User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 138
  2. Negative: 13 out of 138
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottS.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    Plain and simple the PC version of the game really rocks. If you have the hardware you will find that the game looks fantastic. I really can't say enough about how good the character models look. Very realistic. The game was also longer than I expected which was nice. This game is a great improvement over previous BoH games and I really enjoyed it. This time around the FPS elements Plain and simple the PC version of the game really rocks. If you have the hardware you will find that the game looks fantastic. I really can't say enough about how good the character models look. Very realistic. The game was also longer than I expected which was nice. This game is a great improvement over previous BoH games and I really enjoyed it. This time around the FPS elements are improved and the squad AI is awesome in my opinion. Any low scores say to me either bad hardware was used or the person is just sick of WWII games. I highly recommend this game! Well done Gearbox! Expand
  2. SimonF.
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Best FPS WW2 Shooter out there, bar none! When put up against COD and MOH, it blows both out of the water!...The fact that your squad isnt just scenery (like COD and MOH) and the whole game is like playing a movie, makes this a unique experience. Fantastic.
  3. SqueG.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    Kinda addictive graphics are OK and gameplay too. There is a really great feeling like you are really in WW2. Combat its kinda slow but that´s cool.
  4. SJT-Ruler*
    Feb 7, 2009
    9
    I am going to divide this into good and bad points, because that's what this game is made up about. The good things are definitely the story, it's just epic and finally crushes games like Call of Duty that are just brainless shooters. Hell's Highway shows the player a deeper meaning into it and the Nazi-Germans are for once shown like a force to be reckoned with, not cannon I am going to divide this into good and bad points, because that's what this game is made up about. The good things are definitely the story, it's just epic and finally crushes games like Call of Duty that are just brainless shooters. Hell's Highway shows the player a deeper meaning into it and the Nazi-Germans are for once shown like a force to be reckoned with, not cannon fodder. I will not reveal anything about it, all I can say is that the singleplayer alone is worth playing. The multiplayer is also great, finally you have to advance carefully. With no respawns, you can't just rush in to kill the enemy, often you will die. Because of that, noobs will often get pissed off, but serious gamers will love this game. Thanks to that cover system, it looks more like a real war simulator, making this far better than games like Call of Duty. There are some bad things about it, though, Online is just terrible with connections. Normally, I have no lag at all in multiplayer games. In this game, it keeps going on, and on, and on. When most people host a server, nobody can even join it, meaning that only a few people are able to host resulting in just a few online servers, which is really sad because it's a good game. However, what's also sad is that multiplayer features only a few maps and a single game mode, meaning that you can hardly experience the game any differently. It's understandable that many people dislike the game for that, but in my personal opinion that one game mode is actually a great one. My conclusion, you can clearly see that this game had a lot of work put into it, so it is really worth it. Expand
  5. muratg.
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    In my opinion, Brothers in arms:HH is in among the best military shooters. With amazing graphics and sound, the game really brings you to a virtual world in that you feel like fighting in a real war. Its squad base gameplay gives you opportunity to make some strategy during the battle. Commanding your squad is also very easy with single clicks. Compared to BoA: Road to Hill, the AI of In my opinion, Brothers in arms:HH is in among the best military shooters. With amazing graphics and sound, the game really brings you to a virtual world in that you feel like fighting in a real war. Its squad base gameplay gives you opportunity to make some strategy during the battle. Commanding your squad is also very easy with single clicks. Compared to BoA: Road to Hill, the AI of your squad mades and enemies were improved. I prefer this game to serious military shooter fans. Thanks. Expand
  6. JohnM
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    okay firstly ignore Dziban M. hes complaining because his computer couldnt run the game, it is on the unreal 3 engine, go get a better graphics card!
    as for the game, the plot is pretty sweet and the gameplay is great it takes the duck and cover from gears and perfects it in a world war 2 setting great tactical combat, enjoy it, buy a console version though much nicer using a pad
  7. MarkM.
    Oct 11, 2008
    8
    I'd rate this game a little higher if it weren't for the few bugs in the game. It deserves more than the 8 I gave it, but not quite a 9. That being said, this is a really fun and satisfying game to play. Once you complete an objective, you do get a feeling of accomplishment, (and a save checkpoint. . .whew!) This is not, and not meant to be a Call of Duty clone. If that's I'd rate this game a little higher if it weren't for the few bugs in the game. It deserves more than the 8 I gave it, but not quite a 9. That being said, this is a really fun and satisfying game to play. Once you complete an objective, you do get a feeling of accomplishment, (and a save checkpoint. . .whew!) This is not, and not meant to be a Call of Duty clone. If that's the game you're looking for, then stay away. I love the CoD series, but it is an arcade game compared to BIAHH. In this game you feel more attached to your squad mates, and absolutely must utilize them in order to be effective on the battlefield. I actually did feel guilty when one of my assault squad members got killed after I gave a move order. The slo-mo kill cam for getting headshots is over the top, but really gives you a satisfying, "take that you Nazi bastard" moment. Graphics are good using the Unreal 3 engine and shouldn't tax most current PCs. The sound is excellent. While the WWII shooter has been done to death, this title is reason to go back to the well one more time. Expand
  8. RyanD.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    This game is almost perfect. Single player has a great story and plenty of action. Multi player is quite fun when you are on a server with a good ping. A few complaints: The AI could have been smarter since they never move from their spots. Online is kind of buggy but playable. You can't go prone, which would really help with things like machine guns. Overall, a must get.
  9. DanielS.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    Awesome gameplay,gory slow motion head-shots is icing on the glorious story of the game cake 8/10 because of minor bugs (soon to be fixed,maybe?).
  10. DavidJ
    Jan 12, 2009
    9
    Excellent Dont go by those who give low scores trust me, Ive played loads of games and encountered all sorts of problems and buggs in games and this one is not that bad. And stop compairing it to the likes of COD its not suppose to be like them, infact its about tactics more than being a FPS. Yes that means you have to use your brain and thing about how to out flank and eliminate the Excellent Dont go by those who give low scores trust me, Ive played loads of games and encountered all sorts of problems and buggs in games and this one is not that bad. And stop compairing it to the likes of COD its not suppose to be like them, infact its about tactics more than being a FPS. Yes that means you have to use your brain and thing about how to out flank and eliminate the enemy. Unlike the COD games which is a typical FPS, dont get me wrong the COD games are good and have got better over the years, but you cannot compair those to this. TBH I only rate it 8/10 but Im giving it the extra to make it up for all those who gave it silly low score for very poor reasons. Buy it if you like realism over arcade style play. Expand
  11. JaCkAmO
    Mar 27, 2009
    8
    Great shooter. I've been playing shooters since they hit the market. The controlling is a little hectic at first, but once you get used to commanding your units, it's a lot of fun. Great storyline, fantastic graphics. I had to disable SLI to get the video bugs out...but runs flawless.
  12. ChrisC
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    An uncensored war game where the most important part, the soldier's story is not ignored. If you want mature, brutal, Saving Private Ryan type experience where the soldiers are living breathing individuals, look no further. If you prefer watered down, Michael Bay PG13 summer action flicks with cheap, mindless thrills, go Call of Duty.
  13. Mikew.
    Dec 14, 2008
    9
    Best stratagy FPS ever, the gore was awsome and the story was really, truly amazing, the multiplayer isnt even worth setting up and accout for, and I do have some problems witht the authentic mode, I mean your looking downthe sites, why cant u give me a crosshair? well maybe theyll patch it or redoo the multiplayer and add some new map waysand stuff. I didnt like the fact theat every time Best stratagy FPS ever, the gore was awsome and the story was really, truly amazing, the multiplayer isnt even worth setting up and accout for, and I do have some problems witht the authentic mode, I mean your looking downthe sites, why cant u give me a crosshair? well maybe theyll patch it or redoo the multiplayer and add some new map waysand stuff. I didnt like the fact theat every time your lke following a path instead of choosing your own, Also your way too acurate. If you know alot about he war, this game will make you wet. Expand
  14. NunoD.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, one of the best games i`ve ever played. The first person shooter of the year.
  15. Uel
    Mar 29, 2009
    9
    An excellent, solid ww2 game that has a great storyline and immersive gameplay. This game is tactically rewarding and a good challenge on the harder difficulties, my only issues are the few bugs that are apparent and poor multiplayer - but don't buy it for that, keep to the story mode.
  16. May 28, 2011
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. I loved hill 30, and this was amazing! The troops are a lot smarter and the game is simply amazing on all points. I would like to see the old, bloody difficult, shaky aiming like the old game. Other than that, I loved everything about and was extremely swallowed by the story line. I can't wait for the next installment! Please reveal it this E3!
  17. JimCIII
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Again, great story line, graphics amazing compared to previous titles. Can't wait for the next installment.
  18. JohnnyV
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    I had totally no problems running it... if you people do have to compare it to cod the cod series are way to short in gameplay cod - No story cod -is way to eays even at highest diff. bia is the first ( i think) fps that u can play WITHOUT crosshair! just like it would be. Good graps good gameplay really it's a f ing nice game.
  19. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Very good game. Good story, gameplay. I **** love it. blablablalbalbla blalbalblabl al balblablabllb alblabllablablalb lablalblbalb lablalbalblalbalb just buy it :P
  20. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    Gearbox Software is well known for putting out quality work. This game is no exception. Although the game mechanics are visibly older, it is a decent squad based FPS set in the WWII era. The story is quite immersive focusing on the bonding of individuals and the simple realities of war. The enemy AI forces you to use tactics and strategy versus just running and gunning. With a packageGearbox Software is well known for putting out quality work. This game is no exception. Although the game mechanics are visibly older, it is a decent squad based FPS set in the WWII era. The story is quite immersive focusing on the bonding of individuals and the simple realities of war. The enemy AI forces you to use tactics and strategy versus just running and gunning. With a package price of $10 for all three titles, it is a good value. Expand
  21. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    a solid package. great singleplayer, and a strong, tactical multiplayer side that still has people playing to this day. highly recommend to any fans of the rainbow six vegas series and realistic military shooters in general.
  22. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Played Dec, 2012 This game is definitely worth a better review then it seems to have gotten. With the over saturation of FPS games from huge companies, I decided to play a gamed I missed a few years back. I've played previous installments in the BIA series but never played this one. I have to say that it is a very refreshing game when everyone else wants to play COD with horrible stories.Played Dec, 2012 This game is definitely worth a better review then it seems to have gotten. With the over saturation of FPS games from huge companies, I decided to play a gamed I missed a few years back. I've played previous installments in the BIA series but never played this one. I have to say that it is a very refreshing game when everyone else wants to play COD with horrible stories. This game has a great story, decent combat but poor AI. However, it is an older game so the AI might not be on par with 2012 games but it's worth a play through. Only issues I have with the game is the poor AI (all you have to do is pick up a KAR98 and pick off their heads when they look from behind cover), and historical inaccuracy. But if you're sick of the COD type games nowadays give this a play through and you'll have some fun you wouldn't have expected. Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    The controls can be a bit clunky, but once you're used to commanding the squads, it's quite atmospheric. Story is a tad better than we're used in these generic WWII stories. Everything has an authentic feel.
  24. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The story is awesome, although it's not as good as "Road to Hill 30" where you can choose the fate of your "brothers" (soldiers).

    And the graphic is great, especially the landscape and when scooping down. The cutscene is better than the game, though.

    The atmosphere is awesome, this game tells us that war isn't funny, it's a hell.

    100-th review btw :P
  25. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. I'm love so much WW2 thematic and this game is so realistic, story just outstanding and gameplay is great. Can't wait for next final part!
  26. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    One of the best World War II games I have played in terms of story. The characters are very real, however, from playing this game alone, you never truly get attached to them. The 3rd person shooter elements are solid, with a seamless transitions from 3rd to 1st person. The gameplay gets spiced up with some tank missions here and there, which is a nice break from the slow paced shooting.One of the best World War II games I have played in terms of story. The characters are very real, however, from playing this game alone, you never truly get attached to them. The 3rd person shooter elements are solid, with a seamless transitions from 3rd to 1st person. The gameplay gets spiced up with some tank missions here and there, which is a nice break from the slow paced shooting. Overall a very entertaining game. Expand
  27. Dec 20, 2016
    8
    I loved this game and a 7.9 is reasonable. Levels design is pretty good but the environments are great. Story is also good and gameplay was great. But the worst part about this game is the squad. Seven people will take 2 minutes to kill one man. It's easier to do everything by yourself because your squad is God awful. Which sucks because this game has pretty good squad mechanics.
  28. Jul 18, 2016
    9
    Perhaps the most underrated WW2 shooter ever. Beautiful graphics, excellent game play, great level design, great voice actors, and of course amazing story line. This game definitely presents the horrors of WW2 the same way Saving Private Ryan did. I still do not understand why it fell short of being even an 8. The only flaws are the weak multiplayer and a weak last mission. Outside of thatPerhaps the most underrated WW2 shooter ever. Beautiful graphics, excellent game play, great level design, great voice actors, and of course amazing story line. This game definitely presents the horrors of WW2 the same way Saving Private Ryan did. I still do not understand why it fell short of being even an 8. The only flaws are the weak multiplayer and a weak last mission. Outside of that the game is incredible. A good 9.1/10 Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. PC Gamer UK
    85
    Grippnig small scale stories of WWII. [Nov 2008, p.84]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Infernally absorbing game with not only stunning graphics but also a compelling story and a reasonable amount of pathos. If all WWII games come this way we’ll never be bored. Be prepared for flying body parts and mutilated bodies - this game is not for sissies! [Oct 2008]
  3. The fantastic storytelling coupled with an equally impressive score though will make you forget your grievances with the finished product, and there are just enough extras in the campaign to make completionists return a couple times to get them all.