Brutal Legend PC

Brutal Legend Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 385 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the mind of Tim Schafer (Psychonauts, Grim Fandango) comes Brutal Legend, a heavy metal action game starring Jack Black (School of Rock, Tenacious D). You are heavy metal roadie Eddie Riggs, hurled back in time to the mythical Age of Metal when the world was formed and ruled by theFrom the mind of Tim Schafer (Psychonauts, Grim Fandango) comes Brutal Legend, a heavy metal action game starring Jack Black (School of Rock, Tenacious D). You are heavy metal roadie Eddie Riggs, hurled back in time to the mythical Age of Metal when the world was formed and ruled by the power of Rock! Armed with a broadaxe, a guitar, and a big block V8 you set off on an epic quest to assemble an army of headbangers, hotrods, barbarians, demonic dominatrix and the undead. With the wings of a demon and the power of a Rock God, you must lead humanity in an epic war against its barbaric overlords, and carve your name forever into the Brutal Legend. In Brutal Legend, you'll roam through a massive open-world born from the hell fires of heavy metal. In this world you can rev up any vehicle, rock its weapons, and crush the enemies of metal. You'll also learn to devastate with your guitar, playing face-melting solos that actually melt the faces of your enemies, command savage armies, bang skulls in hand-to-hand combat, and rise like a bat out of hell to command blood-drenched action from above. As if that wasn't enough, you can slay your friends and foes online, then play guitar licks on their graves! Of course, Brutal Legend is only complete with the most ultimate heavy metal soundtrack ever assembled in a game. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    Brutal Legend is better than it’s ever been, both as a single-player open-world game unlike any you’ve ever played and as one of the best unique takes on real-time strategy since Sacrifice.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    I'll readily admit that I think Brutal Legend's style outweighs the substance of the game, but dammit, why should apologize for liking it more than I probably should?
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    84
    $19.99 USD is a more than fair price to ask for this game, and considering how Steam discounts usually go, it won’t be long before this title is an absolute must-have for anyone who can tolerate the curious RTS design decisions.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend comes late to PC, but it doesn't matter. Even with its minor technological issues, Double Fine's game continues to offer a charming and humorous mixture of Sandbox, Real-Time Strategy and Hack and Slash.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend is the same game somebody loved and somebody didn't on consoles almost two years ago with very few additions.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    75
    All in all, as a digital re-release for $20, you can’t go wrong with Brutal Legend PC. At the very least, you’ll appreciate its soundtrack, characters, and metal-inspired world… The game could be considered a bonus and it'd still be worthwhile.
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Brutal Legend's heavy metal take on real-time strategy makes a solid transition to the PC, though playing with a controller is still the way to go.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 65
  2. Negative: 9 out of 65
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    It´s Brütal Legends, its not GTA 3,4 5, or buckshot. And I like it, no, I love ! the humor of the figures , the enemies , the game-play, theIt´s Brütal Legends, its not GTA 3,4 5, or buckshot. And I like it, no, I love ! the humor of the figures , the enemies , the game-play, the real original and fantasy arts of Brütal Legends. I played around 5 hours, and made at that 2 or 3 steam-baskets. I wasn´t a meal freak, and Tim Schafer made and Jack Black made me one. Also I´m still wondering whether its the best metal game , or best game ever it for me. I guess metal hell doesn´t makes me weak ! Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    The humor and music are just incredible, and the gameplay is a fun fusion of Action and RTS. I don't think any other game has left me withThe humor and music are just incredible, and the gameplay is a fun fusion of Action and RTS. I don't think any other game has left me with such a feeling of "HOLY COW THIS ROCKS".

    The PC port is really well done. Performance is great, controls are great, plenty of options to make it fit your PC. And at full HD with antialiasing, it looks so much better than the console version.

    One thing you should know before playing: the game feels like a free-roaming sandbox at time, with side quests and exploration bonuses. Don't let that distract you; that side of the game isn't very rewarding. Just play the story and enjoy the heck out of it.
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome style, epic music, brutal gameplay! That game is perfect, and not laggin textures, not promblems with animation in cutscenes can'tAwesome style, epic music, brutal gameplay! That game is perfect, and not laggin textures, not promblems with animation in cutscenes can't change my mind. Wery good, and orginal multiplayer. THIS! GAME! IS PERFECT! Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    Setting, action, strategy and of course rock all tuned well. It's really the sum of it's parts that make this game such a joy to playSetting, action, strategy and of course rock all tuned well. It's really the sum of it's parts that make this game such a joy to play individually they're average but together...together they make one helluva brutal legend.

    That's something I think a lot of the reviews here haven't taken into account, this is a huge mashup of genres and each part taken in isolation is worse then games focused entirely on them...that should be obvious...but apparently it isn't. The sum is far greater then it's parts though and well worth a buy.
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    Brutal Legends greatest flaws are more based around poorly attempted RTS gameplay during massive battles as well as poor optimization and aBrutal Legends greatest flaws are more based around poorly attempted RTS gameplay during massive battles as well as poor optimization and a bunch and a bunch of bugs, Yet despite all the flaws and sometimes flat dull humor the game manages to bring in this special kind of charming that compels you to continue playing with a very metal story line and great voice acting and cameos from some of the best well knowing metal artists, ozzy being one and having one of the BEST soundtracks ever created for a game, yet not quite as good as the soundtrack to hotline Miami i award Brutal Legend with a modest 7/10 for bringing back to the true Child of Stan for which i have kept buried until now. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2013
    6
    I would love to give this game a 10 score. The music, the setting, the incredibly fun story and great casting makes for a true masterpiece.I would love to give this game a 10 score. The music, the setting, the incredibly fun story and great casting makes for a true masterpiece.

    However, the game fails in it's convoluted mechanics and controls. It's awesome to battle with axe and guitar, but the controls are clumsy. This goes especially for The Deuce (car), which is really hard to maneuver and outright frustrating in some stages.

    Last but not least, the game gets really tangled in it's mechanics towards the end, in the stage battles and such. This overrall makes for a not so good experience.

    This game is worth every buck for it's story and tribute to rock n'roll alone, but let's not mistake it for something it isn't: the lack of polish shows.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC tookI WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC took the time to review it. I got this game for free, and i don't know what to do... i really wish i hadn't even spent accepting the gift and installing it to my computer because it was NOT worth it, even for free. The game has NO replay value whatsoever, and not even any true game value either it is an over produced FLOP. THIS NEEDED TO BE SAID, AND I WILL BE VERY SUSPICIOUS (and probably not surprised) IF THIS COMMENT IS NOT ALLOWED OR TAKEN OFF. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews