for a long time. The plot wasn't great and the side quests are even more pointless. The online for the PC version is fucked because of the lack of dedicated servers, but i still go back to it now and then because the frantic combat and millions of guns do appeal to me in the least complex sense.
  74. jimbojett
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Buggy but when it works, it's a blast in co-op. Graphics are amazing if you change the FOV to 100-105 in the .ini file. Good solid diablo2 gameplay.
  75. BastiK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    i've bought this game and played for at least 15 hours and think its great!! online and singleplayer!
  76. CourtneyH
    Nov 2, 2009
    5
    This game was fun while it lasted but I as extremely disappointed how easy everything was. The end game was lack luster'ed and disappointing. Cool guns.... Not worth the money I spent on it.
  77. JeffB
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    Great game. Just shy of getting a 9 due to silly things the devs could've sorted. For example, the none skippable movies, not being able to turn off ingame voice and connection issues that need ports opening to sort. Bad news for a multiplayer game. The good things far our weigh the bad though. Has that "One more mission" thing that keeps you on. The graphics are superb. Wasn't Great game. Just shy of getting a 9 due to silly things the devs could've sorted. For example, the none skippable movies, not being able to turn off ingame voice and connection issues that need ports opening to sort. Bad news for a multiplayer game. The good things far our weigh the bad though. Has that "One more mission" thing that keeps you on. The graphics are superb. Wasn't sure about the cell shading but it looks great. Thing about getting it? Do it, you'll love it. Expand
  78. BTDRocketScience
    Nov 4, 2009
    7
    Nice game, art style is a plus; single player mode is ok, challenging when you are high level, co-op is very enjoyable, but it is repititive which makes it boring when you get your character to lvl 50. What I'm hoping for is they add new content - like new environments so that players wouldn't see the same setting time after time (barren land), and maybe players can get all Nice game, art style is a plus; single player mode is ok, challenging when you are high level, co-op is very enjoyable, but it is repititive which makes it boring when you get your character to lvl 50. What I'm hoping for is they add new content - like new environments so that players wouldn't see the same setting time after time (barren land), and maybe players can get all skills for all classes, more interactive npcs and player environment. Expand
  79. AaronS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best action RPGs in the past 5 years. it doesn't have as much RPG elements as for instance Fallout 3. but this is an action game with very strong RPG elements. the best part of it would have to be the loot lust. this wins game of the year from me!
  80. RichardS
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite distanced. Roland will taunt people after he's killed them which is stupid it is own right. The multiplayer portion would possibly work quite well if everything works properly to connect. Unfortunately the gun drop system makes it all too easy for everyone to become greedy and start walking over everyone elses shoes. Making it more of a grab-all game rather than a lovely multiplayer coop. The core gameplay is good and it's obvious that the developer Gearbox has learned and taken from many games over the years as it shows in the gameplay mechanics, and music. At times the music takes on a tone that is almost completely the same as some scores found in planescape torment. 7/10 Expand
  81. anon
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    an interesting concept. very fun in co-op. kept me playing for a while until i found out you could edit your saves. then it was just a hack fest not really that much fun anymore sort of deal. up until that though it was fun
  82. KarlN
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    This game is very well done. While normally I don't prefer the "cartoon" like graphics I made an exception and I was quite impressed. To say the least if this was an MMO I would play it.
  83. TimL
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    A game well worth playing. Single player rocks, and multiplayer is fun as long as you play with friends not plebs
  84. nathanm
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    this game is awesome very nice graphics very different then other games and its unique. but the only flaw is the multi player. other than that this game is fun and addictive.
  85. JosephS
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is everything I wanted out of Fallout. A first person shooter with RPG elements and an unintrusive story. The only thing it's lacking is the early levels could use an option to turn off tutorials.
  86. DerekW
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Fun and addictive game play, can get a little lackluster after several levels solo, but Co-op is a a blast.
  87. SeanBest
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Game is amazing. Really interesting. Story is weird gameplay is intense. Commercials looked lame, but I was really surprised.
  88. RichF
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is amazingly fun with buddies. Play it. GotY, for sure.
  89. RobertL
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    As a Co-op experience, its hard to beat. The loot system is great. Game play is fast paced and the difficulty is just right. People who don't like the graphic style should just find another game. Realistic graphics are great but I like this cell shading almost more, I get a great frame rate that never dips and everything still looks freaking awesome.
  90. NoCanDoSorry
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Interesting game, although the true potential lies in it's co-op online mode. Playing solo can be pretty dull at times and quite quickly boring. The story could be better, and the map management truly need improvement. Overall a pretty amazing game!
  91. TimP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Wow, Prob the best game of the year if you like css cod4 and fallout3 they just made a baby and its bloody fps coop heaven! Its just downright fun to play!
  92. AnnaM
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    A solid, fun game. This game is everything that it promises in advertisements, but don't expect more than what you're told. The story isn't as deep as a FPS like Dues Ex or a RPG like Final Fantasy, instead this is more like an arcade version of Fallout 3. It is entertaining, and definitely challenging as I constantly found myself scrounging for clips or health packs, and A solid, fun game. This game is everything that it promises in advertisements, but don't expect more than what you're told. The story isn't as deep as a FPS like Dues Ex or a RPG like Final Fantasy, instead this is more like an arcade version of Fallout 3. It is entertaining, and definitely challenging as I constantly found myself scrounging for clips or health packs, and never could fight a boss head on without using tactics or having friends join the party. The graphics are smooth and cell shaded, and if it doesn't play smooth on your pc you can drop the resolution down, which makes the textures blur kind of like a coloring book instead of a comic book, but i've yet to find one game bug or issue I didn't like. My final opinion, Borderlands may not be the best game of all time but it definitely deserves a spot in any gamer's collection as it is another game blazing it's own trail and doing it well. Expand
  93. BrixQ
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Near perfect, deserves a 90/100 but has room for basic touch ups such as AI and smarter item menus. The action and game play are top notch and I'd recommend this to any shooter or RPG fan.
  94. FedericoG
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Well speed rush guns and splatter i loving it !! Rpg elements give another chance I've tried coop , very funny.
  95. Jexter
    Oct 27, 2009
    7
    Style on this game does deserve 9 or even 10. It looks and plays well. I do like the art direction they went. The gameplay itself is not something I personally prefer. I was never fan of Diablo series. Borderlands is an action RPG that follows similar type of gameplay. So if that is your cup of tea, I would recommend trying this title out.
  96. AlexS
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    I got this game on steam, with 3 friends in a 4-pack, while the Canadian dollar was at a high, costing me only 35 bucks, half of what a brand new game usually is. I can count right now 11 people who I could play it with. It's a blast to play, the graphics are great, the environments are awesome, it has a great feel. But this is coming from someone who got it for a steal and has a I got this game on steam, with 3 friends in a 4-pack, while the Canadian dollar was at a high, costing me only 35 bucks, half of what a brand new game usually is. I can count right now 11 people who I could play it with. It's a blast to play, the graphics are great, the environments are awesome, it has a great feel. But this is coming from someone who got it for a steal and has a bunch of friends to play with. For someone who doesn't have a group of friends to play Borderlands with, or is about to buy it for more than 45 bucks Canadian (I guess around 40 USD), I say to you, pass. A list of my experiences thus far: -The AI is kinda lacking, it just doesn't do anything special or noteworthy like try to flank you, or run for cover. -The leveling is way too quick, I got to level 30 in three days of 2-3 hours a day. -The guns suffer a lot from what Diablo 2 weapons suffered from, and that is that when you find an amazing weapon, you will stick with it until you find another amazing weapon. Yeah, more than 17 million unique guns, 95% of which you'll leave on the ground or use to fatten your wallet. -Playing with anyone but your friends is usually out, because of how greedy people get over guns, and how eager they are to let you bleed out and die. -The ending is less than thrilling and pretty much makes no sense. -The first time the environments are definitely awesome the first time, but I could see myself getting bored of them after that. It's a good game, but I get the feeling that I only enjoy it because I am always with 3 good friends, and I didn't put much money into it, so I can feel alright about not playing it too much. In conclusion, what I am trying to say is buyer beware; if you have friends that you know will play with you, and you guys are getting this cheap, go for it, you'll like it, it really is new and refreshing. Otherwise, pass it for now. Wait for some DLC, or until it is cheaper, then consider it. Expand
  97. ZAQ
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    The core game is fantastic, and runs very well on my modest system (AMD 3500+, 8600GT). What brings down this game is the use of Gamespy for the co-op matchmaking, which is a HORRIBLE system to use and I wish Gamespy would just die already. Connecting to a game is very difficult, and it is lacking some very basic features such as the ability to mute other players and the ability to sort The core game is fantastic, and runs very well on my modest system (AMD 3500+, 8600GT). What brings down this game is the use of Gamespy for the co-op matchmaking, which is a HORRIBLE system to use and I wish Gamespy would just die already. Connecting to a game is very difficult, and it is lacking some very basic features such as the ability to mute other players and the ability to sort games in the lobby. On top of that the UI was clearly designed for consoles and is very unintuitive on the PC. Despite the faults I'm having a lot of fun playing it so I give it an 8, which is a shame because if Gearbox would have spent a bit more time on the PC version it could easily have been a 10. Expand
  98. MadL
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Bloody brilliant game, loads of content (guns, upgrades, quests, enemies), single player lasts long, which is good as the game is fun. The game also has 4 player online also, which is very fun once again and i love the overall design of the game and the humor. A game i would wholeheartedly suggest to a friend.
  99. HaqeemA
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Borderlands is incredible, really distract my attention from Modern Warfare 2 and Left 4 Dead 2. Featured with cool and smooth graphic and "outline" styling (artwork ftw!) just like Prince of Persia, up to 4 player in multiplayer mode (more epic than those zombies shooting title) this product is worth every penny! I can't write more about this game cause this too awesome!
  100. FezzT
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part From the art style to the gameplay, to the voice acting, this has been a game to remember. I'll be honest when i say that in begining, i was reminded of fallout 3, which i thought was extremely boring but had so much work done to it. but this game delivers so much more excitement and the visual style is enjoyable. 4 player co-op is incredibly fun, but you must all be at the same part of the game for this to work. Still this game is amazing Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.