Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Botanicula is point'n'click exploration game created by Jara Plachy and Amanita Design.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    100
    Botanicula is a wonderful tale in which one loves getting lost; a real puzzler to have fun with; and a genuine visual and sound art piece.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    A creation of obvious love and care, Botanicula is a must-play for those seeking a truly imaginative and entertaining adventure game
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    A wonderful experience that will please us, blending nature and videogames, creating a beautiful and captivating atmosphere that we want to see in more games.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    82
    A different kind of adventure, in a very different kind of world that wastes no time before growing on you.
  5. May 23, 2012
    80
    A wondrous surrealistic adventure on and through the living branches of a "magical" tree, Botanicula is a beautiful addition to Amanita's game roster.
  6. May 2, 2012
    80
    It's difficult to explain with words what makes a game so great that actually doesn't use them at all.
  7. May 8, 2012
    60
    Solve puzzles in a bizarre colorful environment, using different characters with different abilities. But the puzzles are too easy and too illogical for this game to be much more than mediocre.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 5 out of 61
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Another masterpiece from Amanita Design. Great visuals and stylization with breathtaking sounds and music from DVA band and funny puzzles. I am glad for preordering. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Such a wonderful little gem. A fantastic voyage into a fascinating little world of wonders. The art style as well as the fantastic sound and music give you an unique experience, a journey, that most bigger titles can't deliver anymore. I wonder, is there something wrong or right with games today, if small independent games like this give you more joy and memorable moments as some AAA titles? Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Really fun and super cute. The scenes are less diverse than in other Amanita games, but the characters visuals, and music are as charming as ever.
  4. May 12, 2012
    9
    it was love at first sight.the cute characters,the beautiful environment,the calming music....
    the puzzles are fairly simple and i like it
    because you don't get frustrated.plus it is cross platform and supports linux! the developers have taken a good step to sell it as a part of humble bundle,allowing the buyers to decide the price,as many of them would have pirated it if it was sold at,say, 30 dollars.though the developers should stop using adobe flash or adobe air as they are not well supported under linux. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best point-and-click games I've ever played. It's simple, yet pretty tricky to finish. It's great soundtrack and the way it tells you its story turn Botanicula in an actual experience. It's not a very long game but it will keep you occupied a couple of days. Buy it and you won't regret it.

    For what Botanicula tries to be, the only reason I can't give a full 10 is the fact that I can't get myself to do another playthrough.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    I liked Botanicula a lot. It tells a very cute story all with pictures and very expressive plants (?)! There were a lot of puzzles that tended toward the easy side of the spectrum. The graphics and artwork were excellent, it was beyond what I had imagined were possible using Flash. The depth of the puzzles did not match Machinarium (the best known Amanita game) but Botanicula is comparable in terms of creativity and style. This would be an excellent game for older kids who would be put off by the difficulty of Machinarium. I played this on a PC, but I would imagine an iPad would be the perfect platform for this game. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    1
    This game is amazing nothing can beat it perfect game no game better best point'n'click game ever and beats all else in every genre can't get a game better than this one. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews