Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: George Stobbart and Nico Collard reunite for a new adventure in Broken Sword: The Serpent's Curse.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    In its current form, The Serpent’s Curse is half finished. The second episode isn’t due out until sometime this month but do not fear, episode one is pretty substantial and ends with a satisfactory cliffhanger.
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    80
    Fans of the series shouldn’t hesitate – this is the Broken Sword you know and love – but I can understand other people being wary.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    80
    There may be some complaints about the game being a linear affair, with nothing in the way of free-form exploration. Those complaints are absolutely accurate, but I hardly view it's linear approach as something to whine about. It lets the story run it's course without the chance of the player running off the rails trying to dig around through a branching story.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    70
    It's a real pleasure to meet again with George Stobbart et Nico, above all when it's in a 2D game, which cleverly comes back to the origins. But let's face the truth : Broken Sword 5 is a very nice point'n click, but it's still not perfect. Puzzles are too easy and the game is technically old fashioned.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    I love Broken Swords and this one returns to the tradition of the first two games, which are the best in the series. If only this new sword were longer... [02/2014, p.64]
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    60
    Broken Sword 5 could be a nice dip in the past, but the puzzles are too easy to solve and the story waits long before due time to get interesting. There’s the second episode to hope in but perhaps, as in the case of the relationship between Nico and George, letting go of the past could really be for the best.
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    50
    The Serpent's Curse plays like a classic point-and-click adventure, but the story takes too long to get interesting, the characters are quite implausible and the puzzles are hardly a challenge.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Soy un gran fan de Broken Sword, los 2 primeros juegos de la saga, por historia y por jugabilidad están por encima de los 2 siguientes (BS3 y BS4).

    Doné 175$ para que viera la luz este nuevo capítulo y estoy disfrutando del juego, aqui dejo mis impresiones.

    Pro BS5 La esencia del primer Broken Sword está presente en Broken Sword 5: La maldición de la Serpiente ya que se recupera la jugabilidad, la inmersión en la historia, los dialogos, el colorido y los puzzles, juego a la altura de los primeros.

    Contras: Puzzles demasiado faciles, no me gusta la separación en capitulos.

    Salah eh din
    Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I like this game and hope it will more BS in the future. The graphics is fantastic and the story is very well built. It is time to come back to a meaningful games and stop playing stupid violent shooting an exploding games. The critics were not professional at all by rating it 6/10. They are just supporting the stupid shooting over rated games. We have to understand that this kind of adventure games should be supported and not discourage them. Over all fantastic game and go ahead guys. good job. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Really dont get the critics reviews all 60% are they copying and pasting from each other? Ratings make no sense when a playable beautifully crafted game like this gets 60% and an unplayable mess like BF4 gets 83% or more. As for my review of the game I'm not that far in but very happy with what I've seen thus far.

    It's much more in line with the first 2 Broken swords beautiful hand drawn 2D graphics and enjoyable *if not overly difficult puzzles'. I hope this is a big success and Beneath a Steel Sky 2 is equally successful the original is one of my favourite games of all time.
    Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Broken Sword back to its strengths, theres plenty of Stobbart charisma and the story is an interesting one, I'm a little disappointed with it being a little short but I look forward to the second half, hoping theres some tougher puzzles. But it is like others say a breath of fresh air, if they keep adding to the broken sword series I'll keep playing them. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2014
    8
    If you liked the previous Broken Sword games, or point & click-games in general, don't hesitate.
    + Great mystical story,
    + Very nice
    puzzles, several of them of mini-game type, like ciphers for example.
    + Nice difficulty level. Provides a smooth storytelling while making you 'actually' feel smart.
    + Gorgeous artwork throughout the game.
    + Alright humour, and great voice acting.

    - The episode splitting is very noticeable. Breaks the the storytelling. First scene is so obviously made for piloting/demoing.
    - Too few characters in certain environments. Feels desolated.
    - Lacking programming of dialogue. Large gaps of time between lines.
    - The quality of animation is far behind the quality of illustrations.

