Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Botanicula is point'n'click exploration game created by Jara Plachy and Amanita Design.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    100
    Botanicula is a wonderful tale in which one loves getting lost; a real puzzler to have fun with; and a genuine visual and sound art piece.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    A creation of obvious love and care, Botanicula is a must-play for those seeking a truly imaginative and entertaining adventure game
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    A wonderful experience that will please us, blending nature and videogames, creating a beautiful and captivating atmosphere that we want to see in more games.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    82
    A different kind of adventure, in a very different kind of world that wastes no time before growing on you.
  5. May 23, 2012
    80
    A wondrous surrealistic adventure on and through the living branches of a "magical" tree, Botanicula is a beautiful addition to Amanita's game roster.
  6. May 2, 2012
    80
    It's difficult to explain with words what makes a game so great that actually doesn't use them at all.
  7. May 8, 2012
    60
    Solve puzzles in a bizarre colorful environment, using different characters with different abilities. But the puzzles are too easy and too illogical for this game to be much more than mediocre.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Another masterpiece from Amanita Design. Great visuals and stylization with breathtaking sounds and music from DVA band and funny puzzles. I am glad for preordering. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Such a wonderful little gem. A fantastic voyage into a fascinating little world of wonders. The art style as well as the fantastic sound and music give you an unique experience, a journey, that most bigger titles can't deliver anymore. I wonder, is there something wrong or right with games today, if small independent games like this give you more joy and memorable moments as some AAA titles? Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Really fun and super cute. The scenes are less diverse than in other Amanita games, but the characters visuals, and music are as charming as ever.
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Amanita Desing, se caracteriza en proponer una experiencia nueva en cuanto a juegos de computadora se trata, lo que hace que es pieza se escape a lo que comúnmente se entiende como un juego de vídeo y lo sitúa más cerca a lo que una obra de arte se refiere, inspiradora para todo creador y aquel que no sintió las ganas de participar en el desarrollo de una obra de arte como esta, pues no entendió lo que Amanita Desing propuso con este impecable juego. Su mayor logro es superarse después de Machinarium Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This game is strange, but it has a unique atmosphere and charm. All the characters are cute and some situations are so funny. The graphic and music are perfect and different, and all the animal sound are so amusing. The only flaw is that it's too short. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    first off. i would call my self a full time gamer. i play stuff like hardcore shooter 5 and boring 50 copies sold simulator 3. the last thing i would have expected to enjoy is this game. Or is it Art?
    IT truly looks beautiful, it sounds perfect (the creature sounds are blatantly a guy making noises, but thats adds to charm) and the actuual gameplay is rarther solid.

    it constantly keeps you on your toes, building great memory skills. while it may have no spoken word or any subtitles, anyone can instantly understand the story and get reeled in.

    i found it extremely enjoyable, and dear enthusiast1973. by all means, let your toddler play this game if you want them evermore to have nightmares. this game takes a sudden turn, and even i was freaked out slightly (not that thats too hard (my sister making me fight a boss in silent hill freaked me out so much i had to squint and turn the sound off. urgh))
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    1
    This game is amazing nothing can beat it perfect game no game better best point'n'click game ever and beats all else in every genre can't get a game better than this one. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews