Bound by Flame Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 396 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are a mercenary possessed by a flame demon in a desperate world ravaged by seven Ice Lords and their Dead-Army. In this RPG where all your choices lead to consequences, you will have to choose between unleashing the powers of the beast within and rejecting the demonic influence thatYou are a mercenary possessed by a flame demon in a desperate world ravaged by seven Ice Lords and their Dead-Army. In this RPG where all your choices lead to consequences, you will have to choose between unleashing the powers of the beast within and rejecting the demonic influence that wants to claim your humanity. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 42
  2. Negative: 13 out of 42
  1. May 8, 2014
    80
    When you invest the time to master the challenging combat and explore the world, Bound by Flame is a solid romp with rewarding tactical action supported by rewarding boss battles and plenty of ways to see your choices reflected in the world around you.
  2. May 9, 2014
    70
    Bound by Flame could be a really good RPG with some refinements, but for now, it suffers too much from its AI and difficulty settings.
  3. May 26, 2014
    70
    Bound by Flame isn't the best RPG that the industry has to offer. But underneath the rough edges there's still a surprisingly enjoyable game.
  4. May 9, 2014
    54
    The combat is fun in parts and the characters grew on me, but so much more of Bound by Flame is tedious, frustrating, and unpolished.
  5. With the storytelling of Mass Effect, the fighting system of the Witcher, and environments taken right from Dragon Age and the Elder Scrolls, Bound By Flame is perhaps the least original game ever made.
  6. May 9, 2014
    45
    Bound By Flame sounded promising every time we saw it... but so do most games. What we ended up with instead is an RPG trying to be as great as its inspiration but never coming close. Poor combat, poor story, and poor acting, all serve to make this "epic tale" one you'll want to skip. Do not buy.
  7. May 8, 2014
    20
    Bound By Flame is an embarrassment on all fronts.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 117
  2. Negative: 22 out of 117
  1. EMG
    May 9, 2014
    10
    I stopped caring when the same reviewers who are bashing this game give the likes of every Call of Duty every year a 10/10 and the likes ofI stopped caring when the same reviewers who are bashing this game give the likes of every Call of Duty every year a 10/10 and the likes of Diablo 3 a 10/10 praising it for being....fun. I have played 3 hours so far, and honestly it is a bit rough around the edges and is in no way GOTY but it is FUN for me at least, the game is simply enjoyable if you go into it with the right frame of mind..."professional" reviewers are just people except they either have biased towards a game or were not paid enough :) 10/10 for keeping me engaged. Collapse
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    I really don't understand why so many people didn't enjoy there play, because this game has everything a good game has to have. Maybe it isI really don't understand why so many people didn't enjoy there play, because this game has everything a good game has to have. Maybe it is short, but for me as a hard core gamer it was a lot of fun to play this game. In my opinion it is good that not every game is like a AAA title or in this case like Skyrim, It would be boring if all games would be the same.
    In short this game is worth the money and worth the time!
    Expand
  3. May 9, 2014
    9
    Игра не шедевр, но очень хороша.
    Из плюсов
    + Не плохой сюжет и диалоги + Просто отличный саундтрек и музыкальное сопровождение. + Хорошая
    Игра не шедевр, но очень хороша.
    Из плюсов
    + Не плохой сюжет и диалоги
    + Просто отличный саундтрек и музыкальное сопровождение.
    + Хорошая графика и оптимизация.
    Из минусов
    - Управление, мягко скажем так себе
    - Интеллект напарников, несмотря на широкий спектр возможностей по управлению напарником, их AI оставляет желать лучшего и требует доработки.
    - AI врагов далек от идеала.
    В общем всем любителям Ведьмака, DA и Fable рекомендую, игра определенно стоит вашего внимания, но особых чудес от нее ждать не стоит.
    Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed playing this very much. Nice ethical choices that lead to different game twists. Graphics and gameplay are more than decent andI enjoyed playing this very much. Nice ethical choices that lead to different game twists. Graphics and gameplay are more than decent and character evolution and abilities are very satisfying. All in all a very good fantasy action RPG. Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    7
    Oh, I was so hungry for a decent RPG game ... and the sudden appearance of Bound By Flame was a pleasant surprise! I'm in the midst of my 2ndOh, I was so hungry for a decent RPG game ... and the sudden appearance of Bound By Flame was a pleasant surprise! I'm in the midst of my 2nd playthrough, and having the kind of fun not too dis-similar to my past new-game-plus for Mass Effect and Dragon Age series. Sure, this is an Indie title, nowhere near as polished as the aforementioned AAA titles, but I'm enjoyed the story and am still having fun building my character to both have romance and conquer the world! :) For $33, I learnt to ignore the poor facial character animation and focus on what positives it had offered - absorbing soundtrack, a decent story that catches my attention, sweet NPC options I can romance, pretty nice graphics at 1080p60fps on my PC and engaging tactical battles. Its nice to have this title to tide me over till DA:I hits in October, but for others who're less keen on RPGs, this title may be worth only $20 to you. For me, it was $$$ well-spent as it gave me a good time when I needed it. While this title is probably a 6.5/10 in reality, I think the effort and timing of the release of this kind of title deserves more support. Expand
  6. May 9, 2014
    5
    A mediocre game in all aspects. Visually it is awful. The music is fine, although the voice acting is painful. The story is absurd, childishA mediocre game in all aspects. Visually it is awful. The music is fine, although the voice acting is painful. The story is absurd, childish and poorly led, on the other hand, it seems that the script is written by a 14 year old boy, full of expletives and cheap swagger like something out of DmC. All characters have a cocky, shameless and sassy attitude, like stupid clones.

    Luckily, the gameplay gets saved, thanks to a relatively interesting battleplay but burdened by a rough and robotic movements and animations, plus a bad control. The customization system by crafting is simple but interesting. Partners give a little sparkle to the fighting.
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    0
    You can only play this game if you spend most of your life holed up in a black room with no light. While it had the potential to beYou can only play this game if you spend most of your life holed up in a black room with no light. While it had the potential to be interesting if more play-testing had been done, there is no way to have any fun with the game. If you make a mistake in your character progression early on, your only option to fix it is to restart the game. When you restart, you are forced to go through every single cutscene over again.

    A massive waste of time and money.
    Expand

See all 117 User Reviews