Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the first title in an all-new sci-fi action franchise, Borderlands combines the best elements of Gearbox Software's first-person action titles with player customization and vehicular combat. Borderlands features a unique content generation system allowing for near-endless variety inAs the first title in an all-new sci-fi action franchise, Borderlands combines the best elements of Gearbox Software's first-person action titles with player customization and vehicular combat. Borderlands features a unique content generation system allowing for near-endless variety in missions, environments, enemies, weapons, item drops and character customization. Borderlands is a cooperative experience, allowing for multiple players to share the same game experience simultaneously online. Players can freely join or leave each other’s games at anytime, or choose to play in the full single-player mode. Borderlands features life-like character animations, impressive real-time physics, and customizable vehicles. More details to follow. [2K Games/Gearbox Software] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Fast, fun, and unapologetically crass, this is the best game I’ve played in a long time, and is truly deserving of the moniker “role-playing shooter.”
  2. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  3. Original, visually attractive and unique, Borderlands won't leave anyone indifferent and will be a treasure for those who enjoy its innovative style.
  4. Borderlands gives the lonely gamer a kind of monotonous experience, but it is great when you invite some friends. The story is really thin and the world is kind of lifeless at some points. But tons of weapons, quests and the urge to level to the next stage makes the game entertaining. A solid game for those who like to play together, instead of against each other.
  5. Borderlands is unusual, playable, and an artfully violent step in an interesting direction for Gearbox. The story aspect of the game could have been better - I'd love to have seen the role-playing influence extend beyond stats, levels and loot - and the ending is a disappointment. Even so, this should be a favourite game of the year for a huge number of people, since it plugs into gamer impulses at such a fundamental level.
  6. There's blood on the asphalt. Well, the cell-shaded asphalt that is. Borderlands is without one of the biggest co-op happenings this year, and for those who love extensive loot tables with guns, guns, guns and guns in absurdum, this is the shit. It's a well balanced action adventure with a well balanced leveling system that only suffers a little from lack of variation. It is a perfect LAN-game however.
  7. Borderlands is as empty as eye sockets of bodies “adorning” bandit camps. Gearbox chose the silliest approach to game design: made a bunch of same-looking levels, where colored explosive barrels are the only interactive objects, placed quest-giving NPCs made out of cardboard, and churned out lots of “fetch/kill” missions. Borderlands has only one active ability per class and no character stats, while skills increase automatically as you use different weapons. Imagine Diablo 2 where Barbarian is limited to just “Bash” or “Leap.”

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 306
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story lineThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is truly an amazing game. I have been looking for a game that is similar to world of warcraft but without all that kiddy crap.This is truly an amazing game. I have been looking for a game that is similar to world of warcraft but without all that kiddy crap. Borderlands gives me just that . You go on quests, level up, fight bosses, use crazy guns, play with friends, and more. Best first person shooter i've ever played. Expand
  3. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  4. StevenH
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    Completely absurd/awful story, barely functional multiplayer interface, poor enemy balance, but underneath it is a fairly addictive game and Completely absurd/awful story, barely functional multiplayer interface, poor enemy balance, but underneath it is a fairly addictive game and interesting concept. Leveling up is very satisfying. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Borderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, IBorderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, I agree with everything Syrik said. Only, I think it deserves a higher rating than he gave it. There was a time when I was obsessed with this game. But then I beat the campaign and 2/3 DLC (this is excluding Moxxi because that's more of an arena thing to play with friends) I found it hard to get back into. It starts of pretty boring, then it gets great and fun, but the end is horrid. But that's all I have to add, Syrik said the rest.
    "This game is a very fun shooter, but with flaws. I'll go over the good first. The combat is entertaining and a touch different than other shooters. You get to tweak your character with different abilities to make unique builds which change how your character plays. The game randomly generates weapons so everything that drops is unique and a possible great find, it keeps you looking for loot. These things make it fun to play and the graphics are done in an art style like animation cells which I really like, it looks superb. The bad things bring it down however. The game scales terribly. As you do quests and gain exp. you will level too fast and quickly become too powerful, tearing through groups of enemies far too easily. A second play through with tougher enemies is possible, but not fun. You will start much higher level than foes and there is no challenge. The game is lacking several graphics controls on the options menu, which is stupid because the devs put the coding for the controls in the files, they just didn't make buttons. You will have to edit the .ini file yourself to turn on things like v-sync and get a widescreen point of view. Very lazy on the devs part there. Instructions for doing this are easy to find and it's not hard to do, but I shouldn't have to. So, overall Borderlands is a fun game that ends up being far too easy to play and has some basic setup options missing, but obtainable with manual editing on the users part." -syrik, Sep 8 2011 (rated 4/10)
    Expand
  6. RichardS
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the Gearbox did a very good job on this game. Combat is interesting and most things seem to be implemented with much consideration. Humour in the game however is dark and Gearbox has a really perverted sense of it, it's really grotesque at times. There really isn't any true relationship between you and any of the characters as your avatar is quite mute, whatever there is is quite distanced. Roland will taunt people after he's killed them which is stupid it is own right. The multiplayer portion would possibly work quite well if everything works properly to connect. Unfortunately the gun drop system makes it all too easy for everyone to become greedy and start walking over everyone elses shoes. Making it more of a grab-all game rather than a lovely multiplayer coop. The core gameplay is good and it's obvious that the developer Gearbox has learned and taken from many games over the years as it shows in the gameplay mechanics, and music. At times the music takes on a tone that is almost completely the same as some scores found in planescape torment. 7/10 Expand
  7. NateS
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting to online games turned out to be a pain in the butt. The one week delay to optimize the PC version turned out to be a big sack of lies. Nothing was optimized for PC. This game is a console port. 90% of the in game menus are NOT mouse supported. For example, if you get into an online game, you can't kick some from clicking their name, you have to use arrow keys and select them. The online backbone of the game is even more crappier. Of all online gaming infrastructures Gearbox decided to use Gamespy... I pretty sure a lot of FPS gamers moved away from Gamespy back in 1998. So in the end if you want a Online CO-OP game. Do Not Buy this game, it's not a co-op game if you have a hard time connecting to other players. Probably better off purchasing Left 4 Dead 2. Gearbox Software is only good at bring PC ports to consoles, NOT the other way around. Save your money, this game is not worth it. Gearbox only released this game on PC to make some quick cash. They haven't even acknowledge on there official forums that there are a lot of problems. Sure they're could be fixing it, but easing your customers minds goes a long way. Once again DO NOT BUY! Unless you are only going to play single player mostly. Expand

See all 306 User Reviews