Brigade E5: New Jagged Union PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomB.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Camera control does take some getting used to, along with some other features. Amazing combat though. Awesome weapons and realism. Best game most people will never hear of. Totally addicted!
  2. Dan
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Best tactics I've ever seen!
  3. Tepeze
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Combat engine totally rocks! Buy this game.
  4. AlexD.
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    The best available now of tactics genre. May be first real-real-real-time. Any interrelations with turn-based - out of topic, totally. Fun: combat, tactical solutions, squad weapon selection, glory of victory. about the listed weaknesses: camera - has no own AI. true. however, after 2 hours of experience I've found a way to manage it: now it's simple to me and not even worse The best available now of tactics genre. May be first real-real-real-time. Any interrelations with turn-based - out of topic, totally. Fun: combat, tactical solutions, squad weapon selection, glory of victory. about the listed weaknesses: camera - has no own AI. true. however, after 2 hours of experience I've found a way to manage it: now it's simple to me and not even worse than any other (just try: mouse scroll, double-press on merc's #, double-press Enter, click om frag's shortcut) AI: don't trust to those saying no AI at all - the best tactical AI I've ever seen! especially - frags of regular armee. yep, some lacks with pathfinding, not crucial interface and graphics - are okay for me, graphic allows a comfort play even on outdated notebooks (with at least 1Gb RAM). translation, hints, journal - coud be better. much better. just by adding some more cluesome text. replace translators. NPC's and RPG parta aren't a core. enjoy the combat! Expand
  5. HarryP.
    Jan 23, 2007
    8
    Minuses: Lack of immersion like JA2, NPC and merc interactions Pluses: Tactical simulation, Weapons selection, able to set options to have very realistic combat.
  6. MilesP.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Bad graphics, worse sounds.... ok now that that's out of the way, if you're into squad based tactical combat or strategy in general look no further than this game. Large variety of weapons with realistic properties and all the freedom you want on a wartorn island, what more could you want. I knew it was going to be great when i saw it on the shelf all beaten up for 5 bucks, Bad graphics, worse sounds.... ok now that that's out of the way, if you're into squad based tactical combat or strategy in general look no further than this game. Large variety of weapons with realistic properties and all the freedom you want on a wartorn island, what more could you want. I knew it was going to be great when i saw it on the shelf all beaten up for 5 bucks, great games like this are sadly underrated and underpurchased. Collapse
  7. Nathan
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    Fairly solid game. Much more realistic than JA2 but elements of the story and some NPCs are not as fleshed out as they were in JA2. Tactical combat is what this game is really about, however, and in that department it shines. This game is NOT for the faint of heart. Unless you know a good deal about cover, concealment, suppression, and close quarters fighting things may potentially be Fairly solid game. Much more realistic than JA2 but elements of the story and some NPCs are not as fleshed out as they were in JA2. Tactical combat is what this game is really about, however, and in that department it shines. This game is NOT for the faint of heart. Unless you know a good deal about cover, concealment, suppression, and close quarters fighting things may potentially be very bad for you when you first start playing. These can all be learned with experience, of course. Expand
  8. JoseC.
    Oct 31, 2006
    8
    The RPG aspect is very very rough. Just about zero strategy beyond moving around the island and dodging ambushes (none of the resource management/militia building of the Jagged Alliance series). Receiving missions is done by talking to people. You only get your specific instructions once, and the "journal instructions" give about zero info besides who the target/object of the mission is. The RPG aspect is very very rough. Just about zero strategy beyond moving around the island and dodging ambushes (none of the resource management/militia building of the Jagged Alliance series). Receiving missions is done by talking to people. You only get your specific instructions once, and the "journal instructions" give about zero info besides who the target/object of the mission is. Missions consist almost solely of: "go here, kill this guy", "deliver this package, then kill this guy" or "defend this location, kill some guys". These issues aside, the tactical aspects of Brigade E5 are in my opinion the best implementation of a full-on tactical combat simulator to date. My only hope is that this game can serve to bring about a renaissance in this genre, and we can get more games with similar tactical content, but a much more polished/involved strategic/RPG aspect. Expand
  9. MickaelT.
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    Bad graphics? Bad interface? Not a problem if you like tactic games!
  10. XmAnXmAn
    Dec 12, 2005
    9
    If you like Jagged, it's your game!
  11. [Anonymous]
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    Great new installement in the Jagged Alliance series.
  12. AnonymousMC
    Nov 16, 2006
    9
    AWESOME! Jose C may say RPG element is not great, but it is not Fallout anyway, and the translators may miss some minor conversation and hints. I wish the sekuel for E5 placed among South East Asia jungles, in Indonesia for example, these countries are quite often experiencing coupe, natural disaster, chinese-native conflicts, etc. This game is AWESOME!
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 6 out of 9
  1. Brigade E5: New Jagged Union tries to revitalize a struggling genre, but gets almost nothing right. There are some nice customization options available, but that's about it. Combat is not fun at all, and the bad camera views and Playstation 1 era graphics only make things worse.
  2. Third-rate mission design, prehistoric visuals, and problematic pathfinding mean that you won't enjoy playing soldier of fortune here, even if the developers have added a bit of life to the squad-sim genre with a few design innovations.
  3. Brigade E5 has the biggest choice of weapons and equipment I have seen in any video game and it is all usable. That in itself says a lot toward the game and its potential even though it does have some larger problems.