Brink PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 548 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    7
    The game has flaws but if you can get past them you'll enjoy yourself. However, you'll find yourself time and time again being irritated by those flaws and sometimes pushing yourself to keep with it. Customization is nice but not as in depth as they made it out to be. Body types add some depth to gameplay, but a in many ways unbalanced. The maps are poorly designed with many of them beingThe game has flaws but if you can get past them you'll enjoy yourself. However, you'll find yourself time and time again being irritated by those flaws and sometimes pushing yourself to keep with it. Customization is nice but not as in depth as they made it out to be. Body types add some depth to gameplay, but a in many ways unbalanced. The maps are poorly designed with many of them being a campfest on the objective, and the attacking team having to push through it. The gunplay is severely imbalanced, not only by the skewed gun stats which favor some weapons, but also by the ability buffs of various classes which makes the weapon damage inconsistent and infuriating at times - ignoring this however, the guns still seem completely random in the amount of damage they do at times. The whole objective system isn't as influential as SD made out, with side objectives having little impact on the main objective or map play. The SMART system is very fluent though, and works very well. It creates some very fluent and fast gameplay and basically makes BRINK what it is, and worth your time. It's a shame that it's often wasted on corridor areas. Overall the game is worth your time, and you'll get a lot of enjoyment out of it - but it might only tie you over until the game you're waiting for is released. Expand
  2. May 14, 2011
    7
    Game is fine. Im using ATI and with a bit of tweaking and rolling back drivers I achieve a solid 60fps on a 4 year old pc with a q6600 and a 5770. As for people giving this game "0" because of reasons not to do with the game need to stop posting - after all this for reviews, not opinions about the fact you live in Australia or wherever and can't buy the game at the prices elsewhere inGame is fine. Im using ATI and with a bit of tweaking and rolling back drivers I achieve a solid 60fps on a 4 year old pc with a q6600 and a 5770. As for people giving this game "0" because of reasons not to do with the game need to stop posting - after all this for reviews, not opinions about the fact you live in Australia or wherever and can't buy the game at the prices elsewhere in the world.

    The game just needs a few bugs ironing out and to be fair to SD, they've managed to get a game out at release that is very much playable and fun.
    Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    7
    Pro's:
    - The gameplay itself is GREAT.
    - The customizations and leveling system works fine. - The "training wheel" keeps noobs on the objectives. - The S.M.A.R.T. freerunning system is rather fun and a great part of brink. Con's: - The game looks decent, but compared to other quake based games... this one runs like crap. (Seriously, the main menu lags on 1920x1080, meanwhile I can run
    Pro's:
    - The gameplay itself is GREAT.
    - The customizations and leveling system works fine.
    - The "training wheel" keeps noobs on the objectives.
    - The S.M.A.R.T. freerunning system is rather fun and a great part of brink.

    Con's: - The game looks decent, but compared to other quake based games... this one runs like crap. (Seriously, the main menu lags on 1920x1080, meanwhile I can run crysis2 just fine.)
    - Most servers you get on lag more than your grandmother. - Various bugs that will no doubt be patched soon. I hope...
    - Theres actually only 8 levels. Thats right. EIGHT. Some reviews might tell you there are 16, but you play the same levels twice, once for Ark Security, and once for The Resistance. I would say this is the greatest draw back to Brink. If this game had closer to 20 levels this game would be getting an 8 or a 9. But its got 8... for now. (Lets hope they release the SDK soon, and maybe some free DLC's.)

    Summary: It's got a TON of potential, but it is only half done. Which is sad because the release game looks exactly the same as the demo everyone saw at QuakeCon 09. I guess splash damage took a two year vacation. Maybe now that they are getting paid they can finish the game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    7
    A fairly decent game. The SMART system works, but i feel a lot of the maps are too constrictive, the one in the ghetto was fun, but i want to be able to dash across buildings, slide into an alley, and leap through a window in smooth actions, not following the more or less preordained paths they have decided you can use. the character/weapon customization is fun, and ads something to theA fairly decent game. The SMART system works, but i feel a lot of the maps are too constrictive, the one in the ghetto was fun, but i want to be able to dash across buildings, slide into an alley, and leap through a window in smooth actions, not following the more or less preordained paths they have decided you can use. the character/weapon customization is fun, and ads something to the gameplay, and the weapons are decently diverse, though a few more options, like dual wielding pistols, or the ability to pick up someone else's weapon when you have no ammunition for either of your guns left, although factors like that do make teamplay important. not a bad game if you can get it cheap, but I'm glad I didn't pay the $60 dollars for it at launch Expand
  5. May 10, 2011
    7
    Spoiler:--"Brink=>Multiplayer":--Spoiler. Think that those who are disappointed with Single Player mode of the game didn't watch a single one of the 1,214,634,372 Brink videos before the game's published. Also i know that they believe Black Ops is a better game than the Bad Company 2 because that the BC2 has a rubbish Single Player mode. What a pathetic group of people.
  6. May 12, 2012
    7
    Brink is an objective based multiplayer shooter that took me some getting used to. Most of my early hours, I was pretty much just killing bad guys while being completely lost on what the objectives were. Now that I have a few more hours under my belt and have gotten used to the gameplay, I must confess it's pretty fun. It's highly action packed, but the objectives are just not obvious toBrink is an objective based multiplayer shooter that took me some getting used to. Most of my early hours, I was pretty much just killing bad guys while being completely lost on what the objectives were. Now that I have a few more hours under my belt and have gotten used to the gameplay, I must confess it's pretty fun. It's highly action packed, but the objectives are just not obvious to new players.

    The game puts significant emphasis on customization in both character looks and loadouts--for example being able to select two primary weapons is nice. The graphics are solid, the gameplay is smooth, and the character leveling is implemented well. It also throws in a decent storyline which is uncommon in these type of multiplayer games. But don't buy Brink because of its single player or coop claims. It disappoints unless you consider playing multiplayer with bots fun.
    Expand
  7. May 10, 2011
    7
    I'll start of with the pros; the movement controls are nice and fluid, allowing you to vault obstacles and sprint at the same time with just one button, reminiscent of the 'free run' found in Assassin's Creed. The art style really benefits the feel of Brink with the over exaggerated realism that is brought out with beautiful graphics. The choice of weapons and their customization allowsI'll start of with the pros; the movement controls are nice and fluid, allowing you to vault obstacles and sprint at the same time with just one button, reminiscent of the 'free run' found in Assassin's Creed. The art style really benefits the feel of Brink with the over exaggerated realism that is brought out with beautiful graphics. The choice of weapons and their customization allows the player to experiment and adapt to his or her play style while also having different body types boasting abilities such as free running or more HP provides a unique customization feature where no one character will ever be the same.

    Now onto the cons; there is no story driven single player, but a mission to mission type of play that all too closely resembles the multiplayer (if not EXACTLY like the multiplayer) and has little to no intrinsic value except that you can play by yourself. The movement using sprint or 'free run' can cause some problems every now and then where you'll vault a rail you didn't want to vault or get yourself stuck in a hairy situation that leads to your untimely demise. Finally the objectives and game mode feel repetitive over time and the number of maps don't help lessen the repetitiveness where after about 3-4 hours of playing you've already seen all the maps, and with no map editor there is no hope for the community to be able to build their own maps and make Brink even greater than it is now.

    Overall Brink is a great game to play with friends for a short while, taking in all it has to offer, but it won't be something you'll be looking forward to get back to the next day.
    Expand
  8. May 13, 2011
    7
    It has potential, with patches, and a Mod tool kit, it should really open up the game. It feels old school like Quake 3 but with objectives and classes like more modern team based shooters. With some patches, and if they deliver the tools to mod it, I think it will kick ass. I find it fun, but it is pretty buggy, I thought the AI Was actually pretty decent compared to some games, they willIt has potential, with patches, and a Mod tool kit, it should really open up the game. It feels old school like Quake 3 but with objectives and classes like more modern team based shooters. With some patches, and if they deliver the tools to mod it, I think it will kick ass. I find it fun, but it is pretty buggy, I thought the AI Was actually pretty decent compared to some games, they will do objectives and help out, but they also sometimes go off into la la land and forget about it. Expand
  9. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    The story ending makes it seem like there is to be a Brink 2. I hope there is. But if they do it I hope it's a lot more varied with more depth of game play (not just in terms of story perspectives).

    More specifically, I like what this game tries to do by combining types of game play (single player story + multi-player + shooter + leveling + parkour + team fortress) and the taking sides
    The story ending makes it seem like there is to be a Brink 2. I hope there is. But if they do it I hope it's a lot more varied with more depth of game play (not just in terms of story perspectives).

    More specifically, I like what this game tries to do by combining types of game play (single player story + multi-player + shooter + leveling + parkour + team fortress) and the taking sides in a story with plenty of gray-area. However, in the end I was bored. The different character weights and classes didn't feel different enough; the depth just wasn't there so the differences felt hollow. I played through the campaigns from both perspectives, the extra missions, the training levels (all to 3 stars), and lots online. I felt like it took forever to level up to level 20. And with all the stuff in the game it never felt varied enough to keep me truly interested.
    Expand
  10. May 10, 2011
    7
    All in all, I have to say I like it. The graphics are well done, the sound is spot on, the controls arn't horrible, and the gameplay is top notch. That being said, there are quite a few bugs that need to be worked out before I give it a 10. Sometimes sound will cease to work, sometimes there are graphical issues and freezing on menus. Also, there seems to be a bit more optimization onAll in all, I have to say I like it. The graphics are well done, the sound is spot on, the controls arn't horrible, and the gameplay is top notch. That being said, there are quite a few bugs that need to be worked out before I give it a 10. Sometimes sound will cease to work, sometimes there are graphical issues and freezing on menus. Also, there seems to be a bit more optimization on the 3d rendering code as Brink requires a top cost, hardcore, machine. Expect to be playing on default graphics settings until they work this out. My recommendation is buy this if you are chomping at the bit for a new FPS. If you arn't, I would wait until some of the kinks are worked out. Expand
  11. May 11, 2011
    7
    It's a pretty solid game. There are a few issues, some of the early maps can seem overly hard, and it doesn't always do a good job of explaining which class is needed. The lack of subtitles hurts the game, too. But the customization is good, the core mechanics work well, and the maps are a great change from the typical stuff you might see. Parkour is solid, but it doesn't get much use inIt's a pretty solid game. There are a few issues, some of the early maps can seem overly hard, and it doesn't always do a good job of explaining which class is needed. The lack of subtitles hurts the game, too. But the customization is good, the core mechanics work well, and the maps are a great change from the typical stuff you might see. Parkour is solid, but it doesn't get much use in fights, so much as getting you to those fights faster, or through a safer route. Expand
  12. May 15, 2011
    7
    Sweet graphics, weapons and overall mood. But single player campaign is a joke (map+bots+short intro). . Gameplay can be frustrating sometimes - you die too often and in stupid ways. I don't know, after initial disappointment I find myself enjoying Brink more and more. Counting on satisfying multi.
  13. May 16, 2011
    7
    I really want to give this a 10. I really do. But with the bugs that should've never made it to the final release, I just can't. Quite a few times on multiplayer maps, all AI controlled characters decide to become invisible for the round and then, to top it all off, the sound cuts out. I'm pretty sure this bug only affects one player instead of a whole server, but I still don't understandI really want to give this a 10. I really do. But with the bugs that should've never made it to the final release, I just can't. Quite a few times on multiplayer maps, all AI controlled characters decide to become invisible for the round and then, to top it all off, the sound cuts out. I'm pretty sure this bug only affects one player instead of a whole server, but I still don't understand how they let that into the launch of the game. There are a few other bugs that I could mention, but they're really more annoyances than anything. In addition, the AI is horrid. Your teammates on offensive missions will run into a heavily guarded room only to be quickly gunned down. There are times when my teammates won't even help, they just randomly run around while I'm left to hopelessly battle my way to the objective, only to reach it and have 3 more enemies rush into the room and kill me. The cut-scenes play out pretty much the same way, to the point that it's maddening. That being said, I love this game. Unlike Call of Duty, where the focus is on the individual, Brink places the focus on the team while discouraging players to act on their own. For offensive teams, it is almost impossible to complete your objective if you don't band together and attack as a group. Defensive teams also need teamwork. They can't just leave one doomed engineer to guard the intel while everyone else runs around aimlessly. A variety of classes is required for the game to go anywhere. Different objectives need different classes to complete them, and in some instances, there are certain classes that can reverse the progress of the offensive team's objective. For instance, say a soldier plants an explosive charge. The defensive team has 40 seconds to get an engineer to that charge so he can disarm it. Each class tends to play pretty much the same with different abilities and buffs. Some people may hate this, but I tend to enjoy it, especially since you can switch classes at will at a friendly command post to suit the needs of the team. Customization of your character is great, with different options for faces, scars, tattoos, clothing, and hairstyles. You have only one character for both the Resistance and Security sides of the story. The character keeps the same face, scars, and tattoos, but the clothing and hair can be changed at will, each side having its own options for outfits. The game also has three body builds that can also be changed in the main menu. Heavy can use all weapons, has the most health, but moves slow and can't climb very well, while light is fast, has more options for "SMART" (more on that shortly), but is frail and can only use light weapons. As you might expect, average is a mix of the two. Regarding SMART (Smooth Movement Across Rough Terrain), the system works very well. holding down the sprint key will allow your character to climb and jump through the map. That being said, the maps are bland when you look at this amazing system they made to get through them. In addition, there are only eight maps at this time, and I imagine many players will quickly become bored of them. All in all, Brink is a solid game with a lot of room for improvement. Hopefully, in later patches, they will fix the shoddy AI, fix the horrid bugs, and add more content for players to enjoy. Expand
  14. May 18, 2011
    7
    Brink is not an extremely unique game as they say it is. It revolves around team play, but there really isn't a lot of difference between Brink and a normal FPS game apart from the tossing around med kits part and supplies. The objective guider shows you where you have to go, which is similar to what every other fps game has with their way points. The game play is dull because all the gunsBrink is not an extremely unique game as they say it is. It revolves around team play, but there really isn't a lot of difference between Brink and a normal FPS game apart from the tossing around med kits part and supplies. The objective guider shows you where you have to go, which is similar to what every other fps game has with their way points. The game play is dull because all the guns are pretty similar, and it takes forever to rank up. Expand
  15. May 18, 2011
    7
    Not as bad as most people make out, a lot of fun for 60 minutes but doesn't hold my attention much longer than that.

    On the plus side few technical issues that i;ve experienced (Nvidia 460) and a solid feel to the fights but it has far too few maps.
  16. May 21, 2011
    7
    Brink is a alot like marmite you'll either love the team based gameplay or loth it, the classes are broken into 4 different roles all with their own perks. The solider is the back bone of the team restocking ammo of allies and placing charges, the engineer repairs objectives and places mines,turrets and buffs the damage of teams weapons by throwing a spanner at them, the medic is selfBrink is a alot like marmite you'll either love the team based gameplay or loth it, the classes are broken into 4 different roles all with their own perks. The solider is the back bone of the team restocking ammo of allies and placing charges, the engineer repairs objectives and places mines,turrets and buffs the damage of teams weapons by throwing a spanner at them, the medic is self explanitory and revives downed team mates buffs health regerations, running speed in later levels. The last class is the operative who hacks objectives and has the ability to spot mines, hack turrets and disgues as the enemy. The game has a wide array of customisation from defining your charaters look to what kind of guns you want.You eventually can pick between 3 builds when your level 8 from medium, light to heavy the main difference is the bigger your build the bigger your guns. There are a total of 24 which might not seem like much but the amount of combinations with the attachments are mind blowing you unlock the attachments though doing the "challenege" mode which is nice as new players have just as much chance as the veterans. The level design is well organized but can get very boring as there are only a 8 maps at the moment If you can look past some its short comings there is alot of fun to be had. If you have team spirit I recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    I liked this game, but I never really got around to playing it. I think the problem Brink has, is that, there are too many other awesome games out that this title is just going to get overlooked. Seeing as it is a multiplayer only title (singleplayer against bots is never going to work), a game like this needs a pretty big fanbase.

    Im going to give it a 7/10 because I like the idea behind
    I liked this game, but I never really got around to playing it. I think the problem Brink has, is that, there are too many other awesome games out that this title is just going to get overlooked. Seeing as it is a multiplayer only title (singleplayer against bots is never going to work), a game like this needs a pretty big fanbase.

    Im going to give it a 7/10 because I like the idea behind brink, I like the aesthetics, and I enjoyed the gameplay, it's just missing something and I can't pinpoint what it is.
    Expand
  18. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    This game is pretty polished. However it's not really meant for everyone. It requires heavy team play and objectives are pretty bland. The arsenals are alright and pretty well balanced in my opinion. The GUI menus are confusing. The developers are trying to create a menu system which caters for both PC and console platform which is isn't that bad but still nothing compared to full PC menu GUIs.
  19. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Decent multiplayer battle arena with a plot. I wish that the single player had been better thought out as it just feels tacked on but the whole thing is a worthwhile experiment that I hope others follow and refine.
  20. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I have enjoyed Brink mostly because it takes a different approach to the FPS genre that is beginning to get cliche' The character customization is excellent and the storyline, while not the best I have seen, brings a certain element to it that makes me think of the war in the original Tribes game that I loved. The drivers for ATI were a bit lacking but I am able to play the gameI have enjoyed Brink mostly because it takes a different approach to the FPS genre that is beginning to get cliche' The character customization is excellent and the storyline, while not the best I have seen, brings a certain element to it that makes me think of the war in the original Tribes game that I loved. The drivers for ATI were a bit lacking but I am able to play the game consistently. If you are looking for something that is enjoyable but will not take over your life, this might be for you. Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2011
    7
    This game isn't bad, it needs work, but it isn't bad. This game is a pretty average FPS, run, jump shoot, pretty standard stuff. It does however have a pretty weak story, and it feels too much like your playing Multiplayer instead of a campaign. It also has it's fair share of bugs I have heard, I have yet to run into any. I wouldn't buy this game at a full retail price, but if you happenThis game isn't bad, it needs work, but it isn't bad. This game is a pretty average FPS, run, jump shoot, pretty standard stuff. It does however have a pretty weak story, and it feels too much like your playing Multiplayer instead of a campaign. It also has it's fair share of bugs I have heard, I have yet to run into any. I wouldn't buy this game at a full retail price, but if you happen to see it on sale somewhere for pretty cheap I would check it out. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    Brink is a good game. With fun movements using blur style for the action. Its great in graphics, weapons customization and player customization. However it lacks on making each class available not as unique as one would expect.
  23. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    It's fun. While it's not game-changer, Brink offers a bit of question to the whole video game premise of following orders and doing your job, as portrayed through the two-sided missions. The conflict is truly polarizing and a real moral predicament. Gun selection isn't quite a Missouri veteran's closet, but gets the job done. The parkour mechanic was intended to add a dimension to theIt's fun. While it's not game-changer, Brink offers a bit of question to the whole video game premise of following orders and doing your job, as portrayed through the two-sided missions. The conflict is truly polarizing and a real moral predicament. Gun selection isn't quite a Missouri veteran's closet, but gets the job done. The parkour mechanic was intended to add a dimension to the combat (as opposed to other games' parkour-only or segregated game play), but ends up being an upgraded sprint function that amounts to slightly amusing camera angles while you hold shift on your way to the battle. The lack of class distinction is a real pain, but the customization fun makes up for that. Voice acting is great, and the back-story really does a civil conflict justice. Expand
  24. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    some things i didnt include in my earlier review: great loadout custimization potential, good sound, good graphics, good story line, good music, all around good.
  25. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    Brink has an immersive story and a great atmosphere, thanks to a well thought-out plot and an excellent soundtrack. Unfortunately the game is simply poorly built in order for it to be any fun.
  26. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    Surely a well-created game, but some things could be better.
