Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 24, 2011
    84
    Bulletstorm is a game that achieves a unique feel despite being pieced together from other shooters. May be not a AAA stunner, but People Can Fly has proven themselves as a developer to follow.
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    88
    It's fresh, colorful, and funny as hell; a true successor to Painkiller, a worthy rival of Serious Sam and, perhaps, a better Duke than Mr. Nukem.
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    80
    All in all, Bulletstorm was a super pick up for me and I enjoyed playing it more than most FPS games in the last few years. Definitely looking forward to a sequel if it comes out.
  4. Feb 24, 2011
    86
    It might not have Gears of War's deep budget or high level of polish, but it more than makes up for it by giving you a bunch of locations and missions you haven't yet experienced and won't soon forget.
  5. 82
    In the end, Bulletstorm will make you smile and also grin with an almost maniacal satisfaction. It's true that the colorful language gets annoying, the action is in the end repetitive and only the wish to unlock new Skillshots keeps you playing through the story, but you mustn't expect anything other than a first-person Gears of War with a touch of Serious Sam's humor and a little of Duke Nukem's personality.
  6. Mar 15, 2011
    75
    Bulletstorm is a real looker through and through.
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    74
    There's no way it's worth the $59.99 they're asking. Based on the length of time you'll spend playing, it's comparable to being charged double- or triple-price for a movie ticket, when you may already be hesitant to pay the regular amount as it is! If you want to play it, rent it for 360 or PS3.
  8. Feb 22, 2011
    93
    Bulletstorm is an exceptional shooter brimming with personality and originality, but the concept is spread too thin in the later levels. New homicidal toys are constantly introduced in the first three-quarters of the game, which makes the final few hours a little stale. Mix in a ho-hum ending and the stellar experience goes out on a bit of a low note.
  9. Mar 7, 2011
    88
    As a sequel to Painkiller, spiritual or otherwise, Bulletstorm is a disappointment. The best way to approach it, if you played Painkiller, is to forget there's a link between the two games at all. Instead, take Bulletstorm for what it is: a ridiculous arcade-ish FPS with a goofy sense of humor and a talent for amazing action sequences.
  10. Feb 23, 2011
    75
    Sadly, Bulletstorm's multiplayer features make it a mixed bag, but there is a solid and enjoyable single-player campaign mode in there.
  11. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Does Bulletstorm revolutionize the FPS? Clearly not! Nevertheless, it adds a personal touch to the genre by making a real scroring game like in the old times. All of this in an adventure which is not perfect, but refreshing and fun at once... and the game system is really excellent. Frankly, if you like the genre, do not hesitate to make yourself happy!
  12. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  14. Feb 24, 2011
    84
    Bulletstorm is probably the most politically incorrect game of all time ... and to me, that's a good thing! Its humour will certainly not be to everybody's liking, but I totally recommend it to every single shooter fan out there that wants to try something new.
  15. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    Unspectacular online play, an abundance of shooter cliches, and forced vulgarity keep it from joining the shooter elite. But the creativity of the skillshot system paired with the engrossing nature of moving up the Echoes leaderboards gives Bulletstorm some muscle and will inspire a dedicated following of talented players eager to show off their incredible mastery of its gratifying mechanics.
  16. Apr 4, 2011
    77
    If you are looking for a simple and entertaining shooter, that's not a Call of Duty clone, which offers lots of humour and a great story, Bulletstorm could be for you.
  17. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  18. Mar 14, 2011
    89
    Bulletstorm is awesome. That's a fact.
  19. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    After being really down on Bulletstorm for the first couple of hours, I was pleasantly shocked to see how well it started coming together once I started getting better at using the different weapons and once the story started moving at a faster pace.
  20. Mar 25, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm is a very creative, visionary, spectacular and uplifting game and its didactical values can't be overrated. Only a polish game will help you broaden your vocabulary with new idioms, will take you to one of the most beautiful tourist resorts in the history of gaming and will introduce you to new friends that you can discuss principal concepts of Nietzche's philosophy with.
