User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 83
  2. Negative: 3 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2015
    8
    I'd say that this game overall deserves a sensible 8 for being the best in the series.

    It gets most things perfectly, but sometimes it can get tedious on the puzzles and more often than not combining silly not obvious item with another silly not obvious item.

    Since it's a point and click masterpiece of the late 90s it's easy to rate this game high.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    Although the art and music are up to par, this game is a significant downgrade from the previous game in the series as far as writing and gameplay are concerned. The characters are cardboard cutouts of their previous selves, and dialogue is forced at best and poorly scripted - at times accidentally giving the player spoilers about puzzles they have yet to discover, but not allowing themAlthough the art and music are up to par, this game is a significant downgrade from the previous game in the series as far as writing and gameplay are concerned. The characters are cardboard cutouts of their previous selves, and dialogue is forced at best and poorly scripted - at times accidentally giving the player spoilers about puzzles they have yet to discover, but not allowing them to actually do whatever action the character seems to know is necessary until after an arbitrary conversation cue. Speaking of puzzles, they are arbitrary and confusing, and actions with no easily foreseen benefit must be done in a particular order to unlock options that are necessary to proceed. Transitions between major locations are both abrupt and automatic, whisking the player away to the next fairly random location with no warning. As far as game engine concerns: The player walks extremely slowly, especially on large, scrolling screens. You also cannot skip directly to the next screen just by clicking on a "go here" area anymore: you must watch the character walk the entire way. These problems are compounded by the large number of puzzles where you must walk back and forth between semi-distant locations in order to proceed. There are often long, awkward pauses between clicking on something and the resultant conversation or action beginning. It is extremely easy to accidentally skip entire cutscenes, which you cannot pause during in any way, and skipping through dialogue (mostly in cases where I had seen it already : The save system could use some work) seems marginally slower. The last, minor issue is just that the game seems a little bit short, and there's often no resolution for the minor subplots that come up before one is whisked away. Overall, this game could have been much better than it is. If it had good gameplay, it could have been a smoothly worked adventure with a mediocre story. If it had a great story, one could look past the engine to just enjoy the narrative. As it is? I guess I'll just hope the third one is better. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time, just as good as the first broken sword if not better, the story and characters are brilliant and Stobbart is compelling. I played the first two games in my mid teens and I can say its the only game to ever have a lasting influence on me. Anyone who enjoys humor, adventure, puzzles, film, or has an interest in history or the world should play thisThis is one of the best games of all time, just as good as the first broken sword if not better, the story and characters are brilliant and Stobbart is compelling. I played the first two games in my mid teens and I can say its the only game to ever have a lasting influence on me. Anyone who enjoys humor, adventure, puzzles, film, or has an interest in history or the world should play this game. These days people might not like this game as its not an action game but if you do play games occasionally or more frequently there will be something you can take away. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    What the hell is wrong with the critics!? This is one of the BEST adventures of ALL-TIME, and almost equally good as BS1! Really, MW3 has a better Metascore? Pfh....
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    6
    I actually agree with BadByron's view but I will give it a slightly higher rating. All things considered this is still a decent game. It's also a let down from the first one. The major difference is that the first one was a work of art; it was crafted. This has a rushed feeling to it; it's more stereotypical Hollywood story. The decision to allow the main character to die if you made aI actually agree with BadByron's view but I will give it a slightly higher rating. All things considered this is still a decent game. It's also a let down from the first one. The major difference is that the first one was a work of art; it was crafted. This has a rushed feeling to it; it's more stereotypical Hollywood story. The decision to allow the main character to die if you made a mistake was a poor one as it made saving the game a distraction. The hint system is also not as refined. The ending is shockingly poor. On the upside it still has fine music, great visuals, and it could still make me laugh. The game is worth the money but it isn't nearly as good as the the original. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2010
    4
    In a nutshell, it's Broken Sword minus the heart. The developers killed everything I loved about the strong characters in the original Broken Sword... okay, George is still a little funny, but nothing in comparison to the belly laughs I got playing the first game in the series. Nico is now this strange shallow thing, having somehow lost that quick wit and sharp strategic air she used toIn a nutshell, it's Broken Sword minus the heart. The developers killed everything I loved about the strong characters in the original Broken Sword... okay, George is still a little funny, but nothing in comparison to the belly laughs I got playing the first game in the series. Nico is now this strange shallow thing, having somehow lost that quick wit and sharp strategic air she used to have. As a stand alone game, I would likely rate this game higher because of the good logical puzzles and unique adventure situations, but I feel a lower rating is necessary, because the magic of the series is utterly lost in terms of story, character, and voice acting. Expand
  7. [anonymous]
    Jan 24, 2010
    5
    a great game with some very complex puzzles but let down greatly by the anticlimctic and practically nonexistant ending
  8. LiamF
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    An worthy sequel. It may be more linear than the first, but the luscious visuals and gameplay more than make up for that. In the latter half of the game you play as both Nico and George separately, at opposite sides of the world, which helps break up the environments. If you haven't already, Pick this up!
  9. FilipK
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    The adventure game of my childhood! Since then, I play it and finish once a year and it's always great fun. Very good voices and excellent hand-made graphics. Pure enjoyment!
  10. MikeL
    Sep 7, 2009
    7
    This game is probably one of the best puzzlers I have ever played. The story is deep but unfortunately had a weak ending which made the game suffer. IT has some good comedic sketches and introduces a wide selection of characters. The locations take you from a city, to the amazon and finally to an aztec temple. The story has 2 main characters who you will switch between at one (you This game is probably one of the best puzzlers I have ever played. The story is deep but unfortunately had a weak ending which made the game suffer. IT has some good comedic sketches and introduces a wide selection of characters. The locations take you from a city, to the amazon and finally to an aztec temple. The story has 2 main characters who you will switch between at one (you can't choose which character to play. The puzzles I found were quite difficult, some no brainers but some very difficult and require alot of trial and error. The atmosphere overall is quite bland, you move slow (walking) and it takes quite a while to know your way around and can get very frustrating. Overall I gave this game a 7, a good game for it's time and i'm sure many people would find it good to today's standards but has some minor flaws which may cause frustration. Expand
  11. Mar 3, 2012
    0
    What the hell is wrong with the critics!? This is one of the BEST adventures of ALL-TIME, and almost equally good as BS1! Really, MW3 has a better Metascore? Pfh....
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. One way this game falls a bit short is that the story seems a bit rushed and confused. The main villain is so far in the background that he's almost invisible.
  2. The puzzles are generally entertaining and fun to solve and the game sweeps you along with its great characters, story, humour and dialogue.
  3. The sound is another area in which The Smoking Mirror excels. Although there isn't a constant soundtrack playing, haunting music often accompanies certain actions, much like the original "Tomb Raider."