Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 530 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’sBrink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’s last refuge for humanity. Brink offers a compelling mix of dynamic battlefields, extensive customization options, and an innovative control system that will keep you coming back for more. A man-made floating city called the Ark, made up of hundreds of separate floating islands, is on the brink of all-out civil war. Originally built as an experimental self-sufficient and 100% "green" habitat, the reported rapid rise of the Earth's oceans has forced the Ark to become a refuge for humanity. Crammed with the original Ark founders, their descendants, as well as tens of thousands of refugees, the Ark exists in total isolation from the rest of the world. With 25 years of social unrest, the inhabitants of the Ark have reached their breaking point. It's up to you to decide the future of the Ark and the human race. Blurring the Lines Between Offline and Online - Advance your character’s development across every gameplay mode: single player, co-op, and multiplayer. Gain experience points that you can spend on customizing and upgrading your skills and abilities, designing an entirely unique look and feel for your character. Brink uses the familiar shooter controls that you're used to, without frustrating, artificial constraints and takes advantage of a new feature: the SMART button. When you press the SMART button, the game dynamically evaluates where you’re trying to get to, and makes it happen. No need to perfectly time a jump or vault, the game knows what you want to do. Objectives, communications, mission generation, and inventory selection are all dynamically generated based on your role, your status, your location, your squad-mates, and the status of the battle in all gameplay modes. You'll always know exactly where to go, what to do when you get there, and what your reward will be for success. Brink’s proprietary technology, Virtual Texturing, breaks new ground on current-gen consoles and PCs with an even greater focus on highly detailed characters, realistic environments, lighting, effects, and atmospherics. This competitive lead on the squad-combat genre helps thrust players into the gritty reality of the Ark's epic secluded arcology. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. May 10, 2011
    86
    Brink is a worthy buy for anyone who doesn't absolutely hate multiplayer FPS action. It blurs the line between single-player and multiplayer styles, introduces an effective new movement system, and finds ways of discouraging all the obnoxious behavior common in most multiplayer shooters. The campaign is long, and the different classes allow you to play each mission over and over without getting bored.
  2. May 16, 2011
    83
    A daring proposal that, if succesful, is a step forward for a genre prone to stagnation, as it mixes altogether campaign, multiplayer, cooperative and competitive. With good ideas well executed, it may be liked more or less depending on the player, but deserves an opportunity.
  3. May 10, 2011
    80
    It's not without its faults, some of which are more serious than others, but Splash Damage achieves the impossible: a game that feels fresh in the stalest of genres.
  4. May 16, 2011
    70
    In the end, Brink is another of those games that we see every so often; the games that have incredible potential and truly unique ideas but fail in their implementation. This could have been a great game, it could've been a hit and it could've given shooter fans a reason to return to a genre that has lost much of its originality over the last handful of years. Unfortunately for us and for its developer, the keyword here is "could've", because there's little here that makes Brink the genre redefining game some of us hoped it would be.
  5. May 30, 2011
    70
    There's very little question that Brink is highly geared towards the multiplayer crowd. The SMART system and the well done visuals are very attractive, but the level design imbalances and small map variety don't offer much in the way of longevity. There's a lot of promise in the game but only the most patient of players might be willing to see that promise realized.
  6. May 10, 2011
    65
    An online shooter needs variety, depth, and addictiveness to succeed over the long term. Brink might find a niche with some hardcore fans, but it isn't for everyone. The PC version feels more complete than its console counterpart, but my qualms over content remain the same. Brink has heart, but the overall package is lacking.
  7. May 18, 2011
    40
    On the brink of greatness, Brink employs objective-based matches to churn out a dull, frustrating time.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 278
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    What can I say, I love this game. Is it like any other game on the market? Bits from here and pieces from there. What is great about Brink isWhat can I say, I love this game. Is it like any other game on the market? Bits from here and pieces from there. What is great about Brink is that it pulls in aspects from so many other games and puts it into an amazing package. Coming from a RTCW and ET background, no other game has come close to filling in the void that my first real game has created. Finally something has come to fit the bill. What you have here is a team based game. Maps are driven by objectives instead of kills and each person is vital in some way to the success of the team. Add in fast movements and actual gunfights that don't end from a single bullet and you start to see what Brink offers. Definitely a great buy for me. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Refreshing break from Call of Duty and it has some interesting gameplay. Also it is very fun with its additional features it has than otherRefreshing break from Call of Duty and it has some interesting gameplay. Also it is very fun with its additional features it has than other FPS shooter games out there like Battlefield or Call of Duty. Expand
  3. May 15, 2011
    9
    I was, in a way, dreading release of this game, which was gifted to me on steam (as a Christmas present by my little bro!).

    However, I was
    I was, in a way, dreading release of this game, which was gifted to me on steam (as a Christmas present by my little bro!).

    However, I was pleasantly surprised! Brink is a very fast-paced game, more akin to TF2 than anything else. The classes and abilities are very similar - a lot of which must be earned through experience and level points a la Battlefield 2 style. Whilst the ability to customise your avatar is nice, for an old school gamer like me it's pointless gimmickry - I'd rather see more weapons and abilities!

    I'm still getting to grips with the parkouring abilities (you'll need to select a "light" body type to be able to, for example, wall-run), but I feel that having the skills to use this ability will lead to some stunning kills in MP matches!

    Single player can be fun - but it's blatantly tacked on to the main game and serves more as tutorial than a game in it's own right. Buying this game for the SP experience only is like buying a high-performance car and only taking it out to go get the weekly shopping!

    Multiplayer still needs some improvement - games can be somewhat laggy, but not horrendously so. I'm on a 3.5Mbps ADSL connection (slow compared to my previous 50Mbps cable!), but it's still been playable, without too much grumbling.

    On the whole, would I recommend this game? Yes! It's a good game - it'll be awesome once the MP lag issues are sorted!
    Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    7
    All in all, I have to say I like it. The graphics are well done, the sound is spot on, the controls arn't horrible, and the gameplay is topAll in all, I have to say I like it. The graphics are well done, the sound is spot on, the controls arn't horrible, and the gameplay is top notch. That being said, there are quite a few bugs that need to be worked out before I give it a 10. Sometimes sound will cease to work, sometimes there are graphical issues and freezing on menus. Also, there seems to be a bit more optimization on the 3d rendering code as Brink requires a top cost, hardcore, machine. Expect to be playing on default graphics settings until they work this out. My recommendation is buy this if you are chomping at the bit for a new FPS. If you arn't, I would wait until some of the kinks are worked out. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    I really think this game is bad. I get no satisfaction for kills, and the gameplay feels bland because of it. It's like COD and TF2 had aI really think this game is bad. I get no satisfaction for kills, and the gameplay feels bland because of it. It's like COD and TF2 had a mutated and ugly baby. :) Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    4
    Its great as a tech demo.
    As a game, its useless, for anyone older than 12 years. Strip away the graphics and its good old high speed, no
    Its great as a tech demo.
    As a game, its useless, for anyone older than 12 years. Strip away the graphics and its good old high speed, no point shooter. Quasi-macho style is nothing new. Still pitiful tho.
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    this is the worst crap ive ever played. i got it since release and it was full of bugs, now i played it again for a few minutes, after severalthis is the worst crap ive ever played. i got it since release and it was full of bugs, now i played it again for a few minutes, after several patches, its still a fu**ing piece of **** Expand

See all 278 User Reviews

Trailers