Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first graphic adventure by Tim Schafer in 16 years, Broken Age began with the help of a record-breaking Kickstarter campaign. Broken Age is a timeless coming-of-age story of barfing trees and talking spoons. Vella Tartine and Shay Volta are two teenagers in strangely similar situations, but radically different worlds. The player can freely switch between their stories, helping them take control of their own lives, and dealing with the unexpected adventures that follow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    95
    I haven’t felt this surge of nostalgia and excitement about a game in a long time, and I truly think Broken Age will be looked back fondly as one of the greats. That being said, the first Act is only a few short hours and ended on a nail-biting cliffhanger with no word on how long we’ll be waiting for the rest of the game.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Broken Age may be unfinished, but it's also delightful, beautiful, utterly charming and you really should play it right this second.
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    86
    Broken Age looks, sounds and plays so great that you can recommend it to anyone.
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Act One of Broken Age starts off strong, with an incredibly well-written storyline that props up some occasionally weak puzzle work. Let's hope Double Fine can follow through with Act Two when it arrives later this year.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Act 1 of Broken Age is a point and click adventure game in heart and soul, but doesn’t reach the heights of the LucasArts games of old. The game is beautiful and tells a great story; a snack to drift off to during these dark and dank days.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    I can't say if Broken Age is all that you hoped it would be. I for one found that this first act juggles its serious core story, humor and absurdities splendidly. My backer dollars seem very well invested, indeed.
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Broken Age's world may be fun to explore, but don't get too comfortable. Just as you fall into a steady groove with its story and puzzles, the game ends. Thankfully, the ending provides some resolution while also leaving you excited for the second act.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 73
  2. Negative: 12 out of 73
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    If you like point n' click adventures I can highly recommend this game.

    Some old school fans have some qualms, a lot are complaining that
    it is too easy, which it's not super hard I guess sure, but I personally thought some of the frustratingly difficult hair pulling puzzles of 90's games were effing annoying and not at all conducive to a fun gaming experience, I will say I think they are harder than the Telltale games (Which isn't saying much because those are really aimed at being super easy to bring in the broadest audience). It is short, only around 4 hours, but this is just the first half, the second should be released sometime later this year.

    But while short, it's a coherent, fun, engrossing story with characters that you really connect to and love even in the few hours you are with them.

    The voice acting is incredible and done by an all star cast and the score is magnificent, and the score is fantastic, I didn't really know about Peter McConnell before but I am definitely going to watch his work more closely after this.
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Broken Age (a.k.a., the Double Fine Adventure) just cemented how much I miss adventure games. After years of FPS and RTS (and years of not playing much of anything), playing Broken Age was a breath of fresh air -- the story is great (nicely done Mr. Schafer), the art and effects are the best I have seen in this genera, and the animation and controls feel like I remember (though part of me misses the old talk/use/put control options and the often funny dialog that came from them, these new controls will work much better on tablets). My only downside is that the puzzles were easier than I hoped, which moved me through areas too quickly to enjoy the work that went into them -- I'm confident Act II will beef up the complexity. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    From the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humor on the dialogues make for an unique experience, from start to finish.

    Puzzles are logical, so an experienced adventure gamer won't be stuck so easily. Some people will find it too easy, some people will get stuck on one or two of them, but will quickly find the answer, for sure.

    The interface is simple yet elegant. Based on a touch screen UX, it does not do any favor to PC gamers. Dragging and dropping items is not exactly the best solution for mouse support, but it is not a deal breaker at all.

    At some point later on the game you will realize that you are looking to a classic point and click, witch a beautiful landscape, some backtrack action and amazing character personalities. I played this game with a smile on my face from the beginning to the end (4 hours long), and one cannot ignore this.

    It is not Tim Schafer's masterpiece (yet), but its characters and the story makes this one of the best out there.
    Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    This is a beautiful, artistic game. The point of the game is not really enjoy the playing, but the experience. the puzzles are too easy, but every puzzle has an implicit reflection, a meditated impression that Tim Schafer wants to print on anyone of the players. I am really waiting for the second act. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    Bon jeu mais on se retrouve parfois bloquer soyer sur de tous regarder !
    Sinon super jeu graphisme magnifique super embiance et surtout super
    sous-titre en francais des vrai pas du google traduction !! Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    This game is pretty good. I love the art style, the game itself is pretty easy, BUT the story is just great. I think this is one of the best story game I ever played. The voice actors are really good and you have two main character which I both really like. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2014
    0
    $100 Kickstarter backer here. Big mistake. Coming up on 3 years now, the documentary and all communication has ceased, and no game in sight. I have to say, while the first half was somewhat amusing, it was a huge step BACKWARDS in adventure gaming mechanics and gameplay. Single click does everything. Puzzles clearly dumbed down for an audience that doesn't play adventure game as much. Really bad atmosphere in a lot of the scenes, somewhat boring, even. All in all, this game was a huge letdown, and it they won't even release the 2nd half and just let it die. Well, I learned my lesson. Don't back DoubleFine games until they are fully released. Seeing as how they said they run out of the money they asked for and then-some just for the 1st half (10x more money then they asked for in the kickstarter) I am not holding my breath regarding part 2. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.