  21. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Taken out of the context of its fiction, People Can Fly would have something fun but forgettable on their hands, but the way Bulletstorm fits together results in something cool and memorable.
  22. 70
    While not a game that would alter the flow of history, Bulletstorm proved to be very pleasant and an extremely aberrant surprise not lacking the ability of self-irony. [Mar 2011]
  23. Feb 22, 2011
    85
    Kill with Skill is a perfect slogan for an action game with so many ways of executing enemies. Filled with a great sense of humour, the main campaign is the star in this game. It was designed in a way that we always find new things to do, completing the incredibly large list of skills with a good variety of weapons and situations. You really have to think before you act, planning how you're going to attack in order to get greatest amount points that is possible, taking into account not only the enemies, but the environment. But when you finish the game... you have two options: you're really competitive and want to be the first one in the charts, or you just abandon the game because of its lack of cooperative mode or an interesting multiplayer. Regardless, but you should not miss such a unique campaign.
  24. Mar 9, 2011
    88
    A frantic run into the fighting madness with convincing visual effects. Great in single player, less long-lived in multiplayer, but always original.
  25. Mar 18, 2011
    92
    A bright, bold and lovably off-the-wall FPS. [Apr 2011, p.96]
  26. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Bulletstorm is not art by any metric. It's difficult to defend, like a friend you take to a party who ends up pissing in a vase. You don't want to be associated with him, but sh.t, he provides an evening of excitement. It's a game that's very proud of the f-words it's learnt, and it uses them a lot. Fast. Frantic. Fatuous. Full-on. And yes, that other one: fun.
  27. Feb 24, 2011
    84
    Bulletstorm certainly isn't a revolution amongst first person shooters, but it actually managed to surprise me in a lot of ways. While I expected nothing more than a brainless killing-orgy, Bulletstorm features cool characters, a solid story, creative and fun weapons and foremost a smooth and surprisingly motivating gameplay.
  28. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    Bulletstorm is a shooter like no other. Smarter than Painkiller, crazier than Serious Sam, funnier than Gears of War. We missed you, People Can Fly. [Mar 2011, p.93]
  29. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm is perfectly designed to appeal to the 14 year old boys who can't buy it because it's rated MA15+. [May 2011, p.64]
  30. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    At the end of the day, for all of Bulletstorm's over-the-top chaotic combat the game still falls short of being truly epic, and feels a bit more like a tech demo for the next Gears of War release rather than a fully realized concept.
  31. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    While I would prefer to do my shooting in a well-written comedy or a dark drama, the opinion that Bulletstorm fails at both doesn't invalidate the fact that its creative gameplay is new, refreshing, and a total blast to play.
  32. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Behind the f-bombs and dick-t.ts are some incredibly mature and well thought out mechanics. Not only does the Skillshot system invite a completely new approach to shooting in single-player, it uses scores and leaderboards to inspire competition in a completely different vein to the amalgamate of contemporary shooters.
  33. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  34. Mar 21, 2011
    81
    Reasonably pretty scripted cover-based shooter that does break the mold with the skillshot system, offering good fun for about eight hours. Very limited multiplayer and little replay value, offering dubious value at full retail price.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 643 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 162
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics andI just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics and vistas. Had a lot of laughs and I think I'll be playing it again and again. Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    I was hugely disappointed with this game. Not only were the controls sketchy (though I guess you can't really expect anything less from aI was hugely disappointed with this game. Not only were the controls sketchy (though I guess you can't really expect anything less from a console port these days), but the gameplay itself quickly became repetitive and boring. Add onto that unrelateable characters and unnecessary cutscenes every other minute and you've got one hell of a mess for a game. Definitely not worth $60. Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    Fun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievementFun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievement system that pays you out to buy more ammo. It's a short game, and there is almost no replay value. My biggest complaint is the hyper nauseating camera motions. Jumping over an obstacle, or pulling a lever causes the camera to wobble around drunkingly for a couple of seconds. There's more than one scene where your vision is blurred involuntarily. I'd recommend it if the price were $15-$20. Full Review »