Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway brings the critically acclaimed squad-based WWII shooter into the next generation of gaming with amazing graphics and sound, new cutting-edge gameplay features and a completely redesigned online component. Delivering on the franchise's compelling story, unrivaled authenticity and intense squad-based action, Brothers In Arms Hell's Highway drops you into Operation Market-Garden, the largest airborne operation of World War II. Lead Matt Baker, Joe Hartsock and the rest of the 101st Airborne Division as they fight to open "Hell's Highway" in a daring bid for a quick end to the war. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Easily one of the most engrossing shooters ever made. [Holiday 2008, p.70]
  2. Brother’s in Arms Hell’s Highway is a beautiful and engrossing cinematic experience that is as much fun to watch, as it is to play. Games rarely are this enjoyable and I can't remember the last time I started up a game and couldn't stop playing it.
  3. For all its faults Hell's Highway is a rich experience that should be played through at least twice, because in completing the game you just want to keep going. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  4. Hell’s Highway is a solid shooter with some great elements, but the AI issues are very problematic, especially for a squad-based shooter.
  5. New and vastly improved targeting model allows now (at last!) to hit every pixel you see. The game isn't so hard as the first part, unless you have to fight alone - you'll be positively beaming with joy when you see your boys again. And losing every one of the team members hurts just as much as it should. [Oct 2008]
  6. Infernally absorbing game with not only stunning graphics but also a compelling story and a reasonable amount of pathos. If all WWII games come this way we’ll never be bored. Be prepared for flying body parts and mutilated bodies - this game is not for sissies! [Oct 2008]
  7. Nobody is suggesting that such a marriage of styles and boundary pushing storytelling shouldn’t be attempted in gaming, and in that Hell’s Highway is incredibly brave, but arguably any effort to be both an enjoyable first person shooter and stony-faced anti-war tale is doomed from the outset. Something must be compromised, it’s just a shame that in this case it happens to be the whole package.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. May 28, 2011
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. I loved hill 30, and this was amazing! The troops are a lot smarter and the game is simply amazing on all points. I would like to see the old, bloody difficult, shaky aiming like the old game. Other than that, I loved everything about and was extremely swallowed by the story line. I can't wait for the next installment! Please reveal it this E3! Expand
  2. SimonF.
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Best FPS WW2 Shooter out there, bar none! When put up against COD and MOH, it blows both out of the water!...The fact that your squad isnt just scenery (like COD and MOH) and the whole game is like playing a movie, makes this a unique experience. Fantastic. Expand
  3. JimCIII
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Again, great story line, graphics amazing compared to previous titles. Can't wait for the next installment.
  4. SqueG.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    Kinda addictive graphics are OK and gameplay too. There is a really great feeling like you are really in WW2. Combat its kinda slow but that´s cool. Expand
  5. MarkM.
    Oct 11, 2008
    8
    I'd rate this game a little higher if it weren't for the few bugs in the game. It deserves more than the 8 I gave it, but not quite a 9. That being said, this is a really fun and satisfying game to play. Once you complete an objective, you do get a feeling of accomplishment, (and a save checkpoint. . .whew!) This is not, and not meant to be a Call of Duty clone. If that's the game you're looking for, then stay away. I love the CoD series, but it is an arcade game compared to BIAHH. In this game you feel more attached to your squad mates, and absolutely must utilize them in order to be effective on the battlefield. I actually did feel guilty when one of my assault squad members got killed after I gave a move order. The slo-mo kill cam for getting headshots is over the top, but really gives you a satisfying, "take that you Nazi bastard" moment. Graphics are good using the Unreal 3 engine and shouldn't tax most current PCs. The sound is excellent. While the WWII shooter has been done to death, this title is reason to go back to the well one more time. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    Gearbox Software is well known for putting out quality work. This game is no exception. Although the game mechanics are visibly older, it is a decent squad based FPS set in the WWII era. The story is quite immersive focusing on the bonding of individuals and the simple realities of war. The enemy AI forces you to use tactics and strategy versus just running and gunning. With a package price of $10 for all three titles, it is a good value. Collapse
  7. DzibanM.
    Oct 31, 2008
    0
    I'd probably enjoy the hell out of this game if it worked. The game crashes to desktop and gives bizarre errors right after the intro movie to the single player campaign ("Previously on Brothers in Arms"). I've tried everything I could find in forums across the internet, to no avail. Judging from the amount of posts from others with problems, this game is seriously defective and full of bugs. When I tried to get support from Ubisoft, they basically told me to get bent. I wouldn't be surprised if there is a patch out soon that Ubisoft stole from some pirate group (just like they did with the new Rainbow Six, where they released a no-CD patch from a warez group). I'll never waste my money on another Ubisoft game. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews