Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Bridge Project is a bridge building simulation game where you take on the task of constructing a huge variety of different bridges.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. 20
    Do yourselves a favor and continue to keep this as far away from your hard drive as possible. Even the most world-weary of trash and simulation enthusiasts should only give this a go if they're in desperate need to get rid of 20 bucks and the window is either broken or not in reach.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    An engaging little game that makes little fuss, but drawed me completely. I've always found constructing things rewarding, and building aAn engaging little game that makes little fuss, but drawed me completely. I've always found constructing things rewarding, and building a bridge that works, and can stand up to trains, winds and earthquakes gives you a huge dollop of satisfaction when you complete a level. I keep coming back to this game, by playing it in windowed mode in the corner of my screen, it makes no fuss, just letting me dip in and improve my design every time I think I have figured out a way of improving and drop out to something else as I please.

    The only criticism I would have is at £16 its a little more expensive then it should be for a fairly short indie game. That said, I don't begrudge a penny, as I have certainty extracted my monies worth.
    Expand
  2. May 6, 2013
    7
    I am not a technical engineer. But started looking at the game, because it's somehow related to Christianity believe. I wanted to know how toI am not a technical engineer. But started looking at the game, because it's somehow related to Christianity believe. I wanted to know how to build bridges. Tried the first bridge and it collapsed. Started thinking, why? then tried again and succeeded. Trying to improve my design and create my own cheapest bridge possible.

    The controls needs time to get used too. There is an simple advanced construction user interface.
    The simple interface speaks for himself. There is an help button that tells some basic keyboard shortcuts. That helps, no need to look into a PDF manual....

    After construction you can test the bridge with a per-defined test. For the 1st bridge that is 2 cars drving towards the bridge in opposite direction. Followed by one heavy passenger bus. If all goes well you will pass these 2 tests and can continue or re-play this level and try to lower the building costs even more!

    You can activate the stress indication system, that will show which parts are being stressed in real-time as vehicles drive over it.

    Build bridges of simple wood only to steel structures....

    The graphics can be adjusted from night to day and any time between them, the reflections and shadows change with it off course.

    All in all I must say it's a refreshing game, not just the usual shooter, RPG genre. Well this time it's a bridge simulator. Have a build by trying the trial. And that's not a construction person speaking....
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    4
    Not the worst bridge building game, but a variety of issues keep it from being more than average. On the plus side, it's the prettiest of itsNot the worst bridge building game, but a variety of issues keep it from being more than average. On the plus side, it's the prettiest of its genre that I've seen. On the negative, the maps aren't that challenging, the physics simulation is temperamental (re-running the same simulation can often have very different results), and the hydraulic mechanics are similarly afflicted.

    It can be a fun distraction, and none of the levels are impossible, but it gets incredibly annoying having to re-run the simulations several times per build to get around the physics related bugs.
    Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    3
    This game follows a very similar game called Bridge 2000. The only difference is that the interface and the physics was much betterThis game follows a very similar game called Bridge 2000. The only difference is that the interface and the physics was much better implemented in Bridge 2000.

    The concept of this game is to complete a bridge and have your design tested. Testing includes cars, buses, trains and tanks but also natural elements like earthquakes and high winds.

    If it was not for the poorly thought out interface the game would be more fun.

    One other frustrating issue with the game is the way the bridge opening joints and pistons work. This could have been better thought out.

    Since playing Bridge 2000 around 10 years ago I was hoping someone would pickup the idea and make a more commercial version, sadly this is it.

    Whoever designed the interface needs to stay away from games or learn fast this what was offered here is not the way to do it. Moving the screen around is painful, deleting items is painful. Using a drop down menu to select building materials is just the start of the interfaces problems, these need to be on the screen and immediately select able. The base concept works, I spent hours playing Bridge 2000 so I payed for Bridge Project hoping it would be something close to as playable as Bridge 2000, this is not that game.

    For the $20 dollars on steam it is not worth the money if it gets down to about $5 it might be worth trying it.
    Expand
  5. May 17, 2014
    3
    I do not know what to say about this game It is both repetitive, pointless, boring, and ... that's it. It takes a lot of games that haveI do not know what to say about this game It is both repetitive, pointless, boring, and ... that's it. It takes a lot of games that have already done, the construction of bridges, in a simulation. This is absolutely not exciting. Go his way is the best solution, especially for the price too expensive ! Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2014
    0
    I suffered UI glitching that made Bridge Project unplayable. This game seems like a clone of the original Pontifex and Bridge ConstructionI suffered UI glitching that made Bridge Project unplayable. This game seems like a clone of the original Pontifex and Bridge Construction Set that were made by Chronic Logic years ago. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    This is a lazy rip off of a flash game called Cargo Bridge, you can find this on any good flash game website.
    Even most of the levels are the
    This is a lazy rip off of a flash game called Cargo Bridge, you can find this on any good flash game website.
    Even most of the levels are the same, they only upgraded the graphics and called it a new game, poor form and a bad representation of Indie Games!
    Collapse