User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1196 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever,
    and if your one of those people who didnt like fallout 3 and think you wont like this still worth trying i hated fallout 3, but loved this there very little alike idk y ppl say there the same
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun, great art design and wacky atmosphere, and multiplayer with friends is a blast. The most fun with one game I've had in years - I can't wait for the sequel. Definitely get the Knoxx DLC.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Loved Borderlands! Very addictive! Played for hours at a time; both single player, and with friends I have on Steam. Im partial to Lilith, but all the charectors are fun. Its basically a very creative, fast paced, shoot em up game. There are multiple episodes, and each takes a respectable amount of time to finish. There are a billion weapons of every kind(or it seemed so to me lol). There are tons of quests, and the map is pretty much wide open so you can run around doing what you want, when you want. The charector progression, and multiple skill trees are fun, and you get better at using a particular weapon type the more you use the weapon type. I loved thinning out the mobs by popping head shots with a elemental sniper rifle from afar, and then going in, and cleaning up with an machine gun or automatic hand gun. Getting close to mobs using Liliths Pheonix skill is a riot too, especially in zombie land. Im a little more methodical than other players though. Some people Ive played with like to just wade in with a shot gun, or rocket launcher. There's also vehicle battles, and a thunderdome style arena where you have a ton of mobs thrown at you at once, under many different conditions, such as low gravity, faster speeds, or using specific weapon types for more, or less damage. Borderlands is simply one of those games just about anyone will love-trust me! The few people who gave it bad reviews...well, theres always gonna be a couple of people in every crowd who have to say the sky is red if you say its blue lol! Anyway, good luck! Happy gaming.... Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    I am an older gamer and I like games which are not too challenging and simply fun to play. This game is way up there in my list of favorites. It's easy to learn and extremely fun. I agree with some reviewers that it doesn't make sense to find a pistol that has better zoom than many sniper rifles in the game, but that's what I love about the game. The randomization of weapons is awesome and when you think you have the best guns you're gonna find, there is a drop which is even better (though at higher character levels, you're probably going to have your gun preferences like me). It's more of a FPS and less of a RPG, pretty much an ARPG. Diablo was my favorite game ever (many sleepless evenings) and I can't say this game measures up to that time and excitement level, but it's really addictive and took me a while to finally stop playing it (months). Right now it's on sale at Steam and this is when I got it before. Well worth the original price let alone the sale price. Automatic buy. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  8. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    borderlands is one of the best games out there, buy it you wont be disappointed, RPG and FPS work very well together, super addictive and excellent graphics, a good buy for any gamer.
  9. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best coop games out there.. to me it is the best we have had 400 hours of game time and still go on. The single player is fun and challenging and there are visrtually no bugs in the game. whoever tells you this game is flawed is a moron.. period. you will enjoy everty minute from the fps to character build and NPC's in the game. the goty edition is the way to go. This game is in no way shape or form like Fallout your moron. i have every game in the Fallout series and how you compare them is insane. Expand
  10. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Everything about Borderlands was brilliant, artstyle, gameplay, humor, characters, story and the amount of weapons. Can't really think of any real cons. The base campaign plus DLCs is about 60h long, but achievements and walkthrough 2 (hardmode) will keep you busy even longer. Definetly the best RPG-FPS to date.
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Bonkers futuristic setting? Check. Cool bounty hunters storyline? Check. Wild West ethics? Check. Hilarious dialogue and other tidbits? Check. Endless replayability? Check. Massive scale gunfights? Check. Utterly epic random loot generator? Check. Skill trees that actually change gameplay? Check. Best coop mode ever? Check. I cannot sing enough praise for this game but then I don't have to this thing is a legend. Definitely try it out if you have even the slightest bit of interest in it. Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.
  13. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Borderlands' versatility and the ability to go your own personal way is suite to fit any type of gamer willing to take on a challenge or play it easy and kick ass on your skill level. Because of its muti-player feature being sub par to other co-op games, Borderlands is usually trashed around because of its lack for easy access to the not so vast community of players. Sure i can agree. But not to the point that i don't want to try to get a game started with some people. I have the choice between two options. Let me jump into my singleplayer game allowing anyone to join in at a random time. Or joining someone's current game. This is helpful when i'm feeling in the mood to go my own path or earn xp and help a fellow gamer throughout his campaign at the same time. No choice is the wrong choice. I'm Just left with options. I also have the option to get separated from one's game and fight leveled beasts throughout. Borderlands adds a great feature to its mutiplayer experience. Dual mode. You can go up to a player in the party, melee them, giving them the option to melee you back, initiating a duel between the two players. This is available on the spot at anytime you want to duel. There are also duel arenas located around the map for a better experience in a 1 on 1 fight. The gameplay experience itself is one of a kind.Its a shooter RPG that offers so much more than the competing Mass Effect or GTA 4. Around every corner, a new weapon is lurking in that weapons crate behind that building, or in that monster that you have to defeat. After you beat the game, you have an option to go through it again with the same level and equipment you had before, except the monsters are all on a different, more challenging level. Not to mention each cause has an effect. If you do one thing a certain way. It can unlock different things than if you did it a different way on your first play through. The AI are adaptable and can give you a challenge when you need one, or they lower their guard enough for you to kick ass. The characters throughout the story can give you laughs every minute you talk to them, or be serious enough for you to pay attention at certain times. Overall, borderlands is a visual masterpiece in its own way. The animation is unique to the game giving the unreal engine a great game to base its engine on. With a Nvidia Geforce 8800 GT card, it looked like the visuals were popping out and hammering into my soul with every model detail. Not to mention the soundtrack can have you from suspenseful moments of uncertainty, to a tribal instinct to kill everything in sight. The AI's voice tracks can get annoying after a while. You will start to hear the same thing being said over and over, as well as a few glitches and bugs to give a little frustration. Altogether, this game did not fail to impress, it deserves all great remarks it is given. Only a few things could be fixed to give it perfect playability. Excellent job. Playability: 9.5. Graphics: 9. Sound: 8.5. Replay value: 9.5 If anyone has any questions, please email me at MRarmy12@aol.com. Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    The Good: Fantastic gameplay, infinite amount of guns, smart AI and in general a solid game. The RPG elements are solid, if nothing spectacular, but nothing to complain about either. A good variety of missions that supplement the plot. The co-op makes the game about ten times better than it is on single player. it's challenging enough to be fun, but its not so hard that you die every 5 minutes.

    The Bad: driving can be tough since there's not much interaction with the environment. you either drive over something or it stops you with no damage to the object or vehicle. The default buttons are somewhat funky (crouch is C instead of Ctrl for some reason) but those are easily changeable. There's no mini-map, only a compass, so constantly pausing to check the map can get annoying.

    The Graphics: (Disclaimer: some of this may depend on how fast your computer is) Some people will love the art, others will hate it (i for one, love it). Graphics are slick, depth of field looks cool if you turn it on. Don't play this on anything less than a Core 2 Duo or else it will look like crap. Occasionally you or enemies can get stuck inside something but it's easy to get out and it happens rarely. when you respawn you wait a little bit to let your computer render the level: like 5 seconds (it's kinda cool. you can actually see the render happen). All in all, a great game with minor issues that keep it from earning a 10
    Expand
  15. Fuz
    Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Great graphics with a lot of style, absolutely amazing characters with witty and funny dialogues, good enemies variety with some very cool bosses and decent enough story (some people didn't like the ending, but I thought it was brilliant). The shooting mechanics are pretty good, and the loot search if awesome. The DLCs, contrary to most DLCs practice out there, are also absolutely excellent and a great added value to the original game.
    Note that it really should be played with friends, it gets even A LOT more fun.
    Expand
  16. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Very Nice and Crazy Game. I like playing in Coop. Every Time you play it you´ll find something new. Its one of the BEST COOP Games ever. I´ve every DLC and still waiting for more !
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is Good Game guys.. I played it on Xbox 360 game.. I love it all of them...
    But These not having cheats on Xbox 360 :(

    Please make more game on this game..
  18. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Well I liked it.... Picked it up while it was on sale because it looked like a good game. Mixing RPG elements with FPS make a very good game. Sometimes the weapon types and all the are confusing, but overall great game that shouldnt be missed by any FPS fan and many RPG fans should give this game a chance too.
  19. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    With borderlands, you get a lot of content/gameplay for your money, The co-op is very fun, and the graphics are neat. The only problem i have with the game is the rpg elements, a lot of the skills are kindof wierd, such as liliths phasewalk, I feel like they could have done a lot better job developing the skills for the characters. Besides that the story is fun, can be a bit boring at times, Driving is almost flawless, and after you beat the game you can get the DLC which will add quite a bit of time to your gameplay. Expand
  20. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is probably not what most people expect: The RPG part is very weak and it is not really a Sandbox game. Nevertheless, if you like a relaxed FPS with some fun character building, you'll enjoy this game. Even the single player is a lot of fun for quite a few hours. Sadly I cannot try the multiplayer (moving to south america kinda spoiled my online fun), but judging from the games concept it'll probably rock. The whole concept is a bit like dungeon siege with guns. :P (Dungeon Siege ONE, mind you :) Expand
  21. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    I bought the game, tried and hated it twice and let it collect dust. Two years later I gave it another go and I finally got into it with one simple change. DISABLE MOUSE SMOOTHING. I cannot stress enough how important that is. The game has some problems like Gamespy, mediocre writing and story and poor animations/physics. With bad mouse lag (think Bioshock, but worse) they are glaring. With sharp, accurate controls they are easy to ignore and make the good stuff like loot, large world and equally fun single player and co-op stand out. Unconditional recommendation once you edit the input confit file. Expand
  22. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    I feel like this game was really underrated. Although it starts out painfully slow, the game picks up quickly once you beat the first boss. The story isn't the best I've experienced in a game, but it's pretty sufficient for an FPS RPG. The re playability of this game is great, after playing it 4 times I wanted to play it all over again. Also the DLC for this game is superb. It adds so much more to the game, increasing the level cap, adding new maps, enemies, and weapons. I wish more people played this game. Expand
  23. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    I got quite surprised when I started to play this game: it's nothing new in the fps area, but it still delivers what many shooters don't: a lot of content. First of all, you got 4 classes to choose with 3 talent trees to choose, which actually can vary the gamestyle (but not a lot, and I will explain in a minute) Each class have an inventory which you can carry quite a lot of weapons (So far, I can carry over 30 of them), but also grenade's mods, which will change the property of your grenades, and also class mods in which you'll obtain various benefits and bonuses for specific talents and skills. Honestly all of this is very well though because mods are very handy and the talents can make things go better if you have a proper grenade mod (like dispersion, or sticky), but still I gotta admit one thing: the talents aren't a big deal. They differ the gamestyle yes, but still they aren't a BIG difference: each class can equip any weapon for example and even if a soldier has more bonuses while using shotguns and rifles, you'll be free to use any other weapon as you want, because the bonuses aren't a HUGE bonuses: they feel more like "useful perks". On the other side, you can only use the "perk'd" weapons and forget the rest: you're good with those basically, and the only benefit of using many weapon is that the more you use an SMG, stronger the damage you'll do...but it's not, again, a big difference, and there's too much freedom in my opinion. The rest of the talents are handy, but I still haven't seen any proper difference, except for the main skill, which are the main and biggest difference among the 4, and I apologize for the abuse of the words "difference", because that's what I felt while playing.. The game is structured like a RPG due to the levels (50, 69 with the dlc), loot system (with color-based grades), quests, dungeons and a plot, with respective end bosses and so on, All of this is actually fun to do because it's not linear and you can also re-do the dungeons for more weapons, and the quests are kinda quick and easy to do. The plot however is one of the biggest trolls I've ever seen (but I dare to say in a good way). The areas are many and actually huge and in fact you'll use vehicles very often to travel in order to reach the next points,although the driving sections are a bit clunky and hard to drive at times. The online co-op is nice but it lags a lot on my computer for some reasons and I never managed to make it work properly (it is the only game i own that lags this much online, so it's not me!). I should mention also that the DLC are actually more like "expansions": they add new areas, new weapons, new vehicles and one of them adds also more levels, and the prices for them were very good (I hardly buy DLCs, but these were a very nice addition). I honestly hated the first points I mentioned, because it doesn't make you replay another class due of their lack of "differences", but except for that I really have no complains: it's probably one of the longest and actually content-filled shooters I've owned, and even if the flaws I've mentioned are a bit annoying the game still remains huge for a shooter (i've finished it in about 20-30 hours, plus 10 hours more for levelling and doing the dlc's). Definitely a good shooter with a very high longevity, worth a good try if you ask me. Expand
  24. May 24, 2012
    9
    Very good game, worth buying. I gave it only 9 because of minor technical problems ( had to reinstall graphics driver ) and repetitious music ( game deserves much more wild west like ambient ).
    Concept is definitely the best i have seen for a long time in games.
  25. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, had loads of fun with, and there is quality DLC to have fun with also! The system is a great mix of FPS and RPG elements and although many people may not be able to grasp how this game works, hopefully it can open new doors to other crossover games to do the same.
  26. May 14, 2011
    9
    I was surprised how much I enjoyed this game. While not my usual style of game, it's so well put together I couldn't help but get totally sucked in by it. While I might have liked more of the mission text to have been voice acted, that is a minor quibble. It's not an elegant shooter (relying far more on picking the right weapon than highly strategic play), but it kept me coming back for more, and the character progress was very well balanced. I always felt a sense of forward momentum, and rarely felt like I was simply grinding for cash or xp. I think replay value is limited, but the first play-through was well worth the price of entry. Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Played it through with a couple of friends. With one friend it was fun up till level 14, after that it's the same crap over and over. You notice the story element and interaction of your muse completely disappears after level 13 or so and it's just shoot, find weapons, rinse repeat. Many of the quests are broke when you try to play together so it's hard to sync up where you should play together unless you do literally every quest together.

    End boss is a joke, it shows how they put all their ideas and development into the first 14 levels and after that got under a production timeline and had to squeeze it out.

    Lots of profanity so not good for little ones and clearly a console port game if you are getting it for the PC be prepared for clunky menus and interactions.
    Expand
  28. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    There is not enough to say for this game. It is amazing in everyway imaginable. In case if you guys are late for the party, this game showcases more than 100,000 guns. Yeah. You read right. Also, the graphics are cool because it kinda is cartoonish, but not as cartoonish as Team Fortress 2. Its like cartoon violence, yet there is blood. As you level up in the game, you get better and better guns. Like, I went to the place where you start the game (Arid Badlands) and my character was extremely overpowered against the other enemies because I was a higher level up. It provides some pretty funny and gruesome deaths. Also, the playability is really good. You'll catch on as the game goes. However, the lack of tutorials made the game wierd at first, because when you reach level five or something, you get ability points that you can assign to different areas (e.g. stealth). But, I didn't know how to put them on my character.Then my friend told me how.But, it is a great game. Don't miss out on it. Expand
  29. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    This really is a fantastic game, I was lucky enough to pick this up in a Steam sale for around £6 including all the DLC which for such a large game offering so many hours of play is a bargain.

    Graphically the game is beautiful with a unique stylised look to the art, music is quite low key but fits the mood and cranks up when necessary for particular areas and challenges.

    The
    AI isn't super smart and can have a few off moments but overall is challenging, enemy characters will advance and use cover quite effectively in the many firefights I've encountered.

    The hardest and most difficult thing is trying to keep all my fav weapons and items in such a small inventory (though this can be expanded by completing side missions). The randomisation of guns is great, for a while I'll be sniper only picking off targets from afar then will come across a devastating new type of shotgun or SMG and will proceed to rush headfirst into danger in a hail of bullets!

    I wanted to love Fallout 3 as was a massive fan of Oblivion but it just didn't work for me on many levels, Borderlands isn't as deep as Oblivion but is a hell of a lot of fun.
    Expand
  30. May 10, 2011
    9
    The ability to develop a character (RPG style) and continually find better equipment (Diablo style) integrated seamlessly into an FPS made for some of the most fun 200+ hours of gaming I've ever had. They did so much right here in the original game, that I can almost forgive them for the expansion packs which were absolutely horrid (with the sole exception of Knoxx which was great). The scripting was hilarious and the premise of the game incredibly enjoyable, though fishing porn mags out of dumpsters and other lame-o missions may have needed some polishing. I was constantly questing to get new and better equipment and kept finding myself coming back to the game for more, long after I'd beaten it more times than I'd care to admit. Now for the bad news: I have two major issues with the game. First, the class balancing needed some major tweaking, and the enemy AI was never more than a minor challenge. I understand that it was meant to be more "arcade style," but the game offered almost no resistance as I blazed my way through the artistically stylish campaign. I loved the integration of coop (when the server worked properly) and enjoyed the game immensely, but it was just a tiny step away from a classic. Can't wait for Borderlands 2! Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.