Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    This sequel ignores the less popular Broken Sword 3 and 4. One the one hand that's great, because it revives the atmosphere of the first two games and it works. But technically it's not up to date and the important puzzles are too easy to solve. But there's hope for part 2.
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    The Serpent’s Curse might be a little bit like the recent Veromica Mars movie, where if you’re a fan of the series then you might be happy enough just seeing what George and Nico are up to. But for everybody else, there isn’t much to get excited about, and there are probably better options out there for your gaming time and money.
  3. games(TM)
    Feb 12, 2014
    Good quality writing and voice acting help things along, but this is a game best experienced as a whole and does nothing to claim any but the most enthusiastic of point-and-click experts. [Issue#144, p.100]
  4. CD-Action
    Feb 10, 2014
    I love Broken Swords and this one returns to the tradition of the first two games, which are the best in the series. If only this new sword were longer... [02/2014, p.64]
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    The thing is, if you’re a real Broken Sword fan then you’ll already own this from your Kickstarter pledge, and you’re just here to check in to see what the port quality is like. If you’ve enjoyed Broken Sword in the past (and especially the earlier ones) then you’ll not be disappointed here, as from the intrigue through to Rolf Saxon this is a Broken Sword game through and through.
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse - Part 1 is thoughtfully constructed with low-pressure environments and the promise of a global thriller with a supernatural curse reaching back to Biblical times. It’s strung me along this far, so I’m ready for part 2, but part 1 is doing very little to hint at any major payoff for this sleepy but good-natured point-and-click adventure.
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    A classic adventure game with a story full of conspiracy and familiar figures. Its creators honour their own heritage, but they do not risk to stick to it less than firmly. The new Broken Sword is almost identical to the original.
  8. Dec 10, 2013
    It's a real pleasure to meet again with George Stobbart et Nico, above all when it's in a 2D game, which cleverly comes back to the origins. But let's face the truth : Broken Sword 5 is a very nice point'n click, but it's still not perfect. Puzzles are too easy and the game is technically old fashioned.
  9. Dec 19, 2013
    Breaking Broken Sword: The Serpent's Curse in two was not a good idea. When the plot finally starts to mesh everything is postponed to a later date and the player stays dry mouthed. For the rest, however, it is still the beautiful Broken Sword.
  10. Jan 15, 2014
    In Broken Sword 5, Revolution Software tried to mimic Revolution Software circa 1996, but, for the most part, it failed.
  11. Jan 30, 2014
    Broken Sword 5 will slowly worm itself into your affections if you expose yourself to its ever so gentle humour for long enough.
  12. Jan 20, 2014
    Broken Sword 5 could be a nice dip in the past, but the puzzles are too easy to solve and the story waits long before due time to get interesting. There’s the second episode to hope in but perhaps, as in the case of the relationship between Nico and George, letting go of the past could really be for the best.
  13. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    A true return to the series’ roots and a homage to the first game. Shows a lot of promise that we can only hope will be fulfilled in the second part. [Issue#237]
  14. Dec 23, 2013
    With the second part added, Broken Sword 5 could certainly reach beyond three stars – but, until then, it's wise to remain agnostic about Charles Cecil's latest offering.
  15. Dec 18, 2013
    Being broken into two parts only serves to hurt Broken Sword 5. The game was clearly developed as a whole and then chopped up – meaning you are left with all of the exposition in Episode 1, and none of the pay-off.
  16. Dec 11, 2013
    The Serpent's Curse just feels rushed. The well-researched plot takes its sweet time to truly get going and when it does, it's already over again. So, taken by itself, this first episode feels pretty average. It's up to the second half to pull the chestnuts out of the fire.
  17. Dec 9, 2013
    As a reminder of the old days of the series, The Serpent’s Curse just about serves its purpose; it sounds the same, works the same and, mostly, looks the same. But as a contender on the modern point-and-click landscape it offers little to drag players away from the new age of superior soirees.
  18. Dec 6, 2013
    I hope that, when episode two launches, I'll be bemoaning my own idiocy and falling over myself to award the complete game a much higher score. For now, though, I'm playing it safe: until I know how the whole thing plays out, my recommendation is guarded.
  19. Dec 4, 2013
    Revolution revived the Broken Sword with The Serpent's Curse, which is rudely divided (we could say "broken") in two parts. This first episode of the investigation is pleasant to follow, and even a little easy, it offers some of what fans expect from this point & click series: the humor of unusual characters and a funny world of clichés, but it misses the dark fantastic side, pushed back to the next episode. So, we keep a cool head and we wait for Episode 2.
  20. 60
    Pure fan service in every sense, which ensures an enjoyably nostalgic adventure but also means a number of flaws that wouldn’t be tolerated in other circumstances.
  21. Dec 4, 2013
    Despite its flaws, Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse has a lot to offer avid fans of the series, who will relish the opportunity to play a new installment built on traditional 2D values.
  22. Dec 17, 2013
    The first episode of George and Nico's return is a disappointing experience, unable to achieve its dreams. The game works fine, but the story itself lacks of punch and ends suddenly, when things start to get interesting. We can only hope that the best is yet to come, maybe in the second chapter.
  23. Dec 17, 2013
    The Serpent's Curse plays like a classic point-and-click adventure, but the story takes too long to get interesting, the characters are quite implausible and the puzzles are hardly a challenge.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    Really dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifullyReally dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifully crafted game like this gets 60% and an unplayable mess like BF4 gets 83% or more. As for my review of the game I'm not that far in but very happy with what I've seen thus far.

    It's much more in line with the first 2 Broken swords beautiful hand drawn 2D graphics and enjoyable *if not overly difficult puzzles'. I hope this is a big success and Beneath a Steel Sky 2 is equally successful the original is one of my favourite games of all time.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    Everybody who is giving this game a 10 are obviously fans of the series becuase this game as good as it is has many flaws the game is in noEverybody who is giving this game a 10 are obviously fans of the series becuase this game as good as it is has many flaws the game is in no way as good as the first one the puzzles are incredibly easy, it feels too linear unlike the first which had lots of freedom it feels more like 2 in that sense personally i feel the humour is to in your face and less witty than the originals but dont get me wrong i enjoed every minute of pplaying it and look forward to the second part also have to give credit to the great Rolf Saxon for yet another great perfomance of George my rating 7/10 Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    this Game is a fail by all means!!
    The Goods:
    1- Graphic are nice, well drawn backgrounds and ambience. The Bads: 1- No Hard Puzzles, all
    this Game is a fail by all means!!
    The Goods:
    1- Graphic are nice, well drawn backgrounds and ambience.
    The Bads:
    1- No Hard Puzzles, all puzzles were easy, even a 8 years kid can solve them. every puzzle or challenge have the solution thrown in the floor in front of your face.
    2- Bad Humor. very childish attempts to make some characters funny.
    3- Short Story: Come on!! the story is so short and simple go from point A to Point B with no Complicated Plot. every thing was obvious and has no surprizes or twists.
    4- this (2) parts thing is so Disturbing, why didn't they make one decent part that we can enjoy playing?
    5- Nico is useless: Nice almost had no part in this game you play with nico, but usually she has her own way of solving challenges, now in this part) she is presented as only sexy reporter.

    as a Broken sword fan, i am very Disapointed and upset. i waited almost one year for a crappy game.

    I think i am gonna buy the next part only because i am a loyal fan of Broken sword hoping it will get better.

    Bottom line:
    The development team spent time on the graphics more than the story it self, I think they hired a little kid to design the puzzles. Don't buy this Game now, wait until the next episode is released and play them together, This 50% 50% Story thing is disgusting, most of the game play Hours is spent with listening to Childish Dialogues.
    Full Review »