Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the mind of Tim Schafer (Psychonauts, Grim Fandango) comes Brutal Legend, a heavy metal action game starring Jack Black (School of Rock, Tenacious D). You are heavy metal roadie Eddie Riggs, hurled back in time to the mythical Age of Metal when the world was formed and ruled by the power of Rock! Armed with a broadaxe, a guitar, and a big block V8 you set off on an epic quest to assemble an army of headbangers, hotrods, barbarians, demonic dominatrix and the undead. With the wings of a demon and the power of a Rock God, you must lead humanity in an epic war against its barbaric overlords, and carve your name forever into the Brutal Legend. In Brutal Legend, you'll roam through a massive open-world born from the hell fires of heavy metal. In this world you can rev up any vehicle, rock its weapons, and crush the enemies of metal. You'll also learn to devastate with your guitar, playing face-melting solos that actually melt the faces of your enemies, command savage armies, bang skulls in hand-to-hand combat, and rise like a bat out of hell to command blood-drenched action from above. As if that wasn't enough, you can slay your friends and foes online, then play guitar licks on their graves! Of course, Brutal Legend is only complete with the most ultimate heavy metal soundtrack ever assembled in a game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    Brutal Legend is better than it’s ever been, both as a single-player open-world game unlike any you’ve ever played and as one of the best unique takes on real-time strategy since Sacrifice.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    I'll readily admit that I think Brutal Legend's style outweighs the substance of the game, but dammit, why should apologize for liking it more than I probably should?
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    84
    $19.99 USD is a more than fair price to ask for this game, and considering how Steam discounts usually go, it won’t be long before this title is an absolute must-have for anyone who can tolerate the curious RTS design decisions.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend comes late to PC, but it doesn't matter. Even with its minor technological issues, Double Fine's game continues to offer a charming and humorous mixture of Sandbox, Real-Time Strategy and Hack and Slash.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Brutal Legend is the same game somebody loved and somebody didn't on consoles almost two years ago with very few additions.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    75
    All in all, as a digital re-release for $20, you can’t go wrong with Brutal Legend PC. At the very least, you’ll appreciate its soundtrack, characters, and metal-inspired world… The game could be considered a bonus and it'd still be worthwhile.
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Brutal Legend's heavy metal take on real-time strategy makes a solid transition to the PC, though playing with a controller is still the way to go.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 53
  2. Negative: 6 out of 53
  1. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    If you have a single humorous gene in your body you will love this game, great fun, great soundtrack, great art. Loads of variety all packaged together with loads of style, humour and general cleverness Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I had been waiting for this game to come out on PC since I heard about it on console and expected it to be awesome and I wasn't disappointed!! I'm a HUGE fan of metal and this game conceptualised the genre very successfully and the selection of tracks was awesome to listen to while playing. Having been a huge fan of games like Darksiders (1 and 2), GTA3 and Giants: Citizen Kobuto I picked this game up fairly easily and got straight into the action. I found the Hack n' Slash elements a bit like Darksiders, the driving a lot like GTA3 and the RTS element a lot like the RTS element in Giants, just without the top down view, but Eddie can fly very fast so this makes up for missing the top down view just fine.

    I don't know why some people have given the graphics a poor review. I think the game had excellent graphics and the variety of environments matched the metal genre perfectly, especially the Black/Death/Doom side of things. The gameplay was incredibly intense and amazing amounts of FUN once I got used to it (Brutal Difficulty), especially during stage battles or hack 'n slash side missions and being able to do things like summon a Flaming Zeppelin using a guitar solo to kill enemies is beyond awesome.

    The Deuce is heaps of fun to drive once you get used to it. I don't understand why people said it was hard to control. It handled very similarly to the way cars did in GTA3 and if you're one of those people who wants to find a game with crap car handling to complain about, play GTA4. The jumps were tons of fun and also reminded me a bit of GTA3, just more metal! The story was great and the legends were awesome! It progressed at a decent pace, even with doing all of the side missions and gathering all of the collectibles in the game. Some people said the game was short and it's true (like many sandbox games) if you IGNORE most of it! I sunk 40 hours into this and all of those were incredibly fun. The voice acting is great. They got the big names and even characterised most of them in the game. This is a huge plus! When I first got the game, there were a few bugs that needed to be ironed out before I could play it properly (such as key rebinding issues and some save issues) but I posted these things up on the Steam Community boards and the devs took our issues seriously and support was amazing. The game engine was also really good. Normally console ports perform horribly on PC but I turned all the bells and whistles on with this one and never had anything but smooth game play the entire time, even in massive battles. As for controls, normally console ports are horrible in this arena too but Double Fine has really worked hard on making sure us PC users get a great experience. I would most definitely recommend that anyone play this, especially if you're into metal and even if you're not you still really should because it's so awesome and I really can't give this less than a perfect 10!!!
    Collapse
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome style, epic music, brutal gameplay! That game is perfect, and not laggin textures, not promblems with animation in cutscenes can't change my mind. Wery good, and orginal multiplayer. THIS! GAME! IS PERFECT! Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Game mechanics? Well they're ok. Kind of like overlord but with driving and a bit more combat. But who cares! The setting is brilliant, the music is brilliant, the characters are brilliant, it's almost impossible to play this game without a grin on your face. Had more time been spent on the mechanics then this could have been a 10, as it is it's an 8 because it's an utterly ridiculous grin-fest! Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    Brutal Legends greatest flaws are more based around poorly attempted RTS gameplay during massive battles as well as poor optimization and a bunch and a bunch of bugs, Yet despite all the flaws and sometimes flat dull humor the game manages to bring in this special kind of charming that compels you to continue playing with a very metal story line and great voice acting and cameos from some of the best well knowing metal artists, ozzy being one and having one of the BEST soundtracks ever created for a game, yet not quite as good as the soundtrack to hotline Miami i award Brutal Legend with a modest 7/10 for bringing back to the true Child of Stan for which i have kept buried until now. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    First and foremost this is a game by heavy metal fans for heavy metal fans. It takes a few different gaming elements, hack-n-slash, driving and RTS, and mixes them together with a healthy dose of attitude and playfulness. Sadly there isn't a single element in the game that hasn't been done better before but the end result is still very likeable, as are the characters in it. As for the music, well if you love metal it's just the best that's ever been featured in any game ever. If you don't then this game probably isn't for you anyway.

    I really like this game but can't honestly give it a higher score than 6. Consider it a sort of average. If you're a metal fan with a healthy sense of humour add 1-2 and buy it, otherwise take off 1-2 and stay away.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I WOULD NOT TRUST METACRITIC ON THIS ONE ....Is someone paying people to rate this game well? Not to mention only 17 actual USERS on PC took the time to review it. I got this game for free, and i don't know what to do... i really wish i hadn't even spent accepting the gift and installing it to my computer because it was NOT worth it, even for free. The game has NO replay value whatsoever, and not even any true game value either it is an over produced FLOP. THIS NEEDED TO BE SAID, AND I WILL BE VERY SUSPICIOUS (and probably not surprised) IF THIS COMMENT IS NOT ALLOWED OR TAKEN OFF. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews