Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    In its current form, The Serpent’s Curse is half finished. The second episode isn’t due out until sometime this month but do not fear, episode one is pretty substantial and ends with a satisfactory cliffhanger.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    85
    A perfect mix of humour and intrigue is what separates Broken Sword from other games out there. It's not as foreign and “silly” as Deponia, not as serious as Gabriel Knight and Agatha Christie, not as incredible (in the literal meaning of the word), as The Next Big Thing. Broken Sword is just Broken Sword. There is no comparison.
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    82
    George Stobbart and Nico Collard are sleuthing again, and it feels pretty good.
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    80
    Eminently playable, cheekily characterised and delectably artistic, The Serpent’s Curse rekindles the romance of the much-loved Broken Sword series.
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    80
    There may be some complaints about the game being a linear affair, with nothing in the way of free-form exploration. Those complaints are absolutely accurate, but I hardly view it's linear approach as something to whine about. It lets the story run it's course without the chance of the player running off the rails trying to dig around through a branching story.
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Smart, occasionally funny, and immediately charming, Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse is easy to recommend based on its strong narrative, memorable characters, and artistic merit. The game is a vibrant return to form for the series, and should easily please the series' and point-and-click adventure game fans alike.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    A solid return to form for a long-running series with a proud heritage -- though right now it's left frustratingly hanging and thus may provide a better experience once it's all wrapped up.
  8. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    These points aside, the first episode of Broken Sword 5 is a lot of fun and a welcome return to form for the series.
  9. Dec 8, 2013
    80
    Fans of the series shouldn’t hesitate – this is the Broken Sword you know and love – but I can understand other people being wary.
  10. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Funny, intriguing and effortlessly charming, Broken Sword 5: The Serpents Curse is an old fashioned point and click romp that feels like a breath of fresh, Parisian air.
  11. Jan 31, 2014
    79
    Less technically adept than modern competitors, but The Serpent's Curse Part 1 is a pleasing start to a new Broken Sword story. [March 2014, p.54]
  12. Apr 21, 2014
    77
    The lighthearted banter, the brightly colored scenes, enticing mystery, and solid puzzles make this something that the original Kickstarter campaign promised: "fan service aimed directly at those aching to experience one more story involving one of adventure gaming's favorite teams."
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    77
    Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse - Episode 1 is only half of the whole game: when it finally catches our attention, the story ends abruptly.
  14. Jan 14, 2014
    76
    A gorgeous return. Simpler than we remember, but no less charming for it. [Feb 2014, p.73]
  15. Jan 26, 2014
    75
    Broken Sword 5: Serpent’s Curse is an adventure game through and through. The satisfaction comes not from high speed chases, but rather from patiently working the clues to uncover layers of mystery heaped upon one another hiding an evil curse. Here’s the rub – it’s half of a game.
  16. Dec 16, 2013
    75
    Broken Sword 5 is a real Broken Sword: the couple of protagonists is still great, the gameplay is classic and fine. Too bad that when the story gets interesting, the title ends and postpones all the unanswered questions.
  17. Apr 27, 2014
    74
    This sequel ignores the less popular Broken Sword 3 and 4. One the one hand that's great, because it revives the atmosphere of the first two games and it works. But technically it's not up to date and the important puzzles are too easy to solve. But there's hope for part 2.
  18. Apr 27, 2014
    70
    The Serpent’s Curse might be a little bit like the recent Veromica Mars movie, where if you’re a fan of the series then you might be happy enough just seeing what George and Nico are up to. But for everybody else, there isn’t much to get excited about, and there are probably better options out there for your gaming time and money.
  19. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    Good quality writing and voice acting help things along, but this is a game best experienced as a whole and does nothing to claim any but the most enthusiastic of point-and-click experts. [Issue#144, p.100]
  20. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    I love Broken Swords and this one returns to the tradition of the first two games, which are the best in the series. If only this new sword were longer... [02/2014, p.64]
  21. Jan 8, 2014
    70
    The thing is, if you’re a real Broken Sword fan then you’ll already own this from your Kickstarter pledge, and you’re just here to check in to see what the port quality is like. If you’ve enjoyed Broken Sword in the past (and especially the earlier ones) then you’ll not be disappointed here, as from the intrigue through to Rolf Saxon this is a Broken Sword game through and through.
  22. Jan 6, 2014
    70
    Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse - Part 1 is thoughtfully constructed with low-pressure environments and the promise of a global thriller with a supernatural curse reaching back to Biblical times. It’s strung me along this far, so I’m ready for part 2, but part 1 is doing very little to hint at any major payoff for this sleepy but good-natured point-and-click adventure.
  23. Dec 18, 2013
    70
    A classic adventure game with a story full of conspiracy and familiar figures. Its creators honour their own heritage, but they do not risk to stick to it less than firmly. The new Broken Sword is almost identical to the original.
  24. Dec 10, 2013
    70
    It's a real pleasure to meet again with George Stobbart et Nico, above all when it's in a 2D game, which cleverly comes back to the origins. But let's face the truth : Broken Sword 5 is a very nice point'n click, but it's still not perfect. Puzzles are too easy and the game is technically old fashioned.
  25. Dec 19, 2013
    68
    Breaking Broken Sword: The Serpent's Curse in two was not a good idea. When the plot finally starts to mesh everything is postponed to a later date and the player stays dry mouthed. For the rest, however, it is still the beautiful Broken Sword.
  26. Jan 15, 2014
    65
    In Broken Sword 5, Revolution Software tried to mimic Revolution Software circa 1996, but, for the most part, it failed.
  27. Jan 30, 2014
    60
    Broken Sword 5 will slowly worm itself into your affections if you expose yourself to its ever so gentle humour for long enough.
  28. Jan 20, 2014
    60
    Broken Sword 5 could be a nice dip in the past, but the puzzles are too easy to solve and the story waits long before due time to get interesting. There’s the second episode to hope in but perhaps, as in the case of the relationship between Nico and George, letting go of the past could really be for the best.
  29. 60
    A true return to the series’ roots and a homage to the first game. Shows a lot of promise that we can only hope will be fulfilled in the second part. [Issue#237]
  30. Dec 23, 2013
    60
    With the second part added, Broken Sword 5 could certainly reach beyond three stars – but, until then, it's wise to remain agnostic about Charles Cecil's latest offering.
  31. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    Being broken into two parts only serves to hurt Broken Sword 5. The game was clearly developed as a whole and then chopped up – meaning you are left with all of the exposition in Episode 1, and none of the pay-off.
  32. Dec 11, 2013
    60
    The Serpent's Curse just feels rushed. The well-researched plot takes its sweet time to truly get going and when it does, it's already over again. So, taken by itself, this first episode feels pretty average. It's up to the second half to pull the chestnuts out of the fire.
  33. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    As a reminder of the old days of the series, The Serpent’s Curse just about serves its purpose; it sounds the same, works the same and, mostly, looks the same. But as a contender on the modern point-and-click landscape it offers little to drag players away from the new age of superior soirees.
  34. Dec 6, 2013
    60
    I hope that, when episode two launches, I'll be bemoaning my own idiocy and falling over myself to award the complete game a much higher score. For now, though, I'm playing it safe: until I know how the whole thing plays out, my recommendation is guarded.
  35. Dec 4, 2013
    60
    Revolution revived the Broken Sword with The Serpent's Curse, which is rudely divided (we could say "broken") in two parts. This first episode of the investigation is pleasant to follow, and even a little easy, it offers some of what fans expect from this point & click series: the humor of unusual characters and a funny world of clichés, but it misses the dark fantastic side, pushed back to the next episode. So, we keep a cool head and we wait for Episode 2.
  36. 60
    Pure fan service in every sense, which ensures an enjoyably nostalgic adventure but also means a number of flaws that wouldn’t be tolerated in other circumstances.
  37. Dec 4, 2013
    60
    Despite its flaws, Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse has a lot to offer avid fans of the series, who will relish the opportunity to play a new installment built on traditional 2D values.
  38. Dec 17, 2013
    55
    The first episode of George and Nico's return is a disappointing experience, unable to achieve its dreams. The game works fine, but the story itself lacks of punch and ends suddenly, when things start to get interesting. We can only hope that the best is yet to come, maybe in the second chapter.
  39. Dec 17, 2013
    50
    The Serpent's Curse plays like a classic point-and-click adventure, but the story takes too long to get interesting, the characters are quite implausible and the puzzles are hardly a challenge.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Really dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifullyReally dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifully crafted game like this gets 60% and an unplayable mess like BF4 gets 83% or more. As for my review of the game I'm not that far in but very happy with what I've seen thus far.

