User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    3
    Brink is what happens when you put more money into marketing than development. Single player "campaign" is just multiplayer with (bad AI) bots. Multiplayer is repetitive and dull because of the objective-based maps. Character customization and the unique graphical style are the only positives about this game. There's tons of guns to play with but many feel the same and it's hard to tell them apart. Not worth your time or money. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Decent multiplayer battle arena with a plot. I wish that the single player had been better thought out as it just feels tacked on but the whole thing is a worthwhile experiment that I hope others follow and refine.
  3. May 12, 2012
    7
    Brink is an objective based multiplayer shooter that took me some getting used to. Most of my early hours, I was pretty much just killing bad guys while being completely lost on what the objectives were. Now that I have a few more hours under my belt and have gotten used to the gameplay, I must confess it's pretty fun. It's highly action packed, but the objectives are just not obvious to new players.

    The game puts significant emphasis on customization in both character looks and loadouts--for example being able to select two primary weapons is nice. The graphics are solid, the gameplay is smooth, and the character leveling is implemented well. It also throws in a decent storyline which is uncommon in these type of multiplayer games. But don't buy Brink because of its single player or coop claims. It disappoints unless you consider playing multiplayer with bots fun.
    Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    I'll start with the bad things, which aren't many but totally gamebreaking: the A.I is horrible, and I mean it. Offline matches can be hard mainly because of the stupidity of your team mates, and sometimes you can LOSE because of them. It's sad considering it's a team based shooter but your AI is totally unreliable. The content also is lacking: 2 different campaigns but they last probably less than 4 hours each, and only few challenges available (and required in order to obtain some weapons). These are probably the worst parts of the game but...I actually liked the game! I loved the customization: it's actually huge and can create many types of characters, and the 3 types of body builds actually can change your playstyle. The weapons are many and some work better than others, but the best thing is the weapon customization, which works actually good to me. The 4 classes are also detailed, with their talents and, most important, their parts in the map, since some places requires you to use a certain class. The story it's actually good...at least the idea, but it's poorly told and what could be an interesting story it's just a background set up for the game, which is very sad. And for last, the multiplayer is nice...when it's playable, because it usually lags a lot and unfortunely it's hard to find good parties to play with, which is sad considering this is a lot based on the multiplayer. And about multiplayer, the maps work actually good and I rarely felt lost on them, which is easy for me considering my bad sense of directions. To me, this game is mainly a wasted potential, because if it was more cured in the details it would have been much, MUCH better, but right now we get a very lacking shooter that does its job right in some areas, but fails horribly in others. Maybe think about it if you ever see it on a (big) discount. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    Brink has an immersive story and a great atmosphere, thanks to a well thought-out plot and an excellent soundtrack. Unfortunately the game is simply poorly built in order for it to be any fun.
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    I really think this game is bad. I get no satisfaction for kills, and the gameplay feels bland because of it. It's like COD and TF2 had a mutated and ugly baby. :)
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    1
    It makes me sad that Brink's metascore is 70. A game with terrible bugs and glitches, an unimaginably story that is so dull and boring you'd rather cut your eyes out with a butterknife, and the controls are nothing but very mediocre. This game is mostly unplayable, and the parts were it's playable are executed so bad that no other game out there can match its disappointment. This is the perfect example of modern-day art: a splash of paint of a white canvas and calling it a finished product. Terrible terrible game, do not waste a cent on this. Expand
  8. May 17, 2011
    2
    Only lasted 3 hours with this. New levels of repetition for me. Its a console game and I suspect designed for a younger gamer than me to be fair. I like games with a bit of depth. Really bothered me that the environment is more or less completely indestructible too.

    I liked Bethesda a lot until I bought this. This game has made me nervous that they have lost their edge and I fear for
    Skyrim when its released later in the year as that is probably my most anticipated game ever. Fingers crossed they dont make another shallow one weekend unit shifter out of that one too. Expand
  9. Jun 7, 2011
    0
    the opening video is the only interesting part of the game, everything else is just boring, boring, boring sole less arena styled crap. Cell shaded graphics that run horribly on the PC?? What are they thinking with these shallow consollised crap games. I'm not buying it thats for damn sure.
  10. Sep 24, 2011
    3
    Brink is an "intresting" mix between awesome artstyle, bad design choices and countless technical issues. I liked the locations, background story, music, amount of various skills and character creation, but thats all about it. Lets get to the lacking aspects, which are plenty by the way. First of all, the whole reasons for the conflict seems to be forced, just for the sake of having two hostile factions fighting each other, that are reason for this game to exist. In reality they could get along very easily, but i dont want to put spoilers here so lets skip that. The leveling system is unfair, it would be ok if all it gave you was cosmetic stuff like new costumes (which it does), but it also makes your character have more abilities or stronger abilities, which gives you an advantage over players with lower level. There are f***loads of bugs, ranging from the harmless ones, like text errors or wrong messages (says you have to defend, when you really have to attack etc) to those annoying and gamebreaking, like game suddenly losing sound, crashing or you cannot see other players. The netcode is really terrible too. You will lagg even with a decent internet connection, even if you wont, the game will still run so clunky that you will feel as you did. With slow internet, forget about multiplayer, the game will be unplayable, stick to playing with bots. But dont worry, you wont loose much, because even in the multi you will meet more AI bots than real players. And the AI in this game stand for Artifical Idiocy. Its as if they was purposedly coded to be so dumb, so that you can easily tell its a bot, and not a person with a brain. Talking about stupid, lets talk about the whole S.M.A.R.T. thing, which is basically climbing and jumping over fences. Sure thats cool, because it gives you more movement freedom than most games, but you wont use it that often anyway, except to gett from spawn point to the battlefield. First of all, you almost cant do any of this stuff with heavy body (which is the most efficient in combat), second, you cant shoot when doing all those tricks, making you an easy target, and thrid, the maps are not really designed for this, as you mostly fight indoors, but even on streetfights you wont be able to climp on a building and jump over roofs (like in the trailer). Also the weapons in the game are really boring, all you have are machineguns with diffirent skin and slightly diffirent stats. There are also few otherweapon types but they seem to be significantly weaker than the machineguns, so everyone just uses machineguns (which i personally hate). Overall, Brink is a game that looks good and promising, but has so many flaws that i just can't give it anything close to a positive rating, even if i wanted to. Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    Takes what you expect from the genre and adds improved customization far better mobility and more dynamic objectives, I don't know what it was like at release but it's easily worth it's price tag now.

    Graphics and sound are up to par has both single and multiplayer including drop in and out single player campaign.
  12. Aug 5, 2011
    2
    Brink is the type of game that makes you so mad you smash your keyboard and never play it again. The shooting mechanics are rubbish, the hit detection is even worse, and the AI is SO STUPID it's infuriating. Oh, and the level design is horrible and the overall graphics are a mess. And the jumping parkour stuff doesn't work half the time. I tried Brink over the Steam free weekend, but trust me, free is still too much to pay. I love FPS games but Brink is TOTAL RUBBISH. Haven't played a game this bad in ages...never again, never again. I give it a 2 because it at least doesn't crash... Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    This game is probably the most underrated video game I've ever played. I don't think I'll ever understand why everyone hates it so much. I really enjoyed my time with this game. The gameplay was a really fun mixture between single player, co-op, and multiplayer shooters, and I don't see any real flaws with it other than the A.I., which is pretty idiotic. As for the graphics, I don't see any real problems with those either. I think Brink has great graphics. They seem like a mixture between Call of Duty's realistic graphics, and Team Fortress 2's cartoony ones. Yes there are low-res textures in Brink, and yes there are a few bad texture pop-ins, but those don't ruin the gameplay experience at all. As for the story, it's meh. The good news is that it is very easy to understand. Mankind built a self-sustaining city of the future called the Ark, but this went wrong, and now two sides are fighting each other for control. One side wants to save the Ark, and the other side wishes to escape it. The bad news is that the rest of the story is filled with cutscenes that lack character development, have several plot holes, and overall are just a bunch of soldiers feeling conflicted over their cause. Since the story is easy to understand however, I wouldn't say much of this is really important. I'd say that the biggest problem with this game is that when it came out, it was worth 60 bucks, but it is cheaper now (only 20), and is now a better deal overall. This game is also even better with the Agents of Change Downloadable content pack, which only costs two dollars more. Overall, I'd say that this game is highly underrated, and deserves a second look by everyone who has played it. Expand
  14. CBZ
    May 15, 2011
    6
    Brink is a great game full of potential, with excellent graphics and gameplay. The quick switch between objectives and the special abilities make this game really fun to play. The game has captured many good aspects from other games such as Team Fortress 2 (abilities and characters) assassins creed (parkour) and Call of duty among others (weapon customization) to create one great concept.
    I think the low scores are due to the high expectations of the players, however, it is true that the game needs some patching especially for the AI and the sound going away in MP. I recommend to wait a little until these issues have been solved for those who are hesitating on buying the game.
    Expand
  15. Sep 17, 2014
    8
    Despite having some launch issues and patches, this game is straight up underrated. If you are looking for an similar game like Enemy Territory then Brink does not deliver it. But it is actually quite an enjoyable team objective based shooter when you give it an change and compare the standards of shooters nowadays. It has decent artistic style, some can argue the characters look ugly, thus you can hide them in masks to begin with. Weapon choice is quite good. Upgrades work. Balanced so you cant spawn trap. Sadly not many people gave this game a change that i think it honestly deserves. It has its flaws yet for an fast paced team objective based shooter i think it succeeds. Expand
  16. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    Brink. Another day of reviewing yet another multiplayer shooter. Many of my reviews in the past have been focused on multiplayer shooters. This one however, is more of a special case. I've found this game on many lists for the most disappointing games of 2011. It was meant to combine single player and multiplayer into one. It had a big story built in with the multiplayer maps. It also had a parkour system, similar to the game Mirror's Edge. It even had co-op elements, similar to those found in Left 4 Dead. All this stuff sounds great, but when it was released most critics gave the game mixed reviews, criticizing many things about it. I wasn't too keen on buying on this criticism, so I decided to buy this game, and try it for myself. So, does this game not deserve the mixed reviews it got, or does it make Call of Duty look fun all of a sudden? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game functions much like any other multiplayer shooter. There are four classes to choose from, medic, soldier, operative, and engineer, and every map is like the assault mode from Unreal Tournament 2004. The classes do manage to differentiate the game from UT2004, as multiple classes are required to complete different objectives. There were no classes in UT2004. There are also plenty of cooperative elements, not to mention parkour. This makes the game feel much more like its own game rather than just a retread of UT. As for the classes themselves, they are all very fun to play as. As the soldier, you can give troops ammo, and blow up walls blocking your path. Medics heal their allies, and revive them if they fall. Engineers can create turrets, and amplify the damage of their allies. Operatives can hack computers, and throw sticky grenades. These are only a few of the things the different classes can do. Of course, none of this would matter if the game wasn't fun to play, but the truth is that it's very fun to play! Parkour really makes the game feel different from any other shooter out there. Along with that, the game also plays like any shooter should, and that's a good thing. My only real complaint about the gameplay is that assault is the only mode in this game. There's no capture the flag, control point, or any other mode you would normally find in a multiplayer shooter. I can understand why they wouldn't put these modes in this game, as the game is more focused on the campaign than anything else, but it would be nice to have other modes too. Also, I forgot to mention another awesome thing about this game: you get to create your own character from the ground up, and select from a variety of weapons to use, and it is better than those that I have seen in other multiplayer shooters like this. Overall, this game is very fun to play, both offline with bots (the bots have very good A.I.), and online with friends. The graphics of this game are very good too. They might be a bit dark for some people, but overall, they still look great regardless. Everything is very well detailed, and looks beautiful. The characters of this game also look very unique. It's kind of a mixture between Team Fortress 2's cartoony style with the realistic style of the Call of Duty and Battlefield games. This game's graphics are as unique as the gameplay in this respect. Because of the unique graphics, Brink is a much better and more unique game than most people would like to think. As for the story, it's good, but overall, I think it needs just a little bit of work. The story of this game is that mankind built a city called the Ark, that was meant to be a self-sustaining city of the future. However, due to global warming, they were forced to relocate, and more and more people were forced to join this city as the world became flooded. Now the Ark is in trouble, and two sides are now fighting for control. There is Ark Security, which wishes to save the Ark, and the Resistance, which wishes to escape it. Overall, the premise is really good. I have never heard a plot this unique before. However, the rest of the story is cast aside, for more multiplayer action. Thus, the game lacks character development, and the rest of the story is somewhat vague on how the Ark is saved and the people escape the Ark. The story is good overall, but not as great as it could be. Overall, I think the critics were wrong about this game, because it really is very good. It is really fun to play, has great graphics, and a good story. I recommend this game to anyone who loves shooters, and video games in general.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 7/10
    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    I liked this game, but I never really got around to playing it. I think the problem Brink has, is that, there are too many other awesome games out that this title is just going to get overlooked. Seeing as it is a multiplayer only title (singleplayer against bots is never going to work), a game like this needs a pretty big fanbase.

    Im going to give it a 7/10 because I like the idea behind
    brink, I like the aesthetics, and I enjoyed the gameplay, it's just missing something and I can't pinpoint what it is. Expand
  18. Aug 19, 2011
    5
    BRINK seemed fun as I was playing it, but I realized how unoriginal and sloppy it was later on. A LOT of the elements of the game was taken from the EXCELLENT Dystopia mod for Half-Life 2. The shooting felt like Call of Duty except without camping. The multiple objectives was like Section 8 except some of them are needed to win and some aren't important at all. The worst part is that there are very limited maps, and very few encourage the neat Parkour system they have. It would be worth it if it were $10-15, but at $50, it is not worth it at all. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    this is the worst crap ive ever played. i got it since release and it was full of bugs, now i played it again for a few minutes, after several patches, its still a fu**ing piece of ****
  20. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Gutes spiel hat aber sehr viele Performance Probleme :(
  21. May 11, 2011
    0
    Not impressed at all. Terrible performance issues with ATI card users make the game almost unplayable. Also, several common resolutions aren't even supported. The graphics are pretty good but more importantly, the gameplay is nothing special and gets old quick. The character customization is fun in the menu but in-game, its useless as it's an first-person shooter and you rarely see your own character. I would not recommend this game in the slightest. Thorough disappointment. Expand
  22. May 14, 2011
    7
    Game is fine. Im using ATI and with a bit of tweaking and rolling back drivers I achieve a solid 60fps on a 4 year old pc with a q6600 and a 5770. As for people giving this game "0" because of reasons not to do with the game need to stop posting - after all this for reviews, not opinions about the fact you live in Australia or wherever and can't buy the game at the prices elsewhere in the world.

    The game just needs a few bugs ironing out and to be fair to SD, they've managed to get a game out at release that is very much playable and fun.
    Expand
  23. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    If you came to Brink with no previous expectations and after it has been patched with cpl DLC's under its belt its a damn good game.
    If you talk to people that fealt burned on release they are carrying resentments a bit far imo. flaming a game that has been for all practical purposes "fixed" is lame.
    I purchased it several days ago on a Steam sale and have not looked back.. its shocking
    to get a game like this for so little.
    The innovation alone makes it a great game.. the freedom of movement and smoothness can be compared to no game out today.
    The customization is simply fantastic and the graphics / environments beg to be climbed over , perched on and slid under etc. Its a game that got a bad start but really deserves to be played now.
    sound and voice acting are superb as well with a very interesting story line to be unlocked via mission and challenge completions. for myself i truly hope that more people revisit the game and the servers see more players. i have always been able to find a active server but there are not many and as good as this game is there certainly deserves to be.
    Expand
  24. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    I'm really surprised by so many of the mediocre/bad reviews... They just aren't accurate for everybody apparently. I have an ATI 6850 and it runs perfect with no lag, glitches, at highest settings. I haven't run in to any bugs or lag yet, and I really hate just about anything that might come between me and immersion. This game successfully mixes a similar feel to movement and controls from Call of Duty with some entertaining parkour-style moves and a futuristic utopia environment from Mirror's Edge, and similar class/appearance options and team objectives from Team Fortress to come up with one of the best shooters I've played in years. I also love the ongoing campaign of the two factions vying for control. My biggest complaint is how I don't see myself playing much else as long as this is available. Expand
  25. Feb 2, 2013
    4
    Brink has an amazing concept, full of creative and incredible ideas. However, the game itself is laggy which ruined the whole game for me. I found the singleplayer was incredibly weak despite it's concept. The multiplayer is a definite improvement, but is far from TF2 or Halo or anything like that. Graphics are alright, but certainly no Crysis. Brink could've been amazing, but the concept was executed so poorly, that it's really not Expand
  26. May 16, 2011
    0
    This game has probably had the worse launch I have seen in my life. It shipped with major bugs, slow loading textures, incompatible with ATI graphics cards, issues with gameplay balance and game breaking lag. The game was removed from the UK Steam store on launch and is still unavailable today (16/5/11).

    I cant recommend this game right now, with it being shipped as a broken product.
    Wait for the dust to settle and bugs to be ironed out then give it a try because right now there isnt an experience to be had Expand
  27. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    Lack of subtitles has turned me away from playing this game. Thank you Steam for the free weekend. Thanks to Steam, I can legally play the game for free only to discover that there is no subititles at all. Also the menu system is extremely confusing. How about a simple "single player", Multiplayer, options, exit and not the messy menu they have now?

    I'm a TF2 player (with the TF2 CC mod)
    so I know what MP is all about. Expand
  28. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    Frustrating and difficult, but almost nothing is funner than Brink with amazing combat and brilliant customization. The key to Brink: creativity. There are SO many possibilities for outfits, weapons + attachments, abilities, classes, the customization is just off the hook. So if you just assume you'll like this or that, DON'T, try everything and it will be slow at first, but the greatest thing later. The battlefield combat is just fantastic, you'll provide your teammates with ammo, health, armor, and more. And just in general the shooting is good. The only thing I'll have to say negatively, is the story, it's really light. Yeah, a man-made island is the last place on the planet, resources are low so people fight each other, that's it. One more thing: physics are terrible, and online is super laggy. Expand
  29. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    Brink isn't a bad game, but it has flaws that hamper the experience for me. Terrible performance, even after the patch (with my pretty good mid range gaming PC), way too repetitive level designs (even for me, who can take linear areas easily and not get bored), overlly generous experience rewards, and a kind of disappointment that settles in slowly over time after you defend the game tooth and nail after buying it.

    This isn't like Duke Nukem Forever, which is a game I will defend tooth and nail because I am shocked at how NOT GOD AWFUL that game is. But for Brink, it just slowly lost it's fun factor over time, and I no longer am willing to play it, sadly. I understand what the designers went for, and it works for the most part; but even the over the top shooting or weapons can't fix the terrible performance issues that make the experience feel slow and drawn out. Maybe after I get that ATI 11.6 driver update that's supposed to improve the performance, then maybe I will give this game a try. But for now, it's a curious game that I will play occassionally and only cautiously reccomend.
    Expand
  30. May 16, 2011
    9
    Brink is a fantastic take on the FPS genre. Following similar style to TF2, Brink offers everything CoD doesn't, teamwork, full gun and character customization, class based combat and co-op. What's to hate? Majority of the critics are stupid fools playing on Xbox who have a mind set of, CoD CoD CoD CoD, Call of Duty isn't everything! Brink has one of the greatest weapon customization menus out of any game I know, immense character customization, dedicated servers, co-op, single player, multiplayer, Single player and multiplayer that link simultaneously online and offline, and classes the offer different game play types each game, every time Brink is a step above. I recommend to true FPS fans who enjoy teamwork, playing with mates and not the 12 year old's that think everything but Call of Duty is bad. 9/10 Game. Expand
  31. May 10, 2011
    9
    Yes, there is a learning curve here, and yes, there are some bugs, but it's only Day 1. These kinds of things are expected, especially from something like this. But once you learn how to use the S.M.A.R.T. system and complete a few challenges, you'll come to absolutely adore this game. Also, could we please stop complaining about the bugs? Name one game that was released without a single bug.
  32. Mar 28, 2012
    4
    Simply not worth playing strictly for the single player. Grenade spam is awful, performance sucks, no i see why this got scorched when it came out.
  33. Aug 5, 2011
    2
    its just not a good game, the textures are really crappy, the gameplay is horribly imbalanced in favour of defence, loads of pointless guns, pointless weight classes. I really find it hard to believe that this is made by the same people as ET:W and ET:QW two absolutely awesome games and this is just garbage, if they made the objectives at least feel worthwhile it may have been better but as it is it is just very very bland. Expand
  34. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    It's fun. While it's not game-changer, Brink offers a bit of question to the whole video game premise of following orders and doing your job, as portrayed through the two-sided missions. The conflict is truly polarizing and a real moral predicament. Gun selection isn't quite a Missouri veteran's closet, but gets the job done. The parkour mechanic was intended to add a dimension to the combat (as opposed to other games' parkour-only or segregated game play), but ends up being an upgraded sprint function that amounts to slightly amusing camera angles while you hold shift on your way to the battle. The lack of class distinction is a real pain, but the customization fun makes up for that. Voice acting is great, and the back-story really does a civil conflict justice. Expand
  35. Apr 28, 2012
    1
    Do you want a textbook example of a videogame failure? This game. Why? Because Splash Damage has learn absolutely nothing from Quake Wars' failures, and included all of them in this game. This game isn't worth the screen real estate the name is printed on. The only thing I cant figure out is why was Bethesda behind it. Who knows.
  36. May 10, 2011
    10
    It's fun to play and it adds some strategy aspect to the FPS genre which might make it less appealing to people looking for a dumb shooter like CoD. It's kind of like Borderlands with more content, better graphics and more exciting game play. I think most people are just comparing it to CoD which prevents them from being open to new ideas. It wasn't meant to be in the same category. This one is definitely worth a try! Expand
  37. Nov 29, 2011
    4
    Brink promised a lot and delivered very little. Its as if someone took Call of Duty, cloned it, put a new name on it and shipped it out the door.

    The best part of the game was the teaser videos. If brink would have been anything like the videos, it would have probably been a great game.

    The maps are bland, the weapons look like they were ripped from other games,,, there is just not
    good to say about Brink. Expand
  38. May 10, 2011
    8
    It isn't the best game but not the worst. Brink is for gamers looking for an objective type gaming society. The only way to get anywhere in multiplayer is with teamwork and communication. The customization of characters really isn't too exciting, you pick armor, and change the color really. But even with the color hanging, you only have about 5 color options for every piece and if you mix 2 colors your guy just looks horrific. So my message to all readers is get the game if you want a fun online experience that implements cool features with teamwork. But if you want to just be that campaign guy....DO NOT BUY! There is no campaign, it is actually just arenas that you can play, I Mean when you buy the game, you can play the last level first and work your way back if you wanted to. Expand
  39. May 19, 2013
    8
    wow I have never played a game as unique as this sure the objectives are repetive, the graphics need a bit more polish but its the way it is meant to be played properly the guns in the game all sound like their real and the movement system to some its a burden but me I got used to it straight away and the AI leaves much to be desired really if you can ignore the problems this is really a unique game so get it, its only £5 Expand
  40. May 14, 2011
    1
    Simply over-hyped and does not deliver the fun you'd expect. Laggy, hardware issues that make you doubt it has been tested and too focused on online modes.
  41. May 18, 2011
    9
    Well, this is it. The Game I have been waiting 2 years for. I have probably anticipated too much, I have to say. I anticipated too much. Yet this game still gets a high review? What is this? Well, it delivers. All they ever told us is that it would be colourful, new, fun and a whole lot of parkour. And they gave us exactly that, a whole new artistic, playing style. The broad range of ATI cards not suported is a whole load of crap, your probably not running it right or just haven't gottten proper drivers or something else. I have a budget Gigabyte overclocked ATI Radeon HD 6850 and it runs fine in most parts. Some broad, open-ended corridors drop the FPS drastically but other than that there is no complaint. People jumping into it thinking "Ooooh, TF 2 mixed with CoD" will be seriously dissapointed. It is new, nothing old, doesnt use any old ideas. You guys just expected too much, as did I, but I knew what we thought wasn't going to happen. It delivers perfectly and I think that it deserves a 93/100. It is also greatly balanced by the way. Expand
  42. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    I'll be honest: as it stands, I'm going to say that this game deserves a better rating than it got. I totally understand that when you buy a product, you expect that product will hold up to the standards that you were sold. And when it doesn't, no doubt there will be huge disappointment. But with games nowadays, especially with PC games, the game you get on day one will definitely change to try to meet those standards when the situation calls for it. And looking at all the reviews from before, I can definitely say this is one of those cases. Brink is worth revisiting, especially if you can grab it on sale. In all honesty, the gameplay is great, the class and ability system is awesome, the customization has depth, so for me this game is definitely a 9/10. I've had a blast playing with it! Now should you get this game? Do your homework first: find out what bugs there currently are, and just make an informed decision based on that as best you can. I personally don't seem to be having any problems, certainly nothing game breaking, but just be informed before you buy! Expand
  43. May 10, 2011
    9
    First off, I'm aware of that this game has some performance issues, especially with ATI cards but these are the kinds of things that will be patched soon enough because Splash Damage is a developer that takes care of its games

    While it does suffer from the above issues and some shotty AI, the gameplay here is something entirely original and what we should have had sooner. It is very fast
    paced and full of action thanks to the SMART system and abilities, yet it also requires a fair share of strategy and tactics to pull off a win because completing objectives is always key and the best way to handle these objectives is working as a team.

    This is because in this game, not only is there power in numbers, but team members can buff each other with health, ammo, and other such things to give them the tactical edge and help them complete the said objectives. While singleplayer is just kinda "okay", the mutliplayer is a unique experience that CAN'T be missed out on.
    Expand
  44. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    This game is so confusing it is unreal.
    WTF do i do in this game? this is the point im making, you load it up the 1st time then make a character on whichever side it is you choose, then your in some world that is so dull it needs a light bulb to play.
    I dont see the point of this game, and i have never gotten past that same damn 1st map??? why is that??? yet we win and yet we dont
    progress.
    Pile of crap.
    Expand
  45. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    Overall The Game Is unique with character customization, Weapon classes, and perks. Challenges are fun to kill time and the campaign is pretty fun. Its a lot difference from any other FPS game. Multi-player is where it gets iffy..... It`s basically single player but instead of bots there are real players and there are still bots thrown in unless you find the option to get rid of them(old school mode). You also have to deal with the bad servers. Even with a decent connection you will get lag. Expand
  46. May 10, 2011
    9
    I can start by saying if you're looking for an amazing single-player experience, this probably isn't the game for you. While it does have a very entertaining campaign, the aspect of this game that truly shines in the multiplayer. It's incredibly refreshing to play an FPS that returns to the genre's roots of actually requiring solid teamwork in order to succeed, making it difficult for the lone-wolf types to accomplish anything on their own. The game looks great (always been a fan of this particular artstyle), and the individual character customization is quite a lot of fun to play around with as well. Overall, if you're into strong team-based multiplayer, I'd say BRINK is definitely a game to try. It's not without its shortcomings, but they aren't enough to stop me from likely enjoying this game well into the future. Expand
  47. May 10, 2011
    9
    good game, needs some work few bugs but overall nice change of pace. this game is about teamwork end of story. if they add some more maps,weapons,skills and what not it be awesome game. if the Dev gives it some more love it will be a shiny star.
  48. May 12, 2011
    5
    Brink isn't what people pretend it is. Brink has solid gameplay, but that's it. There's no real difference in playing one class or the other. All classes use the same weapons. Your objectives are different based on your class, but that's it.

    The HUD is always so crowded with everyone's health and information, so being able to focus on the little blur that is the enemy on screen becomes a
    bit challenging when 99% of your screen is shouting, "HEY LOOK AT ME!"

    The gameplay works, the SMART works, the customization is downright BEAUTIFUL! But the fun I had while playing it was severely limited due to little differentiation in classes, repetitive objectives, a bland story, and annoying habits the game would do.
    Expand
  49. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Brink did what multiplayer games have been wanting to do since the start, make a game that actually needs teamwork to win, nothings overpowered or underpowered, and has a high replayablility.
    Brink is not a game. It is art. 10/10 only cuz I'm saving 11/10 for the sequel :)
  50. May 13, 2011
    0
    First of all this is the machine I am playing this game on: Phenom II 965 BE, 8GB 1600 DDR3 RAM, HD5770x2 Crossfire, it is a brand spanking new PC that has 42 other games currently installed all running extremely well. None of my components is damaged, all were previously tested before assembly. Ok, so this game performs badly, and the graphics are heavy, laggy and sluggish. First order of business, updated the driver, so framerate issue was fixed, yet it was still laggy! it was running at 70-90 fps and the game still looks like its running at 10-15fps!. Second of all it doesn't keep my graphics settings. For example I would click for high quality post processing or anti aliasing or even soft particles, I would exit the graphics menu, then go into the game...problem?game still looks the same. I go back into the video settings only to find out that the video settings are not sticking. I try to change them several times, even tried rebooting the game, graphical settings still do not stick! Look, I understand that this is an OpenGl game, but for gods sake why would you use it knowing that there are incompatibilities with hardware that uses directx for everything!! Most hardware out there is directx at its core, why use OpenGL?, I have absolutely no idea, but it was a bad decision. Ok so on to the game...the only plot in this game is you are trapped in an island city with no way out, that's about it. Single player is horrible, it's supposed to be like a cooperative as in Left4Dead, but greatly fails because you can't control your team and it doesn't help you. You die every second with 1 or two shots, while you have to empty 5-10 full clips of ammo into them to kill them! When you are down you just sit there and nobody revives you, medics are off doing their thing, at that point I exit the mission and just restart it because there's no point in just sitting there doing nothing and unable to move. For the SMART button all you do is hit space bar, there you go, spacebar to jump over almost everything. The problem is, it really doesn't help you do anything other than jump over everything, enemies still kill you with one shot anyway. Also the music in this game is horrible, someone with a piano sat down and put the soundtrack together in about 30 minutes, horrible. Plot is shady at best, there are no character intros, there is no background, there are no protagonists or antagonists, nothing to help you identify the game at all or where the plot or the story is going. This game deserves all these negative reviews and more, this game utterly fails at everything. There is no good thing I can say about it at this point, hopefully I do find something good, but from the looks of it, I am probably not. Save your money, and if you don't believe me, there is no demo, but there is The Pirate Bay. Expand
  51. May 11, 2011
    9
    Brink is quite the game. It doesn't suffer many of the problems of it's console counterparts at the moment (most notably lag). It is relatively lag free, and is an absolute blast if you love to work with a team to complete objective. It's fantastic in that you can work together, but you cannot go lone wolf here, people who have a "Call of Duty mindset" beware that you cannot go it alone and expect to win. The AI bots are admittedly pretty boring to play with, but the goal of this game was obviously multiplayer, team-based gaming, and it completely nails that. That's what I bought it for, don't listen to people or sites that have reviewed only the 360 code of the game, as the PC version is a totally different breed! Expand
  52. MB_
    May 16, 2011
    1
    Bugged to high heaven and when you finally get the game working, and configured correctly it's still not worth playing. It's like a dumbed down, closed in and awkward little brother of Quake Wars and I tired of that years ago.

    Basically it's team death match only. Really.

    So if you don't have seven dedicated players who are good communicators you are going to have a miserable time in the
    long run. Even if you do, you have to enjoy slow constrained movement, tiny maps and the same tired missions you've been playing since original Counterstrike.

    With the trailers I was expecting a story, but frankly there isn't one, theres a setting but its just a backdrop for tired old missions being re-run yet again.

    Try before you buy, or rather, try and don't bother buying.
    Expand
  53. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    The concept itself is good, but the controls just feel bulky, the singleplayer is a joke, and the skill system is both confusing and conflicting. It seems like the developers said "Lets make a great game" during a conference call, and then never said a word detailing the mechanics. It needs patching and an actual story before I can give this an actual rating.
  54. May 18, 2011
    10
    COD 4 + TeamFortress 2 + Unlocking character upgrades and personalizing class = Amazing

    This is a first person shooter that I'm very excited to play when I sit down. Got some friends and some time, this is a good time. Haven't experienced any game breaking bugs.
  55. May 29, 2011
    7
    The game has flaws but if you can get past them you'll enjoy yourself. However, you'll find yourself time and time again being irritated by those flaws and sometimes pushing yourself to keep with it. Customization is nice but not as in depth as they made it out to be. Body types add some depth to gameplay, but a in many ways unbalanced. The maps are poorly designed with many of them being a campfest on the objective, and the attacking team having to push through it. The gunplay is severely imbalanced, not only by the skewed gun stats which favor some weapons, but also by the ability buffs of various classes which makes the weapon damage inconsistent and infuriating at times - ignoring this however, the guns still seem completely random in the amount of damage they do at times. The whole objective system isn't as influential as SD made out, with side objectives having little impact on the main objective or map play. The SMART system is very fluent though, and works very well. It creates some very fluent and fast gameplay and basically makes BRINK what it is, and worth your time. It's a shame that it's often wasted on corridor areas. Overall the game is worth your time, and you'll get a lot of enjoyment out of it - but it might only tie you over until the game you're waiting for is released. Expand
  56. Dec 6, 2013
    4
    A buggy Mess with a NetCode from Hell, On paper this Game sound awesome. Reality is the complete opposite. Everyone who give this a 10 is a liar. The Netcode is so horrible that you will lag so bad, it will feel like teleporting. Sound is sometimes missing complete. Parcour System dont work like it should. After some hours i had to delete this Game.
  57. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    What can I say, I love this game. Is it like any other game on the market? Bits from here and pieces from there. What is great about Brink is that it pulls in aspects from so many other games and puts it into an amazing package. Coming from a RTCW and ET background, no other game has come close to filling in the void that my first real game has created. Finally
  58. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    Brink is a game that tries to be a little different from your standard fps like COD. It encourages team play and rewards you xp for everything you do. The free running system is also nice, but could have been expanded. The biggest problems of the game is the lack of game modes, and the fact that there's no separate campaign. The game could have been a lot better with more game modes and a bigger variation of maps. Expand
  59. May 11, 2011
    4
    well, this game is not as good as i expected.
    the first problem i encountered was the game engine itself: the idtech 4 is so outdated that this game has mobile phone quality graphics, and super low framerates. if you can get past this, you'll be pissed off by the fact that this game is only in english and that there are no subtitles. that may not be a problem if you speak english very
    well, but if you're like me and it takes you a long time to concentrate on what the characters are saying in order to understand the story of the game, subtitles, or localization are a needed.
    apart from this **** the game is decent, but not too original, it's just a regular shooter with classes and abilities.
    **** this **** what a waste of money
    Expand
  60. May 16, 2011
    8
    I enjoy the gameplay. it's unfortunate it's such a polarizing type of game and that people are people who love it or hate it and this effects it's score. But as someone who has learnt to love team/objective/class based shooters, brink is fun, challenging and unpredictable, requires skill and strategy. There is lack of polish here & there and are lots of great new ideas that could have been executed a bit better,but the core gameplay is solid if you like team/ objective/class based shooters. Expand
  61. May 11, 2011
    9
    This game is a breath of fresh air for shooters. Lets get somethings straightened out: (This is NOT a call of duty killer! It doesn't claim that what so ever. If you play this game like Call of Duty you will hate it. If you are looking for a epic single-player game this is not it. Clearly this is a Multiplayer game. If you hate Multiplayer look for another game.) Now that we got that straightened out we can now proceed. This is not a terrible game like many make it out to be (mainly because of the reasons above). This is a game about movement. You can essentially Parkour through out the map which just opened up the flood gates on what people can do in the environment. In a game like call of duty you where limited on elevation. With brink you can run/hop/slide/ and in some cased dive over anything. When you start up the game you are instantly given the choice on what side of this war you want to partake in. Now this isn't a permanent choice because you can make multiple characters for plenty of runthroughs. When you play the game you can choose what class you play. You can play soldier: heavy shooting, Engineer: builds gun emplacements, Medic: Heals fallen comrades, or Operative: covert class who mainly deals with sabotage. Each class can use nearly any gun so you are not stuck with a class that you hate based on guns like in other games. My only complaint is the story. I know from playing that this is a multiplayer game but the trailers showed what I thought would have a larger role. Aside from that this is a great game if your into multiplayer games. The in game menus show a option for DLC so expect more coming soon. Expand
  62. May 10, 2011
    10
    Nine out of ten simply for technical problems on release. I'll never give a PC game a solid ten unless it's released and functional for more than 75% of the player base. That's just my philosophy on the matter. Ignore the scores, though, what you want to know is how it plays, right? Well, it plays like Enemy Territory. With awesome guns and parkour. The story elements are not essential to the experience, but it's nice that there is an underlying point to all of it. The multiplayer might be some of the most fun I've had since Bad Company 2. If you've played any Enemy Territory game and loved it, don't even read the rest of this review. Buy this game immediately. It's a great addition to the game style.

    If you're the type of guy to religiously play the Call of Duty or Counter-Strike series, you might want to hesitate here. The game play is far more team oriented than any mode in Call of Duty or CS. The teamwork and objective-based play required can be daunting at first; it is more complex than most FPS games out there. However, if you could handle the assault game mode in Unreal Tournament 2004, or the PL_ maps of Team Fortress 2 (particularly playing Medic or Engineer,) you can handle this.

    The objective navigation menu thing is great. Playing medic? Set your objective to reviving team mates, and they show up as bright yellow icons with distance meters on them. Playing engineer? High light turret repairs. Assault? High light people with low ammo. It's great, it really helps communicate the team aspect to the players.

    The SMART key is pretty well implemented. While you're trying to figure out a good angle of attack, you can sprint straight up to something, jump, grab the ledge, climb on top, wall jump to the other side of a catwalk, or catch yourself before you fall off of a platform. Parkour being added to the Enemy Territory formula was one of the best ideas in gaming history (in my opinion.) It adds a great dynamic to game play, though it is slightly underused in some maps.

    The guns feel solid and are decently customizable. Add silencers, extended magazines, rapid fire, better iron-sights, and more to just about any gun you've got. You can even silence your shotguns, if that's your thing. I have no complaints what so ever about the guns. They feel good to shoot. A shotgun blast really feels like you just unloaded a mountain of death into somebody's face, and I really like that. Additionally, the melee is fantastic, ensuring that you get your kill if your quick enough to use it.

    So we've got great online game play, tasty guns, parkour, fun objectives (sometimes a bit silly, but it's a video game, and it's better than CTF or standing near a flag for a while,) and great customizations. So, besides some typical release day bugs, what's wrong with the game? Well, the single player. It's the multiplayer mode with some less-than-stellar AI bots. It's not a narrative driven story line. But, I don't buy games like Brink or Bad Company 2 for the single player. Some people do, and this should be a big, red warning flag to those people to stay away from this title. Do not buy it for single player. There are some challenges, though, to unlock weapons. You can play those alone or with up to four people. It's good stuff. Some of them are a bit tough when you are alone, though, so if the AI drives you nuts, get a couple of other people to help you. It's an interesting way to do weapon unlocks, and I think minus one or two situations, it works well. The ability tree is also a piece of nice work.

    Overall, I firmly believe in the score of 9/10 for this game. It's a lot of fun for those looking for their Enemy Territory fix. Additionally, some of those that enjoy objective-based multiplayer will find this game to be very satisfying as well. Just be aware that the game has it's flaws (like any other game ever made,) and temporary technical issues. Brink was a satisfying purchase (for $37.46 at Direct2Drive,) and I've already poured six hours into the game on release day. Thanks for reading this far.
    Expand
  63. Jul 16, 2012
    5
    This game had a lot of potential but falls short of what it could be. But even with that I still recommend it over a FPS like MW3. The storyline feels like it leaves you hanging in such a way that the full game feels like demo for something bigger. Yes you can play both sides in the storyline but there is ONLY one story to the game and the story on both sides is the same. So if you play both sides your doing everything again, nothing to write home about. The game says "Tons of weapon customization options" but do not believe this, you really have a few options and parts are just recycled. The Co-Op is well....just something to do with your friend(s) when your waiting on a better game to come out. That is about it. Like so much of this game it is another aspect of it that is in short....Meh. In short if you got money to burn and time to waste then buy this game but if you do not then do not buy this game because you will feel a sense of lacking from playing it. Expand
  64. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    It's what should be delicious mix between Team Fortress 2, Mirrors Edge and Modern Warfare, but comes out with more flaws than abject genius, and is not as good as any of the above.
  65. May 10, 2011
    0
    I think this game is an ant farming simulator? Wrong game, you say? Well then why the freck are there so many bugs? The level of generic and uninspiredness rivals that of Black OPs. There is one gun total in the game. Well, there are multiple skins for the gun, but make no mistake, they all feel like the exact same gun. The "artistic" graphics are just a cover for "we didn't want to be bothered to make actual textures or a lighting engine". A "smart" button? Can it get me more dumbed and casualized than that? Why even have us hit buttons at all? Just make the whole game autopilot and we can sit back and watch. Bethesda obviously weren't watching Bioware's mistakes with Dragon Age 2, else they would have known that dumbed down "1 button=cool stuff whoa omg!" gameplay does not make for great games. Make no mistake, this game is a piece of hipster trash designed to cash in on the TF2 popularity. It is generic. It is ugly. It is repetitive. It is unfun. Expand
  66. May 10, 2011
    2
    Another rushed, half-hearted port of a console game. Gameplay that doesn't know if it wants to be Call of Duty with team based objectives or Team Fortress 2 with modern weaponry. Either way it fails spectacularly in trying to be either. Add in a boat load of bugs from the rush job this game has become and you have a recipe for nerd tears.

    Is there a good game underneath all the issues?
    Maybe, but with all the issues who is willing to pay money to go digging for it when a solid FPS experience is already available in so many other games Expand
  67. May 15, 2011
    9
    I was, in a way, dreading release of this game, which was gifted to me on steam (as a Christmas present by my little bro!).

    However, I was pleasantly surprised! Brink is a very fast-paced game, more akin to TF2 than anything else. The classes and abilities are very similar - a lot of which must be earned through experience and level points a la Battlefield 2 style. Whilst the ability
    to customise your avatar is nice, for an old school gamer like me it's pointless gimmickry - I'd rather see more weapons and abilities!

    I'm still getting to grips with the parkouring abilities (you'll need to select a "light" body type to be able to, for example, wall-run), but I feel that having the skills to use this ability will lead to some stunning kills in MP matches!

    Single player can be fun - but it's blatantly tacked on to the main game and serves more as tutorial than a game in it's own right. Buying this game for the SP experience only is like buying a high-performance car and only taking it out to go get the weekly shopping!

    Multiplayer still needs some improvement - games can be somewhat laggy, but not horrendously so. I'm on a 3.5Mbps ADSL connection (slow compared to my previous 50Mbps cable!), but it's still been playable, without too much grumbling.

    On the whole, would I recommend this game? Yes! It's a good game - it'll be awesome once the MP lag issues are sorted!
    Expand
  68. May 10, 2011
    10
    I never write reviews but this game is getting allot undeserved flack and I don't want someone to think those reviews are valid. Brink injects some fresh blood into the stall FPS genre. In a market were every game is trying to be the next COD or Halo, Brink doesn't cave to pressure. Anyways the game plays like Global Ops, TF2 and Unreal. The movement is good and the damage seems just about right. Graphics wise its not going to win any awards but the art style makes up for that. Expand
  69. Dec 28, 2013
    5
    Brink is an Avarage game, it has good gunplay, smooth gameplay, responsive controlls and good effects.
    It's really fun to play with friends and so on.

    I liked the idea of Brink, Sadly they've made some mistakes.
    For example game has no story, cause the campaign is basicly multiplayer.

    The graphics are also pretty decent..
  70. May 15, 2011
    6
    Brink is an disappointment. It's not a bad game at all but it didn't live up to the hype and has too many annoying flaws. The story has a good concept but they don't do anything with it. There is barely any story telling, and only bits of story you get are the short cutscenes at the beginning of the missions. Graphics are good and stylish, kind of reminds me borderlands. The character customization is pretty damn awesome, sadly there aren't that many customization options. Friendly AI is one of the worst I have ever seen, solo campaign of brink is one of the worst gaming experiences ive ever had. Despite that the multiplayer of brink, when it works is a blast. It's hard to be harsh on a game what tries something different. Brink is worth a purchase if you have friends who play it / are planning on purchasing it. Otherwise you should wait a bit until the price drops and DLC comes out. Expand
  71. May 12, 2011
    4
    Its great as a tech demo.
    As a game, its useless, for anyone older than 12 years. Strip away the graphics and its good old high speed, no point shooter. Quasi-macho style is nothing new. Still pitiful tho.
  72. Jun 25, 2011
    3
    Single player is essentially nonexistent. The only single player are essentially bot matches, but they also do a good job of portraying the story even when you're playing multiplayer. I generally play FPS for the multiplayer aspect anyway. Brink isn't very special. While I'm glad that it's an objective-based team game, many times it feels like there's nothing that you can do to help your team win and stalemates often turn into team deathmatch (without kills being worth anything). I bought this game on a whim and I regret spending every penny. It's not a horrid game by any means, but it doesn't refresh the FPS genre like it claims to. The character editing is pretty cool I guess, but has no real effect on gameplay and is simply an aesthetic ploy for your money. Expand
  73. Jun 19, 2011
    3
    Brink is a game I wanted to love so much. Pre-ordered it on Steam. How I wish I haven't. IF YOU HAVE AN ATI CARD, FORGET ABOUT THIS GAME.. Or at least, I, among many ATI owners, are currently suffering with this game. I advise you not to pick it up, at least not for now.. I envy you Deific since you seems to be among the rare gamers running it smooth.. FYI, I own a 5870.. Even with driver hotfix 11.5a,b,11.6 and latest game patch, the game still suffers considerably when it comes to frame rates, having sharp decreases and increases for no reason.. Engine feels unfinished. (mind you my system played Crysis 2 & Buletstorm at 1080p high fidelity without any significant problem) The graphics are weak, very weak. Art style is amazing only. Gameplay? shooting is dull (no recoil?), guns feel all the same, objectives are "classic", boring and repetitive and your character runs awkwardly. SMART system is forgettable and not really cleverly implemented.. Gunplay, again, doesn't feel as tight as it should feel. Offline gameplay is dull. This is interesting for online coop only. I didn't really have the experience to invest plenty of hours in the game (~5 hours) since it's barely playable but what a disappointment in the couple of hours I have played. I dont want to mention the nightmare when it comes to online gaming: lag, sound issue, matchmaking etc. So much hype, so much noise, so much style.. Shame, the game couldn't follow.. Expand
  74. May 13, 2011
    6
    +Cool / different art style. Looks pretty good.
    +I haven't had any technical problems. Controls well / runs well.
    +Character / weapon customization is fun.
    -Single player experience is really boring. Think Tf2 w/ bots and holding E on objectives.
    -Multi player experience is dodgy. Server browser isn't so good and its laggy even in
  75. May 16, 2011
    6
    I like Brink. A lot. Ok its never going to make it into my top games of all time, but its a good game and I'm enjoying it a lot. I pre-ordered early and am pleased with the pre-order bonus's and hope to see a few more friends online once they sort out the UK online distribution issues.

    That said, I'm recommending my friends wait for some form of price cut on the title before they pick
    it up, or for some of the additional DLC that has been promised by Bioware to be released before they pick it up.

    At present, if you can get the game to run (see some of the other posts here for an idea of the issues affecting users of some hardware) its a good shooter. Its not brilliant, but its ok.

    As others have noted, it feels slightly off pace, not quite slick enough and you feel like you're just slightly moving through treacle the whole time. Rubber banding will happen on public servers and lag really does have a significant impact on performance where other titles seem to compensate a lot more effectively for it.

    Some of the weapons feel more like re-skins of each other than independant weapons in their own right. The class system, similarly, doesn't provide any significant difference between classes at the moment and an often noted complaint is that more players play as engineers and medics than operatives or god forbid actual soldiers because the ability to self buff or self heal is far more beneficial to a player than the slight combat perks and broken armour skill that come with being a soldier, or the ability to disguise yourself as an operative.

    Additionally what appeared to be a pretty large palette of skins, clothes, faces and so on in the promo vids isnt nearly so large as all that and at present the game is painfully "samey" in almost all respects. The people you are fighting alongside or against almost all look the same, with the odd exception almost everyone is using the same combination of primary and secondary weapons with similar attachments and backup skills.

    The decision to include all the data about your character in an easily edited file on your local hard disk also means that those people who are so inclined, will start every map at max level and with all the skills available... something which most games have been able to prevent natively for ages through auto-detection and rebalancing. Beyond that, there's only 10 levels. Oh and 4 challenge maps. Thats it. There is the promise of more, but at the moment, its the same maps for both of the games campaign modes and whilst they appear very pretty and interesting, you'll quickly find that for most maps, about 80% of the area is just padding that you need to run through after a respawn in order to reach one of 1 or 2 choke points for any given map.

    Did I mention that features like online stats have been left out because they haven't built them yet? I've played games that were rushed to publishing before, but never one that basically advertised the fact.. its not a big thing, but its a concern...

    Have given this 6 out of 10 because whilst its a good fun game, it needs a lot of TLC to really make it worth the money at the moment, best advice, wait for a sale. If its worth buying there will still be enough of a player base to make it a viable multiplayer game when its come down in price a bit. If not you saved yourself a bit on what may have proved to be nothing more than a short, sometimes frustrating, distraction.
    Expand
  76. May 11, 2011
    10
    Brink is Amazing, Great graphics, great gameplay, Even on the lower end of min spec you can get away with great looking graphics, Multi player is one of the best iv seen, it takes what Killzone 3 did for the PS3 and intensified 5x and we get Brink, I can't wait for part 2. Story mode was fun and immersive, you really get a feel for how these people are struggling in the world they live in. Great Idea for brink, looking forward to the DLC. IMO Brink is a must buy for anyone who loves FPS. Expand
  77. May 15, 2011
    10
    Brink is not perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. However it is great and I am disgusted at it's low score
    The teamwork is great, if your team does not have a mix of all the classes you WILL fail, however medics are overpowered. The SMART system works fine, occasionally bugs out. It is extremely fun with the light bodytype, however you are fragile with it.
    The plot is meh and the level design
    is meh. I still love this game.. Expand
  78. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    Brink is a good game. With fun movements using blur style for the action. Its great in graphics, weapons customization and player customization. However it lacks on making each class available not as unique as one would expect.
  79. May 17, 2011
    8
    Brink is a solid FPS with great stylized visuals. Simply put, I pre-ordered the game and have been playing it since release and can give it a fair review. Upon reading other reviews, I have been lucky playing the game with no bugs or graphical issues (running an older Nividia 9800GT).

