Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    In its current form, The Serpent’s Curse is half finished. The second episode isn’t due out until sometime this month but do not fear, episode one is pretty substantial and ends with a satisfactory cliffhanger.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    85
    A perfect mix of humour and intrigue is what separates Broken Sword from other games out there. It's not as foreign and “silly” as Deponia, not as serious as Gabriel Knight and Agatha Christie, not as incredible (in the literal meaning of the word), as The Next Big Thing. Broken Sword is just Broken Sword. There is no comparison.
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    82
    George Stobbart and Nico Collard are sleuthing again, and it feels pretty good.
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    80
    Eminently playable, cheekily characterised and delectably artistic, The Serpent’s Curse rekindles the romance of the much-loved Broken Sword series.
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    80
    There may be some complaints about the game being a linear affair, with nothing in the way of free-form exploration. Those complaints are absolutely accurate, but I hardly view it's linear approach as something to whine about. It lets the story run it's course without the chance of the player running off the rails trying to dig around through a branching story.
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Smart, occasionally funny, and immediately charming, Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse is easy to recommend based on its strong narrative, memorable characters, and artistic merit. The game is a vibrant return to form for the series, and should easily please the series' and point-and-click adventure game fans alike.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    A solid return to form for a long-running series with a proud heritage -- though right now it's left frustratingly hanging and thus may provide a better experience once it's all wrapped up.
  8. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    These points aside, the first episode of Broken Sword 5 is a lot of fun and a welcome return to form for the series.
  9. Dec 8, 2013
    80
    Fans of the series shouldn’t hesitate – this is the Broken Sword you know and love – but I can understand other people being wary.
  10. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Funny, intriguing and effortlessly charming, Broken Sword 5: The Serpents Curse is an old fashioned point and click romp that feels like a breath of fresh, Parisian air.
  11. Jan 31, 2014
    79
    Less technically adept than modern competitors, but The Serpent's Curse Part 1 is a pleasing start to a new Broken Sword story. [March 2014, p.54]
  12. Apr 21, 2014
    77
    The lighthearted banter, the brightly colored scenes, enticing mystery, and solid puzzles make this something that the original Kickstarter campaign promised: "fan service aimed directly at those aching to experience one more story involving one of adventure gaming's favorite teams."
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    77
    Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse - Episode 1 is only half of the whole game: when it finally catches our attention, the story ends abruptly.
  14. Jan 14, 2014
    76
    A gorgeous return. Simpler than we remember, but no less charming for it. [Feb 2014, p.73]
  15. Jan 26, 2014
    75
    Broken Sword 5: Serpent’s Curse is an adventure game through and through. The satisfaction comes not from high speed chases, but rather from patiently working the clues to uncover layers of mystery heaped upon one another hiding an evil curse. Here’s the rub – it’s half of a game.
  16. Dec 16, 2013
    75
    Broken Sword 5 is a real Broken Sword: the couple of protagonists is still great, the gameplay is classic and fine. Too bad that when the story gets interesting, the title ends and postpones all the unanswered questions.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Really dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifullyReally dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifully crafted game like this gets 60% and an unplayable mess like BF4 gets 83% or more. As for my review of the game I'm not that far in but very happy with what I've seen thus far.

    It's much more in line with the first 2 Broken swords beautiful hand drawn 2D graphics and enjoyable *if not overly difficult puzzles'. I hope this is a big success and Beneath a Steel Sky 2 is equally successful the original is one of my favourite games of all time.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    Everybody who is giving this game a 10 are obviously fans of the series becuase this game as good as it is has many flaws the game is in noEverybody who is giving this game a 10 are obviously fans of the series becuase this game as good as it is has many flaws the game is in no way as good as the first one the puzzles are incredibly easy, it feels too linear unlike the first which had lots of freedom it feels more like 2 in that sense personally i feel the humour is to in your face and less witty than the originals but dont get me wrong i enjoed every minute of pplaying it and look forward to the second part also have to give credit to the great Rolf Saxon for yet another great perfomance of George my rating 7/10 Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    3
    this Game is a fail by all means!!
    The Goods:
    1- Graphic are nice, well drawn backgrounds and ambience. The Bads: 1- No Hard Puzzles, all
    this Game is a fail by all means!!
    The Goods:
    1- Graphic are nice, well drawn backgrounds and ambience.
    The Bads:
    1- No Hard Puzzles, all puzzles were easy, even a 8 years kid can solve them. every puzzle or challenge have the solution thrown in the floor in front of your face.
    2- Bad Humor. very childish attempts to make some characters funny.
    3- Short Story: Come on!! the story is so short and simple go from point A to Point B with no Complicated Plot. every thing was obvious and has no surprizes or twists.
    4- this (2) parts thing is so Disturbing, why didn't they make one decent part that we can enjoy playing?
    5- Nico is useless: Nice almost had no part in this game you play with nico, but usually she has her own way of solving challenges, now in this part) she is presented as only sexy reporter.

    as a Broken sword fan, i am very Disapointed and upset. i waited almost one year for a crappy game.

    I think i am gonna buy the next part only because i am a loyal fan of Broken sword hoping it will get better.

    Bottom line:
    The development team spent time on the graphics more than the story it self, I think they hired a little kid to design the puzzles. Don't buy this Game now, wait until the next episode is released and play them together, This 50% 50% Story thing is disgusting, most of the game play Hours is spent with listening to Childish Dialogues.
    Full Review »