Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    93
    Bulletstorm is an exceptional shooter brimming with personality and originality, but the concept is spread too thin in the later levels. New homicidal toys are constantly introduced in the first three-quarters of the game, which makes the final few hours a little stale. Mix in a ho-hum ending and the stellar experience goes out on a bit of a low note.
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    92
    A bright, bold and lovably off-the-wall FPS. [Apr 2011, p.96]
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    Bulletstorm is a shooter like no other. Smarter than Painkiller, crazier than Serious Sam, funnier than Gears of War. We missed you, People Can Fly. [Mar 2011, p.93]
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Behind the f-bombs and dick-t.ts are some incredibly mature and well thought out mechanics. Not only does the Skillshot system invite a completely new approach to shooting in single-player, it uses scores and leaderboards to inspire competition in a completely different vein to the amalgamate of contemporary shooters.
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    89
    Bulletstorm is awesome. That's a fact.
  9. Mar 9, 2011
    88
    A frantic run into the fighting madness with convincing visual effects. Great in single player, less long-lived in multiplayer, but always original.
  10. Mar 7, 2011
    88
    As a sequel to Painkiller, spiritual or otherwise, Bulletstorm is a disappointment. The best way to approach it, if you played Painkiller, is to forget there's a link between the two games at all. Instead, take Bulletstorm for what it is: a ridiculous arcade-ish FPS with a goofy sense of humor and a talent for amazing action sequences.
  11. Mar 1, 2011
    88
    It's fresh, colorful, and funny as hell; a true successor to Painkiller, a worthy rival of Serious Sam and, perhaps, a better Duke than Mr. Nukem.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 581 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 156
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics and vistas. Had a lot of laughs and I think I'll be playing it again and again. Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    I was hugely disappointed with this game. Not only were the controls sketchy (though I guess you can't really expect anything less from a console port these days), but the gameplay itself quickly became repetitive and boring. Add onto that unrelateable characters and unnecessary cutscenes every other minute and you've got one hell of a mess for a game. Definitely not worth $60. Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    Fun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievement system that pays you out to buy more ammo. It's a short game, and there is almost no replay value. My biggest complaint is the hyper nauseating camera motions. Jumping over an obstacle, or pulling a lever causes the camera to wobble around drunkingly for a couple of seconds. There's more than one scene where your vision is blurred involuntarily. I'd recommend it if the price were $15-$20. Full Review »