Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    Brutal Legend is better than it’s ever been, both as a single-player open-world game unlike any you’ve ever played and as one of the best unique takes on real-time strategy since Sacrifice.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    91
    It’s like a frantic, crazy rock festival: you might have lost your shoes, you might have fuzzy recollections of vomiting, but you can’t wait to go back right in, as soon as possible. That’s what Brutal Legend’s all about. [April 2013]
  3. May 20, 2013
    85
    I'll readily admit that I think Brutal Legend's style outweighs the substance of the game, but dammit, why should apologize for liking it more than I probably should?
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    85
    The characters are lovable and the soundtrack is simply phenomenal. Even with bugs and errors not to be found in the console versions you can’t help but fall in love when Tim Schafer pays homage to the gods of heavy metal.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    84
    $19.99 USD is a more than fair price to ask for this game, and considering how Steam discounts usually go, it won’t be long before this title is an absolute must-have for anyone who can tolerate the curious RTS design decisions.
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    81
    If only the developers had had the strength to break free from their original vision and concentrate on what's really good in Brütal Legend. A lot fewer stage battles and a lot more reckless driving and action-packed smashing of heads. With a kickass soundtrack. That's what this game should have been about. Unfortunately it's not. I wish it was, though. [Apr 2013]
  8. May 7, 2013
    80
    It’s a shame Double Fine missed the chance to expand the game by enriching the short campaign and introducing new, more varied side quests. Still Brutal Legend is a treat for every hard rocker and metalhead – they definitely should hop on this crazy train! [CD-Action 05/2013, p.58]
  9. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend is the same game somebody loved and somebody didn't on consoles almost two years ago with very few additions.
  10. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend hss not aged in the past four years and now that it's available on PC, with the two DLCs, enhanced graphics and budget price, it's a great pleasure.
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend comes late to PC, but it doesn't matter. Even with its minor technological issues, Double Fine's game continues to offer a charming and humorous mixture of Sandbox, Real-Time Strategy and Hack and Slash.
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    78
    A brutally awesome world filled with gameplay that's a little less than awesome.
  13. Mar 13, 2013
    75
    All in all, as a digital re-release for $20, you can’t go wrong with Brutal Legend PC. At the very least, you’ll appreciate its soundtrack, characters, and metal-inspired world… The game could be considered a bonus and it'd still be worthwhile.
  14. Mar 7, 2013
    75
    For all the moments of greatness that Brutal Legend has, it is brought down by a lack of unified gameplay structure.
  15. Apr 10, 2013
    74
    As rough as the back of an old rocker’s throat, but gleeful whether you dream heavy metal nightmares or not.
  16. Sep 12, 2013
    70
    If you look at its style and atmosphere, Brütal Legend is the amazing journey into the depth of the metal fan's soul. However, the game itself is not so special - stereotypical missions, not very optimized controls but mainly its malfunction game mechanics preventing Tim Schafer to reach the Metal Mount Olympus. Anyway, the game is working and entertaining at the same time. And that is the most important thing about this game title.
  17. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Brutal Legend's heavy metal take on real-time strategy makes a solid transition to the PC, though playing with a controller is still the way to go.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 59
  2. Negative: 8 out of 59
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    I honestly wanted to give the game a 10/10 on the base concept and the first trailer I saw years ago at a local gaming con even though it was console only back then, which meant I couldn't play it. Now it's out for PC and I started playing and got very confused. The setting, the characters, the story and the music is a unique combination, which makes it worthwhile to play through the game. Having a game, that is a tribute to the decades of great music that I love is incredible and that alone makes it worth the purchase.
    However in my opinion there are problems with core gameplay mechanics that drag the score down to a slightly above average 6. Namely the Deuce and the stage battles.
    The car itself caused me a lot of frustration alone. The way it handles (both with keyboard and my trusty gamepad) is just awful. When I start it up, it can't be turned, otherwise it'll turn 90 degrees around. Driving it through the obstruction filled landscape is hard, because when you reach a high speed it turns very slowly. It's basically a cool looking soap box. This made me loath every mission that included driving it (like when you have to follow the caravan AND gun down enemy bikers, or the time you had to trap fire beasts) and made me completely leave out the racing side missions.
    The stage battles are also a big minus for me. The first few aren't that bad, but the bigger the map gets and the more units you have, about Lionwhyte and onward, the battle becomes really chaotic and quite confusing. The selection of the solos and the units you want to make also feels a bit stiff. Many times I accidentally selected the wrong solo in battle and it caused me frustration. These factors make the stage battles harder than they should be and much less fun, even though I have to admit I love the units you can summon.
    All in all, I can recommend the game for metal fans, because they'll love the everything about the game's setting and the songs. It's worth enduring the frustrating problems, but those do bring down the score.
    Oh and there's graphics, Not cryengine or unreal 3, but I don't really care about graphics as long as the game has a good style and enjoyable content. and this one has even with it's flaws.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    I would like to see more original games like this. This game is definitely unique. Graphics are quite decent despite reviews, just not realistically styled which there is nothing wrong with. Solid gameplay and storyline. I enjoyed the celebrities and the 80's Metal theme. I would have liked to see some more content and depth, but I cannot complain due to the genre and base price of the game. I forget that this is just an action game when playing it sometimes. The world is worthy of exploration. Well worth the price. No real complaints. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC took the time to review it. I got this game for free, and i don't know what to do... i really wish i hadn't even spent accepting the gift and installing it to my computer because it was NOT worth it, even for free. The game has NO replay value whatsoever, and not even any true game value either it is an over produced FLOP. THIS NEEDED TO BE SAID, AND I WILL BE VERY SUSPICIOUS (and probably not surprised) IF THIS COMMENT IS NOT ALLOWED OR TAKEN OFF. Full Review »