    Overall, had a GREAT experience. Recommend it to anyone who's in to mysteries/crime novels/etc.
    Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    7
    I didn't finish this game completely so I might change my review later when or if I found something interesting but so far I played it almost half so I believe I am suitable enough to write a review for making it easy to read I would group my review into few categories. first I would review the technical side of the game and then gameplay and then how it fits into the modern ideologies and then rest of the things.

    when it comes to technical side I will explain about graphics, sounds, technical issues ,saving, loading and its time. the graphics are obviously great and it's somehow awesome for a 2D game I would say it's quite rare to see hand made gorgeous ambient graphics in a western game though they are quite prominent in anime games like visual novels so I really like the ambient graphics but when it comes to the characters it's not that great they are look so boring and less detailed and I noticed that the items you can interact can be more detailed while not intractable items can be less detailed it's like an old school cartoon but it's not that visible unless you pay more attention to them. the game has both day and night missions and it looks amazing how it contrast the day & night different while the area is still same. the game is obviously in 2D but the characters are 2.5D and the entire game is fully HD but there are slight jaggy lines around the characters when they are far away from the screen but when they come close to the screen they disappear. the game has a fixed camera position so you can't rotate the camera. the option has only few settings. screen resolution, subtitles and its style like in comics you can see what player talks on top of him/her and obviously it's point and click style game.

    the sound is somewhat fine and it has ambient music and dialog sounds are really realistic but it doesn't make the player scared like in previous games you feel like it's calm even in serious situations but still the game tries to make it realistic depend on the situation and the game seems has only one music and it keeps playing in everywhere even in different places so it doesn't make any sense. and in option music, ambient sounds and the speech sounds' level can be changed. the game is required to have OpenAL installs so if someone doesn't have this software make sure to download and install unless it wouldn't work the dialogs are really realistic it doesn't sound perfect but still so realistic and people have different tongues depend on their mood like if they are mad the they sound like so mad and if they are playful they sound really playful and if they are romantic they sound romantic.

    there ain't any technical issues in the game the game seems rock solid but once right after the cut scene the game stuck for few seconds but again it fixed itself I didn't see any technical issue so far and loading and saving features are also perfect and the game loads immediately, game has a flawless frame rate and it doesn't stutter or lag at all. judging by its system requirements I would say if you have a P3 computer around 1000MHz speed and an onboard graphic card like Intel you can still play it without any issue but make sure the RAM has roughly 512MB space unless the game might constantly access to the hard disk in order to load its data so then they game might start lagging. the game needs at least Window XP machine but I am pretty sure you can still try on Windows 98 machine but I am not sure it works or not.

    the game play. the puzzles can be a bit hard when you are tired but when the mind is fresh they can be solved so easily, it needs some common sense but knowing about the European history and Christianity might be useful and the game seems less violent and no violence at all from the George but still Nico can be a bit violent and aggressive but I didn't see she attacks anyone. and the game is a bit funny because there are funny dialogs from time to time specially from George I guess he is my favorite character but sadly most of guys in the game can be a bit aggressive on him while respect the Nico. it makes me feel like most of guys in the game might want to sleep with nico.

    the game doesn't have any discrimination on anyone no sexism or racism and women and men are respected well but still I feel like George is respected less perhaps because he is a guy so the game might be slightly misandrist but again mostly guys treat him badly and women seem like george. there is a character in the game who resembles the look of putin and I feel like it makes fun of him. and the game has heavy religious root when it comes missions it's mostly about Christianity so if you have no idea about the Christianity and its history you might have to pay attention to dialogs unless you might miss a lot of important information. the game has a bit intermediate english so if you are from a non english speaking country it's better turn on the sub and keep a dictionary close to you.I guess that's all about it.
    Collapse
  7. Dec 7, 2013
    1
    This game was so disappointing that I don't feel as if I'd played a new Broken Sword at all. The thing I found the most disturbing was the way George and Nico's characterisation in The Serpent's Curse was absolutely different to that of the first two games. In the new game, they appear to lack ideals, critical faculty and their humane, ironic sense of humour. The way Nico is presented in the new game seems misogynist, she has no ideas of her own and the new actor plays her insipidly. Most of the female characters are man-hungry caricatures. The actual plot, dialogue and characters are childish and amateurish.
    I honestly love George and Nico in the first two games, and that's why I'm not looking forward to the second half of this one.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews