Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1387 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you haveThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care orTHE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  3. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  4. DaveS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a discerning gamer! DK. Expand
  5. Praxisq
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a distance. This game is a good game, the mechanic works great, its solid, its the grind though not so hard of a grind to lvl up. looking at the base or core of the game i see there are many directions they could have taken. why they decided on this exact end model of the game suggest t me they seek to set them selves apart with origionality..yes these mechanics have always been in games..but when was the last time you have seen them. esapecially executed properly. i dig it..good game for multiple players 4 player co-op is fun. i would not however recomend this for a single player experience. i gave it a rating of 8.. but i want to give it out of a 100 score so..its an 88/100 and a nice game containing throwback drop system for the old school grinder gamers. Expand
  6. LiasM
    Apr 12, 2010
    8
    Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more work, but it still is a fun ride. Expand
  7. DougC
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash bug and a fairly limited variety of enemies. Expand
  8. Fidel
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, roughly 25 hours worth, and that was litteraly every quest you could do. Kind of a shame, but other than that there is nothing wrong with the game. Great Job! Expand
  9. GraydonA
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    A good RPG/FPS hybrid that is fun to play and has an awesome art style. Playing co-op with friends online is fun, and collecting loot is a blast. It doesn't deserve a perfect score either as there are a few small bugs that keep it from a 10.
  10. SteveA
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I think that it's overshadowed by the good concept and a utopian-like setting and interesting missions. Some would criticise the missions to be a bit too repetitive but each one has its own challenges and therefore proves to be different to the others. It's definitely worth buying for the PC, though if you're in Australia you might have to get some friends together for multiplayer action since the closest multiplayer peers are in China, which provides for very laggy gameplay Expand
  11. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers!
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this thanBorderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this than I'd care to admit, although Steam rubs my nose in it every time! Expand
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there andBorderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there and characters have about as much importance as any of the NPCs in Diablo II. However, I was fine with this as the main draw of this game is simply getting out there and blasting enemies with a wide array of sweet weapons. I'm not fond of the quest grind system and would have liked a different approach, but that's more because of the nightmares of WoW it brought back to me. Either way, it's definitely worth a purchase, and I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Great game system, nice ability tree but unfortunately weak characterization so you just end up playing because th mechanics are good rather than as part of the experience.
  15. May 20, 2012
    8
    Diablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random itemDiablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random item generation is highly addictive. If this included alll the DLCs, the game is worth a 9/10. Expand
  16. SlamU
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    I have clocked over 300 hours on this game so far. It is by far the best game i have played in a long long time. There truly is a bazillion guns and that is a bazillion different ways to frag things.
  17. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  18. DarthVadar!
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end with no sight of anybody(pretty creepy). This game also has the quest system of STALKER and Fallout 3, where you can take any mission any time, anywhere. What makes this game great for casual players is that you can pretty much just jump in because missions are straightforward with no complexity, which is of course good and bad. The good is that you won't get confused with what to do, and the bad is that the storyline is not very in depth. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the somewhat frail srotyline. Other than that, i'd say the graphics are very unique, something you don't see often(or at all), gameplay is pretty addicting because the enemies pretty much get stronger as you level up meaning there will not be a moment where your enemies are no match for you.I''d say this game is glitchless as far as I see, but that might not be true for someone else. I have to say my FRS is really good on this game(around 40-50), and it does not crash on my computer. I run this game from steam with a nvidia GTX275 and a 2.4 duo CPU(it's overcloaked, the real CPU is 3.08 duo) and 6GB of memory. I said this so in case anybody is wondering what systems will support Borderlands well(these 3 parts are probably enough info I don't think I need to tell you my motherboard or power supply etc.) Expand
  19. Fuz
    Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are alsoFantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are also absolutely excellent and a great added value to the original game.
    Note that it really should be played with friends, it gets even A LOT more fun.