    The Multiplayer gaming is very weak and slow, when you are playing everything you do with The keyboard is done in late. This is very bad for an action game!
    And the whole game is based on a schematc story very boring. But in the single-player mode it's wonderful (if you are using a powerful computer) And it's obviously a not
    Surely a well-created game, but some things could be better.
    The Multiplayer gaming is very weak and slow, when you are playing everything you do with The keyboard is done in late. This is very bad for an action game!
    And the whole game is based on a schematc story very boring. But in the single-player mode it's wonderful (if you are using a powerful computer)
    And it's obviously a not realistic game, infact you can jump from more of 5 meters and continue to fight as like nothing had happened. The fact that you can bring wiht you a turret rotating barrels and place it in the middle of the fight in not so realistic. But I recommend Brink to anyone who likes this kind of game (and to anyone who has a mighty computer)
    Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2014
    7
    Despite having some launch issues and patches, this game is straight up underrated. If you are looking for an similar game like Enemy Territory then Brink does not deliver it. But it is actually quite an enjoyable team objective based shooter when you give it an change and compare the standards of shooters nowadays. It has decent artistic style, some can argue the characters look ugly,Despite having some launch issues and patches, this game is straight up underrated. If you are looking for an similar game like Enemy Territory then Brink does not deliver it. But it is actually quite an enjoyable team objective based shooter when you give it an change and compare the standards of shooters nowadays. It has decent artistic style, some can argue the characters look ugly, thus you can hide them in masks to begin with. Weapon choice is quite good. Upgrades work. Balanced so you cant spawn trap. Sadly not many people gave this game a change that i think it honestly deserves. It has its flaws yet for an fast paced team objective based shooter i think it succeeds. Expand
  28. May 13, 2011
    6
    +Cool / different art style. Looks pretty good.
    +I haven't had any technical problems. Controls well / runs well.
    +Character / weapon customization is fun.
    -Single player experience is really boring. Think Tf2 w/ bots and holding E on objectives.
    -Multi player experience is dodgy. Server browser isn't so good and its laggy even in
  29. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    It's what should be delicious mix between Team Fortress 2, Mirrors Edge and Modern Warfare, but comes out with more flaws than abject genius, and is not as good as any of the above.
  30. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    Brink isn't a bad game, but it has flaws that hamper the experience for me. Terrible performance, even after the patch (with my pretty good mid range gaming PC), way too repetitive level designs (even for me, who can take linear areas easily and not get bored), overlly generous experience rewards, and a kind of disappointment that settles in slowly over time after you defend the game toothBrink isn't a bad game, but it has flaws that hamper the experience for me. Terrible performance, even after the patch (with my pretty good mid range gaming PC), way too repetitive level designs (even for me, who can take linear areas easily and not get bored), overlly generous experience rewards, and a kind of disappointment that settles in slowly over time after you defend the game tooth and nail after buying it.

    This isn't like Duke Nukem Forever, which is a game I will defend tooth and nail because I am shocked at how NOT GOD AWFUL that game is. But for Brink, it just slowly lost it's fun factor over time, and I no longer am willing to play it, sadly. I understand what the designers went for, and it works for the most part; but even the over the top shooting or weapons can't fix the terrible performance issues that make the experience feel slow and drawn out. Maybe after I get that ATI 11.6 driver update that's supposed to improve the performance, then maybe I will give this game a try. But for now, it's a curious game that I will play occassionally and only cautiously reccomend.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    84
    Brink is destined to be a cult classic (on PC), for us fans of Quake Wars. Has no single player value but high entry difficulty due to tight team focus and sprawling maps. Good, but not nearly as damn good as Quake Wars. I like Brink but it is no wonder that most gamers don't. [June 2011]
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    60
    Who would have thought that this highly ambitious concept would turn out to be such a bland game?
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    75
    Brink's unique visual style and great customization options save the day. Although its core gameplay needs some polishing, it's a solid multiplayer-only experience nevertheless. [July 2011, p.81]