Braid PC

Braid Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 819 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Braid is a puzzle-platformer, drawn in a painterly style, where the player manipulates the flow of time in strange and unusual ways. From a house in the city, journey to a series of worlds and solve puzzles to rescue an abducted princess. In each world, you have a different power to affectBraid is a puzzle-platformer, drawn in a painterly style, where the player manipulates the flow of time in strange and unusual ways. From a house in the city, journey to a series of worlds and solve puzzles to rescue an abducted princess. In each world, you have a different power to affect the way time behaves, and it is time's strangeness that creates the puzzles. The time behaviors include: the ability to rewind, objects that are immune to being rewound, time that is tied to space, parallel realities, time dilation, and perhaps more. Braid treats your time and attention as precious; there is no filler in this game. Every puzzle shows you something new and interesting about the game world. Braid is a 2-D platform game where you can never die and never lose. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    An unforgettable game experience that brings a set of various fantastic puzzles. Braid experiments with storytelling and playability itself succeeds on all fronts. [May 2009]
  2. Gentlemen, I think we’re looking at a masterpiece, in the same sense in which Portal is one too. A cerebral and pleasant experience, never frustrating without proper reward, never dull or monotonous.
  3. Manipulating time was never so challenging as in this masterpiece from Number None. Braid is a little gem carved in pure perfect gameplay, is so addictive that keeps you playing hour after hour. There aren't big flaws in this game, but Braid is a little bit short.
  4. PC Zone UK
    90
    Genuinely clever stuff. [July 2009, p.64]
  5. 360 gamers were frothing at the mouth for good reason: it’s an instant indie classic.
  6. 88
    In an age when many games feel like clones of one another or are designed to be easy to beat, Braid sticks to its guns and delivers a rewarding and memorable experience that's definitely worth checking out. It's like an invigorating breath of fresh air, and proof that a handful of independent developers can create games that raise the bar for others.
  7. It doesn’t just copy a certain plumber’s early adventures verbatim like so many before it – some of them excellent in their own right – did, but seeks to plant the seeds of growth that the genre has lacked for so many years in showing that, by imprinting its own identity on a well weathered template, incredible things can happen.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 150
  1. Rileym
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This game is stunning, it creates challenges that out wit & out smart games such as portal. it creates challenges that are actually beautiful This game is stunning, it creates challenges that out wit & out smart games such as portal. it creates challenges that are actually beautiful (yep that's how i describe them, beautiful) and only few particular deranged people with no lives *cough* Fred X *cough* Seamus B *cough* don't understand or enjoy Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    If you like puzzle games, bright and simple, but with a twist "strange", this is it. It has a very good visual appeal, some of the mostIf you like puzzle games, bright and simple, but with a twist "strange", this is it. It has a very good visual appeal, some of the most difficult puzzles and interesting. With a striking and unusual history, different branches throughout the game. This is one of the few games that handles well the mechanics of the powers of time in an effective and fun. It's a great game, including achievements and Steam Cloud support (So you saved games remaining in the account). Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Dies ist einer der besten Indies, die ich jemals gespielt habe.
    Ich liebe das Konzept. Der Entwickler versteht auch Rätsel zu machen - mit
    Dies ist einer der besten Indies, die ich jemals gespielt habe.
    Ich liebe das Konzept. Der Entwickler versteht auch Rätsel zu machen - mit Aha-Effekt am Ende.
    Man musste mal die gleiche Map auf verschiedene Arten lösen, was ich ganz genial finde.
    Mit der Geschichte und der melancholischen Hintergrundmusik hat mir das Spiel emotional zugesetzt.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    This game looks like an impressionist painting. You get to warp time in various ways to collect puzzle pieces and find your lost princess. IThis game looks like an impressionist painting. You get to warp time in various ways to collect puzzle pieces and find your lost princess. I played through it in under 6 hours with a couple hints on how to collect certain pieces. There are 6 worlds, each with its own method of controlling time. I don't intend to play it again, but it's worth checking out especially if you can get it for $5 like I did. If you get the steam version there are achievements you can collect for playing through the game plus one more for playing through it again more quickly. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    What is Braid? Braid is well-crafted platformer, which uses a time-manipulating system on which puzzle-solving is based. It also has greatWhat is Braid? Braid is well-crafted platformer, which uses a time-manipulating system on which puzzle-solving is based. It also has great music and graphical content, as well as amazing storyline, both inspiring and a food for thought. For me, game was a little bit hard on some of it's parts, but I have to say, even if you are not a fan of this genre (I'm an RPG-player, mostly), you should try Braid at least for it's story, well-done 2D drawings and music. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    As i have entered this game much later than others, oblivious to both hype and hate, i can really see both sides to the below reviews.
    On the
    As i have entered this game much later than others, oblivious to both hype and hate, i can really see both sides to the below reviews.
    On the one hand, it can seem a rather generic platformer at first (But it isnt) and is much too short, but on the other hand, if one feels it is short, its because you want more... and i certainly wanted more of Braid.
    the puzzles, the time mechanic, the hand drawn art (especially the intricate backgrounds ) all fit together nicely enough to leave you wondering why Jonothan Blow didn't make any sequels (or even just more)
    Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2016
    0
    This game is just crap. Braid is the most overrated 'indie' game of all time. Cheap story, just like Mario Bros story trying to save princessThis game is just crap. Braid is the most overrated 'indie' game of all time. Cheap story, just like Mario Bros story trying to save princess inside a castle. LOL Expand

See all 150 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.