    Expand
  20. RadleyS
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game What an outstanding game! I haven't seen such a great mini-multiplayer RPG since Diablo II. I convinced 3 other friends to get this game and we have been having the most fun we've had gaming in quite awhile. I got this game knowing nothing about it, I've never investigated this game prior to playing it, someone simply said "hey, play borderlands!" so I did. I love a game that introduces completely new game play aspects even in late game. The first grenade mod I got (Explosive MIRV), I threw it at the ground to see what exactly it did. A cluster grenade?! Why don't other games have cluster grenades!! It's great that a game finally understands you can make a cooler weapon by not just making it more powerful, but making it shoot differently. My level 45 Siren has a super fast SMG that can unload the full 80 rounds in just under 3 seconds, and in the next slot a fairly accurate explosive SMG with 4.5x zoom! However, the entire game was not all full of joy. It upset me that character skills were all passive but the action skill - which makes sense for a console game (sigh...). I picked the Siren because she looked like a caster. Elemental weapons are kind of like spells... But I would appreciate a skill where my bullets could do a chain-lightning effects. Playing as the siren, most abilities don't exactly make sense. Damaging enemies while stealthed, not so useful... Dazing enemies isn't effective in a "hack and slash" type of game. The melee wasn't satisfying. It was sad that there were no melee weapons but the bladed pistols, which had an absurdly slow attack speed. I was also upset that there was only one vehicle - but the small amount of customization was still nice to have. I hope that the next in the series will be more PC-based. I would love to have a Skag or Sythid as a pet, or add a plow to my vehicle to reduce damage taken from explosive enemies... I hope there are more random weapons with special effects like T.K.'s Wave. - a shotgun which shoots blue bullets in a wave-like effect (Fun, but not practical - which is fine!). I still plan to do a few more playthroughs with this game to get the full experience, but I have very high hopes for Borderlands 2. I just need to keep my fingers crossed for the next few years. Expand
  21. PhilupD
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated Best FPS and RPG combination i have ever played. Makes other FPS look bad for playability, and the concept of the talent trees for each toon is friggin' sweet. Weapon Proficiency level for each weapon class levels with your toon making them more deadly each time you use them. The weapon specs and weapon classifacations are sweet. The weapon system is also sweet as they are rated whiite (common), green (uncommon), blue (rare), purple (epic), and gold (legendary). Online playability makes it so fun to play as the class you selected. Level your toons with a group of three others, and have fun kicking @$$ with others online. Share loot and make friends as you blast, slash, spray, and pummel you way through BorderLands. If you haven't picked this game up for the fear of the game sucking cause of the graphics. Than your a noob and your missing out on the best FPS-RPG in the history of gaming!!! If you don't believe me. Then go to a friends or family members house that has the game and play it up. Don't be the only kid on the block that doesn't have this game. Expand
  22. Kelu
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good The game has many flaws. Horrible lack of actual plot, paper-cutout characters and NPCs, repetitve fetch-and-kill quests, awkward vehicular combat, random generated items look and feel the same... But Borderlands makes up for all that with unique graphics (it has balls to be different in the age of photorealistic Crisises and Modern Warfares, and for me that's a step in a good direction), incredibly fun 4 players co-op, satisfying level-ups and... style. Borderlands is not perfect, but I think of it as a gaming milestone and instant classic that I'll cherish in the years to come. Expand
  23. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun, great art design and wacky atmosphere, and multiplayer with friends is a blast. The most fun with one game I've had in years - I can't wait for the sequel. Definitely get the Knoxx DLC.
  24. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol).Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol). There are tons of quests, and the map is pretty much wide open so you can run around doing what you want, when you want. The charector progression, and multiple skill trees are fun, and you get better at using a particular weapon type the more you use the weapon type. I loved thinning out the mobs by popping head shots with a elemental sniper rifle from afar, and then going in, and cleaning up with an machine gun or automatic hand gun. Getting close to mobs using Liliths Pheonix skill is a riot too, especially in zombie land. Im a little more methodical than other players though. Some people Ive played with like to just wade in with a shot gun, or rocket launcher. There's also vehicle battles, and a thunderdome style arena where you have a ton of mobs thrown at you at once, under many different conditions, such as low gravity, faster speeds, or using specific weapon types for more, or less damage. Borderlands is simply one of those games just about anyone will love-trust me! The few people who gave it bad reviews...well, theres always gonna be a couple of people in every crowd who have to say the sky is red if you say its blue lol! Anyway, good luck! Happy gaming.... Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesomeI am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesome and when you think you have the best guns you're gonna find, there is a drop which is even better (though at higher character levels, you're probably going to have your gun preferences like me). It's more of a FPS and less of a RPG, pretty much an ARPG. Diablo was my favorite game ever (many sleepless evenings) and I can't say this game measures up to that time and excitement level, but it's really addictive and took me a while to finally stop playing it (months). Right now it's on sale at Steam and this is when I got it before. Well worth the original price let alone the sale price. Automatic buy. Expand
  26. dxemonj
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    My gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurtMy gf and i have had such a great time on this game. it truly even surpasses the nintendo and snes games of my childhood, which is no small feat. the one gripe i have is the gamespy multiplayer. the effect on me was minimal due to my gf, myself and my bro playing on lan but connecting with friends elsewhere was troublesome at best and impossible at worst, which i can understand would hurt a lot of peoples' opinion of the game. i hope this franchise lasts a long time and that they fix the only real fault i see which is multiplayer online connectivity. Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Everything about Borderlands was brilliant, artstyle, gameplay, humor, characters, story and the amount of weapons. Can't really think of any real cons. The base campaign plus DLCs is about 60h long, but achievements and walkthrough 2 (hardmode) will keep you busy even longer. Definetly the best RPG-FPS to date.
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Great game hands down. If you love RPGs and want more shooting action, then this will fit you perfectly. Though the game can obviously improve on things, this game is pioneering its way for a new genre in the gaming industry that makes it look really promising. All the elements and new ideas are brand new and something to appreciate and enjoy. There is nothing cooler then blasting enemiesGreat game hands down. If you love RPGs and want more shooting action, then this will fit you perfectly. Though the game can obviously improve on things, this game is pioneering its way for a new genre in the gaming industry that makes it look really promising. All the elements and new ideas are brand new and something to appreciate and enjoy. There is nothing cooler then blasting enemies with your friends for awesome loot and let me tell you.. the weapons and gear are NEVER seem to be the same. Every single item is always slightly different. Though the few bugs and short comings are apparent you cannot deny this game's innovation. 8. Expand
  29. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.
  30. kevinl
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    this game is so awsome the graphic the system and the FPSRPG thing is so AWSOME
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.