User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 581 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 581

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics and vistas. Had a lot of laughs and I think I'll be playing it again and again.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    I was hugely disappointed with this game. Not only were the controls sketchy (though I guess you can't really expect anything less from a console port these days), but the gameplay itself quickly became repetitive and boring. Add onto that unrelateable characters and unnecessary cutscenes every other minute and you've got one hell of a mess for a game. Definitely not worth $60.
  3. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    Fun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievement system that pays you out to buy more ammo. It's a short game, and there is almost no replay value. My biggest complaint is the hyper nauseating camera motions. Jumping over an obstacle, or pulling a lever causes the camera to wobble around drunkingly for a couple of seconds. There's more than one scene where your vision is blurred involuntarily. I'd recommend it if the price were $15-$20. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    An action packed ride from start to finish. Crass humor that's actually entertaining rather than annoying, placed at all the right times. The weapon system has enough diversity to work, but not enough that they sit around without being used. The skill system is the very core of the game, turning enemies into playthings while you try to best yourself with each encounter. A gem in a genre overpopulated with 'serious' war games to concerned with their own image. Expand
  5. BMF
    Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Dont listen to the negitive reviews Bulletstorm is a very fun fast pace and funny game that I can see replaying many times online and off the only negitive I would say is a lack of 3D support right out the box but that is on the way.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing game! Repetitive weapons...lack of multiplayer variety...repetitive level design....old graphics engine (more and more evident if you use
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Another potentially good game ruined by Games for Windows Live. I play games through STEAM all the time and don't have any issues, how is it that Games for Windows Live can cause so many crashes. I tried to play it all the way through, but uninstalled it after about an hour. Don't waste your money. Any game that uses Games for Windows Live is an immediate deal breaker for me.
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    I played the game for an hour and a half, and besides the graphics NOTHING amused me. "Bulletstorm" is a slash-and-shoot game; it entices you to violence and blood stronger than any other games, offering points for your "creative" kills. Oh, do you also know what it offers? A linear story with 500 cuss words, terrible campaign with groggy controls, and a multiplayer that doesn't really offer anything new. I'd suggest playing something alse than this. Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2011
    1
    Not a very good game. How the hell did this get good reviews? The only reason I tried Bulletstorm out was because of the ratings on Wikipedia. Deserves a 3 at best, only rated it lower to offset the inflated score. Very repetitive, no replay value, and an average storyline. Another cod copy-cat bites the dust.
  10. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    Although the game is a great showcase of the Unreal engine, I find it to be very repetitive. Some better multiplayer modes would have improved my review but not by much.
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is difficult to judge. On one hand, the overpowered, foulmouthed, muscular heroes are reminiscent of Duke Nukem or Serious Sam (which is a good thing.) It's nice, after the stale Call Of Duty clone black hole games are falling into, to have something that feels like a throwback while still using beautiful graphics and fun, innovative gameplay.

    The skillshot system is very fun,
    although the player tends to lapse into the same few kills over and over. The weapons are not hugely diverse, but there are still enough of them to bring several different tactics to the table. The environments are gorgeous, and the enemies and gore are plentiful.

    Arguably the worst thing about Bulletstorm is that it is a console port - and it feels like one. The control scheme is very minimal and uses some rather odd configurations (like using space rather than enter in the menus) but you get used to it. Interestingly enough it borrows (or perhaps loaned) a few different moves from the upcoming Crysis 2, such as kicking and sliding, but I actually prefer the way Bulletstorm does it. The other big complaint is the cutscenes- there is a lot of pre-scripted action where you lose control, as well as key events that actually freeze the game until you do what you're told in an attempt to avoid that cutscene feeling and force interaction.

    I don't personally consider Bulletstorm to be worth a full $60, but the game is still very, very fun, despite its flaws.
    Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    "A true successor to Painkiller"? Really? This game is not similar to Painkiller by any measure. Entirely different narrative structure, campaign and level design typology, repetitive enemies, rail-shooter-like gameplay, cover-based combat, no health-bar, no jump capability, 2-weapon carry limit & leash, quick-time events, achievement-based motivation... Could. Not. Be. Much. More. Different. Than. PAINKILLER. Disappointing as this spells the death of old-style frenzied shooters if this is what passes for 'innovation' with this genre. Expand
  13. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm is the most BADASS game ever made by human being. Really crazy weapons. Good story and nice multiplayer. What else do you want? Kill with skill baby! Expand
  14. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    Awesome game...well worth the coin for a change (no pun intended). If, like me, you've become SO tired of formulaic FPS clones then "Bulletstorm" is a welcome change o'pace. Love the detailed graphics, the humor, the fast pace and the weapons. Yes, there is a bit of repetition but that's a weakness with any shooter. Due to that and the rather limited MP aspect, I can't give "Bulletstorm" a perfect score. But I would rate it right up there with the first "Halo", or the first "F.E.A.R." release. Those weren't perfect either but both introduced a fresh style of play that rocked the gaming frontiers of their day. Kudos to EA/EPIC/PCF for putting the FUN back into FPS! Expand
  15. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Great game! very original and creative. Nice variety of weapons and attacks. Loses 1 point for bad story and excessive swearing, and another one for bad quality pre-rendered cutscenes and horrible performance issues even on high-end machines. Overall, I'd love to play another game like this, and i'd definitely recommend this game to anyone who's bored of playing bad clones of call of duty like medal of honor Expand
  16. Feb 26, 2011
    3
    Bulletstorm is fun at first, unusual approach to killing, you have to use weapons in special manner to earn Skill Points, and so you slowly make your way through game, listening to countless alcohol-inspired lines. Well, it wouldn't be so bad if you had to use your guns in exactly specific way, for example, with Revolver you have to attempt one-shot kills, with shotgun you have to approach in exact vicinity or with the sniper rifle, each kill from which looks ENTIRELY same. Add to these graphic imperfections (you can see light-blue squares from time to time) and the storyline, which in particular doesn't worth much... If you decide to buy this game, don't expect much, this is just your average shooter. Expand
  17. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Take Serious sam, Duke nuken, mix it with Gears of war and you'll get the **** called Bulletstorm. It's - great, one of the best fps made, may be for years - full of action and fun. Why not to spend couple of hours and test PC version - is a great question for me? But console-port bugs and mouse sensitivity which is higher when you aim (OMG do they even play PC version?) is the only disappointing. Expand
  18. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    at first thought game was quite cool, a little different, shoddy graphics but I can live with that, then very very quickly it just becomes a repetitive borefest that requires very little skill to easily proceed through the dull, monotonous levels. All in all it is your typical no brainer console shooter, tries to be flashy, fails, will keep people entertained for a couple of weeks until the next overpriced, piss easy fad game comes out to make people spend another wad of cash to be mildly entertained for a week or so. Might be worth checking out if you see it for $5 somewhere. Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    This game is great.
    From the beginning of the game until the end it is a dirty, fast highway completly suffered with blood.
    It a game, you can forget about the story it´s some cheap revangestory about asspained spacemarines or something.
    The only things you will remember are the combat and the gameplay.
    9/10
  20. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! There is so much depth in the skill-shot system and the Echo mode will have you come back and play over and over again. The team based MP mode is a lot of fun too. It changes up the rules by reward players for cooperating. Fantastic!
  21. Apr 20, 2011
    3
    hugely disappointed with this game, i was expecting it be a unreal series successor instead it turns to be a badly made spam game with no story or interesting game-play just spam your game to get lame bonuses horrible console port they just made no effort for the PC version at, the nagging issues with gfwl another horrible client makes this game a pure fail, ignore this one and play the better fps games out there very disappointed with epic games Expand
  22. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Mechanics, interface, weapon variety and the score challenge / kill with skill element make this a definite buy for anyone who fancies themselves as a bit tasty on FPS's. For the more casual gamer, the joy they'll take from this will also be one to remember.

    If there's one thing I could add to the game? I'd steal autolog direct from NFSHP.

    Great overhaul of the FPS genre; this new IP
    will run and run. Expand
  23. Mar 4, 2011
    3
    This game is fun at the beginning, but in the middle it gets boring, boring, boring. The killing gets repetitive, and you think you are at work, rather than having fun. The story is ahhh, rather don't mention it at all. It has more cutscenes than Duty Calls, the COD parody. Ok, it isn't a Mass Effect, but a Dolph Lundgren movie has a better script. The bigest pain for me is that, this game feels like a rail shooter. I was feeling like I was in a monorail, or maybe I was a monorail with a big boot.
    The graphics are nice, but I played Quake II last month, and I felt I had more freedom in it. Sorry for my English, just learning....
    Expand
  24. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    It's hard for a fresh breeze in FPS nowadays, but Bulletstorm is definitely this kind of breeze. Astonishing graphics, interesting story and more and more absorbing climat, that's the game most important features. I prefer to spend 12h playing Bulletstorm than to play another World War game or a columbian forest adventure...
  25. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Head-blowing, ball-breaking, limb-tearing, MASS DESTRUCTION. These are just a couple of the things you will experience in Epic Games new release Bulletstorm. It doesn't quite have the same dark presence feel to it as Gears did, however it has double the blood! It's fast paced shooting feels perfect, and the combos are amazing! No time is wasted, when you run/slide around shooting/blowing up bad guys in the beautiful world of Bulletstorm!

    Although a slacking multiplayer is unfortunately keeping this title from a perfect 10!
    Expand
  26. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    The most fun I've had in a first person shooter in a long time, if not ever. To get the obvious out of the way, sound, grafics and level design are superb, among the best you will find in any game. It's incredible with how much detail the levels are designed, which tend to be very colorful and atmospheric.

    But what makes Bulletstorm truly great is it's gameplay. Take the fast paced action
    of Unreal and Quake, and mix it with hefty dose of Street Fighter 4's intricate strategies and combos and this is what you get. Instead of just sitting behind cover and dispatching one enemy after another, the game actively encourages you to setup devastating skillshots that can obliterate entire groups of enemies with a single shot. Each encounter is a puzzle to solve in the most efficient and brutal way.

    Bulletstorm is just as much a twitch action game as it is a thinking man's game. Bulletstorm is very fresh in it's approach, but at the same time also very oldschool with it's arcade like approach, where it's not just about winning, but winning with style and getting the biggest highscore.

    Bulletstorm is truly a gamer's game, much more than any Call of Duty, Halo, Battlefield or Killzone.
    Expand
  27. Feb 28, 2011
    4
    please epic,i know you created the unreal engine 3 but youve solicited it to so many companies everything on any console looks exactly the same,its been 5 years now and it was old 3 years ago.
    this could be any of a 101 releases in the last couple of years,tweak it and it could be bioshock gears batman or many many more.
    stop this engine please(im almost tempted to start a petition)
  28. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    So far this is the best FPS game of the year! This is one of very few games that I will play through many times. Ignore all of these people who are just haters. These same gamers vote negatively on almost everything. And 'kltpzyxm1953' don't worry about how long it took you to get through the game, we're all different and by the way I'm young and it took me almost as long to finish.
  29. Apr 5, 2012
    0
    What a terrible game. I bought this on a Steam sale for $5.00 and after 20 minutes of watching horrible cut scenes intermixed with crossing the room and pressing E here then R there, I couldn't take it anymore. I wouldn't pick this up for free. Steer clear.
  30. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    Overall an extremely entertaining game. It felt like Gears of War, if you had a special leash that can throw enemies across the map. The point scoring system was delightful, and the story was exciting. Can't wait to pick up the sequel.
  31. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    When I bought this game, I was unsure of what it would be like. I had heard people saying the storyline was weak and that the gameplay was boring. However, I found the game to be hugely entertaining. The point system made you want to play in a different way to how you would normally on an FPS. The pacing of how certain weapons got introduced was nice, allowing new weapons to be discovered right until the end, keeping experimentation alive. The on-screen HUD was also a nice touch, allowing you to never be too confused. I also found the humour placed between the characters funny, and not too stupid. On the other hand though, the controls for the PC were a little clunky - I wasn't able to jump over a wall that easily here and there, but nothing that truly frustrated me. The story was shorter than you might expect - about 9 hours of play, not always as long as some game campaigns are. Also, the story wasn't as strong as it could have been, I wasn't always entirely sure who was attacking me and why. Though, it mattered little as the plot of the whole game was clear, and the on-going action-packed scenes of gameplay, from a bursting dam to a toppling building to a huge dinosaur, were extremely fun to play. I would recommend this game to anyone thinking about buying it, especially as it is now selling online and in-stores cheaply - rarely above £10 (Or $15). Great game. Expand
  32. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I think Bulletstorm is a masterpiece that shines like a star through the insane catchy action which comes in a unique gaming mode: the "to kill with creativity" mode.: The more different manners are used the more skill points are earned for buying new weapons or for upgrading the yet claimed weapons. The game is pointed at the action it and on that point it's the best and most fun game to date. Bulletstorm is one of the few to let me replay the single player for more than 2 times (Played it 6 times by now and still wanting to play it.) The game just feels good, looks good and makes you have fun fun and more fun! Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Bulletstorm is very fun to play. Kill with Skill, why nobody had done this before? Although pretty blunt and really fun, this is the true successor of the late Duke Nukem. As weapons are quite different and as you choose from a selection at start-up, the game has a good replay value so you can start by choosing different weapons such as for instance the head trap of the Saw movie (and make it explode). Or take fireworks to see the guys fly and explode into beautiful sparks. Each impact on the enemy is managed as well so you can shoot any parts of the body and have a different reactions (and various bonuses). The game is not too repetitive either in terms of worlds and different enemies, and there's a background story to discover. In short, a game very cool game to let loose! Expand
  34. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This game isnt about story, its about kicking ass. It was a hell alot of fun and alot of detail for my computer to handle, and i would recommend this to anyone
  35. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    I had a lot of fun playing through the single-player. The humor was actually good in an over-the-top way, the voice acting was some of the best I've heard in a game. The scenery is gorgeous, if people are complaining about the graphics being bad, their computer isn't good enough to handle the higher graphics. Game took me about 7 hours to beat on Normal difficulty, a little too short IMO.

    Those that say the game got repetitive clearly didn't explore all the ways to kill people, and are used too COD type shooters, there are 200 some different "skillkills".

    The only thing I can fault the game on (other than being too short) is having a repetitive multiplayer, it is essentially horde mode from Gears of War 2, but with an emphasis on getting good scores.
    Expand
  36. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    First of all, I will tell you that bought this game and I am satisfied with what it has to offer. When I begun playing it it seemed like a standard first person shooter, but later events in the game convinced me that this is indeed a bit different from the rest. The game play is borderline survival, kind of like left4dead, because hoards of enemy attack you and you have to kill them fast before they kill you, but you are free to use your reflexes to spot pieces of the environment and your own tactics and gun skills to kill them in gruesome ways. The are bombs, cactuses, throwing off cliffs, electrocution, headshots, sniping, bombing, dropping things on them, kicking them into plants ect ect ect. But you do this at such a fast pace that blood and pieces of enemy splatter everywhere. There are also different types of enemies, ones that charge, one's that carry assault rifles, ones that ride helicopters, and even one's that attempt to strap bombs on you and blow you up. Anyway, it's all very fast paced and fun.

    The one thing I like the most is that it is very runnable. I am playing it at 60fps with 8xaa on an aging quad core processor! I am glad that I do not have to upgrade anytime soon; and also a wireless xbox360 controller works like a charm, it even shows the buttons on screen and everything. The Storyline is linear...but like I said if you compare it to a game like l4d, which is also very linear, true, bu the sole purpose is to survive, same to some extent with this game, but made easier by upgrades as you go.
    Expand
  37. Feb 24, 2011
    6
    I have to say that I have not played through the entire game but what I have seen so far is disappointing. Simply put, it promised to bring something new to the fps genre, the only thing it brought me was boredom. I am not claiming that this a terrible game, but your average fps.
  38. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. Really good graphics, nice sounds and music, but the most important aspect in Bullestorm is gameplay. It's incredible. Pacing is outstanding, skillshots are awesome and finally game is really fun. Must have for all FPS fans :)
  39. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just another shooter trying to differentiate itself by trying to seem edgy. Instead, it ends up being corny and kind of embarrassing. The question is never about graphics. The real question is how does this game differentiate itself from other shooters?
    What features does it offer that haven't couldn't just be a clever mod for Quake 2?
    The answer: Nothing really. Story doesn't make up for putting a month of modelling effort into some new guns and terrain. This stuff is cheap to produce. It's the complex and innovative rules and game mechanics that push the envelope. Something Bulletstorm doesn't even come close to doing with it's messy hair and only-big-boys-can-act-bad (for kids) attitude.

    This game isn't very good, I feel weird listening to the dialogue and the action is over the top in such a way that it's bad.
    Expand
  40. Mar 20, 2011
    1
    People give this game 10? Developers of the game shouldn't be allowed to review. SO buggy, my ESC key never seems to work in this game and of course you have to use it to get by some menus in game. The sliding around and kicking is rather boring. And the multiplayer is even more boring, its just a zombie rehash slaughter. ooo so exciting...The 3 hours I have into will be the only 3. I have more fun playing the $15 Monday Night Combat. Do not waste your money on this game! Expand
  41. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    While this is not my favorite game of all time nor is it my favorite shooter its not without its enjoyment. I found the Skillshot to be very enjoyable and the fact that you can remap all your buttons a added bonus so any review that complains about the controls needs to be marked down. I did find the story to perhaps be a little bit thin as if made out of crackers but that was made up for with the amount of action presented almost right away. I did feel a little to overpowered sometimes like I was on a playground hitting little kids with golfclubs while they were throwing balls of cotton at me. All in all this game is worth the price of admission.

    Pros

    Graphics
    Intense Action
    Skillshots

    cons
    To easy most of the time
    Thin story
    Expand
  42. Jun 17, 2011
    3
    Fun game, fun take on the genera, interesting, unique, amazing, cool weapons. But, the talking is so gross, perverted, nasty, sick, stupid, pointless, thing in my life. They say so much crap that's discusting like "haha Cocksuckers!" in creepy voices. and "suck on it, ugh!!" and "AHAHAHA! Sushi Dick!" and "You shoulda f***** me when you had the chance" and all this freaking creepy stuff, and it's not only what they say but how they said it. I swear I wonder what the heck the actors who had to say this were thinking. Were like uhhh? I mean the language is so much and gross I can't even enjoy the game. The language they say doesn't even have anything to do with it! I mean they don't say "Damnit they're comin in from the sides!" instead they say something like "haha suck my dick you cocksucking sushi dick!" and it's like what the hell? seriously... They screwed the game up with the language Expand
  43. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    This game really is hard to judge to be honest. It has plenty of ups and downs but nitpicking at a game like this doesn't get you anywhere. You can enjoy it regardless.

    I'll start off by saying that the graphics are pretty awesome. The game looks pretty surreal at times. Seeing an entire city along with a sublime-looking sky with celestial bodies floating in the sky (like nearby planets)
    never gets old; and you usually get time to sit and stare at it all, regardless of how fast-paced and hectic this game is. You'll be trudging through a dark sewer then you finally come out of an opening to the outside world and are greeted with a refreshing, atmospheric vista.


    Anyway, on to gameplay. Bulletstorm is definitely a run-and-gun style game, but anyone who bought this game thinking otherwise should have researched it some more. It was blatantly obvious when they originally showed it at E3. The skillshot system is actually very fun to use, but I feel that it was too forced. The only way to play effectively is to kick bad guys in to environmental hazards or do fancier things like shoot an explosive flail on one bad guy and blow up a group of them with it. It's honestly very sloppy at times. You might fire a cannonball from the bouncer in to a huge crowd of enemies and end up inadvertently unlocking 3 new skill shots at once while racking up hundreds of skill points. The only way to enjoy this game is to acquire skill points then stop at one of the many drop pods that are littered throughout the levels to buy ammo and upgrade your guns. These menus are simple enough to navigate, but it really kills the pace at times. You can literally access a drop pod in the middle of a massive battle and it just pauses the game for you while you buy a bunch of ammo and charge shots. In my opinion, this tends to break the continuity of the game. This game smells of console port, but I honestly stopped caring about that ages ago since it's so common. The only thing I dislike is how you're limited to carrying 3 weapons at once, and the assault rifle (which is useless) can't be exchanged for a different weapon. Trying to kill a guy with conventional bullets in this game is about as effective as shooting someone with raisins, it just doesn't kill them. The charge shot on the rifle is good, but it's boring. It's just a perfectly-accurate, disintegrating round that kills any normal enemy in one hit. You have to stop by a drop pod if you want to exchange weapons, unless a special enemy drops the one you want (which isn't too often).

    The skillshot database is also a bit annoying because you have to bring it up constantly to review any new skill shots you've unlocked so you can earn enough points to keep your guns loaded. If you play on easy it's not really difficult to do this.

    Another little issue I had with this game was with the quick time events where you have to hold the E key at specific points in the game to focus in on an event that's occurring. If you react quick enough, you are rewarded with 500 skill points. The points are nice, but it interferes with gameplay, and they throw these quick time events at you like every 5 minutes and it gets really annoying after the 3rd time. You can choose to ignore it, but you don't get any points.


    But like I said, nitpicking doesn't get you anywhere with a game like Bulletstorm. All in all it's a decent game. It wasn't worth $60 when it first came out, but It's only $20 on Steam now, so anyone who's considering trying it shouldn't be worried about spending too much money. There's a demo available on Steam as well.
    Expand
  44. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    What a great game this is. First person shooter but also a melee beat-em-up. Fantastic fun combos, superb graphics and as to the plot and characterization.. Well, it's like playing a John Carpenter movie from back when he was in his prime.
  45. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    i want my money back now its not worth the 20 i paid for it if you want a good game play crysis not this **** ok its hella boring and is just awful never buy this game period
  46. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    While the sound, graphics and art-style are fine, the game-play gets old really fast. The skill shot system seems like a pretty cool idea at first, but the repetition shows itself more quickly than you might like. The enemies act like they're waiting to get slaughtered by your ever repeating kicks and leash attacks, the difficulty settings don't seem to change anything at all.
    The story
    and storytelling are atrocious. It seems like the developers just didn't give a **** about an interesting and exciting story, bad clichés get followed by even more clichés. The game tries to take itself serious, which fails horribly. Unnecessary cut scenes which often contain boring quick time events, pop up every two minutes and interrupt the shallow run and gun game-play.

    Bulletstorm does not deserve the praise it gets from all the big reviewers, and its definitely not worth the high price.
    Expand
  47. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Bulletstorm is an over the top brainless first person shooter. If that is not your thing looks elsewhere. I really enjoyed my time with this game. There are some really cool environments in this game and the visuals are for the most part really pleasant to look at. The story and character interactions are surprisingly alright even though they hardly will win any awards. The campaign should take you around ten hours to beat depending on the difficulty. And the ten hours are actually quite varied with a lot of really cool moments even though the mindless shooting have a habit of getting a tiny bit repetitive at the end. The shooting is however quite good and the action feels quite satisfying although i would like to have seen more enemy-types, more bosses and more weapons in the game. The upgrade system could also be fleshed out more. Another thing i should mention is that the game is not only linear but also very much static. The inability to jump for instance will probably piss a lot of people of. Bulletstorm is by no means perfect but its a really competent mindless first person shooter and i do recommend fans of the genre to check this game out. I certainly had a lot of fun with it. Expand
  48. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    To summarize it, this is Borderlands meets Madworld on steroids. It's a linear, action-packed, face-paced shooter that scores you based your kills, similar to the mechanics in Madworld. You use these points to upgrade your guns, abilities, and buy ammo. You therefore have an incentive to combo together and search for new "skillshots" to gain points. Each skillshot was satisfying in its own right and you didn't have to go out of your way to achieve them. It adds a lot of complexity and depth to the game. The energy whip is an awesome core mechanic that's similar to the force. It's charge attack never gets old either. Each gun has a unique use and intensely fun to play. Unfortunately, you won't have enough time to thoroughly use them all. The game is pretty short, which is to be expected of a new IP, but it delivers a witty tongue-in-cheek characters and story. The story is mostly ignored in favor of awesome action sequences such as a giant flaming wheel in a rail sequence and a monstrous prehistoric mother pissed off at you. The ending is pretty abrupt but keeps players drooling for what's to come next. Expand
  49. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    Bulletstorm was hyped as being a welcome tangent from the generic military FPSes out there, and I have to say it does live up to the hype...mostly. The story is quite original, as are the weapons and enemies. I thought the new skillshot system pretty much addressed the deep-down desires of everyone who ever played an FPS (c'mon, who doesn't aim for the balls at least once?), and the addition of environmental hazards is a great cause of many "f-yeah!" moments. Where Bulletstorm loses points from me is the fact that there simply aren't enough things to shoot! I played through several levels where I encountered maybe two major fights, and spent the rest of the time listening to dialogue, walking, and responding to quick-time events. Not only does this make the entire fancy-pants skillshot system feel like a bit of a waste, but it also really breaks the immersion: You're on a planet populated by an endless mutant horde, but only 50 of them can be arsed to come after you? Then there's the cramped level design, which I suppose is necessary for the environmental kills, but it still would have been nice to have some large, arena-type areas as well. The game does feature some beautiful, expansive cityscapes...but you're always seeing them from some narrow pathway. I mentioned that the story is original, but it tends to wrangle control from you much too often with quick-time events and "ooh, look at that!" moments. Seriously guys, your game's motto is "kill with skill", not "skillfully push buttons when we say so".

    Despite it's flaws, I'd recommend Bulletstorm. We need more games like this, with a sense of humour about themselves and which reward you for shooting things in the ass :p
    Expand
  50. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Stop using the unreal engine. Its an outdated piece of crap. It was outdated the moment Cryengine was created, and why people keep using it I will never know.
  51. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    I'm an old man and not very good at most games. I had to play this game at the lowest setting and did not die too many times. Well, several times towards the end, but I finished the game. It took me 14 hours (I know...I said I'm old) and I have to say that I was very impressed! I purchased the Prima guide and reviewed it before and during the game and was able to get a lot more out of the game than I would have otherwise. Those who are giving this game a low rating are probably just rushing from point A to point B so fast that you can't possibly appreciate all of the differences and subtle nuances. Plus...the guide helps with Skillshots, Collectibles and Achievements. How about looking for the good in something rather than always looking for the bad? I really liked this game including the crude humor. I think it's a solid 10! Expand
  52. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    Stepping into familiar gameplay territory and adding a few unique characteristics, Bulletstorm is a solid and enjoyable title but does not break any new ground. The biggest selling points for the game, being the "leash" and "kick" abilities are amusing but sadly not fun enough - or useful enough - to hold your interest throughout the duration of the game. These two features were initially touted to be crucial to gameplay, promising endless and creative kill combinations but sadly end up being for the most part mildy useful "utilities". Gameplay is your typical arcade-esque action shooter spliced with regular cut-scenes and well-scripted boss events, which are entertaining but not incredibly involving. Action is very comic-book oriented with exaggerated gore, massive ammo-clips and plenty of dismemberment all combined with a bus-load of profanity, corny catch-phrases and even momma jokes. The much hyped leash enables you to execute some interesting kills and awards you points (skillshots) for creatively slaying your enemies. There are many award kills you can obtain, but unfortunately sometimes I found they did not register. I particularly enjoyed running into a mob, pulling them one-by-one though the air towards me, removing their heads, then booting them off a precipe or impaling them onto a set of conveniently placed spikes. The moderate selection of guns are limited but fun to use - mowing down a group a punks with a minigun and watching them quickly turn to gibs and detached limbs is a guilty pleasure, and one you'll indulge in often. There is of course a gun sight but it aint really that useful - with most guns you can pretty much get the job done with the standard reticle and ignore the sights altogether. Level design is clever and thoughtful, but unfortunately completely linear and filled to the brim with invisible barriers. There were annoying instances where I got stuck on the edge of a 2 foot-high ramp and and couldn't drop to the floor - which as you would understand caused me to swallow a few loud curses of frustration. These sort of things become a problem when no jump button is available, only a keypress to leap over preset obstacles. Graphics are a definate strongpoint of Bulletstorm and the game regularly places beautiful vistas with massive draw distances in front of your eyes. You will notice the Unreal engine at work immediately, and while it's starting to show its age it still never fails to impress. Eyecandy is everywhere from huge river gorges, detailed alien cities, gloomy caves, dusty mines and flashy spacecraft interiors. Colors are vibrant and textures are sharp, along with fluid character animations and of course plenty of colourful blood to splash over it all. There is never a scenario where the game looks dull. It's a shame the "corridors" of linear gameplay are so restrictive.. it would have been nice to explore some of that scenery further. The multiplayer is a basic, but rather suitable affair consisting of two modes, 'Anarchy' and 'Echo'. Anarchy mode is similar Gears of War 2's Horde mode. You and three other players fight off increasingly difficult waves of enemies trying to get the highest 'skillshot'. Echo mode is a solitary affair. It lets you play through the single-player map of your choice trying to get the highest score possible. The scores are then posted on a leaderboard in which you can compare with all your friends. Multiplayer lacks options and depth but is still fun to play and meshes with this type of game nicely. In conclusion I think I expected too much from this game and can't help reflect my disappointment in this review. Its 9 or so hours of gameplay are still enjoyable but never provide you with a feeling of accomplishment or even inspiration to keep playing. The boss fights are always something to look forward to and the story meanders between interesting and cheesy, but I still enjoyed it enough to recommend it. If you need a break from your try-hard realistic shooters and are looking for something a little more colorful and offbeat, then Bulletstorm will undoubtedly be just for you. Just don't expect the game-changing experience it promised. Expand
  53. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    A very solid FPS with beautiful visuals. The whole skill system is very cool, and the weapons allow for some great action. It was a very enjoyable experience, but the game's too short with too little to do. It's the type of game I enjoy a lot but 8 hours later when it's over, I never touch it again, despite it being quite good. So in this regard, it doesn't stand out, but it's totally worth playing as a rental or $10-$20 purchase. 7.5 score rounded to 8. Expand
  54. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Bulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Away with the standard aiming for the head like the majority of first-person shooters and bring on the skillshot system which is great for rewarding you with how inventive you can be with slaughtering the oncoming hordes. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing you setup a kill involving the deaths of 5+ enemies at once and seeing your entire screen explode with points which is used as currency for buying ammo and unlocking weapons and upgrades. I played the game on HARD which had the perfect balance of difficulty so that I could focus on killing things creatively just as equally as I had to focus on my own survival. The game has a great story, and the characters who at first may just seem to be loud, crass and two dimensional, slowly flesh out into surprisingly deep and likable characters. Bulletstorm is a lot more intelligent than it may appear to be, and at the end when the credits started rolling I was left wanting more. Expand
  55. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Awesome, mind-blowing game! I was really surprised how different and fresh is this game. Don't listen to the negative review. It's a fresh breeze in FPS genre and definitely worth playing.
  56. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Wonderful title. It concentrate on increasing personal skill to create most precise and deadly combos. Plus in multiplayer it forces You to work as a team. Solo actions are worth much less points. Many casual players will bounce off as they lack of skill but i can clearly recommend this game to all Pros. They will have a hell of a fun. Single player is enjoyable too. Storyline with a cool graphic and great ways of disposing enemy gives much more fun than casual games. Expand
  57. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Perfect game. Hard to write something new. For me it's kinda blast from the past. I really enjoy the game that provide fun instead of pathetic and "truly" patriotic chats... Love Bulletstorm for it's madness! Want MP in next part!
    There must be true MP!!!!
    nnanananannanaffdf saf f sadf g sgg aef g aew fae f wd **** g ads f adf gfw4rgg4 g 24 5rwfg wgsr f
  58. Mar 7, 2011
    7
    Repetition, grindy and limiting gun upgrade system, and lame ending didn't help this game at all. I have to say though, there were some really amazing and extremely fun parts to this game. From controlling a robot dinosaur and running from a giant wheel, well, there are definitely kick butt aspects to what this game 'can' deliver. I didn't like how the Leash has to be charged to use the Thumper, and also that the upgrade system for guns seemed grindy as well as having to buy ammo. I think that the XBOX live culture is encouraging the achievement obsession way too much and this is getting into games in all the wrong ways. It definitely didn't sever Bulletstorm that well. It's funny for a while to get some of the achievements in this game, and to also punish your enemies with world objects, but in the end that is the whole game. It is too much of the shooting and not enough of the mind blowing game play I was hoping for. The most annoying part was the teenage immature types of voice overs you keep having to listen to over and over again. I mean really it gets old after the first few times, and yet you are stuck with a Duke Nukem wanna be. This game could have been way better, perhaps the sequel will deliver. Expand
  59. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic gameplay in the single player mode. The skillshot system works incredibly good. The co-op in multi is good, but it's a pity that there's no other multiplayer modes.
  60. Mar 10, 2011
    7
    I must say that I wanted to rate this game higher then a 7 but I could not find myself to do so. I played the game to the end and enjoyed it but it seemed like that was it. It felt short, some of the weapons were useless to me, and the graphic options were disappointing, I did not like being locked at 60fps, also it seemed like there severe downsides to the unreal engine, certain aspects seemed seriously dated, but overall was nice graphical experience. I see no re-playability. Felt like a 1 shot pony. Like a movie u see and liked but soon forget about. Expand
  61. Mar 8, 2011
    7
    Score++: A great arcade shooter that gets right to the point -- shooting stuff in style. The combination of skillshots possible via kicking, sliding, leashing, and the various weapons is enough to keep you amused through the campaign. The story is mediocre but enough to keep your interest (besides, I purchased this to blow stuff up, not sit down for story time).

    Score--: Multi-player
    matchmaking has served to only place me in the most lag-filled matches. The single-player campaign is short (beat in 8 hours).

    Overall: I have no qualms recommending this to someone who wants an entertaining, albeit short, arcade shooter -- just don't expect the multiplayer to be revolutionary from the singleplayer.
    Expand
  62. Mar 17, 2011
    1
    Terrible game aimed at the most immature console gamers. Extremely short single player game, terrible dialogue, outdated and recycled game engine paired with the worst dialogue I have ever experienced make this one of the worst games I have played in a long time. Most positive reviews are from the younger console generation who get a kick out of the bad language. "LOL!! He said penis!!! This is awesome!!!" Expand
  63. Mar 19, 2011
    0
    A huge disappointment. Perhaps I expected something other than Serious Sam meets Gears of War but it thats what you'll get with Bulletstorm. The game's story isn't terrible but riddled with pitfalls and conflict sometimes too silly to really appreciate. The voice acting is actually not as bad as some people have made it out to be except with General Saranno's character. I swear they couldn't decide if he had a southern accent or not cause occasionally he'd have one and other times he'd speak almost like a normal person dropping any sort of attempt to mask an original voice at all. Otherwise, that portion the game is decent.

    What makes the game really feel like a let down is it's length. I beat it in roughly 7 hours on Hard. I did enjoy how it was non-stop action and I was constantly trying to come up with new ways to kill my enemies but with very little incentive to experiment with weapons I'm not comfortable with, thus leaving me feeling slightly alienated for a good portion of the skillshots. A lot of times, I swear I did a skillshot and didn't get credit for it.

    Can you rent the game? Do so, you'll probably beat it and be done with it and wonder why they left the ending like they did when people criticize the studio for leaving (spoiler: cliffhangers) in their games, especially this one being so short.
    It was like eating a hard loaf of bread only to find that someone tore a piece off the end.
    Expand
  64. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    It definitely is Serious Sam meets Gears of War, but it was still a very satisfying experience. Great graphics (though with a very "Unreal" look to them). I even laughed out loud a few times.
  65. Mar 20, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The developers knew the kill system gimmick in this game wouldn't float for long, which is why you are frequently forced to use non-standard game play during the first-half of the game. Such as controlling a mechazilla and many, many gatling guns which prevent most of the kills to be achieved anyway. After the first-half, you are invested and likely slosh through the rest of the game when you've paid $60 for it.

    The characters were awful, the script made zero sense-- even for an FPS-- and the liberal language was entirely unnecessary. Less than 10 sentences were uttered without expletive. To sum up the game: Kick **** Kick **** Gatling Gun "Gay Slur" Kick *rinse, repeat*
    Expand
  66. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    The PC version is full glitches and bugs. You have to edit encrypted .ini files just to play the game properly. It runs like crap at 16:10 resolutions. 16bit textures appear randomly, shadow effects are glitchy, FOV value is for consoles, FPS cap is retarded. To sum up, don't waste your money by buying this game on PC because it is nothing but a horrible port. I hope next time they hire at least ONE QA guy to at least test this game once before shipping. Because the vanilla PC version is just plain unplayable. I mean what were they thinking? Expand
  67. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    A very fun game, I just beat it and was very pleased. The banter between characters is down right hilarious, few games are actually funny these days. All of the guns available to use are entertaining, especially when charge shots are used. I like the skillshot system, it pushed me to achieve more interesting kills and while doing so it let me buy more fun ammunition to use on the enemies. Basically just a cycle of fun :) My advice: try to achieve as many skillshots to get the most out of this game. I could see the game getting repetitive if you sat down to beat it in one sitting, however I played it in several 1-2 hours sessions and I never grew bored. I will go back later in time and beat this game again. Exciting enemies and boss fights, fun weapons and hilarious characters. A very good and fun game. Expand
  68. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    wouldnt be a too bad game, but 99% of the time the players are retarded, who didnt even thought how to read and thats ruins the game, could be a really good team co-op game , but friends not always available when you wanna play who could play it right, to make those combo kills, so since you play with random players even 1 idiot can ruin the hole killstreaks which makes the game pointless and annoying. i just bought it 1 day ago, read the killstreaks how to do those combos and its fun when you can do it, but thats happens like 2 times in 1 hour gaming which is awful. Hate this game, because it would be so much fun, but idiots are ruins it... Expand
  69. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is a NON-STOP action ride of a game, you're put in the shoes of an epic sci-fi action adventure, with whipping, kicking and smashing enemies into creative montages of death and dismemberment. Game is hands down BEAUTIFUL as far as graphics, every set piece is well designed and simply awe inspiring. As far as story goes, pretty straight forward, you're a space pirate formerly part of an elite military squadron that went rogue when you find out that your commanding superior is just a straight up dick. Some time later, You being a drunk space pirate, decided to take on your former commanders battleship with your puny pirate spaceship, therefore crashing both ships into a deserted resort planet run by former prison inmates who built the resort. The beauty of the game comes in the form of its "SKILL SHOT" system in which you find the most creative ways to kill your enemies, whether you leash them with your whip, shoot them in mid-flight and proceed to kick them into an environmental hazard such as giant cacti, huge walls of rebar, or explosive barrels. I found myself barely shooting my gun and using the leash and boot as the most effective yet hilarious ways of dispatching my foes...As far as the enemy AI goes, they're dumber than a box of bricks but I imagine the enemy AI is purely there for you to destroy them as many ways as possible. The games path itself is very linear, and does not allow for any stray paths, you are pretty much just running from place to place with dialogue scenes in-between that tense up the story. The ending itself is very weak, but it leaves it wide open for a sequel. As far as replay value goes, its very high for a short time, until you unlock all skill shots, and it just gets boring, the MP is very limited and doesn't offer much more excitement, especially when you can only advance if your teammates cooperate in "team skillshots". I give this game a 7 because of its intuitive and genuinely fun gameplay mechanics, it lost points because of a weak MP portion and the replay value of killing your enemies in a number of ways DOES grow old, no matter what all the "PRO BULLETSTORMers" say.. Expand
  70. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Ok game, I got it for 5 bucks on steam... It is certainly not worth 50 bucks... Very awfull dialogues, an non-existent story made by and for morons... Gameplay wise, very fun to play, nice weapons Graphics wise really good... very nice representation and level design... I only hate the macho Gears of War beefcake empty dialogue stuff... Epic games needs to grow up! People can fly have proven themselves to be very capable developpers... Now make a intelligent game please... Expand
  71. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    This game is a blast! For the money (currently $20) it is absolutely worth a play-through. It's entertaining, not complicated, looks good, plays well. I like the setting and the characters, but didn't pay too much attention to the storyline. The action sequences are fast-paced, but if you like to take your time with shooters just lower the difficulty. The controls can be a little sketchy when you're in the menus and a Windows Live account is required, but I didn't find either of those to be a deal breaker. If you're looking for a fun shooter that you don't have to take seriously, look no further than Bulletstorm. Expand
  72. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    Every last bit of exquisite detail in the game might as well have been a poster, pure artwork on an invisible wall. The pathfinding is a direct one-way-to-the-end-of-the-level route in SP, with so many cutscenes and the headache-unducing camera wobble make the game a pure piece of trash. Even the cursing seemed as if it was either translated or curse words given to a 5year old to memorize and make a sentence with. Multiplayer has ZERO chat function via keyboard so unless you're telepathic, good luck getting people to understand what it means to wave your gun towards a target. Out of the box, it has NO startup screen forcing new players to download a completely new interface in order to verify your game and download 2 patches from dial-up servers on the MOON! It took a week of searching forums to find the way to completely install the game to play it. While PCF (People Can Fly) make great gore and gibs with slo-mo effects, that's pretty much where they're skill ends. An absolute waste of money. I really tried hard at getting my $60 worth, but with no way to talk to other players via the keyboard, and a slow acceptance of people that would consider using voice chat to talk to strangers, this was a serious disappointment. Expand
  73. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    I can play this game for free and still i dont want to do that
    The game is a broken console port
    locked FOV,cant set it to 90
    locked fps to 62(more fps=less eye strain)
    cant disable headbob and other screen shakes
    whole screen zoom when you ads
    boring gameplay
    if you are 9 or 10 and you have never before played a FPS game on a PC then i guess this would be a ok game for you
  74. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Obligatory 0 for using Games for Windows Live. An unforgivable offence, as GfWL is Microsoft's attempt to kill PC gaming in favor of the Xbox. There might be something playable under the DRM, but I'd have to pirate it to find out.
  75. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers. Bulletstorm itself was amusing for about two hours of slaughter, but after you've kicked an enemy into the air, shot half of him away with a four-barrelled shotgun and whipped the other half into a huge burning hole, it remained just that. All you do the entire game is running through a level, kill everyone the most "intuitive" way and run again. You never re-visit an area, you never familiarize yourself with the environment, nothing your "learn" is of any use.

    It was indeed interesting to play and many times, I was just like "Wooah!", but this quickly became boring. The ending was the most disappointing part. I expected something like "Hardcore mode unlocked" or such, but all I got was the "Echo" mode, which was basically just a "high-score hunt".

    To summarize this: Bulletstorm is a nice and exciting shooter and definately something new with its "over the top and even more"-kills, but it's lack of depth, dynamics and content, which was just replaced by "f**k", "s**t", "m****r**c**r" and what not else, really reduced the fun of this game.
    I'd only recommend Bulletstorm if you're really a fan of slaughtering and don't care about story.
    Collapse
  76. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    If you love Co-Op, true Co-Op, then DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It is awful. My SO and myself love playing games together, but the only "co-op" mode this game has? Survival 4 player....against waves of mindless bot with no strategy other than shoot at them in various ways. Hoping for story mode together? TOO BAD, they removed it from the game, because apparently playing the campaign together with a friend breaks everything. I should have known better than to trust another EA game. Do yourself a favor, if you like gory fights with no thought, perhaps this is for you. But if you want a game you can sit down and play for hours of entertainment with another person? Look elsewhere. Expand
  77. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Whip an enemy, send him flying into the air, just to get pierced by razor sharp spikes. BONUSPOINTS! Pull an enemy towards you, then kick him into the mouth of a flesh eating plant. BONUSPOINTS! Rip a fat guy' pants off and fire a charged shot at his furry little a**hole. BONUSPOINTS! Where other shooters thrive to be emotional and storydriven, and yet they fail, "Bulletstorm" wants to be an epic amount of fun and highly succeeds. One of my all time favorites. (Suck it, Decateron.) Expand
  78. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    Never, and I seriously mean NEVER have I encountered a game with so many bugs. Hell, Battlefield 3 BETA had less bugs!!! The second chapter I had to restart because of a bug. The third chapter, I had to reload to a checkpoint, because of bug. And now, on the fourth chapter I'm done with the game. I'll never pick this up again due to the ridiculous amount of bugs I encountered. Before the plant boss Tesheka* got stuck on stairs, that I had to glitch myself through. Then, I had to glitch myself through a branch that is supposed to be climbed over. Then, after beating the boss and spending a good 10 minutes on it, I was completely bugged and couldn't move on. Tesheka* followed me around the huge empty hole where the boss died, and I could not move forward with the game. This game can collect dust for all I care, and the only reason I'm giving it a 2 and not a 1 is the semi-fun gameplay. The overused curse words, and stupid puns got old after chapter 3. Horrible game, do not recommend it at all. Expand
  79. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    a fantastic game. one of the freshest shooters in years. i loved to play through the game and enjoyed it almost more than the (also) fantastic crysis 2. i recommend this game to everyone. you will like it
  80. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    The game is fun at first. But should have been released as a budget title. The campaigns get extremely boring and so does the gameplay. All you can do is fight the same type of enemies. If your get bored to death, the best thing you can do to make it a bit more entertaining is to aim for the head and get extra points because of headshots. Otherwise, the gameplay is boring and repetitve. Graphic wise, not good. Again, the devs care more the console gamers by powering this under the Unreal Engine just like every other game. Same atmosphere and feel as UT3. Expand
  81. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    It has a console port feeling all over it, and while you are playing a badass mercenary you cant even jump off a 2 feet ledge.
    The graphics are great it realy shows what the Unreal engine can do and its unreal :P but the levels still feel very repetitive and while its fun to open a door by kicking it after 2 or 3 times it gets old just like the whip while its fun for the first few times it
    gets old realy fast.
    i bought it in the store for 35euro but if i had to do it over again i would have rented it as the replay value is near to 0.
    giving it a 7 overall but its fairly good score is because of the great visuals not because of the gameplay

    9 for the visuals and a 5 for gameplay

    btw all the reviewers giving it a 9 or 10 you guys must got paid to give that grade go eat ****
    Expand
  82. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    A fresh breeze in the jungle of modern warfare shooters (not referring to the COD series in particular). A lighthearted game that doesn't take itself too seriously for the 14 year old in us who just wants to shoot aliens and blow things up. The unique concept of skillshot points and environmental interaction has its minor flaws (mainly that weapons are just overpowered thanks to the mouse controls) but overall is a very interesting and promising mechanic for future titles of the genre. Setting and art direction are brilliant, you can really immerse into the world around you although the gameplay itself is very linear. In my eyes the game's flow doesn't collide with the extensive use of cut scenes. Plus the various special stages (such as Waggleton P. Tallylicker and the grind wheel thing, not to give away any spoilers) keep the player pumped for more action. Sadly the singleplayer campaign is relatively short and the multiplayer is entirely composed of singleplayer stages in co-op mode or on the hunt for more points so the replay value inevitably suffers. Also the PC version suffers from a few minor bugs such as being locked to 16:9 and therefore black bars for any monitor resolution that isn't 16:9. Might not be worth full price to you if you have a relatively tight budget for gaming expenses but if I saw it on sale I wouldn't hesitate to grab a copy because for the time playing it absolutely and almost literally blows you away. Expand
  83. Feb 27, 2011
    7
    A spirited but ultimately flawed effort, the weapons upgrade system and kick/whip special kills which earn you the points to buy upgrades and ammo just weren't enough to keep me interested though I did play to completion. What makes things worse is that loading screens for chapters often give away what secrets the game has to offer in advance. "Hey there's that statue thing we just encountered and in that pic it's attacking us!" etc,. They also gave FAR too much away on the trailer... so what might have been nice surprises were repeatedly spoiled. Initially the drunken antics of the protagonist and buddies do amuse, quite a bit but a few hours in an most of the buddies have fallen to one side and there's little in terms of character development in the other characters. The over the top profanity was fairly amusing and the back drops were pretty but it was very "run and gun" as well as linear. Weapons upgrades are limited to adding ammo capacity and unlocking an alternative fire mode. which was disappointing. I ended the game with masses of unspent skill points, and cruised through most of the second half of the game with over 9000! Models and graphics were nicely done and my ATI 4850 was able to keep up on full detail at 1080p for the most part, which was nice. If I had some groovy Directx 11 card, I might notice it's not quite as good as some other games, but I don't! The only part my PC seemed to have problems with was playing the opening movie smoothly! Some parts of the game seem unpolished e.g. the "press space to jump over something" often seemed a bit shaky. There was more thought required to clear the various killing fields and more possibilities for different tactics, etc in Dead Space 2. I am not against linear games but it's nice when you have to 'work out' how to clear various sections. All in all, fairly amusing, inoffensive (unless you count the language!), nice. detailed if somewhat cartoony graphics, novel if ultimately shallow combat experience. Expand
  84. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Full of action, novelty and fun plus its far longer than most of the FPS games in recent years - a Ripper and I dont even like the Unreal Engine - Strongly recommended if you want a good time and a laugh too!
  85. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Hello Friend, If you want to buy this game and the game like this one cheaply, there is a new trustable original game key web site, and recommend it to your friends. you can just visit it and see the prices ; just write "thebestcdkey" at google I recommend this page everyone.
    Hope it will help you. Thank youâ
  86. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    If you not a cold fish you will be enjoy it . It's so many ways to kill enemies and is it bloody fun . But if you are normally player you finish game after eight hours and you don't return back to play it agin . I know there are echoes and multiplayer ,but echoes are practically same as campaign and multiplayer is boring .
  87. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Very good game, fast paced, great environmental scenes/effects (some of the best I've seen--grinder wheel anybody?). The combination system when you're fighting is pretty entertaining, especially when you get mass points for booting someone off a massive cliff, or leashing someone into a giant spike impaling them.
  88. May 28, 2011
    6
    First off, anyone complaining about Games for Windows live is roughly 1% of the population. The majority of GFWL users don't have issues, and those who do, it can easily be solved with google.

    Bulletstorm is a fps that takes place in a paradise...well, it used to be a paradise. Now it's overrun with thugs, bandits, and giant creatures ready to demolish you. The gameplay is fresh, yet very
    easy. You can simply grapple everything and kill them without hassle. Those you can't grapple, are still vulnerable to the lazer-thump ability.

    Bulletstorm has a very immature sense of humor, yet it's still pretty tolerable. I loved the dialogue. But it won't appeal to everyone.

    The main problem with Bulletstorm is that it acts like an arcade shooter. It has a point system, is incredibly linear, and has a multiplayer that plays just like single player. So what does all this mean? This game has no replayability. You will not want to beat it more than 1-3 times.

    Still, Bulletstorm is fun. Not worth $60-$50, more around $30-$40.
    Expand
  89. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Game's just crazy! If you have even a bit of imagination, can entertain yourself - it's for you. First time for a few years I don't feel the game is using UE3 - I mean engine doesn't annoy me. Locations are various - for a 2-3 CoD's, at least. Yes, everything isn't too technological, but it's BEAUTIFUL. A lot of fun - I mean, besides dismembering enemies - a lot our good jokes, just in Duke style. Well, after Bulletstorm I don't care about what will happen with DNF. P.S. For me this game has only lack in music (music is good, but it became boring with time - like in DMC 4). Ah, yes GFWL. 'nuff said.
    Nothing more to tell, yeah
    Expand
  90. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Please consider that I did play multiplayer a bit but not too long. I don`t go online when playing FPS games mostly.

    As for everything else.
    Gameplay is quite addicting. I don`t have a problem with going throught the campaign once again. The humor is very good, a little too much swearing perhaps, but I still smiled alot. Gives the game a very specific taste. The weapons are quite nice -
    the player has just about every standard variation of a weapon from any other shooter. People Can Fly is just the group that excels in making original weapons and they didn`t do any worse in Bulletstorm. Dispatching enemies might be done in many many ways and is very entertaining. It`s worth noting that the first hour of singleplayer is a bit dull because one has only just about the standard assault rifle, but it gets interesting rather quickly. The game might feel repetitive at times though I don`t think the level of repetitivness ever gets any close to what Call of Duty games present. Also here we have many different enemy types, along with a big number of mini-bosses which is a very good thing. The big bosses pose a real challenge and take quite long to defeat. Overall the campaign feels Gears of Warish, FPP style and that also is a good thing. The maximum difficulty setting makes the game quite hard actually, something to be , again, considered in favor of the game. The graphics are very good, with few very beatiful sightseeing levels. The pace is fast and there is ever and moment of boredom.

    I say get it. It is always the best if someone risks low sales and actually pushes out something orgininal and quite unique in its own form. For that I give Bulletstorm a 9 instead of 8.
    Expand
  91. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought that a sleepless night because of a game is not possible anymore. Well, while waiting for a Duke`s return, I let myself be tempted by Bulletstorm and it was a bull`s eye. Although it smells like Gears of War, and have several disadvantages, it is one of the most interesting game, lately.

    First of all, the plot. As an ex member (and a rebel) of Dead Echoe squad we are trying to even the score with our ex commander who is a very evil man. ;) Thanks to this mad, personal crusade our entire team is almost dead, and we find ourselves to be crash landing on a planet full of mutating inhabitants. Despite all the problems it is certain that the man we seek, is somwhere nearby and this will let us not only to kick his a** but also to get out from the place.

    So we seek the way, to get to our general. But it is not that simple. First, we will have to kill waves of mutants. Second, it will be a long walk through the shacks of slums, and a ruined city. We will walk, fly, ride the train and slide through the diversity of slopes, and dark holes. The graphic engine is not new but overall it pleases the eye, and you can run the game on a 3-4 year old computer. As I mentioned it smells like a Gears of War, and it is true. The design of a main character is pretty similar to Marcus, and I had the same feeling while jumping over the obstacles. However, I was disappointed by a lack of ability to jump. A small thing that pinches. So was with invisible walls which occurred from time to time.

    The plot itself is exciting to the end (and I reccomend to stay to the end of subtitles) and it seems, that after all, we will see another Bulletsorm. The strong language is in use, but, the hell, they are soldiers, simple man with simple pleasures. Expect a very ironic sentences similar to Duke`s famous oneliners.

    Ok, how about the fun? This game is all about it. You dont just kill the mobs you meet, you literally smash them, fry them, kick them, and grab them on a lasso-like, energetic leash. The more sophisticated death you deal, the more points you get. And the points let you to buy new weapons, ammo for them, and upgrades. I must admit that this system is very good and forces you to think (it may sound sick, but we are mature anyway) what you do to them. The main defect of it is that you may find only two, or three weapons really usefull.

    It took me 11 hours to end the game, just on "normal" difficulty so it is pretty awesome.
    Expand
  92. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    Nice game overall if you dont want to use your brain a lot. Some splatter scenes, some cool fighting stuff.
    Macho men with manly voices.
    Good graphics, nice sound.
  93. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    Really nice game but does not worth its 60â
  94. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is very nice, but is too short, multi is very poor and i dont want to back to Bulletstorm again... Graphics is very f*cking good, 8 i'm sure we won' t see the game with better graphics on Unreal Engine 3. eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 8 Expand
  95. May 15, 2011
    9
    Awesome big dumb fun! The graphics are top notch and the gameplay is addictive. But make no mistakes about it, this is a $40 game masquerading as a $60 title. Wait for it to go on sale on Steam before purchasing.
  96. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tons of things of this game and eventually I got it on discount, and I don't really regret but I didn't feel extremely excited either. Anyway, what really works in this game, are the dialogues which are very funny and extremely over the top and actually never seem out of place: it looked like I was watching one action flick with tons of jokes and tons of gore...which means that the plot, even though it has its moments, it's nothing spectacular and unfortunely it revolves in one single mission. Nothing horrible but there was potential for more stuff to happen. Second thing that it's good aren't exactly the shooting, but how shooting is rewarded: you basically get points from how you kill enemies and the stylish the kill, the more points you get. All this is also encouraged by the addition of the hook which basically makes you lure enemies to you or either activate or destroy particular things in order to get more points and kills. Only bad thing here is that it's extremely repetitive but there's always variety on how you can kill enemies and how you can make more points (and there are also challenges that are meant for the completionists). Weapons also are good although they aren't many, but they are varied and they luckily don't feel the same...but unfortunely they haven't got a lot of ammunition (even when powered up), and so you won't be using the same weapon often. The levels aren't many but they are well detailed and the moments are varied enough to keep you going, with also the plot getting more details, but here comes the biggest flaw of the game: the longevity. There are about 8 chapters (including the prologue) and they don't last very long (i think the longest level took an hour at max). I finished the game in about 7-8 hours and on top of that the levels are extremely linear, with also poor interaction with the enviroment (you can sometimes interact by using your hook or killing your enemies...but you can't even jump on your own and not even fall down cliffs, just to say). There's also a multiplayer mode which has a nice idea and lets you play in a group that has to make points by killing the enemies with skillshots and the group wins if they reach the required amount of points: it's actually challenging but it's not properly well made and I haven't seen many players in this mode, meaning that it's not the core of the game and hardly anyone plays it properly. A great shooting game that is ruined by the poor longevity and the huge lack of multiplayer: it's nothing fresh but focuses mainly on entertaining the player and having them rewarded by using the enviroment and the right shooting skills. It's definitly worth a try though, especially if you find it on discount or if you're tired of the "ultra realistic military shooting gallery" that nowadays are so common and, even if it doesn't last long, it's gonna be 8 hours of gore, swear words, black humour and lots and lots of bullets! Expand
  97. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What I loved:
    -Artwork: The artwork was vibrant and well done.
    -Maps were well done in terms of the amount of space for fighting.
    -Dialogue: It was crass, puerile, and a great change from "I'm Oscar Mike". Awesome use of gratuitous foul language. I enjoyed the jokes as well.
    -Weapons: So many great ways to kill people.
    -Sliding was a blast!
    -Linear FPS game: I usually prefer linear singleplayer FPS games because USUALLY the story moves better. Usually.
    -Act 5:Chapter 3 through Act 7 - Why couldn't most of the game move the plot like this?

    On the fence:
    -Difficulty-too easy, but maybe this made the skill shot system more fun?
    -Surprisingly, I didn't miss the ability to jump. I would hit my jump button out of reflex but it wasn't horrible without jumping.

    What I hated:
    -3 button presses just to get to the main game menu of the game.
    -GFWL-20 minutes to get into the game. Not game installation time, just getting GFWL to update properly and get to the main menu. You see, it appears you can update GFWL in the game, but you have to restart the game. But there isn't a way to exit the game at this point because you haven't gotten to the main menu. Then you have to update GFWL extrnally but it doesn't tell you that. You just have to guess. Then you can get into the game. This actually put me in a bad mood just to start Bulletstorm. Games should really take off the GFWL tag. they might get more sales.
    -Horrible, horrible PC controls. Did anyone play the PC version? C'mon. The worst weapon switching ever. You can equip 3 weapons but 1 button only swaps between TWO of the weapons. Menu system for buying upgrades/ammo was pretty bad too.
    -Editing the config files to correct the neutered graphics options and input settings was bad too. The .ini files are encrypted so a third party program must be downloaded. All to fix settings like max FPS, FOV, mouse smoothing, mouse sensitivity, etc. The game was unplayable on the lowest sensitivity setting in the GUI.
    -Quicktime events. Oh my god, the quicktime events!!!! Make them stop.
    -Villain wasn't really a villain. Ok, so he had the protagonist assassinate innocent people, but it's such a trite motivation for a vendetta that it didn't really feel evil enough to devote 10 years in revenge. At most, the villain hurt the feelings of the protagonist. In the Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas had his protagonist, Edmond Dantes, wrongly thrown in prison for about 13 years. Now that is motivation for revenge! -Game never closed properly. Win7 always popped up with a dialogue asking me to close the program because it stopped working.
    -Act 1 through Act 5 chapter 3-really kinda bored with the story here. Too bad this is most of the game.
    Expand
  98. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Bulletstorm is one of the most fun games I have played in a long time. Theres not much I can fault with Bulletstorm. The engine doesn't run quite as fast as it should but without any AA and on highest settings it still easily keeps at 60 on just a 6850/70. It looks great, nothing insane but some nice views and good effects, the story is solid, nothing ridiculous but it still has one which is better then most gameplay oriented games already. Then we come to the gameplay, this is where Bulletstorm shines, there really is nothing like it out there, if I were to compare i'd say Bioshock 1, simply cause of the huge amount of options you have when it comes to destroying your enemies, but Bulletstorm takes it a step further adding a 'rating' system that allows good soldiers to restock and bad ones to die. The more interesting your skillshots the more ammo and weapons you can buy. The guns are crazy, 4 barrel shotgun for example, and their charge shots are a load of fun, lots of environment kills as well and some epic boss battles.
    The game also has an Echo mode where you can replay the most action packed fight scenes for points to compete on leaderboards, and it also has an Anarchy mode which is up to 4 player co-op fighting against waves.
    I finished the game on normal, then immediately played all the echo missions then finished the game again on the hardest, and enjoyed every second the gameplay is that enjoyable that it last through 2.5 playthroughs without any break in between. In summary you have the best combat of any game i've ever played wrapped up in a decent story with a decent graphics engine and a very solid frustration free experience. One of my top 10 games for sure.
    Expand
  99. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Bulletstorm itself was amusing for about two hours of slaughter, but after you've kicked an enemy into the air, shot half of him away with a four-barrelled shotgun and whipped the other half into a huge burning hole, it remained just that. All you do the entire game is running through a level, kill everyone the most "intuitive" way and run again. You never re-visit an area, you never familiarize yourself with the environment, nothing your "learn" is of any use.

    It was indeed interesting to play and many times, I was just like "Wooah!", but this quickly became boring. The ending was the most disappointing part. I expected something like "Hardcore mode unlocked" or such, but all I got was the "Echo" mode, which was basically just a "high-score hunt".

    To summarize this: Bulletstorm is a nice and exciting shooter and definately something new with its "over the top and even more"-kills, but it's lack of depth, dynamics and content, which was just replaced by "f**k", "s**t", "m****r**c**r" and what not else, really reduced the fun of this game.
    I'd only recommend Bulletstorm if you're really a fan of slaughtering and don't care about story.
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm is perfectly designed to appeal to the 14 year old boys who can't buy it because it's rated MA15+. [May 2011, p.64]
  2. 70
    While not a game that would alter the flow of history, Bulletstorm proved to be very pleasant and an extremely aberrant surprise not lacking the ability of self-irony. [Mar 2011]
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    77
    If you are looking for a simple and entertaining shooter, that's not a Call of Duty clone, which offers lots of humour and a great story, Bulletstorm could be for you.