    The game has a fun mechanic that me and some friends have been messing around with. I have not played
    this game alone much, just been playing it with people because bots tend to get tedious and repetitive. I found that bots on harder difficulties do not behave smarter and act more aggressively, they just get stronger weapons and have instant head-shot abilities. This is a game made for multi-player and if you have friends that bump around in BC2 and you guys ran through Borderlands then this is the next game. It is very team based and if you can get a good bunch of bros with mics that can work together then there is a lot of fun to be had. The customization is really nice and the game has awesome animation and design that gives a nice polish the the game. This is no Team Fortress 2 for multiple class team-based FPS, but Brink has its own unique gameplay, challenges and flaws. Expand
  80. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    Like many people I know, my expectations were high for this game. Then I bought the game. What worth there might be in the game is burried through repetitive gameplay. It's like Team Fortress 2, only without the fun and humor. Now that TF2 is free, I recommend downloading it before you even consider this game.
  81. Dec 2, 2011
    3
    How this game was ever released (and with a $60.00 price tag) is beyond my level of understanding. It is, by far and away, the laggiest multiplayer FPS I've ever played. Your movement is slow and floaty, as if you're commandeering an automatic vacuum cleaner instead of a human being. It's just as unresponsive in singleplayer as it is online. Animations are broken and jittery, resulting in people skipping steps and suddenly appearing in places. And the lag...good God, the lag. Whatever great ideas this game has are thrown away when you can't move or aim fluidly to save your life. It's unbearable to play, and frankly embarrassing for a multiplayer developer as reputable as Splash Damage and a producer as enormous as Bethesda to not release a patch that addresses these issues. This game isn't worth the $5 it's going for right now on Steam. It's not even worth playing the free weekend. It's just downright terrible, which is sad because hidden underneath so much failure are a lot of good ideas just begging to be implemented into a functional product. But ambition doesn't make a game; gameplay does, and there is no "play" in this "game." Expand
  82. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Best movement out of any game ever played! The limitations of the environment are gone. Vaulting, jumping, scaling walls and then popping your opponents in the face. sliding on the ground while gunning down an objective carrier. Amazing gun sounds and fantastic maps. The customization gives you a unique look and lets you know who is friend and who is foe. The only downside I could give this game is the lack of content available. 8 playable maps at start that can grow stale after a few rounds on the same one for hours. However that should not be why you shouldn't add this to your library. A good match is not a rare occurrence. Whether AI or PvP, each match never plays out the same. Expand
  83. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    I was very excited for this game and was dissapointed when it released.however they were on to something with the ideas they had the whole game felt broken.the multiplayer was constanly leggy,the bots were not fully functioning and the whole free running thing did not work.however at some points the multiplayer would be fun and the character custamization was cool.every gun almost felt the same to me witch i did not like.i would not reccomend playing this game but if they could fix all these problems the game could be very fun but that may take a whole new game to do that. Expand
  84. May 17, 2011
    4
    The premise of a waterworld with bothers is certainly an enticing idea and certainly had me interested. Once immersed the game play I quickly realized that the staying power would be short lived. Personally I love precision shooting with high twitch elements. I do genuinely think some people will enjoy the game immensely. Especially once a patch fixes some of its graphical glitches.

    I
    think in terms of overall gameplay, TF2 is a better game over Brink. Collapse
  85. May 10, 2011
    0
    So launch day there is a bug where theres no sound for entire servers so im gonna judge this game as presented. A game with no sound that isn't a horror game with a hearing impaired person is unacceptable. Im sick and tired of all these producers launching beta's as finished products. class balancing leaves a few things to be desired I.E operatives have no innate point generation like all the other classes. Really this is a par game with nothing new probably a 5 or 6 but with no sound its a 1. Expand
  86. May 15, 2011
    2
    This game is a piece of s*** I was playing for one hour and I got enough. Nothing new, just next shoot em all. Single player game is with retarded AIs and you cant control them.Multi player is better, but still fail. If you want waste fifty buck then you're welcome. But if you want good game, don't buy it after all.
  87. May 26, 2012
    10
    This is an absolutely fantastic multiplayer shooter. Very well thought through maps and game mechanics. Its not a simple shooter though, dedication is recommended ;) The classes all got access to the same weapons, only the body type does restrict the choices. This allows you to play each class with your prefered combat style and one might ask himself why it hasnt always been that way in shooters. The "SMART" movement system is something i dont want to ever miss again in any shooter. Overcoming obstacles, sliding and taking shortcuts becomes second nature realy quick with the improved run and jump keys. The maps are large (switching objectives) with nice layout. Takes a while to know them inside out. The weapons can be customized to fit your playstyle. With care though, as the upgrades can also have negative effects which are quite a bit more severe then it appears on the weapons stats. This is simply put one of the best thought through multiplayer shooters to have ever been created. Just like SD's last title though, it's not suitable for everyone. Any shooter fanatic that is good in all types of fps games should be very happy with this title. It does need a patch or two, but only minor issues, like sound breaking down every once in a while (fixed on mapchange or reconnect). Hardware requirements are pretty high though, i would recommend at least a core2quad@3.6 Ghz or a i5@3 Ghz and a grafics card of at least gtx570 performance. This should result in 50 to 100 fps. SLI works well too.------------UPDATE: Same as their other titles, this game did not appeal to the masses. The lack of "toy kills" (possibility to nade spam and other things to get free kills) is not everyones taste. And the choice of using the clunky idtech4 instead of the superbly idtech3 wasnt a wise choice either. The community is about dead, but if you pick up this game on a steam sale you will still find populated euro servers. Expand
  88. May 15, 2011
    10
    This game doesn't deserve these low scores, many games have bugs, many games have worse AI than brink has, it shouldn't just be reviewed by people after 1 hour of played time. Brink gives you a lot, allows you to be able to get out of spawn before dieing (Unlike one reviewer said), it gives you addictive and compelling game-play (Which many FPS games are not doing) - MOH, BFBC2 etc.
  89. May 10, 2011
    0
    Yawn. Nothing but a poor TF2 clone here with no originality. Cel shaded graphics are just a cover up for the poor bland textures and lack of art designer. There is no variabiton from character to character at all...using a shotgun feels just like using an assualt rifile. Objective based matches just turn into a clustered mess due to poor map design and just overall bad game design mechanics. The game oozes genericness in every way. Not even a rent. Expand
  90. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    I'm glad i waited for the Steam holiday sales before buying this game. Brink promised to "blend" the multiplayer and singleplayer games into a seamless experience, which sounded really interesting when they said it like that. But actually all they did was create a COD-like multiplayer shooter with bots and call it a singleplayer story mode! So innovative!!! My apologies if your sarcasm detector is now broken. The dodgy AI and a forgetful story make you wonder why they even bothered with the singleplayer game. Not to mention the unlocks... millions of unlocks. I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't unlocks for the unlocks. However, if you view Brink purely as a multiplayer game, then it is actually fairly solid. But it's nothing amazing, and more than a few shooters from 2011 are much better. At the end of the day there's just nothing to keep me playing this game. It has no WOW! factor at all. I do hope, though, that Splash Damage will continue to develop their engine and games, because it's obvious that they've got some insanely talented people in their ranks with amazing potential. They just need to learn what makes a AAA shooter fun to play these days, and they could do such great things. Expand
  91. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    The story ending makes it seem like there is to be a Brink 2. I hope there is. But if they do it I hope it's a lot more varied with more depth of game play (not just in terms of story perspectives).

    More specifically, I like what this game tries to do by combining types of game play (single player story + multi-player + shooter + leveling + parkour + team fortress) and the taking sides
    in a story with plenty of gray-area. However, in the end I was bored. The different character weights and classes didn't feel different enough; the depth just wasn't there so the differences felt hollow. I played through the campaigns from both perspectives, the extra missions, the training levels (all to 3 stars), and lots online. I felt like it took forever to level up to level 20. And with all the stuff in the game it never felt varied enough to keep me truly interested. Expand
  92. May 14, 2011
    1
    What can I say, I bought into the hype machine surrounding this game and I regret it. If I could only choose one word to describe this game it would be mediocre. The S.M.A.R.T. system is borderline maddening. Everything you see can and will get you killed when you jump over it trying to run by it. Do you want to fall while sprinting? Too bad! Enjoy your pull-up session as an enemy mows you down. Grenades fly through the air with all the grace of a brick. Good luck getting them to go where you want. There are numerous, game breaking bugs such as the "how did I suddenly go deaf" loss of almost ALL audio. Hands down the worst thing I ever spent $50 on, and I once LOST $50 by dropping it. Expand
  93. May 16, 2011
    5
    Entertaining. But doesnt have true staying power. You complete the campaigns and challenges in about 1 day. After that it's all about online play which can extremely unbalanced. Bugs and server problems don't really help the score either. If you feel like spending 50 bucks for a couple of day's fun, then brink is for you.
  94. May 23, 2011
    3
    Just terrible. Boring game if i wanted to play team fortress 2 then ill just play team fortress 2! Sure the sliding is cool but the game just lacks any fun imo.
  95. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    First off - this IS NOT TF2... think of Brink like TF2 and you will be disappointed - yes it's an FPS, yes it has Soldier, Engineer, Medic and Operative (Spy) classes BUT unlike TF2 the classes do not define the character type - they are merely specialisations. Your body type defines whether you're a heavy with big guns or a light speedy guy with smaller firearms and the body type can be combined with any class specialisation; if you want to be a light soldier or a heavy operative, you can.

    Each specialisation comes with their own abilities, Soldiers can buff team-mates ammo, engineers their weapons and armour (and build sentry guns of course) and medics can heal, buff and revive team-mates. Operatives can disguise as enemies or (more usefully) "spot" them making them visible to your entire team. Each specialisation can also perform mission specific tasks, hack or destroy doors, or repair robots for instance.

    What's good about Brink - the S.M.A.R.T movement system that allows you to vault over barriers, climb and run along walls generally works very well and adds an additional dimension to the FPS team-game genre. Obviously this has greater impact for light, agile body types rather than big heavy guys.

    The "team" element is very good, you're rewarded greater for helping your team than you are for killing enemies - it actually encourages you to work together as a team.

    The character customisation is also excellent - with a wide range of outfits, hairstyles, tattoos and scars to mix and match as you please giving your characters a reasonably unique personal look. There is also a wide array of weaponry (and weapon mods like scopes) to choose from but this is NOT a game of spray and pray - accuracy falls off on most guns at range you really need to learn to fire in short controlled bursts; this, to me at least, is a good thing - especially on servers where Friendly Fire in on.

    The voice acting is decent, the settings and scenery are well done and I quite like "playing the story" with other people - which is pretty much what the online game is. Alternatively you can play co-operatively against bots, which is great when you feel like playing "easy mode" or want to train your characters up. Yes your characters gain experience (up to level 20) which is used to buy class points to specialise your character (bigger sentry guns for Engies for instance) and unlocks new clothing - it's not a perfect system and does act as a slight "barrier to entry" since you're better off trained than not, especially when playing online... but being a lower level doesn't automatically make you useless and it doesn't take long at all to get to about level 15.

    Gameplay, generally for a team-shooter is actually, overall, very good and not quite like anything else going... but the game isn't perfect.

    Whilst the team aspect is brilliant, if you're on a team that doesn't really know what its doing - you will lose. If your team attempts to go for "personal glory" rather than working as a team - you will lose. If your team doesn't pay attention to their objectives - you will lose. Then, of course, you can get stacked so it'll be a team mostly made up of people versus a team mostly made up of bots... and guess what, if you're on the team with mostly bots - you will lose. In short - a game of Brink lives or dies by teamwork so unless you get lucky on a public server... the game won't be particularly well balanced.

    Speaking of balance - the game could use some looking at in that aspect. Generally speaking, it's slightly harder (in player vs player) if you're on the Security team - their missions are slightly harder, when viewed overall, than the resistance missions - I've yet to see the Security team, on a public PvP server, win the Shipyard map. That's not to say there aren't some missions that are harder as resistance, there are, but there are slightly more hard missions for security than resistance.

    There's a good array of weapons and everyone gets to choose a primary and secondary weapon - but play it for a bit and you'll realise that there are a few that stand out as being somewhat better than the others - just watch the kill messages and you'll see that literally only about 8 guns are actually used by experienced players (depending on their body types).

    Oh, single player ... don't bother except as practice when you're first playing - seriously.

    So - if you want a team-based online FPS, one which has a good system of freedom of movement, one that's more Counter Strike with specialisations than Team Fortress - give Brink a go. If you want the next Team Fortress... don't, just play TF2 or Monday Night Combat instead.
    Expand
  96. Jul 6, 2011
    5
    I never paid much attention to pre-release hype, so perhaps my more positive outlook on the game stems partially from not having the opportunity for hype-based let-down. I was fortunate enough to get the game after a couple patches, so I was spared the early rough spot.

    That being said, it's overall a solid, but not great shooter. It's a lot of fun online; I've very rarely been frustrated
    while playing without having had a bad day prior to firing it up, which is something I can't say about most online shooters. While the SP mode certainly doesn't stand up on its own(especially not the Security campaign, being a sight more difficult with AI teammates than Resistance), and I'm usually strongly against games that require MP interaction to enjoy, the fact that story (light as it was) and meaning was given behind what you were doing gives it a lot more appeal to me than MP shooters whereby "they're shooting at me so I should shoot at them!" or "they're from a different faction/nation, I should shoot them!" is all the reason you're given to do anything. Also, the "tf2 clone!" argument is just silly. Would you consider Battlefield Heroes or Monday Night Combat "tf2 clones" if they were in first person? Stylized class based objective MP shooter does not a tf2 clone make.

    Onto specifics, having gotten rid of the "tl;dr" in paragraph 2(assuming the review posting maintains format):

    Graphics: Not mindblowing by any means, and with an odd color palette, but it shows that ID Tech IV (the engine that originated with and powered Doom 3 back in 2004) is still a usable engine in this day and age. (ID Tech III is still being used with CoD and Source is still being used by Valve, so engine age is a non-issue.) I can't comment too much further as due to my hardware I'm capped at 720p medium settings with all effects but VSYNC and Motion blur shut off.

    Gameplay: Shooting is a nice change of pace from the CoD-esque "everything's laser-accurate" system of modern games, requiring burst firing and intelligent usage of your weapon's given range to hit targets accurately. Objectives are fairly simple, but take enough time that teamwork or good subterfuge are required to get them done. Shame they mostly involve escorting or holding down the action button. On the plus side, k/d is completely irrelevant, so no need for some sorry fool to hop into a game to do a lot of killing and nothing else because nobody's going to see the stats. It's something that should be implemented into all competitive objective modes of games. The "parkour" system surely leaves a lot to be desired for fans of parkour, but sliding and climbing around (+ wall jumping for light body types) are workable enough and lead to good ways to get out of dodge when need be. I would have preferred normal jumping height to not be so terrible, though. Command posts offer a nice way to add a little extra buff to your entire team, if you can be bothered to stray away from the main objective long enough to capture one.

    Maps: I've saved the gameplay elements that apply specifically to maps for here. Nothing mindblowing in terms of detail, but they serve the job well. Objectives presented on the maps tend to fall into the whole "variation on a theme" deal, but for the most part feel different enough from map to map. The main flaw of the maps, and subsequently the game, in my opinion... is the "choke-point" focus. Security is likely to like Reactor and Security Tower while Resistance is likely to like maps like Container City. Why? It's easy to stop the other team at a certain point on each map for either a very long time or for the rest of the match. While decent/competent teams (even as random players as opposed to a party of friends) can easily break these eventually, less focused and/or "bot-filled" teams can get stuck and demoralized very easily. I hope the map packs fix this error.

    I give the game as a whole about an 82 or 83 out of 100. (Rounded to 8 out of 10.) Not amazing or mindblowing, but a solid and fun shooter. I just wish it were easier to find a server with good ping AND people actually playing it.
    Expand
  97. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    This review is to offset Specious71's score of 10 as he meant to give the rating a 6. I think he hit the nail on the head pretty accurately. We both played the co op all the way through with 2 other friends...we really tried to like it..it just felt like a mild title at best. Best of luck to those who like it...which we presume are the console-only kiddies :-) People cried so much about how other games were hard like UT and Quake etc. that they had to dumb the movement down to accommodate those with less skill...all well and good if you love being mediocre in life :-) ok got my quota of words in. Expand
  98. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    This game is pretty polished. However it's not really meant for everyone. It requires heavy team play and objectives are pretty bland. The arsenals are alright and pretty well balanced in my opinion. The GUI menus are confusing. The developers are trying to create a menu system which caters for both PC and console platform which is isn't that bad but still nothing compared to full PC menu GUIs.
  99. Dec 28, 2011
    5
    They spent more time advertising this game than developing it. It was supposed to be a revolutionary game that would change the FPS game world. Well..., it did not. It's like playing SIMS with guns. You can change your race, clothes, hair, add tattoos etc etc. But no matter what you do, all characters look the same! They all have the same face with huge noses :)
  100. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    Surely a well-created game, but some things could be better.
    The Multiplayer gaming is very weak and slow, when you are playing everything you do with The keyboard is done in late. This is very bad for an action game!
    And the whole game is based on a schematc story very boring. But in the single-player mode it's wonderful (if you are using a powerful computer)
    And it's obviously a not
    realistic game, infact you can jump from more of 5 meters and continue to fight as like nothing had happened. The fact that you can bring wiht you a turret rotating barrels and place it in the middle of the fight in not so realistic. But I recommend Brink to anyone who likes this kind of game (and to anyone who has a mighty computer) Expand
  101. May 17, 2011
    0
    The premise of a waterworld with bothers is certainly an enticing idea and certainly had me interested. Once immersed the game play I quickly realized that the staying power would be short lived. Personally I love precision shooting with high twitch elements. I do genuinely think some people will enjoy the game immensely. Especially once a patch fixes some of its graphical glitches.

    I
    think in terms of overall gameplay, TF2 is a better game over Brink. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    84
    Brink is destined to be a cult classic (on PC), for us fans of Quake Wars. Has no single player value but high entry difficulty due to tight team focus and sprawling maps. Good, but not nearly as damn good as Quake Wars. I like Brink but it is no wonder that most gamers don't. [June 2011]
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    60
    Who would have thought that this highly ambitious concept would turn out to be such a bland game?
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    75
    Brink's unique visual style and great customization options save the day. Although its core gameplay needs some polishing, it's a solid multiplayer-only experience nevertheless. [July 2011, p.81]