User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 581 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 581

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    I was hugely disappointed with this game. Not only were the controls sketchy (though I guess you can't really expect anything less from a console port these days), but the gameplay itself quickly became repetitive and boring. Add onto that unrelateable characters and unnecessary cutscenes every other minute and you've got one hell of a mess for a game. Definitely not worth $60.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing game! Repetitive weapons...lack of multiplayer variety...repetitive level design....old graphics engine (more and more evident if you use
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Another potentially good game ruined by Games for Windows Live. I play games through STEAM all the time and don't have any issues, how is it that Games for Windows Live can cause so many crashes. I tried to play it all the way through, but uninstalled it after about an hour. Don't waste your money. Any game that uses Games for Windows Live is an immediate deal breaker for me.
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    I played the game for an hour and a half, and besides the graphics NOTHING amused me. "Bulletstorm" is a slash-and-shoot game; it entices you to violence and blood stronger than any other games, offering points for your "creative" kills. Oh, do you also know what it offers? A linear story with 500 cuss words, terrible campaign with groggy controls, and a multiplayer that doesn't really offer anything new. I'd suggest playing something alse than this. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2011
    1
    Not a very good game. How the hell did this get good reviews? The only reason I tried Bulletstorm out was because of the ratings on Wikipedia. Deserves a 3 at best, only rated it lower to offset the inflated score. Very repetitive, no replay value, and an average storyline. Another cod copy-cat bites the dust.
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    Although the game is a great showcase of the Unreal engine, I find it to be very repetitive. Some better multiplayer modes would have improved my review but not by much.
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    "A true successor to Painkiller"? Really? This game is not similar to Painkiller by any measure. Entirely different narrative structure, campaign and level design typology, repetitive enemies, rail-shooter-like gameplay, cover-based combat, no health-bar, no jump capability, 2-weapon carry limit & leash, quick-time events, achievement-based motivation... Could. Not. Be. Much. More. Different. Than. PAINKILLER. Disappointing as this spells the death of old-style frenzied shooters if this is what passes for 'innovation' with this genre. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2011
    3
    Bulletstorm is fun at first, unusual approach to killing, you have to use weapons in special manner to earn Skill Points, and so you slowly make your way through game, listening to countless alcohol-inspired lines. Well, it wouldn't be so bad if you had to use your guns in exactly specific way, for example, with Revolver you have to attempt one-shot kills, with shotgun you have to approach in exact vicinity or with the sniper rifle, each kill from which looks ENTIRELY same. Add to these graphic imperfections (you can see light-blue squares from time to time) and the storyline, which in particular doesn't worth much... If you decide to buy this game, don't expect much, this is just your average shooter. Expand
  9. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    at first thought game was quite cool, a little different, shoddy graphics but I can live with that, then very very quickly it just becomes a repetitive borefest that requires very little skill to easily proceed through the dull, monotonous levels. All in all it is your typical no brainer console shooter, tries to be flashy, fails, will keep people entertained for a couple of weeks until the next overpriced, piss easy fad game comes out to make people spend another wad of cash to be mildly entertained for a week or so. Might be worth checking out if you see it for $5 somewhere. Expand
  10. Apr 20, 2011
    3
    hugely disappointed with this game, i was expecting it be a unreal series successor instead it turns to be a badly made spam game with no story or interesting game-play just spam your game to get lame bonuses horrible console port they just made no effort for the PC version at, the nagging issues with gfwl another horrible client makes this game a pure fail, ignore this one and play the better fps games out there very disappointed with epic games Expand
  11. Mar 4, 2011
    3
    This game is fun at the beginning, but in the middle it gets boring, boring, boring. The killing gets repetitive, and you think you are at work, rather than having fun. The story is ahhh, rather don't mention it at all. It has more cutscenes than Duty Calls, the COD parody. Ok, it isn't a Mass Effect, but a Dolph Lundgren movie has a better script. The bigest pain for me is that, this game feels like a rail shooter. I was feeling like I was in a monorail, or maybe I was a monorail with a big boot.
    The graphics are nice, but I played Quake II last month, and I felt I had more freedom in it. Sorry for my English, just learning....
    Expand
  12. Feb 28, 2011
    4
    please epic,i know you created the unreal engine 3 but youve solicited it to so many companies everything on any console looks exactly the same,its been 5 years now and it was old 3 years ago.
    this could be any of a 101 releases in the last couple of years,tweak it and it could be bioshock gears batman or many many more.
    stop this engine please(im almost tempted to start a petition)
  13. Apr 5, 2012
    0
    What a terrible game. I bought this on a Steam sale for $5.00 and after 20 minutes of watching horrible cut scenes intermixed with crossing the room and pressing E here then R there, I couldn't take it anymore. I wouldn't pick this up for free. Steer clear.
  14. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just another shooter trying to differentiate itself by trying to seem edgy. Instead, it ends up being corny and kind of embarrassing. The question is never about graphics. The real question is how does this game differentiate itself from other shooters?
    What features does it offer that haven't couldn't just be a clever mod for Quake 2?
    The answer: Nothing really. Story doesn't make up for putting a month of modelling effort into some new guns and terrain. This stuff is cheap to produce. It's the complex and innovative rules and game mechanics that push the envelope. Something Bulletstorm doesn't even come close to doing with it's messy hair and only-big-boys-can-act-bad (for kids) attitude.

    This game isn't very good, I feel weird listening to the dialogue and the action is over the top in such a way that it's bad.
    Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2011
    1
    People give this game 10? Developers of the game shouldn't be allowed to review. SO buggy, my ESC key never seems to work in this game and of course you have to use it to get by some menus in game. The sliding around and kicking is rather boring. And the multiplayer is even more boring, its just a zombie rehash slaughter. ooo so exciting...The 3 hours I have into will be the only 3. I have more fun playing the $15 Monday Night Combat. Do not waste your money on this game! Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2011
    3
    Fun game, fun take on the genera, interesting, unique, amazing, cool weapons. But, the talking is so gross, perverted, nasty, sick, stupid, pointless, thing in my life. They say so much crap that's discusting like "haha Cocksuckers!" in creepy voices. and "suck on it, ugh!!" and "AHAHAHA! Sushi Dick!" and "You shoulda f***** me when you had the chance" and all this freaking creepy stuff, and it's not only what they say but how they said it. I swear I wonder what the heck the actors who had to say this were thinking. Were like uhhh? I mean the language is so much and gross I can't even enjoy the game. The language they say doesn't even have anything to do with it! I mean they don't say "Damnit they're comin in from the sides!" instead they say something like "haha suck my dick you cocksucking sushi dick!" and it's like what the hell? seriously... They screwed the game up with the language Expand
  17. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    i want my money back now its not worth the 20 i paid for it if you want a good game play crysis not this **** ok its hella boring and is just awful never buy this game period
  18. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    While the sound, graphics and art-style are fine, the game-play gets old really fast. The skill shot system seems like a pretty cool idea at first, but the repetition shows itself more quickly than you might like. The enemies act like they're waiting to get slaughtered by your ever repeating kicks and leash attacks, the difficulty settings don't seem to change anything at all.
    The story
    and storytelling are atrocious. It seems like the developers just didn't give a **** about an interesting and exciting story, bad clichés get followed by even more clichés. The game tries to take itself serious, which fails horribly. Unnecessary cut scenes which often contain boring quick time events, pop up every two minutes and interrupt the shallow run and gun game-play.

    Bulletstorm does not deserve the praise it gets from all the big reviewers, and its definitely not worth the high price.
    Expand
  19. Mar 17, 2011
    1
    Terrible game aimed at the most immature console gamers. Extremely short single player game, terrible dialogue, outdated and recycled game engine paired with the worst dialogue I have ever experienced make this one of the worst games I have played in a long time. Most positive reviews are from the younger console generation who get a kick out of the bad language. "LOL!! He said penis!!! This is awesome!!!" Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2011
    0
    A huge disappointment. Perhaps I expected something other than Serious Sam meets Gears of War but it thats what you'll get with Bulletstorm. The game's story isn't terrible but riddled with pitfalls and conflict sometimes too silly to really appreciate. The voice acting is actually not as bad as some people have made it out to be except with General Saranno's character. I swear they couldn't decide if he had a southern accent or not cause occasionally he'd have one and other times he'd speak almost like a normal person dropping any sort of attempt to mask an original voice at all. Otherwise, that portion the game is decent.

    What makes the game really feel like a let down is it's length. I beat it in roughly 7 hours on Hard. I did enjoy how it was non-stop action and I was constantly trying to come up with new ways to kill my enemies but with very little incentive to experiment with weapons I'm not comfortable with, thus leaving me feeling slightly alienated for a good portion of the skillshots. A lot of times, I swear I did a skillshot and didn't get credit for it.

    Can you rent the game? Do so, you'll probably beat it and be done with it and wonder why they left the ending like they did when people criticize the studio for leaving (spoiler: cliffhangers) in their games, especially this one being so short.
    It was like eating a hard loaf of bread only to find that someone tore a piece off the end.
    Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The developers knew the kill system gimmick in this game wouldn't float for long, which is why you are frequently forced to use non-standard game play during the first-half of the game. Such as controlling a mechazilla and many, many gatling guns which prevent most of the kills to be achieved anyway. After the first-half, you are invested and likely slosh through the rest of the game when you've paid $60 for it.

    The characters were awful, the script made zero sense-- even for an FPS-- and the liberal language was entirely unnecessary. Less than 10 sentences were uttered without expletive. To sum up the game: Kick **** Kick **** Gatling Gun "Gay Slur" Kick *rinse, repeat*
    Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    The PC version is full glitches and bugs. You have to edit encrypted .ini files just to play the game properly. It runs like crap at 16:10 resolutions. 16bit textures appear randomly, shadow effects are glitchy, FOV value is for consoles, FPS cap is retarded. To sum up, don't waste your money by buying this game on PC because it is nothing but a horrible port. I hope next time they hire at least ONE QA guy to at least test this game once before shipping. Because the vanilla PC version is just plain unplayable. I mean what were they thinking? Collapse
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    wouldnt be a too bad game, but 99% of the time the players are retarded, who didnt even thought how to read and thats ruins the game, could be a really good team co-op game , but friends not always available when you wanna play who could play it right, to make those combo kills, so since you play with random players even 1 idiot can ruin the hole killstreaks which makes the game pointless and annoying. i just bought it 1 day ago, read the killstreaks how to do those combos and its fun when you can do it, but thats happens like 2 times in 1 hour gaming which is awful. Hate this game, because it would be so much fun, but idiots are ruins it... Expand
  24. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    Every last bit of exquisite detail in the game might as well have been a poster, pure artwork on an invisible wall. The pathfinding is a direct one-way-to-the-end-of-the-level route in SP, with so many cutscenes and the headache-unducing camera wobble make the game a pure piece of trash. Even the cursing seemed as if it was either translated or curse words given to a 5year old to memorize and make a sentence with. Multiplayer has ZERO chat function via keyboard so unless you're telepathic, good luck getting people to understand what it means to wave your gun towards a target. Out of the box, it has NO startup screen forcing new players to download a completely new interface in order to verify your game and download 2 patches from dial-up servers on the MOON! It took a week of searching forums to find the way to completely install the game to play it. While PCF (People Can Fly) make great gore and gibs with slo-mo effects, that's pretty much where they're skill ends. An absolute waste of money. I really tried hard at getting my $60 worth, but with no way to talk to other players via the keyboard, and a slow acceptance of people that would consider using voice chat to talk to strangers, this was a serious disappointment. Expand
  25. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    I can play this game for free and still i dont want to do that
    The game is a broken console port
    locked FOV,cant set it to 90
    locked fps to 62(more fps=less eye strain)
    cant disable headbob and other screen shakes
    whole screen zoom when you ads
    boring gameplay
    if you are 9 or 10 and you have never before played a FPS game on a PC then i guess this would be a ok game for you
  26. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Obligatory 0 for using Games for Windows Live. An unforgivable offence, as GfWL is Microsoft's attempt to kill PC gaming in favor of the Xbox. There might be something playable under the DRM, but I'd have to pirate it to find out.
  27. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm itself was amusing for about two hours of slaughter, but after you've kicked an enemy into the air, shot half of him away with a four-barrelled shotgun and whipped the other half into a huge burning hole, it remained just that. All you do the entire game is running through a level, kill everyone the most "intuitive" way and run again. You never re-visit an area, you never familiarize yourself with the environment, nothing your "learn" is of any use.

    It was indeed interesting to play and many times, I was just like "Wooah!", but this quickly became boring. The ending was the most disappointing part. I expected something like "Hardcore mode unlocked" or such, but all I got was the "Echo" mode, which was basically just a "high-score hunt".

    To summarize this: Bulletstorm is a nice and exciting shooter and definately something new with its "over the top and even more"-kills, but it's lack of depth, dynamics and content, which was just replaced by "f**k", "s**t", "m****r**c**r" and what not else, really reduced the fun of this game.
    I'd only recommend Bulletstorm if you're really a fan of slaughtering and don't care about story.
    Expand
  28. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    If you love Co-Op, true Co-Op, then DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It is awful. My SO and myself love playing games together, but the only "co-op" mode this game has? Survival 4 player....against waves of mindless bot with no strategy other than shoot at them in various ways. Hoping for story mode together? TOO BAD, they removed it from the game, because apparently playing the campaign together with a friend breaks everything. I should have known better than to trust another EA game. Do yourself a favor, if you like gory fights with no thought, perhaps this is for you. But if you want a game you can sit down and play for hours of entertainment with another person? Look elsewhere. Expand
  29. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    Never, and I seriously mean NEVER have I encountered a game with so many bugs. Hell, Battlefield 3 BETA had less bugs!!! The second chapter I had to restart because of a bug. The third chapter, I had to reload to a checkpoint, because of bug. And now, on the fourth chapter I'm done with the game. I'll never pick this up again due to the ridiculous amount of bugs I encountered. Before the plant boss Tesheka* got stuck on stairs, that I had to glitch myself through. Then, I had to glitch myself through a branch that is supposed to be climbed over. Then, after beating the boss and spending a good 10 minutes on it, I was completely bugged and couldn't move on. Tesheka* followed me around the huge empty hole where the boss died, and I could not move forward with the game. This game can collect dust for all I care, and the only reason I'm giving it a 2 and not a 1 is the semi-fun gameplay. The overused curse words, and stupid puns got old after chapter 3. Horrible game, do not recommend it at all. Expand
  30. Sep 23, 2012
    3
    Bulletstorm is a f****ng bad plagiarism of Borderlands : the same bad boys, the same bad world, the same bad language, the same cartoon graphics and a worst porting from Xbox to PC than borderlands, that was already very bad. And the main characters have the charisma of a sick oyster. He has no strategy in fights, the world in not interesting, the linearity dates from 1990. This game can only have an interest for a person that has never played to Borderlands (but is there anyone that never played to Borderlands ? :) ). And I don't speak about Games for Windows live, the uninteresting world, and the difficulty that is totally smoked ....

    Finally, a game to avoid.
    Expand
  31. Dec 9, 2012
    1
    WTF is wrong with Micro$oft and their games for windows live ??? that thing is freking retardet. 111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
  32. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    This game is a horrible generic console shooter. Everything from linear levels with no exploring ability, health regen, sprint to aimdownsights is present in here. It doesn't differ from Call of Duty in anyway except the aesthetics. Gameplay is from Call of Duty.

    Highly recommend staying away from this.
  33. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    The PC version is full glitches and bugs. You have to edit encrypted .ini files just to play the game properly. It runs like crap at 16:10 resolutions. 16bit textures appear randomly, shadow effects are glitchy, FOV value is for consoles, FPS cap is retarded. To sum up, don't waste your money by buying this game on PC because it is nothing but a horrible port. I hope next time they hire at least ONE QA guy to at least test this game once before shipping. Because the vanilla PC version is just plain unplayable. I mean what were they thinking? Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm is perfectly designed to appeal to the 14 year old boys who can't buy it because it's rated MA15+. [May 2011, p.64]
  2. 70
    While not a game that would alter the flow of history, Bulletstorm proved to be very pleasant and an extremely aberrant surprise not lacking the ability of self-irony. [Mar 2011]
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    77
    If you are looking for a simple and entertaining shooter, that's not a Call of Duty clone, which offers lots of humour and a great story, Bulletstorm could be for you.