User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 80
  2. Negative: 7 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 11, 2003
    6
    This game is a very linear adventure, reminiscent of the King's Quest series of games. The plot is interesting, the gameplay is fairly smooth, but it's easy to get stuck trying to solve one puzzle and bring the game to a screeching halt until you figure out how to put the round peg into the square hole. Many will enjoy, but be prepared to be periodically frustrated.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    3
    Low rating because of the EXTREMELY POOR controls. The difficulty of the game is figuring out the default controls. There are few options to customize the controls. You will spend the first hour trying to figure out the controls to make your charter do the obvious. I quite playing and uninstalled this game because of the extreme frustration factor in the key controls. The game play is VERYLow rating because of the EXTREMELY POOR controls. The difficulty of the game is figuring out the default controls. There are few options to customize the controls. You will spend the first hour trying to figure out the controls to make your charter do the obvious. I quite playing and uninstalled this game because of the extreme frustration factor in the key controls. The game play is VERY basic, and not fun at all. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    It's an memorable game, with beautiful graphic's, well-written dialouges and a grabbing story. The story-telling is pretty good, it's never boring! Just cool. I also love the kind of humor George and Nicole has! Likeable guys :-)
  4. Jan 12, 2012
    0
    The controls on the game are so broken as to make it impossible to play expect for the most dedicated of fans. The Sleeping Dragon is the only installment that is not point-and-click. In fact, it's impossible to use the mouse for anything. Instead all major actions in the game are done by the keyboard. The game manual brags about this "hybrid" system but it's horrible. This is implicitlyThe controls on the game are so broken as to make it impossible to play expect for the most dedicated of fans. The Sleeping Dragon is the only installment that is not point-and-click. In fact, it's impossible to use the mouse for anything. Instead all major actions in the game are done by the keyboard. The game manual brags about this "hybrid" system but it's horrible. This is implicitly acknowledged by the fact that the fourth installment went back to the point-and-click system. People who can shudder their way through the UI might find an otherwise excellent game. But the UI in this game is so totally different than the other three games in the series that I strongly advise anyone thinking of purchasing The Sleeping Dragon to download a trial or play a friends game. This is not what you'd expect from the Broken Sword series and it's unfortunate that they tried this experiment in the middle of the series. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    The story, voice acting, dialogue, and lovable characters make you forgive the "eeh" controls. While the box puzzles are repetitive, the others are very clever. One of the best adventures ever.
  6. GertK.
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    Well done to the developers for keeping the Broken Sword series alive and well. It's an excellent game - one I enjoyed just as much as the previous Broken Sword titles, despite the transition to 3D. Looking forward to a sequel.
  7. BenC.fromBirmingham,UK
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    If you liked Broken Sword 1, and like me, thought BS2 was a bit lacking, fear not - this game has some of the great atmosphere and dialog of the first (and best IMHO) game. The transition for 2D to 3D works better than I imagined - the graphics really are lush! If you are after a story driven, rather than puzzle driven adventure game, this is a must, whether or not you have played either If you liked Broken Sword 1, and like me, thought BS2 was a bit lacking, fear not - this game has some of the great atmosphere and dialog of the first (and best IMHO) game. The transition for 2D to 3D works better than I imagined - the graphics really are lush! If you are after a story driven, rather than puzzle driven adventure game, this is a must, whether or not you have played either of the two provious games. Not as good as the first, but definitely better than the second Broken Sword. A worthy sequel. Expand
  8. AndrewM.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. I love all three BS games but this is simply the icing - and it's bloody sweet at that! It's all been said above, but just to repeat a couple of points: the graphics in this game are as attractive, breathtaking and intimate as any I've seen; the voice acting is as good as I've heard; and the story as interesting and immersing as the genre allows. Absolutely brilliant. I love all three BS games but this is simply the icing - and it's bloody sweet at that! It's all been said above, but just to repeat a couple of points: the graphics in this game are as attractive, breathtaking and intimate as any I've seen; the voice acting is as good as I've heard; and the story as interesting and immersing as the genre allows. Bottom line: the perfect adventure game. Please please please, Revolution, can we have more (just like this) of the wonderful adventure that is George and Nico's lives. Expand
  9. GeorgeW.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    If you have money for only one game this year you should buy this one. The engine of this game is the future of adventure games. The areas you have to explore are beautifully rendered. The game have a real cinematic feel. The plot is excellent as in the first two chapters of Broken Sword. The puzzles are not too easy but not too frustrating either. Overall i really enjoyed playing The If you have money for only one game this year you should buy this one. The engine of this game is the future of adventure games. The areas you have to explore are beautifully rendered. The game have a real cinematic feel. The plot is excellent as in the first two chapters of Broken Sword. The puzzles are not too easy but not too frustrating either. Overall i really enjoyed playing The Sleeping Dragon. It's an excellent title that can bring adventure games back to the top. Expand
  10. LeeW.
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    Rebirth of a genre!!!!!
  11. Canio
    Dec 14, 2003
    8
    Only two bad points, too short and an ending that doesnt suit well for me at least, though its still an excellent game overall, expecially the voice acting part. Its a game that every adventure gamers has to behold. A must!
  12. BogdanI.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    The best adventure game in years. Great engine, great graphics,great storyline. Forget about Syberia and The Longest Journey. Revolution done it again. This game is a must-have.
  13. AmjadZ.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    she's an exellent game,especialy th sound,he took a part from the entire game.
  14. Adventurer
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    Althought there's some flaws it's a wonderful game. I'm glad that adventure games aren't dead! Thanks Revolution for an another great game!
  15. TheKay
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    Bloody Fantastic!! George Stobart is back!!
  16. Aug 25, 2014
    3
    Reasonable story.
    Poor control system.
    Iffy graphics (some ok at best, some rather poor). Got this when it came out but I never finished it. I recently started it again but found the controls so horrible, and the puzzles annoying, that I ended up watching a series of walkthroughs on YouTube (from half-way though Prague) BS1 & 2 were almost perfect (even the directors cut) but this is
    Reasonable story.
    Poor control system.
    Iffy graphics (some ok at best, some rather poor).
    Got this when it came out but I never finished it. I recently started it again but found the controls so horrible, and the puzzles annoying, that I ended up watching a series of walkthroughs on YouTube (from half-way though Prague) BS1 & 2 were almost perfect (even the directors cut) but this is less than average
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 75
    An outstanding adventure game. The story is engrossing and authentic. While quite linear, it is very well told, and it almost feels like you are watching a movie where you play the lead role.
  2. Needless to say, this type of gameplay is hardly challenging, thought provoking, or enjoyable, for most serious gamers. However, what Broken Sword does do is very polished and offers a slick level of gameplay for the occasional gamer used to solitaire and minesweeper.
  3. A fairytale comeback. Extravagance was one of the signatures of the graphic adventure: extravagance to bring them in, and a cracking story well told to keep them.Both tenets of the Broken Sword series remain intact here, and that's all the devoted fans could have wanted. [Christmas 2003, p.94]