    It's much more in line with the first 2 Broken swords beautiful hand drawn 2D graphics and enjoyable *if not overly difficult puzzles'. I hope this is a big success and Beneath a Steel Sky 2 is equally successful the original is one of my favourite games of all time.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    Everybody who is giving this game a 10 are obviously fans of the series becuase this game as good as it is has many flaws the game is in noEverybody who is giving this game a 10 are obviously fans of the series becuase this game as good as it is has many flaws the game is in no way as good as the first one the puzzles are incredibly easy, it feels too linear unlike the first which had lots of freedom it feels more like 2 in that sense personally i feel the humour is to in your face and less witty than the originals but dont get me wrong i enjoed every minute of pplaying it and look forward to the second part also have to give credit to the great Rolf Saxon for yet another great perfomance of George my rating 7/10 Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    3
    this Game is a fail by all means!!
    The Goods:
    1- Graphic are nice, well drawn backgrounds and ambience. The Bads: 1- No Hard Puzzles, all
    this Game is a fail by all means!!
    The Goods:
    1- Graphic are nice, well drawn backgrounds and ambience.
    The Bads:
    1- No Hard Puzzles, all puzzles were easy, even a 8 years kid can solve them. every puzzle or challenge have the solution thrown in the floor in front of your face.
    2- Bad Humor. very childish attempts to make some characters funny.
    3- Short Story: Come on!! the story is so short and simple go from point A to Point B with no Complicated Plot. every thing was obvious and has no surprizes or twists.
    4- this (2) parts thing is so Disturbing, why didn't they make one decent part that we can enjoy playing?
    5- Nico is useless: Nice almost had no part in this game you play with nico, but usually she has her own way of solving challenges, now in this part) she is presented as only sexy reporter.

    as a Broken sword fan, i am very Disapointed and upset. i waited almost one year for a crappy game.

    I think i am gonna buy the next part only because i am a loyal fan of Broken sword hoping it will get better.

    Bottom line:
    The development team spent time on the graphics more than the story it self, I think they hired a little kid to design the puzzles. Don't buy this Game now, wait until the next episode is released and play them together, This 50% 50% Story thing is disgusting, most of the game play Hours is spent with listening to Childish Dialogues.
    Full Review »